The Me You Love in the Dark #3

Writer: Skottie Young Artist: Jorge Corona Publisher: Image Comics Release Date: October 6, 2021 Cover Price: $3.99 Critic Reviews: 10 User Reviews: 8
9.1Critic Rating
7.8User Rating

+ Pull List

Ro becomes even more intimate with whoever, or whatever, is haunting the old house as she finds the spark of inspiration for her most personal paintings yet.

Writer SKOTTIE YOUNG (I HATE FAIRYLAND, Deadpool, Strange Academy) and artist JORGE CORONA (NO. 1 WITH A BULLET, Super Sons, Feathers) follow up their
critically acclaimed series MIDDLEWEST with a brand-new haunting tale. Fans of Stephen King and Neil Gaiman will enjoy this beautiful, dark, and disturbing story of discovery, love, and terror.

  • 10
    Comic Watch - Lillian Hochwender Oct 6, 2021

    The Me You Love in the Dark #3 flawlessly mingles horror with romance. Reminiscent of a Guillermo del Toro film, its hard not to fall in love with The Me You Love in the Dark. Read Full Review

  • 10
    ComicBook.com - Nicole Drum Oct 6, 2021

    This series just keeps getting better and it's very clear here that it's something truly special. Read Full Review

  • 9.6
    Comic Crusaders - Lucas Fashina Oct 8, 2021

    Written by Skotties Young. The Me You Love in the Dark has a Paranormal Romance vibe and going with that for a comic book is a bold move I must admit. Also keeping pace is the inter-dialogue between Ro and the Darkness. Where there are no longer hints but big billboard signs point to greater meaning. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    BGCP - Michael Lennox Oct 11, 2021

    I'm really getting into this book but it only has two issues left to deliver the expected sad ending that it is setting up. Ro is such a likeable but tortured soul that anchors the strange story in a way relatable to many lonely people. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Major Spoilers - Ingrid Lind-Jahn Oct 7, 2021

    Ro Meadows has found her muse " but will it ever let her go? Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Lotusland Comics - Hank Rea Oct 12, 2021

    While Skottie Young has carefully and delicately paced this supernatural romance in quiet and romantic ways it's the stunning art by Jorge Corona and Jean-Francois Beaulieu that makes it swoon. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Black Nerd Problems - Mikkel Snyder Oct 20, 2021

    Young and Corona skillfully tinker with the tropes of haunted houses and creative endeavors beautifully and as a midpoint issue of the five-issue series, I am fully vested in seeing how all of this plays out. Ro and the not-ghost that inhabit her house have an weirdly undeniable chemistry, as equally undeniable by the fact that the not-ghost has not shown their full hand of cards just yet. It's a fascinating read that I'm excited to see conclude over the next two issues. Read Full Review

  • 8.9
    The Super Powered Fancast - Deron Generally Oct 6, 2021

    Corona has a wonderful skill at using the darkness and shadows to both intrigue and repel the reader. Every page is visually exciting and I found myself going over each panel for details to enhance the story. Read Full Review

  • 8.5
    AIPT - David Brooke Oct 5, 2021

    This comic series may go down as a must-buy in the collected format when it is all said and done. The Me You Love In The Dark #3 is romantic, pleasing, and yet capable of creating a touch of unease. Rarely are romances in comics done so well, and while the lack of direct conflict does make it float in its love story, maybe that floating is the point. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Bleeding Cool - Hannibal Tabu Oct 17, 2021

    There are vital developments here that were done splendidly, but to speak too much about them would spoil the work itself. The horror that closes in on the reader is palpable and is well worth your time and money. Read Full Review

  • 10
    omnicitycomics Oct 6, 2021

    It’s rare for comic book titles to keep me hooked issue after issue, much less from the moment you turn to the first page. The Me You Love in The Dark continues to do just that with this issue. I typically highlight the artwork towards the end of my thoughts, but today I have to start there. Jorge Corona’s artwork and Jean-Francois Beaulieu’s colors navigate this story as much as, if not more than, Skottie Young’s writing. This isn’t meant as a slight toward Young’s writing at all, it’s just that Corona and Beaulieu have created a visual delight with here that I had to go back and admire again. The backgrounds, scenes, colors, setting, and simply everything is brought to life.

    So what happens with Ro and the Ghost more

  • 9.0
    Rauld Oct 8, 2021

    Extremely unique story. I love it

  • 8.0
    Josecab79 Oct 6, 2021

  • 7.5
    ds Oct 7, 2021

  • 7.5
    Silver Rocket Oct 7, 2021

  • 7.5
    Radar Oct 7, 2021

  • 7.0
    Bruno Mael Oct 8, 2021

  • 6.0
    ComicWorm Oct 6, 2021

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More