Tony Dillard's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Outright Geekery Reviews: 59
8.4Avg. Review Rating

8.6
Archie Halloween Spectacular: 2017 #1

Oct 19, 2017

A majority of this book might be considered too old for the Riverdale TV series crowd. However, this is a Halloween special that has a little something for everyone who is a fan of the Archie gang.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Archie Halloween Spectacular: 2018 #1

Oct 18, 2018

Sometimes a little silly, the Archie Halloween Spectacular was a timeless read for fans of holiday specials.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Barbie (2019) #1

Mar 1, 2019

The book is great. The price point- not so much. But there's potential for what Papercutz wants to do. If they make a few marketing changes!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Cyko KO! #1

Jul 27, 2018

Cyko KO is an off-the-wall romp for readers of all ages.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Darkseid Special #1

Sep 2, 2017

Everything was perfect from the stories to the art and even the reprints. Well, almost everything was perfect" Sadly, the King wasn't here to enjoy it with us fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
DC Nation (2018) #0

May 5, 2018

DC Nation #0 was a very good sampler of what's in story for the DCU. Though not 100% happy with every story, I absolutely cannot complain about the cost.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
DC/Looney Tunes: Batman/Elmer Fudd #1

Jun 29, 2017

Writer Tom King saved the best for last with this special. He really knew how to blend the two universes into one that actually could work in the monthly adventures of the Caped Crusader.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
DC/Looney Tunes: Legion of Super Heroes/Bugs Bunny #1

Jun 16, 2017

Written by Green Lanterns' Sam Humphries with art by Tom Grummett (Action Comics), the story is very tongue-in-cheek with lots of inside jokes and teen angst. Even the editors get in on the action, having a caption war of sorts with Humphries throughout the book.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
DC/Looney Tunes: Lex Luthor/Porky Pig #1

Aug 30, 2018

It was darn near flawless and a must read for any fan of weird team-ups such as myself!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Doctor Who: Ghost Stories #4

Jul 10, 2017

Doctor Who Ghost Stories was an exciting miniseries. Writer George Mann (Tomorrowland) did a fantastic job continuing the story of the Ghost and Lucy. Here was an awesome mix of thrilling new adventures and nostalgic nods to the past 12-years of the new series. Plus the cliffhangers were so good, I swear I could hear the first few cords of the them at the end of each issue. Having the following credits page immediately after the 'To Be Continued' look like the time vortex was a sweet touch.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Donald & Mickey: The Big Fat Flat Blot Plot #1

Aug 28, 2017

When it comes to this trio of stories, I have nothing but praise for the artwork. It's some of the best renderings of Mickey and Donald this side of Carl Banks' impressive portfolio of Disney Comics. It's the translation of these stories that really bugs me.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Fighting American: The Ties That Bind #1

Mar 8, 2018

Somebody wasn't happy with the way the first issue of Fighting American ended. How did you feel about it? Let us know in the comments section below...

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Fruit Ninja #1

Aug 30, 2017

First issues tend to not be all that great. Like a TV pilot, there's kinks to work out. But I think based on how much I enjoyed this, Fruit Ninja can only get better. It's very funny, very smart, and something that I would read on a monthly basis. Good job Dynamite! Keep it up and you'll have a loyal reader in me.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Garfield: TV or Not TV? #1

Nov 2, 2018

Garfield: TV or Not TV? was a delightful one-shot special that can be read for safe Halloween scares or to enjoy on a crisp autumn night.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Gasolina #1

Sep 21, 2017

Gasolina is a series that is going somewhere. But in this first issue, it's going too fast to really make the story enjoyable. It's like a movie that flops in the theatres but becomes a smash on Pay-Per-View and DVD. I think Gasolina just wasn't meant for this medium. But as a graphic novel collection, it's going to be a phenomenal thriller. Just wait until 2018.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Goosebumps: Download & Die! #1

Mar 30, 2018

The characters are not very dynamic nor individually all that recognizable. The plot pacing is fracture beyond repair. And above all, it's a Goosebumps story without the man who made it Goosebumps. Honestly, if it doesn't have R. L. Stine involved, it shouldn't be considered part of the franchise.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harley & Ivy Meet Betty and Veronica #1

Oct 4, 2017

Harley& Ivy Meet Betty & Veronica was a nice start that promises to only get better. Hopefully, more laughs and less drama will be infused. Often a crossover has great readership that dies off by the last couple of issues. Don't fall into that trap! Stick with this story. I have faith that Paul Dini will pull off one of the great crossovers in modern comics history. He just needs a little time to really get cooking.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
IDW 20/20: My Little Pony #1

Jan 25, 2019

Have you read this IDW anniversary special? If so, we wanna know your thoughts! Leave us a review in the comments section below!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Invader Zim #27

Jan 26, 2018

Invader Zim #27 was a funny story. It just wasn't the best starting point issue for new fans. But I think those who already know of and love the franchise will delight in this all-ages romp.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
James Bond: Solstice (One Shot) #1

Dec 2, 2017

If you are looking for a comic to get into the holiday spirit that's not a typical Christmas special, then may I recommend this book? It's a very quick read but overall worth every cent.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Jim Henson's Fraggle Rock #1

May 11, 2018

This was a nostalgic read that will appeal to older readers. It was also a magical and whimsical reader that shall delight fans of all ages. More storybook than comic book in terms of design, it's still a work of sequential art. All four issues when published should make for some great reads during summer vacation or just an afternoon by the pool.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Jim Henson's Labyrinth: Coronation #1

Mar 2, 2018

I think that the world as a whole misses the beacon of light that Bowie was. At least for a few short pages over the next year the Starman will live on again.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Jughead: The Hunger (2017) #1

Oct 24, 2017

Some readers may hate this new take on a nearly 80-year old group of teenagers. But this series is an alternate take on the Archie gang. So put away your established biases and take a chance on Jughead: The Hunger. I promise you, after one issue, you'll be rushing back to your LCS in November for seconds!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Klaus: The Crisis in Xmasville #1

Dec 5, 2017

This sequel from Boom! Studios is pricey at $7.99. But it's also 50 pages long and that without ads! Considering that another holiday special coming out this same week from a Distinguished Competitor is selling for $10, Klaus is a refreshing and unique holiday special that is pretty much worth the money!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Marvel Action: Avengers #1

Dec 28, 2018

Marvel Action: Avengers is sure to thrill just as companion titles Spider-Man and Black Panther (both dropping in January) are sure to do.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Marvel Super Heroes Adventures: Captain Marvel - Halloween Spooktacular #1

Oct 26, 2018

A fun Halloween special for all-ages that needs work on it's table of contents.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Mata Hari (2018) #1

Feb 18, 2018

Mata Hari promises to be a historical thriller full of death, espionage, and sex. Lots and lots of sex. One thing for sure, this book was quite titillating both figuratively and literally. This first issue was heavy on backstory with not much in terms of cloak and dagger. I am sure that's coming in the next issue. Or as Mata Hari would call it- the second act!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Minky Woodcock, The Girl Who Handcuffed Houdini #1

Nov 13, 2017

This first issue was quite interesting. I was a big fan of the short-lived Victorian mystery series Houdini and Doyle and was quite upset to learn it was cancelled. This story almost acts, unofficially of course, as a sort of closer to that TV show as the former friends and partners are now at odds with each other due to some sort of falling out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
My Little Pony: Ponyville Mysteries #1

Jun 8, 2018

The Ponyville Mysteries is a series that will delight, tease and maybe even make you smarter. You have to really study the book for clues! The story really felt like an Encyclopedia Brown mystery, only with ponies.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
New Gods Special #1

Aug 6, 2017

The New Gods Special was an exciting trip back to Kirby's Fourth World. Filled with works inspired by the King, they in no way copy him. It's really hard to imitate greatness. Especially when the benchmark established is Jack Kirby. But for a tribute creative to honor one of comic's all-time greats, this is a fantastic homage of one of the King's most enduring DC Universe creations.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Olivia Twist #1

Sep 17, 2018

The type of reader Dark Horse is trying to appeal to are devotees of The Hunger Games and the Maze Runner. To set this 4-issue miniseries in a dystopian setting is a perfect hook for that audience who often struggle with the question 'Should America for all it's wrongs still exist?.' Plus, the dreariness of this time period is almost as hopeless as it was for Oliver back in Victorian England.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Pink Panther: Classic Christmas #1

Nov 30, 2018

If you or a young reader in your family have read Pink Panther: Classic Christmas #1- let us know your thoughts in the comments section!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Powerpuff Girls: The Bureau of Bad #1

Dec 1, 2017

The Powerpuff Girls: The Bureau of Bad #1 was a very entertaining opening chapter. I think it's got a lot of potential. A perfect read for not just fans of the show but as this introduces readers to all of the baddies, this is a great starting point for newbies.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Rivers of London: Detective Stories #1

Jun 8, 2017

Though this is the first of a new miniseries, the story has an acceptable enough ending. There is no true cliffhangers at issue's end. So if the readers only wanted to go as far the first issue and go no further without a sense of completion, they could. By why would you stop with a series that is an intriguing and magical as this? Detective Stories is a book that deserves further investigation!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Rivers of London: Detective Stories #2

Jul 13, 2017

I'm willing to give this series one more try; like a best 2-out-of-3. Thankfully, each issue recounts only a single case with no real cliffhanger. If issue #3 winds up being my last, at least I will not feel like I would be missing out on anything. But Ben Aaronovitch and the staff at Titan Comics are going to have to pull out all the stops if they are going to win me over as a fan of Rivers of London for good.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Rocko's Modern Life #7

Aug 3, 2018

If this story was done as a cartoon in 1993, I think my sister, who is 12 years younger than me, would have gotten a lot of laughs out of Rocko's frantic behavior. But I don't think she would have understood why he's so upset about capitalism and data breaches.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
ROM vs. Transformers: Shining Armor #1

Jul 18, 2017

A 2017 must read!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Rugrats: C is for Chanukah #1

Nov 23, 2018

Rugrats: C is for Chanukah was great holiday fun. Pick it up today!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Scooby Doo Where Are You? #92

Apr 20, 2018

The team at DC does an excellent job with their all-ages books. Unfortunately, I don't think they get as much love as they deserve. Scoody-Doo! Where Are You? is a fun way to gets a few chills without being scared. Though some of the monsters represented in this series can be a little scary for those under the age of 6.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Scooby-Doo Team-up #28

Jul 31, 2017

This is one of the best scripted stories in the series. However, it's not what I expected when I went to my LCS to picked up my monthly fix of Scooby-Doo Team-Up!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Scooby-Doo Team-up #40

Jul 26, 2018

Writer Sholly Fisch (Teen Titans Go!) has become a master at scripting the DC kids titles. His brilliant has allowed for him to trim off any rough edges of his writing talents. In return, Fisch has smoothed those quirks out into this diamond of a book that awaits my pull box every month!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Sonic The Hedgehog (2018) #1

Apr 6, 2018

Fans of Sonic are going to be in for a treat the whole month as IDW is releasing an all-new issue every week of April! You're going to want to save your quarters as this is a very good series with definite potential!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Trek vs. Transformers #1

Sep 28, 2018

Star Trek Vs Transformers broke all the rules of a typical comic book team-up and it was fantastic! This is the type of crossover any publisher should look to emulate!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Trek: New Visions #16

Jun 6, 2017

New Visions retails for $7.99. My previous experience with picto-comics had left me hesitant to spend that much on a comic- even if it is 48-pages long. One thing that really helps this book is the masterful storytelling by John Byrne. This entire issue was a great trip through the final frontier. Sometimes I feel like the man can write the phone book and make it interesting. John Byrne might not have perfected the art method behind New Visions yet. But one thing is for sure, Byrne has the ability to make the 60s era Star Trek seem timeless.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Star Wars Adventures #1

Sep 9, 2017

Star Wars fans, this is the Star Wars comic you've been looking for"

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Wars Adventures: Tales From Vader's Castle #1

Oct 5, 2018

Looks like good things are in store for fans of Star Wars and ghost stories. If you've read this issue, we want to hear your thoughts in the comments section!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Stretch Armstrong and the Flex Fighters #1

Feb 2, 2018

Stretch Armstrong and the Flex Fighters #1 did remind me a lot of my childhood playing with my Stretch Armstrong figure. The action scenes were great and I liked the characters. While kids will delight in a series about teen superheroes, I'm not sure that adults are going to feel the same. The plausibility of the arrangement of this super group is just wrong. I will be careful not to say realistic, as I know this is a comic book and it's fantasy.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Superman (2016): Special #1

May 16, 2018

Overall, this book is a good Superman title, but unlike it's name, there just isn't anything special about this Special.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Tangled (2018) #1

Feb 22, 2018

This series has a lot of potential. The first story was great. The second yarn was okay. For the most part, the art was very well done and creative. But in order for the entire family to enjoy this book, IDW needs to make the letters bigger. Or they need to provide sample packs of aspirin to alleviate all that eye strain.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Amazing World Of Gumball: Spring Break Smash #1

Feb 15, 2019

One great thing about this special is that you don't have to be a regular viewer of the show in order to enjoy it. True, it does help. But that's what Wikipedia is for, right? Whether you are a first timer or the most dedicated of fans of Gumball, prepare for laughs and a great preview of spring break fun yet to come!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Divided States of Hysteria #1

Jun 5, 2017

This series would make a great thriller if it didn't hit so very close to home. The first issue of the Divided States of America reads almost like the daily newspaper, if those paper journals weren't an almost forgotten relic of the past. Lone Wolf terror attacks at a major transportation hub. An angry man with a grudge goes postal on an innocent group of people. A transgendered person is brutally assaulted when their secret is exposed. I didn't just read it in a Image Comic " I saw it last night on CNN!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
The Spider King #1

Mar 6, 2018

This story has real promise. But it appears to be better read as a whole and not spread out over the course of several months. Also, the art and colors make for a harder to enjoy reading experience. I want to read more. But I think I will wait for the trade.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Uncle Scrooge (2015) #39

Aug 31, 2018

This was a fun read starring the original Duck Dynasty family! Great for the whole family. It may not look 100% like Donald, Uncle Scrooge and the rest of the gang do on TV and the big screen. But this comic book is definitely 100% Disney!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Vampironica #1

Feb 16, 2018

This first issue was a mach-1 thrill ride with twists, turns, and lots of blood and gore. Tasteful blood and gore. I loved it!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Vinegar Teeth #1

Jan 22, 2018

I'm not completely sold with Vinegar Teeth just yet. But I am willing to give it another try before I hold final judgement.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
WWE: Summer Slam 2017 #1

Aug 9, 2017

I suspect this one is going to wind up in bargain bins pretty soon and that's a shame. It's a decent collection of wrestling themed stories. But that price tag is going to put quite a few fans off of getting it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
You Are Deadpool #1

May 5, 2018

A fresh idea that entertains as well as redefines everything you known about sequential art. This miniseries promises to be the most innovative and immersive comic book of the summer.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Young Monsters in Love #1

Feb 13, 2018

Overall, Young Monsters In Love was an unexpected delight. I didn't learn about this special until just a couple of weeks ago. Every story was masterfully written. The artwork was varied but brilliantly crafted by talents such as Guillem March and Kelley Jones, whose 1950s sci-fi movie inspired poster cover was so very retro and awesome!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Ziggy Pig - Silly Seal Comics #1

Mar 8, 2019

A very fun read. But while it looks great for those of all ages, there are several more adult elements in this book! But if you are a fan of Deadpool, you're gonna love this one-shot!

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

March

February

More