Adam Brown's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Big Comic Page Reviews: 38
7.3Avg. Review Rating

10
A Walk Through Hell #1

May 15, 2018

This is all a distraction however which allows this issue to once again catch us off guard. To say the cliff-hanger here is frustrating would be a massive understatement. Our questions are left unanswered and the shift in story is simply amazing. The frustration then is intentional and the result of well-crafted work. Were the story and art not so captivating, one wouldnt feel the need to take a breather after venting rage at having to wait a month before the next issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
A Walk Through Hell #5

Oct 3, 2018

In a year where the bar has been set incredibly high for horror comics, A Walk Through Hell is definitely a contender for my favourite so far. Combining the best of haunted house, supernatural and psychological horror, AWTH punches out with an ending that managed to catch me off guard. Its a risky finale that, whilst delivering this same unrelenting vision of personal hell, leaves a dark despairing void as the scope of what weve witnessed and seen revealed slowly sinks in.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
A Walk Through Hell #6

Dec 20, 2018

I actually had a bit of a panic when this issue was announced because I couldnt for the life of me find anywhere selling it. Its not often that Ill actually break out in a sweat over the possibility of missing an issue of a comic (the only other being Black Masks Come Into Me), but this only goes to show that this is a series that has me absolutely hooked and coming back for more issue after issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Avatar: Tsu'tey's Path #1

Jan 16, 2019

So what about the meat of the story? Despite the inherent appeal this ultimately failed to draw me in. Its clearly not a story intended for anyone who hasnt seen the film as theres no context other than that which you bring with you. The writing delivers the same overall feel as the movie but there wasnt really anything new here. Rather than showcase how Tsutey got to where he is, both physically and mentally, we only really linger on more of the same. I still believe that this series will deliver an entertaining and fulfilling read, just that its perhaps off to a bit of a shaky start.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Backways #1

Dec 19, 2017

Backways packs a weighty punch, capturing plenty of popular symbolism and ideas of the weird without becoming diluted or losing its edge. I for one can't wait to fall head first further down this particular rabbit hole!

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Bedtime Games #1

Jun 27, 2018

The story premise in and of itself is relatively straightforward. Take three high school kids, give them a bit of tragic background, let them go explore some dark area of local urban legend and release a horror contained therein. When you boil it down to the key points, it sounds like a paint-by-numbers version of a Stephen King novel, and thats a gross oversimplification. The characters themselves, while a little forced, dont grate in spite of their familiar concepts, but the build up to the final panel isnt at all tense and the big twist falls flat, having being dialled in earlier in the issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Bitter Root #1

Oct 23, 2018

This opening issue strikes up the beat, hits all the right notes, and plonks you right in the middle of the story unfurling around you. Walker and Brown bring to the table a heady mix of action and mystery, sugar-coated with supernatural beasties and potions, all with a fervour that you cant help but enjoy. What really elevates this though is Greenes artwork throughout. Im not overly familiar with their work, but this issue has so many fantastic panels. From the opening splash to character expression, never mind the action and monsters, theres so much in here that makes this a pleasure.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Breathless #1

Apr 1, 2018

Given the subject matter and publishing house, this just feels a bit like preaching to the converted. Pat Shand states quite clearly that this isnt about preaching but about asking a question; I think it just might be the wrong one.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Crowded #1

Aug 8, 2018

The story is set up as a genuinely interesting mystery; why would a nobody command such a high crowd funded campaign total? The thriller aspect aptly backed up by some Hollywood style action and dark humour keeps everything from becoming too dark and wobbling off course.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Death or Glory #1

May 3, 2018

Real credit and kudos to the whole team as the collaborative work assembled " from particularly tasty components, it must be said " means that even with the extra pages, youll be left wanting more. So its a big 10-4!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Delta 13 #1

May 24, 2018

As a sci-fi horror though, being set in space aside, there isnt much of either in this opening but its definitely one to keep an eye on.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Delta 13 #3

Jul 4, 2018

If it isn't obvious by now, this issue starts to ramp up the horror and whilst its not something that youd necessarily want to go out and jump on immediately, it does deliver an entertaining read. Ill keep following to see where this goes, but overall, unless you are avidly into the genre, theres simply not enough new here to elevate this title from the crowd.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Dungeons & Dragons: Evil at Baldur's Gate #1

Apr 25, 2018

Evil at Baldurs Gate #1 is a good yarn but its realistically not going to appeal to everyone. Those with even a passing interest in the Forgotten Realms should probably read this, and for everyone else? You should see the tankard as half full and give it a go.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Exit Stage Left: The Snagglepuss Chronicles #1

Jan 3, 2018

Although surely some Evens are coming? At least a heavens to Murgatroyd, right? Are we even going to get an Exit Stage Left? Russell, we need to see this. Just once for us Snagglepuss lovers, even.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Freedom Fighters (2018) #1

Dec 19, 2018

There has been some real thought put into this which I heartily enjoyed and although a knowledge of previous work would be useful, this is an easy jump-on point for anyone looking for something a little different. Freedom Fighters delivers a rowdy initial issue and I will definitely be considering adding this to my pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Gears of War: The Rise of RAAM #1

Jan 24, 2018

If youre a fan of Gears of War or want to get into it, this will probably scratch that itch nicely.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hardcore (2018) #1

Nov 15, 2018

What I see is some hand wavy sci-fi tech used to drive a good idea into a great comic. Sure theres some deeper questions of ethics and morals in posthumanity, but sometimes you just want to be entertained, right? And in that respect, Hardcore is proper blockbuster stuff.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Infidel #2

Apr 19, 2018

Everything in this just seems to work so well building on all the strengths exhibited in the first issue. The last few panels leave some pause for concern as to how this will play, out but then isnt that all part of the enjoyment?

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Jim Henson's The Storyteller: Fairies #1

Dec 19, 2017

If you fancy something a bit different to enjoy with a cuppa in front of the fire this winter, Id heartily recommend giving this a look.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
KISS/Army Of Darkness #1

Mar 1, 2018

I really liked this and say it should be a definite for any fans but well worth a punt if you fancy something a little off-the-wall.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Koshchei the Deathless #1

Jan 2, 2018

I have to admit that Im not overly well versed in Hellboy lore but I found this a very entertaining read. As a standalone dark folk tale it hits all the right notes. So if you find yourself in Hell with some time to kill, why not pull up a chair and listen in; I know I'm going to.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Lazarus: X+66 #6

Feb 15, 2018

Fans of Lazarus will definitely not be disappointed with this issue and whilst not a great starting point for new readers, it does serve as a perfectly good contained story in and of itself (albeit one where some of the references will be lost). Its not perfect, but its pretty darn close.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Lost City Explorers #1

Jun 20, 2018

Aside from questionable pacing, there isnt anything jarringly wrong here, but in a crowded market its going to struggle to stand out. With the apparent protagonist Hel getting the majority of the limelight we only really see the other characters as a reflection of their interactions. With background exposition out of the way, Kaplan will hopefully be able to focus on the characters and their quest, shifting this into a higher gear. Hitting the bullseye in the last panel theres definite promise of adventure to follow.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Middlewest #1

Oct 28, 2018

Ultimately I enjoyed this and will definitely be following the series, but in saying that theres maybe just a touch of me wanting to like this more than I actually do.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Monstro Mechanica #1

Dec 12, 2017

If you enjoy classic scheming and political intrigue sprinkled with liberal doses of historical conspiracy, fantastical pseudo-science and metaphysics this may well be right up your strada.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Outer Darkness #3

Jan 8, 2019

The quick angle changes and forced perspective allows Chan to show so much of the team's world in simple yet effective ways, from view screens to sniper scopes or the ship's bridge to incantations in the clone tanks. And with an almost whimsical air to the art which downplays the horror elements and keeps the entertainment pumping, Outer Darkness has to be one of my favourite new series on the shelves today.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Real Science Adventures: The Nicodemus Job #1

Jul 24, 2018

A cracking start to a new series which looks like its shaping up to be a doozy. Fingers crossed Im right.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Relay #1

Jul 10, 2018

Theres no easy way to sum up this issue as Relay is a difficult story in a number of ways. Despite a solid core theres a frustrating obfuscating mystery keeping it under wraps. Ultimately, Relay gave a perverse pleasure in not understanding whats going on. The all too common fixation and need for knowledge of comprehension of a story in its entirety is hampered here which means this is being either very or too clever.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Scarlet (2018) #4

Nov 28, 2018

The argument can be made that we're looking at someone thrust into the limelight and seeing the outcome of those choices through their own eyes, but its a tough sell when the character themselves isn't particular engaging. The suspension of disbelief takes quite a pounding throughout and, despite claims that this isnt a political piece, theres a real lack of clarity in the delivery.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Stellar #1

Jun 13, 2018

All the pieces are here to make a really good run and the hope is that this new series will come to live up to its name.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Last Siege #3

Aug 1, 2018

For someone who is normally calling out for more world building, Im pleasantly surprised at how little this offers in that regard while still managing to remain so engaging and believable. To have a contained series so quickly and efficiently have you switch off from everything else and wander the grounds with these characters is marvellous. Its fair to say this issue isnt a great jumping on point, but its early enough to catch up and I recommend you do.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Last Space Race #1

Sep 20, 2018

The Last Space Race combines good art and a good, albeit familiar, premise into an easy read. Fans of the genre will no doubt like this and be eager to pick up subsequent issues. Assuming the team keep the momentum going with the right amount of twists, turns and revelations, I think this will become one to get on-board with.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Spider King #1

Mar 7, 2018

Having missed this the first time round Im glad Ive been given the opportunity to read this and I strongly encourage you to do the same.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Spider King #4

May 8, 2018

Without repeating a previous review, it's hard not to fall in love with the art of this series. D'Armini and Bloch really go all-out in this issue however, with an assault on the eyes that's almost bewildering at times.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Spider King: Frostbite #1

Jan 10, 2019

If you liked The Spider King then youll probably already be planning on picking this up; you wont be disappointed. Fingers and toes crossed for even more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Volition #1

Aug 15, 2018

To try and reign myself back in, its unclear if this sort of output is sustainable through the span of an arc. To have such a cracking start is a double-edged sword as the team has set themselves a high bar to follow. That said, the preview pages for #2 strongly suggest this is one to jump on early.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
VS #1

Feb 6, 2018

Im left at the end of this issue unsure where Vs will take us, and thats a good thing. All the right ingredients are here to make something truly remarkable, and if youll pardon these clichs, it may be that its just a slow-burner.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Witch Hammer #1

Nov 24, 2018

Bottom line, I really liked Witch Hammer. Modern supernatural or horror tales are right up my street and the pedigree of the creative team here ensures that it doesnt disappoint. I didnt feel like it was trying to push a political narrative or deeper message, just deliver a gripping read from cover to cover. I also absolutely love the format and hope AfterShock allow others to explore it moving forward. Id say add it to your pull list but as a one off, just make sure you order it.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

January

December

More