Timothy Quail's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: On Comics Ground Reviews: 64
8.5Avg. Review Rating

9.0
Action Comics (2016) #1016

Oct 24, 2019

A really great issue of Action Comics that people need to read. It is a fun take on how the public sees Superman. Even though this isn't a new storytelling trick, it is still a great read. It is also nice to finally move on from the Leviathan story and give Action Comics a place of its own. This is a fairly good sign of things to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman (2016) #65

Feb 23, 2019

This crossover is both easily skippable, and an essential read. It's like a fun side story that gives you a bit more on a larger narrative, but if you miss it you will most likely still be caught up. If a fill-in team is needed this might be one of the better ways to handle it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #67

Mar 20, 2019

Knightmares continues, and unlike many arcs in comics, I really don't want this to stop. I could probably read a series of one-shots done by King and a rotating art team, all looking at a different aspect of Batman, forever.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #69

Apr 17, 2019

Tom King's Batman will go down as an important run for the character. This Knightmare arc should be pointed at as to why he really gets the character. This is an essential purchase either in issues or in trade, and I can't wait to see where the run goes next.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2016) #70

May 2, 2019

Another great Batman book that is again hampered by having too many teams. Is it too much to ask for a singular vision in one 20 page book? Other than that, this is a perfectly written conclusion to a unique arc. This Batman book has been one if the DC titles to look out for and the recent Eisner nomination, for Tom King's work on this series, is well deserved.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #73

Jun 19, 2019

For people finding the previous issues too cluttered, this issue is much slower pace. The storytelling here is top notch and where it is possibly going next is very exciting. Entering the final stretch of Tom King's Batman run has been a fascinating read. This is easily the best issue of The Fall and the Fallen arc so far

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman (2016) #77

Aug 22, 2019

The City of Bane continues to be an intriguing arc for Batman. The actual "City of Bane" part of the book is cool and fun. However, the other half of the book about Bruce Wayne sitting around hoping to get back to Gotham doesn't match the excitement the arc needs. Hopefully the momentum in the second plot will eventually build up enough steam to make it all come together.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Batman (2016) #78

Sep 11, 2019

The most skippable comic in Tom King's Batman run. There is nothing new or interesting going on here. If you enjoy Clay Mann art it may be worth the pick up, but that is about all there is to see here. A mostly boring retread through the Batman and Catwoman romance.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2016) #81

Oct 21, 2019

A great issue of Batman all around. If you like Tom King Batman, this is some of the best. City of Bane is a really interesting arc, and it seems to be heading toward something truly great. Seeing this is the final stretch of King's run, it is one hell of a way to go out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2016) #82

Nov 6, 2019

Tom King's Batman run continues to fire on all cylinders, near the end. There is some great moments with Batman and Catwoman here, and readers finally get some resolution to the City of Bane. The last three issues are going to pack one hell of a punch, if it continues this way.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) Annual #4

Oct 30, 2019

Even if you hate Tom King's Batman, you need to read this book. This comic is the shows the perfect understanding of Batman as a character. Batman fans would be remiss to miss out on this comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Doomsday Clock #7

Sep 27, 2018

If you are already into Doomsday Clock, you will be satisfied with this issue. If you have been upset with the slow moving nature of the story and long wait between issues, now is the time for catching up. The last page of this comic will make you excited for what is to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Doomsday Clock #8

Dec 6, 2018

A great Superman story, that reads well on its own apart from the series. If you have not been reading Doomsday Clock, you could still pick this up and understand what is happening. It may even entice you to backtrack and see what came before. I am loving this series, and Geoff Johns and Gary Frank are pulling off the impossible, a sequel to Watchmen worth reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Doomsday Clock #9

Mar 6, 2019

Doomsday Clock continues to silently be one of the best titles that DC puts out. Sadly, issues come out so few and far between that it is hard to keep readers engaged. However, I am hopeful that after the collection, and threads can finally have an impact on the DC universe as a whole, people will re-examine this fantastic book.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Doomsday Clock #11

Sep 5, 2019

The Penultimate issue finally hits the stands and lands with more exposition than anything substantial. If this was the second last chapter in a trade it would flow nicely with the book, but as a single issue, and one with massive delays on either end, it is harder to enjoy. Doomsday Clock will be a worthwhile story someday.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Lantern: Blackstars #1

Nov 8, 2019

Green Lantern Black Stars is an incredible comic. It is almost unfair to other books on the shelf this week, as I am unsure anything else can stand up to the perfection created here.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Guardians of the Galaxy (2019) #2

Feb 25, 2019

Guardians of the Galaxy is one of Marvel's best series now. A great book that is perfectly fine for new readers to pick up. While there are some moments I feel left in the dark, everything essential is clear. A complex story that is dealt with fairly expertly here.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Guardians of the Galaxy (2019) #3

Mar 21, 2019

The new Guardians of the Galaxy series has been a delight so far. In three short issues the stakes are clear, and this is a gripping arc. The only problem is may of the side characters have been left to the wayside and are completely undeveloped. I hope that eventually there will be a reason to care about everyone in this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Guardians of the Galaxy (2019) #4

Apr 19, 2019

Guardians has been a great new pick for me. With zero knowledge of the cosmic universe I am still getting a lot out of this book. While at times I feel in the dark, none of those moments actually harm my understanding of what is going on. With only four issues in, this series is great for new and old readers alike

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Guardians of the Galaxy (2019) #5

May 20, 2019

This first arc in Guardians of the Galaxy has been a lot of fun. Now that we are nearing the end of it I am exciting to see how it wraps up and what comes next. My only lingering issue is that there are still aspects of the characters here that are obscured for new readers. They are generally minor but there is very little reason to care for them which does hurt this as a team book.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Guardians of the Galaxy (2019) #6

Jun 24, 2019

Thanos' Return arc comes to a close here. Sadly, the story here ends abruptly, even though it is action focused. Regardless, the team here has set up something that still leaves the reader ready for more, even if this comic was underwhelming.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Guardians of the Galaxy (2019) #8

Aug 23, 2019

Guardians of the Galaxy finally answers the question of where Rocket Racoon went. The answer is as satisfying and emotionally impactful as anyone could have ever hoped for.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Guardians of the Galaxy (2019) #9

Sep 21, 2019

Cory Smith continues to bring life to this book. I may have found the story light but Smith put so much life into what little he had.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Guardians of the Galaxy (2019) #10

Oct 23, 2019

The Guardians of the Galaxy, and their new title, is almost at an end. Thankfully, this comic has moved from strength to strength as each arc has been better than the last. Rocket Racoon's reintroduction into the series has been the biggest point of joy and sorrow and it is impossible not to want to see how this plays out.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Guardians of the Galaxy (2019) Annual #1

Jun 7, 2019

An annual to a comic featuring no one from the comic, and tying into events that have not been published yet. Despite the mess of the way this book is handled there is some worthwhile material here. If you are a new Guardians reader you may be confused on why the characters in this book matter, but I bet you will still find something to enjoy. If you are familiar with Marvel Cosmic there may be more in here for you. Personally, I feel this comic is worth picking up for Tini Howard's section alone.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Heroes In Crisis #1

Sep 26, 2018

This might end up being an amazing event we all look back on fondly. However, this first issue will be upsetting to many people. Personally I think it sold itself quite well, and I am invested in reading more. I need to see how this plays out. A "Crisis" comic has to be controversial to earn its title.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Heroes In Crisis #2

Oct 31, 2018

The stakes have been raised, without killing another character. This issue focuses on the mystery, and it is stronger for it. While I had to recommend the last issue with a big caveat, this is no longer the case. Tom King is known to be able to craft amazing stories, and I feel like this issue signifies he will bring that craft over to "event comics."

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Heroes In Crisis #6

Feb 27, 2019

This is a strong issue of Heroes in Crisis. But its strength is also its weakness. This is a story of two Tom Kings. One that has is creating an interesting take on Sanctuary and backstory, and another who is hampered with a slow moving mystery. Issues like this only highlight the amazing potential of what this series could have been. As it stands this is a peak in a sadly uneven event. I truly hope the last 3 issues take the revelations and character development created here and move with them.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Journey Into Mystery: The Birth Of Krakoa #1

Sep 25, 2018

If you are a fan of horror, the characters in this book, military/war themes, or want a nice 1950s comic throw back you should pick up this book. You don't need any prior knowledge before reading this fun tale.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League (2018) #2

Apr 18, 2019

An interesting sidebar into the origins of the DC Universe. This is a dense comic that will not have you at the edge of your seat, but will fill in some much needed blanks in the Justice League's run. Not all choices seem to benefit the new status quo, but overall this comic shows one step back and a few steps forward. There is more to like here than not.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2018) #8

Sep 21, 2018

This issue will most likely read a bit better in trades, where the fuller story comes together. At the time being this issue is worth picking up for the Batman Who Laughs alone. Some great questions posed here that will hopefully have some great payoff down the line.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2018) #9

Oct 4, 2018

Your mileage may vary with this title. If you want more characterization this issue will not disappoint. If you are looking forward to the next arc, and finding out more of the mysteries presented in the series, then this issue might not be for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League (2018) #10

Oct 17, 2018

If you are really into Aquaman, you might like this issue more than I did. I admit that the general concept is fun, but the execution seems fragmented in this new crossover event. This would have been better focused in Justice League alone, or Aquaman alone. Hopefully something comes of this story, more than the obvious editorial mandate to catch on the Aquaman train while it is hot.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League (2018) #11

Nov 7, 2018

This storyline is aggressively mediocre. The concept is solid but the execution is lacking. Maybe if this was streamlined into Aquaman or Justice League ONLY, it could have been a fun 3-4 issue arc. As it stands it is bloated and putting the momentum of Justice League to a halt. Feel free to skip these issues, unless you want to look at the beautiful artwork.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2018) #12

Nov 21, 2018

This issue turned me around on Drowned Earth. A feat I thought impossible. I had been enjoying the overall story beats but felt everything lacked focus. This issue has far more focus. It loses some of that cohesion in the artistic direction, but overall a really great issue. A must-read for fans of the crossover or Justice League in general.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League (2018) #14

Dec 19, 2018

Justice League jumps right into another arc. This time everything revolves around Thanagar prime and Hawkgirl. It is great to see what Martian Manhunter, Hawkgirl, and John Stewart have been up to since we last left them. Part one will have most people interested to see what comes next.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League (2018) #15

Jan 9, 2019

After coming from the very disappointing Drowned Earth, the team here hits the ground running. Already two issues into this arc, and it is becoming a must read. The ability to pull off a story centered around the continuity of Hawkman is an amazing feat. Snyder and Tynion IV are building toward something special here and you should not miss it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2018) #16

Jan 23, 2019

The arc on Thanagar Prime was densely packed but did not overstay its welcome. A great little arc that delivered more meaningful storytelling than the drawn out and clumsy "Drowned Earth." It is clear that Justice League is back on track and feels like an "event book" again. While the far reaches of the storytelling may be a lot for some to handle, and the retcons fairly substantial, overall this comic is a lynchpin in DC's lineup and a must-read for anyone who has a DC comic on their pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League (2018) #17

Feb 6, 2019

A must read for anyone keeping up with Justice League or anyone that is into Martian Manhunter as a character. Scott Snyder is no longer wasting time with this comic as he was doing before and during Drowned Earth. The payoffs and answers to mysteries found in this book are griping. However, I would like them to find a singular artistic team for at least one issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League (2018) #18

Feb 20, 2019

This issue is a fairly essential read for the Justice League series as a whole. A lot is learned in the pages of this comic, and Lex Luthor continues to become a very interesting character here. The only thing holding it back is the art that can make this comic seem boring at times.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League (2018) #19

Mar 6, 2019

Another start to another great arc in another great Justice League run. I am certain that people will be talking about this Justice League series in the same way people hold up Grant Morrison's JLA run. I can't wait to read more from Snyder and see more from Jorge Jimenez. This is a must read for anyone interested in the DC universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League (2018) #21

Apr 3, 2019

Justice League continues into the best arc yet. While the series has had some misses, it is picking up steam here. Without a doubt this is a DC comic you should be reading, and Scott Snyder and Jorge Jimenez are putting out one of the best books on the stands today. The Sixth Dimension has been fascinating so far and I can't wait to see what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League (2018) #22

May 1, 2019

After watching Avengers Endgame this week, the Justice League comic is quietly putting out their own inadvertent reaction to it. It is every bit as time bending, fan servicey, and exciting as that film. If you are interested in the DC Universe at all you need to be reading this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League (2018) #24

May 16, 2019

This event is continuously impressing me. I feel like it is more of a "Crisis" level DC comic than anything else on the stands right now. Justice League is one of the must buy books if you are into DC.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League (2018) #26

Jun 20, 2019

This week's Justice League is a great comic to pick up. Everything you need to know that is to come on the title is contained here. While this is a stop gap in the story so far, it does not completely go without moments of intrigue. In particular, if you are a Martian Manhunter fan this comic shows an understanding of the character that few have hit.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League (2018) #30

Aug 28, 2019

A great jumping on point for new readers. With Doom War starting now there is no better time to become invested in the series. While this issue has a lot to recap it still sets the stakes for things to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League (2018) #31

Sep 4, 2019

This issue has been long awaited by fans. The JSA has returned and the first hints to why they were gone start to become clear. The Justice/Doom War is shaping up to be one excited arc and something readers of the DC Universe shouldn't miss.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League (2018) #33

Oct 3, 2019

The Justice/Doom War is on its fourth part. While there are many exciting things happening in this comic, somehow it reads drier than expected. While it is a good comic overall, there are higher expectations when it comes to the team handling this title and what they have pulled off before.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League (2018) #34

Oct 18, 2019

A good Justice League book with inconsistent art. At times this comic looks great, and other times it is down right ugly. Thankfully, Tynion IV and Snyder save it with their writing, and The Justice/Doom War seems to be going in some interesting places.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2018) #35

Nov 8, 2019

The Justice/Doom War continues. This issue is a bit of a stop gap that allows the League to catch their breath, as The Legion of Doom destroys an entire universe. At the end of this book you will wonder how The Justice League will get out of this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League (2018) Annual #1

Jan 31, 2019

This is what an annual should be, an extension of the current comic but turned up to 11. In many ways it feels like a great season finale, but luckily we don't have to wait long for the next issue. Scott Snyder and James Tynion IV are creating a Justice League run for the ages.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League (2018): Drowned Earth Special #1

Nov 2, 2018

This is a strange comic. While I would not call this a great comic book, I am still interested in seeing what comes next. The overall plot and beats of the story seem to be heading somewhere exciting. But, the execution is off. Already this event is a bit of a fractured mess moving from title to title. I really feel like some focus would help Drowned Earth stand out. As of right now, this will be a story with some cool moments but mostly forgettable.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mister Miracle #11

Sep 19, 2018

This series has been nothing but a series of hit after hit. A cohesive tale, where each issue deals with a new aspect of the New Gods. This issue will be cited as one of the best to ever feature Darkseid.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mister Miracle #12

Nov 14, 2018

King and Gerads have created something that will be talked about for years. When collected in trade Mister Miracle will stand on the shelves proudly with other essential reading material. This is the best contemporary rendition of The New Gods. Even if you don't have any appreciation for the characters, this story has so much heart and care put into it. It is a deep and important read that challenges the medium as a whole. Issue 12 is a beautiful finale that could not be more perfectly executed. I will miss this book but, like all stories, I can always return. Mister Miracle can never escape this wonderful series, and he is better off for it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Rainbow Brite #2

Nov 16, 2018

What we have here is a really fun comic that kids will love, and adults can enjoy reading to them. The characters and universe appeal to younger sensibilities without it being shallow. Overall, a great all-ages book that does not lean on the nostalgia of the original material.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Second Coming #2

Aug 19, 2019

Second Coming is a must read and will be yet another strong book coming from Ahoy. Pace and Russell are clearly working on a labor of love here. While the premise may seem offensive, it is actually a very well thought out piece on Christian teachings.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Second Coming #3

Sep 21, 2019

Second Coming continues to be an amazing book. Ahoy Comics made the smart choice in picking up this series. Anyone who feels that the concept of this book could be disrespectful will be pleasantly surprised by the intelligence that team here handles the material.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Second Coming #4

Oct 31, 2019

Second Coming is one of the best books on the stands. Regardless of your faith or lack of it entirely) this is a book that needs to be read. The team on this book is firing on all cylinders and creating something truly magical. The messages it teaches are important, yet it remains entertaining, and funny. This book will break your heart and make you smile.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Superman (2018) #17

Nov 13, 2019

Superman is getting ready to let the world know he is Clark Kent. In this comic he goes around coming to the realization of this choice. "Truth" is a theme throughout the issue, and Bendis is trying to give a reason for him to out his identity to the world.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Tony Stark: Iron Man #4

Oct 22, 2018

A really fun story, that is worth reading. It also works nicely as a jumping on point, even if you missed the previous few issues. Tony Stark is having a really fun world built around him. Hopefully Slott will start building the larger narrative and threat soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Tony Stark: Iron Man #5

Nov 1, 2018

Despite the changes in the art, I could not recommend this book enough. The story is just so much fun. It is rare you pick up a comic that all three acts of a story are perfectly displayed, in roughly twenty pages. If you know nothing about Arno Stark, it won't matter at all. He will be a character you understand and appreciate by the time you put this book down.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Tony Stark: Iron Man #6

Nov 23, 2018

I was enjoying the previous done-in-one stories in the last five issues, but I am happy the creative team is tackling something larger here. This issue is well laid out for new readers, or those who have been with the series from the start. The villain is clear but underutilized at the moment, but I am excited to see more of him next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Tony Stark: Iron Man #7

Jan 3, 2019

Tony Stark Iron Man is a series that seems to be going from strength to strength, and this latest major arc is a real page turner. The Controller is becoming a villain with a real threat level now, and his plan is dark and disturbing. This has the making of a definitive Iron Man story and run.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
X-Men: Black (2018): Mojo #1

Oct 14, 2018

If you like Mojo, or just want a fun X-Men centric comedy, this might be worth picking up. I had a blast reading it, but it also wasn't something that really blew me away. I wish we got to see more of Mojo the internet troll, rather than just two pages of it. Overall, it is a nice addition to the X-Men Black series.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

November

October

More