lizzylynngarcia's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: But Why Tho? Reviews: 52
7.9Avg. Review Rating

8.0
All We Ever Wanted #1

Dec 13, 2018

Overall, this is a fantastic and uplifting read that reminds us all of a future worth fighting for. The book while skimming over heavier themes never earns a mature reading and is more than likely acceptable for younger audiences. Additionally, I am always excited to see work fromA Wave Blue World since as a publisher they focus on such unique and creative stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Barbarella/Dejah Thoris #1

Jan 9, 2019

Barbarella/Dejah Thoris #1 is a smart and fun book that is an easy start for any readers who might be new to the characters. Additionally, I think older fans will also have a kick out of it. If you enjoy smart ladies and daring adventures, I highly recommend picking this one up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2016) #63

Jan 23, 2019

Overall,Batman #63 dives deeper into Bruce's psyche and further escalates the elusive conflict being set-up between him and Bane. If you enjoyed Mister Miracle or movies with mind-bending logic like Inception consider picking up the Knightmare arc of Batman, starting at Batman #61, that will conclude with Batman #69.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #64

Feb 6, 2019

I wish this comic had been completely separatefrom the ongoing Batman comic but I also understand the decision to make it intersect since it ties so heavily with storylines from King's run. Nonetheless, this is a must-read for Batman and Flash fans alike, and that should mean a lot from someone who so far has been very disappointed in Heroes in Crisis.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #65

Feb 20, 2019

Williamson packs an emotional punch during this arc and this issue is no different. Gotham Girl is one of my favorite parts of the Rebirth story so it is amazing to see her again in such a prominent way. As someone who has struggled with passive suicidal ideations and chronic pain, this issue is especially emotional. Claire's character speaks to me in a unique way.March's art brings out a lot of the feeling during the especially poignant moments of the comic with a special nod going toMorey's shading techniques. I look forward to the conclusion of this arc and seeing the next piece of it play out in Flash #65

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #66

Mar 6, 2019

Overall, this issue is fantastic and I feel like the story is finally moving back to where I want it to go. I love the arc leading up to the wedding so I am very excited to see Batman and Catwoman working together again and even potentially working things out. Only the future will tell.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman (2016) #67

Mar 20, 2019

Obviously, as a Batman fan, I am not going anywhere but I do hope something happens soon. The last issue was fantastic so the creative choices made here make me feel like I missed an issue, or four. The pacing here, the lack of dialogue, and the overall wonkiness over the actual plot movement are hard to overlook, even if it is a Batman comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman (2016) #68

Apr 10, 2019

Overall, I am still not convinced on this arc and despite the amazing issue with Constantine, nothing has lived up to that since. That being said, I will continue to stick with the series because I like a lot of King's work including, most of his issues on Batman. My hope is that the “Knightmare” arc finds a satisfying conclusion soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman (2016) #70

May 1, 2019

Overall, I do think Batman #70is headed in the right direction but this storyline is becoming cumbersome.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Batman (2016) #71

May 15, 2019

If you are looking for a solid Batman comic that delves into the darkness of Bruce Wayne, like this comic attempts to do, I recommend picking up The Batman Who Laughs instead.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: Last Knight on Earth #1

May 29, 2019

I don't know if this is the best Batman comic ever because this is the first issue, but I do know this series has the potential to be the best Batman comic in modern comic history. The entire creative team has created something special and horrifying in the best way possible. Batman: The Last Knight on Earth #1is a beautifully told Batman story that while dipping into familiar themes still manages to offer a unique look at the Caped Crusader.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Bettie Page (2018) #1

Nov 19, 2018

Overall, I am excited for what's next for Bettie as she takes on alien invasions and the top-secret spy world.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Bettie Page (2018) #2

Feb 12, 2019

Overall,Bettie Page #2is a goofy and fun extraterrestrialspy adventure featuring a beloved icon. This comic is yet another example of Dynamite Comic' commitment to updating famous comic leading ladies for new audiences and a new generation.Bettie Page is a book I find myself looking forward to and I cannot wait for the next issue to hit shelves.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Bettie Page (2018) #3

Apr 12, 2019

Overall, Bettie Page #3is another wild, action ride for the espionage agent. This character's femininity speaks to me which is probably why I continue to love this book so much.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Captain America (2018) #1

Jul 10, 2018

Overall, the best stories about Captain America are about Steve Roger's humanity and relationship with the world around him and this issue is no exception. Coates understands Steve Rogers better than any recent writer of the character. This is also the perfect starting point for any non-comic book readers hoping to dive into the character. It does not require much back knowledge and is a similar representation of the character on the screen. I highly recommend this book to any comic fan and especially, Captain America fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Detective Comics (2016) #1000

Mar 27, 2019

Overall, Detective Comics #1000is a fantastic anthology for both Batman and comic book fans that offers a wide array of stories. The 96-page book will set you back a $9.99 which is a tad more than a traditional comic but in my very biased Batman-fangirl opinion, it is well worth the cost.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Detective Comics (2016) #1001

Apr 10, 2019

This is only issue one of the arc, but this version of the Arkham Knight somehow feels like Batman: Arkham Knight‘s version of Azreal, but with the namesake of an other. While not every comic reader has played the Batman: Arkham Knight game, I would bet that most have, or at least know the character. In fact, it is hard to separate this new iteration with Rocksteady's version, especially since the designs are still so similar. Obviously, there is a lot more story to tell so the two could be linked but unfortunately, this is not the strongest start for the comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Detective Comics (2016) #1002

Apr 24, 2019

Hennessy's inks are good and work well with Walker's pencils. There are a few moments where faces are a tad off but nothing that is outright bad. Fairbairn's colors are quite vibrant for a Batman book but considering most of this book takes place during the day, that is understandable. Overall, this book is not bad but could be significantly better. It is downright meh and almost unforgivingly so. Not even Damian could save this book from being average.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Dial H For Hero (2019) #1

Mar 27, 2019

Overall, the art in this book is pretty, but it is not enough to make me want to pick up issue two in the future. Fans of the original concept might be interested but I don't know if new readers will be quite as interested in this book as DC Comics hopes.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Elvira: The Shape of Elvira #1

Feb 1, 2019

Overall, Elvira:TheShape of Elvira #1is a wicked fun ride that captures the essence of theMistress of the Dark in a fun original story that stays true to the roots of the character. So far Dynamite Comics andAvallone have blown me away with their daring takes on classic characters. I look forward to the rest of Elvira's adventures on the set of ‘The Heart is a Black Lagoon.'

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Female Furies #1

Feb 6, 2019

Overall,Female Furies #1is what would happen if a poorly written Mad Men took place on Apokolips. If you want to see a strong woman in action from the Furies, read Tom King's Mister Miracle instead.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Gryffen: Galaxy's Most Wanted #1

May 1, 2019

Overall, Gryffen: Galaxy's Most Wanted #1is outlandish fun. Comedy is very hard to translate into a comic and commend this creative team for doing it so well. If you are a fan of sci-fi and off-brand humor, this is definitely worth picking up. Also, if you are looking for a great non-binary character to follow, Gryffen is an amazing person to keep an eye on.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Klaus: Klaus and the Crying Snowman #1

Dec 21, 2018

If you are a fan of that run, this is a good pick for your pull list. But, if you are looking for a holiday comic with a similar tone and haven't read the originalKlaus run, I recommend checking out the Red Sonja: Holiday Special from Dynamite Comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Morning in America #1

Mar 4, 2019

Aguirre's art is gorgeous and the book also boasts and fantastic variant covers in addition to regular cover but other than that, this book is just boring. It feels rushed and yet at the same time showed us nothing at all. Hopefully, in future issues, more clues will be revealed but until then, this just isn't the mystery for me.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Mysteries of Love in Space #1

Jan 30, 2019

What should have been a fun, campy retro-futuristicromp ends up feeling closer to the 1998 movie Lost in Space where Joey from Friends,Matt LeBlanc, tries to sleep with Heather Graham.The inspiration is there but it is executedpoorly.With a hefty price tag of $9.99, I have a hard time recommending this book even though I enjoyed some of the stories and the art.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Naomi #1

Jan 23, 2019

Naomi #1 is such an important comic that is so relatable. Naomi's journey in starting to find herself and what makes her special will be exciting for readers discovering comics and readers who have been enjoying comics for years. Everyone wants to see themselves in a superhero, it's why we love superheroes. I am so excited for everyone, including myself, who gets to see themselves in Naomi.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Poser #3

Nov 7, 2018

Overall, I have enjoyed this series a lot and look forward delving more into Ash's flawed character as well as the killer. I wish I had more clues to where the series is going but nonetheless, I will continue to pick it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Poser #4

Jan 12, 2019

In all actuality, this comic series should have been more than four issues. If readers were given more time to unravel this mystery it could have been fantastic but since it was so rushed the conclusion just falls flat.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Rainbow Brite #1

Oct 4, 2018

Overall, Rainbow Brite is a fantastic read for children, particularly young girls and a fun read for adults. I would recommend the comic to anyone who has enjoyed Whitley's previous work, Rainbow Brite as a child or is craving some good ole 1980s nostalgia.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Rainbow Brite #2

Nov 14, 2018

Whitley writes an incredibly likable Wisp. Additionally, Williams' art adds a lot of whimsy to the story with its cartoonish design. In a book called Rainbow Brite, color is very important. While a lot of this issue had to rely on grays, the end panelsare beautifully colored and drawn.Pinto's coloring within the last three pages of the book elevates the book entirely. The last pages smartly feature little dialogue and instead focus on Wisp's expressions and transformation. Overall, I highly recommend this book for someone looking for a lighter read as well as fans of Rainbow Brite both new and old.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Rainbow Brite #3

Dec 26, 2018

Rainbow Brite continues to be a delightful adventure that feeds the nostalgia which is so popular right now. Reboots are all the rage and similar to She-Ra, Rainbow Brite keeps true to the source material but successfully updates it for the modern reader, young and old. I highly recommend this book to fans of the originalseries but also anyone who enjoys She-Ra, Hilda, or similar stories that focus on the whimsy of childhood and colorful adventures.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Red Sonja & Vampirella Meet Betty & Veronica #1

May 8, 2019

Overall, Red Sonja and Vampirella Meet Betty and Veronica #1is a solid start to a crossover series and fun more light-hearted comic to add to your pull list. If you can look past the mediocre art, which I do hope will improve in future issues, this is a great read, especially for fans of Archie Comics, Archie Comics crossovers, or the classic leading ladies of Dynamite Comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Red Sonja (2017): Holiday Special #1

Dec 12, 2018

The art of this book isn't my favorite but it also is not bad. Some of the faces can be a tad intense. Similarly, the shadowing on this book is a little too heavy-handed. Esposito's lettering is great and easy to understand despite the fact Sonja and Max at many points are not speaking in English. Overall, Red Sonja: Holiday Special is a fun and festive story that captures the magic of the character with just a dash of Christmas spirit. Also included in the Holiday Special is the classic Roy Thomas and Frank Thorne Red Sonja tale "Wizards of the Black Sun" in color.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Red Sonja (2019) #1

Feb 8, 2019

Sonja without her bikini is like Batman without a cowl. It isn't impossible but it just feels off. Otherwise,Red Sonja #1is a great introduction to the character and offers an easy entry point for new readers jump into while older readers can still enjoy this new story that pays homage to Sonja's past.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Sparks #1

Sep 22, 2018

Overall, Sparks feels like a more depressed Spider-Man and not quite a character I like but also not willing to give up on just yet. Sometimes the most interesting characters in media are unlikeable

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Sparks #2

Oct 24, 2018

Seeing Ethan gain his abilities while being chronically ill and knowing the upcoming emotional journey he has of navigating chemo and his powers has me still interested in the book but I do hope the art improves.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Super Sons (DC Zoom): The Polarshield Project #1

Apr 2, 2019

I wouldn't recommend this book to a child or adult even though Gonzalez's art is good. If you miss Super Sons, go re-read Super Sons: Rebirth by Peter J. Tomasi, Alisson Borges, and Jorge Jimenez, or you can also pick up the current ongoing run, Adventures of the Super Sons by Peter J. Tomasi, Art Thibert, and Carlo Barberi instead.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Batman Who Laughs (2018) #2

Jan 16, 2019

Overall, if you enjoyed Dark Knights: Metal you should absolutely pick upThe Batman Who Laughs #2.That being said, even if you didn't but you are a Batman fan, particularly of his darker stories, you should pick up this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Batman Who Laughs (2018) #3

Feb 13, 2019

Overall, I love this book and look forward to the continuation of the series as we are now at the halfway point of the mini-series. This is a must-read for both Batman and horror fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Batman Who Laughs (2018) #4

Apr 10, 2019

Overall, The Batman Who Laughs #4is another incredible issue and with only two more remaining in the mini-series, I am bittersweet to see it's conclusion.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Batman Who Laughs (2018) #5

May 8, 2019

The Batman Who Laughsis my favorite Batman comic out right now and this issue might be my favorite comic on shelves this week, hands down. I highly recommend the entire series, especially for horror fans and Batman fans alike.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Batman Who Laughs (2018): The Grim Knight #1

Mar 13, 2019

This issue was an interesting break from The Batman Who Laughs regular series and as a one-shot I really enjoyed it. As dark multiverse Batmen go, The Grim Knight isn't my favorite and I do not think he is nearly as deadly as DC is trying to make him out to be but I do think he is fascinating. Overall, I very much enjoyed this book and think it is a must read if you are reading The Batman Who Laughsor enjoy DC Comic Elseworlds stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Empty Man #4

Dec 31, 1969

Overall,The Empty Man#4 is another beautifully crafted issue from BOOM! Studios and this creative team. I cannot recommend this book highly enough and it is my favorite comic on shelves right now. So far, I have not rated any previous issuesless than a 5/5 and this is no different. Considering the number of comics I read and review, that recommendation should carry some weight.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Empty Man #5

Dec 31, 1969

The Empty Man #5is a disturbing piece of fiction that should the textbook example for horror comics. It delves into deeper issues and pushes boundaries all while keeping its solid pacing, narrative, and art. Overall, this remains my favorite comic on shelves and I cannot recommend it highly enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Empty Man (2018) #2

Dec 12, 2018

Overall, The Empty Man #2 is a fantastic read and while picking up issue 1 is not strictly necessary, I highly recommend it if only because it is also fantastic. New readers of the series do not need to pick up the 2014 run to understand the new story. If you enjoy horror comics this is a must-have for your subscription box.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Empty Man (2018) #3

Jan 3, 2019

Additionally,Hervs' art withGuardia's colors creates a series of eery scenes that appear to be splashed with a film of murky grime and blood. The comic feels dirty in the best way. Horror comics, like the horror genre in general, serve as an excellent place to focus on uncomfortable themes. The gore of this book is never so overwhelming that it takes away from the story but instead offers just enough of an unnerving element to compliment it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Tom Clancy's The Division: Extremis Malis #1

Mar 28, 2019

If you plan on picking up or have picked up The Division 2 and are interested in the story this is definitely a comic to consider grabbing. This issue is jam-packed with action and the only main drawback is it can be a bit vague at times and moves a tad fast but that is mostly a nitpick.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Under the Moon: A Catwoman Tale #1

May 7, 2019

Overall, Under the Moon: A Catwoman Taleis a hard sell for traditional DC fans and doesn't capture the essence of the character. It also fails in properly exploring the dark themes it wants to and at times feel exploitative and like shock value. I imagine some fans of YA novels will enjoy it, but if you do have issues with any of the triggers I mentioned previously, please be wary.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Vampirella (2017): Valentine's Day Special #1

Feb 14, 2019

The art is solid and the coloring is very vibrant, though none of it feels like Mardi Gras, since, without the dialogue, it would be hard to identify the time of year.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wonder Twins (2019) #1

Dec 31, 1969

Overall,Wonder Twins#1is a very out there book that breaks up the more serious entries probably sitting in your pull list. It is also a fantastic reimagining of the original characters and gives them a modern spin for a new audience.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Wonder Twins (2019) #2

Mar 13, 2019

Overall, while the Wonder Comics imprint might be geared towards teens that doesn't mean the books should be boring and currently, this comic is teetering on the edge of boring. There is a lot of potential here but not enough laughs to keep engagement on the page. This isn't an action heavy read and compared the criminally underappreciated West Coast Avengers, a book that is hysterical while also delving out some serious action, it is hard to justify keeping this on a pull list unless you are a die-hard Wonder Twins fan. Unfortunately, The Wonder Twins #2 is not something I can give a glowing recommendation for.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wytches: Bad Egg Halloween Special #1

Oct 18, 2018

As a Wytches fan, I am so excited to be back in this world and this is a fantastic start to whatever the creative team as in store. Snyder's letter to fans at the start and finish of the story show his and the entire team's passion for this story. That passion shows in the product. If you are a fan horror or Scott Snyder's previous work I highly recommend picking up this book.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More