Seven Secrets #1 View Preview
Prev Series Next

Seven Secrets #1

Writer: Tom Taylor Artist: Daniele Di Nicuolo Publisher: Boom! Studios Release Date: August 12, 2020 Cover Price: $3.99 Critic Reviews: 14
8.5Critic Rating
N/AUser Rating

+ Pull List

For fans of Once & Future and Undiscovered Country comes an all-new original series from #1 New York Times best-selling author Tom Taylor (DCeased) and artist Daniele di Nicuolo (Mighty Morphin Power Rangers) about seven powerful secrets-words, wonders, weapons, and worse-with the power to change the world..

For centuries, the Order has trusted in Keepers and Holders to guard the Secrets in seven briefcases against all harm, but when their stronghold is attacked and the secrets put in peril, the entire Order must face their greatest fear-an enemy who knows too much and is willing to kill to get what he wants.

Now, the Order' more

  • 10
    Graphic Policy - Brett Aug 12, 2020

    If you can't tell, I loved Seven Secrets #1. Taylor and the team knock it out of the park with a story that's full of action but doesn't forget the heart. There's some tragedy there that a parent and a child can relate to, even if just understanding the horror, which makes the comic so much more than cool stunts and cool fights. It's a series that was already at the top of my list of ones I was excited to read and this start makes it one of my favorite debuts of the year. Read Full Review

  • 9.9
    Comic Watch - Cody White Aug 12, 2020

    Seven Secrets #1 is finally here and delivers on all of the hype. Read Full Review

  • 9.5
    The Super Powered Fancast - Deron Generally Aug 12, 2020

    Daniele Di Nicuolo fills this issue with beautifully detailed action. There is an immediacy to every moment and that is reflected in both the character designs and their movement throughout the panels. Every page looks great and the art engages the reader by perfectly matching the tone and energy of the story. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Beyond The Panel - Jideobi Odunze Aug 12, 2020

    By the end of Seven Secrets #1, I was sold on this book. You can say that you have read books or followed stories about orders and secrets, but Seven Secrets is not like the rest. And with a creative team like this? You can bet that they are going to find every way to keep you at the edge of your seat! Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Monkeys Fighting Robots - Zac Owens Jul 28, 2020

    BOOM! Studios' Seven Secrets #1 is a feat in storytelling. It may occasionally get lost in the weeds of trying to fill pages with captions, but it never gets lost in exposition. Every new character is exactly that, new. We don't need to know more; this creative team expects us to take each character as they are, and trust that we'll know more when we need to. BOOM! Studios' Seven Secrets is aptly named. It uses the best tool a writer has to get readers intrigued: secrets. Read Full Review

  • 8.8
    Black Nerd Problems - Mikkel Snyder Aug 12, 2020

    Bottom line is Seven Secrets masterfully establishes its tone and the atmosphere of the series beautifully and succeeds as a first issue where it matters most: making me want to read the second issue. Read Full Review

  • 8.7
    The Brazen Bull - Charlie Chipman Aug 12, 2020

    Seven Secrets #1 gets the series off the an impressive start and gives readers good reason to not only jump in, but stay along for the ride. Read Full Review

  • 8.7
    GWW - B Ferg Aug 12, 2020

    Issue # 1 of Secret Seven reveals a few secrets for the reader. We learn the name of the aggressor from the opening pages. The consequences of boredom and drunkenness, which really isn't a secret to anybody. That there is a secret connection between Casper, Sigurd and Eva. That secret seems to be where most of the lies begin. Read Full Review

  • 8.5
    AIPT - David Brooke Aug 11, 2020

    I had a blast with the first issue of Seven Secrets as it's economical in its delivery of story, character, and action, all of which come at whiplash speed. This book is slick and should be handled with gloves so it doesn't burn you with its awesomeness. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Comics: The Gathering - Olivier Roth Aug 12, 2020

    All in all, this was a fun first issue from Taylor, Di Nicuolo, Baiamonte, Ranalli and Dukeshire. It’s definitely setting the stage for what comes next, and honestly, I can’t wait to meet our protagonist, hopefully, in the next issue. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    But Why Tho? - Aaron Phillips Aug 12, 2020

    Overall this was a really intriguing first issue from Taylor and his creative team. While vague in parts, theres enough there that I really want to see where this story goes. The art style was really captivating and I think this creative team has the ability to come together and deliver something spectacular. Read Full Review

  • 7.8
    Word Of The Nerd - Brent Jackson Aug 11, 2020

    Seven Secrets #1 is another issue where I am in a bit of a conundrum when giving it a "score". I like the idea behind it and the story was fun and engaging, but at the same time, I don't feel like I got enough of it. We don't get enough of the characters and story to really get a "feel" of what this series is all about. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    Comic Crusaders - Johnny "The Machine" Hughes Aug 12, 2020

    I wasn't too certain heading into this book and now that I have read it, I don't think that I am any further forward to be honest. There are parts I really like, there are parts that don't quite work for me. A first issues main job is to deliver the hook, by which a reader is grabbed. I am can see how this book will be attractive to a lot of readers and it is good to see Taylor move away from the “alternative DC Universe” arena for which is he is probably best known. Read Full Review

  • 6.0
    Comics Bookcase - Jacob Cordas Aug 11, 2020

    Seven Secrets #1 struggles with the set-up for the overarching series but will almost certainly turn into a great series as it goes along. Read Full Review

Be the first to rate this issue!



Click the 'Rate/Write A Review' link above to get started.

Reviews for the Week of...

August

July

More