Christa Harader's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Outright Geekery, Multiversity Comics Reviews: 26
8.4Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Ash vs. The Army of Darkness #1

Jun 28, 2017

A key feature of the franchise for me is that Ash is only really cool in his own mind, and I'm pleased to see that the story team preserves the goofiness of the character without really knocking him down. It's clear Ash vs. The Army of Darkness is crafted by fans of the Evil Dead universe, for fans of the Evil Dead universe, while keeping the story accessible enough for the uninitiated to have a good time " and maybe take a trip to a tranquil cabin sometime soon to do a little, uh, light reading?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ash vs. The Army of Darkness #2

Jul 31, 2017

I'm particularly thrilled to see Ash get the crap beat out of him" it's always important that Ash not actually be a real cool dude, and what I was missing just a little in issue 1 is definitely present here. He gets his licks in, but he also spends enough time getting licked to preserve the satirical “hero” elements we all know and love from the film universe. The kids have vignette moments that're true to their established characters so far, and the cliffhanger leaves me excited for the next installment. A fun romp, to be sure, and I'm on board enough to keep with it. How Sims, Bowers and co. will pace the rest of the run remains to be seen, because I'd like a few slower moments that maintain good character development sometime soon now that we've gotten a dose of excitement. Pick up a copy, or the aggro dumpster cannibal'll getcha.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Babyteeth #1

Jun 5, 2017

Overall, you're left with the good effect that a light narrative and artistic touch can evoke, with just enough portents of chaotic and dark things to come for Sadie and Clark that make for a solid first issue of an original series. Cates' authentic teenage dialogue pairs well with Brown's expressionistic art style to introduce you to a grieving girl who is almost lost " but not quite. At once dreamy and disturbing, Babyteeth promises a new take on the anti-Christ narrative with fine craft that will need to be maintained as the narrative unfolds. If this first issue is any indication, a great story will be sure to follow.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Babyteeth #12

Aug 20, 2018

This issue's a fine entry into the newest "Babyteeth" arc, and does some quick but effective character scaffolding to help us swing into the next high spot.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
By Chance or Providence #1

Jul 25, 2017

"Wolves" tells of betrayal, "The Mire" of progeny, and "Demeter" of both " no happy endings here, folks, but enough genuine emotion and melancholy earned through good mood and lovely art to keep you centered in a nice, atmospheric journey. A big bonus in this "director's cut" is a ton of concept art. With Cloonan mentioning she'd like to come back and spend more time in this universe, it's fun to see what the possibilities are. This volume will delight longtime comic fans and first-timers, as well. If you have a friend who's not sure about the medium, this would be a wonderful place to start.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Come Into Me #1

Mar 29, 2018

A study in cerebral horror and shareable viscera, Come Into Me #1 delivers on story, art, style and a good amount of substance.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Deadlife #1

Jul 18, 2018

Whatever dream of a nice family life there was sours pretty quickly in this more sophisticated take on the gore and guts of zombie horror.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Death Orb #1

Aug 12, 2018

Mystery and intrigue! Apocalyptic death cults! Cool motorcycles! Death Orb #1 sets high stakes - and meets them - in this fun first installment.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Eden #1

Jul 12, 2018

Some conceptual wins and a few narrative execution misses for Eden #1

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Fearscape #1

Aug 15, 2018

Fearscape #1 asks what would happen if a hack plagiarist became the hero of our time, and begins forming an interesting answer.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Friendo #1

Aug 19, 2018

Friendo #1 runs fast, fun and slick - everything a not-too-distant L.A. future promises.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
God Complex (2017) #1

Oct 10, 2017

Futuristing cyberpunk noir reimaginings of classic deities need a little more oomph than what's delivered, alas.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Gravetrancers #1

Dec 17, 2017

Overall, I'm not shocked, appalled or creeped out beyond belief " I'll need more from Miller and team to earn those high notes, but I'm seriously pleased by a juicy visual feast that promises some old-school nods and drug trip-goodness. Miller and team are fans, and they seem to know where they're stepping. Congratulations to Gravetrancers for busting down the door that society keeps trying to close on this side of our beloved pulp " now, you better deliver.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ice Cream Man #6

Aug 15, 2018

Ice Cream Man #6 knocks it out of the park again with a unique, story-appropriate spin on silent horror.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Magnus #3

Aug 18, 2017

A hallmark of comics success is when your story can't be told any other way " Magnus is a brilliant comic creation that utilizes the full creativity and flexibility of the medium to deliver a tense and personal reimagining of a very well-known character. I can't wait to see where we're going next.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Mister Miracle #1

Aug 12, 2017

The team puts together a stellar first issue in what they promised would be a fresh take on the classic escape artist, and they sure did deliver a boatload of mystery and reverence for the comics scripture that's come before. I look forward to untangling the plot, wriggling deeper into the heart of the beast, and emerging almost unscathed, just in the nick of time, once this promising run comes to an all-too-quick end.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Mister Miracle #1

Aug 11, 2017

The team puts together a stellar first issue in what they promised would be a fresh take on the classic escape artist. They sure did deliver a boatload of mystery and reverence for the comics scripture that's come before. I look forward to untangling the plot, wriggling deeper into the heart of the beast, and emerging almost unscathed just in the nick of time once this promising run comes to an all-too-quick end.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Paradiso #1

Dec 6, 2017

Intriguing story, bold characters and some art that make you sit up and pay attention.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Paradiso #2

Jan 10, 2018

Stick around for this one, folks, and I have a feeling you're going to learn to expand your definition of how to tell great stories in this medium.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Paradiso #4

Mar 12, 2018

Guns, bridges, dreams and nightmares - Paradiso's got the goods, and wraps its first story arc in fine style with some high action and story payoffs you don't want to miss.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Paradiso #5

Jul 23, 2018

Paradiso's new arc promises some weird #%$! - robots, trees, dreams, nightmares and a continuously high-quality comic experience.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Paradiso #6

Aug 1, 2018

Paradiso #6 delivers the high quality and storytelling we've come to expect from this innovative, sci-fi gem.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Redneck #5

Aug 24, 2017

Cates & Estherren are working on what feels more and more like a slow burn, though we're coming to bear on a wrap point for this establishing story in the next issue. Where we go next is hard to say " with Slap dead, Granpa on the loose and nearly the whole town pushing up daisies, it's not easy to predict what'll happen to the good country folk. S'pose we'll just wait and see.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Sacred Creatures #1

Jul 2, 2017

Overall, Sacred Creatures suffers from too much structure and not enough content " be it character development, focused dialogue or an art style that can support an intricate plot, there needs to be a focal point to draw from as bedrock to your concept. And the divinity narrative has been done so often, and so well, you need to find an "in" that's unique enough to hang your story on. The punch of the last page doesn't fly when you've taken this long to set up " what, exactly?

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Seeds #1

Jul 31, 2018

The Seeds #1 is a prime example of intentional narrative overload rooted in superb art.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Victor LaValle's Destroyer #1

May 24, 2017

You make a bit of a messy landing into the doctor's story, but from her appearance on, things change for the better. The last few pages demonstrate a leaner and dynamic touch that builds her relationship with her son deftly and organically, and makes the emotional final reveal pop. From here, the story most definitely leaves you wanting more. Overall, Destroyer is not just an update on a classic " this comic promises a unique lens into a fictional world that's both timely and engaging, and will most likely deliver.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

August

July

More