Nolan Smith's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Pastrami Nation Reviews: 177
9.0Avg. Review Rating

9.0
4 Kids Walk Into A Bank #1

May 1, 2016

This is a good start to what is sure to be another hit series from Black Mask. With titles like We Can Never Go Home and Space Riders, this series has huge shoes to fill. Thats the thing, I dont think it will fill those shoes- I think this unique series will stomp through its own path and leave its own hallmark of foot prints for books to live up to in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
4 Kids Walk Into A Bank #2

Jul 4, 2016

This series has stepped on the gas pedal, and if you haven't been reading it, I recommend picking up the first two issues. Rosenberg and Boss create a comic book that isn't of the norm, which is exactly what the industry needs more of.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
4001 A.D. #1

May 2, 2016

4001 A.D. #1 delivers on all fronts, cranking up the urgency and tension to 11 and making a war that has literally millions of lives hanging in the balance.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
4001 A.D.: Shadowman #1

Jul 10, 2016

The book ends in a way that makes me think we may be revisiting the Deadside of 4001 A.D. very soon. These one shots that delve in the mythos of familiar Valiant heroes have all been outstanding, and Shadowman follows suite with a high quality, intriguing story. 4001 A.D. has not disappointed me yet, and with Shadowman, Valiant has another must read one shot for fans of the black and white-clad hero.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
4001 A.D.: Bloodshot #1

Jun 12, 2016

This is another action packed, solid part to the 4001 A.D. storyline, and honestly, it shouldn't be missed.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
A&A: The Adventures of Archer and Armstrong #1

Mar 16, 2016

This is a fantastic start to the latest series of A&A, admittedly my favorite of Valiants properties. This was an extremely fun read, and sets up the series for a roller coaster of fights, betrayals and booze.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
A&A: The Adventures of Archer and Armstrong #7

Sep 11, 2016

This is a fun issue, and leads into finally finding out just why all these clones look like Armstrong, and why they exist to begin with. Oh, and maybe why that scientist bear can talk and, well, be a scientist. I'm on board for Clowntown, and wherever else this creative team takes my favorite Valiant book in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
A.D.: After Death #1

Nov 27, 2016

I love the format this book is done in, with both the visual and the written storytelling being extremely strong, transporting us into very surreal situations. A.D.: After Death is something special: it is best to get in on the ground floor while you still can.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Action Comics (2016) #957

Jun 12, 2016

This is what Superman: Rebirth should have been: a fun, entertaining issue that lays the groundwork for storylines to come and places Superman back in the spotlight.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Action Comics (2016) #958

Jun 26, 2016

We also see more of this new Clark Kent, one who appears to be powerless- who or what is he? The plots thicken, and by the end of the issue, the battle still rages on as Lex and Supes give it their all. I am loving this series- it's exactly what I want from a Superman series- tons of action and mystery, all being led by DC's big blue. Action Comics is the Superman book to read, jump on board and get ready to rumble.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Amazing Spider-Man (2015) #1

Oct 18, 2015

Giuseppe Camuncoli provides the artwork and does a wonderful job on this perfect jumping on point. This issue looks and reads like an ideal issue of a Spider-Man book- the costume looks a bit different from what we are used to, but nothing to get in an uproar about. The battle between Spider-Man and fellow hero Mockingbird as they take on members of the villainous Zodiac had the kinetic energy leaping off of the page. The books sets the stage for a new chapter in the life of Peter Parker, one that, as a life long fan of the web head, I am glad to be on board for.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
American Gods: Shadows #1

Mar 19, 2017

I feel that by including the mature rated back story, it will stop the American Gods comic series from crossing over to teens. The main story was great, and felt very true to the source material. That might seem like a negative to some, but I feel that having the story portrayed almost beat for beat in sequential art form is absolutely the way to go. American Gods is one of the great modern tales of our time, and the comic book version aims to hook a whole new generation of mature readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
American Monster #1

Jan 24, 2016

This is a good start for the series, and another solid debut for Aftershock. I will no doubt be referring back to this issue as the series progresses to see how it all works together.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Andre the Giant: Closer to Heaven #1

Jan 6, 2016

Reading this book made me that much more of a fan of Andre the Giant, and it is a shining example that the comic book medium can be used to tell any story: from fictional superheroes to the larger than life, real life legends like Andre.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Animosity #1

Aug 28, 2016

Animosity is one of those books that comes along and steps outside of the norm. It is boldly different than most books one the shelves today, and it rightfully stands out as one of 2016s best first issues. Whether the rest of the series keeps the steam going remains to be seen, but so far, Animosity looks like its has the bark to match its bite.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Aquaman: Rebirth #1

Jun 12, 2016

I was really excited for this issue, but after checking it out and seeing a very familiar villain at the end of the book, I am on the fence about jumping in head first to the new Aquaman title. If you haven't check out an Aquaman book before, then this is a great jumping on point, but if you are looking for something new, then I think you will be waiting for the new #1 for the series to hit.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Arrow #1

Nov 4, 2015

Of course, much more took place this episode as we saw more of villain Damien Darhks plans with Officer Lance, and how it all connects to John Diggles brother. But all that took a backseat, as seen the Green Arrow and company interact with Constantine was the main course of this episode. Very well done, and with more plot-lines that could end up taking Constantine to Central City for a Flash crossover down the road, this episode lived up to the massive hype.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Barrier #1

Dec 25, 2015

Vaughn and Martin has created an amazing online comic once again, one that has a heck of a cliffhanger that will turn the whole story upside down. Barrier will continue online at http://panelsyndicate.com/.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2016) #14

Jan 8, 2017

This issue adds a new dimension to the Catwoman mythos, and does such a great job humanizing the popular villain, showing that she does indeed have a heart for more than just herself. A very well planned out, well plotted issue that pretty much guarantees anyone that reads this issue has to come back for the next. I mean, how could you not? To see what happens to Catwoman, to see what happens between the two next? This issue is a must read for anyone who has had a vested interest in the Bats/Cat chemistry.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Batman (2016) #15

Jan 22, 2017

We get action, intrigue, and more with this issue, and in the end, we get another side of Batman and Catwoman. Easily one of the best Batman story lines I have read in years, this is the perfect end to not only Rooftops , but to a string of Batman success by Kings hand. Gerads artistic style is the perfect fit for the Dark Knight: the emotions seen on the faces of Bruce and Selina tell pages without needing to say a word. Hands down, the best DC Comic series out at the moment, dont miss this all important and enjoyable issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #1

Dec 12, 2015

This could have been a lackluster idea if executed poorly- thankfully, this issue is anything but lackluster. This first issue is a great start to the mini series, putting all the players on the chessboard. I felt like a kid seeing my cartoon heroes meet in a once in a lifetime opportunity- tell me that isnt the best feeling to walk away with?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #2

Jan 16, 2016

On the flip side of our heroes, the criminal kingpin Penguin is shown having made an uneasy alliance with the Shredder, and of course, trouble isnt far behind. To see how the heroes and the Shredder react and adapt to this universe is a joy to see, especially Splinters part in this issue. This is a fantastic second issue, and for me, overshadows the first issues level of greatness. This is a fun series, one that is going as fans had hoped: full of familiar faces, fights and answers the age old question: who would win?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Batman: Rebirth #1

Jun 5, 2016

I enjoyed Batman: Rebirth, and I think for many, this will lead them into following the new adventures of Batman moving forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: Who Laughs #1

Nov 19, 2017

I have been extremely impressed with all of the books tied to this storyline, but this book tops the list so far. The Batman Who Laughs is no laughing matter, and is one of the coolest Batman stories ever printed.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Beautiful Canvas #1

Jul 2, 2017

Black Mask has a violent hit on their hands with Beautiful Canvas. A strong female lead, a story that is guaranteed to bring the pain, and hybrid mutant hitmen: what more could you want? Beautiful Canvas is an amazing debut issue, one you should be checking out. But keep in mind, this is for mature readers, so keep out of reach of the little ones.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Black Eyed Kids #1

Apr 25, 2016

Pruett and Kudranski create something so eerie, so atmospheric, that it sends chills down your spine as you read it. Kudranski's artwork is so well suited for dark stories, his style is the perfect choice for Black Eyed Kids. Not a whole lot of details are given of what's going on, but for a first issue, it easily hooks the reader into wanting to stick around to find out. Plus, this debut issue is only 1.99, which gives you no reason not to try out this start to what looks to be another hit series for AfterShock. Black Eyed Kids opens a new door for the horror genre in comics: are you brave enough to walk in?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Black Hammer #7

Mar 29, 2017

Black Hammer is my favorite Dark Horse comic on the shelves today, and rightfully so. It is a super hero epic that shows the human side of these larger than life characters, which allows for us, the readers, to connect that much more. If you havent given it a shot yet, now is the time to jump on board with Black Hammer.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Black Hammer Annual #1

Jan 22, 2017

This annual ties into the series perfectly, all while giving us more insight into this strange team. Even though each pays homage to a certain heroic archtype (Golden Gail: Shazam, Barbalien: Martian Manhunter, Col. Weird: Adam Strange, etc), its Lemires attention to the emotional side of these characters that makes the book tick, and makes our heroes have heart. If you arent already reading Black Hammer, you are committing a huge disservice to yourself. This annual is a fantastic book that readies readers for when the book returns with the next arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Bloodshot U.S.A. #1

Oct 30, 2016

I will be honest, I havent been reading the Bloodshot series as of late, so I was a little thrown off on who the group of Bloodshots are, but the story within this book is pretty well contained. How can Bloodshot and whatever allies he may have left stop a city infested with Bloodshot soldiers? This is the story, especially since Bloodshot is used to solving problems by putting a bullet into his opposition. Lemire and Braithwaite have created a good start to what is sure to be a bloody good series, if the last page is any indication. Bloodshot U.S.A. is here, who survives this new nation remains to be seen.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Bloodshot: Reborn #0

Mar 29, 2017

There isnt a whole lot of action here, but for a zero issue, that is completely okay. This book leads the charge to the next big Bloodshot series, that being Bloodshot: Salvation, which hits this fall. By the end of the book, it looks like Ray has finally found a happy ending: but as the poet Robert Frost said, Nothing gold can stay. This is a great issue to wrap up the past and look towards a bright future.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Britannia #1

Sep 25, 2016

I absolutely loved the first issue of Britannia. Steeped in the war torn setting of Rome and with plenty of mystery and intrigue. How will Axia fight the monsters he comes across, but externally and internally? I cannot wait to find out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Captain America: Steve Rogers #1

May 29, 2016

The story brings Mrs. Rogers into the fold via flashbacks in setting the stage for modern-day events. We also get a glimpse into a Hydra soldier, which was pretty great and refreshing. The book sets the tone for what seems to be a team based book with Cap and co., but after the last few pages, it looks like the title is headed in a very different direction. I know many are up in arms about the shocking revelation, but I am excited for what the future holds. Its nice to take chances with storytelling, and I can only hope it pays off big. I do wish one of my favorite villains, Baron Zemo, had been portrayed as more of the mastermind and less of a speed bump. I am on board for this series, at least for the first arc. Lets see what the shield slinger has up his sleeve next.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Cave Carson Has A Cybernetic Eye #1

Oct 30, 2016

Written by Way and Jon Rivera (Heartbreak) with art by Oeming, I was thoroughly impressed with this debut issue. Is it a bit bizarre? Of course, but look at the title of the book: odd kind of comes with the territory. But it is also highly entertaining with a flair of nostalgia to old school DC fans. Ill be back to see what happens to Cave and his crazy eye, and I think you would be too if you check out the inaugural issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Curse Words #1

Jan 22, 2017

Image Comics has been knocking out home run after home run for this new year. In 2017 alone, I have read some of the best debut issues in recent memory. Curse Words now joins those ranks, and depending on how this series goes, this could be a strong contender for one of the best series of 2017. Already sold out with a second print on the way, I cant stress the quality of this book and how hooked you will be upon reading this mystical debut. Magic has a new name, and hes ready to beat down any boy wizards in his way.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Curse Words #2

Feb 26, 2017

Magic is everywhere these days: from boy wizards to Sorcerer Supremes to that card game that has hooked people for decades now. With Curse Words, we continue to get a hip new, edgy look at the world of magic, add in a perfect portion of talking koala bears, and you have yourself a hit series so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Daredevil (2015) #1

Dec 4, 2015

I was extremely excited for this issue: the previous Daredevil run by Mark Waid was amazing, and I knew with Soule and Garney being the storytellers this time around, we would be in for something special. I couldn't have foreseen the sheer brilliance I have seen with this issue. Fans of the Netflix series, this is your perfect jumping on point, as this looks and feels like a Daredevil book should. Easily one of the best of the Marvel relaunches, Daredevil #1 is a must read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Dark Knight III: The Master Race #1

Nov 26, 2015

Azzarello takes the reigns here and crafts a tale that re-introduces us to this twisted world. I won't go in to details on the story, but this issue shows off the knuckle brawling action Miller brought to us. We see where the "trinity" of the DC Universe are now, and we even get a mini comic that shows where everyone's favorite pint sized hero, the Atom, is at now, and how it connects to the main story. The Dark Knight III feels like a natural successor to Miller's seminal work. This is an outstanding first issue, and leaves fans in shock with the last page's cliffhanger. The Dark Knight has returned, and this time I hope he never leaves.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dark Knight III: The Master Race #2

Dec 25, 2015

Azzarello and Millers story is absolutely addicting. This series feels far more like a true sequel to Frank Millers Dark Knight Returns, and incorporates other characters in the DC Universe without it feeling forced. Kubert is the perfect choice here- he retains the style Miller set all those years ago, but continues his high quality artwork with his own footprint and creates so many memorable panels per issue, its astounding. This is an amazing sophomore issue, and it once again leaves fans wishing the next issue was already on the stands.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
DC Universe: Rebirth #1

May 27, 2016

DC Comics has its Superman with Johns, lets see where the universe goes from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Deadpool & Cable: Split Second #1

Jan 3, 2016

I loved the first issue- I know many have already checked out the series via the online version, but I loved going page by page of the printed first issue. This is a great example of the not so dynamic duo of Cable and Deadpool, and why these characters stand out so much in the crowded Marvel Universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Deadpool & The Mercs For Money (2016) #1

Feb 5, 2016

Bunn and Espin create an enjoyable book here. Is it breaking any new ground? No. But it is fun, and if you love Deadpool, then there is no reason you shouldn't scoop up this issue. If you do, might I recommend the action figure variant featuring Stingray? Stingray always had such an amazing design to him, its great to see him get the spotlight, even if it is only for a variant cover.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Deadpool (2015) #1

Feb 13, 2016

This film has broken down any idea of what an R rated superhero film looks like: this is an adult superhero film, plain and simple. Reynolds cements himself as a mainstay in the Marvel Universe, and this film shows that there is more than one way to adapt a comic book.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Dept. H #1

Apr 23, 2016

Dept. H #1 sets up an unnerving, underwater drama sure to keep the reader on the edge of their seats. I, for one, cannot wait for the next issue. The Kindts have created something really special here- I recommend picking up this issue: there is no way you will be disappointed. Dept. H #1 will be released on April 20th.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Dept. H #3

Jun 26, 2016

The artwork here continues to just knock it out of the proverbial ball park: there is nothing currently on the shelves that looks anything like this book: all the more reason to pick it up. The suspense and danger just got amped up to 11, and the futures of both Raj and Mia are in question by the time you reach the last panel. Dept H is that book I constantly recommended to casual comic fans who might gravitate towards the big two publishers only- this is a book you will not find anywhere else.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Detective Comics (2016) #935

Jun 26, 2016

The key to this book, and to any team, is trust. With many members hiding their true intentions and reasons, it is only a matter of time before the Bat hits the fan. Another stellar issue from the creative team, Detective Comics should be on your pull list, no doubt.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Devolution #1

Jan 23, 2016

Wayshaks art has the same gritty feel I remember from the original Spawn series- and that is an amazing feeling to capture. He captures the sick, violent world of Devolution perfectly, and man, is it violent. Devolution #1 is an excellent start for this series, and leaves us with an ending that has to have everyone wondering how exactly the last few pages fit into the rest of the story. Ill be back for issue #2, as I cant wait to see what happens to Raja next in her journey to fix the world.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Divinity II #1

Apr 25, 2016

Kindt writes a story far darker than the previous Divinity, but nonetheless, knocks it out of the park. To put someone with Miska's powers in the hands of Russian President Vladimir Putin, I can only imagine the battles that will come out of this: with Adams, but also with the modern Valiant heroes like X-O Manowar. Divinity II shows the brutal nature behind Valiant's latest superpower, and crafts one of the best debut issues to hit in 2016.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Divinity II #2

May 29, 2016

Writer Matt Kindt and artist Trevor Hairsine continue this thrilling mini series. Its hard to follow-up the shocking first issue that hit last month, but this issue absolutely delivers. To see two very different yet similar beings clash for ideals all their own is the stuff comic book dreams are made of. Valiant continues the hot streak of hits with Divinity II, and if this issues look into the future is any indication, the effects of this miniseries will be felt across the Valiant U.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Divinity II #3

Jun 26, 2016

This is comic bookery at its finest (is that a word?).

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Divinity III: Stalinverse #1

Dec 26, 2016

In a very cool twist, there is one person that knows that this is not the true reality: Colin King, also known as Ninjak. This reveal gave a very Age of Apocalypse vibe to it, which I love. If you took Age of Apocalypse, threw in some Superman: Red Son and mixed in the impossibly high standards set with the first two Divinity miniseries, you would have the start to one of the strongest comic events to hit in 2016. I am fully on board for the Stalinverse, with my only complaint being that this issue had to end. This very well might end up being not only the best of the Divinity series, but one of the best crossover events in recent comic book history.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Divinity III: Stalinverse #2

Jan 29, 2017

Kindt and Hairsine are crafting something special with each of the Divinity mini series, and with Stalinverse, the stakes couldnt be higher. This issue furthers the story along, introducing key players like Harada and the big bad of the series, and does so masterfully. I have yet to read an issue of Divinity that I didnt like: in fact, Stalinverse is on track to becoming my favorite of the Divinity library thus far. I cant recommend this series enough: this series, as well as the multiple one shots tied directly to the Stalinverse. If you havent given Valiant a shot yet, this is the series that should draw you in, comrade.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Divinity III: Stalinverse #3

Feb 26, 2017

This issue packs a surprise ending, what that left me at a loss for words upon my first read. The stakes are high, extremely high, and the number of those that can oppose Kazmir continue to shrink. The Stalinverse series, and its various tie in one shots, have all been fantastic. Kindt, Hairsine and company have crafted yet another amazing series, dare I say even topping the previous two Divinity series thus far. Divinity III: Stalinverse #3 sets the world on fire, so who can help douse the flames and rebuild?

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Divinity III: Stalinverse #4

Apr 4, 2017

The creative team here has knocked it out of the park completely, all the way past the parking lot. Kindts Stalinverse was such a great event, and ends in such a satisfying way. We get a teaser at the end that gives us one word: Eternity. Is this the next installment in the Divinity series? I can only hope. Divinity III raised the bar once again, and is on track for the best mini-series of 2017.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Divinity III: Stalinverse: Shadowman #1

Feb 12, 2017

The Stalinverse storyline has been on fire as of late, and Shadowman shows no signs of slowing down. This is a superb issue that packs meaning into the overall story, and shows off an epic fight scene as rebels look to hold onto the once great state of New York.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Divinity III: Stalinverse: Escape From Gulag 396 #1

Mar 19, 2017

Rahals story is paced wonderfully, and the artwork is simply breathtaking. This book is such a great companion to the Stalinverse, but also stands alone as a fantastic ode to Archer & Armstrong. Make sure to pick up this issue and get ready as there is only one more chapter left in Divinity III event.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Divinity III: Stalinverse: Aric, Son of the Revolution #1

Jan 22, 2017

I have loved every book associated with the Stalinverse so far; Aric is no different. Though slower than the Bloodshot one off we got, this issue still serves a purpose and shows how the ultimate weapon became loyal to the red cause. Harris and Cafu create a memorable entry into the Stalinverse, as we march on to see who stands a chance against the soviet superpower.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Doctor Strange (2015) #1

Nov 6, 2016

The special effects seen here are beyond outstanding: think a superhero movie merged with the tripiness of Inception, and you have Doctor Strange. The main villain at the heart of the movie is no stranger to the Doctor Strange comic book counterpart, which makes for a film that feels epic and fresh. This is probably the best looking of the Marvel Cinematic Universe, and right up there as one of the top 5 of Marvel movies to date in my opinion. Cumberbatch is Doctor Strange, hands down, and shows why the good doctor deserves to have to a slice of the cinematic pie in the Marvel U.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Doomsday Clock #1

Nov 26, 2017

Johns sets the grand stage for the Watchmans entrance, and does so with tact. How do you follow up one of the greatest graphic novels of all time? Very carefully. Franks artwork shines bright here, from the bone chilling intro to the emotions seen in the new villain The Mime, the whole books looks amazing, albeit a little short. If you want to be on board for DCs latest event, then jump on board.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Empress #1

Apr 10, 2016

This is another great start to a Millarworld series, one that I will be on board for. Empress #1 is a sci-fi thrill ride that opens the door to danger at every turn.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ether #1

Nov 6, 2016

The issue left me wanting more and more. I want to see exactly who Boone is, what his life is like in the real world and the Ether, and what exactly happened with the crime Boone is needed for. Ether #1 is an outstanding debut issue, one that shows boldly the strength of visual storytelling at its finest. Filled with intrigue and mystery, I cant recommend Ether #1 enough. Make sure to pick it up when it hits the stands November 16th.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Extraordinary X-Men #5

Jan 16, 2016

This issue, the end result of the first story arc for the Extraordinary X-Men, gives us a satisfying ending, and an excellent set up for whats to come with the next storyline. Lemire and Ramos both do an amazing job creating a new X-book, and the best X-book on the shelves today.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Extremity #1

Mar 13, 2017

You should know by now that this is definitely a rated-R, mature readers book. That in mind, its an amazing first issue that introduces this very war torn, fantasy world. Part Mad Max, part anime, Extremity is packed to the gills with action, blood, and revenge. To see Thea gain some sort of satisfaction against Asmund, one of the Paznina there when she lost her hand, is extremely satisfying. Johnson has created an amazing debut issue from Image and Skybound. Extremity is full of violence, amazing designs, and a story that is ready to kick into an even higher gear.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Faith #1

Jan 29, 2016

The book is bright, funny, and all in all, a feel good read, with a dark ending to leave readers hanging on until next month. It is a book that speaks to the pop culture nerd in us all, without crossing that line of being a corny, failed attempt to be cool. I am on board for Faith's debut flight- and I really believe the skys the limit.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2011) #1

Nov 11, 2015

The season keeps getting better and better, and now the question is: who is Zoom? Whoever he is, he is a force to be reckoned with, a force that, as of right now, our hero doesnt stand a chance against. Another strong episode, The Flash isnt just winning the race, hes running the marathon of greatness as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Flash (2016) #1

Jun 26, 2016

Williamson and Di Giandomenico are a great fit for the speedy hero: the scenes with the Flash literally pop off of the page. We are introduced to some of the supporting cast, and one that looks to play a massive role moving forward. The Flash was the central point of the whole Rebirth special (Barry and Wally), so it is only natural that his series fires on all cylinders. The Flash is winning the race of rebirth debuts, check it out, you won't be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Flash: Rebirth (2016) #1

Jun 12, 2016

The creative team here does a fantastic job of getting the reader hooked, and wanting to come back for more. By the last page, I cannot imagine anyone saying "eh, I'll pass on the next issue." The Flash is one of DC's heavy hitters, and this Rebirth special just further cements that.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Glitterbomb #1

Sep 11, 2016

Image Comics gets it right once again as the drop a Glitterbomb on the industry. Zub and Russell have created something very different, very dark and very entertaining.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
God Country #1

Jan 15, 2017

Cates, Shaw and Wordie create a book with heart, with soul, and with some modern mythology mixed in for good measure. I literally cant wait to get the second issue to see what happens to Emmet, Roy and the human race as a whole. God Country isnt going to be for everyone, especially with the strong language, but choice words aside, Image Comics has a massive hit on their hands with this debut.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
God Country #2

Feb 20, 2017

This issue is a fantastic romp, answers a lot of questions and makes fans both excited and worrisome for the future. God Country is the series to beat right now, 2017- so do your best.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
God Country #3

Mar 19, 2017

This has become the series I recommend to those that are burnt out on the clichd superhero comic book market. Cates crafts another masterful script, with Shaw and Wordie creating amazing visuals that bring this surreal world to life. God Country should be on your pull list: it is my favorite Image Comics series out right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Gold Key Alliance #1

Apr 10, 2016

I feel that Hester did a great job on setting up these Gold Key characters and modernizing them to fit into the present day world. Peebles art works very well here, illustrating these classic characters for todays audience. With the set up of this issue, I am excited to see not only where these characters end up, but to also see how they come together and what the overall threat ends up being.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Grass Kings #1

Mar 13, 2017

Kindt and Jenkins have created a very unique debut issue with Grass Kings. From the artistic style to the smart script, this is a really great start to what seems to be another hit series from Boom! Studios. Check out Grass Kings #1 and see what the kingdom is all about.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Green Arrow: Rebirth #1

Jun 5, 2016

Percy's portrayal of Green Arrow is spot on. Being a huge fan of the archer, I haven't been this excited to read a Green Arrow book since the Kevin Smith and Brad Meltzer runs. Schmidt's artwork is clean, his designs are great, and I look forward to the artistic path he takes us down as Green Arrow marches forward. This was my favorite of the Rebirth specials released this week, and it has me totally on board for the ongoing series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Green Lantern / Space Ghost Special #1

Apr 4, 2017

This is an awesome team up that shows that these types of events can be done extremely well. Green Lantern/Space Ghost is a shining example that more of these team ups should definitely be considered, as long as the quality measures up to the standard set by this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Green Valley #1

Oct 10, 2016

I love comic books, especially comics that step out of the norm of what most people think a comic should be. Like Green Valley, which is a comic book set to knights chopping enemies down and defending their kingdom- sounds more like a movie. But thats it: the comic book medium can be used to tell any genre of story, something Landis and Camuncoli both show masterfully here. I cant wait for issue #2, and it looks like Im not the only one as Image has always stated that the first issue has sold out. Go seek Green Valley #1, and get ready for a hell of a ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Grizzly Shark #1

Apr 10, 2016

I might be sick, but I cannot wait until the second, all new issue hits. Lets see where this incredibly hungry shark goes for a sequel.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Harbinger: Renegade #1

Nov 20, 2016

Harbinger Renegades #1 brings the psiots back to the forefront, and no doubt puts the world on a collision course for the inevitable Harbinger Wars 2. A top notch debut that sets a very massive stage, pick up the first issue now so you can be on the ground floor for the next big thing from Valiant.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Hellboy and the B.P.R.D.: 1953 - Beyond The Fences #1

Feb 26, 2016

The book ends on a great and chilling cliffhanger as we get one step closer to solving the mystery. I thoroughly enjoyed this first issue, as it continued to make the B.P.R.D. feel more cohesive and shows a more comfortable and confident Hellboy. This is a great jumping on point for casual fans of the horned hero and die hard followers alike.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hellboy: Winter Special #2016

Jan 28, 2016

Fans of Hellboy will love this winter special. Its a sample of everything that makes the character and the universe he inhabits great.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Hillbilly #1

Jul 4, 2016

Powell writes and illustrates this book, which looks amazing. Powell and his style- from the line work to the color choices and muted hues -always blows me away. There are no books on the shelves that can imitate his style: definitely a mature readers book, Hillbilly #1 felt like the beginning of something epic. I can't wait to see what craziness we see with the second issue. If you are a fan of Powell, or of creepy, horror themed books, then you owe it to yourself to give Hillbilly a shot.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Horizon #1

Jul 17, 2016

Zhia has come to Earth to stop humanitys invasion of her home planet, which, when you think about it, isnt very far-fetched. With this issue, we see Zhia adapt to this world, as well as start to make her motives known, but not in their entirety. This is a series, not a one shot, so we get just enough to peak our interest and then, sadly, we must wait for next month. Thomas crafts an excellent start to what appears to be a very interesting and eye-opening series. The art team of Gedeon, Martin, and of course, all-star letter Rus Wooten, make this book stand out immensely. The book feels different, reads different, and by all accounts, is different from your average sci-fi fare. Which is awesome, as Horizon is anything but average.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Huck #1

Nov 18, 2015

Once I reached the end, I couldnt wait to read more. Millar and Albuquerque have created something great here, something I feel anyone can pick up, read and thoroughly enjoy. From kids to adults, this is a book all can and should enjoy. Millar has not let me down yet, and as Huck has already been optioned for a film before the first issue even hit, I cant wait to read more and eventually see this story on the silver screen.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Huck #2

Dec 19, 2015

I loved the first issue, as it brought the world a bit more of innocence, of what it means to be a hero. The second issue enforces the what we saw in the first issue, and then some. We see constant reminders that even with all the power Huck has, deep down, he is a good human being, first and foremost. I think the world needs more of this- the world needs more of Huck.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Huck #3

Jan 13, 2016

Huck continues to shine on all levels: from the narrative thanks to the mind of Mark Millar, artistically, as Rafael Albuquerque continues to create the perfect visuals for this heart-warming tale, and as a complete package, as a shining example of sequential art. This series continues to impress as we build to what is sure to be a massive fourth issue, especially after how this issue leaves off. If you havent checked out Huck yet, its not too late to find issues #1-#3- one of the best series running right now, Huck will leave you smiling and wishing each issue was 64 pages long.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Huck #5

Mar 20, 2016

This is another solid issue of Huck, and with the way this issue ends, we know that our hero is in for a fight with issue #5. One of my consistently favorite series out right now, Huck continues the entertaining tale of an unlikely hero forced out of his comfort zone.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Huck #6

Apr 22, 2016

All in all, this is one of my favorite mini-series in quite some time, and this last issue tied up the loose ends nicely. If you are looking for a great, feel good book, then Huck is right for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Iron Fist (2017) #1

Mar 27, 2017

This tale is a dark, moody and action filled romp as Danny searches for opponents to test his mettle. Brisson creates a story that fits perfectly into the life of Iron Fist, and is a great companion series to the Netflix series that hit Netflix. We get a different view of Danny, and we see the path he is going down is going to be filled with violence and wonder. The way this issue ends sets up a fantastic storyline that is guaranteed to bring more amazing fighters in the Marvel Universe to the forefront. I highly recommend this debut issue of Iron Fist, and I cant wait for the second issue to drop.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Iron Fist: The Living Weapon #1

Apr 13, 2014

Andrews style is a perfect match here, as we see classic comic book elements mixed with graphic design elements, creating a very pleasing adventure from start to finish. I was hoping, REALLY hoping, this book would be good, and I was wrong. It's amazing. It's an action flick rolled into comic panels, but done the right way. The energy and emotion leaps off the page, and by the end of it, you want more" I know I did.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ivar, Timewalker #12

Dec 22, 2015

By the end of the book, as the solicits stated, we do in fact have a new timewalker. Is this person as charismatic as Ivar? Absolutely not. But the last page shows us exactly what this series has always shown: for Ivar, life is not fair- it is one tragic choice after another, as he is literally cursed. This tragic side to the character once again cements Ivars place in the Valiant Universe. This was a great send off for the series, and I hope we see more Timewalker action in the near future.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Jazz Maynard #1

Jun 18, 2017

Lion Forge and Magnetic, thank you for bringing this book to the U.S. If you are looking for a hard-boiled, crime revenge comic, then Jazz Maynard should be on your pull list. Pick it up, and get ready to visually take in one of the best debuts of 2017.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Jem and the Holograms #1

Dec 26, 2015

Van Meter crafts an amazing tale steeped deep into the occult- I love the scene with all the souls wandering around, making Hwen not the odd man out once again. It boils down to, ultimately, to a love story so strong, that Shan literally beat death for her husband. But can love overcome the barrier of death? De la Torres artwork has a classic comic book feel to it, much like the great Bill Sienkiewicz, and for this series, it's a great match. Besides the previous series Shadowman, this is the only Valiant book that takes on the spirit world, and does so amazingly. A fantastic start to the second Doctor Mirage series, this is a must buy for fans of the supernatural.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Jim Henson's The Storyteller: Dragons #1

Dec 5, 2015

I loved the first series of Storyteller with Witches, and with the debut book for Dragons, I am absolutely floored: this is a simple, yet thoroughly effective story, one that possess that magic known for works with the Henson name attached to it. Once again, Booms Archaia imprint has created another modern day classic, setting the bar high for the following issues. Dragons is a must read for all ages- you will not be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Jim Henson's The Storyteller: Dragons #2

Jan 24, 2016

Pride creates a story that follows what we saw with previous Storyteller tales- it not only entertains, it has a meaning, a moral to it all. Prides story and artwork are well deserved and fitting for this series, bringing a new type of dragon to the mix, one different than what we saw in last issues story. I love the whole idea of The Storyteller; the previous series, Witches, is one of my favorite series of 2015, and with the way Dragons is going, I have no doubt this series will rank right up there, if not higher. If you arent reading this series, you are seriously missing out on an extremely fun series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Jim Henson's The Storyteller: Dragons #4

Mar 20, 2016

Like all the Storyteller issues, this one comes with a moral as well: to not let hate consume you to the point to where your vision is clouded to reality. I thoroughly enjoyed this mini series, and this issue is my second favorite out of the bunch, with issue #1 still being my favorite. The Storyteller series has cranked out some amazing, high quality stories from some of the best creators in comics, and this issue is no different. This is a great send off for Dragons, as it soars into the sunrise.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Jim Henson's The Storyteller: Giants #1

Dec 11, 2016

On his way, he befriends a motley crew of friends, ranging from a starving dog, a greedy monkey, and a crownless king swan, the story focuses on accepting those that are different than us, because deep down, they arent as different you might think. Nolans work here is great, from script to panels, and is a story ripe for all ages. This is a great start to the mini series: an upbeat, lighthearted story of morals and understanding.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League (2016) #1

Nov 19, 2017

An extremely fun film with tons of cool Easter Eggs (Green Lantern!) and one of the best end of the credit scenes in years, Justice League delivers. If you walk out of this film without a smile on your face, you may have been watching a different movie.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Lone Wolf 2100 #1

Jan 6, 2016

The story has action of out a horror flick, which is fitting from a horror film writer. The essence of Lone Wolf and Cub is alive and well, with a sci-fi/horror romp intertwined. Sepulvedas art is a great fit for this book- his striking, clean lines pop- especially when set against the night landscape. This is a great read and a terrific start to a futuristic incarnation of the Lone Wolf mythos.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Long Walk To Valhalla #1

Sep 7, 2015

Archaia and Boom have put out some of the best stories I have read, and Long Walk to Valhalla is now up there with Jim Hensons Tale of Sand in my opinion. A strong, emotional book that will tug at your heartstrings and make you smile, I cant find a thing wrong with this book. I will go ahead and say it: this will be one of the top 10 books of 2015, hands down.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Masked #1

Nov 27, 2016

Through translated into English, Lehmans story is one of brutal honesty of how veterans are often treated, mixed with the mysteriousness of super people in France. Cretys artwork is very vivid, and shows the futuristic land that Paris has become. The world of Masked is one of wonder and intrigue, but with enough emotional steam to make us want to come back for the second issue. This is a great start to the opposite of a run of the mill superhero book, as Masked looks to open our eyes to a whole new world.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers #0

Jan 16, 2016

There are three stories here: the main story, a back up story featuring the not so dynamic duo of Bulk and Skull, and the short story featured in the San Diego Comic Con book. This is a terrific start to the Power Rangers sequential art journey for 2016, and sets the stage for whats to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Mirror #1

Feb 6, 2016

I really like the aptly titled Mirror: one look at the decorative panel frames in this book show why this title works so well. Making far more out of the panels in each page, Lims artwork and layouts are outstanding, and absolutely a breath of fresh air. The watercolor creations work incredibly well, and give the story a unique look and feel, very fitting for such a special series. Rios and Lim have created a fantasy story that feels original, feels like the reader has to read more. I am intrigued by this debut issue: from the plot, to the artwork, to the clever back story where the writer and artist switch roles, Mirror #1 is an excellent start to the latest fantasy offering from Image Comics. If you are looking for something different, something that looks and feels different from your run of the mill comic on the stands, then Mirror is the answer you seek.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Moon Knight (2016) #1

Apr 17, 2016

I do wish we had more action with this first issue, but instead its all one big lead in to the next issue. A street level hero that dispenses brutal justice, I hope this series lets the hero shine like he should. With this creative team in place, I see big things happening for the underdog hero.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Motor Crush #1

Dec 11, 2016

The story has a real tech feel to it, like you want to click the dialogue boxes for more info or pop up ads, which really helps to establish the world of Nova Honda. Domino is sharp, determined and strong, but still young, and makes mistakes that will have you shaking your head in sympathy for her. She is that likeable of a character. The artwork here screams cyberpunk, with a vibrant, animated feel to it all. The designs for the characters, the bikes, the world in general, is simply outstanding. The creative team here creates a fast paced, engaging debut issue, one that beckons for readers to tune in next month to see what happens to Domino next. Motor Crush #1 is a debut that fires on all cylinders, making for another fantastic hit from Image Comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Motor Girl #1

Nov 6, 2016

I really dig Mooree artwork, but his dialogue is amazing. It makes the book, and really makes it feel like these characters are right in front of me, conversing and such. I dont have any of Moores work to measure this to, but if Strangers in Paradise, Echoes or Rachel Rising are anything like Motor Girl, then I need to hurry up and check them out. If you are looking for a break from the superhero books and want something that just looks and feels like a great story, then give Motor Girl a shot, you wont regret it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mycroft Holmes #1

Aug 28, 2016

Mycroft Holmes #1 is one of the most impressive debut issues I have read this year, and I have read a lot of debut comics this year. Titan Comics has created something different, something intriguing, and something that gives more credibility to the name Mycroft Holmes than simply being a footnote to his famous, fictional brethren.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Ninja-K (2017) #1

Nov 26, 2017

Ninja-K gives Ninjak the well-deserved spotlight, and adds new depth to one of Valiants best.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Ninjak #14

Apr 10, 2016

This is a perfect way to transition into a new storyline as well as to bring new readers on board to one of Valiants best heroes. This was a non-stop, action packed book reminiscent of the hit TV show Burn Notice, which, for me, is an amazing comparison to draw. If you havent tried Ninjak yet, I urge you to pick up this issue and be ready to add another comic to your pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ninjak #22

Dec 11, 2016

The plotted issue by Kindt with Cafu on art is perfectly done. No dialogue is needed, as the sequential art displayed panel to panel is perfect in telling the story. This is one of the most unique and well done pieces of comic book art I have seen in quite some time, as it shows the strength of two great storytellers. Even if you havent been reading Ninjak, I recommend picking up this issue: its something you need to read to experience.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ninjak #23

Jan 15, 2017

Kindt and Laming create another amazing issue here. Sure, it was a little slow, but it served as a set up for what is to come. Not familiar with the Shadow Seven? No problem, this story fills you in on what you need to know about each one. Not familiar with Ninjak? You also get some background on the deadliest man in the Valiant Universe right here. I read the whole Shadow Seven storyline, I am familiar with them all, and yet, this was still a very enjoyable romp of a book. The Seven Blades of Master Darque is bound to get explosive; this is just the calm before the storm.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
No Angel #1

Dec 4, 2016

Being Adrienne Palickis first foray into comics with her brother, this is an absolute outstanding issue. Syahrazads artwork is very gritty, very grounded, which really helps with the tone of the book. I get the same kind of artistic vibe I get from Marvels Jessica Jones with this, which is a great comparison to make. No Angel sets the stage for something great, maybe even angelic? I recommend picking it up while you can, its bound to be sold out at stores in the very near future.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Nova (2016) #1

Dec 11, 2016

There may have not been that much in this issue in regards to progressing the plot, but it was enjoyable nonetheless. I, for one, am ready for a Marvel Universe that has two Novas ready to guard the galaxy.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Nova (2016) #2

Jan 8, 2017

The cliffhanger at the end threw me for a loop, but in an absolutely great way. Loveness and Perez are creating something special here, something that will not only catapult Sam Alexander further into the publics eye, but also remind everyone that there was indeed a Nova before this modern incarnation. This issue kicked the momentum up to 11, and it looks like a battle is brewing for issue #3.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
NVRLND #1

Sep 11, 2016

I, like many others probably felt, wasn't terribly excited when I heard about this book, mainly because it sounded like treading old water. But after the recommendation from the local comic shop owner, I gaveit a shot and loved it. This book should be something you give a try, if only for the first issue. That's all it took me to get hooked.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Old Man Logan (2016) #1

Jan 28, 2016

By the iconic end to the book, Lemire and Sorrentino have created the next great chapter to the Old Man Logan saga. If what happened at the end of this book is any indication of whats to come, this is going to be a violent, amazing ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Old Man Logan (2016) #2

Feb 14, 2016

The book continues to build steam as we know Logan will end up clashing with the Banner, Red Skull, and Mysterio as the series progresses. I almost feel bad for Mysterio. For the cliffhanger, we see Logan turn to one of his most trusted heroic pals, but is met with a surprise that current Marvel U fans have to love. Old Man Logan is one of the best Marvel series going right now, in my opinion.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Old Man Logan (2016) #3

Mar 6, 2016

Continuously my favorite book that Marvel is publishing right now (Extraordinary X-Men a close second), Old Man Logan #3 hits the mark, literally.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Outcast By Kirkman & Azaceta #1

Jun 30, 2014

For those that picked this up, you may have been expecting another Walking Dead. But if you go into Outcast with an open mind, you get a really enjoyable, mature book, one that looks like it could be an HBO series. I would like to rank this up there with The Green River Killer and Sentences, as it is a book that defies comic book stereotypes and tells one hell of a horror story, making you wish the second issue was out already. I give Outcast #1 a perfect 10 out of 10. Go check this out, and make sure to leave the lights on.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Plutona #1

Sep 1, 2015

Was this issue perfect? Of course not- but it was a great start for what promises to be a very interesting and entertaining story. Lemire shows once again why he was one of my favorite writers in the business right now, and Lenox creates a solid start to what is bound to be an imagination filled career.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Poet Anderson: The Dream Walker #1

Jan 13, 2016

DeLonge and Kull have created an awesome experience here. This is more than just a collection of the comic mini-series, this is a representation of the beginning of an exciting sci-fi franchise, filled with unique character, amazing designs and an ending that leaves the reader hoping the series continues on. Djet shows off a style that looks so fluid, so slick, it looks like the art could leap right off an animated film itself. My only gripe is that we only get three issues here, but the art book aspect does looking amazing as well. Poet Anderson- The Dream Walker is a great introduction into DeLonges world- from sequential art, a look at the animation process, and even on a musical level- this is art on all fronts.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Power Man and Iron Fist (2016) #1

Feb 20, 2016

This was a perfect start to the new adventures of the classic duo. The book was never ending fun, from cover to cover, and I honestly cant think of a higher compliment for a comic than that. When this team hits the small screen as Iron Fist joins the ranks of Luke, Jessica Jones and Daredevil, we will be in for a treat- lets just hope its half as fun as the story we got right here.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Punisher (2016) #218

Nov 19, 2017

Marvel made a smart move here, one that, for the first time in years, will have me adding the Punisher to my monthly pull list. An excellent issue, check out the beginning of armored awesomeness right here.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Rashomon: A Commissioner Heigo Kobayashi Case #1

Nov 26, 2017

Both tales here are fantastic, with characters and stories that tie the two together. I, for one, would love to see more from Detective Heigo. It felt like a crime TV show, but with samurai. Great characterization, emotional moments, twist, turns, and one of the best graphic novels of 2017.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Reborn #1

Oct 30, 2016

Millar has created a kick off book that almost guarantees a reader will at least be back for the second issue. With a moment that throws us for a loop and leaving us speechless, I cant imagine anyone not wanting to at least see what happens next. Millars protagonist, Bonnie, is one of no faith, and is about to be shell shocked to what is next. The book has beautiful pacing, great characterization, and characters that we want to root for. What we are rooting for them to do is yet to be revealed, but I am completely on board for Reborn, and you should be too.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Reborn #2

Nov 20, 2016

Though no real battle goes on in this issue, the stage is set, and emotional and mental wars were fought all the way to the last page. Reborn continues to impress and turn heads, and proves it's a series that should be on your pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Red Dog #1

Nov 20, 2016

This is a sci-fi adventure waiting to burst loose. The world, the set up, the danger of being on a foreign planet with an unknown threat, it all makes for an exciting first issue. With the title of the book being Red Dog, it will be interesting to see what role Q plays in the book moving forward, as well as the bond between the canine and Kyle. Cohens story is something that looks and feels like a sci-fi epic waiting to leap off the page and onto the big screen. If sci-fi is your thing, then give Red Dog #1 a shot; you wont be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Red Sonja (2016) #1

Jan 24, 2016

Dynamite is off to a great start with this first issue. We have a nice set up of things to come, and we have a glimpse of how badly things can change with one simple choice made by our heroine. Red Sonja is back, and by Crom, it is time to rejoice.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Renato Jones: The One % #1

May 8, 2016

Easily one of Andrews finest creations, its no wonder why this issue has already sold out. The story of one man against the wealthy and powerful is always an intriguing one, but with Renato Jones, its a must read for fans of retribution earned through a blaze of vengeance. One of my favorite debut issues in recent memories, go track down Renato Jones #1 if you can: whether by printed edition or digital, you wont be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Revolution #1

Sep 25, 2016

I didnt quite know what to expect with this book, but what I got was a pleasant surprise. Revolution #1 takes on the massive task and takes a few really great first steps. If you were a fan of any of these properties in the past, then nostalgia and a really good story await you with Revolution.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Rocket Raccoon #1

Jul 6, 2014

I didnt know what to expect when I picked this up: I am a fan of the Guardians of the Galaxy, but didnt know if a book based solely on Rocket would fly. Even though the Guardians to make an appearance, this is clearly Rockets book, and I am on board for the journey. I give Rocket Raccoon #1 a fantastic FIVE out of FIVE.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Rough Riders #1

Apr 10, 2016

Bringing together such a well-known group of historic figures, Rough Riders is poised to take no prisoners in this action packed romp through an alternate history. This issue has action, build up, comedy relief and more- everything you could ask for in a debut issue. Rough Riders #1 is an excellent start to a very different, original, and welcomed series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Rough Riders: Riders on the Storm #1

Feb 26, 2017

This issue is a great bridge from volume 1 to 2, which allows for some of our heroes to reconnect from time passed as well. Glass continues to build on this semi historical, semi science fiction world, incorporating more outrageous elements (like Teddys train) to the mix. Oliffes artwork, combined with the excellent coloring of Eltaeb, makes for a visually appealing debut issue to this new arc. There isnt a lot of action here, but thats ok. This issue lays the foundation to what is bound to be another action packed, over the top adventure with winks and nods to our American history. If you havent checked out Rough Riders yet, this is a fantastic time to do so. Even better, get this new #1 and the trade paperback of Vol 1, and you are all set.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Royal City #1

Mar 13, 2017

Royal City isnt a beat em up superhero battle, or a space faring sci-fi adventure. Its the story of a family torn apart by tragedy, and how another tragedy is bringing them together once more, whether its for better or worse. Royal City should be on your must read list, if even to give the first issue a shot. After this book, you will no doubt be hooked.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Savage #1

Dec 4, 2016

Savage #1 is a grizzly debut that shows that there is new face in town when it comes to a dinosaur battle royal.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Savage #4

Feb 20, 2017

Savage introduced us to a brand new hero in the Valiant Universe, one that is unlike any other. I cant wait to see if Sauvage becomes tied to the rest of the Valiant Universe, and if so, in what manner. Savage was an outstanding series, filled with shock, awe, dinosaurs, and more, and it should not be missed.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Secret Weapons #1

Jul 2, 2017

This is a really great premise for a book and takes lead on the age old question: what if I had superpowers? Secret Weapons might be the most fun and original debut of 2017. Pick up this book, you wont be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Seven to Eternity #1

Sep 25, 2016

Seven to Eternity is such a huge hit for Image Comics, its not even funny. Remender and Opena create something extremely memorable here, and its only the first issue. If you are looking for a comic that embodies science fiction and all its possibilities, then give Seven to Eternity a try.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Skybourne #1

Sep 11, 2016

My only gripe would be how much is still left in the dark after reading the debut issue. I know, you can't give away all the details inthe first issue, but it would have been cool to get more background info on Grace and the organization she works for, as it would help the reader figure out why this transaction for the sword was happening in the first place. But that would be my only suggestion on this issue. I was pulled in to this world, left wondering who certain characters will end up being and where the story goes now after one heck of an ending.Skybourne should beon your pull list, and with it just being released, you can be on the ground floor of what seems to be a home run of a new series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Space Riders: Galaxy of Brutality #1

Apr 4, 2017

For me, this is like a Rated-R Guardians of the Galaxy- a space faring team out to right the wrongs of the galaxy, and maybe get paid in the process. This is a great kick off issue for the new series, and places this title firmly back on the radar. If you dont mind a few swear words here and there, then I have no doubt you will enjoy the return of the Space Riders, maybe as much as I did.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Spider-Man (2016) #1

Feb 5, 2016

The issue is a great start to this new Spider-Man, and leaves off on a pretty great cliffhanger. I know there has been a lot controversy because Miles is half African-American, half Puerto Rican. To me, his race doesnt matter, and it shouldnt. Miles is a great character that deserves his own book, and now, low and behold, here it is. Take a swing on this new Spider book, you wont be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Spider-Man 2099 (2015) #1

Oct 18, 2015

With all those new #1 issues coming out, I know it can be hard to pick which ones deserve your hard earned cash: take my word for it, Spider-Man 2099 #1 is worth every penny. We have seen that, in the past few years, you can have a different Spider-Man and still have a fun and successful book. This just embodies that idea.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Spider-Man/Deadpool #1

Jan 6, 2016

Kelly and McGuinness are two of my absolute favorite creators- so to see them back, working on a book with a character they catapulted to super stardom, its an amazing feeling. The artwork looks fantastic, and Pool looks the way only McGuinness can draw. We get one of the most awkward team ups in Marvel history, and I cant wait until the second issue. If you want an enjoyable, fun read with tons of action and humor, then look no further. One of the best debut issues of 2015? You betcha.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Wars (2014) #1

Jan 18, 2015

I felt like I was back in the middle of the original trilogy, and that's an awesome place to be. Marvel has some big shoes to fill with the franchise, as the previous publisher, Dark Horse, did an absolutely amazing job with the Star Wars library. This is an amazing start.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars: Obi-Wan & Anakin #1

Jan 3, 2016

I know many Star Wars fans would like to think the prequels never happened: but by doing that, we lose a lot of the rich history of the characters that went on to make the original trilogy a classic. Soule does an outstanding job with his foray into the Star Wars universe, giving us a look into the ever growing relationship between Obi-Wan and Anakin. Yes, we know what happens to Anakin and his old mentor, but we dont know all the pieces to the puzzle that lead up to it. That is where a series like this shines. Checchetto proved he is more than worthy to draw the iconic sci-fi property when he provided the outstanding artwork in Shattered Empire in 2015. Here he continues to provide eye popping artwork, proudly carrying on the high quality known in the Star Wars franchise. This is a great start to what I hope is a character building romp with equal parts lightsaber greatness.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Star Wars: Poe Dameron #1

Apr 10, 2016

For me, Poe was the breakout character of Episode VII, so I was thrilled when I learned of this series. Add one of my favorite writers, Soule, and the phenomenal artwork of Noto, and I knew it would be a great read. The book does a stellar job of setting up the series- to see how they work within the confines of The Force Awakens will be interesting. Everyones new favorite X-Wing pilot is back, and in grand fashion.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Strayer #1

Jan 31, 2016

Jordan has created something really cool here: this is a fun, action packed series with a lot mysteries that have yet to be touched on, and with Gedeon providing the art, this issue marks a fantastic start to Strayer.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Street Fighter Unlimited #1

Dec 12, 2015

UDON has a hit on its hands here, as the Street Fighter lore continues to grow. This was an exciting first issue that laid the groundwork for issues to come. Street Fighter Unlimited packs a punch, and has plenty of fight left in. I cant wait for round 2.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Street Fighter Unlimited #2

Jan 24, 2016

This is a solid second issue, as it further develops the plot and brings more characters into the fold. We see the all-powerful Gill and why he needs a certain Street Fighter to realize his plans, and we see where Guile and co. will be heading next in the search for their missing comrade. Street Fighter Unlimited continues to move ahead at full steam, lets see who pops up in the third issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Street Fighter Vs. Darkstalkers #0

Feb 26, 2017

This is a fantastic first issue for the series, which leads into the #1 issue with a bang. Street Fighter Vs Darkstalkers #0 is every fighting game fans dream come true- unless that dream is Clay Fighters, then you are simply out of luck. This debut issue sets the chess board perfectly: its time for the game to begin.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Street Fighter X G.I. JOE #1

Feb 27, 2016

There is no groundbreaking plots or revelations here- what you do get is pure entertainment, from cover to cover. The attention to detail here completes the package perfectly: from the various covers (I got the video game homage cover) to the file cards at the back of the book featuring the Street Fighter crew, this book was a joy to read, and thats what ultimately counts when journeying into the medium of sequential art. I am on board for Street Fighter X GI Joe, and cant wait to see how next issues battles turn out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #1

Aug 6, 2016

I loved how this film established each of these characters with insightful flashbacks, some bound to make fans geek out. I walked out of the theater smiling, and knowing that I will be seeing the film again to catch everything that I missed the first time. DC Comics has a hit on its hand, dont believe the negative reviews: I dont understand how so many people can spew so much hate for such a movie. The film propels the DC Universe forward and makes a band of misfits into fan favorites. Suicide Squad delivers and should be heralded as the success it is. We get a new incarnation of Batmans bane of existence, a live action version of arguably one of the most popular character in comics, and an introduction to a soon to be fan favorite assassin- what more could you ask for?

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Superman: Rebirth #1

Jun 5, 2016

I am on board for the Superman family of books with Rebirth, I just wish this Rebirth issue had given us more new material and less retreading.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Deviations (One Shot) #1

Apr 10, 2016

This issue is a great look into an alternate reality- and is easily accessible to those who may not be following the current series. The artwork matches the mood driven story well, and seeing the turtles as members of the Foot is something I never thought I would see. If you are a fan of the turtles, like me, then this is a must buy for a break of the ordinary.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Discipline #1

Mar 5, 2016

Milligans script brings us into the real life of Melissa- filled with gossip, desires, and self-doubt, and smashes it into the contrast of the very disturbing world Orlando brings to the scene. Fernandezs art is soft, calm and mesmerizing at times, and with the quick cuts to demons and the slaughterhouse, changes to imagery of sheer terror. The emotion seen and unseen here really make helps build the character of not only Melissa, but of Orlando and his intentions as well. This debut issue is a dark, disturbing, and sexually charged- and almost guarantees that the road will become far more menacing as the story progresses. Just remember, this is a mature readers book for a reason: keep this one out of the reach of young ones.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Dregs #1

Jan 29, 2017

The Dregs is a fresh new story, different from whats on the shelf today. Black Mask is known for their imaginative books that push the envelope. The Dregs definitely pushes the blood soaked envelope in this mature readers book. If you are looking for a book outside of the super hero norm, then The Dregs doesnt get much better.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Goddamned #1

Nov 15, 2015

This is a mature readers title, if you couldnt tell yet. There is language, brutal violence and some nudity; none which feels forced or out of place, which really shows that these storytellers know exactly what they are doing with this book. By the end of the first issue, we have a better idea of who is who, and we get a shocking looking at the books take on a large biblical figure. This is an excellent start to this breath of fresh air series- I cant wait to see whats in store for the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Spirit: The Corpse-Makers #1

Feb 12, 2017

Francavilla is a master of the craft, and this book serves as a tribute to Eisners classic creation as well as new chapter in its stories history. The mark of a great issue is when you reach the end, it feels like it ended way too soon. That is the feeling I had when I reached the last panel here. The opening title sequence evoked thoughts of Eisners classic title pages, the panel shapes, the color hues, it all matched exactly what we want when revisiting The Spirit. The one page tribute to Eisner and Cooke at the beginning of the book is a great way to kick off this new series, which might take best new series before its all said and done. The Spirit is back, and I couldnt be happier.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Totally Awesome Hulk #1

Dec 4, 2015

This book is a fun start to what is bound to be an enjoyable series. Amadeus isnt as likable as Banner was, not yet anyways, but it is fun to see this brash genius dive head first into battle, using his fists rather than his brains. The Totally Awesome Hulk is just that- totally awesome. As the series continues on, I think the title can go from awesome to sheer greatness.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Valiant #1

Dec 12, 2014

Lemire has been on fire in the last few years, as his work on Animal Man and Green Arrow is nothing less than fantastic. His co-writer, Matt Kindt, is another massive rising star, as his book, MIND MGMT, is a superbly executed piece of modern comic history. Rivera brings the story to life like only he can, as we see a fun, vibrant action comic, laced with laughs and character development. I cant recommend The Valiant #1 enough, as it is a landmark for the modern age of comics, and is opening the door to what is sure to be a Golden Age for Valiant Entertainment.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Walking Dead: The Alien #1

Apr 23, 2016

This one shot is available right now at www.panelsyndicate.com and you pay what you want to download a digital copy. While you are there, make sure to check out The Private Eye, Barrier, and the other awesome books using this platform as well. You wont be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Thor (2014): Ragnarok #1

Nov 5, 2017

What this film as more than any other Thor entry is humor. From the opening scene to the very end, the humor is on point throughout the span of the film. Whether its between Thor and Loki as they banter back and forth, from Bruce Banners awkwardness, and the best laugh of the film at the end from Korg, this is an extremely funny movie. But it also moves the story along nicely, and to a brand new starting point for Thor and company. No longer stagnant, the status quo is thoroughly shaken, not stirred, and primes us all for Avengers: Infinity War.Easily the best of the Thor films and one of the best Marvel Studios films yet, Thor: Ragnarok didnt bring the end like its name implies, but rather a bright new beginning for Marvels godly Avenger.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Thunderbolts (2016) #1

May 8, 2016

Malins artwork feels like a throwback to the comics seen during the early years of Image Comics. Its full of energy, and he captures the classic look of these character while still managing to give the designs a 2016 upgrade. Thunderbolts was one of my favorite series when it was first released, so to see the book relaunched and under the creative work of Zub and Malin, I couldnt be happier. This issue ends on a shocking note, one that leaves us to wonder what exactly will happen with issue #2.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Toil and Trouble #1

Sep 2, 2015

Scott takes on an ambitious tale, having roots with one of the most famous tragedies in history. What starts off a little slow picks up midway and really leaves the reader wanting more by the end of it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Tokyo Ghost #1

Sep 20, 2015

This mature readers title is an exciting start to what I hope is an epic run. I look forward to the Tokyo part of this book, and to see just who Debbie and Led are, and what their future holds. Remender, Murphy and Hollingsworth have created something special here, something I cant wait to continue reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Tokyo Ghost #6

Apr 22, 2016

Remenders R-rated futuristic tale that isnt as far off from the way things are in modern times continues to impress. Murphys artwork is such a great fit for this dark and twisted reality, full of action, gore and tech like you have never seen. This kickoff to the next story arc takes off with the foot to the gas and doesnt let up until that shocking last page. Tokyo Ghost continues to prove why it belongs on your pull list: it has remained on mine since issue #1.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Trespasser #1

Feb 14, 2016

Trespasser #1 is an excellent start to the series, leaving readers wanting more, as we have to know what the repercussions are for what happens in the first issue. This book is available now from Alterna Comics: http://www.alternacomics.com.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Triggerman #1

Oct 10, 2016

Triggerman #1 captures the essence of a pulp crime throwback, and once again shows the diversity of genres the industry can encompass.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Trinity (2016) #1

Sep 25, 2016

This is a fantastic first issue: I do wonder what is next for this title, as the cliffhanger at the end left me a bit puzzled. Manapul creates something special here, despite their being no punches thrown or blood shed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Unbelievable Gwenpool #1

Apr 17, 2016

I didnt know what to expect from this book- but what I got out of it was a great read with a shocking ending that will change the status quo of the character for sure. Gwenpool pokes fun at lame villains and questions costume designs, just like readers would, and that right there helps make the connection. Lets see where our lost little hero ends up next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Unbelievable Gwenpool #3

Jun 26, 2016

If you haven't tried the Gwenpool series yet, I highly recommend you do. Not every book has to be about war: if you walk away from a comic with a smile on your face, then mission accomplished.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Valiant Sized Quantum and Woody #1

Dec 2, 2014

This is a great stand-alone issue to dive into, especially if you are new to the world of Quantum and Woody. Valiants return to comics is something the comic world should be thankful for, as now we get more comic goodness from the Worlds Worst Superheroes. I give this issue a NINE out of 10. Go pick it up and enjoy.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Violent Love #1

Nov 13, 2016

Though this issue is the set up of the series, its a terrific starting point. How does Daisy turn into one of the most wanted criminals, and when does she meet her partner in crime? All questions I cant wait to see answered as Violent Love continues on. This is a superb start to another exciting entry to the crime comics genre.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Wonder Woman (2016) #1

Jun 26, 2016

Wonder Woman is clearly in great hands with Rucka and Sharp bringing the hero back to glory. With Rebirth, Wonder Woman is on a journey to find herself, whatever that may be, and for the readers, it can only be a great thing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Wonder Woman: Rebirth #1

Jun 12, 2016

I was thrilled when I saw that Rucka would be penning Wonder Woman once again, and this issue didn't disappoint. We have a fragmented Wonder Woman looking for answers, answers I think the readers will learn just as our heroine does. Clark's art is great, but I really dug the shift to Sharp's artwork. I cannot wait for the series to move forward with Rucka and Sharp guiding Wonder Woman into new and uncharted places, and into pull lists for comic fans everywhere. Wonder Woman Rebirth #1 was an excellent read that strays away from where most comics are going with the Rebirth event, and delves more into a story only Wonder Woman can handle.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wrath of the Eternal Warrior #1

Nov 22, 2015

Artist Raul Allen brings the tale to life as we begin this new series and new path for the Valiant hero. The artwork is clean and crisp, and showcases Gilad and his compatriots and enemies perfectly. My only complaint is that the story felt to fly by- maybe I just wanted to read more, to continue this story right now and not have to wait a month for issue #2. A small gripe to a great issue that sets up this series and gets us ready for a journey Gilad has never had to travel before. Nonetheless, this is a terrific start to the new series, and it is definitely worth picking up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wrath of the Eternal Warrior #3

Jan 24, 2016

Artists Raul Allen (Hawkeye) and Patricia Martin create some stunning and demonic visuals here. The fight scenes are bloody and violent, and the use of silhouettes adds something more to the overall feel of the book. Gilads journey is a well paced, visually entertaining romp through hell and, hopefully, back. With the way this issue ends, #4 cant come soon enough. Im ready for more axe-wielding heroics from Valiants immortal hero.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X'ed #1

Dec 6, 2015

This book bleeds of creativity: the writing is clever and on point, and the art takes a creative and fresh outlook on the human mind. To see what goes through the mind of this elderly woman is mesmerizing. Colin is this tough as nails hitman, but with a major twist to him. By the end of the issue, I wanted the second issue to already be out already. Black Mask has another original and creative series on its hands, one that reads so smoothly, it feels cinematic.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
X-O Manowar (2017) #1

Mar 13, 2017

At the end of last years X-O Manowar #50, we saw a sneak peek to the future, which showed Aric sitting on a throne in the wake of carnage surrounding him. Is this the first step to Aric becoming a ruthless ruler, ready to crush all that oppose his will? Or maybe becoming a savior to a world torn apart by war? However it happens, I cannot wait for the next issue to hit. Kindt and Giorello have created one of the best debut issues in possibly the last decade. X-O Manowar is back, and all I can say is, all hail the king.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

December

November

More