Timothy Quail's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Shoot The Breeze Comics Reviews: 18
8.5Avg. Review Rating

10
Doomsday Clock #7

Sep 27, 2018

If you are already into Doomsday Clock, you will be satisfied with this issue. If you have been upset with the slow moving nature of the story and long wait between issues, now is the time for catching up. The last page of this comic will make you excited for what is to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Doomsday Clock #8

Dec 6, 2018

A great Superman story, that reads well on its own apart from the series. If you have not been reading Doomsday Clock, you could still pick this up and understand what is happening. It may even entice you to backtrack and see what came before. I am loving this series, and Geoff Johns and Gary Frank are pulling off the impossible, a sequel to Watchmen worth reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Heroes In Crisis #1

Sep 26, 2018

This might end up being an amazing event we all look back on fondly. However, this first issue will be upsetting to many people. Personally I think it sold itself quite well, and I am invested in reading more. I need to see how this plays out. A "Crisis" comic has to be controversial to earn its title.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Heroes In Crisis #2

Oct 31, 2018

The stakes have been raised, without killing another character. This issue focuses on the mystery, and it is stronger for it. While I had to recommend the last issue with a big caveat, this is no longer the case. Tom King is known to be able to craft amazing stories, and I feel like this issue signifies he will bring that craft over to "event comics."

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Journey Into Mystery: The Birth Of Krakoa #1

Sep 25, 2018

If you are a fan of horror, the characters in this book, military/war themes, or want a nice 1950s comic throw back you should pick up this book. You don't need any prior knowledge before reading this fun tale.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2018) #8

Sep 21, 2018

This issue will most likely read a bit better in trades, where the fuller story comes together. At the time being this issue is worth picking up for the Batman Who Laughs alone. Some great questions posed here that will hopefully have some great payoff down the line.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2018) #9

Oct 4, 2018

Your mileage may vary with this title. If you want more characterization this issue will not disappoint. If you are looking forward to the next arc, and finding out more of the mysteries presented in the series, then this issue might not be for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League (2018) #10

Oct 17, 2018

If you are really into Aquaman, you might like this issue more than I did. I admit that the general concept is fun, but the execution seems fragmented in this new crossover event. This would have been better focused in Justice League alone, or Aquaman alone. Hopefully something comes of this story, more than the obvious editorial mandate to catch on the Aquaman train while it is hot.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League (2018) #11

Nov 7, 2018

This storyline is aggressively mediocre. The concept is solid but the execution is lacking. Maybe if this was streamlined into Aquaman or Justice League ONLY, it could have been a fun 3-4 issue arc. As it stands it is bloated and putting the momentum of Justice League to a halt. Feel free to skip these issues, unless you want to look at the beautiful artwork.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2018) #12

Nov 21, 2018

This issue turned me around on Drowned Earth. A feat I thought impossible. I had been enjoying the overall story beats but felt everything lacked focus. This issue has far more focus. It loses some of that cohesion in the artistic direction, but overall a really great issue. A must-read for fans of the crossover or Justice League in general.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League (2018): Drowned Earth Special #1

Nov 2, 2018

This is a strange comic. While I would not call this a great comic book, I am still interested in seeing what comes next. The overall plot and beats of the story seem to be heading somewhere exciting. But, the execution is off. Already this event is a bit of a fractured mess moving from title to title. I really feel like some focus would help Drowned Earth stand out. As of right now, this will be a story with some cool moments but mostly forgettable.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mister Miracle #11

Sep 19, 2018

This series has been nothing but a series of hit after hit. A cohesive tale, where each issue deals with a new aspect of the New Gods. This issue will be cited as one of the best to ever feature Darkseid.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mister Miracle #12

Nov 14, 2018

King and Gerads have created something that will be talked about for years. When collected in trade Mister Miracle will stand on the shelves proudly with other essential reading material. This is the best contemporary rendition of The New Gods. Even if you don't have any appreciation for the characters, this story has so much heart and care put into it. It is a deep and important read that challenges the medium as a whole. Issue 12 is a beautiful finale that could not be more perfectly executed. I will miss this book but, like all stories, I can always return. Mister Miracle can never escape this wonderful series, and he is better off for it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Rainbow Brite #2

Nov 16, 2018

What we have here is a really fun comic that kids will love, and adults can enjoy reading to them. The characters and universe appeal to younger sensibilities without it being shallow. Overall, a great all-ages book that does not lean on the nostalgia of the original material.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Tony Stark: Iron Man #4

Oct 22, 2018

A really fun story, that is worth reading. It also works nicely as a jumping on point, even if you missed the previous few issues. Tony Stark is having a really fun world built around him. Hopefully Slott will start building the larger narrative and threat soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Tony Stark: Iron Man #5

Nov 1, 2018

Despite the changes in the art, I could not recommend this book enough. The story is just so much fun. It is rare you pick up a comic that all three acts of a story are perfectly displayed, in roughly twenty pages. If you know nothing about Arno Stark, it won't matter at all. He will be a character you understand and appreciate by the time you put this book down.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Tony Stark: Iron Man #6

Nov 23, 2018

I was enjoying the previous done-in-one stories in the last five issues, but I am happy the creative team is tackling something larger here. This issue is well laid out for new readers, or those who have been with the series from the start. The villain is clear but underutilized at the moment, but I am excited to see more of him next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
X-Men: Black (2018): Mojo #1

Oct 14, 2018

If you like Mojo, or just want a fun X-Men centric comedy, this might be worth picking up. I had a blast reading it, but it also wasn't something that really blew me away. I wish we got to see more of Mojo the internet troll, rather than just two pages of it. Overall, it is a nice addition to the X-Men Black series.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

March

February

More