Lizzy Garcia's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: But Why Tho? Reviews: 38
8.1Avg. Review Rating

10
Analog #6

Jul 9, 2019

Analog is a fantastic spy thriller that takes themes from Cold War era fiction and applies them to a strange dystopian future that unfortunately doesn't seem too far off. Analog #6only adds to that. If you haven't picked up this series yet and are a fan of James Bond, Mission Impossible or any major spy thriller series, I highly recommend this book. This new story arc isn't necessarily the best place to pick up but it is also not the worst.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Batman (2016) #72

Jun 5, 2019

Overall, Batman #72is another disappointing issue at the tail end of this run that just leaves the reader feeling exhausted as the story continues on with no satisfying conclusion in sight.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Batman vs. Ra's Al Ghul (2019) #1

Sep 4, 2019

Batman vs Ra's al Ghul #1feels like a bad action movie that attempts to cash-in on the post-9/11 fear of terrorism while keeping the aesthetics of one of the worst decades in comics. If you are looking for a better version of that, read Batman: No Man's Land.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman's Grave #1

Oct 9, 2019

Overall, The Batman's Grave #1is a solid start to the series and is a Batman story that has a lot of classic elements while playing with uncomfortable and existential themes. Alfred's fears are palpable on the page and Batman's sure death may come sooner than Bruce expects. Either way, I look forward to the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman: Curse of the White Knight #1

Jul 24, 2019

I thoroughly enjoyed Batman: The White Knightbut this issue is not as strong of a start as I was hoping for. That being said, the final pages showing us what is to come, something that has already been teased on the cover and within the marketing for the book, was spectacular. I will be picking up the next issue and if you enjoyed the Batman: The White KnightI recommend picking this up. That being said, don't go in without doing your homework or expect this to be an easy jumping-on point.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman: Curse of the White Knight #2

Dec 31, 1969

Overall, Batman: Curse of the White Knight #2fails to capture the magic of its predecessor. It is not nearly as compelling and struggles to tie-up the loose ends created in the first run. The Waynes' bloody history and impact on Gotham, in theory, should be an excellent place to dive into Batman's psyche as it forces him to reevaluate his own choices. Batman is Batman because he lost the people he loved most. However, the addition of Azrael makes this difficult, as another piece is added to an already overcrowded chessboard.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman: Last Knight on Earth #2

Jul 31, 2019

Overall, Batman: The Last Knight on Earth #2is an incredible elseworld story that captures a lot of the whimsy of these “what if” comic runs while also delving into the darkness Batman is known for. With only one issue left, it is hard to determine exactly how everything will be wrapped up as this issue revealed a lot more about the world and its secrets than the previous. Either way, I am very much on board.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: Universe #1

Jul 10, 2019

Overall, Batman: Universe #1is an absolute delight. The story is hilarious and has a lot of heart. It is a great read for any Batman fan no matter how many comics you have picked up previously. I am happy to see these previously Walmart exclusive books hitting comic stores, allowing more readers to enjoy them.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman: Universe #2

Aug 14, 2019

Overall, Batman: Universe #2 feels like a story out of the Justice League: Unlimited cartoon or The New Batman Adventures " which is a pretty high compliment. The cliffhanger at the end of the book keeps the story engaging and has me on the edge of my seat waiting in anticipation for the next issue. With only six issues in the series and the entirety of it already released in Batman Giant, I have no doubt the story will continue to visit beloved parts of the DCU. If you are a fan of Batman or any of the more kid-friendly Batman cartoons, this is a must-read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman: Universe #3

Sep 11, 2019

Batman: Universe is not a series that examines the Dark Knight's psyche or ongoing existential crisis. Instead, it is a lighthearted adventure that reminds me of an episode of Justice League: Unlimited. Batman's sass and humor are on full display in this series. And while it may have originally debuted in a comic made exclusively for Walmart, Batman: Universe #3is anything but discount. I am excited for what thrills lie ahead in the upcoming issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman: Universe #4

Oct 9, 2019

My only gripe with the issue is in the last few pages there is tonally shift that makes it very different from the rest of the series. As much as I loved the final page, it is much darker and alludes to much more depressing themes than anything else previously explored in the series. That being said, it is still an excellent issue and the book that marks the end of the arc. However, the story will pick back up with a new series next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Bettie Page: Unbound #2

Jul 12, 2019

Overall, Bettie Page: Unbound #2 continues to be a fun adventure for the titular character. Her dive into other worlds from the Dynamite Comics lineup is ridiculous fun. This comic has never taken itself too seriously and leans into its overly campy nature, something I seriously appreciate. If you enjoy any of Dynamite Comics' leading ladies or just need a lighter read in your pull, I highly recommend this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Bettie Page: Unbound #3

Aug 23, 2019

Overall, Bettie Page: Unbound #3is a wild good time and continues the excellent adventure the first two issues started while throwing in a few twists as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Bury the Lede #1

Oct 7, 2019

However, as compelling as Bury the Ledeis, my one complaint is the stakes never feel high enough. Madison never seems to be in grave danger even when she is talking to sources or people who could potentially want to hurt her if certain information gets out. The biggest danger to Madison is often her own choices, especially in regards to her relationships. That being said, this is still a great read for any true crime fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Charlie's Angels vs. The Bionic Woman #1

Jul 7, 2019

Overall, Charlie's Angels vs The Bionic Woman #1had a lot of potential but is, unfortunately, just boring. The mission the four girls are on isn't really exciting and not much about any of their personalities are engaging for a reader. However, if you are a big fan of either of the original TV series, this book might be worth picking up if only to get a nostalgic kick out of seeing the original angels, Jill Munroe, Sabrina Duncan, and Kelly Garrett.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dead Legends #1

Sep 12, 2019

My only qualm with is the Dead Legends #1 pacing. The issue feels a tad out of order with the major reveal of the widow's motivations left until the end. However, the reveal is emotional and despite the concept of the comic not being particularly unique, it is well done and interesting.Overall, Dead Legends #1 is a solid start to a new series. If you are looking for a new thrilling action-adventure or assassin story akin to martial arts movies of the past then be sure to add this series to your pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Ghosted in L.A. #1

Jul 11, 2019

Ghosted in L.A. #1 is thebones of an amazing book that skirts the line with the supernatural, similar to Snotgirl, is right around the corner. This book is a good twist on a slice-of-life comics, so despite the lower score, I will be picking up the next issue and I recommend everyone give this issue and the following a chance, even if it is for the art and coloring alone.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ghosted in L.A. #2

Aug 13, 2019

Overall, Ghosted in L.A. #2 features a lot of elements any good YA drama should including romance with a few supernatural twists. And like I predicted in my previous review, this second issue shows the series has found its footing. As Daphne continues to grow closer to the ghosts in the house, her life gets more complicated. I look forward to upcoming issues in the series. If you are a fan of teen dramas or YA romance, like Riverdale, this is definitely a comic for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Ghosted in L.A. #3

Sep 16, 2019

Overall, Ghosted in L.A. #3is a disappointing issue that carries the narrative in a direction I was not expecting but also do not want. Ronnie's poor behavior undermine what could otherwise be a beautiful and emotional story. However, I do enjoy seeing more background on the ghosts but I worry that it is becoming shoehorned in to serve the greater narrative.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Going to the Chapel #1

Sep 3, 2019

Outside of the pacing issues I had while Jesse was on the page,Going to the Chapel #1 is a colorful and exciting take on the rom-com genre. This first issue is a great introduction to the series and characters, especially Emily. The series is a combination of Bonnie and Clyde and Runaway Bride.Considering everything else currently on comic shelves, this series is a new and refreshing romance series pumped with just enough action to keep it engaging for just about anyone. Overall, I look forward to the next issue. Any rom-com fans should absolutely pick up this bonkers series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Gryffen: Galaxy's Most Wanted #6

Aug 10, 2019

Overall, Gryffen: Galaxy's Most Wanted #6 is a sci-fi adventure that somehow mixes the elements of Star Wars with the humor of Archer. It is over the top and features a charismatic and hilarious character who despite their flaws, is incredibly loveable.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Harleen (2019) #1

Sep 25, 2019

Overall, Harleen #1is spectacular. It is a retelling fitting for the character that borrows enough for the original to keep it familiar but adds darker themes and tones that elevate it. Harleen #1is the best Harley Quinn story I have ever read. It manages to create something fresh from a story riddled with characters that have oversaturated DC Comics. The oversized issue, which retails at $7.99, is well worth the price.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Harley Quinn: Breaking Glass #1

Sep 3, 2019

Overall, Harley Quinn: Breaking Glassis an interesting take on the character that combines jarring visuals and a bizarre narrative with real-world problems, primarily gentrification. However, the second half of the book could pack a bigger punch. Needless to say though, this should be a must-read for all Harley Quinn fans and fans of YA novels such as Cirque du Freak.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Joker/Harley: Criminal Sanity #1

Oct 9, 2019

My main qualm with the issue is that it ended abruptly. The issue also takes its time fleshing out the world so the pacing feels a tad slow. But overall, this is a fantastic start to the series. Fans of true crime and Harley Quinn absolutely need to pick up Joker/Harley: Criminal Sanity #1. And while there are currently two Harley related DC Black Label series running, I am happy to report they are both very different and very good.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Lois Lane (2019) #1

Jul 3, 2019

So far, this series is an amazing addition to the plethora of Superman and Superfamily books on the shelves. It's darker tone will appeal to more mature readers. Even if you aren't a huge Superman fan, I recommend this book to fans of shows and stories like The West Wing, House of Cards, and The Newsroom.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Lois Lane (2019) #2

Aug 7, 2019

Overall, Lois Lane #2 is not without flaws but the overarching storyline and Lois' work as an investigative reporter make it a must-read.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Mezo #1

Sep 21, 2019

Outside of the narrative, the art is as well done as the designs. While inspired by real-life, they have a whimsical quality to them. The coloring on the book is also a stand-out with bright hues jumping off the page. Additionally, the characters' darker skin tones are prominent. An unfortunate trend in comics is the inability to properly color characters with darker skin tones, leading to a character of color who effectively has been whitewashed. Luckily,Mezo #1doesn't make that blunder even if it still has problematic elements.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Mooncakes #1

Oct 13, 2019

My only real issue with Mooncakes is the pacing. The graphic novel is fairly hefty and moves slow. The bulk of it focuses on building out Nova and Tam's relationship, which is great, but at times it drags on. That being said, the story is delightful and would be enjoyed by fans of Studio Ghibli or the video game Life is Strange which is more adult but explores similar themes.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Over The Ropes #1

Oct 14, 2019

I will be honest, I do not watch wrestling often but Becky Lynch empowers the hell out of me so I was open to reading this comic. However, Jason is just not a likable main character. However, Cosentino's art is lovely and Segala's colors are brilliant. If you are a big wrestling fan you will more than likely enjoy this comic just because of the history it explores, but if you are like me and a more casual fan maybe pick up BOOM! Studios' WWE series instead.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Teen Titans: Raven #1

Jul 2, 2019

Overall, of the YA graphic novels, I have read for both DC Ink and DC Zoom, Teen Titans: Ravenis the best one yet. The story is engaging and endearing. Raven's struggle of being a regular teenager is relatable and would remind anyone of their favorite teen drama from back in the day. That plus the sprinkling of supernatural elements makes this book a fun enough ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Test #1

Jul 3, 2019

Overall, Test #1is a unique book but is a somewhat disjointed start to an already confusing narrative. However, my hope is the next issue clears up and begins to connect a lot of the threads already laid out for readers. Fans of sci-fi will enjoy this book and it is worth picking up for the art alone.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Batman Who Laughs (2018) #6

Jun 12, 2019

Overall, The Batman Who Laughs #6is a high-octane adventure that isn't afraid to be downright creepy. The horror elements are perfectly implemented and I cannot speak highly enough of Cipriano's lettering in this issue. Snyder has crafted a genuine masterpiece with this story and knowing there is only one issue left is bittersweet. Needless to say, I highly recommend The Batman Who Laughs for every Batman fan as well as anyone itching for a horror story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Batman Who Laughs (2018) #7

Jul 31, 2019

Overall, The Batman Who Laughs #7 has the elements that make any great Batman story; high stakes, a compelling villain, and a Bruce Wayne on the brink of insanity. Bruce's descent into madness is haunting and as the book concludes, readers are left questioning their own psyche, their own worth, and their own demons. As one of the final Batman stories from Snyder, it is bittersweet to see this epic mini-series end.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Empty Man (2018) #8

Jun 13, 2019

Overall, The Empty Man #8 is a satisfying close to a spectacular horror series that has weaved various haunting themes throughout its narrative. The ending of this issue leaves room for this creative team to return to the series in the future. I have consistently loved this series and gone on record as saying it is my favorite book currently on shelves. This issue only furthers that belief for me. If you are a fan of horror comics, particularly of the infection subgenre, I highly recommend this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Man Who Came Down the Attic Stairs #1

Sep 17, 2019

The illustrations, particularly of the character's faces, have a haunting beauty. Throughout the story, something seems off, but not noticeable enough to point out. This bizarre quality within the artwork compliments the twist at the end of The Man Who Came Down the Attic Stairsby showcasing Emma's mental instability through small visual ques.The Man Who Came Down the Attic Stairsis a haunting but beautiful graphic novel that stands apart from a lot of books currently on shelves. The unsettling artwork mixed with its eerie, uncomfortable but ultimately relatable storyline makes it stand apart. The discussion of postpartum depression is not something I have ever seen in comics. Considering there are more than 3 million cases a year in the United Staes of postpartum depression, it is a condition that needs to be talked about more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Necromancer's Map #1

Aug 26, 2019

Overall, The Necromancer's Map #1is not the easiest comic to jump into but it is well worth the ride. Fans of high fantasy should absolutely add this to their pull list. And while the genre of fantasy is usually not my cup of tea, I will be waiting on edge for the next issue nonetheless.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Plot #1

Sep 26, 2019

Overall, The Plot #1is an excellent horror comic that, while lacking in traditional scares, uses its unsettling color palate and emotional opening to establish the start of a thrilling mystery. Adult fans of mystery and supernatural series. such as Nancy Drew or Supernatural, should absolutely pick up this book. It is also the perfect read for the upcoming Halloween season. I look forward to upcoming issues and continuing to follow this book as the plot thickens " pun intended.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Unearth #1

Jul 10, 2019

Overall, Unearth #1is an incredible start to this new series. The pacing feels perfect as it is just enough of a tease to keep the reader on edge for the next issue. This nightmare is clearly a labor of love for this creative team as each panel feels as if it was meticulously planned and thought out. The incredible but disturbing art coupled with the overarching themes within the book weave together into a horrifying issue. Unearth #1is an unsettling and uncomfortable nightmare that I would highly recommend to any horror fans.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More