Alexander Cole's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics: The Gathering, Sequential Planet Reviews: 47
7.6Avg. Review Rating

7
2000AD #2169

Feb 18, 2020

Overall 2169 was a good prog. It’s a little disappointing that I’m going to be waiting a fortnight for the next entries in most of these stories but the writers have kept the tales engaging so I don’t mind too much as long as they maintain the high quality. I’d definitely recommend picking this prog up.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
2000AD #2170

Feb 25, 2020

Overall this is a good prog. The stories are all straightforward and they’re clearly aimed at a younger audience than most 2000AD content but that’s not a bad thing. The comic industry as a whole needs to bring in a continuous stream of young readers and books like this weeks prog are great for that. Plus the fact that it’s an entire prog full of one-shot stories will make it a lot easier to re-read. I’d highly recommend this prog to anyone looking to get a child into the world of 2000AD or into comics in general.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
2000AD #2171

Mar 9, 2020

This was a decent prog. The Dredd one-shot was a good start to the book and it’s nice seeing Skip Tracer back. It definitely felt like this prog was more about setting up material for future chapters in each series but it was entertaining enough to make up for that. Definitely worth a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
2000AD #2172

Mar 15, 2020

In summary this was a solid prog. It was cool to see some new Sinister Dexter material and all the ongoing stories seem to be going fairly well. The Zaucer of Zilk and Feral & Foe are showing signs that they may be running out of ideas but hopefully that won’t be the case. It was a good read though, even if this prog wasn’t as filled with thrillpower as I’d have hoped.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Batman: The Adventures Continue #1

Jul 9, 2020

This is a brilliant comic. It's not only a great nostalgia trip for fans of the show it's based on but it's a great Batman comic in general and it's accessible for new readers. The writing is well done. Dini and Burnett clearly have a great grasp of these characters and it shows throughout the comic. The story is a well-written action/mystery that makes good use of lettering and despite some inconsistencies with the background, the art is as close to the animated series as possible. A fantastic read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Batman: The Adventures Continue #2

Jul 13, 2020

This is a really good story that manages to progress the Jason storyline while still building up its villains. Deathstroke is written brilliantly as he tries to sow discord amongst the Bat-family and Robin's interactions with him are very well-done. Despite having to share the spotlight with another villain I can say that Clayface managed to stand out here too, partially due to his portrayal as a sadistic monster in this issue. The art looks just as great as it did last issue without the distraction of the ever-changing sky colour. Finally, the lettering is brilliantly done. It adds a lot to the Clayface segment of the issue and as I said in the main review, there's not many sound effects but when they appear they're used well and have a lot of impact.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Black Stars Above #1

Nov 19, 2019

Overall it's a good book. This is only the first issue so it's mostly setup but it's still enjoyable. I see a lot of potential in Black Stars Above and I'll definitely be reading future issues. The suspenseful approach might put off some horror fans but it's done incredibly well. Just don't go into this expecting jump scares and you should enjoy it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Buffy the Vampire Slayer (2019): Every Generation #1

Jun 3, 2020

The first story here is pretty bad in terms of writing and presentation. None of it really made sense and it just felt like some generic action but without any good artwork to make the action appealing. The other two stories are pretty great overall which helps make up for it though.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.9
Buffy the Vampire Slayer: Willow (2020) #1

Jul 8, 2020

This is a pretty good book. The story may be simple but it's entertaining enough. Willow is the only character for most of the book but she's written well and I found her to be quite enjoyable. The artwork is nice and vibrant but can also get more complex when the need arises and the use of lettering to separate the different types of thoughts Willow is having as well as to separate those thoughts from the dialogue is pretty impressive. I'd definitely recommend this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Deadpool (2019) #1

Nov 21, 2019

This is a great start to the new Deadpool series. It's well written, the characters are used well, the art is really nice and there's lots of plotlines set up that can be explored in future issues. This first issue is entertaining on its own but there's so much potential for future stories too. Well worth a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Deadpool (2019) #2

Jan 13, 2020

The artwork for the busier panels could be better and the humour wasn't to my taste but the story in this issue is interesting and the character work was on point. A decent issue overall.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.7
Deadpool (2019) #3

Feb 24, 2020

Great art dragged down by a painfully slow story that doesn't have much happening in it. It isn't terrible but this feels like a lazy filler issue to begin with and the exposition made it even worse. This issue isn't one of the worst comics I've ever read or anything but I won't be going back to it anytime soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Deadpool (2019) #4

Mar 19, 2020

This is a great issue. I'm surprised to be able to say that after the last 2 but it is. The story in it isn't anything amazing but it doesn't have to be since it's just a big fight. The art is way better than it has been in the past issues and there's some great character work done with Wade and Kraven here. It's definitely worth picking this one up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Faithless: II #1

Jun 9, 2020

This was a really good book that goes out of its way to tackle some themes that I don't feel get enough attention in comics. The writing of the story, its characters, and dialogue as well as the way these themes are handled are all brilliantly done. The artwork is inventive and gorgeous to look at as well. This is also one of the few comics where the lettering actually stands out in a good way and adds to the comics. I think it would actually be a good issue for professionals to teach people about the use of lettering in comics. It really is a shining example of what a good letterer can contribute to a comic. I thoroughly enjoyed this comic and I'll definitely be following the rest of this volume.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Faithless: II #2

Jul 19, 2020

It's more about building a foundation for things that'll happen in future issues. It manages to stay entertaining though and leaves you wondering what'll happen next so it definitely does its job. I feel like the characters themselves are more the focus here since we see a bit more of them and their respective personalities in this issue. Poppy and Lily were the standouts in my opinion. Louis and Faith get their fair share of development too though.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Hellboy: Winter Special: 2019 #1

Jan 21, 2020

I really enjoyed this book. The art ranges from solid to great across the 3 shorts and the writing is spectacular aside from "The longest night" but even that one is simply generic rather than outright bad. The main characters in the first and third stories were brilliant too. It's really amazing how much a good writer can make you care about a character within a handful of pages. This book might even end up a contender for my best issue of 2020 at the end of the year.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.6
It Eats What It Feeds #1

Jun 30, 2020

It Eats What Feeds It is a fun little book if you're interested in the conventions of different media genres. It makes heavy use of horror cliches but the result is that the story and characters are a bit lacking in depth. Part of this may be down to the short length of the story itself though. The lettering is fairly mediocre. It does its job and there's some basic stuff that's done well but an over-reliance on speech bubbles makes a lot of the exposition dialogue feel forced and unnatural. The art is the best bit of the book. Lumazark has done a fantastic job presenting these characters as well as the setting. While I haven't come across Gabriel's work in other comics I'd have to say that reading this has left me hoping that I will see more of him. He's a very talented artist. The book is worth reading but I didn't find it particularly great or anything. Just good, creepy, cliched horror fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Judge Dredd Megazine #417

Feb 18, 2020

In summary, this was a great issue. None of these chapters are the start of new stories but they're easy enough to understand and use as a jumping on point. The artwork is beautiful, particularly in the Lawless and Devlin Waugh strips and the stories were all fairly interesting and entertaining. This months magazine is definitely worth the read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Justice League Dark (2018) #16

Oct 27, 2019

This is a really good book. If you're a horror fan in particular then this issue has some Resident Evil-style stuff that you'll love. There's a couple of characters that could've done with a drop more time and a new reader might still find it hard to get into despite the flashback but I really heavily recommend this issue and the series as a whole.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Justice League Dark (2018) #17

Nov 29, 2019

This issue has definitely been designed to serve as an intermission before the climax of the witching war storyline but it has good art, good writing and I have no complaints after reading it. It's a solid issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.7
Justice League Dark (2018) #18

Jan 6, 2020

This is a really forgettable issue that manages to take some great ideas and make them seem irrelevant through lack of attention. It's worth reading if you've been enjoying the series so far and want to read the whole thing but otherwise don't bother. The art is the best thing about this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Justice League Dark (2018) #20

Mar 8, 2020

This is a decent issue that shows a fair bit of promise for this creative team. It's not a masterpiece or anything but it has solid writing, the artwork is good, it sets up the arc nicely and there's plenty of material to explore with future storylines. A good read.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Justice League Dark (2018) #21

May 25, 2020

This is a solid issue. The art here is fantastic, especially the horror elements. There isn't a great deal of character work aside from the Constantine and Zatanna interactions. What is there is good though and the story was pretty decent and left me curious to see what happens next. Definitely an improvement over the first chapter of this story. It was worth the read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Justice League Dark (2018) #22

Jun 30, 2020

This is a decent issue. The art is gorgeous, especially in the dream world segments and the inventive use of lettering alongside that really really just adds even more brilliance to those pages. There isn't a great deal of character work though. Dr Fate, Constantine and Abigail Arcane are the only characters that really get much attention in this issue. What we see of them is interesting, especially Fate as he debates the avatars but it's not mind-blowing or anything. The story itself isn't great either but it does its job of setting up the next issue so it's serviceable. A decent issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Justice League Dark (2018) #23

Jul 9, 2020

This is a great ending to this storyline. It wraps up most plot points and sets up the next arc of this run and the character work is well-done, particularly with John Constantine. While I prefer Martinez' artwork I still enjoy Kyle Hotz' work on this issue. He does a good job with the only flaw being a few characters faces. The issue is also a tour-de-force in lettering. There's a variety of lettering techniques used throughout the issue that do nothing but add to the quality of the issue. Justice League Dark #23 was a great issue and well worth the read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Justice League Dark (2018) #24

Jul 27, 2020

This issue was just stunning. The way the story is handled with Zatanna trying to bring back her father and Detective Chimp trying to reunite the league is just great. You get a good sense of what's going on in terms of storyline and personality with virtually every character in the cast. Each member of the team is written so well here. The artwork is breathtaking with so many incredible aspects to it. I listed some in the main review but you really need to see it yourself to appreciate what Amancay has done here. The lettering is well-done too. There's so many nice little techniques that just add extra layers to an already great comic. I was extremely impressed by this and I can't wait for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Lost Soldiers (2020) #1

Jul 30, 2020

This issue has a great story to it. The portrayal of the Vietnam War in the flashbacks and the setting up of the Juarez trip in the modern day is fantastic. The characters are well-written and layered. Even in this one issue, we see a lot of depth in Burke and Kowalski. The art is stunning. It's incredibly realistic, the trauma of war is shown in a creative manner and the work done on the action scenes is beautiful. There isn't much in terms of lettering there's the standard stuff. Bold letters to signify emotion and draw attention. It's very simple though and I've spoken about the effect the lack of lettering in the action scenes has in the main review. In summary, this is a fantastic comic and a great introduction to this new series.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.7
Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers #44

Oct 30, 2019

This book isn't amazing and it's not a great jumping on point for newbies but if you're experienced with Power rangers you'll likely enjoy it. This book does the TV show justice.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
New Year's Evil #1

Dec 9, 2019

This is a hard book to rate given the number of creators working on it but it's a decent book. The art is of good quality in each short and the writing does the job, even if some of the stories are cliched. It's worth reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Power Rangers: Ranger Slayer #1

Jul 27, 2020

This is a good comic held back by the fact that the story doesn't really match the marketing. The pink ranger of the Drakkon universe is mostly an observer rather than a main character. Still, the story is solid, the characters are very well-written and I enjoyed the art. Mora's work fits this darker take on the rangers very well, his villains look amazing and his characters are well-drawn and expressive. The lettering throughout the book is incredible. You can really tell that a lot of effort was put into this issue. This is a great follow-up for fans of the "Shattered Grid" Power Rangers story.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Red Sonja: Age of Chaos #1

Jan 27, 2020

This was a fantastic, quick comic. Plenty of action with great artwork from Jonathan Lau. The characters aren't particularly deep here but that's fine since it's just a fun little crossover and the story is simple but it does the job and sets up future issues without bogging the reader down with exposition. I enjoyed it and I'm looking forward to the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.2
Red Sonja: Age of Chaos #2

Feb 24, 2020

This is clearly meant to be a dumb fun series but this issue is bogged down by constant and lazy exposition that just kills the experience. The brief moments of action and humour we get are decent enough and the artwork is outstanding but it's not enough to make up for the tedious writing and minimal character work in this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Rugrats: The Last Token #1

Dec 4, 2019

This is a solid book. It might be a bit too long for little kids but it has good art for this style of comic, the characters are all handled well . Sometimes the dialogue can feel a bit too much like adults talking instead of kids and the parody is overdone. Despite that it's still a fun, nostalgic read.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Spider-Man & Venom: Double Trouble #1

Nov 7, 2019

Spider-man & Venom: Double trouble #1 is a hilarious start to what I have no doubt will be a great mini-series for all ages. The portrayal of the characters might not appeal to some purists and the cliches might be a bit too much for some but it's a great book if you can get past that.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Spider-Man & Venom: Double Trouble #2

Dec 9, 2019

This is such an amazing issue. Much like its predecessor the artwork is amazing. The characters are handled well despite the silly concept of the story and the writing of that story is very enjoyable. I highly recommend it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Superman Smashes The Klan #2

Dec 20, 2019

This is a decent issue. A lot of its flaws come from being a transitional piece between the start and finish of a story and it falls into some Superman cliches. It's good though and the artwork is brilliant just like the last issue. A solid read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Superman Smashes The Klan #3

Feb 25, 2020

I wish more comics were as good as this issue. The artwork is absolutely amazing, the story and the characters within it are well-written with a great amount of depth to them and despite tackling the dark subject of racism in a mature manner it still manages to make you feel optimistic. I think this series, in general, is going to go down as one of the best Superman stories ever created.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.8
The Crow: Hark the Herald #1

Dec 4, 2019

This book isn't great. The artwork does its job but isn't really that remarkable outside of the lead character's design. The story is a basic revenge plot and the characters don't really have any depth to them. I'd recommend giving this one a miss unless you're a hardcore fan.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
The Goddamned: The Virgin Brides #1

Jul 1, 2020

This is a really great comic. The art is stunning throughout and you can tell a lot of effort was put in to make sure each page of art and its colours fit the events taking place. The lettering is solid with a few nice touches that help things like the opening bible quote stand out. The characters are all written well and it's easy to get invested in them quite quickly which is vital for a short series like this. The story is a bit predictable but it covers some topics you don't really see in comics often and I'm excited for the release of the next issue. I just wish this series was suitable for younger audiences as I said in the review. That's my only complaint.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
The Mask: I Pledge Allegiance to the Mask #2

Nov 21, 2019

This is a better issue than the first. The art was good already but it's slightly improved here and there's more focus on the characters. I think the fact that the exposition is out of the way has really helped since it's allowed Cantwell to really write a proper story. I'm enjoying this series so far and issue 2 has been one of the best comics I've pulled this month.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
The Mask: I Pledge Allegiance to the Mask #3

Dec 30, 2019

I felt like this issue was a massive let-down compared to the previous two. The art is still as good as before but the quality of the writing takes a dive in this issue and the political parody was poorly handled. I'm honestly wondering why Dark horse didn't just make this a 3-part miniseries with a slightly longer finale given how little this issue contributed to the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
The Mask: I Pledge Allegiance to the Mask #4

Jan 27, 2020

This is a good read. Great artwork and solid writing. The character work was on point and the dialogue was entertaining. I'm glad I got a copy.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.9
Usagi Yojimbo: Color Classics #2

Jul 7, 2020

This is a good issue. We get a good sense of the personalities of Usagi and Katsuichi as well as how their relationship changes between chapters. The stories are very simple but they're handled extremely well and some great lettering and lovely artwork makes them even better. I really enjoyed this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Usagi Yojimbo: Color Classics #3

Jul 7, 2020

This line of comics has scored the hat trick. Three great issues in a row. This one has two fantastic but very different stories that are backed up by some great looking art and solid lettering. The writing of the characters here is the best of the series so far which is a big compliment given how good the quality has been in previous issues. I'm legitimately counting the days until the next issue comes out because of how invested Sakai has gotten me into this story and these characters. A brilliant book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Usagi Yojimbo: Color Classics #4

Jul 10, 2020

This is another great entry in the Usagi Yojimbo Color Classics line. The story gets more serious but it's still incredibly well-written and gives you a great sense of the personalities of the new characters it brings into play such as Mifune and the now adult Mariko. The artwork is beautiful, especially when it comes to facial expressions and the little details on things like the samurai armour. The lettering may be basic but it does a great job and adds to the stories in this issue. A very well-made book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.1
Usagi Yojimbo: Color Classics #5

Aug 1, 2020

This is another great issue of Usagi Yojimbo Color Classics. The finale to Usagi's origin and the standalone "Kappa" story are both extremely well-written. The writing of Usagi, Gunichi and Mifune is solid throughout both chapters. The first chapter is a finale so most of the character development is done and we're into the action but they're still entertaining. The artwork by Sakai is still brilliant. He's an incredible artist and these cartoonish animals are so expressive and relatable. It's impossible not to be taken in with them and this beautiful recreation of Edo era Japan that Stan has created. Then we have the lettering. Aside from the small issue I mentioned in the main review it was solid throughout. The use of bold letters throughout each chapter helped give weight and emotion where it's needed and the sound effects add a lot to the fights in this issue. In summary, this was fantastic.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Year of the Villain: Harley Quinn #1

Dec 18, 2019

This is an enjoyable book. Like most specials it's not going to blow anyones mind but the characters are handled well, the story is decent for this kind of book and the art fits the comedic tone very well. A solid read.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

August

July

More