D. Ivester's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: GWW Reviews: 131
8.0Avg. Review Rating

9.0
Abbott #1

Jan 23, 2018

Abbott's character building is thought out very well in this issue as we travel along with her during an assignment about a "unique" murder case. We also get a small glimpse about some trouble in her past that will surely be explained later down the road, but until then I'll be happy just reading about how Abbott continues to fight to keep her spot in the world of reporters.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Abbott #2

Feb 27, 2018

It leaves me wanting more for the mystery alone! The character interaction is great and I can't wait to see What happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Abbott #3

Mar 27, 2018

Abbott continues on being a top-tier series that shouldn't be missed.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Abbott #5

May 29, 2018

The art in this run has been great to compliment the dark, horror images that we see and when things are all over, we get the gorgeous ray of light that really stands out in the entire run. There are a few pages with some interesting choices of style for the panel layouts but it all still flows very nicely. From the beginning, Elena has left a very strong impression on me and I believe any reader can find enjoyment in this series. Even though this is the final issue, it is clear that Elena still has more stories to tell in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Action Comics (2016) #991

Nov 7, 2017

Superman proves in this arc that he still will always strive to be the better man that society should aim to be, to Never give up and always have hope for the best in everyone.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Action Comics (2016) #994

Dec 26, 2017

Seeing Superman and Booster Gold together is a fun team up but due to some miscues with the writing, I don't feel like the teamwork was at it's fullest in this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Amazing Spider-Man: Renew Your Vows (2016) #13

Nov 22, 2017

Even though it seems some steps were taken back in the characters, there is a lot of potential as Renew Your Vows moves on to be an exciting and witty series that still has the heart of being a Spider-Man book.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Angel Season 11 #11

Nov 20, 2017

Even though I have small exposure to this franchise. I can certainly see why fans of this world can get into it and why they may find themselves enjoying this world continued in comic book form.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Aphrodite V #2

Aug 21, 2018

What makes this series fun is just how uncertain you feel about Martin and what his true goals are. Aphrodite while not having done anything wrong yet, does not mean she will turn around and do something for her own gain. We also now have to wait and see what our antagonist Basilisk has in store for them while deciding if we can really trust Aphrodite or Martin. It's good to have likeable characters but it's great to never feel truly certain what everyone is going to do and I'm ready for more Aphrodite.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Aphrodite V #3

Sep 18, 2018

Aphrodite V is definitely a comic any fan of science fiction and action should check out. The storytelling continues to go steadily uphill and the stakes seem to get larger and larger. With its awesome main characters, I find very little to skip this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Aphrodite V #4

Nov 2, 2018

This last issue was very satisfactory on all points. I do wish the fight against Basilisk went on a bit longer but the finish was still great. It's been a fun ride so far and I do hope we see more of Aphrodite in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Aquaman (2016) #30

Nov 14, 2017

Aquaman still brings some action while also slowing down in this issue to revolve more around its plot as we are setting up for the uprising of a new era in Atlantis.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Archie (2015) #25

Nov 1, 2017

Archie continues to be a book many should check out as it continues to deliver the goofy and fun that he is mostly known for while adding drama and lessons that many can relate too.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Atomic Robo: Spectre of Tomorrow #1

Nov 1, 2017

Atomic Robo: The Spectre of Tomorrow #1 does a decent job of introducing its cast but leaves a lot to be desired for fans of the sci-fi and robot genre.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles II #1

Dec 5, 2017

Starting with a good character arc for Donatello and a real threat coming for all of them, the return of these two teams is going to be much-needed alliance to bring down Bane and I can already see that it's going to be a ride as thrilling as the first.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles II #2

Dec 19, 2017

The issue really focuses on bringing in the characters together but I do feel that some of the development that they were leading with Donatello did fall short and ended a bit too quick.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles II #3

Jan 16, 2018

Excitement, Bane, and a Damien I finally enjoy in a comic!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Bedtime Games #1

Jun 26, 2018

Horror fans should definitely give this a go and if you're looking for something a bit different then the action and superhero genre, I would definitely say pick this up as you may find yourself really enjoying it as much as I did.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Bitter Root #1

Nov 13, 2018

Bitter Roots starts off very strong with a great set of characters while mildly introducing a villain. It comes off as very fun, hits on how society expects you to be due to your gender well enough, and reading about a family that hunts monsters of all shapes and sizes will lead readers into a heck of a good time.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Black Lightning: Cold Dead Hands #2

Dec 5, 2017

Black Lightning is showing us a hero who wants to bring peace in a city he loves while at the same time help those who live in it with his day to dayjob.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Black Lightning: Cold Dead Hands #4

Feb 6, 2018

Black Lightning Faces his greatest Foes as the series begins to amp up the action.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Black Lightning: Cold Dead Hands #6

Apr 3, 2018

The adventure may be over for now but there are plenty of lessons that Jefferson can still teach as he paves the way towards a brighter future in his city.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Bonehead #2

Jan 30, 2018

There's still a lot we don't know about this city but I'm enjoying its slow build as we learn about our characters and their fight to bring the city into a better place.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Bonehead #3

Mar 12, 2018

Bonehead #3 continues to drive its story uphill as a new drug is sweeping across the city.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Bonehead #4

Sep 18, 2018

The art team really had a lot of fun with this issue. All the designs for all the characters that appeared looked great, especially all of the different helmet designs we get to see. They did a great job emphasizing all of the high-speed movement, especially since all of their skills revolve around parkour moves. The dialogue flows really well and never felt confusing on who was talking, especially during a few pages in the fighting panels. When you finish the issue, you're left with a satisfying ending to the immediate problem they were all facing and introduced to a couple of great characters with a mission they still need to continue forward in. The extra characters we meet look fun and will want you to see them more. Hopefully we will see a return of Bonehead for as satisfying this arc is, there is still a lot more to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Buffy The Vampire Slayer Season 11: Giles #1

Feb 27, 2018

I think the introduction of the plot wasn't executed strongly and sadly leaves me not wanting to continue on.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Crude #1

Apr 10, 2018

The art in Crude brings all the scenery to come off very dark, dreary, depressing, and cold.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Crude #2

May 15, 2018

Even with this darker tone, the book still feels fun to read as the team here do a great job setting up the world and continue to give us the drive to see Piotr commit to his goals.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Crude #3

Jun 19, 2018

The art team here is doing a well-done job bringing out the gristle in this series. No one is happy here in Blackstone but continue to do what they can with some reasons simply due to greed. I do believe some of the best panels here though are any sort of close-ups on our characters. You really see how rough everyone looks and it's great when you see just how angry Piotr is, as he seems to get closer to his answers. Crude is a very vulgar series but the in-focus here has so much heart behind all the blood and violence that is spilled that you care about him finding peace in this whole situation. This continues to be a surprise find as far as any of Image's recently published series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Crude #5

Aug 14, 2018

I'm still really enjoying the art teams work here, especially the splash of Piotr fighting on his own. I found the style works best with the action panels and for the most part works well when things are calm. It's a style I do think not everyone will enjoy but I just like how it helps mesh everything with how gritty Blackstone as everyone here is meant to look rough like they go through hard times every day. I have not read a lot from Steve Orlando but I have to say that Crude is definitely something everyone should pick up as it stands well among many other books.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Crude #6

Sep 18, 2018

Crude is definitely one of the surprise books this year for me. The main drive of Piotr was his anger and even though he never really had a strong relationship with his son prior to his death, he still shows that he'll always love his son. Even though there were a couple of times that it may seem the series would need more than 6 issues, it all wraps up very nicely and Piotr's story really feels like a fitting ending.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Cyber Force (2018) #3

May 29, 2018

It's not just a great sci-fi book, it's just a good book that deserves to be looked at by everyone.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Cyber Force (2018) #4

Jun 26, 2018

Cyber Force has finally brought our team together and the adventure is really just beginning and it's looking to be a wild ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Cyber Force (2018) #5

Aug 28, 2018

There's still a lot to learn about our new characters and we've really only begun to scratch the surface of this world and its story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Cyber Force (2018) #6

Sep 25, 2018

Cyber Force keeps the pace up as it grows it's roster of characters while getting us a bit more connected in some of our characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Damage #1

Jan 16, 2018

Damage has great art, fantastic action panels, and a chance to give us something new in the DC Universe. I hope to see this series breakthrough a barrier to be a surprise standout and not buried beneath building rubble.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
DC Universe Holiday Special: 2017 #1

Dec 5, 2017

The holiday special this year has some high points and definitely some low points. I do find that there is enough here to get some enjoyment out of it, especially if you want a break from world threatening stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Deadly Class #32

Mar 12, 2018

he first issue of this new arc is delivering a rush of excitement and anticipation as you turn every page, leaving you anxious to see the outcome of Marcus, Maria, and everyone else.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Deadly Class #35

Jun 19, 2018

When the issue closes, you're left thinking back on everything that all just went through. So much fighting, killing, and losses just happened and this is what Marcus brings up early on in the issue. It's all about finding your peace and knowing when to fight. More importantly, it's about knowing why you're fighting. Not everything is closed out here but right now Marcus and Maria may be able to help these newer kids move forward with them until they inevitably run into the students of Kings Dominion again.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Death Orb #1

Oct 2, 2018

Death Orb is set to only be a 5-issue mini but this first issue does a great job landing in all the right places. We meet our protagonist with a clear goal, the tone is set very well, the art team nailed it, and it really ends with a bang!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Ducktales #2

Nov 1, 2017

While Duck Tales doesn't offer a story driven direction, it still has the heart and fun many will enjoy if they want to have more Duck Tales in their life.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Elephantmen #80

Jan 30, 2018

As I read through this issue I found myself grabbing at these characters. It's obvious they have gone through quite a few things in this series but there was something genuine about them that you could see through Starkings' writing. We get a bit of a political satire about a blonde hair man that wears a red tie that wins an election to become mayor and he seems to want to take a few steps backward inhibiting society's progress.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Exorsisters #1

Oct 16, 2018

The art is enjoyable as well because it reminded me a bit of Amanda Conner's style. I can't say anything particular page in the issue really blew me away in terms of "art" but that's not what I was looking for either. The tone is important to get across in your books and this series has the writing and art that go hand in hand together and give us an enjoyable time. If you're someone that enjoys the campiness that comes from Scooby-Doo stories I think you'll enjoy the issue. I also believe that this can be a fun series for young teens to get into. The issue doesn't do anything outstanding in terms of dropping jaws, but it's clear what it's going for and it's doing it very well.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Fence #4

Feb 20, 2018

Fencing is a sport that I have never watched personally but this sports story utilizes it well drive characters through a personal journey where you're interested to see where everyone will end up and not just our main guy Nicholas.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Flavor #1

May 15, 2018

Even though we didn't get too much cooking in this issue, I'm very much interested to see what sort of creations the culinary consultant they brought into the team will bring us. As for a first issue, I'd say this was a well-done appetizer.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Giants #3

Feb 13, 2018

Even though there is only really one pivotal moment in this issue, monster fans should check out Giants as it's doing a fine job of not only giving us cool monsters, but we're also given characters with interesting situations on how they need to do what they can to survive.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Gideon Falls #1

Jan 12, 2018

Gideon Falls is great opening as I am gripped by our characters situations and anticipate what will happen next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Gideon Falls #3

May 15, 2018

Even though Gideon Falls is different and weird from a distant view, the mysteries inside are what will keep you coming back. So have a little faith, because I think everyone here will need some to get through whatever it is that's coming for them.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Gideon Falls #4

Jun 19, 2018

The art from Sorrentino and Stewart here are great as it always gives us a feeling of dreadfulness and leaves you a bit uncomfortable in the situations, especially when things go a bit dark. There's a fantastic silhouette piece drawn in one of the pages and is a fantastic image of Dr. Xu and Norton with a dark omen that looms over them. I'm enjoying so much on how we're learning a bit more and more on our characters in this series and they really grow on you as you want them to find out what is really going on here and hope they come out alive from it. Gideon Falls is a thrilling story even though it still feels like it's only getting started.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Gideon Falls #6

Aug 14, 2018

This is my favorite issue in the run with the tremendous work from the art team and the paneling.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Gideon Falls #7

Oct 16, 2018

Gideon Falls is still all about the weird, mysterious, and unknown but these compelling characters are what will keep you reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Go Go Power Rangers #6

Jan 23, 2018

GO GO Power Rangers continues to leave me extremely satisfied and happy to still be a Power Rangers fan decades after first watching the show when it aired on TV.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Go Go Power Rangers #7

Feb 27, 2018

Go Go Power Rangers is more than a comic just for fans of the franchise. It's a comic series that any fan of the superhero genre could get into. With great writing, fun moments, and bits of action. It has everything in the making to be noted as a top-tier superhero comic book series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Go Go Power Rangers #12

Jul 31, 2018

The art team continues to nail the series with their style. It's never too far off of looking so serious but you can always feel the weight of the story and I can only imagine how much fun the coloring has to be for this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Go Go Power Rangers #13

Oct 9, 2018

Go Go Power Rangers is the superhero book any comic fan should at the very least check out. The characters feel real, the tone is great, and it just always leaves you wanting more. If you haven't jumped on Go Go Power Rangers yet, this issue is a great place to start.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Go Go Power Rangers #14

Nov 13, 2018

Go Go Power Rangers new arc is even better with this issue. It also still feels like new readers can jump in here as much of what has happened is explained well enough and hopefully will make new readers want to read previous issues. Things are also getting a bit more cosmic in the series but everything still feels very well grounded. With two heroes lost and a new villain brought in, the power rangers are about to have a big fight on their hands. Along with the character building, this series deserves to be recognized as one of the top superhero team comic books out there and at times can be better than others.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Arrow (2016) #36

Jan 3, 2018

The team continues to build each other up as they keep going on their fight against the Ninth Circle. Beyond being just a team, they are feeling more like a family together and hopefully their parents don't end up destroying everything they have built.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Green Arrow (2016) #37

Feb 6, 2018

So much has been happening in Green Arrow lately and all the craziness is finally dwindling down as Oliver takes on his mother and Merlin while continuing his fight with the Ninth Circle.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Arrow (2016) #38

Mar 7, 2018

His adventures are far from over and Oliver is far more than ready to face them head-on as the Green Arrow and he is not alone.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
I Hate Fairyland #18

Apr 3, 2018

The art from Skottie and Jean-Francois is still one of the best things to see when you read this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Ice Cream Man #2

Feb 20, 2018

By the end of this, Ice Cream Man#2 delivers even with the absence of our title character.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ice Cream Man #3

Mar 20, 2018

Ice Cream Man #3 definitely delivers something better than the standard vanilla flavor.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ice Cream Man #6

Aug 14, 2018

Ice Cream Man hasn't stopped being weird and this issue brings quite a mix of emotions with all that happens to this man in all three of his lives.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Infinite Dark #1

Oct 9, 2018

The issue starts off a bit slow but there's enough here to make want to come back and see what will happen to Deva and her crew.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Invincible #143

Dec 20, 2017

Nestalgic and fun. Great send off

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Invincible #144

Feb 15, 2018

The legacy Invincible leaves behind is something only so many books have accomplished. The final issue gives its readers everything that made the series what it is and why it will always be highly recommended to new readers. Invincible has truly earned his place among the list of greatest superhero comics of all time.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Jenny Finn #1

Nov 17, 2017

Anyone fond of mystery and horror should not think twice to see where Jenny Finn could take them.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Kamandi Challenge #10

Oct 25, 2017

Even though each issue feels unique, this run continues to bring what Kamandi is all about.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Klaus: The Crisis in Xmasville #1

Dec 5, 2017

This special took some backsteps with clich corporate evil plans but in the end still lands on the heart of the series and shows why we can never forget Klaus and the joy he brings us.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers #24

Feb 20, 2018

Great action, great art, and great writing continues to prove that it is a worthy rival among many other superhero comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers #25

Mar 27, 2018

Mighty Morphin Power Rangers is setting itself up to be a grand epic that is potentially leading up to a large team up to take down one of the best villains in the history of the franchise.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers #27

May 15, 2018

One of the reasons I was really looking forward to this event were the crossovers and having these different rangers from different era's meet up. This issue really feels like the first one where we get some interaction in that area.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers #30

Aug 14, 2018

I know I will miss this art team here as they have really brought the feel of the power rangers while still being able to add a serious tone to it. This issue probably has some of my favorite panels of Rita in the entire run. You also really feel the impact of the fight scenes and there's one moment in particular that gives one ranger a shining shot. Mighty Morphin Power Rangers ends the event with all the layers it has been using to make the series very much talked about and it only leaves me excited for more in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers #32

Oct 23, 2018

I can't help but continue to enjoy the art team on this series. We had some changes recently but it still looks great as it has in all of the previous issues. The costumes always look spot on and the coloring just makes everything pop really nicely. This franchise just fits so right in comics. Panels are done creatively in certain sequences like the action panels or the morphing sequence. Even though it's still light-hearted, there's still a lot of weight on these characters and the situations they find themselves in are taken very seriously. The run has mostly been pretty grounded with the fights taken on Earth but now we're finally seeing the space epic that power rangers has also been known for and it's looking to be exciting as the new villain makes his presence known.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers: Shattered Grid #1

Aug 30, 2018

So here we are with Mighty Morphin Power Rangers: Shattered Grid #1. This issue is the absolute conclusion with the event and it definitely pays off for the most part.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Monstress #14

Feb 20, 2018

Things slow down a bit in the new issue of Monstress #14 as Maika prepares to go help reactive the Pontus Shield

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Monstress #15

Mar 18, 2018

Fantastic art! From their outfits to the surroundings. If you like fantasy this is for you

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Murder Falcon #1

Oct 9, 2018

Murder Falcon #1 starts off well and doesn't waste time with its setup. The method of how Murder Falcon has to fight may be the only thing that readers find odd but it's clear that there is a very human story here and the alien-fighting is just the fun part of the ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Mystik U #1

Nov 27, 2017

The groundwork is complete for this series to only continue to build on itself for what can be a fun fantasy adventure for Zatanna and her new friends.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Mystik U #3

Mar 27, 2018

Hopefully, we won't have to wait too long for a sequel to this short run.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Newbury & Hobbes: The Undying #1

Aug 18, 2018

A majority of this issue really is a lot of setup. It's trying to show you who are characters are, they way they interact, the society they live in, and provide a couple of antagonists. I think if there was more focus on just the mystery we were dropped in at the beginning the pacing may have been better.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nightwing (2016) #35

Dec 19, 2017

I would've loved to see Defacer in this issue just to see where she and Dick are at, but aside from that. This was still a very solid issue of Nightwing.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Nightwing (2016) #47

Jul 31, 2018

I think this arc could've been a bit better when a bit more thought put into it. I don't like how Willem just shows up and is tossed like a pawn when we were already shown the villain that clearly has big plans for Nightwing. The arc overall feels more like a filler that current fans will still find some enjoyment but it's nothing that can grab new readers. Hopefully, the next arc picks things up and we see a return of the Dark Web because I do believe there's a great story to be told with this villain.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Olivia Twist #1

Sep 18, 2018

Right now I feel like this issue is a good start. We're introduced to our main character that is very likable. We learn bits about the world everyone is living in and while I found that part to be a little bit dragging at times, it still serves well to give Olivia a place she will have to fight hard to keep her life in it. Olivia Twist offers the beginning of a survival story for someone who is just looking to get away from a terrible situation and just wants to find some peace and a home. With the way the issue ends, I think it may give its readers a desire to continue following this journey.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Packs Of The Lowcountry #1

Nov 3, 2017

A Great payoff is something we always want and this book certainly delivers its closure.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Power Rangers Artist Tribute #1

Apr 3, 2018

If I had to pick one word to describe this book, it would MORPHINOMINAL!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Prism Stalker #1

Mar 6, 2018

Welcome to a threatening world of beautiful imagery and a character that we learn traits we weren't expecting.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Prism Stalker #2

Apr 10, 2018

I feel that the next issue has a very good opportunity to start really picking things up. Hopefully, it will as Vep continues to escape this nightmare.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Prism Stalker #5

Jul 3, 2018

If you've stucked with Prism Stalker up to now, I think you're going to enjoy this issue a lot. It leaves so much on the line for Vep to be followed up in the next issue. I want to see where her journey goes if she does not fail and have it end in the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Rasputin: The Voice of the Dragon #1

Nov 17, 2017

This essentially feels like an old age Ghostbusters story. It doesn't have a lot of humor as it takes a more serious tone. Even with that, issue #1 tends to be an enjoyable book with layers of unknown waiting to be unraveled.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #19

Feb 13, 2018

Red Hood and the Outlaws continues to show it has many layers and is still one of the best books since the Rebirth era started.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Royal City #9

Jan 9, 2018

The issue seems to be about moving on and forward in your life giving the situations we see Pat and Patti go through. Even though you may not come out on top in the end, what matters is making the attempt and not dwelling on past decisions.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Royal City #10

Feb 20, 2018

Royal City isn't afraid to show the pain that many people go through and that's why these characters feel so real.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Royal City #11

May 29, 2018

The art from Jeff Lemire continues to draw you into his characters souls. Even though his style isn't necessarily clean, it just works really well with the stories that he's telling here. I feel like it really brings out the sadness and rough edges of these characters that really can pull a reader in. You want to see things come out better for all of them, and it just hits really hard when you can relate some of the tension and inner turmoil that the characters go through. One thing you can learn from reading about this family is that you never want to leave regret with the ones you have around you.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Royal City #12

Jul 3, 2018

Royal City presents us another great issue where the ride is all for a specific moment in the end and I'd say it delivers.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Royal City #13

Jul 24, 2018

Even with a major unsolved situation at the end of the issue, which will more than likely be wrapped in the next final issue. I think the readers will enjoy how far we have come with the Pike family and just because your life isn't perfect, it doesn't mean you shouldn't try to be happy. Most of all, not be alone.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Royal City #14

Aug 21, 2018

Everything in this issue flows really nicely. It has a very different vibe as everyone is finally coming off a bit happier. Lemire really did something special here with how got these characters to come across with his words and his art.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Saga #49

Mar 1, 2018

Saga offers so much with adventure and love and it never falls short. If you need a series that continues to offer surprises and fun, then you've found it here.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Saga #50

Mar 28, 2018

You can't help but love certain characters and the art as well is consistency great!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Saga #53

Jun 28, 2018

Saga continues to give us another thrilling issue with political comments, some good laughs, intense moments (sometimes sexual), and most of all. A world with a group of characters that you can't help but fall in love with which is what makes every issue difficult to read as you wait to see what will happen to any one of them.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Saga #54

Jul 24, 2018

Saga hits all the notes here to make this issue one all of its fans will remember in its run. With its great writing and fantastic art, there really isn't a lot that this series doesn't offer to its fans. Not only has it offered great characters for new readers to start with, but the number of new ones that come along the way are only some of the reasons why Saga is one of the most talked about comic book series out there and why it's fans will continue to keep recommending it to new readers, especially after this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Secret Weapons #0

Dec 31, 2017

It all just leaves you wanting more.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Slam!: The Next Jam #1

Sep 11, 2018

I wasn't enjoying the illustration as much here like I did with the previous book. It just felt like a bit of a step-down to me compared to the last book. At the end though, I was a bit underwhelmed with this trade. I really enjoyed the last one and I think this one just threw too much in when they only had 4 issues to work with. If it would've just been about Jennifer being a coach and Maise working on her rehabilitation training, I think it could've been a more enjoyable book that focuses on the growth of these two women in a sport that they continue to grow to love.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Sonic The Hedgehog (2018) #3

Apr 17, 2018

Old fans will still find some enjoyment out of it but if you're not a fan of the blue speedster, you'll end up passing up on him.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Sonic The Hedgehog (2018) #7

Jul 28, 2018

With the reintroduction of the characters seemingly finished and finally meeting our main antagonist, I think I would've much rather enjoyed the mystery drugged on a bit longer and focus more on the team trying to rebuild their homes. This is mainly because the series right now is feeling more of the same without trying anything too new.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Sparrowhawk #1

Oct 2, 2018

Sparrowhawk really is off to a great start as it may remind of stories like The Wizard of Oz or I Hate Fairyland but with its own fun twist to it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Super Sons Annual #1

Nov 27, 2017

As a nice break from the recent universe crossing adventure Superboy and Robin had, it's great to see even when they're gone or sleeping at home.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Teen Titans (2016) #16

Jan 23, 2018

As a Starfire fan, I was, for the most part, pleased with this issue

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Thanos (2016) #12

Oct 26, 2017

Thanos is easily one of the most enjoyable cosmic books for any reader to dive into

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Thanos (2016) #13

Nov 24, 2017

Continuing its tone, characterization, and journey for Thanos to reclaim who he once was. There is no need to worry about Donny Cates as he is clearly the right man to keep paving this road for Thanos to become great again.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Beauty #19

Jan 30, 2018

I'm glad I saw this in the shop and it grabbed my eye. Investing in the characters was easy as a brand new reader just jumping in.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Dead Hand #5

Aug 7, 2018

I absolutely love this art team here. They've been doing a great job in this series to convey the tone this story needed and the splash page in this issue is probably my favorite among the series. All I can say is that if a Metal Gear comic was to ever be made now, this is the team for it. The chain reaction of events that has been building to cause an implosion or even an explosion if things go really bad have been some exciting things to read here. Kyle Higgins is a newer writer for me to read from and this series shows he certainly has some great range in his storytelling.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
The Dead Hand #6

Sep 4, 2018

The Dead Hand is quite an espionage thrill ride to read. I think if this issue was just a bit longer we could've gotten some more proper closure, especially on how Ellis deals with Frederick's death. Current readers will find themselves mixed on certain choices here but it still ends up being a series I recommend for others that missed out on it for when the trade comes out.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
The Evil Within (2017) #1

Dec 10, 2017

If you are a fan of the games and would like some more insight on what Sebastian has gone through after a mind-bending case,The Evil Within: The Interlude is certainly a book to grab.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
The Highest House #1

Mar 6, 2018

Highest House doesn't leave you lost, you just wish it gave you a little bit more.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Spider King #1

Mar 6, 2018

If this run is able to keep its hook interesting and grow its characters well, we may have a fun journey ahead of us.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
The Whispering Dark #1

Oct 23, 2018

I think many will also enjoy the art here from Aria. It never feels like any shortcuts are really taken which can be understandable when you're doing all of the art on your own. I love how expressive the characters are and a good majority of the issue has some great backgrounds drawn in.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Titans (2016) #18

Dec 12, 2017

Action packed with a great villain and a fun end!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Titans (2016) #19

Jan 9, 2018

Frustrating at times but we see the fun loving side of the Titans as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Trinity (2016) #16

Dec 19, 2017

Even with Deadshot, Trinity lands a bit off target.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Trinity (2016) #20

Mar 27, 2018

The issue feels empty with not enough weight carrying it forward to make you feel you're about to read a grand epic with three of the greatest superheroes ever created.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
War Bears #1

Sep 4, 2018

War Bears #1 is something I believe every comic fan should give a go and especially to aspiring creators. Getting a fun insight into how things may have been decades ago while also getting a good genuine story about chasing your dreams and continuing to chase them even after landing a gig.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Witchblade (2017) #2

Jan 9, 2018

After only two issues in, I can say I'm very interested in staying in and seeing where we go next with Alexandra and the eventual resurfacing of the Witchblade.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Witchblade (2017) #3

Feb 7, 2018

Alex is truly the star of this new run. Sure, the Witchblade powers when in use are cool to see right now but they wouldn't mean nearly as much to me without someone like Alex who is shown to fight long before these powers have came.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Witchblade (2017) #7

Aug 21, 2018

While this is not the best in the series, it still offers a lot of what has made it very enjoyable for a new fan like me.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Witchblade (2017) #8

Sep 25, 2018

You'll definitely want to stick with the team here as things are really starting to get rolling in this new arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #37

Dec 26, 2017

We're at the conclusion of the Children of Gods arc in Wonder Woman and it is quite epic.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #38

Jan 9, 2018

Interesting new character, however the previous is lagging. Killer art!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
X-Men: Gold (2017) #14

Oct 19, 2017

X-Men Gold continues to be the team book that every comic and mutant fan should be reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-Men: Gold (2017) #16

Nov 22, 2017

X-Men Gold is a fun team book series that I continue to enjoy as a fan of comics and the X-Men. The dynamics of this team is what makes it truly enjoyable

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
X-Men: Gold (2017) #17

Dec 6, 2017

At times it felt forced but overall a fun adventure

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

November

October

More