Backways #1

Backways #1

Writer: Justin Jordan Artist: Eleonora Carlini Publisher: Aftershock Comics Release Date: December 20, 2017 Cover Price: $3.99 Critic Reviews: 13 User Reviews: 2
8.4Critic Rating
6.8User Rating

+ Pull List

There is a hidden nation. A nation of magic and madness, one that exists in all the forgotten spaces. Your basement, your attic, the haunted house down the street, anyone of those might be a part of the Backways.

Anna Merrick lost someone in the Backways, and she'll stop at NOTHING to get them back. Even if it means unleashing something unimaginable.

From Justin Jordan (STRAYER, Green Lantern: New Guardians) and Eleonora Carlini (Batgirl, Doctor Who) comes the BRAND NEW series of magic, mystery and mayhem that is sure to appeal to fans of Harry Potter & The Chronicles of Narnia!

  • 10
    ComicBook.com - Matthew Mueller Nov 8, 2017

    Backways was a pleasant surprise, delivering addicting characters in a world you want to get lost in. With a central mystery constantly pulling you forward, this book seems to have it all, and definitely deserves a chance. Read Full Review

  • 10
    Pop Culture HQ - Joshua Winchester Oct 25, 2017

    PopCultHQs overall assessment:A comic book about a world of magic thats not so far away from the real world. It sounds like it's been done before, but not like this. Justin, Eleonora, Silvia and Marshall have come up with something special, something amazing. This first issue is not like other magic and adventure comics out there, it is tapping into something more in terms of imagination. Everyone who picks it up will love it and keep wanting more. Read Full Review

  • 9.6
    SciFiPulse - Patrick Hayes Dec 22, 2017

    The roads less traveled are the paths that must be followed in this magical creeper of a series. A great premise explodes into a world of possibilities for Anna Merrick to find her friend Sylvia. The visuals are great, capturing the beauty and horrors of magic wonderfully. You'll be looking over your shoulder and watching each step once you enter Backways. Read Full Review

  • 9.5
    Pastrami Nation - Nolan Smith Jan 3, 2018

    Jordan creates an excellent first issue, one that felt way too short, which is always the sign of a great story as you keep wanting more. We meet Anna, and see how her world is, and how it is turned upside down. Carlinis artwork is so well done, and the character designs are fantastic. The book reminds me of Image Comics Wayward, which is an excellent comparison. I feel like this book is something AfterShock hasnt ventured into as of yet and is a perfect addition to their ever-growing library. I highly recommend Backways, as it's poised to be a premiere comic book in the realm of magic. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Comicosity - Chris Campbell Dec 21, 2017

    Overall Backways is a promising new title that should definitely be read this week. There is so much introduced in this first issue that if fulfilled should be an amazing story. Just the artwork alone injects alot of cool eye candy even if the story wasnt as promising as it is. Its a winning combination that leaves you ready to explore the Backways. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    The Fandom Post - Gregory Smith Nov 15, 2017

    Issue 1 doesn't give up the secrets of the series, but it offers fans an interesting world of a girl who has entered a supernatural space that exists in the forgotten. While not overly upfront with what readers can expect in the future, Backways lays the groundwork for a series that will attract a readership that demands sequential art to engage them on aesthetic and intellectual levels. It looks like it may be a fun supernatural mystery/adventure, as well. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Multiversity Comics - Rowan Grover Dec 22, 2017

    A great, YA occult style story with fantastic character work by Justin Jordan, fast paced artwork by Elenora Carlini, glowing colors by Silvie Tidei, and solid lettering by Marshall Dillon. This is how you build a world. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Big Comic Page - Adam Brown Dec 19, 2017

    Backways packs a weighty punch, capturing plenty of popular symbolism and ideas of the weird without becoming diluted or losing its edge. I for one can't wait to fall head first further down this particular rabbit hole! Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Weird Science - Andrew McAvoy Dec 23, 2017

    This style seems to place a fresh spin on a Narnia-esque tale with a Lewis Carroll spin. Indeed the concept of going "down the rabbit hole" is even alluded to by one of the characters. Yet again, a strong outing for Aftershock which adds to a growing roster of high quality books. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    The Fandom Post - Chris Beveridge Dec 20, 2017

    Backways works some familiar ideas with solid execution and style as this is all about the first sliver of exposure to the world that Jordan and Carlini are looking to play in Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Bleeding Cool - Joshua Davison Dec 18, 2017

    Backways #1 provides a compelling opening gambit for this mystical series. With promising characters, an interesting premise, and great artwork from a solid team, this comic is definitely worth checking out. I recommend it. Read Full Review

  • 6.0
    Comic Bastards - Patrick Wolf Nov 8, 2017

    If gothic-adventure is your thing, pick up a copy. As for myself and other comic aficionados, you might want to wait for issue #2 before making any decisions. Read Full Review

  • 5.0
    IGN - Kat Calamia Dec 21, 2017

    Backways #1 tries to build a mystery around Anna and Sylvia and the world of the Backways, but the characters are too mysterious for us to get fully engrossed into the story. Read Full Review

  • 5.0
    SloboSOY Dec 21, 2017

    Well very strange and too easy for the character. Like that she can open a portal ?
    I didn't find it interesting for me.

    Cover - 2/2 the univers is shown in one picture
    Writing - 1/3 Didn't like it.
    Arts - Not bad, not wonderfull easer 2/3
    Feelings - I will not take the next issue 0/2

  • 8.5
    that dude Dec 31, 2017

Reviews for
the Week of...

January

December

More