Andrew McAvoy's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Weird Science Reviews: 145
7.7Avg. Review Rating

7.0
Amazing Age #0

May 13, 2018

This book is likely to be appreciated by old-school comic book lovers. In hard copy, it will be in newsprint which already has a nostalgia factor. The cover has a great little nod to the Marvel Comic boxes of the early 1990s proudly proclaiming the 1 year anniversary of the Amazing Age 2017-18. The cover is plain and simple but showcases the range of heroes and the collective design of the characters comes across well. At 19 pages in total including covers it is a little short in terms of fully grounding the reader but what do you expect for free? If anything this is a little incentive to buy the reasonably priced issue 1 proper. A fun little book and great for kids.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Analog #1

Apr 7, 2018

I loved this issue, loved the world it created, the scenario it set and the characters it gave us. A wise guy lead with fast shooting skills and a grumpy dad, and a great cliffhanger for issue 2. That coupled with splendid art and fine coloring work. A great start to the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Analog #2

May 12, 2018

This issue is a pretty good continuation and development of what was set up in the first installment. The story is intriguing, and I do like the way there are all the clever reminders of what it used to be like before digital culture subsumed our world, plus the contrast between the privacy of analog versus the public nature of digital engagement. A pretty solid second issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Analog #5

Aug 18, 2018

Another stylish edition of this book, a little bit more on the interesting pre-story, and the usual fun and excitement of the contemporary story and the tug of war between analog and digital.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.1
Ant-Man & The Wasp (2018) #1

Jun 11, 2018

Despite some bits of really funny and witty dialogue I couldn't help but feel that the plot and artwork in this book just weren't clicking completely. What I would say is that a strength of the book is the interaction between Scott and Nadia who are a good combination, with Nadia's relative seriousness playing the perfect foil to Scott's wackiness. So, importantly, we have a good fit between the two core characters which leaves me optimistic for next issue. A sound enough opener.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.1
Ant-Man & The Wasp (2018) #2

Jun 25, 2018

Hands up, this issue is frickin' crazy and I partly only like it because it is so insane. I don't know what Waid was smoking when he was writing this (joking of course) but it is mad to the point that I thought it was great. Amidst that, there are also some very good passages in this issue and it is worth the admission price for the Nadia background material and the art.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Armstrong and the Vault of Spirits #1

Feb 10, 2018

I have to say that I find that Valiant are putting out some of the highest quality books at the minute and I hope that this wonderfully balanced little universe doesn't fall victim to the changes to personnel behind the scenes. This issue was fun as well, and it would serve as a nice little entry point for new fans. Okay so the story itself was a little bit lightweight but it was a fun tale, and I enjoyed it. Now pass the wine.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.8
Astonishing X-Men (2017) #10

Apr 8, 2018

This issue added to my growing sense of unease about the direction of this title. The chemistry of the team doesn't seem to be drawn out, X is unlikable and not an appealing draw, and the rest of the team are cast into his shadow given his central role. I'll stick with this title but, with a massive amount of new and exciting books coming on stream in the coming weeks and months from the big two, its place on the pull list may be in jeopardy.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Backways #1

Dec 23, 2017

This style seems to place a fresh spin on a Narnia-esque tale with a Lewis Carroll spin. Indeed the concept of going "down the rabbit hole" is even alluded to by one of the characters. Yet again, a strong outing for Aftershock which adds to a growing roster of high quality books.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Betrothed #1

Mar 17, 2018

This issue leaves us seeing whether Kieron and Tamara's newfound attraction will conquer the desire of the Nuam for a fight to the death. The storyline, while not exactly original gives us two star-crossed lovers in a space opera teen drama so count me in. The art meanwhile continues the Manga-styled leanings we have seen elsewhere in AfterShock in their Backways title, and I loved it. A thoroughly satisfying book.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.7
Blackwood #1

Jun 3, 2018

I would say that this book probably did enough to hold my attention and intrigue me enough to come back for more. That said, there is an assumed familiarity with the characters that doesn't ring quite true, and assumes a familiarity with the characters that the writer hasn't earned.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.1
Bonehead #1

Dec 29, 2017

A confusing premise, a complex opening issue, a blur of characters in masks, and artwork that was just okay do not auger well for this title. Definitely Maybe? Definitely not. I'll pass on this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Brilliant Trash #1

Nov 18, 2017

I'd be lying if I said that I managed to fully keep up with this issue. I don't mind though. It is a book jam-packed with promise with exciting art, big ideas and intriguing characters. I have no doubt that I will be looking it out for further reads as I digest future installments. Packed with potential.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Champions #13

Oct 23, 2017

All in all this is a solid issue and while this reader would prefer The Champions without the Avengers, I'm just happy that the Champions have (so far) survived the Marvel Legacy shake-up. Plus there is a really funny moment between Vision, Spidey and Cyclops that was the highlight of my comic week.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Champions #14

Nov 20, 2017

Yes, two issues into Legacy and the one Marvel book I love the Champions has lost me.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Champions #15

Dec 24, 2017

This issue was a lot better than the last one, and thank God to have finally gotten the Avengers off the pages of this book. I have a sneaking suspicion that Waid and Ramos may have felt the same way, and they dispatch the Avengers out of this issue in a pretty prompt fashion. The issue leaves us back with just the Champions, and a really neat cliff hanger that should act as a springboard to get the series as normal up and running again as normal. Phew.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Champions #16

Jan 21, 2018

All in all this was a return to what I enjoy about this series, and special mention should go to Ramos' art - both on the internal artwork but also on a pretty epic cover this issue. In my recent reviews I noted my sense that he wasn't fully invested in the Avengers Crossover and seemed to not enjoy working on the Avengers (maybe just my perception) but that feeling is now dispelled and his work on this issue is fabulous (one panel where the team just burst out laughing at Miles Morales was a pure delight). Storywise it is great to see two meaty plot threads that look like they will sustain the title for a few issues, and have the potential for interesting follow up stories. Back on top form.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.7
Champions #17

Mar 5, 2018

This issue was a bit "filler-ish" but I was glad to see that Viv Vision replacement model is not as perfect as she was being portrayed. I feel vindicated as a cagey SOB. Another note of caution, the cast of this book now needs to get paired down again - there are too many characters following the recruitment drive and the equilibrium of the title has been lost. It will be sad if Waid's strong run ends with a jam-packed character heavy book just to make way for a slightly re-calibrated set up under the new creative team. We shall see.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.9
Champions #18

Apr 2, 2018

I have loved this series and really went in to defend it on several occasions but it had lost its original sense of direction and niche. I'm not sure if new writer Zub and artist Izaakse will be able to reinvigorate it. So much of this title for me was tied up with Ramos' art. That's now gone, and it will be strange to see it depicted in a new style. I'll stick with it but this has become something of a rudderless ship, which needs correcting rather swiftly.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Cold Spots #1

Aug 26, 2018

A pretty good first issue to set up the new tale. A good, quality opening issue that will give you a pretty good return. If the rest of the series matches this one then it should be a pretty good story. The art is the main selling point though - a beautiful book to look at; the artwork secures the feel that the book is aiming for.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.2
Cold War (2018) #1

Feb 17, 2018

A very good concept, which was badly executed. Unfortunately this is likely to be fatal to the success of this series. About half the plot detail, and a clearer and cleaner style of art and lettering would have helped ease readers in and establish a solid foundation through a snappy first issue. Sadly that wasn't what was delivered. Disappointing.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.9
Cyber Force (2018) #1

Mar 31, 2018

This was a good first issue, and laid out some opening positions with regards to the tightrope between technology being used by humans, and technology using (or at least exerting a controlling influence) over humans. It is a topic which is ripe for exploration and I expect we will see this as the new series rolls out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Cyber Force (2018) #2

Apr 27, 2018

While I enjoyed the first issue I think this is the one where the story starts to hit some proper acceleration and I think (or maybe hope) that this is a trend that will continue as the next few issues emerge. A really solid series and the first two issues have gotten this title off to a great start.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Cyber Force (2018) #3

Jun 2, 2018

I mean, at this point I have to say this is as good as any book out there at the moment. It is the finest art I have seen in some time, and the writing is as good as it gets.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Cyber Force (2018) #4

Jul 1, 2018

What can I say? This series is keeping on heading in the right trajectory and getting stronger and stronger, not just in terms of the narrative which is now starting to see loose strands tightened together, but also in terms of the proper establishment of story arcs for the character development and interaction. Artwise it is a dream. Buy the first three issues and then delight in this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dark Ark #3

Dec 2, 2017

This book is quality, and it times the story switches just at the right time to sustain the reader's attention. The series is so good that I haven't been able to make my joke about the characters not needing an Ark because they are all treading water. Oh look I managed to squeeze it in anyway. Seriously though, this is a top book, and another piece of top quality output - which is now becoming expected - from Aftershock Comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.6
Dark Ark #4

Dec 23, 2017

This issue was a little confusing and this wasn't helped at times by the similarity in appearance of the vampire hoards. Likewise the character depictions of Shrae's clan and the human inhabitants tend to look quite similar. There is a slight sense of this issue stretching out aspects of the story that probably could have been dealt with in the previous issue. That said, with the angels descending on the vessel for the next issue I'll definitely be tuning in to see where Shrae's journey goes from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Days of Hate #1

Jan 20, 2018

It's hard to explain the vibe of this book. The best way I have of describing it is to suggest that it is like a mix of Handmaid's Tale and season 1 of True Detective. Certainly, it's art style has many traits of the latter show, while the plot has similarities to the former. All in all a wonderful book and it shows that if comic books do enter into matters of politics and social commentary they can bring as much, if not more, to the table than a lot of other forms of entertainment. A high-end book, that may attain a cultural significance.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Days of Hate #2

Mar 3, 2018

This wasn't as driven as the jam-packed opening installment but this was a very good issue with a more moderate and stately pacing. The art put me off a little this issue, but I think that was just down to some of Bellaire's opening color choices as opposed to anything that would put me off the book. All in all a solid continuation from the last issue's great start.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Days of Hate #3

Mar 31, 2018

A return to the standard of the first issue, and the interest in this tale continues to heighten. The book is a tense read, it is deliberately discomforting. The events of 2022 are traced directly back to seeds germinating at the time of writing, and it uses these dystopian origins well to increase the overall discomfort of the reader. In the best possible way.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Days of Hate #5

May 26, 2018

This is a very quick read but I really did enjoy it a lot. It may be a little light if you only read a couple of comics a week. If you have a big pull list this won't bother you, and if you are reading in trade format you might be glad of the pause in the dialogue, as a change of pace. You will know what is best and what will suit you. A good issue though.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.1
DC/Hanna-Barbera: Super Sons/Dynomutt Special #1

May 30, 2018

This title is never going to really appeal beyond a small group of completists or those who fancy taking a gamble on new comic book day and adding a wildcard to their pull list. For those that do there is a pretty good self contained story here and it gives a return on the admission fee. An enjoyable piece of light reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Death or Glory #1

May 4, 2018

With a $4.99 cover price this book, which is in Image's extended length range of comics, it may seem quite pricey, but the art is awesome and the story takes full advantage of the additional space. Likewise, the Bengal cover is fantastic, and really this book will be up there with any other option on the shelves this week. An opening installment that bodes very well for the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.9
Dissonance #1

Jan 26, 2018

This is a pretty ambitious first issue and although the reader gets there in the end, I felt it demanded quite a lot for an opening installment. There were however some clever ideas, the art was fairly strong and there is nothing that one could be overly critical about. A solid enough start to the new series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Doctor Star and the Kingdom of Lost Tomorrows #3

May 5, 2018

This was a good issue, but I felt that the first two installments were much more poignant. That said this issue had a great bar scene where the old wartime heroes meet up to drink away the day in, and there is a bit of preparation necessary to tee the story up for the fourth installment with the debut of the Star Sheriff Squadron. A fun issue then, with a little bit of reconfiguring going on to lead us in smoothly to the next installment.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Elsewhere #3

Oct 8, 2017

An excellent book, and an excellent series; I eagerly await the final installment in the 4 issue arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Elsewhere #4

Nov 4, 2017

I have to confess to that the ending of this first arc left me a bit flat. The big reveal threw out a key element of mystery and I'm not sure that it should have. It seemed to end the arc a bit too neatly as though they didn't expect the series to run past this issue and wanted to wrap the title up neatly in a bow. It lacked the structure of the previous issue. It was still pretty enjoyable, but just didn't have that fizz that the previous issue had. I am eager to find out what happens next, and if you have liked the series up until now you'll want to read this issue. It is, however, a step down from what we've seen up to now.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Faith: Winter Wonderland Special #1

Dec 9, 2017

This issue is a lot of fun. Okay it may not be the most heavy weight of books you'll read this week but it is fun and that, for me, is what Holiday Specials should be about. There is a neat parallel drawn in the book between the commercialization of kids TV (or just new stories for kids) and the commercialization of Christmas. Plus the Lewis Carroll vehicle sold me from the off. A sugar-high of an issue, and a piece of pure escapism with a festive tinge.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.1
Flavor #1

May 18, 2018

This book made much of the fact that it was bringing on board a culinary consultant (a Kitchen Aid some might say...) to assist with its development. Aside from the opening mention of truffles there wasn't that much input that I could decipher as belonging to Ali Bouzari. He sells books on Amazon and has given Ted talks though so I'm sure his expertise will shine through more as the issues continue. As it stands this was an aesthetically pleasing book that I'm glad I read, but I didn't really seem to be guided very well as to the plot context, and so it scores on curiosity value as much as anything else. An opening installment that was hard to dislike, but I did feel a little lost at sea.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Gasolina #2

Oct 28, 2017

This issue keeps the momentum going from issue 1 and proceeds at a stately pace. From the very first page it grips the reader into the story and there is an all pervading sense of an accomplished creative team at work in this book. Yet again the title strikes the right balance between the information it gives us, and the information it deliberately holds back. The fact that you still come away satisfied results from the confident mode of storytelling, and the delicious artwork. Warning though, this issue gets pretty grizzly at times so it may not be to everyone's taste. I am, however, hooked and can't wait for the next installment.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Gasolina #4

Dec 29, 2017

This series continues to meet the high standards it set for itself in the opening issues. It doles out just the right amount of action, and combines its reveals with great artwork. A fine example of all the key component parts of a comic complementing each other as intended.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Gasolina #5

Jan 26, 2018

You know the drill by now. Top story, top art, beautiful colors. What's not to love? This issue maintains the high standards seen so far in the series, gives us a wider view of what's going on and cranks the story up a notch. Special mention also for a great cover to this issue. Keep them coming.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Gasolina #6

Mar 3, 2018

This book continues to surprise and weave its story at its own unique pace. It isn't rushing and the scene change in this issue reminds us that we are looking at a much broader context than simply the events on the farm. The events that occurred in the most recent issues are part of a bigger play. A close to the first arc that doesn't tie things up, rather it sets the scene for the events still to come. I don't mind - I'm in this one for the long haul and it has been a rewarding experience to date.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Gasolina #7

Apr 27, 2018

Yet again this book continues to tell its tale, slowly and at a stately pace, but without ever losing the reader's attention. We know from past insights into the cartel structures and the policing apparatus in this series that there is a large canvas behind the story we are reading at any given time. That has just been made wider as this issue now connects Randy and Amalia's past activities to that wider storytelling process. All combined with some wonderful artwork from start to finish. This issue was a top piece of work.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Gasolina #9

Jul 1, 2018

It always happens sooner or later with any series and this is the first slightly "down" issue. The ending though allows for a calibration of the series in a new direction and a marshaling of the rich storytelling laid out to date. Still a good issue, but a little bit of a pivot issue in the grand scheme of things I suspect.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Gasolina #10

Jul 28, 2018

In my review of the last issue, I had felt that this series was in danger of dragging slightly. This issue with the time jump being deployed really freshens things up and injects some of the vitality that existed in the opening issues of the series. The intrigue on the wider story is reignited too and this series is suddenly on fire again. Particularly after the last scene.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Gasolina #11

Aug 26, 2018

This was a little bit of a stretch but by the end of the issue I felt that it had course corrected enough to end strongly, Not the best issue of this fine series, but the watermark has been pretty high to date. An average issue of this series is still better than most.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Gideon Falls #1

Mar 10, 2018

Lemire spins an impressive tale and at the end of the book we get a pretty decent nod to the fact that Norton and Wilfred's journeys are conjoined. Sorrentino's art blends well with Lemire's writing and their past work together really allows this book to get off to a flyer. Special mention to Stewart on colors and Wands on Lettering, both of whose work serves to augment the beauty of this first issue. This is a stunning book and if this opener is anything to go by we are in for a pretty special work.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Gideon Falls #2

Apr 14, 2018

A strong opening installment is followed by an equally strong second outing. A solid story from Lemire combined with more great art from Sorrentino and Stewart. Highly recommend this book, particularly if you like a mystery with a supernatural element. A great read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Gideon Falls #3

May 18, 2018

This book goes from strength to strength. I like the balanced pacing and the retention of mystery as we go along. It toys with horror but with a real-world backdrop that seems quite appealing - I can imagine myself getting comfort from Father Fred's little sermon - he is a darling despite what the local cops think (even if he was tempted by the whiskey at the start of this issue). Bring on the next issue - this series is great.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Gideon Falls #4

Jun 23, 2018

These issues give you loads of material to ponder and leave you hungry for a lot more in the next issue. Everyone is a winner with that formula as the fans keep enjoying each issue, and keep shelling out for the next issue. Money well spent. Keep em coming, Lemire.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Gideon Falls #5

Jul 20, 2018

Another fantastic issue of this series. After 5 issues we have been told a lot, and we have a lot to find out. It has been a beautiful book to look at, and this book probably tops what we have seen before. The series goes from strength to strength and remains on the must buy list. 9/10

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Gideon Falls #6

Aug 18, 2018

A good closing point that leaves the reader feeling satisfied, but with a real hunger for further information in the autumn. Lemire has achieved great things on this book, but for me the credit goes just as much to Sorrentino and Stewart for their visually ambitious work.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.1
Hack/Slash: Resurrection #1

Oct 28, 2017

In many ways this is a standard first issue for a new series with an established character. It is, however, elevated by the artwork and the fact that it serves as a very accessible entry point for a character who has quite a developed backstory at this point. All in all it is an enjoyable outing, even if it isn't going to knock your socks off.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harbinger: Renegade #0

Nov 12, 2017

This issue, which brims with excitement, more than whets the appetite for next May's showcase event. Yet again Solomon is on top, and the fact that our "big bad" in this issue has ancient origins gives us lot to uncover between now and then. A great story from Rafer Roberts rendered splendidly through the wonderful art of Juan Jose Ryp and colors which shine from Andrew Dalhouse. What's not to love? Top stuff.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Hit-Girl (2018) #3

Apr 27, 2018

Despite the fact that there is a shift in the story style in this issue - more densely packed action, less humorous breaks, it still rocked. This series has been a delight to look at and a delight to read in its opening three installments. Special shout out to the wonderful Amy Reeder cover art too, which adds to the overall package.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ice Cream Man #1

Jan 20, 2018

This book is crazy as hell and I thought it was great. It is creepy suburban weirdness that coasts along well and throws you off the expected path quite a few times. Well worth trying out, even if it just confirmed my feelings about Ice Cream men!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Ice Cream Man #2

Feb 24, 2018

Another good installment, and its clear from this issue and the level of distance it places between the story in issue one and this tale that the writers are going to be working across a wide canvas with this title. It was an enjoyable issue and continues a solid start to the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Ice Cream Man #3

Mar 23, 2018

The art in this series wouldn't normally entice me in, but coupled with the sheer quirky and sinister qualities of this story (we are still to find out what the ice cream man's agenda is) the art works perfectly. I think that as this series goes on, we are getting pretty autonomous standalone characters, but also a small reveal each issue as to the nature of the ice cream man. I've loved each issue so far, but this one is the best yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Ice Cream Man #4

Apr 27, 2018

This was another great issue of a fun series. This time round though there is a sense of an issue which is now starting to establish linkages with a broader piece of storytelling, and we seem to be getting a greater level of story continuation in a series that has consisted of (seemingly) standalone issues to date. The ending with the appearance of a tall dark stranger in a cowboy hat has me dying to see how things develop in this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Infidel #1

Mar 18, 2018

A wonderful start to the series and one of the most enjoyable first installments I've read in a while.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Infidel #2

Apr 20, 2018

This was an intriguing issue which really challenged some of my assumptions formed in the opening installment. I had to reconsider my views on the mother-in-law, and I am also intrigued by the concept of this book - namely that racism and hate find a way of manifesting themselves in the world outside the physical sphere. There is something chilling about the concept of those sentiments inhabiting the atmosphere long after their human hosts are gone. Can't wait to see what happens next, but the ending suggests that there'll be no happy outcome.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Infidel #3

May 18, 2018

This was an issue that focused less on the momentum of plot and more on the creeping sense of suspicion, tension, and unease seeping in, which serves to heighten susceptibility to prejudice. I would argue that in some ways this book actually prompts us to look at our own prejudices and bias - do we judge the characters in a certain way or make assumptions based on their look or appearances? This book reminds us that no one is impervious to such pitfalls, but likewise that human beings can surprise you by kicking back against stereotyping. An important point to note in these difficult times.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.1
Infidel #5

Jul 20, 2018

A disappointing outcome to a series that I have enjoyed up until now. The art in this closing installment continues to have its urban charm, but the story fell apart for me. A lost opportunity, but I'd return for another arc of books set in this world; an imperfect series rather than a bad one, but not a good closing issue.6.1/10

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Isola #1

Apr 7, 2018

Bits and Pieces:Not only was this a magnificent book, but it was a work of art. A great start to a series which, if the standard of this opening issue is anything to go by, will be one that collectors will seek out in a future high-quality trade publication to grace their bookshelves and share with their children. It is something special, not often seen.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Isola #2

May 12, 2018

Issue 1 was an intriguing read, almost something of a curiosity. This issue though is almost the true commencement of the series after the prologue of the last issue. This time we delve deeper into the world of Isola and the signals are that this is going to be a fully realized and complex journey that we are embarking upon. Special mention should be made of the depiction of the ruined city in this issue which was truly remarkable.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Isola #4

Jul 14, 2018

Stellar art, now infused with a really fast narrative drive, if this series was white hot before now it just got hotter. Questions abound about quality and editorial standards in some of the big comic books out there at the moment. None of those concerns are founded in relation to a publication such as this. High end, high quality. On course for the comic of the year in this reviewer's eyes.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Lost City Explorers #1

Jun 25, 2018

This was a good first issue and with the Atlantis angle being mooted at the end, and the references to Homer (Helen, her brother Homer, and the burial of the Odyssey with the father's suit - the body is missing!) signal the fact that this mystery is going to get very interesting as we journey into the unknown. Good solid start to the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Moon Girl and Devil Dinosaur #26

Dec 31, 2017

This is a continuation from the last issue. We get a bit more detail about what is going on and we are left with two mysteries for the trio (plus the "tag-along" companions of Silver Surfer and Eduardo). First - who summoned Galactus and his master Omnipotentis. Second - who framed Thing? It's all to play for - I'll be there same Marvel time, same Marvel place for the next issue - I can't wait to take another trip with this book. Wonderful.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Moon Girl and Devil Dinosaur #27

Feb 5, 2018

This issue keeps up the pace on the charm offensive. DC currently struggles to depict Barbara Gordon as both funny, quirky and intelligent - they could do worse than follow the example set by Moon Girl. This is how you do a colorful, funny book that appeals to a younger demographic while charming older readers. In fact its a masterclass in the art of making a fun comic. Plus some cool cut out Valentine Cards at the back of the issue - neat and cost cutting! Me like!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Moon Girl and Devil Dinosaur #28

Mar 5, 2018

A pretty routine issue, but I figure I can allow this one to pass given how much I have enjoyed the post-Legacy run on this title. As always the book is a delight to look at and Bonvillain's colors continue to compliment Bustos' art perfectly. Story needs to pick up again soon though and the bulk of my 6.5 score this issue is attributable to the art.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.3
Moon Girl and Devil Dinosaur #29

Apr 2, 2018

Okay so this wasn't the most exciting of issues, but we got some fun patter, some great art, a mention of the Cellar Dweller(!) and the return of one of the two titular heroes, so my time wasn't wasted. I'm hoping that the pace picks up next issue with the return of Devil Dinosaur because the action needs to start picking up before this title exhausts all its fine tricks.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Ninja-K (2017) #4

Feb 17, 2018

This was a pretty good issue, it was packed with drama, action, blood and gore, clever dialogue, and some nice ideas. It kept things neat and tidy for new readers and allowed them a hook by which to enter the title. The art was good, if not dazzling but there were some pleasing panels along the way. Worth a go, and a nice way to slip into Valiant.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
No. 1 With A Bullet #1

Nov 4, 2017

The cliffhanger of this issue handles some big themes around the increasingly dominant role in technology and blends them together with a witty plot and characters, some very stylish artwork, and a beautiful layout. You can keep your virtual reality contact lenses; I'm happy to escape to my comic books when they are this good.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
No. 1 With A Bullet #2

Dec 8, 2017

The opening issue of this series was great, and this issue builds on that solid foundation. The story is given more depth and the characterization of Nash, and the depiction of the circumstances in which she finds herself is handled magnificently. This is fast becoming the comic book series to watch; one of the most exciting titles on the shelves the minute.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
No. 1 With A Bullet #3

Jan 6, 2018

This issue takes a break from the ongoing narrative to ruminate on the after-effects of the leaked sex tape. It is less about action and more about character insight. I was happy with the departure for a single issue, and the book hit home. Hopefully, the next issue will drive the storyline forward again to allow readers to appreciate events in light of the background provided in this issue. A solid contribution to the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
No. 1 With A Bullet #5

Mar 17, 2018

This book really spears the fickle and dull-minded forum of social media. The writing is clean and crisp. We are left with a really traumatic cliffhanger with this issue. This is a really clever series with uniquely quirky and stylish art and layout. I really, dearly want to continue on with the stories of these characters and continue to visit this world after the conclusion of this storyline. I understand, however, that it will finish after this arc and I am really saddened by that fact. I love everything about this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
No. 1 With A Bullet #6

Apr 14, 2018

There is a real sense of satisfaction when a 6 issue run just delivers, and utilizes all the parts of the comic book medium's armory so well. As that famous philosopher John "Hannibal" Smith once used to say to me in the 1980s when we spent long afternoons together in some action-packed circumstances, "I love it when a good plan comes together". A great finish to a great story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Oblivion Song #1

Mar 10, 2018

This story starts strong and we know that at the time of writing there are 13 issues of this book already in the pipeline and that this is a vast storytelling exercise that we are only just dipping into. I wasn't sure about the art at the start of this book, but once I got used to it, it worked perfectly. This book is an intriguing one and I think it will develop into a pretty gripping tale.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Paradiso #1

Dec 9, 2017

What can I say? A vision in mud brown with a storyline that was clear as mud and the most unexciting looking array of characters I have seen in a long time. I was a little disappointed to say the least. I won't be hanging around to see the story promised in the previews to finally emerge.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Port of Earth #1

Nov 11, 2017

This first issue briskly takes the reader from the wide galactic canvas of its opening pages, to the galactic-trade agreement brokering post-first contact, before landing us gently down to street level in the company of two Earth Security Agents as they begin an invesitigation. It leaves us perfectly poised for the second installment, and its effective stage setting is enhanced immensely by some fine art from Mutti. Well worth jumping on board, and its caught my attention for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Port of Earth #5

May 13, 2018

This is a solid book, and while I am never particularly filled with anticipation at the prospect of reading it, when I do I am always pretty entertained. The storyline does hold my attention, and the art is well rendered. Again, I like a bit more vibrancy and bolder colors in my books, but overall the art is nothing to be sniffed at. On balance I'd say that this is a series that would be better read in trade form if you can wait. It is enjoyable though and if you buy it you are unlikely to be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Postal #25

Jan 26, 2018

This is an extended book which runs well beyond the normal comic book page count. The story in this issue made superb use of that space and it packed in some detailed character development. The art is superb but the star of the show was the coloring from K Michael Russell. Wonderful vibrant colors and a vast range of different colors deployed in bold ways. A great comic book, and I'm glad I decided to take the plunge partway through the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Postal: Laura #1

Mar 17, 2018

Art great, coloring great, storyline great. This book works brilliantly if you've read the whole series. It will work brilliantly as an introduction to the series. Either way, I highly recommend.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Postal: Mark #1

Feb 24, 2018

Pretty much the perfect one shot for anyone who has been tempted by this title but didn't want to dive in during the main series. Stands well as an issue in its own right, but I bet you want to go back and check out the rest of the issues after reading it, I know I did.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Prism Stalker #1

Mar 10, 2018

Okay so whether you like this book like I did, or not, will depend on what type of book you like. The nearest thing I can compare this to is a David Lynch film. You know how you watch his films and don't really grasp what is going on but the multiple possibilities and messages attract you anyway? If the answer is yes you'll enjoy this, if not then maybe shuffle on to the next book. I liked it, and next time I feel like jumping into some psychedelic, alien weirdness then I'm going to read it again. So there.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Quantum Age: From the World of Black Hammer #1

Jul 8, 2018

This is a vast canvas that Lemire is painting on and I don't think that it is advisable to skip any part of it, lest you miss out on some exciting or intriguing element of the overall mystery. Worth checking out for fans of the saga.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Red Sonja/Tarzan #3

Jul 7, 2018

I'm becoming really dependent on the comic book medium being a last place of escapism from real life and news coverage. I used to actually quite like real life events being paralleled in my comics but increasingly I just can't bear it. I find that I am searching out books like this one with an exotic setting, a strong writer at the helm that I can trust to structure a good story, and a top artistic team. Bring on issue 4. This was wonderful.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Rocket Girl #10

Oct 6, 2017

As noted above the conclusion to this series is likely to leave you with a slight melancholy feeling. It is important then that the text at the back of the book alludes to a continuation of Dayoung's story, as it allows the retention of some hope in how the story will ultimately pan out. Whatever you do don't miss out on this one, and to be frank - if you haven't read the earlier issues now's the time to do it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Sacred Creatures #4

Oct 14, 2017

Sacred Creatures continues to weave a detailed and interesting story backed up by high grade art work. It is a dollar more than some other Image titles (its priced at $4.99) but as with other issues you feel like you are getting a high volume and quality of output in return. There was a black humor to this particular issue, particularly in the naked lustful army of Hospital inhabitants chasing after Adrian to facilitate Lust's capture of Josh's newborn. The issue leaves us with many questions remaining - how was Adrian born? Why does Envy want Josh and his child? What is the remainder of Naviel's backstory? In short this issue satisfies the reader, but also is used to pique our interest for the next installment.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Secret Weapons #0

Jan 6, 2018

This is a standalone prequel book. If you are worrying about whether you will be able to get into it don't. Dive right in, and adopt the immersive technique. By the end of this issue, you'll be primed for the main run on this series. If you have read it then it will give you amazingly detailed background on the character, where she has come from and what motivates her. If only all books could be like this. Amazing.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Skyward (2018) #1

Apr 20, 2018

A fun, sunshine-filled trip to the Windy City plunged skyward. In many ways the perfect first issue. I will be interested to see how the premise of this story develops in later issues. I have a feeling things may take a darker turn in future issues, but who knows? As things stand though, a fun first issue that will lift you off your feet.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Slots #2

Nov 11, 2017

It's like this. If you want your comics to be action packed and filled with caped crusaders then Slots isn't gonna be your scene. If like me though you revel in the exploits of some well intentioned and charming schemers with art as delicious as one of Jose's Taco's then you've come to the right place. This is my type of book, set in my type of social circles. Can't wait to see where Stan's story takes us next. Viva Las Vegas.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Star Wars (2014) #48

May 28, 2018

Well, no one was more surprised than me when I finished this issue, but I think that something has changed in this title. It was really good and I am happy, because frankly after the cinematic offering I really need Marvel Star Wars to be good right now. I've been enjoying Thrawn and Poe Dameron too, so if the main title turns things around like this then it makes for a good omen for that all important 50th issue coming round the corner.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Wars (2014) #49

Jun 11, 2018

Maybe I'm just relieved to find good Star Wars content. Maybe I'm happy that I'm able to write a good review instead of criticizing an artist. Maybe I'm excited that this book has hit a stride and is mining gold just as it hits a bumper 50th issue, Either way, it's nice to be entertained this much by Star Wars for a change.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Star Wars (2014) #50

Jul 9, 2018

This is a decent jumping on point, but if you are interested in picking up this series then I think to pick up the last arc, and then enjoy from here on in.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Star Wars (2014) #51

Jul 23, 2018

Now that Houser's excellent Thrawn mini-series has ended, this book, the Vader title (Annual aside - see my other review on here of that heap of nonsense) and the odd issue of Poe are what constitutes the small amount of fun left in my Star Wars world. Long may it continue - another great issue in a series that has been reborn in recent months. Well done to all involved.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Star Wars (2014) #52

Aug 6, 2018

The resurgence of this book continues and it's good to see. Over quite a large number of issues now Gillen has given us a lengthy display of storytelling prowess. Likewise, the art has been of a continuously solid standard for a considerable time. This book is now the standout title for Marvel Star Wars alongside Soule's work on Vader. Which is exactly how it should be.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Star Wars Adventures #12

Jul 28, 2018

This is really a lot of fun and I always say with these IDW titles that they are perfect for parents who want to share Star Wars with their kids, and who want to go comic book shopping together. This is a book that you can safely let a younger child read, but its charm will reward you sneakily reading it once they go to bed!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Star Wars: Captain Phasma #4

Oct 23, 2017

Although the plot is straightforward, this book uses that to best effect by giving us detailed character portrayals in both its writing and its artwork. At the end of the book, when we fully appreciate how Phasma operates we are left with a firm understanding of why this soldier has made it to the top of the First Order tree. A good ending to what has been an enjoyable, if not entirely essential, mini-series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Star Wars: Darth Vader (2017) #17

Jun 18, 2018

You do reach for an issue of this series in complete and utter confidence that the story it will tell you will be interesting, the dialogue authentic and the art beautiful. It is perhaps the only Star Wars Marvel title that I can say that about. This issue fulfills those expectations yet again.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Star Wars: Darth Vader (2017) #19

Aug 13, 2018

This book is of a top standard. Classic Star Wars like we used to get, and the main man Skywalker, Snr. is on top villainous form. Well done to all involved including an editorial team that finally seems to get the standard that is expected.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.1
Star Wars: Darth Vader (2017) Annual #2

Jul 23, 2018

For someone as vocally controversial in fan relations as Chuck Wendig, you have to deliver to survive. What Wendig delivers here is a pile of garbage! The pity is that it disrupts what has been a beautiful run from Soule on the title. Likewise, for fans who are supposed to be buying into a cohesive universe, someone dropped the ball here. Normally there is sloppy editing at Star Wars Marvel, but the blame must lie on the checking system within the Story Group and/or Wendig. An awful issue for fans of Star Wars and best avoided.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars: Lando - Double Or Nothing #1

Jun 4, 2018

Credit where credit is due, this was an enjoyable issue. Not quite as good as the opening installment of the previous Lando mini-series (which is also very good - check it out) but I have to say I found this interesting. The time period, characters, look and feel of this were very different from a lot of the material you would normally read me the Star Wars line and I have to say that it is refreshing.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Star Wars: Mace Windu #4

Dec 3, 2017

I will probably buy the last issue because I'm a completist, but please, please if you are on a limited budget like most people do not waste your precious resources on this drivel. If you're curious give it a go when it hits the shelves of your local library or Marvel Unlimited. Until then save your pennies.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars: Poe Dameron #20

Oct 23, 2017

Soule has now established a pitch perfect understanding of these characters. In fact he has fleshed out their dynamic and dialogue better than any other Star Wars medium to date.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Star Wars: Poe Dameron #22

Dec 24, 2017

This issue is a partial return to form. The art is excellent (as always) and this time the story manages to keep up. The issue has a highly structured narrative that hangs together with a sense of balance. Definitely a book to read in between fights about The Last Jedi online!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Star Wars: Poe Dameron #23

Jan 29, 2018

It was an exciting book, and it flew by faster than one of Poe's many X-Wings (that man has destroyed/lost/suffered damage to more X-Wings than you or I have had hot breakfasts). The art was great. Sometimes I think it looks a bit off in this series, but Noto really nailed this issue. It was a fun Saturday morning matinee special - exactly what Star Wars is supposed to be.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Star Wars: Poe Dameron #24

Feb 19, 2018

Decent art, the old yo-yo storyline, up and down, up and down. The giant carrot now floats in deep space, who will get it first? Resistance? (yay!) Or First Order? (boo!). On your marks. Get set. Go! Yes folks issue 25 will let us know what happens to the giant carrot next! Won't it be so exciting?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Wars: Poe Dameron #25

Mar 25, 2018

So, if you are looking for an action-packed thrill ride, which delivers on the promise of the series, has some funny and witty exchanges, a dash of romance, some great art and a jaw-droppingly cool cover then I can recommend this issue. If you aren't looking for those things...then...I don't know what would please you! A milestone issue in more ways than one, and the best issue in this series so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Star Wars: Poe Dameron #26

Apr 23, 2018

Regardless, this was a good comic, and the change-about has freshened the outlook of this series considerably. As usual in this series the Angel Unzueta artwork is delicious, Prianto's coloring is very fine, and personally, I think it was pretty great to see the character roster increased to give Rey and Finn a place in the title. An enjoyable read and a good tale from Soule.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars: Poe Dameron #27

May 21, 2018

I really enjoyed this issue even though I'm not in a happy place with Star Wars at the minute, but the opening pages of this book (which I don't want to spoil - they are included in this review if you want to read them) really tugged right on my heartstrings. The issue had some really witty dialogue and laughs (including a Porg scene) that even a battle hardened old cynic like me was able to appreciate.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Star Wars: Poe Dameron #28

Jun 25, 2018

This was a very odd issue. It was pretty good, but I'm not sure if Soule was actually able to pull off the droid conversation between R2 and BB-8. Leaving aside how odd it was, I don't think it matched up with the personality I have established for these two droids in my head! That aside though there was some really interesting little nuggets of Star Wars narrative material in here. This is the type of material that should have been in The Last Jedi, but we get it in a comic book. An odd choice, but in terms of this comic books it is a good thing, and an incentive to read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Star Wars: Poe Dameron #30

Aug 20, 2018

This book is high quality, and the story is good. Now that the time zone has switched, some of the problems plaguing the work on Episode 9 may start to appear. What will it do with the small canvass provided by the now very small Resistance? Why are they giving us a second Starkiller base? What is the overall objective for the Resistance now? With Episode 9 reportedly being written while it is being shot, I worry that this book will run out of rope before its scheduled close. This issue doesn't fall foul of that trap yet though - it is a solid and interesting issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars: The Last Jedi - DJ #1

Feb 5, 2018

Star Wars Marvel keeps churning out the garbage, Star Wars fans keep buying the garbage. Having to review this garbage is a fate worse than death. I'd rather be locked in an empty cell in Canto Bight - it might be more interesting.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.5
Star Wars: The Last Jedi - The Storms Of Crait #1

Dec 31, 2017

Well. What can one say? Having read almost all of the Marvel Star Wars output, some of the more recent offerings have been atrocious. The Yoda arc was awful in the main Star Wars title, and the Mace Windu series was just a joke. This was worst offering yet. I can almost hear the editorial team laughing and having bets to see how low the comic book standards can go in this part of Marvel. Meanwhile, fans keep handing over hard earned cash to buy the crap because they simply love Star Wars. Even the good issues are entirely peripheral and meaningless to Lucasfilm's stated objective of creating an interconnected "canon" across comics, books, TV series and films. At the end of the day, Marvel Star Wars know that the house always wins. When it comes to Star Wars fans they take the view that Rey got it right on Jakku, "the garbage will do".

View Issue       View Full Review
2.9
Star Wars: The Last Jedi Adaptation #1

May 14, 2018

I went into this desperately hoping to finally find a visual format that I could use as a substitute for watching the film. I may want to watch Episodes I to IX some time, and omit The Last Jedi. In which case I would have dearly loved a good Star Wars comic to fill the gap between Episodes VII and IX. Alas, yet again Marvel Star Wars just takes their eye off the ball. We know they can produce a high caliber book, but too often they just toss their books at us like Luke tossing his lightsaber at some Porgs. Hang your head in shame Marvel Star Wars, you blew it. Still better than the film though.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Star Wars: The Last Jedi Adaptation #2

May 28, 2018

Yes, I hate this adaptation as much as I hate the film. I had sincerely hoped it would be good so that it could take the film's place in my rewatches. How this is going to be strung out for another 4 issues I do not know, it will make the most excruciatingly long cinematic "space chase" scene into the most excruciatingly long comic book plots. Gary Whitta should probably not bother with comics again, this is terribly written. The art meanwhile is woeful. I mean look at the page above, Leia looks like she has been hit in the face with a frying pan or someone who experimented with budget plastic surgery. Sorry folks, but I'll continue to review the whole series in the hopes that things improve. Maybe the series will subvert my expectations.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Star Wars: The Last Jedi Adaptation #3

Jun 11, 2018

I can't find myself giving any marks for the art as I think I could have had a better go at this book. I always have my suspicions that Marvel Star Wars editorial rush the artwork on these books so this may be harsh, but it is true. To my mind, this book gets one mark for the internal monologue and one mark for the Noto cover, which only goes to prove the old adage about books and covers.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Star Wars: Thrawn #1

Feb 19, 2018

Credit goes to Jody Houser. I really like her work and I feel a surge of confidence when I see her name attached to a book. I have to say I was very dubious about this book before reading, but her economy and pace in the storyline and Luke Ross's great interior art meant that this book was a pleasant surprise and a highlight of my comic week.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Star Wars: Thrawn #2

Mar 19, 2018

If you loved the first issue, but felt that this one was a bit dull by comparison, I would suggest that you stick with this mini-series. This was one of the duller elements of the source novel, and there are better aspects still to come. If I may be so bold, I would recommend that you stick with this until issue 3, and in the meantime simply enjoy the fine art. Much like Thrawn himself would.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Star Wars: Thrawn #3

Apr 16, 2018

After a brief dip last issue (which was the fault of the source material not this creative team) this issue rocks back onto the stage, with political intrigue on Coruscant. Thrawn's fate starts to become intertwined with Pryce's and it is made clear that she is prepared to walk a political tightrope to get ahead in Palpatine's Empire. Great art and a wonderful story, the only point to make is that this issue necessarily has a reliance on the preceding issues, so it can't be recommended as a standalone issue (so make sure to read issues 1 and 2 for maximum enjoyment).

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars: Thrawn #4

May 14, 2018

Houser neatly crafts this story to its core points, and successfully manages to sustain the interest of the reader in what is one of the drier elements of the novel. In doing so she is expertly assisted by the art team. This book is one of the high points in Marvel's output for Star Wars. It's up there with the Han Solo mini-series for me (another good outing). This issue may have been lower key than some of the preceding installments but it lays the foundations for what should be an interesting conclusion. I put the book down with high hopes for a safe landing for the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Star Wars: Thrawn #5

Jun 18, 2018

As I continue to read this comic, I realize that looking back the Zahn novel actually wasn't as perfect as it had seemed. Although a very good story, parts of it got bogged down in a level of detail that slowed down the story momentum. This series has dispatched with those limitations and is delivering the definitive version in streamlined form. It will, I think, come across very well in trade format. A great accomplishment from this creative team with only one more issue to go. One word of caution, don't even try to read this issue as a standalone - the material that has come before is essential to understanding and enjoyment.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
The Dead Hand #1

Apr 14, 2018

I've had a very good week with comic books, but I have to say this has been my favorite. When people turn to me and say what is an example of an almost perfect comic book, it will be this one. I bought it in hard copy even though I have a digital copy. One point that I found curious - who's the woman on the front cover with the gun and the crucifix? My money's on Carter's sister but who knows?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Dead Hand #2

May 18, 2018

I gave the opening installment of this series a 9.4 out of 10. This issue marginally exceeds even that issue, not least because it is hard to get a second installment retaining an opening momentum. This book does that. It also delivers two moments that stop you in your tracks, particularly at the end. If this book sustains this quality it is going to be talked about by people for a very long time indeed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.1
The Dead Hand #4

Jul 14, 2018

Another good issue from Higgins and co. This is really a lesson on how to weave a good spy action story, and it is gripping at times. The book overall has a very stylish look to it, particularly in terms of the design and layout, as much as the art. Highlights were the double page splash (pictured above) at the start and the classy "title sequence" page.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
The Family Trade #1

Oct 14, 2017

A stunning bit of storytelling and high class artwork lend get this Oceanic Steampunk title off to a great start. It immerses readers completely within its world within the first quarter of the book, and we are hooked straight away. The sense of mystery is preserved though and this issue gives us plenty, while still leaving us hungry for more tales of intrigue and skullduggery in The Free Republic of Thessala.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Infinite Loop: Nothing But The Truth #3

Jan 6, 2018

This book is wonderful and IDW have a real treasure with this team. Special mention should go to my favorite comic book artist at the moment Elsa Charettier. Although she isn't on art duties in this run (she was the artist on the first Infinite Loop series), she does give us one hell of a comic book cover for this issue as well as taking co-credit for the wonderful writing. A really talented professional. This issue is the full package, fantastic cover, writing, art, and color. Something to be relished.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
The Last Siege #1

Jun 1, 2018

I think that this was a strong start to the series, but I will need to get deeper into the storyline before I figure out if it is the type of book that I can really get into. I'm more Space Opera than Fantasy in my tastes though and I would say that if you are interested in Lord of the Rings or Game of Thrones then I think you could safely add an additional point to the score below.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
The Life Of Captain Marvel #1

Jul 23, 2018

While I liked this book, in the comic environment of 2018 I can see how it will have the ability to divide fans. I suspect that how you ultimately feel about this book will depend on the level of action-packed material you want in your comics. I thought this opening issue focused on the personal family matters and I was okay with that. Others might not be, and that's entirely understandable. I do think it will have to be upped in terms of action for next issue. We shall see.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Weatherman #1

Jun 16, 2018

There is quite a bit to enjoy in this first issue. Yes, I had a bit of a push to get over the fact that technology hadn't moved on that much in over 700 years. Leaving that aside though, and adding a little extra suspended disbelief this is a great first issue, the art is great and it is highly enjoyable. The ending draws you in and will have you wanting to pick up the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Unholy Grail #5

Dec 23, 2017

This book sure as hell tries to pack a mountain of Arthurian legend into the condensed format of the 5 issue mini-series. The story is told so well and so sparingly that it manages to pull it off. I say that though as someone who is fairly well versed in the legends. If I hadn't been I'm not entirely sure that I would have followed the plot in the abridged version represented in this whistle-stop tour. There was plenty of material here for this story to have been relayed in a longer form, and increasing the intricacy levels. Nonetheless a fine story, well told with art to take your breathe away leaves little scope for complaint in my eyes.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Void Trip #1

Nov 25, 2017

At the end of this issue Ana and Gabe have been tracked down despite their best efforts, and one gets the feeling that they are both going to experience a big "low", coming down off this excellent "high" of an issue. This book has me intrigued, and I had a blast with its chilled-out vibe. A fun start to the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
War Mother #2

Oct 1, 2017

This issue progresses the story along nicely, and tees up the next issue well. The art from Segovia is excellent, a nice blend of color, and let's just call it, Ana and Flaco just look pretty goddamned cool together. An enjoyable title and a successful second issue. Looking forward to the next installment.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.5
Warframe #1

Oct 7, 2017

I did "google" the game Warframe after I read this issue, and it did impose a slight logic on proceedings. From what I can gather however, it doesn't seem to be a game that is so popular that the makers of this comic can afford to assume everyone who goes into a comic store would know the basic game dynamics. At the end of the day, this book has a cover price of $3.99, it is a competitive market, and there are many more deserving titles, doing similar things in a better fashion, to make this a good use of your time or money.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Witchblade (2017) #1

Dec 9, 2017

Bits and Pieces:This book has a good story, although I have to confess that the concept was lost on me on first read and it was only second time round that I was able to work out what had happened. Some of the time-jumps aren't fully explained so there is a bit of flicking back and forth to see if you have followed the story points correctly. So a little bit of neatening up could have helped the story flow. Aside from that, by the end of the book I was intrigued, and bedazzled by some amazing artwork.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Xerxes: The Fall of the House of Darius and the Rise of Alexander #2

May 5, 2018

This is a top quality book and as well as being action packed it is peppered with hilarious little bits of humor, like the scene in which an Athenian hooker is seen negotiating with a potential customer who seems to be about to lose a week's salary for an hour of "entertainment". At the heart of what makes Miller such a well-respected writer is the fact that his books brim with personalities. This series is packed with them and we've had a rich setting laid out so far in the series. I fully expect that with issue 3 things are about to get even more interesting.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Youngblood (2017) #6

Oct 14, 2017

If you have been searching around for a team-based comic book but find some of the current DC and Marvel titles struggling to achieve balance between fresh characters and older characters I would highly recommend this book. Between them Bowers and Towe have delivered a modern classic with the Youngblood Reborn story, as well as setting up many great story threads for the future that should keep this series ticking over like a finely tuned Porsche.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Youngblood (2017) #8

Jan 13, 2018

Although I didn't think this issue worked as a potential jumping on point for new readers it was still a pretty good issue. Towe's art was also consistently crisp as always. I enjoyed this but its one for readers who have stuck with the series so far. Also, I miss Badrock. Special mention is required for Juan Manuel Rodrguez's coloring work which lifts this series tremendously each issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.4
Youngblood (2017) #9

Feb 17, 2018

There is a little bit of drift settling into this series. After a tight first arc the story-line has floated pleasantly along, and this issue doesn't really do anything to really kick things into a higher gear. It is a pretty average issue, and the art is good, but there is a need to get a few meaty plot strands functioning in this title if it is to avoid the fate of previous Youngblood series. A decent enough issue, but lacking a degree of drive.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.4
Youngblood (2017) #10

Mar 23, 2018

As an issue, this book was just okay, but it does a lot of spade work to lay a solid foundation for what should be a pretty exciting storyline coming up. The closing pages suggest that the territory of this book may switch to US soil next issue, which should be interesting. Sadly though I can't score this on the potential of future issues, and this is mostly set up. If you've been following the series and want to keep reading it is probably required reading. If you are wanting to jump on to this series then I'd tend to hold off until next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Youngblood (2017) #11

May 12, 2018

It is hard to know whether to describe this issue as an epilogue to the previous arc, or a prologue to the incoming arc. I suspect that it is slightly more of the latter. This issue was interesting though and it closed off some story points while really giving us some green shoots of what will make for interesting terrain as this series rolls on. A solid issue, and quite enjoyable in the end. Side note: Doc Rocket appears in a very small part of one panel in this issue yet features on the cover - quite strange and a little misleading if like me you are a fan of that character. Oh well.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Zero Jumper #1

Apr 14, 2018

A good story, great art and colored well, this is a great start to this mini-series and is all the more impressive for being the work of one man. I enjoyed it, and surprisingly given the nostalgia I referred to above in terms of format, there is nothing old-fashioned about this book. It is contemporary and modern. Well worth checking out from your LCBS or on digital.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Zero Jumper #2

Jun 24, 2018

This is a stronger issue than the opening installment and there is a real discipline brought to bear on the pacing and measurement used in distributing out the story. We have covered quite a bit of ground in two issues without it ever feeling like we were being deluged with information. The lighthearted comedy element to the book courtesy of Juno's smart-ass attitude is really appealing too. A mini-series that goes from strength to strength. Alterna Comics has some real gems hidden in its roster of talent and this book is one of them.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

December

November

More