Mikkel Snyder's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Black Nerd Problems Reviews: 83
8.7Avg. Review Rating

9.5
Action Comics (2016) #1000

Apr 18, 2018

At the end of the day though, when I finished reading Action Comics #1000, I smiled. I smiled because of the pop culture history that was made. I smiled because the more I grow up, the more I realize that Superman is the hero I needed growing up and the hero I continually strive to be. I smiled because it's Superman and how the character Jerry Siegel and Joe Shuster has remained stalwart through the years. I mean, how could you not?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Batman: Prelude to the Wedding: Robin vs. Ra's Al Ghul #1

May 31, 2018

Seeley and crew clearly had a blast creating this issue, and you can feel it in your bones. It's a strong start to what will be a rollercoaster of a prelude before the big day.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Batman: Prelude to the Wedding: Red Hood vs. Anarky #1

Jun 20, 2018

I think this is the strongest showing of the Prelude to the Wedding so far. Red Hood was at the focal point of the issue, but also had the advantage of having a great supporting cast and a villain who had the clearest ideological connection to Red Hood's relationship with Batman. Anarky was a weird choice to bring in, but he ended up being a crucial part of the formula that made this all work. Seeley and Fernandez played off each other to craft a night to remember.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Batman: Prelude to the Wedding: Harley Quinn vs. Joker #1

Jun 26, 2018

It's about Harley and Joker addressing their explosive personalities, and the pain they inflict on each. It's about the patterns of abuse. It's about obsession. It's such a twisted, terrifying thought; and a bittersweet, poignant reflection to end on before the big day. Hats off to Seeley for sticking the landing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Batman: Prelude to the Wedding: Nightwing vs. Hush #1

Jun 6, 2018

There are some interesting questions brought up about both characters' identities, although the big plot doesn't feel like it had enough set up or time to breath before quickly moving to the next plot point. Yet, Seeley's playing the long con and helping Tom King out with this fascinating parallel story telling, so I'm willing to forgive a little bit of pacing hiccups as the wedding bells grow louder.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Batman: Prelude to the Wedding: Batgirl vs. The Riddler #1

Jun 13, 2018

As each week brings us closer to wedding bells, Seeley is reveling in the chance to share how the BatCat union is affecting the different members of the Batfamily and at the end of the day, it's just a lot of fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Batman: Sins of the Father #1

Feb 21, 2018

All in all, if you need more Telltale Batman in your life, you really should pick this up. And if you don't know if you do, well, play the game and realize that you do need more.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Batman: Sins of the Father #2

Mar 21, 2018

Like your typical episode, we juggle between the different facets of Bruce. We get to see Bruce Wayne, local billionaire pariah and currently working with the police. We get investigator Batman, strong-arming criminals to find out crucial bits of information that we would be linking together if we were in the typical Telltale interface. We get Batman unmasked, talking candidly with Alfred. And finally, we get action hero Batman with all the quick time events and flashy fight sequences. The dialog is crisp and Ienco continues to perfectly capture the Telltale visual aesthetic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.1
Batman: Sins of the Father #3

Apr 18, 2018

This issue definitely erred more on the Batman side of the of the narrative and vets of the games probably can deduce what this means for the next issue, but Gage has raised the stakes and it's anyone's guess how deep Bruce Wayne will get into when confronting his past. I'm definitely looking forward to the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Batman: Sins of the Father #4

May 16, 2018

Now, some qualms still apply. The emotional impact of the story is highly contingent on having an emotional investment into the first season of Telltale's Batman. This particular take on the Wayne family is a drastic deviation from accepted cannon and without the full story of Thomas Wayne's "sins" the story won't hit as heard. But for those who went through the game, Sins of the Father continues to be an exemplar side story.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Batman: Sins of the Father #5

Jun 20, 2018

All in all, it's a fun edition to the series, but doesn't have the same charm as its predecessor. It does set the stage for an interesting finale, so hopefully the last issue can tie it all together. I've enjoyed the miniseries thus far and tonally it's a perfect interlude to the two seasons, but I was hoping that the penultimate issue would distinguish past its identity as a tie-in like the second act managed to accomplish.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Breathless #1

Mar 28, 2018

Shand and Rodriguez have a brilliant chemistry and all the essential elements: a diverse cast, a poignant premise, and monsters of all varieties. If you're in the mood for more speculative fiction in your pull, make sure you add Breathless.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Catalyst Prime: Accell Vol. 2 #3

Jan 11, 2018

Issue #7 offers insight into the inner workings of the Catalyst Prime universe. It's not a perfect jumping on point, but it's definitely tantalizing enough to make you want to read the rest.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Catalyst Prime: Accell Vol. 2 #4

Feb 12, 2018

As the Catalyst Prime universe continues to grow, I implore more and more people to delve into the smartly constructed and wonderfully illustrated world. And Accell will often be the first title I recommend.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Catalyst Prime: Astonisher #4

Jan 11, 2018

Astonisher challenges the traditional superhero narrative. The impact of trauma is not skirted around. It's not an afterthought, it's tackled head-on again and again. It is acknowledged and addressed and at the center of Magnus' arc. It's refreshing in its honesty, and I can't recommend it enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Catalyst Prime: Incidentals #5

Jan 16, 2018

With any ensemble cast this large, there is a lot of mental tracking that needs to happen. This has always been one of my personal struggles with the book, and I'm thankful how Casey manages to help anchor the story with Bo Vincent Chen. His charismatic demeanor is familiar, but that is one of the recurring charms of Catalyst Prime, the subtle reinvention of classic archetypes. Couple that with the sleek sci-fi styling, you got a fun book on your hands.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
DC/Hanna-Barbera: Super Sons/Dynomutt Special #1

May 31, 2018

It's a solid crossover. It's a fun little one-off and any excuse to let Tomasi flex his skills writing Superboy and Robin is always welcomed. It's a fitting tribute to Dynomutt and Blue Falcon, and it's worth the pick up if you're a fan of any of the characters involved.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Detective Comics (2016) #982

Jun 13, 2018

If you've been reading Batman or Nightwing " or any Batfamily title really " but still finding yourself needing more, Detective Comics is a great entryway. It's a dark jaunt that encapsulates all of the best parts of the thriller aspects of the characters and still retains the relentless optimism that draws most us to superhero stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Detective Comics (2016) #983

Jun 27, 2018

Detective Comics #983 gets your heart bumping. The action is thrilling, and the dramatic scenes really hit home. Hill does an incredible job at setting up the rest of the arc, and builds a wonderful stage for Wayne, Pierce, Duke Thomas, and Cassandra Cain to fight the latest madman in Gotham. It's a story you're not going to want to miss.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Detective Comics (2016) #984

Jul 11, 2018

Conversing the momentum of such an ambitious arc is difficult, but the creative team is more than up to the challenge. The narrative is engaging, the artwork is breathtaking, and the promises it makes are just tantalizing. You're gonna want in on this.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Eternity Girl #1

Mar 14, 2018

Eternity Girl #1 is a dense story. It's a beautifully realized story, but one that requires precise reading and a willingness to be led along the narrative arc. The exposition occurs in intermittent bursts, and it's a dark tale in more ways than one. It very much exists in conversation with the other Young Animal titles, so if you've enjoyed any of them, you'll be at home. Individual panels and pages left me absolutely floored but when I was finished reading, I was left wanting. Perhaps given the context, that is an appropriate reaction. We'll see what happens in #2.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Eternity Girl #2

Apr 11, 2018

It's hard to predict where exactly the journey will end, but I'm now completely ready for stuff to get even weirder.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Eternity Girl #3

May 9, 2018

It feels weird to say that Eternity Girl, the comic, keeps getting better and better, while Eternity Girl, the character continues to spiral down. The continual descent and multiple storylines read significantly better as the stakes are raised and the pacing gets faster.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Eternity Girl #4

Jun 13, 2018

This is one of the finest examples of the comic craft that I think you could read. There is so much to love and so much to appreciate in this issue and makes me even more exciting for the last act.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Eternity Girl #5

Jul 11, 2018

When I think back to where we started, I didn't imagine this is where we'd be ending up. I couldn't fathom the intricacies that have slowly unfurled. But now that we are at the penultimate issue, I'm going to once again request that you go out of your way and buy the back issues for the series so you can be ready for the finale.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Gideon Falls #1

Mar 7, 2018

Lemire and Sorrentino have struck gold. While this story won't appeal to everyone, those who like dark speculative fiction will quickly find home within the brilliantly dark tale of faith and you'll definitely want to be caught up when #2 drops in April.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Gideon Falls #2

Apr 11, 2018

Gideon Falls is quickly becoming a must-read, and this is coming from someone who usually doesn't love horror. The slow burn of the central mystery is allowing for some fascinating character studies and truly haunting moments.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Gideon Falls #3

May 16, 2018

Gideon Falls is slowly piecing itself together as one of the greatest horror mysteries of the decade thanks to the combined efforts of a staggeringly magnificent creative team, and I cannot laud the series enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Gideon Falls #4

Jun 20, 2018

There is a sense of dread and fear that exist within the pages that I haven't experienced in some while and that anxiety only makes me more excited for the next year.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Hunters #1

May 1, 2018

Maybury and Tierney have essentially provided a textbook on phenomenal worldbuilding and showcased their universe and the talents of their extensive creative team. Hunters gives us diversity on and off the page and showcases the nature of storied fables. While the drastic shifting in tone don't always work out, Hunters as a cohesive collection is a cleverly crafted concoction. It is a dense work that rewards the reader and harkens back to olden days, where forces of natures were gods and heroes were merely humans going up against a world seemingly stacked against them. It is a truly ambitious work of fiction that is as unrelentless as the hunters whose stories it tells.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Infinity 8 #1

Mar 21, 2018

Infinity 8 succeeds in the same arenas as its predecessors. There is a strong central mystery set in the backdrop of a vibrant, colorful world of aliens, and a human protagonist for the reader to latch onto. If adult themed pulp science fiction is up your alley, consider picking it up. There's definitely a lot to love in this niche.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Lucy Dreaming #1

Mar 21, 2018

If you liked the 1994 film The Pagemaster or enjoyed Vertigo's more contemporary The Unwritten, you're going to adore Lucy Dreaming. If you have a younger reader that has a knack for daydreaming, they're going to love watching Lucy's opening chapter unfold. It's a familiar premise that has gotten a much-needed upgrades than to the thoughtful and fantastic creative team. It's fun and smart in all the ways you want a young-adult comic in 2018 to be.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Man of Steel (2018) #1

May 31, 2018

This is definitely a different take on Superman than I am used to. This is a story where Clark/Superman are isolated and online, and his interactions with the auxiliary cast are a little more stilted than usual. I'll go ahead and reserve judgement on what this means for the future. Right now, I'm just glad the next issue is next week.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Man of Steel (2018) #2

Jun 6, 2018

I don't know. The mini-series is ambitious, and there are a lot of things to enjoy, but there's also so much that is still indeterminate. Next week brings the next chapter, so maybe it'll become clearer then, but I'm still uncertain about the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Man of Steel (2018) #3

Jun 13, 2018

At the half way point of this epic prologue, however, I'm still waiting for all the elements to meld together. For a six-issue series that leads into two different titles, the pacing is feels glacial even with a lot of explosions on the page.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Man of Steel (2018) #4

Jun 20, 2018

The final pages are the only real moment of solace for me. Issue #5 is the start of the final act of this saga, and I really hope that after all the build up we can let loose. I want to be excited about this new direction, but it's hard when I don't have much to latch onto other than a good internal monologue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.1
Man of Steel (2018) #5

Jun 27, 2018

But the men of the hour are Rogol Zaar and Superman, and while I love Superman, Rogol Zaar gave me one interesting speech way back at the beginning of the series. There are very clearly defined stakes. The action is quick paced. The plot is finally picking up. I have to admit that the final spread is tantalizing. The epic conclusion to the mini-series is next week and yet, I am more curious than I am anticipatory.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Man of Steel (2018) #6

Jul 4, 2018

This was not the grand finale Man of Steel needed to salvage its self-indulgent pacing. It did not instill great confidence in the adventures continuing with Superman #1 and Action Comics #1. The story it was trying to tell was finished in a technically proficient manner, but the charm of a sympathetic Superman was lost halfway through the mini-series. Readers are left with a kind of sadness. While this may be what was intended, I have relied on Superman to be a beacon of hope in desolate times. I just want better for the Man of Steel.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Milk Wars: JLA/Doom Patrol Special #1

Jan 31, 2018

If I had time, I'd take a corkboard and start arranging comic book clippings with color strings to try and make sure I understand everything that's happened in the book. There's a lot going on and the rest of the Milk Wars are probably going to follow suit. But if you've been following any of the Young Animal titles, if you're a fan of offbeat, off-the-rails humor, you'll find yourself bewildered in the best possible way.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Milk Wars: Doom Patrol/JLA Special #1

Feb 28, 2018

There are hauntingly beautiful moments and equally jubilant moments that leave you trying to verbalize "$%!?" It's weird. It escalates quickly. If you haven't been keeping up, maybe wait for the trade. If you have been though, pick up your pull and put this on top. You're in for a trip and the genesis of the next wave of Young Animal titles.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Nightwing (2016) #34

Dec 6, 2017

After 34 issues, we get Nightwing's answers to those questions. After 34 issues, we get to reflect on our own answers because of it. A fitting end to a series so grounded in revealing character through a myriad of reflections.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Nightwing (2016) #35

Dec 20, 2017

Yet, while there is a fair bit of action and a lot of happens during the issue, things don't quite connect for me. I'll read a scene I'm fully invested in, but will lose a bit of momentum as it shifts to the next in what feels like a rough transition. In part, I think it is because this is the new status quo of Nightwing. But I'm intrigued enough to gamble that the next issue is going to pay off now that the ante has been set.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.9
Nightwing (2016) #36

Dec 27, 2017

Overall, the pacing of the issue felt smoother aided by the vignette style of storytelling. Nightwing continues to be the fun to follow. But my verdict on the Judge, and the arc as a whole, remains up in the air.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Nightwing (2016) #37

Jan 17, 2018

My enduring, continual skepticism of the Judge's efficacy as a villain aside, this issue begins paying out some of the gambles the earlier issues took. Nightwing is given the chance to the take entire stage, making full use of it. I'm excited to see where this goes, if only to see more of Dick Grayson's past.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Nightwing (2016) #38

Feb 7, 2018

The last few pages make me really excited for the inevitable showdown between Nightwing and the Judge. The Rise and Fall of Bldhaven has clarified the trajectory of the arc, and for that I'm thankful.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Nightwing (2016) #39

Feb 21, 2018

Perhaps The Untouchable is a story arc that's a bit too ambitious for its own good; the creation of a new villain while expanding on unexplored parts of Dick Grayson's past as it connects to aforementioned villain and setting it in a modernized Bldhaven. With all the elements finally coalescing, I'm happy that I don't know what's going to happen next now that I have all the flashbacks in context.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Nightwing (2016) #40

Mar 7, 2018

Perhaps, that is my main gripe. While we have a strong voice and visual for Dick Grayson and Nightwing, it's a story that seems more and more suited for Gotham and not Bldhaven.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Nightwing (2016) #41

Mar 21, 2018

I get the intent. I get what Humphries was trying to do. But I'm ending the series feeling like when I first started: interested, but not compelled.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nightwing (2016) #42

Apr 4, 2018

But all in all, it told a fun, off-beat one-of story and it did it well. If nothing else, Nightwing #42 has made me that much more excited for the upcoming release of Batman Ninja, and I can be thankful for that.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Nightwing (2016) #43

Apr 18, 2018

In many ways, it's diametrically opposed to The Untouchable story arc. It's short, team-oriented, and attempts to be comedic in a sharp contrast to the long, solo, serious musing that was Nightwing's struggle against The Judge. You may enjoy the issue more than I did. I just want a Nightwing that better blends the two extremes.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Nightwing (2016) #44

May 2, 2018

This is looking like a start to my favorite type of Nightwing story. The one where Nightwing is talking to his friends and allies and trying to make sense of things. The one where Nightwing isn't overtly brooding or overtly stylized. The one where Nightwing feels more like the next-door-neighbor, street level superhero that's a little more grounded. Honestly, my biggest complaint is that Nightwing makes one too many mentions about his stripper pants. So personally, I can't wait for part 2.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Nightwing (2016) #45

Jun 6, 2018

The Bleeding Edge breathes new life into Nightwing, while also serving as an interesting meditation on our current technological usage. It leverages the superheroics in all the right ways, and this is an arc that you're not going to want to miss.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Nightwing (2016) #46

Jul 4, 2018

Nightwing #46 continues to be an exhilarating exhibition and examination of contemporary social issues. It has carefully leveraged the superheroic nature of the DC universe to give physical manifestation of our everyday fears. As the conspiracy behind Mirage Industries slowly unfurls to both us and our protagonist, we are forced to question the layered reality that we reside in — the intertwined nature of our physical and digital life. Percy continues to orchestrate an engaging tale that is peak Nightwing.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Plastic Man (2018) #1

Jun 13, 2018

Plastic Man #1 is part origin story, part whodunit, part mafia film. The script is hilarious, the visuals are pure eye-candy, and neither shies away from the horribly dark happenings of Cole City. This is an all-female creative team breathing new life into gleeful Plastic Man, and you should make it a point to pick it up this week.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Plastic Man (2018) #2

Jul 11, 2018

There are so many twists and turns, 'a-ha' moments, and winks at the reader in this issue. Here is a wonderful, colorful world of sex, crime, and conspiracy; with a quirky charm to it. Simone and Melo are an immaculate duo, and will make you a fan of Plastic Man in short order.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Saga #49

Feb 28, 2018

It's good to have Saga back in the pull. The new arc is off to a very promising start, and there is nothing quiet like this particular emotional roller coaster.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Saga #50

Mar 28, 2018

This is the zenith of storytelling. This is the textbook on how to construct simultaneous narratives and still feel like the overarching story arc is progressing at full speed. This is just the latest example of how Saga has fundamentally altered the world of comics and how it's not to late to start reading. This is a reminder to pick up your pull so you can see the saga unfold.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Saga #51

Apr 26, 2018

I honestly wouldn't have it any other way. This continues to be the comic I put at the top of my pull every week.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Saga #52

May 30, 2018

Saga #52 continues building a house of cards on top of dominoes that were laid out last issue. At any moment, you know something is going to give. Something is going to break beautifully and horrifically. It's an issue that showcases what Vaughan and Staples do best: lure you into a magical world and challenge every single one of your perceptions.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Saga #53

Jun 27, 2018

Next issue is the quote unquote season finale. I am currently exceedingly stressed out that I have to wait another month to see how this all wraps up. This arc has been harrowing every step of the way, and there are only so many ways that I can say Saga is going down in the history books as one of the greatest stories in any medium. But Vaughan and Staples continue to show the fuck off.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Sci-Fu #1

Mar 2, 2018

By the time I finished reading Sci-Fu, I had a huge smile on my face. I'd be very excited to see a sequel or animated adaptation. Mercado's comic could just as well be a beautiful storyboard. Sci-Fu was fun. It had fun bridging the generation gaps. It will be a great gift for the young adults in your life that you may want to get into comics, or maybe just for yourself.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Super Sons #11

Dec 20, 2017

As the action continues rising, it's become apparent this is a very ambitious story. The final page of the issue adds an entirely new foil to the already packed story, welding together multiple arcs from multiple titles. It's a little darker, it's a little denser, but it's fascinating nonetheless.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Super Sons #12

Jan 17, 2018

It's a fitting conclusion. It wraps up the storylines and makes you want more of the characters. You can't really ask for better.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Super Sons #13

Feb 21, 2018

I'm glad to see Damian and Jonathan get to live out the normal parts of childhood after twelve issues of all the super heroics. I'm glad to see Talia al Ghul back in the fold. The series exudes joy, and I'm here for it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Super Sons #14

Mar 21, 2018

It's an honest shame that we don't get to spend more time with Lois and Talia. While the series has made it very clear the traits that the Super Sons inherit from the Super Fathers, this issue scratches at the surface of what they inherited from their Super Mothers. It's a fantastic story, it just runs a little short.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Super Sons #15

Apr 18, 2018

Super Sons has always been a simple outing. It's never been more complicated than the Son of Batman and the Son of Superman getting into all sorts of shenanigans as they try to figure out how to become better versions of the parents. Yet, it has always been an endearing story and Tomasi's final arc promises to be the only thing we could ever want: Superboy and Robin rising to the occasion.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Super Sons #16

May 30, 2018

The World's Soon-to-Be Finest are very much their fathers' sons. Tomasi has written them so brilliantly that it's clear that while they still have plenty of growing up to do, they are on the right trajectory to surpass the cape and cowl before long. There are plenty of winks and nudges to the fans, and there is a peculiar type of triumph that'll make you smile when you get to the end.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2016) #36

Dec 6, 2017

As such, Imperius Lex in large part has been a return to more iconic elements, with the larger focus on both Apokolips and Lex Luthor and the eternal question: what does one do with all that power? It's certainly a fun way to start the end of the year.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Superman (2016) #37

Dec 20, 2017

Time travel and alternate reality stories are difficult to follow. There's a lot of bookkeeping involved, a lot of narrative jumps that need to be ordered and made, and you're going to want your back issues near, along with some notes. But if you just want to jump aboard and see what happens, you're in good hands and company.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Superman (2016) #38

Jan 1, 2018

The penultimate issue of the Super Sons of Tomorrow event weaves together all of the disparate elements that led up to it. Much like Tim Drake, it has evolved into something else entirely than what its start seemed to indicate and has this reviewer more hyped than ever for the finale.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Superman (2016) #39

Jan 17, 2018

Fictional heroes represent the virtues we hope to embody. With all of their powers, they choose to protect and inspire. On a fundamental level, they illicit wonder. With its premise, its dialogue, its fantastic artwork, Superman #39 is a one-shot story that masterfully demonstrates why Superman and Co. have captured the collective imagination.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Superman (2016) #40

Feb 7, 2018

I don't want to say it falls flat. Robinson weaves his narrative into the preexisting canon and thematically, it builds off The Oz Effect and the idea of a lost home, and Super Sons of Tomorrow and Jon's attempt to take control of his personal life. But it's rough around the edges, a bit heavy handed at points, and too on the nose. The issue has its moments though, and if you're fan of Superman, you'll find something to enjoy.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Superman (2016) #41

Feb 21, 2018

While I can appreciate the attempt, this retread of the science and religion dichotomy with a Superman spin leaves me wanting more.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superman (2016) #42

Mar 7, 2018

It is a very poetic way to end with a Bizarro storyline. I'm sad to see the end. But by that same virtue, I'm happy to have Gleason and Tomasi back in the driver's seat, showing off how much they love and respect the Superfamily. I'm happy that the start of this arc is bringing everything full circle for an appropriate bookend.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Superman (2016) #43

Mar 21, 2018

Superman is just" fun. It's the type of story that you can appreciate whether you're enfranchised or new to the series. Gleason and Tomasi have curated such a wonderful sandbox and they continue to deliver stellar storytelling.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Superman (2016) #44

Apr 4, 2018

Superman #44 is the penultimate issue of Gleason and Tomasi's run with the Superfamily. The entire Superman: Rebirth has been some of the finest storytelling that DC Comics has produced, you owe it to yourself to pick up a copy.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Superman (2016) #45

Apr 18, 2018

Gleason and Tomasi capture the voices of the character in their dialog and internal monologue. Gleason's artwork is as beautiful as ever. I've said this before, but the truly great Superman stories are the ones where his powers can't save the day. They're the stories where his innate moral compass and compassion do. And my Rao, Clark and Lois raising Jon has been truly brilliant story and this is an equally awesome conclusion to it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Superman (2016): Special #1

May 16, 2018

Interestingly enough, each of these stories had enough merit to warrant their own issue. The combination of all three into a single package makes this is a very desirable issue for the Superman fan, particularly for those who loved the Tomasi/Gleason run.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
The Terrifics #1

Feb 28, 2018

The visuals are absolutely gorgeous. Plastic Man's odd shapeshifting completely steals the shows, and light cosmic horror atmosphere and elements help distinguish the series. I wish there was a little more room to let characters and moments breathe, but it's a fun start to a fun mini-series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
The Terrifics #2

Mar 28, 2018

It's a fun story that makes you wish you could spend a little more time with it. But you'll definitely enjoy what time you have.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
The Terrifics #3

Apr 25, 2018

The Terrifics has got the right balance of offbeat humor, the joy of superheroics, and a directed mytharc. As long as Bennett and Lemire continue their playfulness when dealing with the Dark Multiverse, I'm going to continue to reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
The Terrifics #4

May 23, 2018

Shaner and Lemire clearly have a fantastic time creating all sort of wacky antics, and Fairbairn's colors give everything a retro, futuristic pop. It's a simple encounter along the way to the real destination story. The dark thematics and larger myth arc that enchanted me during the first three issues are kind of toned down, but I have faith that things will pick up steam as we enter into the next arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
The Terrifics #5

Jun 26, 2018

The Terrific #5 is largely a set up for the next arc, but it's a enjoyable jaunt. Shaner and Lemire do a lot of really cool things with four panels of the team and there is a lot of eye candy and plot to keep a smile on your face. The Terrifics are the exact kind of B team you should be reading this summer vacation. It's just fun.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

July

June

More