Ethan Maddux's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Sequential Planet Reviews: 27
7.8Avg. Review Rating

9.0
Action Comics (2016) #1006

Jan 3, 2019

The art is wonderful, the dialogue is on-point, and Superman is just straight up fun again. This run is possiblyone for the history books.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #13

Jan 16, 2019

Amazing Spider-Man #13 puts a cap on another very strong arc, though it's not the best we've seen from this team. It has that patented Nick Spencer humor, paired with some wonderful art by Ottley that makes the book sing. The two work together brilliantly, but the plot feels somewhat forced. Despite that, strong characterizations and storytelling still hold the book to a level that is more than worth your time.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #16

Feb 28, 2019

Two strong artists and an interesting story direction make this issue a great jumping-on point. There's a lot of setup here, but Nick Spencer's track record proves that we'll be better off for it in the long-run.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Aquaman (2016) #43

Dec 20, 2018

It's not without its problems, but it holds my interest due to the total swerve in the opposite direction it takes from Abnett's run. It's got some surprisingly great art and a promising set of new characters. If DeConnick manages to subvert some of the tired tropes I'm expecting to crop up, I can see a very fun and different Aquaman book coming out of this.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Batman (2016) #66

Mar 7, 2019

Batman #66, as a single issue, is a joy. Pair Tom King doing what he does best with Jorge Fornes, an out of the blue modern master, and you get magic. This book takes a somewhat middling story arc and injects life into it. Do yourself a favor and give it a shot.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Batman (2016) #67

Mar 20, 2019

This outstanding action sequence stretches across twenty pages, and it leaves you empty. This is an issue I won't soon forget, and that is equal parts due to my frustration and my adoration.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Daredevil (2015) #610

Oct 31, 2018

Daredevil #610 is another strong entry in Charles Soule's run. Its strength lies in Noto's art but it is occasionally let down by Soule's over-expository captions.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.3
Daredevil (2015) #612

Nov 29, 2018

This arc has been a stellar reflection on what Daredevil has gone through in the last three years, but a somewhat lackluster one when asked to stand on its own two feet.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Daredevil (2019) #1

Feb 7, 2019

Daredevil #1 is a potentially great book that has blemishes in the form of pacing. Regardless, it has wonderful art and is clearly very in tune with the character of Matt Murdock.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Detective Comics (2016) #1000

Mar 27, 2019

Detective Comics #1,000 is a wonderful celebration of Batman. Every story is worth reading, and the best of them will stick with you for a long time. Even those that are more forgettable offer something, whether it's a classic Batman artist or an interesting perspective. This issue works because it manages to be more than a number, it's a labor of love.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Friendly Neighborhood Spider-Man (2019) #1

Jan 10, 2019

A top-notch introduction to a new series. Strong characterizations and art make this a must-read.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Friendly Neighborhood Spider-Man (2019) #5

Apr 11, 2019

Friendly Neighborhood Spider-Man #5 is only let down by sky-high expectations, which isn't such a bad thing considering it set that bar itself. Taken as a single issue, this is both a heartwarming and heart-wrenching story that digs deep into who Peter Parker is. It's obvious Tom Taylor loves Spider-Man for the right reasons, because this book feels exactly right. Plus, in an era where Spider-Man artists are at the top of their game, Yildiray Cinar more than holds his own and delivers a beautiful book.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Green Lantern (2018) #1

Nov 8, 2018

The Green Lantern is a must-buy for Green Lantern Fans. It's fun, its weird, and surprisingly hilarious. If Morrison and Sharp can keep this up we'll have a modern classic on our hands.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Green Lantern (2018) #5

Mar 7, 2019

The Green Lantern #5 is Grant Morrison, Liam Sharp, and DC Comics in general operating at peak performance. Everything works, and no ideas are explained too much or too little. The character work is as stunning as the art and serves to remind you why we love comics in the first place. If you're not reading this book, read it. Then read it again.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Guardians of the Galaxy (2019) #2

Feb 21, 2019

Guardians of the Galaxy #2 is not just a step up from the previous issue, it's a step up for its namesake. Cates and Shaw demonstrate a level of craft that is almost unrivaled in superhero comics at the moment. Blending the absurdity of Cosmic Marvel and the genuine human emotion of an indie book, this creative team demonstrates exactly why a few years from now they'll be the biggest names at Marvel.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Little Bird #2

Apr 16, 2019

Little Bird #2 is nearly perfect in terms of comics storytelling. It's obviously a book made from a passion for the medium, and it utilizes the strengths to craft a story that could only be told in comics. It's a book with a vision, and while much of it will likely sail over readers heads as it does mine, it doesn't make it feel any less special. Little Bird demands your attention and deserves every bit of it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Marvel Knights: 20th #2

Nov 22, 2018

Marvel Knights #2 still hasn't quite inspired the confidence in me that this creative team should have by this point. While it is quite fun to read, it leaves you feeling empty and unsure. With Henrichon off pencils next issue, I'm going to need to see a significant improvement in the story department to get me to stick with this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Marvel Team-Up (2019) #1

Apr 3, 2019

Marvel Team-up #1 is wonderful. It contains some of the best art at Marvel right now, which is amplified by the flip-book format. The occasional eye-rolling dialogue aside, the writing is very strong, and puts its faith in the artist to make it sing. This is the kind of book that reminds us why we love superheroes and comic books in the first place.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Miles Morales: Spider-Man (2018) #1

Dec 13, 2018

A solid cliffhanger and wonderful art will leave you wanting more from what may end up being Ahmed's best work since Black Bolt.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Outer Darkness #1

Nov 5, 2018

Outer Darkness is a fun sci-fi book and well worth a look, but it will need to flesh out its concepts in an interesting way to continue to be worth your time.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Prodigy #1

Dec 4, 2018

The art by Albuquerque is the best thing the book has going for it, and if you just want to gawk at some pretty pages, this is a good book to do it with. I don't regret reading it, but I can't say I'm particularly compelled to pick up the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Shazam! (2018) #1

Dec 5, 2018

With witty dialogue and amazing art, Shazam is making its case for finally being a top book at DC. If you like the character, the creative team, or just fine storytelling in general, you owe it to yourself to give this one a shot.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Shazam! (2018) #2

Jan 24, 2019

This book takes you on a fun journey, but it forgets that to truly make that journey special, you first need to know the characters you're following.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Superman (2018) #5

Nov 15, 2018

Brian Micheal Bendis hangs another solid issue of Superman on his belt. Strong characterizations and fantastic Ivan Reis art make this worth picking up, despite its somewhat lacking plot.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2018) #8

Feb 13, 2019

Superman #8 easily steps above many of the issues in this run. Effortlessly blending two plots, Bendis, Reis, and Peterson deliver a very fun chapter of this Superman run.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Superman (2018) #9

Mar 13, 2019

Bendis has a strong handle on these characters, and the art team is constantly upping their game. If you've liked this run so far, then there is plenty for you to enjoy here.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Young Justice (2019) #1

Jan 9, 2019

Bendis and Gleason's enthusiasm seeps through the panel borders, and that enthusiasm was enough to improve my mood going forward in my day as I kept thinking about it. I want more. Young Justice #1 achieves every goal it sets for itself, and that is by my definition,a perfect comic.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

April

March

More