Tony Dillard's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Outright Geekery Reviews: 15
8.7Avg. Review Rating

10
Batman/Elmer Fudd Special #1

Jun 29, 2017

Writer Tom King saved the best for last with this special. He really knew how to blend the two universes into one that actually could work in the monthly adventures of the Caped Crusader.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Darkseid Special #1

Sep 2, 2017

Everything was perfect from the stories to the art and even the reprints. Well, almost everything was perfect" Sadly, the King wasn't here to enjoy it with us fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Doctor Who: Ghost Stories #4

Jul 10, 2017

Doctor Who Ghost Stories was an exciting miniseries. Writer George Mann (Tomorrowland) did a fantastic job continuing the story of the Ghost and Lucy. Here was an awesome mix of thrilling new adventures and nostalgic nods to the past 12-years of the new series. Plus the cliffhangers were so good, I swear I could hear the first few cords of the them at the end of each issue. Having the following credits page immediately after the 'To Be Continued' look like the time vortex was a sweet touch.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Donald & Mickey #1

Aug 28, 2017

When it comes to this trio of stories, I have nothing but praise for the artwork. It's some of the best renderings of Mickey and Donald this side of Carl Banks' impressive portfolio of Disney Comics. It's the translation of these stories that really bugs me.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Fruit Ninja #1

Aug 30, 2017

First issues tend to not be all that great. Like a TV pilot, there's kinks to work out. But I think based on how much I enjoyed this, Fruit Ninja can only get better. It's very funny, very smart, and something that I would read on a monthly basis. Good job Dynamite! Keep it up and you'll have a loyal reader in me.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Legion of Super Heroes/Bugs Bunny Special #1

Jun 16, 2017

Written by Green Lanterns' Sam Humphries with art by Tom Grummett (Action Comics), the story is very tongue-in-cheek with lots of inside jokes and teen angst. Even the editors get in on the action, having a caption war of sorts with Humphries throughout the book.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
New Gods Special #1

Aug 6, 2017

The New Gods Special was an exciting trip back to Kirby's Fourth World. Filled with works inspired by the King, they in no way copy him. It's really hard to imitate greatness. Especially when the benchmark established is Jack Kirby. But for a tribute creative to honor one of comic's all-time greats, this is a fantastic homage of one of the King's most enduring DC Universe creations.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Rivers of London: Detective Stories #1

Jun 8, 2017

Though this is the first of a new miniseries, the story has an acceptable enough ending. There is no true cliffhangers at issue's end. So if the readers only wanted to go as far the first issue and go no further without a sense of completion, they could. By why would you stop with a series that is an intriguing and magical as this? Detective Stories is a book that deserves further investigation!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Rivers of London: Detective Stories #2

Jul 13, 2017

I'm willing to give this series one more try; like a best 2-out-of-3. Thankfully, each issue recounts only a single case with no real cliffhanger. If issue #3 winds up being my last, at least I will not feel like I would be missing out on anything. But Ben Aaronovitch and the staff at Titan Comics are going to have to pull out all the stops if they are going to win me over as a fan of Rivers of London for good.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
ROM vs. Transformers: Shining Armor #1

Jul 18, 2017

A 2017 must read!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Scooby-Doo Team-up #28

Jul 31, 2017

This is one of the best scripted stories in the series. However, it's not what I expected when I went to my LCS to picked up my monthly fix of Scooby-Doo Team-Up!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Trek: New Visions #16

Jun 6, 2017

New Visions retails for $7.99. My previous experience with picto-comics had left me hesitant to spend that much on a comic- even if it is 48-pages long. One thing that really helps this book is the masterful storytelling by John Byrne. This entire issue was a great trip through the final frontier. Sometimes I feel like the man can write the phone book and make it interesting. John Byrne might not have perfected the art method behind New Visions yet. But one thing is for sure, Byrne has the ability to make the 60s era Star Trek seem timeless.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Star Wars Adventures #1

Sep 9, 2017

Star Wars fans, this is the Star Wars comic you've been looking for"

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Divided States of Hysteria #1

Jun 5, 2017

This series would make a great thriller if it didn't hit so very close to home. The first issue of the Divided States of America reads almost like the daily newspaper, if those paper journals weren't an almost forgotten relic of the past. Lone Wolf terror attacks at a major transportation hub. An angry man with a grudge goes postal on an innocent group of people. A transgendered person is brutally assaulted when their secret is exposed. I didn't just read it in a Image Comic " I saw it last night on CNN!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
WWE: Summer Slam 2017 #1

Aug 9, 2017

I suspect this one is going to wind up in bargain bins pretty soon and that's a shame. It's a decent collection of wrestling themed stories. But that price tag is going to put quite a few fans off of getting it.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

September

August

More