Adam Brown's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Big Comic Page Reviews: 88
7.6Avg. Review Rating

5
A Man Among Ye #1

Jun 12, 2020

Story wise this is easy to follow, but for those familiar with the legends of Anne Bonney, Calico Jack, and Mary Read there perhaps wasnt much of a strong hook in this first issue. The character introductions are done well, and were clearly being treated to a somewhat romanticised, likeable version of these characters rather than the often-disparaging recounting in historical text. Whilst I personally didnt get much from the build-up here, the stage has been set to explore this world in whatever way the team wish as this series unfolds.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
A Walk Through Hell #1

May 15, 2018

This is all a distraction however which allows this issue to once again catch us off guard. To say the cliff-hanger here is frustrating would be a massive understatement. Our questions are left unanswered and the shift in story is simply amazing. The frustration then is intentional and the result of well-crafted work. Were the story and art not so captivating, one wouldnt feel the need to take a breather after venting rage at having to wait a month before the next issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
A Walk Through Hell #5

Oct 3, 2018

In a year where the bar has been set incredibly high for horror comics, A Walk Through Hell is definitely a contender for my favourite so far. Combining the best of haunted house, supernatural and psychological horror, AWTH punches out with an ending that managed to catch me off guard. Its a risky finale that, whilst delivering this same unrelenting vision of personal hell, leaves a dark despairing void as the scope of what weve witnessed and seen revealed slowly sinks in.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
A Walk Through Hell #6

Dec 20, 2018

I actually had a bit of a panic when this issue was announced because I couldnt for the life of me find anywhere selling it. Its not often that Ill actually break out in a sweat over the possibility of missing an issue of a comic (the only other being Black Masks Come Into Me), but this only goes to show that this is a series that has me absolutely hooked and coming back for more issue after issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Adventureman #2

Jul 8, 2020

I could have as easily enjoyed a simple pulp tale of Adventum Worldwide, but this phased reality story really appeals. Were already in high gear so the test will be if Adventureman can hold its early momentum. It would also be remiss of me to not also mention the additional support material given in this issue. Good choices done with tact and decorum.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Alien vs. Predator: Thicker Than Blood #1

Dec 13, 2019

Overall, this is a fine enough addition to the AvP range which has a fair bit of promise.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Astro Hustle #1

Mar 6, 2019

Going full circle and looking back at the opening again, theres some fantastic depth there. Sure, it might obfuscate the story proper to start, but I realise the tone and mood that were set, and the sudden graphic changes set up great pacing for what is only a four-issue run. If youre looking to be entertained then this swashbuckling space opera might be right up your street.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Avatar: Tsu'tey's Path #1

Jan 16, 2019

So what about the meat of the story? Despite the inherent appeal this ultimately failed to draw me in. Its clearly not a story intended for anyone who hasnt seen the film as theres no context other than that which you bring with you. The writing delivers the same overall feel as the movie but there wasnt really anything new here. Rather than showcase how Tsutey got to where he is, both physically and mentally, we only really linger on more of the same. I still believe that this series will deliver an entertaining and fulfilling read, just that its perhaps off to a bit of a shaky start.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Backways #1

Dec 19, 2017

Backways packs a weighty punch, capturing plenty of popular symbolism and ideas of the weird without becoming diluted or losing its edge. I for one can't wait to fall head first further down this particular rabbit hole!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman (2016) #90

Mar 4, 2020

Whilst this clearly isnt best issue to jump in on, if you can source a few issues back from your friendly bricks and mortar comic store (or you know, digitally if you are technologically minded), then youll be in for a treat.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman: The Adventures Continue #1

Apr 1, 2020

If youre a fan of the animated series and you enjoy a good Batman comic then you will definitely be wanting to pick this up. The Adventures Continue has everything you want in a good story, as well as the welcome return of characters like Alfred and Bullock; even if only for a few panels. The lovely little touches like the Iceberg Lounge billboard really flesh out the worldbuilding and warm the cockles. Weve been lucky with such a good mainline Batman run of late, and this new series compliments it brilliantly.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Bedtime Games #1

Jun 27, 2018

The story premise in and of itself is relatively straightforward. Take three high school kids, give them a bit of tragic background, let them go explore some dark area of local urban legend and release a horror contained therein. When you boil it down to the key points, it sounds like a paint-by-numbers version of a Stephen King novel, and thats a gross oversimplification. The characters themselves, while a little forced, dont grate in spite of their familiar concepts, but the build up to the final panel isnt at all tense and the big twist falls flat, having being dialled in earlier in the issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Bitter Root #1

Oct 23, 2018

This opening issue strikes up the beat, hits all the right notes, and plonks you right in the middle of the story unfurling around you. Walker and Brown bring to the table a heady mix of action and mystery, sugar-coated with supernatural beasties and potions, all with a fervour that you cant help but enjoy. What really elevates this though is Greenes artwork throughout. Im not overly familiar with their work, but this issue has so many fantastic panels. From the opening splash to character expression, never mind the action and monsters, theres so much in here that makes this a pleasure.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Bog Bodies OGN

Mar 10, 2020

Bog Bodies is a cracking horror story that doesnt resort to jump scares. Instead, the ghosts and boogeymen are memories and violence. This came out of nowhere for me like one of those Netflix or Amazon recommendations where you have no idea what youre in for but end up desperate to share with all your odd mates. Prepare yourself for this, and remember, its just a comic

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Breathless #1

Apr 1, 2018

Given the subject matter and publishing house, this just feels a bit like preaching to the converted. Pat Shand states quite clearly that this isnt about preaching but about asking a question; I think it just might be the wrong one.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Buzzard #1

May 22, 2019

Whilst this is something that I might have otherwise missed, Im glad I got a chance to give it a go.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Canto #1

Jun 26, 2019

Canto #1 genuinely caught me off guard. I had admittedly set some rather high expectations but I still wasnt prepared for how hard this hit me in the feels. To have evoked so much emotion in such a short space of time is no easy feat. Im not saying this will have you welling up, but if it doesnt at least stir you, maybe youve had your heart replaced too.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Canto #2

Jul 31, 2019

Subversion of expectation is a bit of a buzz phrase at the moment but this issue managed to catch me off guard yet again. You know something is good when you go back and read it again almost straight away (and not because you werent able to follow it first-time round). If anything, I would be critical of how the pacing shift in the action makes this feel like a somewhat shorter read overall. In my excitement, I no doubt rushed through on first reading but savoured every panel with the second. This is a series you dont want to miss.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Canto #6

Nov 20, 2019

Its fairly obvious that Ive enjoyed this run immensely so the news that Cantos journeys will resume has made me a distinctly happy chappy. I spoke of the subversion of expectation before with Canto and Im pleased that this never let up. I love when you feel that pull from a comic, having the power to move you in ways you didnt expect. Im not ashamed to say that I was welling up towards the end and honestly think this is one of those stories that youll be able to return to time and again.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Canto: The Clockwork Fairies #1

Jul 22, 2020

Whilst this story might be seen as being a bit monster of the week in approach, it still feels fresh and delivers an ending that I didnt anticipate. I definitely dont want to spoil anything but what I thought might have been a touch of foreshadowing was perhaps just unintentional diversion. I was left reeling at the implications of where this new arc is going. Despite the superficial whimsy, Canto is a dark world and innocence is looking rarer than ever. More of this please.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Care Bears: Unlock the Magic #1

Jul 10, 2019

For current fans, this will no doubt be a great little book to pick up and encourage more reading. For new fans, its an easy enough entry point to a magical world with a fun story. I'd have to admit to a new found fondness for a certain bear and these amusing Whiffles. For grown-up fans, I guess itll depend on how fondly you remember the world of Care-a-Lot from first time round.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Collapser #2

Aug 16, 2019

From the condescending psychiatrist all too eager to fit Liam into a cookie cutter diagnosis, the world collapses (no pun intended). Aliens, demons, monsters and explosions, oh my! Wave after wave of destruction unfold but amidst it all, the persona of Collapser appears as calm in the eye of the storm. Is he a baddie? By surrendering can he regain some form of control? I dont know but Ill certainly be picking up the next issue to find out.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Crowded #1

Aug 8, 2018

The story is set up as a genuinely interesting mystery; why would a nobody command such a high crowd funded campaign total? The thriller aspect aptly backed up by some Hollywood style action and dark humour keeps everything from becoming too dark and wobbling off course.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Dead Body Road: Bad Blood #1

Jun 25, 2020

If I were being overly critical, Id have to say that there might not be a specific hook or something decidedly new in this first issue. Sure, we have a strong, captivating, female lead which makes a pleasant change from the stereotypical grizzled male, and this looks more Appalachian than Western, but it feels like a traditional vengeance tale. There are some big plus points in the writing and visuals, and with scope to lead a blazing trail of bloody violence, let me get onboard!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Death or Glory #1

May 3, 2018

Real credit and kudos to the whole team as the collaborative work assembled " from particularly tasty components, it must be said " means that even with the extra pages, youll be left wanting more. So its a big 10-4!

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Delta 13 #1

May 24, 2018

As a sci-fi horror though, being set in space aside, there isnt much of either in this opening but its definitely one to keep an eye on.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Delta 13 #3

Jul 4, 2018

If it isn't obvious by now, this issue starts to ramp up the horror and whilst its not something that youd necessarily want to go out and jump on immediately, it does deliver an entertaining read. Ill keep following to see where this goes, but overall, unless you are avidly into the genre, theres simply not enough new here to elevate this title from the crowd.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Descendent (2019) #1

Apr 30, 2019

Theres a lack of realism in some of the events as played out but we can shrug these of accepting that its for the benefit of the story, so I dont see it necessarily as a flaw. My biggest gripe is that the character of David, our scruffy conspiracy loon, is just too darned likeable. That said, Descendent looks set to be another good run from AfterShock.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Dungeons & Dragons: Evil at Baldur's Gate #1

Apr 25, 2018

Evil at Baldurs Gate #1 is a good yarn but its realistically not going to appeal to everyone. Those with even a passing interest in the Forgotten Realms should probably read this, and for everyone else? You should see the tankard as half full and give it a go.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Exit Stage Left: The Snagglepuss Chronicles #1

Jan 3, 2018

Although surely some Evens are coming? At least a heavens to Murgatroyd, right? Are we even going to get an Exit Stage Left? Russell, we need to see this. Just once for us Snagglepuss lovers, even.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Folklords #1

Nov 15, 2019

Folklords look set to be a wonderful work, teasing out ideas of conformity and rebellion. Im maybe a touch older than the intended audience but I whole-heartedly enjoyed the escapism and i'M eager to read more. Removing the rose tinted glasses of nostalgia and teenage whimsy, theres hints of the darker truths of ventures into adulthood and the wider world.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Freedom Fighters (2018) #1

Dec 19, 2018

There has been some real thought put into this which I heartily enjoyed and although a knowledge of previous work would be useful, this is an easy jump-on point for anyone looking for something a little different. Freedom Fighters delivers a rowdy initial issue and I will definitely be considering adding this to my pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Gears of War: The Rise of RAAM #1

Jan 24, 2018

If youre a fan of Gears of War or want to get into it, this will probably scratch that itch nicely.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Godkillers #1

Feb 2, 2020

I say Godkillers does a bit of a pendulum swing, and thats very true considering the utterly redeeming build up and end splash. It might sound like Im being overly down on a detail that could be put aside, but thats definitely not the intent. All of the components of this new series are things I can really get behind; even if I feel that some might not have had the desired effect on me as a reader. With that said, Im eagerly awaiting seeing where this goes, as, between the premise and art, Im still hopeful that this will be one Im championing in months to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Hardcore (2018) #1

Nov 15, 2018

What I see is some hand wavy sci-fi tech used to drive a good idea into a great comic. Sure theres some deeper questions of ethics and morals in posthumanity, but sometimes you just want to be entertained, right? And in that respect, Hardcore is proper blockbuster stuff.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
IDW 20/20: Star Trek #1

Jan 29, 2019

In light of this being a one-shot, it does well to cram in as much as it does, but, somewhat understandably, doesnt have the opportunity to dwell on the formative experiences being shown. Admittedly I havent read a huge wealth of Trek comics, but Id happily pick up more of this particular thread, although there's a niggling concern that warm, fuzzy nostalgia is playing an important role here. For any fans of Trek, youll want to give this a look. Go on; make it so.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Infidel #2

Apr 19, 2018

Everything in this just seems to work so well building on all the strengths exhibited in the first issue. The last few panels leave some pause for concern as to how this will play, out but then isnt that all part of the enjoyment?

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Jim Henson's The Storyteller: Fairies #1

Dec 19, 2017

If you fancy something a bit different to enjoy with a cuppa in front of the fire this winter, Id heartily recommend giving this a look.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
KISS/Army Of Darkness #1

Mar 1, 2018

I really liked this and say it should be a definite for any fans but well worth a punt if you fancy something a little off-the-wall.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Knights Temporal #1

Jul 24, 2019

Ive been enjoying a lot of the new material from AfterShock and after just one issue, this is shaping up to be one of the best Ive read so far this year. Between the tightly paced story and pleasing visuals, if this series keeps up the momentum built so far youll definitely want to be adding it to your pull list. Part dark fantasy, part modern action hero sprinkled with magic and horror. Honestly, whats not to like?

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Koshchei the Deathless #1

Jan 2, 2018

I have to admit that Im not overly well versed in Hellboy lore but I found this a very entertaining read. As a standalone dark folk tale it hits all the right notes. So if you find yourself in Hell with some time to kill, why not pull up a chair and listen in; I know I'm going to.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Lazarus: X+66 #6

Feb 15, 2018

Fans of Lazarus will definitely not be disappointed with this issue and whilst not a great starting point for new readers, it does serve as a perfectly good contained story in and of itself (albeit one where some of the references will be lost). Its not perfect, but its pretty darn close.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Lost City Explorers #1

Jun 20, 2018

Aside from questionable pacing, there isnt anything jarringly wrong here, but in a crowded market its going to struggle to stand out. With the apparent protagonist Hel getting the majority of the limelight we only really see the other characters as a reflection of their interactions. With background exposition out of the way, Kaplan will hopefully be able to focus on the characters and their quest, shifting this into a higher gear. Hitting the bullseye in the last panel theres definite promise of adventure to follow.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Lost Soldiers (2020) #1

Aug 2, 2020

Perhaps as a Brit I dont quite have the same resonance with the Vietnam war that seems to shape a lot of culture in the US. That being said, its not so much a barrier to entry as it is a layer which perhaps just doesnt strike the same zeitgeist chords. An initially challenging but ultimately rewarding read which will hopefully evolve into an impressive package.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Ludocrats #1

May 20, 2020

If you want a book thatll lift the spirits and you dont mind a bit of weird, then this could be for you. On the other hand, it might not. Im still a little confused. Maybe I should go back and read it again just to be sure

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Mary Shelley: Monster Hunter #1

Apr 18, 2019

This issue has all the hallmarks of a good horror story and the potential to be a great one. Fingers crossed that the challenge to Read Dangerously pays off as this story unfolds.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Middlewest #1

Oct 28, 2018

Ultimately I enjoyed this and will definitely be following the series, but in saying that theres maybe just a touch of me wanting to like this more than I actually do.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Monstro Mechanica #1

Dec 12, 2017

If you enjoy classic scheming and political intrigue sprinkled with liberal doses of historical conspiracy, fantastical pseudo-science and metaphysics this may well be right up your strada.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
My Little Pony: Spirit of the Forest #1

May 30, 2019

Reading this with my daughter, we found some genuinely amusing moments throughout, and it was actually a good prompt to start talking about environmental issues in simpler terms. Its not my usual cup of tea but it covers all the bases and provides a story that I might follow with the youngster. If the purpose of a comic is to entertain and raise questions, then this first issue does its job admirably.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Oberon #1

Feb 6, 2019

Having enjoyed Parrotts writing in Volition, and possessing something of a fondness for fairy-tales, Ive been very keen to see how theyd tackle this twisted fantasy. On the whole, pretty darned well. Reading it over a second time, theres an impressive amount crammed into these twenty-something pages of story, with the promise of much more to come. I felt there wasnt the blending of the real and unreal that I expected but thats a gripe on personal taste that definitely shouldnt put you off. From a cracking start to a strong finish that has more than piqued my interest for issue #2, if a modern spin on dark fantasy is your thing you wont go wrong here.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Oliver #1

Jan 23, 2019

So in answer to my earlier question, its a big yes; we are left wanting more. Not because weve been left unsatisfied but rather cause second helpings would go down a treat.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Oliver #2

Feb 27, 2019

With the cat well and truly out of the bag, and Oliver now seemingly betrayed by those closest to him, the fires of rage have been ignited and one can tell there are more beatings on their way. Rehashing a classic story with such a fundamental shift in setting could have been either been a bit flat or worse, overdone. Instead I'm sitting here, despite having more than an inkling of where the story is heading, eager to see it unfold anew.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
On the Stump #1

Feb 7, 2020

For me, this isnt social commentary done well. This is social commentary that rips your arm off and beats you with the wet end.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
On the Stump #2

Mar 24, 2020

If this had continued to play out as I foresaw from the debut, I have no doubt it would have been a pretty standout run. Maybe I didnt see all the signposts, and these more out-there elements will be taken in others stride. Regardless, its a super fun read which you need to be checking out. Time will tell whether it can maintain its stamina until either the knockout blow or the final bell.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Orphan Age #1

Apr 11, 2019

Being a fan of apocalypt-arama, I appreciate that I have a biased eye but I like what I see here. Ultimately this could go anywhere so its hard to judge or gauge the long-term appeal. However, with that said, theres no better time to saddle up than at the beginning and Im all for keeping an eye on this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Out Of The Blue #1

Mar 28, 2019

Ive been on a bit of a WWII kick recently so this has hit me at the perfect time. Out of the Blue will definitely appeal to those with a fondness for Eagle, Action, or Commando but for everyone else, if you have even a passing interest in WWII or are looking for a fresh take on those glorified battles, its worth a look.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Outer Darkness #3

Jan 8, 2019

The quick angle changes and forced perspective allows Chan to show so much of the team's world in simple yet effective ways, from view screens to sniper scopes or the ship's bridge to incantations in the clone tanks. And with an almost whimsical air to the art which downplays the horror elements and keeps the entertainment pumping, Outer Darkness has to be one of my favourite new series on the shelves today.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Outer Darkness #5

Mar 13, 2019

Being a fan from the off, this series has consistently ticked all the boxes. I was drawn in by the execution of the weird and wonderful ideas, and of course the efforts of the team as a whole. I said it was refreshing for something to be so straight up entertaining. Now here, awaiting the finale of the arc I realise how insidiously Outer Darkness has raised the bar for my future reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Outer Darkness #7

Jun 12, 2019

Outer Darkness is a comic series that appears to be very comfortable in its own skin. Every risk and chance it takes with either story or art direction pays off in spades. And whilst I appreciate not everyone will be excited by science fiction or horror elements, I honestly cant recommend this enough. Sure, theres a bit of backstory to the characters now, but this issue is still a good jumping on point with a relatively contained story. If this doesnt leave you wanting more, we may need to contact the ships exorcist as the only explanation is that youre possessed by a fun hating demon!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Outer Darkness #10

Sep 12, 2019

Whilst there was a nagging sensation at the back of my mind that this all felt like a bit of a distraction, there are so many little throw away lines that reveal crucial details of where this is heading. The build-up and final panels of this issue have been something fans will have been eager to see for a while now and the resultant expressions make the wait well worth it. Outer Darkness remains one of my favourite runs of the year and as eager as I am to see the conclusion, theres more than a little reticence about seeing this arc end.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Protector #4

Jul 2, 2020

Building up to the fifth and final issue, Im a little saddened that this might be the end of the road. In a roundabout way, Im glad that I got onboard with this one late, as I think it would have been hard to keep track waiting between issues. This issue in particular gets a bit frenetic, but no spoilers. Definitely worth binging.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Real Science Adventures: The Nicodemus Job #1

Jul 24, 2018

A cracking start to a new series which looks like its shaping up to be a doozy. Fingers crossed Im right.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Reaver #1

Jul 11, 2019

Either way, Reaver looks set to be an enjoyable take on the misfit mobilisation idea, and, if it maintains the momentum built up to this point, will no doubt reward its addition to your pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Relay #1

Jul 10, 2018

Theres no easy way to sum up this issue as Relay is a difficult story in a number of ways. Despite a solid core theres a frustrating obfuscating mystery keeping it under wraps. Ultimately, Relay gave a perverse pleasure in not understanding whats going on. The all too common fixation and need for knowledge of comprehension of a story in its entirety is hampered here which means this is being either very or too clever.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Scarlet (2018) #4

Nov 28, 2018

The argument can be made that we're looking at someone thrust into the limelight and seeing the outcome of those choices through their own eyes, but its a tough sell when the character themselves isn't particular engaging. The suspension of disbelief takes quite a pounding throughout and, despite claims that this isnt a political piece, theres a real lack of clarity in the delivery.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Section Zero (2019) #1

Apr 5, 2019

Section Zero is a great premise that could have gone any number of ways. It doesnt feel overly original now but it has a fine cast of characters and provides an enjoyable read, which, at the end of the day, line is pretty much what you want in a comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Trek: Picard - Countdown #1

Nov 26, 2019

Picard Countdown wasnt a comic that I would have necessarily sought out but Im very glad I got the opportunity to give it a go. Sure, for some it maybe wont tread any new ground, and may even feel a touch dated. For me, it's a short series that Ill definitely be keeping an eye on. If the new show captures the same spirit that this does, itll be a thumbs up from this guy.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Stellar #1

Jun 13, 2018

All the pieces are here to make a really good run and the hope is that this new series will come to live up to its name.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Strange Adventures (2020) #1

Mar 5, 2020

If you liked Mister Miracle (and the only reason you wouldnt is if you hadnt read it), then youll no doubt like this too. For some, the parallels and similarities might detract from this new story, but it was gonna be near impossible not to have commonalities. Perhaps that speaks to a greater truth about how heroes exist and the way we perceive them. The public face versus the private life. Regardless, this series looks set to pick at the scabs and wounds, and shine a light on the darker side of this intriguing character.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Strange Skies Over East Berlin #1

Oct 4, 2019

Strange Skies is a captivating blend of thriller and horror. With touches of noir and a science-fiction punch thats very much evident before the first issue concludes. Knowing little about this before picking it up, this is a new series which is certainly full of potential and one Ill be keeping an eye on.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Stronghold #1

Feb 20, 2019

For me, and if Im being blunt, theres potentially a little too much going on in STRONGHOLD for a single issue, despite me actually enjoying it quite a bit. In saying that, the story and characters arent bamboozling or difficult to follow and its well-paced, so maybe thats actually a good thing on reflection. Its certainly healthy to be wrenched out of your comfort zone every now and again, and the creative team here definitely look set to carve out their own style with this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Tartarus #3

Jun 18, 2020

Tartarus started with a good, lengthy, issue which I would have been happy to have been recommended as something a bit different to my usual fayre. Im almost glad though that I started late and was able to jump straight into #2 and #3 as it really seems to be building a head of steam. If archaic, anarchic space opera is your thing, I cant see how you wont enjoy this.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
The Clock #1

Jan 7, 2020

Regardless of the intent, this is very much a comic that gets you thinking, and, coupled with an engaging story and art, is well worth investigating.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
The Crow: Hark the Herald #1

Dec 1, 2019

Theres a danger that Ive expected or looking for more than was intended here. Rather than a dark Christmas twist, if you want a light – as odd as that sounds given the murder one-shot festive romp then this could be for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Last Siege #3

Aug 1, 2018

For someone who is normally calling out for more world building, Im pleasantly surprised at how little this offers in that regard while still managing to remain so engaging and believable. To have a contained series so quickly and efficiently have you switch off from everything else and wander the grounds with these characters is marvellous. Its fair to say this issue isnt a great jumping on point, but its early enough to catch up and I recommend you do.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
The Last Space Race #1

Sep 20, 2018

The Last Space Race combines good art and a good, albeit familiar, premise into an easy read. Fans of the genre will no doubt like this and be eager to pick up subsequent issues. Assuming the team keep the momentum going with the right amount of twists, turns and revelations, I think this will become one to get on-board with.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Spider King #1

Mar 7, 2018

Having missed this the first time round Im glad Ive been given the opportunity to read this and I strongly encourage you to do the same.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Spider King #4

May 8, 2018

Without repeating a previous review, it's hard not to fall in love with the art of this series. D'Armini and Bloch really go all-out in this issue however, with an assault on the eyes that's almost bewildering at times.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Spider King: Frostbite #1

Jan 10, 2019

If you liked The Spider King then youll probably already be planning on picking this up; you wont be disappointed. Fingers and toes crossed for even more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The White Trees #1

Aug 13, 2019

White Trees is a comic I could quite easily have missed, and Im very glad I didnt. From the character design to the sprawling scenery, the combination of lines and colours are well chosen in every panel. Even when there is a lack of detail, it merely serves to draw the eye and always feels intentional. When you combine this with such well-crafted and emotive narrative you get yourself a book that you really need to consider picking up.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Tomorrow #1

Feb 26, 2020

This is a good comic which many will enjoy, but it sadly just isnt for me. With an indication of where the plot is heading revealed in the next issue instead of focussing on some of the established elements, we see yet more being heaped on. This is a story where, for my tastes at least, less could have been more.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Undiscovered Country #1

Nov 5, 2019

Given how much is in here, it would be remiss of me to not say theres something for everyone. Political thriller or semi-sensible science fiction that looks set to rock its way into a post-apocalyptic road trip? Dont mind if I do. Do yourself a favour and check out this post-apocalypt-a-palooza!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Undiscovered Country #3

Jan 15, 2020

I dont want to sound too gushy with how much Im enjoying this series as were only three issues in. Theres a potential danger that the style could become formulaic in the delivery of flashback and twist. We can all probably name a few stories that have relied on style over substance as things dragged on. Thankfully, I can see absolutely no sign of this here; further bolstered by the discussion pages which I do love to see in a book like this. Continued thumbs up for the fictitious quotes dripping with satirical intent at the end of each issue. Its only January but this is setting a seriously high bar for the year to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Usagi Yojimbo (2019) #1

Jun 18, 2019

Although a very established franchise, evident from the references to previous books, this never feels like it holds any barriers for newcomers. It places the reader in a convincing world, anthropomorphism notwithstanding, and even if you dont care about the underlying themes, its a great read working on a number of layers. If this is the standard going forward, consider me a convert.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Volition #1

Aug 15, 2018

To try and reign myself back in, its unclear if this sort of output is sustainable through the span of an arc. To have such a cracking start is a double-edged sword as the team has set themselves a high bar to follow. That said, the preview pages for #2 strongly suggest this is one to jump on early.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
VS #1

Feb 6, 2018

Im left at the end of this issue unsure where Vs will take us, and thats a good thing. All the right ingredients are here to make something truly remarkable, and if youll pardon these clichs, it may be that its just a slow-burner.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Wellington #1

Dec 20, 2019

Unsure as to whether the character of Arthur Wellesley has been discussed on the podcast, there are a few details in the panels which Im not sure are clues to a wider story or there to lend historic credence. Still, Wellington lives up to the pitch and is an enjoyable read. I cant shake the niggling feeling that the character as portrayed feels too similar to stories of Sherlock as it stands, but I have high hopes that this limited run will deliver an intriguing story before its done.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Witch Hammer #1

Nov 24, 2018

Bottom line, I really liked Witch Hammer. Modern supernatural or horror tales are right up my street and the pedigree of the creative team here ensures that it doesnt disappoint. I didnt feel like it was trying to push a political narrative or deeper message, just deliver a gripping read from cover to cover. I also absolutely love the format and hope AfterShock allow others to explore it moving forward. Id say add it to your pull list but as a one off, just make sure you order it.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

August

July

More