Charles Hartford's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: But Why Tho? Reviews: 76
8.5Avg. Review Rating

10
Batman/Superman (2019) #1

Aug 28, 2019

A big cliffhanger ending I did not expect finishes off Batman/Superman #1 in the best way it could. I have nothing but high expectations for this book going forward and cannot wait to get my hands on issue two. If you are a fan of these two comic book icons, you should definitely make a point to grab Batman/Superman #1 at your local comic book store.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman/Superman (2019) #2

Sep 25, 2019

Batman/Superman #2 continues this story's strong start with an excellent follow-up issue. The creative team is putting together a story with all the elements of a classic comic book adventure. I just hope they can keep it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman/Superman (2019) #3

Oct 23, 2019

When all is said and done Batman/Superman #3continues to deliver a solid story. Though the plot feels like it might be starting to lose itself it still holds a lot of potential. Given what this creative team has already shown it can do I have little doubt they can continue to deliver a strong story. They just have to avoid letting Batman's detective work run away from them.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman: Damned #3

Jun 26, 2019

As the first series to come out of the DC Black Label I would've hoped for a stronger start. Instead, Batman: Damned, the series and this issue, can only be described as coming in with a wang and out with a whimper.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Blackbird #4

Jan 9, 2019

I continue to find myself more compelled with the world being crafted in these issues, both in the approach to magic and in a desire to further understand the structure of paragon society. Plus as someone who usually isn't a fan of the "hidden magical world all around us" trope, my enjoyment in this world truly says something. The world, coupled with my eagerness to watch Nina grow more and more into the strong protagonist role I can see right over the horizon, and the perfectly set twist ending that has capped each issue leaves me so excited to get my hands on the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Blackbird #5

Feb 13, 2019

So, in case I haven't made it clear enough, this book was just the latest amazing chapter in an amazing series. If I could only recommend one book to you, this would be the one.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Blackbird #6

Mar 11, 2019

The strong finish shows off teasers for upcoming stories and interesting new developments that reassure readers that this creative team has the future of this amazing book well in hand. For even as the dust settles from this first fantastic arc, it seems clear that there won't be any slowing down for Nina as she plunges headlong into a world she seems destined for but can barely understand and is certainly unprepared for.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Captain Marvel (2019) #1

Jan 10, 2019

This all comes together to deliver a knockout first issue that has all the heart, action, and energy I could ask for. The hype for Captain Marvel's future was already raising and this issue pushed it through the stratosphere for me. And I can't wait to go straight into space!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Captain Marvel (2019) #2

Feb 13, 2019

If you love excellent storytelling, great art, or a comic with a fantastic message, I highly recommend this book as a must grab on your next trip to your local comic shop. Or however, you acquire your comic books.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Captain Marvel (2019) #3

Mar 20, 2019

Earth's Mightiest Hero continues to be in good hands as this current run of books takes higher further faster than ever before.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Captain Marvel (2019) #5

May 8, 2019

The book leaves off with portents of things to come and I look forward to their arrival. I'm happy that the issue did not fail to live up to all it promised both as an exciting super hero story, and as a superb and approachable look at the character of Captain Marvel.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Captain Marvel (2019) #6

Jun 5, 2019

So, even if you, like myself, have not been keeping up with the War of the Realmscrossover I would not hesitate to pick up this book. Despite the story being taken over by the company wide event the creative team has managed to keep it infused with all the things I've come to love about Captain Marvel.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Captain Marvel (2019) #7

Jun 19, 2019

In the end, Captain Marvel #7 wraps up a momentary detour in the ongoing narrative that manages to function as, if nothing else, an enjoyable filler story when read out side of the larger crossover event. It ends with a tease for the upcoming plot line that, combined with the promised return of regular series artist Carmen Carnero, has the future looking to be going into a bright, and bold, future for Captain Marvel.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Captain Marvel (2019) #8

Jul 17, 2019

Captain Marvel #8 is a start to a new story arc and it already has me hooked. As the creative team once again exerts their formidable talents in telling a story that is both fantastic, and grounded in reality. I look forward to seeing where this newest tale will lead, knowing that, wherever it goes, it's going to be higher, further, faster than ever before.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Captain Marvel (2019) #9

Aug 14, 2019

Despite a minor hiccup Captain Marvel #9continues to deliver a story that completely succeeds in keeping me invested in Carol's story. I always appreciate the great strides the creative team takes to capture a true human experience with this story. Even if filtered through a lens of plasma blasts and spandex costumes.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Captain Marvel (2019) #10

Sep 11, 2019

As I finished my reading of Captain Marvel #10 I found myself even more eager than usual for next month's issue. This entire storyline has been wonderful and this issue further adds to that greatness with its character moments and a finale that sets up a magnificent finish. If you love stories where the struggles faced by the hero is as much without as within you need to be reading Captain Marvel.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Captain Marvel (2019) #11

Oct 17, 2019

Lastly, I want to end this month's review with a special thank you to Carmen Carnero for her magnificent work on this book. Her visuals have come to define Carol Danvers for me and I look forward to seeing her expressive art continue in all of her future endeavors.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Catwoman (2018) Annual #1

May 29, 2019

Between the nuanced characters, interesting visuals, and excellent pacing, this stand-alone tale serves as an excellent piece of writing. Whether you are a long time Catwoman fan or just looking for an interesting crime story with one of DC Comics' favorite criminals, this issue shouldn't disappoint.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Creature Tech #1

Jan 11, 2019

While a few problematic elements keep me from being able to praise this story as much as I might like I feel it is definitely worth a look if you enjoy a crazy over the top adventure that manages to keep itself grounded with a human quality that feels genuine and endearing.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Crone #1

Nov 1, 2019

When I first approached Crone #1, I expected a quirky swords and sorcery tale about a past-her-prime barbarian that had to dust off the sword for one more adventure. Instead, I found a deep, emotional beginning to what I hope will be a satisfying tale of a person who, after living a hard life, is able to come to terms with who she was, and maybe manage to find a little piece by the end.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Detective Comics (2016) Annual #2

May 29, 2019

The book concludes on an exciting peak, with plenty of action and plot reveals to give a satisfying conclusion to what is an all-around high-quality adventure for our fearless hero. As the first Batman story I have picked up in quite some time, I felt instantly at home in the familiar tropes of Batman's world and his adventures.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Everything #1

Sep 3, 2019

When taken as a whole, Everything #1sets up its story with all the classic hallmarks of an eerie tale. From the quiet unsuspecting town to the weird outsider that has to be up to something, it feels like Everything #1 has a lot of potential. Especially if the creative team can establish their characters going forward as well as they have established their story's setting.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Exorsisters #4

Jan 26, 2019

Rating: 3/5 paranormal detectives (though easily a 4/5 if the humor is what you are looking for)

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern (2018) #4

Feb 6, 2019

Overall, this book delivered a well-rounded read from a talented creative team that I am looking forward to revisiting next month. They covered a lot of ground in this book, and handled it better than many would have, which gives promise for when the story picks up in issues to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern (2018) #5

Mar 6, 2019

While I have not always found Hal Jordan to be the unique, or exciting character in DC's stable, he is often a very interesting one. When taken out of his comfort zone and forced to question the things around him, he is great. In this respect I find myself applauding Morrison for finding something interesting to do with Green Lantern, that doesn't involve him simply battering things with constructs from his ring.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Lantern: Blackstars #1

Nov 6, 2019

While the book sports a solid visual presentation and good world-building, that is mostly all it has to offer. Luckily, comics are continuous media. This issue sets some solid building blocks with its world-building that will hopefully bear a great story as this three-issue mini-series continues to unfold.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
H.G. Wells' The Island of Dr. Moreau #1

Aug 8, 2019

That having been said I feel, overall, that The Island of Dr. Moreau #1 is an excellent beginning to this retelling of H. G. Wells's classic work. I hope subsequent issues follow through and deliver the service the story deserves.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Jim Henson's Beneath the Dark Crystal #6

Jan 25, 2019

The only struggle this issue has is that it is, while well crafted, a mid-point that promises much but might leave some readers antsy for more immediacy. While these pages are certainly important they may contain a little too much zen for readers eager to get into the action. This issue serves as an excellent connective tissue for the story as the reader is left with the feeling that things will begin to speed up from here as revelations seem to be close at hand and the journey will enter its final stage in the issues to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Jim Henson's Beneath the Dark Crystal #7

Feb 21, 2019

In the end, I feel that while this issue was a bit slower, and it leaves me feeling more certain I have a solid idea of how it will end, but I look forward to it nonetheless. The tale being told is a positive, uncomplicated story of people finding good, both in themselves, as well as the world all around them. And I for one am here for it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Jim Henson's Tale of Sand #1

Jul 7, 2019

Looking back at my time with Tale of Sand I find myself happy I got to experience it. While it has its shortcomings for me, it was unique and a surreal, often bizarre journey into the unknown. If you have an itch for something truly one of a kind that was born, in part, from one of the great creative minds of the 20th century this book is certainly worth checking out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Legion of Super-Heroes (2019) #1

Nov 6, 2019

Legion of Super-Heroes #1 has perhaps started off a bit cautiously. While some may feel the approach to both story and art a bit too textbook, I think they serve the setting presented wonderfully. And while it's too early to tell if DC's latest trip to the 31st century will bear fruit, as of now I am very optimistic.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Legion of Super-Heroes (2019): Millennium #1

Sep 4, 2019

I enjoyed Legion of Super-Heroes: Millennium #1. I greatly appreciated the themesthat have been explored in this book so far and eagerly find myself looking forward to where they will lead when the conclusion releases. If you are feeling up for something a bit different than the standard superhero adventure, I'd highly recommend Legion of Suoer-Heroes: Millennium #1.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Legion of Super-Heroes (2019): Millennium #2

Oct 2, 2019

Legion of Super-Heroes: Millennium #2creates such atmosphere and weight in its narrative that it pains me to see it end. I only hope that what it leads to can pick up the groundwork it has laid down to create a story worthy of this series' exceptional work.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Man-Eaters #5

Jan 31, 2019

I loved my time with this book, and it continues to be one of my most anticipated read each month. With the trifecta of amazing characters, memorable art, and a story that is not only interesting but has relevant statements to make, this book continues to stay strong, without any signs of slowing down.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Man-Eaters #6

Feb 28, 2019

While I continue to look forward to where this book is going my only concern is how long it'll take to get there. Strong characters and excellent art can only prop a story so long, and I'd hate for this unique read to lose its way. But I will definitely be back next month to see what lies in store for our most likable of heroines.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Middlewest #7

May 24, 2019

I've never felt so deeply connected to a comic book character before. And I don't think I would've believed I could be before reading this amazing story. If the creative team can keep up this level of high quality, deeply emotional storytelling I would desperately hope there are some Eisner awards coming in their future.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Middlewest #8

Jun 20, 2019

As I'm sure is evidenced in all that I've said above, Middlewest continues to be an emotional and thought provoking piece of art I couldn't put down. The characters continue to feel shockingly real and I am filled with a compulsion to continue to take this journey with them, no matter how many tears I shed along the way.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Middlewest #9

Jul 26, 2019

With all these elements coming together Middlewest #9 serves as an excellent slow down moment for this story. It gets the characters where they need to be, while also avoiding the feel of a boring bridge story. Middlewest continues to be a beautiful, fantastic journey of self-understanding and discovery. And I cannot wait for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Middlewest #10

Aug 22, 2019

Middlewest #10 continues the level of excellence I have come to expect from this remarkable creative team. This issue challenges both Abel and the reader to ask hard questions about who we are and how we got here. Do we have a say in what we ultimately become, or are we purely the products of our environments? If we strive hard enough can we break the cycles that have plagued our predecessors? I believe we can. And Middlewest #10 has me hoping, with all my heart, that young Abel finds a way to.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Middlewest #11

Sep 20, 2019

While Middlewest #11 doesn't reinvent any storytelling wheels it serves an exquisitely told narrative beat that is timeless. The creative team beautifully highlights that it's ok to go with a classic story by giving the moments all the time they need to properly come together.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Middlewest #12

Oct 24, 2019

Reaching the end of Middlewest #12 simply left me eager for more. The newest baddie feels like a whole new style of problems for Abel. And with his growing struggle to contain the storm within him, this new antagonist could cause far more trouble then he realizes for the world of Middlewest.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Millennium: The Girl Who Danced With Death #1

Jan 21, 2019

While The Girl Who Danced with Death is a powerful and painful, story striding to shine a light on the dangers that are permeating modern culture. It is a hard read that might not be for everyone.Like with the original books, it had a moment or two I struggled with, but at the end, I was happy it was an experience I had chosen to engage with.Millennium: The Girl Who Danced with Deathwill be available at comic stores and online retailers everywhereJanuary 29, 2019.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Shazam! (2018) #2

Jan 23, 2019

The issue wraps up with a cliffhanger introduction of what is to come and leaves me wondering what is coming next. I found myself pleasantly surprised by this book. With the cover being such a festive motif I was expecting a very different issue. I'm now very much looking forward to the next issue when, hopefully, some answers are given as plans continue to progress. And perhaps we'll hear that iconic line again.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Shazam! (2018) #3

Feb 27, 2019

I'm looking forward to further adventures in this thoroughly enjoyable tale, from this extremely talented creative team.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Shazam! (2018) #4

Mar 27, 2019

With the Shazam movie coming out in two short weeks, anyone who goes from that movie to a comic store and finds themselves picking up this story arc is in for a wonderfully charming bit of classic comic book storytelling. Which I'm sure is exactly what DC has planned.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Shazam! (2018) #5

May 8, 2019

Despite these minor hiccups I still enjoyed Shazam #5 and am looking forward to seeing where the coming issues take Shazam, and all of his brothers and sisters. As we have only seen four of the seven magic lands, I'm most specifically hoping that we will get to see some of the others soon, preferably as one big happy family.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Shazam! (2018) #6

Jun 5, 2019

That having been said, the elements introduced are a surprise with their timing, and it does certainly complicate things for our heroes. I hope Johns, and the rest of the creative team, can bring them together in a cohesive manner when it comes time to wrap everything up. Otherwise, we could see a stumbling finish to what has been an otherwise enjoyable tale of fun, fantasy, and super heroics.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Strayed #1

Aug 13, 2019

While Strayed #1 struggles a bit, I can certainly see where there is the potential for greater things to come. If the book can expand its story past the classic tropes it builds on here, there could be a unique story waiting to be told about a scientist and her especially gifted cat.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Superman (2018) #7

Jan 16, 2019

Ultimately though this setup issue doesn't do anything too exciting but it is a good launch point for the story going forward that leaves a hook that has me hoping for an exciting story that could both challenge the House of El, as well as deliver a solid emotional pay off if Bendis and crew can deliver on the story they have laid the groundwork for.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superman (2018) #8

Feb 13, 2019

When all is read and done this issue was another piece of what is currently forming a great picture. If Bendis can continue to keep the story grounded in the emotion he has thus far built into his narrative, and if the illustrative team continues to capture these moments with the superb skill it has shown so far, I would say this could end up being a truly great story arc for Superman.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Superman (2018) #9

Mar 13, 2019

With this book stopping on another cliffhanger, which I'm sure will put poor Jon through even more trouble, I am eagerly anticipating the next issue. What's more, my enthusiasm is equally pulled by my desire to find out what lies beyond the "at the moment" struggles Jon is dealing with, to the greater threat that has been hinted at. And here lies the only danger this book has going forward. While I'm excited for now, I do hope Bendis doesn't overplay his hand or get too bogged down with side adventures, but this concern remains to be seen.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2018) #10

Apr 10, 2019

With the final page promising big things to come, I look forward to what Bendis and company have waiting for me next issue. Even with a bit of a misstep, this story continues to hold my interest and impress in most of the ways I have come to expect. If the plot can straighten itself back out it should have no problems realizing the promise the last few issues have built up for it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2018) #11

May 15, 2019

Just as the issue began with an unexpected appearance so did the ending, as a new party joins the fray, I look forward to seeing them in action as the story progresses. Bendis, Reis, Prado, Albert, Sinclair, and Reed continue to create a story that keeps me wanting more, as surprises, coupled with a bit of Kryptonian family drama are used expertly to bring another first-rate issue of comic storytelling to the shelves.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Superman (2018) #12

Jun 12, 2019

While Superman #12 left me feeling a little underwhelmed, it has a strong start, good characterization, and overall left me with enough new information and plot hooks that I am hopeful next issue can bring the story back to the higher levels attained by the promise of previous issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2018) #13

Jul 10, 2019

By the end of Superman #13, the stage is set for the climactic confrontation to the House of Elportion of the Unity Saga. I am very much looking forward to the final issue next month. I'm not entirely sure of all the players that will be involved in the issue. With all the shadowy figures shown from the past and the characters that have already been confronted in the present, I have little idea of who will be making an appearance in the big issue. But Superman #13 certainly has me looking forward to finding out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superman (2018) #14

Aug 28, 2019

Superman #14is an excellent piece of the continuing narrative for this series. I once again find myself eagerly waiting to see where this amazing creative team will take the man of steel next.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Superman (2018) #15

Sep 18, 2019

Even as it feels like the main event is winding down there are still a few more pieces to put into place before this story feels complete. I'm glad the story told so far has been allowed all the time it needs to get to its end.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superman (2018) #16

Oct 9, 2019

Superman#16 proves a delightful story of two dear friends and the support they provide each other. After reading this issue, I wish fervently DC Comics would write a possible-future storyline with these two having taken up their fathers' mantles. Just like Batman and Superman, these boys are more than the sum of their parts.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superman: Year One #1

Jun 19, 2019

I am always leery of rewritings of such iconic stories as Superman's origins no matter how well accredited the creative team is. And while it isn't without a small stumble or two, I think Superman Year One #1 sticks the landings in all the most important ways. Reminding us Superman's story has always been one of compassion, equality, and above all, hope.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Superman: Year One #2

Aug 21, 2019

I had high hopes going into Superman: Year One #2. This issue's storytelling, however, is nothing short of a complete letdown. Slow pacing and a last-minute dive into an ugly villain trope soured this book. While it isn't without any virtue, I can't say it's worth slogging through.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Tales From The Dark Multiverse: The Death of Superman #1

Oct 30, 2019

Tales from the DC Dark Multiverse: The Death of Superman #1 left me pleasantly surprised. While I'm not sure exactly what I expected when I first started reading this issue, I can assure you I got a lot more than what I bargained for. I am extremely intrigued by this version of Lois Lane and sincerely hope we may see more of her. If she were to continue to be written with the skill and quality she is here, she could easily be as potent an enemy to The Man of Steel as The Batman Who Laughs is to the Dark Knight.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Tank Girl (2018) #2

Jan 25, 2019

So, while some of the dialoguefelt abit corny for my usual tastes, the art and story came together seamlessly to create a tone I feel is exactly what the creative team was going for. And I wouldn't be surprised if, despite my minor complaints, if I'm not back next month to let you know what I think of Tank Girl, Sub Girl, Jet Girl, and all the others next crazy misadventure.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Crow: Hack/Slash #1

Jun 28, 2019

With only that one minor complaint, The Crow Hack/Slash #1is brought to a finish on a greatcliffhanger moment as the stakes are raised, and a new participant enters the fray, leaving me eagerly awaiting the next piece in this tale of vengeance, violence and soul searching.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Crow: Hack/Slash #2

Aug 2, 2019

The Crow Hack/Slash #2 delivers an excellent second issue. Once it has the world building out of the way it uses its time to set up the next issue. The tease ending promises both an escalation to the conflict as well as a bit significant change in atmosphere for next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Long Con #6

Feb 19, 2019

When it is all brought together these elements continue the books excellent balance of wonderful humor, memorable characters, solid storytelling, and that dash of social commentary I have come to associate with the title.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Long Con #8

Apr 12, 2019

This comic continues to be both a thoroughly enjoyable read, as well as an important look at what is the geek culture many of us have come to love/hate. I have an ever-growing appreciation for what the creative team continues to craft within these pages, and can only hope that the continuing adventures within The Long Conprove to be as entertaining, and relevant, as what has come before.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Long Con #10

Jul 6, 2019

I will take this last opportunity to say if you have slept on The Long Con, do yourself a favor and grab this book now. Whether you just want fun, or something deeper, The Long Con #10 is a superb piece of comic book artistry not to be missed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Wicked + The Divine #41

Jan 17, 2019

When all is said and done, the issue moves the plot along to a resting point that feels like a deep breath before a plunge into what will truly be a conflict of gods that will shake the world as they know it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Transformers/Ghostbusters #1

Jun 27, 2019

As with any series of this nature, the bulk of the book is used to get the pieces in place for future issues. This book's ability to make me thoroughly enjoy this setup is a bonus that is wholeheartedly welcomed. If the creative team can keep this level of quality in the subsequent issues this series has the potential to be a very welcome read for fans of the classic Transformersand Ghostbustersproperties.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Triage #1

Sep 4, 2019

All in all, Triage #1is a unique start for a new sci-fi story. It introduces the reader to the characters while leaving a mystery to pull the reader along for the next issue. With just a little more focus to the story so things could be a little more fleshed out I think Triage #1 could be the start of a very notable story.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Usagi Yojimbo (2019) #1

Jun 19, 2019

While Usagi Yojimbo #1 did not impress upon me as a whole I can certainly see where it has lots of potential. The creative team is certainly committed to its setting, and have begun laying down the foundation for future stories that could bring more life into the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Year of the Villain: Joker #1

Oct 9, 2019

While The Joker: Year of the Villain #1 is a brutal and violent tale of crime and manipulation, it has a poignant statement that goes with it. It takes a look at how people who suffer from mental illness can be manipulated and abused. It is uncomfortable in its brazen showing of abuse and violence. But, within that discomfort I feel it is a real message that is worth remembering.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Year of the Villain: Lex Luthor #1

Sep 18, 2019

While there are some cool moments and interesting concepts played at, in the end Lex Luthor: Year of the Villain #1 provides a decent stepping stone to hopefully a larger payoff as the Year of the Villain story line continues forward. If Year of the Villain is an interest to you I think you will want to grab this one. Otherwise, there isn't a lot here.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Year of the Villain: Black Adam #1

Oct 23, 2019

I picked up Black Adam: Year of the Villain #1 expecting a super hero throw down among some sand dunes. What I got was that, plus a lot more. Politics and the nature of power are woven into the book to complement and work with the action. This allows the book to be so much more than I expected. And I couldn't be happier for it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Year of the Villain: The Riddler #1

Sep 11, 2019

When taken just as it is, The Riddler: Year of the Villain #1 is a near-flawless piece of character introspective. The Riddler feels real and genuine, despite how outlandish his setting is. The character depth and tonal balancing are pieces of art. Unfortunately, just as a character's history can elevate them through long-running arcs, it can also make them stumble when the story feels retold.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Year of the Villain: Black Mask #1

Aug 21, 2019

When taken all together, this issueis a solid entry into the Year of the Villain story event. It lays the groundwork for future events while giving the audience a deeper understanding of the main character. This makes this Black Mask: Year of the Villain #1 a great read for people following the event, or readers who are interested in a deeper dive to one of Gotham's most notorious villains.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

November

October

More