Strange Adventures #1 View Preview
Prev Series Next

Strange Adventures #1

Writer: Tom King Artist: Mitch Gerads Publisher: DC Comics Release Date: March 4, 2020 Cover Price: $4.99 Critic Reviews: 27 User Reviews: 57
8.8Critic Rating
8.2User Rating

+ Pull List

After winning five Eisner Awards and topping year-end "best of lists," the comic book of 2019 was Mister Miracle. The comic book of 2020 will be Strange Adventures.
The Mister Miracle team of writer Tom King and artist Mitch Gerads are joined by fan-favorite artist Evan "Doc" Shaner to bring you an epic tale in the tradition of Watchmen, The Dark Knight Returns, and DC: The New Frontier-a story of blood, war, and love that readers will be talking about for years to come.
Adam Strange is the hero of Rann, a man famous throughout the galaxy for his bravery and honor. After leading his adopted home to victory in a great planetary war, more

  • 10
    PopCultHQ - Joshua Winchester Mar 6, 2020

    This is a series that nobody will want to miss out on, as readers are taken to the outer limits of imagination and to the very depths of what it means to be a human being seeking peace after war. Read Full Review

  • 10
    But Why Tho? - Lizzy Garcia Mar 4, 2020

    Strange Adventures #1is an excellent start to the series and deals with a lot of heavy themes right off the bat. The book itself excels at creating a disorienting discomfort. I can't put my finger on what is making me so unsure about the ongoing events but whatever it is, I commend it. Read Full Review

  • 10
    Monkeys Fighting Robots - Zac Owens Mar 4, 2020

    Every inch of every page has been carefully crafted by this amazing creative team. They tell a timely story of the nature of truth and the cost of lying to yourself. Read Full Review

  • 10
    On Comics Ground - Timothy Quail Mar 5, 2020

    Strange Adventure promises to be another Tom King classic. Mitch Gerads, and Evan "Doc" Shaner elevate the story and bring everything forward in a meaningful way. This DC Black Label maxi series is one not to miss out on. A politically charged comic that has something important to say about war and service. Read Full Review

  • 10
    Comics Bulletin - Daniel Gehen Mar 5, 2020

    Should the rest of the series be as strong as this first issue, expect this to be a major player at next year's Eisner Awards. Read Full Review

  • 9.6
    The Super Powered Fancast - Deron Generally Mar 4, 2020

    Mitch Gerads and Evan “Doc” Shaner deliver some beautiful art in this issue. The contrasting styles work perfectly together with Shaner providing crisp, bright visuals that highlight the comic book adventurism of the story while Gerads offers gritty, stylized realism to his pages that ground the story and its characters. Read Full Review

  • 9.5
    Graphic Policy - Brett Mar 4, 2020

    Strange Adventures #1 delivers a debut that'll get the reader to think and reflect. It's an exploration of the horrors of war, during and after, in a pulp-adventure wrapping. While we've seen many of these themes before with King, the package and delivery is still top-notch. It's a must get first issue that entertains and will get you to ponder. Read Full Review

  • 9.4
    SciFiPulse - Ian Cullen Mar 8, 2020

    OverallTom King is giving us the beginnings of what could well be an epic story here. If this first chapter is anything to go by. We could wind up seeing a story that examines the nature of truth. The comic also looks like it is looking to examine the traditional true blue heroes like Adam Strange, who is similar to Flash Gordon in that he espouses very traditional values and has a bit of a black and white view of right and wrong, a lense, which suspect is going to get smashed as we see shades of grey coming through. I'm really enjoying the fact that the media is turning on Adam Strange in this first issue. Read Full Review

  • 9.4
    Rogues Portal - Michael Thao Mar 4, 2020

    With Strange Adventures, King looks to have yet another successful maxi series under his belt, proving once again that this kind of self-contained storytelling is where he's most comfortable. However, those burnt out on his work may want to sit this one out as he goes through much of the same execution as he does for books like Mister Miracle and Vision. This is wholeheartedly a book for King fans through and through and will likely be an instant pull list addition for many. Read Full Review

  • 9.3
    Sequential Planet - Ethan Maddux Mar 4, 2020

    Strange Adventures #1 is a delightful start that threatens to live up to the unreasonable expectations set upon its shoulders. Shaner and Gerads' art work together by operating independently, while Tom King proves he's more than a one-trick pony by offering a unique perspective on truth rather than trauma. Provided the rest of the series is consistently as strong as this opening, we'll have another modern classic on our hands. Read Full Review

  • 9.2
    Word Of The Nerd - Brent Jackson Mar 4, 2020

    To sum up, Strange Adventures #1 is a solid start to this twelve issue series. It brings up some different themes and tones yet to be explored by King. King and Gerads seem to thrive in this twelve issue story telling method and they may have struck gold once again. Bringing Evan “Doc” Shaner along only sweetens the pot. As his classic styling are always a visual treat to see. Read Full Review

  • 9.2
    Comic Watch - Bethany W Pope Mar 4, 2020

    If you're in the mood for some complex, surprisingly astute analysis of western colonialism wrapped in a patina of 1940's all-American pulp, pick up the first issue of Tom King's Strange Adventures. It's well worth the cover price. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Geek Dad - Ray Goldfield Mar 4, 2020

    It's hard to tell where a Tom King story is going from only one issue, but this issue makes me think there's a fascinating one to be told. Let another year of almost unbearable suspense begin as we likely rocket towards a tragedy. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Chuck's Comic Of The Day - Chuck Mar 8, 2020

    We'll see where it goes, but I suspect every issue purchased will be a test of will for me. As always, I hope for the best and fear the worst. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Multiversity Comics - Jonathan O'Neal Mar 5, 2020

    If you can overlook the DC hype machine's hard sell in the wake of their other recent publicity tomfoolery, "Strange Adventures" #1 seems to be the start of another winner from Tom King and Mitch Gerads. Evan Shaner's contributions are excellent as well, and the whole thing feels important by not trying to be, a sin perhaps committed in the creation of "Heroes in Crisis." Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    AIPT - Vishal Gullapalli Mar 4, 2020

    This comic will likely not change your mind on Tom King, but for his fans, it's exactly what you've been waiting for. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Lyles Movie Files - Jeffrey Lyles Mar 4, 2020

    King tries an ambitious storytelling approach with this saga. For the modern scenes, his Mister Miracle collaborator Mitch Gerads handles the art while Doc Shaner tackles the flashback sequences. Shaner seems to have landed from the Silver Age to modern times with his throwback style so he was an ideal choice for the old scenes while Gerads brings a stripped down, real world take to the story. Interestingly on more than a few panels it looks like King was Gerads inspiration for Strange. The choice of colors Gerads and Shaner use effectively tells their respective eras as well. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Comics: The Gathering - Carlos R. Mar 4, 2020

    I love this issue; I keep finding myself going back to it to read the Rann portions to see what more I can learn about Pykkts and Gerad’s work to see what I can tell about Alanna and Adam’s relationship by their glances. Strange Adventures offers a layered read and is sure to build to an incredible story. Read Full Review

  • 8.4
    The Fandom Post - Chris Beveridge Mar 10, 2020

    It's a solid opening issue, one that naturally feels a whole lot like Mister Miracle in a lot of ways, but is stretching its fingers out and beginning to reveal its intent. I enjoy this kind of storytelling and I love the visual design with what Gerards and Shaner bring to the page. I'm excited to explore the twists and turns of this over the next year in order to discover what the real story is as opposed to the pieces that we're presented with here to set the foundation for it. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    DC Comics News - Matthew Lloyd Mar 4, 2020

    The positives outweigh the negatives here as the technical aspects of Strange Adventures #1 manage to outweigh the content. Additionally, some of the negatives are based on conjecture and expectations based on King's other work. Adam does seem COMPLETELY sure that he isn't guilty of the charges brought against him. Even if one is unsure of King's story direction, it's undeniable that Gerads and Shaner do everything they can to sell book! Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Henchman-4-Hire - Sean Ian Mills Mar 14, 2020

    The first issue sets up everything it needs to set up with charm and aplomb. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Critical Blast - RJ Carter Mar 9, 2020

    It's worth a follow for the first few issues to see where things lead. But, like Bert in Mary Poppins: "Can't put me finger on what liesin store. But I fear what's to happen all happened before." Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Big Comic Page - Adam Brown Mar 5, 2020

    If you liked Mister Miracle (and the only reason you wouldnt is if you hadnt read it), then youll no doubt like this too. For some, the parallels and similarities might detract from this new story, but it was gonna be near impossible not to have commonalities. Perhaps that speaks to a greater truth about how heroes exist and the way we perceive them. The public face versus the private life. Regardless, this series looks set to pick at the scabs and wounds, and shine a light on the darker side of this intriguing character. Read Full Review

  • 7.5
    Comics Bookcase - Zack Quaintance Mar 4, 2020

    The artwork in this book is absolutely superb, yet it remains to be seen whether the plot and themes will, A. have something new to say apart from past King works, and B. prove insightful enough to carry a satisfying 12-part superhero story. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    Weird Science - Jim Werner Mar 4, 2020

    Tom King, Mitch Gerads, and Doc Shaner kick off their new book, and while I will not proclaim it an instant classic yet like most reviewers probably will, I think it's worth checking out.  Shaner's art is the wildcard here and gives everything a breath of fresh air even as things go to hell around our hero.  Tom King does not have an excellent track record when it comes to murder mysteries, but this was a good start. Read Full Review

  • 6.0
    ComicBook.com - Chase Magnett Mar 4, 2020

    The debut issue introduces its story with confidence and skill, but struggles to clearly address its thematic core or offer a clear perspective. Instead, it is a muddled entry point that attempts to cover up a lack of voice with excessive style. Read Full Review

  • 6.0
    Newsarama - Kat Calamia Mar 9, 2020

    Overall, King builds a potentially intriguing mystery between these two timelines, but doesn't supply the audience with enough breadcrumbs to create the necessary tension to truly get sucked into the mystery. Read Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

April

March

More