B Ferg's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: GWW Reviews: 30
8.8Avg. Review Rating

8.9
A Man Among Ye #1

Jun 17, 2020

As the star of A Man Among Ye, Anne does not disappoint. Her fiery personality makes her a dominate presence on the Kingston. The tension among the crew and how Anne handles it are just enough to keep me interested. As as result of this continued attacks on ships, Jack and his crew have an enemy in the Governor. Clearly mutanty is aboard the Kingston. A stowaway provides a hint at how Anne may have to question her loyalty to her crew or her code.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Alienated #2

Mar 17, 2020

Issue #1 of Alienated showed us how alone, how different, how “alienated” each of the Sams are. With this issue one of them is beginning to act a little more “alien”.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Angel (2019) #9

Feb 26, 2020

A quick note of the cover shows a heading of Ring of Fire. As a fan of the show I think I have a good idea what comes next. Like Skip said, alot of lives coming together. Angel might want to ask Lilith to help him finish his list of allies, I think someone is coming to Los Angeles.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Angel (2019) #10

Mar 24, 2020

I enjoyed this issue because of the continued emphasis on Spike as a much deeper character. This issue shows less of the angry pitiful individual and instead someone who has accepted who they are. Taking into account all that has happened to them and all they have done to others. Used to be Angel's thing, thankfully we have the addition of Spike for that now.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Ascender #10

Mar 17, 2020

I enjoyed Ascender Issue 10, the sketch art style ensures each panel has the perfect amount of imagery never feeling overcrowded. It's a very subtle technique that forces the story to stay focused on what is important on that page. The door is opened for the next arc while closing out things between Andy and Eff in a few spectacularly beautiful panels.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Big Girls #1

Aug 12, 2020

Big Girls # 1 forces you to focus on the follies of man. Or as Ember states it “Men….The Giant Insane Monster Men”. It also brings up the conversation of what matters, is it only the massive that has meaning. Or should we take measure and look for meaning in the miniscule as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Bitter Root #8

Jun 10, 2020

Both the final panel and its words caused me to pause. The glee on the face of the infected along with the proclamation pose a serious question.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Bliss (2020) #1

Jul 22, 2020

The young defense attorney, I assume they named him Perry, representing his father. An unfortunate and desperate situation led Benton to Docktown. A chance encounter providing him the opportunity to take care of his son, his wife. Amazingly it seems his solution is a drug that does what the name says for once. Bliss provides ignorance….and in a bad place like Docktown the individuals that Benton encounters seem to believe that is Bliss.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Buffy the Vampire Slayer (2019) #13

Mar 3, 2020

With the Hellmouth concluded and current events set to lead into the Ring of Fire for both this comic and Angel the call couldn't have come soon enough for".Kendra the Vampire Slayer.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Buffy the Vampire Slayer (2019) #14

May 19, 2020

The only shortcoming in this issue would have been it lacked any actual slaying action. I briefly believed this was a fake Joyce picking up Buffy from school, the only real tension this issue. Buffy's dream and the reveal on the final page are welcome hints to what is about to come. Between these and the hilarious note from Anyanka to start the issue, I agree with Jenny that things aren't right…I'm just okay with it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Buffy the Vampire Slayer (2019): Every Generation #1

Jun 1, 2020

The decisions Buffy makes in this story and the implications they have seem to be in conflict with everything we know about Ms. Summers. It was an unspoken idea that she survived longer than others because she did things differently. Now it seems less like she was making decisions and more like destiny.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Decorum #2

Jun 10, 2020

Image's Decorum 2 feels like a mashup of so many fantastic sci fi entries. I felt hints of Heavy Metal, MTv's Liquid Television and the Fifth Element as I read through this book. Decorum delivers a universal creation story, with varying art styles told from different perspectives. It will be amazing to see how the inner story of Mrs. Morley and Neha impact the larger story of the Sisters and Ro Chi's master.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Exorsisters #6

May 26, 2020

This being my first issue of Exorsisters I wasn't quite certain what to expect. I found this issue to contain just enough blend of humor, mythos and storytelling to capture my interest and have my awaiting the next issue. I have to admit I felt at times I was reading something of a female lead Supernatural episode and that certainly helped with my enjoyment.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Folklords #4

Feb 26, 2020

The search for and completion of a quest is the goal of Ansel in the pages of Folklords. Issue #4 explores those who aid the hero on their quest. Are they abandoning their own quest or is this the beginning of it?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Ice Cream Man #20

Aug 5, 2020

While Jane's tale is the main focus of this issue, bedtime story 3 is my favorite. Fans of Seuss and Snoop should enjoy. As for me, all I can say is “I won't I won't oh Gremloke like Rick James said it ain't no joke”.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Jim Henson's The Storyteller: Ghosts #1

Mar 10, 2020

This is a well crafted story and mythos that could stand with most traditional terror tales. Jim Henson's The Storyteller " The Myling is a both a wonderful return to a classic show while also providing it with a increase in intensity.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.1
Jim Henson's The Storyteller: Ghosts #2

May 19, 2020

By combining tales of morality with the supernatural, Jim Henson's Storyteller #2 continues to craft tales of things that go bump in the night. Seeing how the things that scare us came to be is an interesting way to present cautionary tales. Although it has been 30 years since his passing, the works of Jim Henson still amaze me.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Jim Henson's The Storyteller: Ghosts #4

Aug 5, 2020

As is the case with most Storyteller stories, the real monster or menace isn't always immediately realized. VER has created a tale of loss and terror by allowing most panels to have a dark tone, while still allowing light to peak in. This is a tale of a grandmother's hope, of a promise to keep. Still, there is a glimpse of hope; a promise may be kept. And, as the final story for now ends, the Storyteller reminds us how we may always be reminded of them, always.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Lucy Claire: Redemption #4

Mar 24, 2020

If there is any major drawback to the issue it's with the character herself. She spends much of the issue recovering from her wounds, only to discover upon awakening that the NEW Wolf Hunter wasn't killed as the gang believed. A drunkard adds enough salt to the wound for Lucy. If she believes her children are out there I can only hope that is what finally forces her to shake off her self pity. The events in Bristol were possibly meant to draw her out, hopefully she can make the most of the opportunity.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Mirka Andolfo's Mercy #2

May 28, 2020

The mine and it's destruction has something to do with Lady Hellaine's arrival. Lady Gloria's late husband and his research are part of the reason Lady Hellaine are in town as well. Is Lady Hellaine the product of his research? And why did she react to both Jon and Rory the way she did, and why was Goodwill so quick to make them both leave…he obviously doesn't want them near Lady Hellaine, but why? Lady Hellaine not being able to sense the “others” at the beginning of the issue only to have the reader discover why at the end is just one more thing that keeps this story moving at a wonderful pace. What makes this issue comic good is the subtle “not coincidences” Mirka delivers.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Mirka Andolfo's Mercy #4

Jul 29, 2020

The tragedy at the mine is starting to look less like an act of survival and more an act of salvation. Mirka Andolfo has left a few details remaining as this series moves closer to conclusion. The mine, owned by the Swanson familly, being a bridge between the worlds is just one thing I look forward to learning about. Also Mr. Swanson and his experiments most certainly need to be discussed further. It would seem that all parties, the town, the creatures have a common enemy…the Swanson family. And well you remember what Kreese said about an enemy….

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Nailbiter Returns #1

Jun 3, 2020

Nailbiter Returns 1 does an amazing job of introducing new reader to get adjusted to the franchise. It also appears to provide a new mystery that is compelling enough to entice fans back to Buckaroo. The child from the opening pages is now 30 years older. The darkness they are against, is it the law like Finch? The child of killer like Molly? Or are they after the Nailbiter and trying to lure him out of hiding?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Seven Secrets #1

Aug 12, 2020

Issue # 1 of Secret Seven reveals a few secrets for the reader. We learn the name of the aggressor from the opening pages. The consequences of boredom and drunkenness, which really isn't a secret to anybody. That there is a secret connection between Casper, Sigurd and Eva. That secret seems to be where most of the lies begin.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Sex Criminals #30

Aug 5, 2020

Chip Zdarsky's art showcases both the beauty and bleak that is the Quiet. Shadows on the wall, scattered pictures. All Suzie's memories are darker as if to say no matter how good they are, they can only provide so much light. Meanwhile, Suzie is highlighted in a pink luminous light. Here she is presented as both material and immaterial, she has to choose what she wants. All her yesterdays or a tomorrow.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Stealth #1

Mar 10, 2020

It's not unheard of for the first issue of a comic to present a problem for the hero. Stealth #1 does that in a much different way. It asks the reader to consider the hero has become the problem. I am interested to see the ssues of pride and stubbornness play in the characters decisions. Image has snuck a social commentary into the pages of a comic…that's the “stealthy” part."

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Tomorrow #1

Feb 26, 2020

Tomorrow offered this reader a captivating disaster storyline. By offering a refreshing story containing recognizable characters Tomorrow already has me speculating. For Agent Treacy it is a question of mission or family? For Nate and his father, I wonder how far the apple has fallen from the tree? Finally, will the twins be reunited again? Tomorrow is uncertain, none knows what it may bring. Isn't that the wonderful thing about Tomorrow after all.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Transformers (2019) #19

Mar 18, 2020

Transformers # 19 demonstrates the lengths Megatron goes to for his agenda. We see the struggles of a young Orion Pax not quite the hero we have come to know. Struggling to have his voice heard and ideas considered. Factions are forming and the lives of many are on the line. All so political.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Wellington #4

Jun 11, 2020

If not for a few panels, you could forget this story is a flashback. As stated the art is so wonderfully crafted that Duke and the investigator are only visible in shadows. As the Duke recalls this adventure by the fire, I couldn't help feeling a sense of a Frostian tale. With having sent his family home, uncertain who he can trust…it seems things for the Duke of Wellington are diverging. As the issue ends in a cliffhanger, we are left wondering….which road did he take?

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Wicked Things #1

Mar 17, 2020

I would have to say that Wicked Things #1 was nothing I expected. Instead it has a character with enough attitude and personality to provide a great first issue for this series. It also manages to deliver on its title as well. Something wicked is going on which isn't good for Charlotte.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Wynd (2020) #1

Jun 16, 2020

When Wynd sprints off on a break from work, I certainly didn't expect a voyeuristic moment to take place. Oakley's reaction to Wynd during the dream sequence was also quite comical. What could have been a scary tale takes breaks and makes you say, “I did not see that coming.” Moments like this are the most magical thing about this book. It seems like every panel brought a new breeze blowing though which I found quite refreshing. I have to say this book is quite amusing and I wonder how the “winds” will shift in this book.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

August

July

More