Christa Harader's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Outright Geekery Reviews: 11
7.6Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Ash vs. The Army of Darkness #1

Jun 28, 2017

A key feature of the franchise for me is that Ash is only really cool in his own mind, and I'm pleased to see that the story team preserves the goofiness of the character without really knocking him down. It's clear Ash vs. The Army of Darkness is crafted by fans of the Evil Dead universe, for fans of the Evil Dead universe, while keeping the story accessible enough for the uninitiated to have a good time " and maybe take a trip to a tranquil cabin sometime soon to do a little, uh, light reading?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ash vs. The Army of Darkness #2

Jul 31, 2017

I'm particularly thrilled to see Ash get the crap beat out of him" it's always important that Ash not actually be a real cool dude, and what I was missing just a little in issue 1 is definitely present here. He gets his licks in, but he also spends enough time getting licked to preserve the satirical “hero” elements we all know and love from the film universe. The kids have vignette moments that're true to their established characters so far, and the cliffhanger leaves me excited for the next installment. A fun romp, to be sure, and I'm on board enough to keep with it. How Sims, Bowers and co. will pace the rest of the run remains to be seen, because I'd like a few slower moments that maintain good character development sometime soon now that we've gotten a dose of excitement. Pick up a copy, or the aggro dumpster cannibal'll getcha.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Babyteeth #1

Jun 5, 2017

Overall, you're left with the good effect that a light narrative and artistic touch can evoke, with just enough portents of chaotic and dark things to come for Sadie and Clark that make for a solid first issue of an original series. Cates' authentic teenage dialogue pairs well with Brown's expressionistic art style to introduce you to a grieving girl who is almost lost " but not quite. At once dreamy and disturbing, Babyteeth promises a new take on the anti-Christ narrative with fine craft that will need to be maintained as the narrative unfolds. If this first issue is any indication, a great story will be sure to follow.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
By Chance or Providence #1

Jul 25, 2017

"Wolves" tells of betrayal, "The Mire" of progeny, and "Demeter" of both " no happy endings here, folks, but enough genuine emotion and melancholy earned through good mood and lovely art to keep you centered in a nice, atmospheric journey. A big bonus in this "director's cut" is a ton of concept art. With Cloonan mentioning she'd like to come back and spend more time in this universe, it's fun to see what the possibilities are. This volume will delight longtime comic fans and first-timers, as well. If you have a friend who's not sure about the medium, this would be a wonderful place to start.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
God Complex (2017) #1

Oct 10, 2017

Futuristing cyberpunk noir reimaginings of classic deities need a little more oomph than what's delivered, alas.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Magnus #3

Aug 18, 2017

A hallmark of comics success is when your story can't be told any other way " Magnus is a brilliant comic creation that utilizes the full creativity and flexibility of the medium to deliver a tense and personal reimagining of a very well-known character. I can't wait to see where we're going next.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Mister Miracle #1

Aug 12, 2017

The team puts together a stellar first issue in what they promised would be a fresh take on the classic escape artist, and they sure did deliver a boatload of mystery and reverence for the comics scripture that's come before. I look forward to untangling the plot, wriggling deeper into the heart of the beast, and emerging almost unscathed, just in the nick of time, once this promising run comes to an all-too-quick end.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Mister Miracle #1

Aug 11, 2017

The team puts together a stellar first issue in what they promised would be a fresh take on the classic escape artist. They sure did deliver a boatload of mystery and reverence for the comics scripture that's come before. I look forward to untangling the plot, wriggling deeper into the heart of the beast, and emerging almost unscathed just in the nick of time once this promising run comes to an all-too-quick end.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Redneck #5

Aug 24, 2017

Cates & Estherren are working on what feels more and more like a slow burn, though we're coming to bear on a wrap point for this establishing story in the next issue. Where we go next is hard to say " with Slap dead, Granpa on the loose and nearly the whole town pushing up daisies, it's not easy to predict what'll happen to the good country folk. S'pose we'll just wait and see.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Sacred Creatures #1

Jul 2, 2017

Overall, Sacred Creatures suffers from too much structure and not enough content " be it character development, focused dialogue or an art style that can support an intricate plot, there needs to be a focal point to draw from as bedrock to your concept. And the divinity narrative has been done so often, and so well, you need to find an "in" that's unique enough to hang your story on. The punch of the last page doesn't fly when you've taken this long to set up " what, exactly?

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Victor LaValle's Destroyer #1

May 24, 2017

You make a bit of a messy landing into the doctor's story, but from her appearance on, things change for the better. The last few pages demonstrate a leaner and dynamic touch that builds her relationship with her son deftly and organically, and makes the emotional final reveal pop. From here, the story most definitely leaves you wanting more. Overall, Destroyer is not just an update on a classic " this comic promises a unique lens into a fictional world that's both timely and engaging, and will most likely deliver.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

October

September

More