Brendan Hodgdon's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Doom Rocket Reviews: 18
8.1Avg. Review Rating

9.0
Batman: Creature of the Night #1

Dec 1, 2017

Perhaps the one "bad" thing you could say about Creature of the Night is that, as a retelling of sorts of Batman's origin, it's working with a very, very familiar framework in this first issue. But when the detail work is this good, who cares what the foundation is? Truly, it's the details that really lift this book up, and the honest emotions that make it sing. Those things combined promise a Batman story like no other. I can't wait to devour each and every chapter over and over again, as I already have with this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Come Into Me #1

Mar 13, 2018

The collective work of this creative team results in an incredibly immersive piece of storytelling, one that drips with atmosphere, dread, and unease. The undeniable effectiveness of this is what makes Come Into Me #1 an issue worth checking out, and what will keep me coming back for more in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Dead Kings #1

Oct 26, 2018

Dead Kings #1 is an incredibly personal opening chapter. It brings us in at the ground level, showing us the seediest angle of its world first and making us experience it with the most downtrodden and vulnerable of its denizens. The opening juxtaposition of a mother giving birth in the shadow of a massive mecha battle seems very indicative of the direction of the series, and representative of Orlando's best creative instincts overall. Paired with Dow Smith terrific art, Lauren Affe's colors and Thomas Mauers' letters, Dead Kings is the sort of sobering and intimate reflection that we will always need from our art.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Dead Rabbit #1

Sep 20, 2018

Dead Rabbit is a propulsive caper comic of a very high order. If this is the kind of work that Gerry Duggan plans to do when he's finished at the House of Ideas, then Ed Brubaker better keep an eye on his King of Crime Comics crown. And if this is the kind of next-level work that we can expect from John McCrea, then thank goodness he has this new monthly platform with which to play. It's not a pairing I would've anticipated, but damn do they play well together.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Evolution #1

Nov 17, 2017

There's no doubt that the creative team of Evolution is in for the long haul here, and I hope they get the chance to tell their complete story. It'd be hard not to be intrigued by what they've shown us so far" and perhaps just as importantly, what they have to show us yet. Evolution #1 is a rich piece of epic horror. Everyone should find out for themselves how great it is.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Gravetrancers #1

Nov 30, 2017

Gravetrancers is for sure a great premise, and could've gotten by on that and style alone. But when you add in the depth and emotion that's included here, you get a real winner of a book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Heroes In Crisis #1

Sep 28, 2018

For the time being, I have yet to see anything from Heroes in Crisis to give me much pause, but I also haven't seen enough to be sold on it either. The question of the series' success rests not on whether Tom King can tell a good story, really, but whether that story will work as a major throughline for the whole of the DCU. And we can't really know that until we really know what this series is, at its core. But even if King is completely off the rails here, at least Clay Mann is here to make sure he looks good while doing it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Hex Wives #1

Nov 6, 2018

This team knows what they want to say with this series, and the confidence and verve with which they say it goes a long way towards making this issue a fun and worthy read. And whileHex Wives #1 is not a perfect debut when it comes to giving us a thorough look at its characters, as a stylish, theme-driven roller coaster it makes for vicious Vertigo entertainment.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Justice League (2016) #34

Dec 8, 2017

While this weird disconnect does undercut the impact of the issue emotionally, I do think that the idea here is a smart one, and that the exploration of the League's dynamic is well-handled. Overall I'd still say this is a solid first issue of the Priest/Woods era, and I can see them doing a lot of cool things with this team going forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Kong on the Planet of the Apes #1

Nov 10, 2017

A mash-up between King Kong and Planet of the Apes could easily have been a lazy cash-grab. But Ryan Ferrier clearly put a lot of thought into the social, political, and religious significance that such a mash-up might offer, and with Carlos Magno's solid art to bring all of that to life, I can safely say: this more, so much more.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Livewire (2018) #1

Nov 30, 2018

There is a great character study at the heart of this title, and as long as they keep that at the center of their plans this should make for a great series. Now that the current has been set in motion, there's enough spark here to give this character a future to fight for on her own terms.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
My Heroes Have Always Been Junkies #1

Oct 16, 2018

My Heroes Have Always Been Junkies is a sharp, intense read, one that you'll burn through quick and keep thinking about long after the back cover flaps shut.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Ninja-K (2017) #1

Nov 9, 2017

The issue wraps all this up with a scene that effortlessly combines all three of the threads from the rest of the issue. Colin King's outsider status within the Ninja programme, his disconnection from the people around him, and the history of the programme itself all come together to launch us into the mystery of the series' first story arc. And after how well Gage, Giorello et al. set this story up, I'm very curious to see where it goes from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
No. 1 With A Bullet #1

Nov 2, 2017

Taking your time with a story is always a risk, especially in comics; if you don't do enough in the first issue, you can drive a lot of people away. No. 1 With A Bullet flirts with this. However, with a combination of smart characterization and dynamic art it overcomes that hurdle.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Sex Death Revolution #1

Nov 2, 2018

Sex Death Revolution #1 is certainly a slow-burner, and while the fact that it is a double-length issue does ameliorate that somewhat it is a very talky, context-establishing opening chapter. But the final product is more than worthwhile, as the team makes use of that extra space to firmly and capably establish the ideas and emotions at the core of their story. Sex Death Revolution is beautifully realized; it immerses usinits story of change and its world of academic witchery, demanding our presence and rewarding our attention.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
These Savage Shores #1

Oct 12, 2018

These Savage Shores #1 is, simply put, a top-notch debut issue. If Ram V. wasn't already on your radar due to the inventive Paradiso, this series will definitely make him a permanent fixture, and will have Sumit Kumar and Vittorio Astone right there beside him. Beyond that, this book is exactly the sort of fresh blood that the vampire genre needs, providing new perspectives and interpretations that make the old forms work in all kinds of new ways.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #58

Nov 16, 2018

As far as debut issues go, Wonder Woman #58 is a frustrating one to review, as it largely relies on the been-there, done-that as a misdirection before the team gets into the real meat of their story. But given the back-and-forth that her solo title has seen over the last year-plus, it's reassuring to see Diana back in comfortable, reliable territory before going somewhere new. In the end, the deity is in the details.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Wytches: Bad Egg Halloween Special #1

Oct 25, 2018

This book is a true Halloween treat, one that will have you clamoring for the next batch of scares as soon as it's finished.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

December

November

More