Luna #1

Writer: Maria Llovet Artist: Maria Llovet Publisher: Boom! Studios Release Date: February 3, 2021 Cover Price: $3.99 Critic Reviews: 7 User Reviews: 4
8.0Critic Rating
6.5User Rating

+ Pull List

*  For fans of Faithless and Die comes a new dark thriller from acclaimed writer & artist Maria Llovet about a young woman named Teresa, who's plagued by prophetic dreams that connect her to something powerful, something...divine.
*  When Teresa fatefully crosses paths with the Family of the Sun, she believes them to be exactly what anyone else in the late '60s would expect - a hippie cult whose leader claims to have met the divine.
*  But secret blood rituals, powerful drugs and sex runneth amok will bring Teresa face-to-face with the truth about the Family, herself and the dark secret behind her dreams. more

  • 10
    Major Spoilers - Matthew Peterson Feb 9, 2021

    A truly beautiful, engaging, thoughtful first issue.Did I mention beautiful? Because it's incredibly pretty in every panel of every page. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    AIPT - Sam Rutzick Feb 3, 2021

    A beautifully drawn and deeply evocative story, 'Luna' is a mature book with an interesting tone and atmosphere, one that I want to see continue to be explored. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Big Comic Page - Adam Brown Feb 4, 2021

    I was upfront in saying that I didnt instantly click with Luna, but I think part of that was not appreciating what I was in for. Bound up in this issue are engaging characters, even though they might not necessarily be likeable, and that early drip drip of mystery which is blown wide open by the last panel. For all the colour, this is a well-wrought dark adult fantasy which will gnaw and burrow its way into your imagination. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    But Why Tho? - Charles Hartford Feb 3, 2021

    When all is said and done, Luna #1 delivers a curious start to its story. It delivers enough hints at what may be happening so readers will not feel lost while maintaining the air of mystery the book clearly wants to have. With the story closing on a fairly disturbing note, the book leaves readers with a harshly contrasting feeling to what it presents for most of its duration. Making this ending something striking. Read Full Review

  • 7.6
    Sequential Planet - Alexander Cole Feb 21, 2021

    Luna's first issue serves up a good enough story to get readers interested in seeing more but the characters it introduces are lacking in depth. The lettering is strong throughout and the narrative boxes are visual treats. Speaking of visuals, the art in the book is utterly gorgeous. It's similar to Maria Llovet's past work so if you're a fan of this then you'll be pleased with Luna. I'd say the art is by far the strong point of the issue but it's a good comic overall. Read Full Review

  • 7.5
    Multiversity Comics - Christa Harader Feb 4, 2021

    Luna #1 dazzles with lush art and narrative promise, but some dialogue and narration is inconsistent enough to detract from a seamless, trippy experience. Read Full Review

  • 6.0
    ComicBook.com - Patrick Cavanaugh Feb 3, 2021

    Devout fans of Llovet will surely savor every panel, as each illustration offers everything readers love about her work, but newcomers might be tougher to win over with the book's ambling narrative. Read Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

August

4th

July

More