Ethan Maddux's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Sequential Planet Reviews: 52
7.9Avg. Review Rating

9.0
Action Comics (2016) #1006

Jan 3, 2019

The art is wonderful, the dialogue is on-point, and Superman is just straight up fun again. This run is possiblyone for the history books.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Action Comics (2016) #1010

Apr 24, 2019

Action Comics continues to impress. Bendis and Epting expertly demonstrate a side of Superman comics that is sorely underrepresented and leaves you craving more each month. With incredible art and a strong sense of character, there's no reason you shouldn't give this issue a shot.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Action Comics (2016) #1011

May 22, 2019

Action Comics #1,011 is one of the strongest issues yet. Balancing the grim with the whacky, Bendis and Epting deliver a Superman book that feels as familiar as it does unique. It's a delicate balance, and they walk it with care.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #13

Jan 16, 2019

Amazing Spider-Man #13 puts a cap on another very strong arc, though it's not the best we've seen from this team. It has that patented Nick Spencer humor, paired with some wonderful art by Ottley that makes the book sing. The two work together brilliantly, but the plot feels somewhat forced. Despite that, strong characterizations and storytelling still hold the book to a level that is more than worth your time.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #16

Feb 28, 2019

Two strong artists and an interesting story direction make this issue a great jumping-on point. There's a lot of setup here, but Nick Spencer's track record proves that we'll be better off for it in the long-run.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.3
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #22

May 31, 2019

I didn't dislike reading this issue at all. It's still a strong character piece for Kraven and Spider-Man with great art, it just lacks much more beyond that. As an issue, it's good. As a culmination of 11 issues, it's somewhat lackluster.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #26

Jul 26, 2019

Amazing Spider-Man #26 is a hilarious issue that's full of heart. While it doesn't do much to push the "main plot" forward, it does deliver a worthy Superior Foes successor. Kev Walker makes a wonderful addition to the team whose style doesn't feel far removed from those who came before. While the book does spend a bit too much time on recaps, it doesn't significantly hinder its quality. This book has always been a blast, and that hasn't changed.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Aquaman (2016) #43

Dec 20, 2018

It's not without its problems, but it holds my interest due to the total swerve in the opposite direction it takes from Abnett's run. It's got some surprisingly great art and a promising set of new characters. If DeConnick manages to subvert some of the tired tropes I'm expecting to crop up, I can see a very fun and different Aquaman book coming out of this.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Batman (2016) #66

Mar 7, 2019

Batman #66, as a single issue, is a joy. Pair Tom King doing what he does best with Jorge Fornes, an out of the blue modern master, and you get magic. This book takes a somewhat middling story arc and injects life into it. Do yourself a favor and give it a shot.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Batman (2016) #67

Mar 20, 2019

This outstanding action sequence stretches across twenty pages, and it leaves you empty. This is an issue I won't soon forget, and that is equal parts due to my frustration and my adoration.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Batman (2016) #70

May 1, 2019

This issue feels like a return to form for Batman. While Knightmares had good individual issues, it ultimately felt like it killed the pacing of the book. This issue makes it all feel worth it though, by focusing on what King does best. He says a lot with a little and gives you something to think about rather than handing you all the answers on a platter. Plus, it's fun to watch Batman punch people.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Batman (2016) #74

Jul 14, 2019

Batman #74 is an emotionally satisfying culmination of many issues of build-up. It's filled to the brim with thoughts and ideas and is executed wonderfully by a creative dream team. This issue answers the questions that it needs to answer and leaves the others alone. It's issues like this that demonstrate why sometimes it's better to use restraint in storytelling rather that going all out on everything. It makes for a raw and real issue of a Batman comic book.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman and the Outsiders (2019) #1

May 10, 2019

Batman and the Outsiders #1is a strong start. It's not blowing any doors off their hinges yet, but the groundwork that's being built is solid. It's got great characterizations and dialogue, with hints of an interesting plot boiling beneath the surface. Given time, this book could become something very special.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Black Hammer/Justice League: Hammer of Justice! #1

Jun 24, 2019

Black Hammer/Justice League #1 may not tread a whole lot of new ground, but the old ground feels just as fresh. The two properties are handled precisely and allow new readers to blend right in without feeling that they're missing out on something. While much of the actual crossover's quality will be dependent on the following issues, this is still a rock-solid start. It's the most fun I've had reading Justice League in quite some time.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Daredevil (2015) #610

Oct 31, 2018

Daredevil #610 is another strong entry in Charles Soule's run. Its strength lies in Noto's art but it is occasionally let down by Soule's over-expository captions.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.3
Daredevil (2015) #612

Nov 29, 2018

This arc has been a stellar reflection on what Daredevil has gone through in the last three years, but a somewhat lackluster one when asked to stand on its own two feet.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Daredevil (2019) #1

Feb 7, 2019

Daredevil #1 is a potentially great book that has blemishes in the form of pacing. Regardless, it has wonderful art and is clearly very in tune with the character of Matt Murdock.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Detective Comics (2016) #1000

Mar 27, 2019

Detective Comics #1,000 is a wonderful celebration of Batman. Every story is worth reading, and the best of them will stick with you for a long time. Even those that are more forgettable offer something, whether it's a classic Batman artist or an interesting perspective. This issue works because it manages to be more than a number, it's a labor of love.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Event Leviathan #1

Jun 13, 2019

Despite its lackluster start, Event Leviathan still has plenty of potential. Alex Maleev's art is still a joy to look at, and the dialogue is mostly solid. This is not a poorly constructed issue. It's just (excuse the pun) an uneventful one.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Farmhand #10

Jul 23, 2019

Farmhand #10 is an emotionally satisfying conclusion to this arc. I appreciate how understated it is as an ending. It could have tried to go big and cracked under its own weight, but it instead opts to go small. The emotional climax to the story is just a conversation between two people in a bed, and it's wonderful. Farmhand is a unique and incredibly well-crafted book, and it would be in your best interest to catch up before season three.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Friendly Neighborhood Spider-Man (2019) #1

Jan 10, 2019

A top-notch introduction to a new series. Strong characterizations and art make this a must-read.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Friendly Neighborhood Spider-Man (2019) #5

Apr 11, 2019

Friendly Neighborhood Spider-Man #5 is only let down by sky-high expectations, which isn't such a bad thing considering it set that bar itself. Taken as a single issue, this is both a heartwarming and heart-wrenching story that digs deep into who Peter Parker is. It's obvious Tom Taylor loves Spider-Man for the right reasons, because this book feels exactly right. Plus, in an era where Spider-Man artists are at the top of their game, Yildiray Cinar more than holds his own and delivers a beautiful book.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Green Lantern (2018) #1

Nov 8, 2018

The Green Lantern is a must-buy for Green Lantern Fans. It's fun, its weird, and surprisingly hilarious. If Morrison and Sharp can keep this up we'll have a modern classic on our hands.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Green Lantern (2018) #5

Mar 7, 2019

The Green Lantern #5 is Grant Morrison, Liam Sharp, and DC Comics in general operating at peak performance. Everything works, and no ideas are explained too much or too little. The character work is as stunning as the art and serves to remind you why we love comics in the first place. If you're not reading this book, read it. Then read it again.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Green Lantern (2018) #7

May 1, 2019

The Green Lantern #7 is, at the end of the day, a successful experiment. It perfects the combination of prose and comics storytelling and makes the two feel like partners. It does what Morrison does best, and re-contextualizes what you knew about a character that you have known for years. If you like comics that play with the form, you're not likely to find a better example from Marvel and DC than you are with this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Lantern (2018) Annual #1

Aug 1, 2019

The Green Lantern Annual #1 is a fun, though slightly underwhelming issue. My biggest problem is that the art isn't up to par with what I've come to expect. Additionally, the story is a bit more grounded than it usually is, and as a result, feels a bit more standard. Regardless, it's still a solid superhero story full of great moments.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Guardians of the Galaxy (2019) #2

Feb 21, 2019

Guardians of the Galaxy #2 is not just a step up from the previous issue, it's a step up for its namesake. Cates and Shaw demonstrate a level of craft that is almost unrivaled in superhero comics at the moment. Blending the absurdity of Cosmic Marvel and the genuine human emotion of an indie book, this creative team demonstrates exactly why a few years from now they'll be the biggest names at Marvel.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Guardians of the Galaxy (2019) #5

May 16, 2019

Whatever grievances I may have with the plot I can easily dismiss due to the high quality of the craftsmanship. The character banter never fails to be a high point, and the book's unique identity always keeps me engaged.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.3
Invisible Woman (2019) #1

Jul 14, 2019

Invisible Woman #1, though flawed, is quite fun. While I think the art isn't quite up to snuff, it certainly has its moments in which De Iulis shows off real talent. With that said, I'm ecstatic that Waid still writes a compelling Sue Storm. It feels that he only just stepped away from the character for a brief moment rather than nearly two decades. I'm very much looking forward to seeing what comes of this mini, as it's about time Sue got what she's due.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Little Bird #2

Apr 16, 2019

Little Bird #2 is nearly perfect in terms of comics storytelling. It's obviously a book made from a passion for the medium, and it utilizes the strengths to craft a story that could only be told in comics. It's a book with a vision, and while much of it will likely sail over readers heads as it does mine, it doesn't make it feel any less special. Little Bird demands your attention and deserves every bit of it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Little Bird #3

May 10, 2019

Little Bird #3 fires on all cylinders and lands every shot it takes. It's impressive world-building and story direction are products of the creators' masterful understanding of the medium. Books like this are rare, and you'd be remiss to pass this one up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Little Bird #4

Jun 19, 2019

Combining disturbing scenarios with a compelling tale of redemption and rebellion, Poelgeest and Bertram deliver another utterly compelling piece of the puzzle. All they have left to do is stick the landing, and I have complete faith that they'll pull it off.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Little Bird #5

Jul 17, 2019

The worst thing about Little Bird #5 is that I no longer get to gush about it every month. The writing and art are, as always, perfectly in sync. One simply does not work without the other, and that's not due to lack of talent on any creator's part, it's due to the storytelling being so deeply intertwined between the team. This is peak comics, folks. Books like this are the reason we continue to try to give new creators a shot, because there's always that chance that you'll find a Little Bird.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Lois Lane (2019) #1

Jul 5, 2019

Lois Lane #1 is a book I enjoy more and more as time passes. It sets up multiple intriguing plot threads that are magnified by stellar character work. It's then all tied together by Mike Perkins and Paul Mounts' appropriately moody art. Oftentimes in the comic book community, you'll be confronted with the sentiment that Superman is important because he's the character we wish could be real right now. This book sets out to explore why what we may need more than a Superman is a Lois Lane.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Marvel Knights: 20th #2

Nov 22, 2018

Marvel Knights #2 still hasn't quite inspired the confidence in me that this creative team should have by this point. While it is quite fun to read, it leaves you feeling empty and unsure. With Henrichon off pencils next issue, I'm going to need to see a significant improvement in the story department to get me to stick with this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Marvel Team-Up (2019) #1

Apr 3, 2019

Marvel Team-up #1 is wonderful. It contains some of the best art at Marvel right now, which is amplified by the flip-book format. The occasional eye-rolling dialogue aside, the writing is very strong, and puts its faith in the artist to make it sing. This is the kind of book that reminds us why we love superheroes and comic books in the first place.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Miles Morales: Spider-Man (2018) #1

Dec 13, 2018

A solid cliffhanger and wonderful art will leave you wanting more from what may end up being Ahmed's best work since Black Bolt.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Outer Darkness #1

Nov 5, 2018

Outer Darkness is a fun sci-fi book and well worth a look, but it will need to flesh out its concepts in an interesting way to continue to be worth your time.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Prodigy #1

Dec 4, 2018

The art by Albuquerque is the best thing the book has going for it, and if you just want to gawk at some pretty pages, this is a good book to do it with. I don't regret reading it, but I can't say I'm particularly compelled to pick up the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Sea of Stars #2

Aug 6, 2019

Sea of Stars #2 is another pretty fun issue. Stephen Green's art is spectacular. Aaron and Hallum's character work is expectedly effective. While I would like to see more plot progression next time, it didn't bother me during the read. There's just too much to enjoy.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Shazam! (2018) #1

Dec 5, 2018

With witty dialogue and amazing art, Shazam is making its case for finally being a top book at DC. If you like the character, the creative team, or just fine storytelling in general, you owe it to yourself to give this one a shot.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Shazam! (2018) #2

Jan 24, 2019

This book takes you on a fun journey, but it forgets that to truly make that journey special, you first need to know the characters you're following.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Silver Surfer: Black #1

Jun 13, 2019

This is an example of two creators that are perfectly in sync, so much so that trying to separate their contributions to the book is nigh impossible. If you're interested in the craft of comics, there's not many better places to look for an example of the collaborative effort involved. Alternatively, if you're just interested in some wild space adventures; this book is appropriately wild.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Superman (2018) #5

Nov 15, 2018

Brian Micheal Bendis hangs another solid issue of Superman on his belt. Strong characterizations and fantastic Ivan Reis art make this worth picking up, despite its somewhat lacking plot.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2018) #8

Feb 13, 2019

Superman #8 easily steps above many of the issues in this run. Effortlessly blending two plots, Bendis, Reis, and Peterson deliver a very fun chapter of this Superman run.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Superman (2018) #9

Mar 13, 2019

Bendis has a strong handle on these characters, and the art team is constantly upping their game. If you've liked this run so far, then there is plenty for you to enjoy here.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2018): Leviathan Rising Special #1

May 29, 2019

Superman Leviathan Rising #1 is both a great set-up for future stories and a stellar one on its own. Your mileage may vary on certain stories, but as an overall package, it's very well crafted. It hits you right where all good Superman stories should, and in a few places, you may not expect.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Superman's Pal Jimmy Olsen (2019) #2

Aug 21, 2019

Superman's Pal Jimmy Olsen #2 continues to impress. Leiber and Fairbairn do an outstanding job on the art, making this one of the best-looking books on the stands. Fraction is doing some of the finest work of his career and demonstrating a wide range of talents. This book is full of heart and compelling on nearly every level. I can't wait to read more of the most dangerous man in Metropolis.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Orville: New Beginnings #1

Jun 29, 2019

The character work is genuine and fun, and it retains the charm that makes the property so special. Its most grievous flaw is that it makes little to no effort to shift its storytelling perspective from tv to comics. Despite that, it's a fun ride for fans, and I'm looking forward to reading up the rest of the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The White Trees #1

Aug 17, 2019

The White Trees #1 is genuinely wonderful. In a short time, Zdarsky, Anka, and Wilson manage to not only engage the reader in its characters, but in its world as well. This book's not just impressive in terms of telling a captivating story, it's fantastic from a craft standpoint. It's the way comics like this should be done.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Young Justice (2019) #1

Jan 9, 2019

Bendis and Gleason's enthusiasm seeps through the panel borders, and that enthusiasm was enough to improve my mood going forward in my day as I kept thinking about it. I want more. Young Justice #1 achieves every goal it sets for itself, and that is by my definition,a perfect comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Young Justice (2019) #6

Jun 5, 2019

Young Justice #6 excels in its portrayal of its large cast of beloved characters. Bendis and Timms make a great team, and are only held back by a lackluster Gemworld plot. Even still, it's salvaged by a touching Superboy story, effective art, and a compelling group dynamic.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

August

July

More