Ethan Maddux's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Sequential Planet Reviews: 8
7.4Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Daredevil (2015) #610

Oct 31, 2018

Daredevil #610 is another strong entry in Charles Soule's run. Its strength lies in Noto's art but it is occasionally let down by Soule's over-expository captions.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.3
Daredevil (2015) #612

Nov 29, 2018

This arc has been a stellar reflection on what Daredevil has gone through in the last three years, but a somewhat lackluster one when asked to stand on its own two feet.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Green Lantern (2018) #1

Nov 8, 2018

The Green Lantern is a must-buy for Green Lantern Fans. It's fun, its weird, and surprisingly hilarious. If Morrison and Sharp can keep this up we'll have a modern classic on our hands.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Marvel Knights: 20th #2

Nov 22, 2018

Marvel Knights #2 still hasn't quite inspired the confidence in me that this creative team should have by this point. While it is quite fun to read, it leaves you feeling empty and unsure. With Henrichon off pencils next issue, I'm going to need to see a significant improvement in the story department to get me to stick with this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Outer Darkness #1

Nov 5, 2018

Outer Darkness is a fun sci-fi book and well worth a look, but it will need to flesh out its concepts in an interesting way to continue to be worth your time.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Prodigy #1

Dec 4, 2018

The art by Albuquerque is the best thing the book has going for it, and if you just want to gawk at some pretty pages, this is a good book to do it with. I don't regret reading it, but I can't say I'm particularly compelled to pick up the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Shazam! (2018) #1

Dec 5, 2018

With witty dialogue and amazing art, Shazam is making its case for finally being a top book at DC. If you like the character, the creative team, or just fine storytelling in general, you owe it to yourself to give this one a shot.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Superman (2018) #5

Nov 15, 2018

Brian Micheal Bendis hangs another solid issue of Superman on his belt. Strong characterizations and fantastic Ivan Reis art make this worth picking up, despite its somewhat lacking plot.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

December

November

More