Lizzy Garcia's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: But Why Tho? Reviews: 19
8.4Avg. Review Rating

10
Analog #6

Jul 9, 2019

Analog is a fantastic spy thriller that takes themes from Cold War era fiction and applies them to a strange dystopian future that unfortunately doesn't seem too far off. Analog #6only adds to that. If you haven't picked up this series yet and are a fan of James Bond, Mission Impossible or any major spy thriller series, I highly recommend this book. This new story arc isn't necessarily the best place to pick up but it is also not the worst.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Batman (2016) #72

Jun 5, 2019

Overall, Batman #72is another disappointing issue at the tail end of this run that just leaves the reader feeling exhausted as the story continues on with no satisfying conclusion in sight.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman: Curse of the White Knight #1

Jul 24, 2019

I thoroughly enjoyed Batman: The White Knightbut this issue is not as strong of a start as I was hoping for. That being said, the final pages showing us what is to come, something that has already been teased on the cover and within the marketing for the book, was spectacular. I will be picking up the next issue and if you enjoyed the Batman: The White KnightI recommend picking this up. That being said, don't go in without doing your homework or expect this to be an easy jumping-on point.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman: Last Knight on Earth #2

Jul 31, 2019

Overall, Batman: The Last Knight on Earth #2is an incredible elseworld story that captures a lot of the whimsy of these “what if” comic runs while also delving into the darkness Batman is known for. With only one issue left, it is hard to determine exactly how everything will be wrapped up as this issue revealed a lot more about the world and its secrets than the previous. Either way, I am very much on board.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: Universe #1

Jul 10, 2019

Overall, Batman: Universe #1is an absolute delight. The story is hilarious and has a lot of heart. It is a great read for any Batman fan no matter how many comics you have picked up previously. I am happy to see these previously Walmart exclusive books hitting comic stores, allowing more readers to enjoy them.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman: Universe #2

Aug 14, 2019

Overall, Batman: Universe #2 feels like a story out of the Justice League: Unlimited cartoon or The New Batman Adventures " which is a pretty high compliment. The cliffhanger at the end of the book keeps the story engaging and has me on the edge of my seat waiting in anticipation for the next issue. With only six issues in the series and the entirety of it already released in Batman Giant, I have no doubt the story will continue to visit beloved parts of the DCU. If you are a fan of Batman or any of the more kid-friendly Batman cartoons, this is a must-read.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Bettie Page: Unbound #2

Jul 12, 2019

Overall, Bettie Page: Unbound #2 continues to be a fun adventure for the titular character. Her dive into other worlds from the Dynamite Comics lineup is ridiculous fun. This comic has never taken itself too seriously and leans into its overly campy nature, something I seriously appreciate. If you enjoy any of Dynamite Comics' leading ladies or just need a lighter read in your pull, I highly recommend this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Charlie's Angels vs. The Bionic Woman #1

Jul 7, 2019

Overall, Charlie's Angels vs The Bionic Woman #1had a lot of potential but is, unfortunately, just boring. The mission the four girls are on isn't really exciting and not much about any of their personalities are engaging for a reader. However, if you are a big fan of either of the original TV series, this book might be worth picking up if only to get a nostalgic kick out of seeing the original angels, Jill Munroe, Sabrina Duncan, and Kelly Garrett.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Ghosted in L.A. #1

Jul 11, 2019

Ghosted in L.A. #1 is thebones of an amazing book that skirts the line with the supernatural, similar to Snotgirl, is right around the corner. This book is a good twist on a slice-of-life comics, so despite the lower score, I will be picking up the next issue and I recommend everyone give this issue and the following a chance, even if it is for the art and coloring alone.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ghosted in L.A. #2

Aug 13, 2019

Overall, Ghosted in L.A. #2 features a lot of elements any good YA drama should including romance with a few supernatural twists. And like I predicted in my previous review, this second issue shows the series has found its footing. As Daphne continues to grow closer to the ghosts in the house, her life gets more complicated. I look forward to upcoming issues in the series. If you are a fan of teen dramas or YA romance, like Riverdale, this is definitely a comic for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Gryffen: Galaxy's Most Wanted #6

Aug 10, 2019

Overall, Gryffen: Galaxy's Most Wanted #6 is a sci-fi adventure that somehow mixes the elements of Star Wars with the humor of Archer. It is over the top and features a charismatic and hilarious character who despite their flaws, is incredibly loveable.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Lois Lane (2019) #1

Jul 3, 2019

So far, this series is an amazing addition to the plethora of Superman and Superfamily books on the shelves. It's darker tone will appeal to more mature readers. Even if you aren't a huge Superman fan, I recommend this book to fans of shows and stories like The West Wing, House of Cards, and The Newsroom.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Lois Lane (2019) #2

Aug 7, 2019

Overall, Lois Lane #2 is not without flaws but the overarching storyline and Lois' work as an investigative reporter make it a must-read.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Teen Titans: Raven #1

Jul 2, 2019

Overall, of the YA graphic novels, I have read for both DC Ink and DC Zoom, Teen Titans: Ravenis the best one yet. The story is engaging and endearing. Raven's struggle of being a regular teenager is relatable and would remind anyone of their favorite teen drama from back in the day. That plus the sprinkling of supernatural elements makes this book a fun enough ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Test #1

Jul 3, 2019

Overall, Test #1is a unique book but is a somewhat disjointed start to an already confusing narrative. However, my hope is the next issue clears up and begins to connect a lot of the threads already laid out for readers. Fans of sci-fi will enjoy this book and it is worth picking up for the art alone.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Batman Who Laughs (2018) #6

Jun 12, 2019

Overall, The Batman Who Laughs #6is a high-octane adventure that isn't afraid to be downright creepy. The horror elements are perfectly implemented and I cannot speak highly enough of Cipriano's lettering in this issue. Snyder has crafted a genuine masterpiece with this story and knowing there is only one issue left is bittersweet. Needless to say, I highly recommend The Batman Who Laughs for every Batman fan as well as anyone itching for a horror story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Batman Who Laughs (2018) #7

Jul 31, 2019

Overall, The Batman Who Laughs #7 has the elements that make any great Batman story; high stakes, a compelling villain, and a Bruce Wayne on the brink of insanity. Bruce's descent into madness is haunting and as the book concludes, readers are left questioning their own psyche, their own worth, and their own demons. As one of the final Batman stories from Snyder, it is bittersweet to see this epic mini-series end.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Empty Man (2018) #8

Jun 13, 2019

Overall, The Empty Man #8 is a satisfying close to a spectacular horror series that has weaved various haunting themes throughout its narrative. The ending of this issue leaves room for this creative team to return to the series in the future. I have consistently loved this series and gone on record as saying it is my favorite book currently on shelves. This issue only furthers that belief for me. If you are a fan of horror comics, particularly of the infection subgenre, I highly recommend this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Unearth #1

Jul 10, 2019

Overall, Unearth #1is an incredible start to this new series. The pacing feels perfect as it is just enough of a tease to keep the reader on edge for the next issue. This nightmare is clearly a labor of love for this creative team as each panel feels as if it was meticulously planned and thought out. The incredible but disturbing art coupled with the overarching themes within the book weave together into a horrifying issue. Unearth #1is an unsettling and uncomfortable nightmare that I would highly recommend to any horror fans.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

August

July

More