Carlos R.'s Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics: The Gathering Reviews: 123
8.5Avg. Review Rating

8
A Man Among Ye #1

Jun 17, 2020

If you love pirates, Stephanie Phillips has written the book for you. Filled with an admiration of the characters and brilliant artwork you’d have to be a real landlubber to pass on this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Action Comics (2016) #1027

Nov 24, 2020

While Action Comics #1027 doesn’t conclude the House of Kent in the most satisfying manner, there are some enjoyable portions to the story and that cover is truly awesome.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Aliens: Aftermath (2021) #1

Jul 14, 2021

What better way to celebrate the 35th anniversary of Aliens than by giving readers another reason to hate Weyland-Yutani? If you’re a fan of the films or just in need of a quick Xenomorph fix, definitely pick up this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Amelia Sky #3

Sep 29, 2020

You can find the previous issues in the series to purchase here: https://www.who-is-amelia-sky.com/the-a-store. For updates on issue 3 and more from the creators, follow here: https://www.who-is-amelia-sky.com/issue-3-the-monster-within-tells-you.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
American Vampire: 1976 #1

Oct 6, 2020

This book makes for one darn good read. I’ve been following this series from the beginning and it is one of the best ways to celebrate the spirit of this spooky month.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Aquaman (2016) #58

Mar 18, 2020

The issue does an exceptional job at setting up what’s to come by taking its time to set up the conflict on the horizon and giving believable motivations for all the characters. Not only are the characters written well, they’re drawn beautifully too! This issue hits all the marks and I’m excited to see what comes next in this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Aquaman (2016) #59

May 26, 2020

Aquaman #59 continues the “Echoes of a Life Lived Well” arc and sets up some interesting developments for what Arthur and family will have to face in the series. The tensions continue to expand in this issue, and I am excited for when it all comes to the inevitable boiling point.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Aquaman: The Becoming (2021) #1

Sep 21, 2021

I’m curious to see how this story will progress and excited to see more of Jackson in a front and center role. If you need a book with all the right vibes this week, definitely pick this one up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Are You Afraid of Darkseid? (2021) #1

Oct 10, 2021

This may be one of my favorite anthologies of the year. It features an incredible collection of stories that allow for the writers and artists to experiment and put out some wonderfully frightening tales. Absolutely pick this up if you're looking to get into the spirit of the season.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Batgirl (2016) #48

Aug 25, 2020

This was a great tie-in story and doesn’t seem to interrupt the flow of the series. Castelluci writes Barbara well and has set up an interesting premise for this arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: Secret Files (2021): Huntress #1

Jul 28, 2021

I had a great time reading this issue, it was fun and added a lot to Helena's character for me. This one-shot will be hard to top but I'm excited to read more from this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Black Manta (2021) #1

Sep 8, 2021

This was a fantastic opening issue and I’m looking forward to delving further into Black Manta’s character and seeing all the unrelenting action that’s bound to unfold.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Bog Bodies OGN

Apr 29, 2020

I cannot praise the art in this book enough, the whole team coordinates to deliver an emotionally charged tale. Bog Bodies is an incredible read that you should definitely pick up if you're a fan of crime stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Captain Marvel (2019) #15

Feb 22, 2020

Captain Marvel #15 hits every beat and marks another great issue in Kelly Thompson's run. If you've been at all curious about this series, go pick up this arc. The art and writing are completely in sync and is worth being on your pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Catwoman (2018) #21

Mar 11, 2020

Catwoman #21 makes for a fitting conclusion to this chapter of Selina’s life in Villa Hermosa. Joëlle Jones continues to deliver a solid Catwoman series and though Selina may be up against a zombie horde, Fernando Blanco and FCO Plascencia make certain your eyes stay glued to each page.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Catwoman (2018) #22

Jun 2, 2020

This is Catwoman’s week! Issue #22 of Catwoman makes for a great compliment to the Anniversary Special and is a fine interlude before Selina’s homecoming. And I’m not kitten ya!

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Catwoman (2018) #23

Jul 15, 2020

If you’ve been in the mood to pick up some Catwoman, but not looking to invest in a whole series, now is the perfect time to jump in! The previous one-shot and this two-part arc make for a great sampling her character.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Catwoman (2018) #25

Sep 15, 2020

If you’ve been a fan of Selina’s current run or recent issues of Justice League Dark, you’ll definitely want to check out this issue. Feel free to comment below where you hope to see Catwoman go during this run.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Catwoman (2018) #27

Nov 17, 2020

The creative team behind this series is exceptional and I can’t recommend checking into this series enough!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Catwoman (2018) #28

Dec 15, 2020

With magnificent storytelling and viusals, Catwoman is definitely a title you want to be following right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Catwoman (2018) #30

Apr 21, 2021

If you’re not already following Ram V’s Catwoman run, don’t wait any longer.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Catwoman: Lonely City (2021) #1

Oct 20, 2021

I won’t give much away about the book, but it deserves so much praise. If you’re a fan of Selina this is a must-have in your collection.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Crime Syndicate (2021) #1

Mar 2, 2021

While not the strongest opening, there are some enjoyable moments in this issue and I’m hopeful the story will ramp up once the Syndicate comes together. If you’re a fan of previous iterations of the Crime Syndicate or just want to explore this new multiverse, this book is fun and sets up a great contrast to our heroes’ main Earth.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Crossover (2020) #1

Nov 4, 2020

This was a great introduction to this universe and if you pick it up, you’re sure to be as zapped into this series as the kid on the cover. There’s a lot to be appreciated in this chapter and I’m definitely in to see where this story will go.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Dark Nights: Death Metal: The Last Stories of the DC Universe #1

Dec 8, 2020

This issue collected some excellent stories from some of DC's best talent, "Last Knights" alone was worth the price of the book.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Dark Nights: Death Metal: The Secret Origin #1

Dec 22, 2020

Snyder and Johns have wrriten a can't miss issue for Dark Nights Death Metal. The art is gorgeous all the way through and is essential reading if you've ever been a fan Superboy Prime.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
DC Horror Presents The Conjuring: The Lover #1

Jun 1, 2021

This may be a series that will work far better as a collected edition rather than reading issue to issue, but there's lots to enjoy here and if you're already a fan of the series, you'll definitely get a kick out of this title.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
DC Horror Presents: Soul Plumber #1

Oct 5, 2021

Soul Plumber may not be for everyone, but for those that it is for, it’ll be a delightful read with some interesting perspectives and amazing artwork that’s sure to have you coming back for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
DC's Very Merry Multiverse (2020) #1

Dec 8, 2020

I plan to pick up some copies of this issue to have as stocking stuffers for the DC readers in my family. If you’re one to get into the holiday spirit definitely give this issue a read and let us know which of the stories were your favorites in the comments.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Deadpool (2019) #6

Aug 5, 2020

Deadpool #6 makes for a great jumping on point after wrapping up the last arc and demonstrates what’s made this series so much fun to read. Also, if you’re a fan of Jeff the land shark, or have yet to lay eyes on this magnificent creature, then this is a must read issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
E-Ratic #1

Dec 2, 2020

E-ratic seems to be setting up one jam-packed series if this first issue was any indication. This first chapter dealt more with the angst of Oliver’s youth rather than his super heroic adventures, but definitely helped to get to know his character better. If you love teen dramas, great art, and super heroics, I’d recommend checking this series out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Fear Case #1

Feb 4, 2021

Fear Case shot out of the gate with an incredible first issue that is sure to have you hooked by the final panel. Definitely pick up this book if you’re a horror or crime fan.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Flash (2016) #768

Mar 30, 2021

The setup for the story is intriguing and enjoyable at times, but it has a filler vibe to it and doesn’t feel like much of a new beginning for our heroes. Though the story is not what I’d hoped it’d be, the issue still has its moments and has some fantastic pages to gaze at.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Flash (2016) #770

May 18, 2021

I enjoyed the use of heavy shadows in this book, it works well to add to the mystique that surrounds the Spear and the surrounding evil Jay and Happy face. The only drawback to this is that at the opening Jay looks incredibly menacing, but the story progresses nicely and there’s a great attention to detail. This issue was tons of fun to read and I’m excited to see what more is to come in this arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Future State (2021): Superman/Wonder Woman #1

Jan 14, 2021

Future State Superman Wonder Woman #1 adds great depth to Yara and Jonathan's characters and helps to further expand the worlds of Future State. Definitely give this book a read if you've become a fan of either character!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Future State (2021): Teen Titans #1

Jan 13, 2021

There's tons to enjoy in this title! With easter eggs strewn about the pages, amazing art, and a killer story, this is a Future State series you'll want to be sure to pick up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Future State (2021): Superman: House of El #1

Feb 23, 2021

This is a great issue for fans of Superman and newcomers wanting to get a feel for what The Man of Tomorrow stands for.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Future State (2021): The Flash #1

Jan 6, 2021

This title may have served better as a Tale from the Dark Multiverse rather than the Future State line, however it's still a fun read and you'll definitely be left wanting to further explore this world.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Future State (2021): Wonder Woman #1

Jan 5, 2021

The love the creative team has poured into this issue is immediately noticeable. Definitely pick it up to admire it yourselves and let us know in the comments what Future State book you're most looking forward to reading!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Future State (2021): Superman: Worlds of War #1

Jan 19, 2021

Future State Superman Worlds of War #1 is a hefty issue with a lot to offer. Be sure to check out the Superman of Metropolis before picking up this collection.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Future State (2021): Immortal Wonder Woman #2

Feb 16, 2021

If you're a fan of Wonder Woman or phenomenal art, do yourself the kindness of picking this book up!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Future State (2021): Wonder Woman #2

Feb 2, 2021

I tend to stick to digital formats when conducting my reviews, but I had to pick up a physical copy of this issue because I find myself going back to it to admire certain pages. Jones' designs are incredible, Hades and Persephone are amazing and the way Persephone cuts through Hades' hazy panels is fantastic.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Future State (2021): Superman/Wonder Woman #2

Feb 10, 2021

Future State Superman Wonder Woman has been such a treat, absolutely check it out and let us know down in the comments what Future State book has been your favorite!

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Future State (2021): Teen Titans #2

Feb 10, 2021

Though I wish this title didn't feel so much like a setup for a new Teen Titans book, I did enjoy seeing these alternate takes on some of my favorite characters and definitely look forward to seeing more of this universe explored in Teen Titans Academy.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Giant-Size X-Men (2020): Tribute to Wein & Cockrum #1

Sep 30, 2020

This makes for a great tribute piece and each page is gorgeous. I have yet to decide which is my favorite, but Leinil Francis Yu's & Sunny Gho's is a strong contender because I love Cyclops so dang much. Clayton Cowles does a fantastic job of uniting each page and that lends to the flow of the book. This is a great piece to pickup if you can, the artwork is mind-blowing, each page is visually distinct, but never loses momentum. If you find yourself lingering on a page, it'll be to admire how much work went into this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Green Lantern (2021) #1

Apr 6, 2021

I’m hyped to see where Thorne will take these characters and what all is in store for the Corps. Also, gotta say, the variant by Alex Maleev is phenomenal and everyone should take in its majesty.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Green Lantern (2021) #2

May 5, 2021

I have not been this excited for a Green Lantern title in a hot minute. If you pick up this series, you’ll be hooked.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Green Lantern (2021) Annual: 2021

Sep 8, 2021

While not without its hiccups, this issue was a fun read and there are some great actions scenes that are designed really well. If Jessica Cruz has become one of your favorite Lanterns, you should definitely give it a read as it pairs nicely with the Green Lantern #6 issue out this week as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Harley Quinn (2016) #71

Mar 4, 2020

Harley’s series has never been better: accessible, great art and absolutely fun. Humphries and team bring their A-game and deliver an issue worthy of Harleen the Queen.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Harley Quinn (2016) #72

May 12, 2020

Harley Quinn #72 marks for another amusing chapter in the series. If you’re in need of a pick-me-up then you’ll want to be sure to drop in on this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Harley Quinn (2016) #74

Jul 7, 2020

Harley Quinn #74 packs a wallop and ties up this arc for Harley nicely. The team delivers a splendid issue worthy of the Maiden of Mischief.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Harley Quinn (2016) #75

Aug 18, 2020

This final issue blends everything that’s made Humphries’ time with the character phenomenal. If you’ve been following the series thus far, then this will make for an excellent closing chapter and if you have yet to pick up this run, I implore you to check it out. Till next time all you hopers and dreamers, hustlers and schemers!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Harley Quinn (2021) Annual: 2021

Aug 31, 2021

This was a fun issue, I really enjoyed Phillips' approach with Kevin and am excited for this upcoming arc!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hedra #1

Jul 29, 2020

Jesse Lonergan's Hedra is a wonderful comic that'll have you rereading to appreciate its stunning art and incredible story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Home (2021) #1

Apr 14, 2021

Home is one heartbreaking issue, but so lovely and well worth the read. I’m curious to see how its story will unfold in these next four issues, but I’m glad it took the time to establish the relationship between Mercedes and Juan.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
I Walk With Monsters #4

Mar 18, 2021

I Walk with Monsters has been such an interesting series thus far, aside from some pacing issues it’s been a thrilling read and I can’t wait to learn more about these characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Infinite Frontier (2021) #1

Jun 23, 2021

So much has been in the works for the DC multiverse since Rebirth and this series feels like a huge step forward in unravelling the threads that have been laid out. I’m so stoked to read more and can’t wait to have another issue in three weeks.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Infinite Frontier (2021) #2

Jul 13, 2021

This has proven to be quite the entertaining series, my only gripe is that not enough time is being dedicated to each narrative per issue and it’s starting to feel like a meld of film trailers that are truly exciting, but offer little in story progression.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Inkblot #1

Sep 3, 2020

Kubert and Gladd have created a beautiful and intriguing world. I’m definitely left wanting more, but I would’ve loved to have seen more conflict established, though there’s plenty here to bring me back for another issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Jenny Zero #1

May 5, 2021

If you’re looking to try out a new kaiju series, absolutely give Jenny Zero a shot. I feel it’s a series that needs a moment to stretch its legs before stomping its way into your pull list. It’s an intriguing tale for sure and I’ll be happily checking out the next issue to see what direction the creative team will take.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League Dark (2018) #20

Feb 26, 2020

This is a great start to the Parliaments of Life arc for Justice League Dark and makes for a good jumping on point for new readers. The whole team syncs and delivers an incredible issue. I can’t wait to see where the rest of this arc will take us.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Justice League Dark (2018) #21

Mar 25, 2020

Justice League Dark #21 offers another great issue to the series. This book makes use of every panel and page and offers a well-crafted tale. The range of this issue is phenomenal and deserves a spot on your pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Justice League Dark (2018) #22

Jun 2, 2020

It was well worth the wait to finally have the chance to read this issue. The arc, and series, continues to be a visual and narrative treat. The issue draws to a close on a high note and I am stoked to see how “The Parliaments of Life” will conclude.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Justice League Dark (2018) #23

Jun 23, 2020

Justice League Dark continues to be one of DC’s best series, all onboard are constantly putting out tremendous work. This has become my go-to recommendation for anyone looking to jump on a DC book and there’s no better time to start!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Justice League Dark (2018) #24

Jul 21, 2020

This issue serves as a great start for the Justice League Dark’s traverse through the Other Place and their inevitable face off with the Upside Down Man.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Justice League Dark (2018) #25

Aug 25, 2020

Justice League Dark is one of those books you just have to read for yourself. If you love monsters; striking displays of magic; or talking, crime solving chimps this is a comic you’ve got to get into your hands.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Justice League Dark (2018) #26

Sep 22, 2020

DC has been churning out some awesome series and Justice League Dark is most definitely in the top tier. While this issue isn’t best for newcomers, the lead up to this point has been so worth it and deserves to be read from the beginning of the arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League Dark (2018) #28

Nov 25, 2020

There’s magic in these pages and I cannot stress enough how spectacular this series is. If the chance ever presents itself, definitely give this book a shot.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Knock Em Dead #1

Dec 2, 2020

Rahal has created a great character in Pryor; set up one heck of a premise; and Monaco’s, Milla’s, and Esposito’s art is perfect for this series. Knock Em Dead is definitely getting added to my pull list!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Marvel's Voices: Indigenous Voices #1

Nov 19, 2020

I love this issue and I hope we get to see more from these creators. If you're like me and can't wait for more from them, I highly recommend checking out Jeffrey Veregge's current Marvel covers and images of Veregge's exhibition Of Gods and Heroes, Rebecca Roanhorse's fantasy books Trail of Lightning and Black Sun, and Darcie Little Badger's book Elatsoe.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Marvels Snapshot (2020): Captain America #1

Jun 24, 2020

This is an important story to tell, especially in today's climate, and I'm glad they were in the capable hands of Russell, Sabino, Renzi, and Prez. As an admirer of these titanic heroes, I can sometimes get enamored and lost in the superhero universe and forget to take action in ours. Marvels Snapshots: Captain America #1 is a humbling book and deserves to be read.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Marvels Snapshot (2020): X-Men #1

Sep 16, 2020

Please, do not miss out on this lovely story. If you're a fan of Scott Summers or even if you hate the guy, you'll want to read this story, it's one of those stories that could make you reconsider your stance. And if you haven't yet, definitely check out Jay & Miles X-Plain the X-Men, seriously it's the greatest podcast of all time!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Mighty Morphin (2020) #1

Nov 4, 2020

This is such an entertaining issue and I’m excited to see the Rangers move forward with the mysteries that have been set up.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers #55

Oct 21, 2020

This issue makes for some great entertainment. The action is spirited and easy to follow, if your favorite scenes in the show have been the Zord battles, then this is definitely an issue you’ll enjoy.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers #1

Jul 22, 2020

I cannot stress how wonderful of a story this is, for established fans of the series and newcomers alike. Elements of what made the TV series such a joy to watch and what makes the BOOM! Comics so relatable run deep in the veins of this story, if you’re a fan of the Power Rangers in any form you NEED to pick this issue up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Mirka Andolfo's Sweet Paprika #1

Jul 29, 2021

If by chance this is your first foray into Mirka Andolfo's work and you enjoyed this issue, I highly recommend checking out their Instagram. They're always posting some fun pieces and little strips featuring Paprika and Dill.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nightwing (2016) #78

Mar 16, 2021

This issue is a great jumping on point and just a fantastic comic. There’s tons to love here and if you’re going to pick up one book this week, make it Nightwing #78.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Nightwing (2016) #79

Apr 20, 2021

I can’t recommend this series enough, there are a ton of books out this week that are beyond fantastic and you should definitely hop on the Nightwing train if you haven’t already!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Power Rangers (2020) #1

Nov 11, 2020

It’s a wonderful time to be a fan of the Rangers, the future looks bright (from a reader’s perspective) for them and I can’t wait to further explore the dynamic between the Omega Rangers and their newest recruit.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Power Rangers Unlimited: Edge of Darkness #1

Jun 30, 2021

While not the most accessible entry point in the Power Rangers series, this is a great story with lots of fantastic visuals that adds onto the Rangers' mythos.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Power Rangers: Drakkon New Dawn #1

Aug 19, 2020

Burch has set up a great follow-up to Ranger Slayer and adds an air of mystery to the overall story with this new character and incoming threat. The ending of this issue is sure to have readers picking up the next chapter.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #44

Mar 25, 2020

Red Hood Outlaw #44 continues the mystical mission the Outlaws are on and while it makes for a fascinating plot, this issue falls short on its delivery. There are some great scenes between Bizarro and Jason, but not much else offered.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Redshift #1

Mar 26, 2021

Redshift #1 is such a fantastic read, there’s so much to enjoy; the creative team clearly has a love for all things sci-fi and poured it all onto the pages of this series. If you have the opportunity to, definitely visit Scout Comics and give it a read!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Refrigerator Full of Heads (2021) #1

Oct 19, 2021

This book is great, I’m excited to continue the exploration of these weapons and Brody Island and see how the refrigerator portion of the title will come into play. If you’re collecting horror titles to enjoy throughout this month, be sure to add this to your horde.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Robin (2021) #1

Apr 27, 2021

Robin #1 is a decent issue, there are parts to enjoy, but I wish the team had been more experimental with it, relied on background elements to show changes to Damian’s nature and not resorted to trying to draw back readers with a cliffhanger. I am rooting for this series, I love Damian and think there’s a great story to be told.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Sleeping Beauties #1

Jun 24, 2020

If you’ve never read the novel or have been interested to, Sleeping Beauties #1 offers a promising and faithful first chapter to this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Specter Inspectors #1

Feb 3, 2021

Specter Inspectors #1 is off to a strong start and the end promises tons more to come!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Static (2021): Season One #1

Jun 15, 2021

Add Static Season One to your pull list because this promises to be a series worth devouring.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Stillwater (2020) #1

Sep 17, 2020

I love me a good horror title and if you’re of like mind, definitely pickup Stillwater #1, it’s sure to have you hooked by the last page.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Strange Adventures (2020) #1

Mar 4, 2020

I love this issue; I keep finding myself going back to it to read the Rann portions to see what more I can learn about Pykkts and Gerad’s work to see what I can tell about Alanna and Adam’s relationship by their glances. Strange Adventures offers a layered read and is sure to build to an incredible story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Stray Dogs (2021) #1

Feb 24, 2021

If you’re in the market for a new suspense book, Stray Dogs is the book for you, it's a fantastic premise and the art is gorgeous and adds so much weight to the thrill of the story. Plus there are some amazing variant covers, like the Blair Witch and Silence of the Lamb homages that you should definitely check out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Supergirl: Woman of Tomorrow #1

Jun 15, 2021

Supergirl: Woman of Tomorrow #1 is one of the many titles out this week that you should pick up. It’s a poignant and beautifully designed opening chapter and is sure to cascade into essential reading for the Girl of Steel.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Supergirl: Woman of Tomorrow #3

Aug 17, 2021

Gosh this series is phenomenal and it’s amazing to be able to follow along and know this will be a vital series to understanding Supergirl in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Superman (2018) #26

Oct 13, 2020

This was a fun issue to read, I would have loved to have read more from Synmar’s perspective, but seeing Superman try to communicate with it before engaging in a physical confrontation was nice. The “Mythological” arc makes for a fine jumping on point for new readers, so if you’ve been thinking about trying out a Superman book, now’s the time. Let us know down in the comments your thoughts on Synmar and this week’s issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Superman (2018) #29

Mar 9, 2021

This has been such a great read and I can’t wait to see where we’ll go in Jon and Clark’s relationship.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Superman: Son of Kal-El (2021) #1

Jul 28, 2021

This is everything you could ask of a Superman title. If you’re already a fan of Jon or have yet to be introduced to him, definitely pick this one up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Swamp Thing (2021) #1

Mar 2, 2021

This book is wonderful in every horrific way a Swamp Thing book should be.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Tales From The Dark Multiverse: Batman: Hush #1

Nov 4, 2020

If you're a fan of the original Hush storyline or just love alternate universe stories, this is a fun and engaging issue to pick up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: The Last Ronin #1

Oct 28, 2020

This book is awesome, if you’re a fan of the TMNT you probably already have this on your pull list, and you won’t regret it! If you’re still not aboard the cowabunga train, I still say pick it up, this story has such an emotional core and deserves to be read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: The Last Ronin #3

May 26, 2021

I’m loving this series; every panel and splash of ink has worked well thus far and I’m hoping for a real gut punch of an ending. These are arguably my favorite characters of all time and their love for their family is rooted in deep in their cores and I hope it comes through even moreso than it has these last few issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Department of Truth #1

Sep 30, 2020

If you’re a fan of horror or sci-fi then you’re in for quite a read. The ending to this issue definitely has me signed up for this series and I’m all for finding out how deep this rabbit hole goes.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Devil's Red Bride #1

Oct 15, 2020

This was a fantastic issue and if you’re a fan of samurai stories, this is definitely one you’re going to want to pick up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Devil's Red Bride #2

Nov 18, 2020

Girner has crafted one heck of a story and now that I’ve seen a bit more of the fantastic elements, I can’t wait for the next issue. I especially enjoyed the visuals this time around and look forward to seeing more of Ketsuko’s story.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Nice House on the Lake #1

Jun 1, 2021

I love this book and I’m sure the series is going to be a blast to read. I’m so excited to add this to my pull list and seeing all these amazing horror titles produced is such a joy.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Nice House on the Lake #2

Jul 6, 2021

We're only two issues in and I'm already in love with this series. Any fan of horror or any sort of speculative fiction would do well to check out this title.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Silver Coin #1

Apr 8, 2021

Vivid characters and brilliant artwork throughout, Silver Coin is everything I could want from a horror series. I’m beyond thrilled for the next issue after reading its synopsis. Do yourself a solid and add this one to your holds list.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Silver Coin #2

May 13, 2021

If you have the means to, do not miss out on this series. Walsh’s art is superb and these last two stories have instantly become some of my favorite works of horror fiction.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Silver Coin #5

Aug 11, 2021

The Silver Coin is a sobering, horrific read and by far one of the best comic series I’ve ever read. I’m ecstatic to see there’s more tales of the Coin coming from authors like Ram V, Vita Ayala, Joshua Williamson, and Matthew Rosenberg. Let us know in the comments which issue has been your favorite thus far!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Titans United (2021) #1

Sep 14, 2021

This was a fun book and if you’re in the same boat as me, wanting some classic Titans action then definitely pick this one up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
We Only Find Them When They're Dead #1

Sep 2, 2020

We Only Find Them When They’re Dead is off to a wonderful start. Ewing, Di Meo, and Miotti deliver some of their best work. If you’ve enjoyed any of these creators’ previous works you know they are not ones to hold back and this issue is no different.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Wonder Girl (2021) #1

May 19, 2021

This book has a sure spot on my holds list, and I highly encourage any and all to add it as well. The art is beyond magnificent and you can always trust Jones to deliver on an incredible story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Wonder Girl (2021) #2

Jul 6, 2021

Definitely add this series to your pull lists if you’ve enjoyed any of the previous Yara Flor-centric titles and if you have yet to indulge in these wonderful books, today’s a great day to dive in.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Wonder Woman (2016) #752

Feb 26, 2020

If seeing Wonder Woman duke it out with a medieval knight is your jam, then you’ll want to pick up this issue. It’s a fun read, though a tad slow to get into the meat of this arc. The art alone is worth the price of admission for this brawl.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Wonder Woman (2016) #753

Mar 11, 2020

We come to the end of the Iron Maiden arc in this issue, and though it closes this chapter on a fitting note for Diana and Valda, the pacing cuts us from establishing an emotional connection with Valda. The art suffers, possibly from such a rapid release schedule, but still has lots to offer.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Wonder Woman (2016) #755

May 19, 2020

Wonder Woman#755 makes for a solid introduction to ‘The Four Horsewomen’ arc and utilizes Orlando’s previous issues to drive the righteousness of Warmaster’s ambitions.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Wonder Woman (2016) #759

Jul 28, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed this issue and the little details added in by the creative team. Diana is in safe hands and I’m excited to see how she’ll be further developed. If you’re looking to get your Wonder Woman fix before Wonder Woman 1984 (hopefully) drops later this year, then look no further than Wonder Woman #759!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Wonder Woman (2016) #760

Aug 11, 2020

Wonder Woman #760 takes an interesting turn and sets up larger events to come for Diana. This and the previous issue make for a great jumping on point for new readers. And if you’re not new to the series, this is another gorgeous and excellent read in the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Wonder Woman (2016) #762

Sep 8, 2020

Along with Wonder Woman #762 making for a fun and beautifully designed read, it also marks a significant point in the story Tamaki is weaving, so you'll want to be sure to check it out!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wonder Woman (2016) #770

Mar 9, 2021

If you're looking to add some Wonder Woman stories to your pull list this week, definitely check out this issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Wonder Woman (2016) #771

Apr 13, 2021

I love Wonder Woman as much as the next person, but my passion for the character is so elevated as of late from the recent Yara Flor series, Immortal Wonder Woman, and now these utterly fantastic two issues. I cannot praise this run enough, if you have the opportunity to read it, please do so!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Wonder Woman (2016) #773

Jun 8, 2021

I’m excited to see what direction this story will move in, especially with the events at the end of this chapter. Also, we’re not done with Ratatosk! So much to be excited for.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Wonder Woman (2016) #774

Jun 22, 2021

This marks another fun and solid issue from Cloonan and Conrad and as always definitely jump on this series if you haven’t yet!

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Wonder Woman (2016) #777

Aug 11, 2021

Even though I feel this plot has gone a bit lengthy, I still had a great time reading this issue and it was fun to see Diana and Siegfried interact with the Justice Guild.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More