Adam Brown's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Big Comic Page Reviews: 61
7.5Avg. Review Rating

10
A Walk Through Hell #1

May 15, 2018

This is all a distraction however which allows this issue to once again catch us off guard. To say the cliff-hanger here is frustrating would be a massive understatement. Our questions are left unanswered and the shift in story is simply amazing. The frustration then is intentional and the result of well-crafted work. Were the story and art not so captivating, one wouldnt feel the need to take a breather after venting rage at having to wait a month before the next issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
A Walk Through Hell #5

Oct 3, 2018

In a year where the bar has been set incredibly high for horror comics, A Walk Through Hell is definitely a contender for my favourite so far. Combining the best of haunted house, supernatural and psychological horror, AWTH punches out with an ending that managed to catch me off guard. Its a risky finale that, whilst delivering this same unrelenting vision of personal hell, leaves a dark despairing void as the scope of what weve witnessed and seen revealed slowly sinks in.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
A Walk Through Hell #6

Dec 20, 2018

I actually had a bit of a panic when this issue was announced because I couldnt for the life of me find anywhere selling it. Its not often that Ill actually break out in a sweat over the possibility of missing an issue of a comic (the only other being Black Masks Come Into Me), but this only goes to show that this is a series that has me absolutely hooked and coming back for more issue after issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Astro Hustle #1

Mar 6, 2019

Going full circle and looking back at the opening again, theres some fantastic depth there. Sure, it might obfuscate the story proper to start, but I realise the tone and mood that were set, and the sudden graphic changes set up great pacing for what is only a four-issue run. If youre looking to be entertained then this swashbuckling space opera might be right up your street.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Avatar: Tsu'tey's Path #1

Jan 16, 2019

So what about the meat of the story? Despite the inherent appeal this ultimately failed to draw me in. Its clearly not a story intended for anyone who hasnt seen the film as theres no context other than that which you bring with you. The writing delivers the same overall feel as the movie but there wasnt really anything new here. Rather than showcase how Tsutey got to where he is, both physically and mentally, we only really linger on more of the same. I still believe that this series will deliver an entertaining and fulfilling read, just that its perhaps off to a bit of a shaky start.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Backways #1

Dec 19, 2017

Backways packs a weighty punch, capturing plenty of popular symbolism and ideas of the weird without becoming diluted or losing its edge. I for one can't wait to fall head first further down this particular rabbit hole!

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Bedtime Games #1

Jun 27, 2018

The story premise in and of itself is relatively straightforward. Take three high school kids, give them a bit of tragic background, let them go explore some dark area of local urban legend and release a horror contained therein. When you boil it down to the key points, it sounds like a paint-by-numbers version of a Stephen King novel, and thats a gross oversimplification. The characters themselves, while a little forced, dont grate in spite of their familiar concepts, but the build up to the final panel isnt at all tense and the big twist falls flat, having being dialled in earlier in the issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Bitter Root #1

Oct 23, 2018

This opening issue strikes up the beat, hits all the right notes, and plonks you right in the middle of the story unfurling around you. Walker and Brown bring to the table a heady mix of action and mystery, sugar-coated with supernatural beasties and potions, all with a fervour that you cant help but enjoy. What really elevates this though is Greenes artwork throughout. Im not overly familiar with their work, but this issue has so many fantastic panels. From the opening splash to character expression, never mind the action and monsters, theres so much in here that makes this a pleasure.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Breathless #1

Apr 1, 2018

Given the subject matter and publishing house, this just feels a bit like preaching to the converted. Pat Shand states quite clearly that this isnt about preaching but about asking a question; I think it just might be the wrong one.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Buzzard #1

May 22, 2019

Whilst this is something that I might have otherwise missed, Im glad I got a chance to give it a go.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Canto #1

Jun 26, 2019

Canto #1 genuinely caught me off guard. I had admittedly set some rather high expectations but I still wasnt prepared for how hard this hit me in the feels. To have evoked so much emotion in such a short space of time is no easy feat. Im not saying this will have you welling up, but if it doesnt at least stir you, maybe youve had your heart replaced too.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Canto #2

Jul 31, 2019

Subversion of expectation is a bit of a buzz phrase at the moment but this issue managed to catch me off guard yet again. You know something is good when you go back and read it again almost straight away (and not because you werent able to follow it first-time round). If anything, I would be critical of how the pacing shift in the action makes this feel like a somewhat shorter read overall. In my excitement, I no doubt rushed through on first reading but savoured every panel with the second. This is a series you dont want to miss.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Care Bears (2019) #1

Jul 10, 2019

For current fans, this will no doubt be a great little book to pick up and encourage more reading. For new fans, its an easy enough entry point to a magical world with a fun story. I'd have to admit to a new found fondness for a certain bear and these amusing Whiffles. For grown-up fans, I guess itll depend on how fondly you remember the world of Care-a-Lot from first time round.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Collapser #2

Aug 16, 2019

From the condescending psychiatrist all too eager to fit Liam into a cookie cutter diagnosis, the world collapses (no pun intended). Aliens, demons, monsters and explosions, oh my! Wave after wave of destruction unfold but amidst it all, the persona of Collapser appears as calm in the eye of the storm. Is he a baddie? By surrendering can he regain some form of control? I dont know but Ill certainly be picking up the next issue to find out.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Crowded #1

Aug 8, 2018

The story is set up as a genuinely interesting mystery; why would a nobody command such a high crowd funded campaign total? The thriller aspect aptly backed up by some Hollywood style action and dark humour keeps everything from becoming too dark and wobbling off course.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Death or Glory #1

May 3, 2018

Real credit and kudos to the whole team as the collaborative work assembled " from particularly tasty components, it must be said " means that even with the extra pages, youll be left wanting more. So its a big 10-4!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Delta 13 #1

May 24, 2018

As a sci-fi horror though, being set in space aside, there isnt much of either in this opening but its definitely one to keep an eye on.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Delta 13 #3

Jul 4, 2018

If it isn't obvious by now, this issue starts to ramp up the horror and whilst its not something that youd necessarily want to go out and jump on immediately, it does deliver an entertaining read. Ill keep following to see where this goes, but overall, unless you are avidly into the genre, theres simply not enough new here to elevate this title from the crowd.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Descendent (2019) #1

Apr 30, 2019

Theres a lack of realism in some of the events as played out but we can shrug these of accepting that its for the benefit of the story, so I dont see it necessarily as a flaw. My biggest gripe is that the character of David, our scruffy conspiracy loon, is just too darned likeable. That said, Descendent looks set to be another good run from AfterShock.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Dungeons & Dragons: Evil at Baldur's Gate #1

Apr 25, 2018

Evil at Baldurs Gate #1 is a good yarn but its realistically not going to appeal to everyone. Those with even a passing interest in the Forgotten Realms should probably read this, and for everyone else? You should see the tankard as half full and give it a go.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Exit Stage Left: The Snagglepuss Chronicles #1

Jan 3, 2018

Although surely some Evens are coming? At least a heavens to Murgatroyd, right? Are we even going to get an Exit Stage Left? Russell, we need to see this. Just once for us Snagglepuss lovers, even.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Freedom Fighters (2018) #1

Dec 19, 2018

There has been some real thought put into this which I heartily enjoyed and although a knowledge of previous work would be useful, this is an easy jump-on point for anyone looking for something a little different. Freedom Fighters delivers a rowdy initial issue and I will definitely be considering adding this to my pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Gears of War: The Rise of RAAM #1

Jan 24, 2018

If youre a fan of Gears of War or want to get into it, this will probably scratch that itch nicely.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hardcore (2018) #1

Nov 15, 2018

What I see is some hand wavy sci-fi tech used to drive a good idea into a great comic. Sure theres some deeper questions of ethics and morals in posthumanity, but sometimes you just want to be entertained, right? And in that respect, Hardcore is proper blockbuster stuff.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
IDW 20/20: Star Trek #1

Jan 29, 2019

In light of this being a one-shot, it does well to cram in as much as it does, but, somewhat understandably, doesnt have the opportunity to dwell on the formative experiences being shown. Admittedly I havent read a huge wealth of Trek comics, but Id happily pick up more of this particular thread, although there's a niggling concern that warm, fuzzy nostalgia is playing an important role here. For any fans of Trek, youll want to give this a look. Go on; make it so.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Infidel #2

Apr 19, 2018

Everything in this just seems to work so well building on all the strengths exhibited in the first issue. The last few panels leave some pause for concern as to how this will play, out but then isnt that all part of the enjoyment?

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Jim Henson's The Storyteller: Fairies #1

Dec 19, 2017

If you fancy something a bit different to enjoy with a cuppa in front of the fire this winter, Id heartily recommend giving this a look.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
KISS/Army Of Darkness #1

Mar 1, 2018

I really liked this and say it should be a definite for any fans but well worth a punt if you fancy something a little off-the-wall.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Knights Temporal #1

Jul 24, 2019

Ive been enjoying a lot of the new material from AfterShock and after just one issue, this is shaping up to be one of the best Ive read so far this year. Between the tightly paced story and pleasing visuals, if this series keeps up the momentum built so far youll definitely want to be adding it to your pull list. Part dark fantasy, part modern action hero sprinkled with magic and horror. Honestly, whats not to like?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Koshchei the Deathless #1

Jan 2, 2018

I have to admit that Im not overly well versed in Hellboy lore but I found this a very entertaining read. As a standalone dark folk tale it hits all the right notes. So if you find yourself in Hell with some time to kill, why not pull up a chair and listen in; I know I'm going to.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Lazarus: X+66 #6

Feb 15, 2018

Fans of Lazarus will definitely not be disappointed with this issue and whilst not a great starting point for new readers, it does serve as a perfectly good contained story in and of itself (albeit one where some of the references will be lost). Its not perfect, but its pretty darn close.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Lost City Explorers #1

Jun 20, 2018

Aside from questionable pacing, there isnt anything jarringly wrong here, but in a crowded market its going to struggle to stand out. With the apparent protagonist Hel getting the majority of the limelight we only really see the other characters as a reflection of their interactions. With background exposition out of the way, Kaplan will hopefully be able to focus on the characters and their quest, shifting this into a higher gear. Hitting the bullseye in the last panel theres definite promise of adventure to follow.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Mary Shelley: Monster Hunter #1

Apr 18, 2019

This issue has all the hallmarks of a good horror story and the potential to be a great one. Fingers crossed that the challenge to Read Dangerously pays off as this story unfolds.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Middlewest #1

Oct 28, 2018

Ultimately I enjoyed this and will definitely be following the series, but in saying that theres maybe just a touch of me wanting to like this more than I actually do.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Monstro Mechanica #1

Dec 12, 2017

If you enjoy classic scheming and political intrigue sprinkled with liberal doses of historical conspiracy, fantastical pseudo-science and metaphysics this may well be right up your strada.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
My Little Pony: Spirit of the Forest #1

May 30, 2019

Reading this with my daughter, we found some genuinely amusing moments throughout, and it was actually a good prompt to start talking about environmental issues in simpler terms. Its not my usual cup of tea but it covers all the bases and provides a story that I might follow with the youngster. If the purpose of a comic is to entertain and raise questions, then this first issue does its job admirably.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Oberon #1

Feb 6, 2019

Having enjoyed Parrotts writing in Volition, and possessing something of a fondness for fairy-tales, Ive been very keen to see how theyd tackle this twisted fantasy. On the whole, pretty darned well. Reading it over a second time, theres an impressive amount crammed into these twenty-something pages of story, with the promise of much more to come. I felt there wasnt the blending of the real and unreal that I expected but thats a gripe on personal taste that definitely shouldnt put you off. From a cracking start to a strong finish that has more than piqued my interest for issue #2, if a modern spin on dark fantasy is your thing you wont go wrong here.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Oliver #1

Jan 23, 2019

So in answer to my earlier question, its a big yes; we are left wanting more. Not because weve been left unsatisfied but rather cause second helpings would go down a treat.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Oliver #2

Feb 27, 2019

With the cat well and truly out of the bag, and Oliver now seemingly betrayed by those closest to him, the fires of rage have been ignited and one can tell there are more beatings on their way. Rehashing a classic story with such a fundamental shift in setting could have been either been a bit flat or worse, overdone. Instead I'm sitting here, despite having more than an inkling of where the story is heading, eager to see it unfold anew.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Orphan Age #1

Apr 11, 2019

Being a fan of apocalypt-arama, I appreciate that I have a biased eye but I like what I see here. Ultimately this could go anywhere so its hard to judge or gauge the long-term appeal. However, with that said, theres no better time to saddle up than at the beginning and Im all for keeping an eye on this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Out Of The Blue #1

Mar 28, 2019

Ive been on a bit of a WWII kick recently so this has hit me at the perfect time. Out of the Blue will definitely appeal to those with a fondness for Eagle, Action, or Commando but for everyone else, if you have even a passing interest in WWII or are looking for a fresh take on those glorified battles, its worth a look.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Outer Darkness #3

Jan 8, 2019

The quick angle changes and forced perspective allows Chan to show so much of the team's world in simple yet effective ways, from view screens to sniper scopes or the ship's bridge to incantations in the clone tanks. And with an almost whimsical air to the art which downplays the horror elements and keeps the entertainment pumping, Outer Darkness has to be one of my favourite new series on the shelves today.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Outer Darkness #5

Mar 13, 2019

Being a fan from the off, this series has consistently ticked all the boxes. I was drawn in by the execution of the weird and wonderful ideas, and of course the efforts of the team as a whole. I said it was refreshing for something to be so straight up entertaining. Now here, awaiting the finale of the arc I realise how insidiously Outer Darkness has raised the bar for my future reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Outer Darkness #7

Jun 12, 2019

Outer Darkness is a comic series that appears to be very comfortable in its own skin. Every risk and chance it takes with either story or art direction pays off in spades. And whilst I appreciate not everyone will be excited by science fiction or horror elements, I honestly cant recommend this enough. Sure, theres a bit of backstory to the characters now, but this issue is still a good jumping on point with a relatively contained story. If this doesnt leave you wanting more, we may need to contact the ships exorcist as the only explanation is that youre possessed by a fun hating demon!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Real Science Adventures: The Nicodemus Job #1

Jul 24, 2018

A cracking start to a new series which looks like its shaping up to be a doozy. Fingers crossed Im right.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Reaver #1

Jul 11, 2019

Either way, Reaver looks set to be an enjoyable take on the misfit mobilisation idea, and, if it maintains the momentum built up to this point, will no doubt reward its addition to your pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Relay #1

Jul 10, 2018

Theres no easy way to sum up this issue as Relay is a difficult story in a number of ways. Despite a solid core theres a frustrating obfuscating mystery keeping it under wraps. Ultimately, Relay gave a perverse pleasure in not understanding whats going on. The all too common fixation and need for knowledge of comprehension of a story in its entirety is hampered here which means this is being either very or too clever.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Scarlet (2018) #4

Nov 28, 2018

The argument can be made that we're looking at someone thrust into the limelight and seeing the outcome of those choices through their own eyes, but its a tough sell when the character themselves isn't particular engaging. The suspension of disbelief takes quite a pounding throughout and, despite claims that this isnt a political piece, theres a real lack of clarity in the delivery.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Section Zero (2019) #1

Apr 5, 2019

Section Zero is a great premise that could have gone any number of ways. It doesnt feel overly original now but it has a fine cast of characters and provides an enjoyable read, which, at the end of the day, line is pretty much what you want in a comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Stellar #1

Jun 13, 2018

All the pieces are here to make a really good run and the hope is that this new series will come to live up to its name.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Stronghold #1

Feb 20, 2019

For me, and if Im being blunt, theres potentially a little too much going on in STRONGHOLD for a single issue, despite me actually enjoying it quite a bit. In saying that, the story and characters arent bamboozling or difficult to follow and its well-paced, so maybe thats actually a good thing on reflection. Its certainly healthy to be wrenched out of your comfort zone every now and again, and the creative team here definitely look set to carve out their own style with this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Last Siege #3

Aug 1, 2018

For someone who is normally calling out for more world building, Im pleasantly surprised at how little this offers in that regard while still managing to remain so engaging and believable. To have a contained series so quickly and efficiently have you switch off from everything else and wander the grounds with these characters is marvellous. Its fair to say this issue isnt a great jumping on point, but its early enough to catch up and I recommend you do.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Last Space Race #1

Sep 20, 2018

The Last Space Race combines good art and a good, albeit familiar, premise into an easy read. Fans of the genre will no doubt like this and be eager to pick up subsequent issues. Assuming the team keep the momentum going with the right amount of twists, turns and revelations, I think this will become one to get on-board with.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Spider King #1

Mar 7, 2018

Having missed this the first time round Im glad Ive been given the opportunity to read this and I strongly encourage you to do the same.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Spider King #4

May 8, 2018

Without repeating a previous review, it's hard not to fall in love with the art of this series. D'Armini and Bloch really go all-out in this issue however, with an assault on the eyes that's almost bewildering at times.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Spider King: Frostbite #1

Jan 10, 2019

If you liked The Spider King then youll probably already be planning on picking this up; you wont be disappointed. Fingers and toes crossed for even more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The White Trees #1

Aug 13, 2019

White Trees is a comic I could quite easily have missed, and Im very glad I didnt. From the character design to the sprawling scenery, the combination of lines and colours are well chosen in every panel. Even when there is a lack of detail, it merely serves to draw the eye and always feels intentional. When you combine this with such well-crafted and emotive narrative you get yourself a book that you really need to consider picking up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Usagi Yojimbo (2019) #1

Jun 18, 2019

Although a very established franchise, evident from the references to previous books, this never feels like it holds any barriers for newcomers. It places the reader in a convincing world, anthropomorphism notwithstanding, and even if you dont care about the underlying themes, its a great read working on a number of layers. If this is the standard going forward, consider me a convert.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Volition #1

Aug 15, 2018

To try and reign myself back in, its unclear if this sort of output is sustainable through the span of an arc. To have such a cracking start is a double-edged sword as the team has set themselves a high bar to follow. That said, the preview pages for #2 strongly suggest this is one to jump on early.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
VS #1

Feb 6, 2018

Im left at the end of this issue unsure where Vs will take us, and thats a good thing. All the right ingredients are here to make something truly remarkable, and if youll pardon these clichs, it may be that its just a slow-burner.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Witch Hammer #1

Nov 24, 2018

Bottom line, I really liked Witch Hammer. Modern supernatural or horror tales are right up my street and the pedigree of the creative team here ensures that it doesnt disappoint. I didnt feel like it was trying to push a political narrative or deeper message, just deliver a gripping read from cover to cover. I also absolutely love the format and hope AfterShock allow others to explore it moving forward. Id say add it to your pull list but as a one off, just make sure you order it.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

August

July

More