The Spider King #1

Writer: Josh Vann Artist: Simone D'Armini Publisher: IDW Publishing Release Date: March 7, 2018 Cover Price: $3.99 Critic Reviews: 8 User Reviews: 2
6.9Critic Rating
8.5User Rating

When a fleet of spaceships crashes into northern Europe in 956 AD, a group of unlikely Viking heroes are the last line of defense against a brutal intergalactic warlord. Equal parts science fiction and fantasy, The Spider King follows the adventures of Viking warriors as they defend their world against alien invaders armed with futuristic technology and impossible weapons.

•Vikings vs. aliens!
•Issue #1 features 26 pages of story!
•Reprinting the critically acclaimed, award-nominated Kickstarter graphic novel!
•Perfect for fans of Vikings, Conan the Barbarian, or Hellboy!

  • 9.1
    Multiversity Comics - Rowan Grover Mar 9, 2018

    Combining Viking ferocity with sci-fi intrigue, "The Spider King" #1 is a well-paced and beautifully drawn debut. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Big Comic Page - Adam Brown Mar 7, 2018

    Having missed this the first time round Im glad Ive been given the opportunity to read this and I strongly encourage you to do the same. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    We The Nerdy - Cameron McFarland Mar 12, 2018

    The bottom line is Spider King stands to keep me entertained for some time to come, but this #1 issue does drag a bit. I'm uncertain if future releases will pick up the pace or if each installment will be a slow build toward a greater conflict. But, I just love barbarians fighting space monsters and I can't knock it too much for being an entertaining first look at this new world. Read Full Review

  • 7.2
    Outright Geekery - Tony Dillard Mar 6, 2018

    This story has real promise. But it appears to be better read as a whole and not spread out over the course of several months. Also, the art and colors make for a harder to enjoy reading experience. I want to read more. But I think I will wait for the trade. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    GWW - D. Ivester Mar 6, 2018

    If this run is able to keep its hook interesting and grow its characters well, we may have a fun journey ahead of us. Read Full Review

  • 6.0
    Comic Crusaders - Johnny "The Machine" Hughes Mar 7, 2018

    The book, whilst not for me,certainly has some quirks that I would like to see further developed. If a mix-match of genres featuring swearing Disney like characters are your cup of tea, then this book is right up your alley. Read Full Review

  • 5.0
    Outright Geekery - A. J. Jones Mar 7, 2018

    I really can't recommend that anyone buy this first issue of THE SPIDER KING. Read Full Review

  • 4.0
    ComicBook.com - JK Schmidt Mar 7, 2018

    The dialogue gets a little stale, and the characters feel lifeless, but it's a decent first issue mostly thanks to the art. Read Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More