Lizzy Garcia's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: But Why Tho? Reviews: 82
8.0Avg. Review Rating

10
Analog #6

Jul 9, 2019

Analog is a fantastic spy thriller that takes themes from Cold War era fiction and applies them to a strange dystopian future that unfortunately doesn't seem too far off. Analog #6only adds to that. If you haven't picked up this series yet and are a fan of James Bond, Mission Impossible or any major spy thriller series, I highly recommend this book. This new story arc isn't necessarily the best place to pick up but it is also not the worst.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Batman (2016) #72

Jun 5, 2019

Overall, Batman #72is another disappointing issue at the tail end of this run that just leaves the reader feeling exhausted as the story continues on with no satisfying conclusion in sight.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Batman (2016) #86

Jan 8, 2020

Batman #86 is as good of a start as you can ask for, considering the hand that was dealt to this creative team. That being said, the issue still is far from perfect and the emotional beats just fall flat because of its disjointed tone.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman (2016) #88

Feb 5, 2020

Batman #88 amps up the pacing of the story arc. A lot happens in this issue, that I don't want to spoil, as Batman and Catwoman's storylines begin to connect. Tynion's excellent storytelling ability is finally coming out in the series as we move past everything that was leftover from King's run. That being said, the stand out winner of the issue is Morey's colors. His ability to create vibrancy while keeping Gotham dingy and dark is impressive. Fans of the Dark Knight who might have left the series should definitely jump back in.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Batman (2016) #89

Feb 19, 2020

Batman #89 is not a bad issue and the story it tells is interesting but there are a lot of things that could have been done better.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Batman (2016) #90

Mar 4, 2020

Batman #90feels like a return to form for Batman. Tynion does a great job of establishing the Designer and just how powerful he truly is. Additionally, Jimenez's art coupled with Morey's once again excellent coloring makes every panel a delight to look at.I am finally excited about this Batman run as this issue picks up the pacing, finally moving the story forward in a concrete direction.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Batman (2016) #91

Mar 18, 2020

Overall, I like Batman #91'sstory. I do not like its art.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Batman (2016): Pennyworth R.I.P. #1

Feb 12, 2020

Overall, Batman: Pennyworth RIP #1 is a must-read for Batman fans and also is a great way to catch up on the most recent events without Batman and the Bat-Family's various comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Batman vs. Ra's Al Ghul (2019) #1

Sep 4, 2019

Batman vs Ra's al Ghul #1feels like a bad action movie that attempts to cash-in on the post-9/11 fear of terrorism while keeping the aesthetics of one of the worst decades in comics. If you are looking for a better version of that, read Batman: No Man's Land.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Batman's Grave #1

Oct 9, 2019

Overall, The Batman's Grave #1is a solid start to the series and is a Batman story that has a lot of classic elements while playing with uncomfortable and existential themes. Alfred's fears are palpable on the page and Batman's sure death may come sooner than Bruce expects. Either way, I look forward to the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Batman's Grave #2

Nov 13, 2019

The Batman's Grave #2is not a bad comic but compared to its previous issue, it falls short. That being said, I look forward to the remainder of the series and seeing how much of both Bruce and Alfred's psyche Ellis is able to explore.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Batman's Grave #3

Dec 11, 2019

Overall, The Batman's Grave #3feels like a generic Batman story that is not able to match the hype it created in its first issue. As the story goes on, it is unclear where the elements and themes first teased are. We haven't seen anything more about Bruce's morality or even Vincent Stannik's murder and Bruce's connection to that tragic death. If you are a huge Batman fan this might be a must for you but there are much better Batman detective stories including Black Mirror, Gotham by Gaslight and even The Long Halloween.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Batman's Grave #4

Jan 15, 2020

Overall, this is by far the weakest issue of the series yet and a lot of that is in part due to the egregious lettering. Lettering can make or break a book. Similar to art if the lettering is bad, no matter how great the narrative is, it can take a reader out of the story and ruin the comic for them. Unfortunately for The Batman's Grave #4,the narrative itself isn't much better. Overall, this miniseries had an impressive first issue but has yet to meet that potential again.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Batman's Grave #5

Feb 12, 2020

The only saving grace of this book is Sinclair's coloring. The book is bright and Sinclair is able to add some life to Arkham's dull backgrounds. Even still, The Batman's Grave #5is not good and apparently, not getting better.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Batman: Curse of the White Knight #1

Jul 24, 2019

I thoroughly enjoyed Batman: The White Knightbut this issue is not as strong of a start as I was hoping for. That being said, the final pages showing us what is to come, something that has already been teased on the cover and within the marketing for the book, was spectacular. I will be picking up the next issue and if you enjoyed the Batman: The White KnightI recommend picking this up. That being said, don't go in without doing your homework or expect this to be an easy jumping-on point.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Batman: Curse of the White Knight #2

Dec 31, 1969

Overall, Batman: Curse of the White Knight #2fails to capture the magic of its predecessor. It is not nearly as compelling and struggles to tie-up the loose ends created in the first run. The Waynes' bloody history and impact on Gotham, in theory, should be an excellent place to dive into Batman's psyche as it forces him to reevaluate his own choices. Batman is Batman because he lost the people he loved most. However, the addition of Azrael makes this difficult, as another piece is added to an already overcrowded chessboard.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Batman: Curse of the White Knight: Von Freeze #1

Nov 20, 2019

Overall, Batman: White Knight Presents Von Freeze #1is not a bad comic but it adds little to the overall narrative of the Batman: White Knightuniverse. The story of Victor is interesting an could be its own series but as a one-shot, it doesn't do enough to fully grab my attention. That being said, fans of the series should pick it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Batman: Last Knight on Earth #2

Jul 31, 2019

Overall, Batman: The Last Knight on Earth #2is an incredible elseworld story that captures a lot of the whimsy of these “what if” comic runs while also delving into the darkness Batman is known for. With only one issue left, it is hard to determine exactly how everything will be wrapped up as this issue revealed a lot more about the world and its secrets than the previous. Either way, I am very much on board.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Batman: Overdrive #1

Mar 3, 2020

Batman: Overdriveis made for children but unlike Fontana's other work for children, DC Super Hero Girls, this graphic novel isn't enjoyable for adults. It is hard to make car theft and the intricacies of building a vehicle fit with Batman or Bruce Wayne's story. Even with the brightly colored and interesting art, Batman: Overdriveis just boring.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: Universe #1

Jul 10, 2019

Overall, Batman: Universe #1is an absolute delight. The story is hilarious and has a lot of heart. It is a great read for any Batman fan no matter how many comics you have picked up previously. I am happy to see these previously Walmart exclusive books hitting comic stores, allowing more readers to enjoy them.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Batman: Universe #2

Aug 14, 2019

Overall, Batman: Universe #2 feels like a story out of the Justice League: Unlimited cartoon or The New Batman Adventures " which is a pretty high compliment. The cliffhanger at the end of the book keeps the story engaging and has me on the edge of my seat waiting in anticipation for the next issue. With only six issues in the series and the entirety of it already released in Batman Giant, I have no doubt the story will continue to visit beloved parts of the DCU. If you are a fan of Batman or any of the more kid-friendly Batman cartoons, this is a must-read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman: Universe #3

Sep 11, 2019

Batman: Universe is not a series that examines the Dark Knight's psyche or ongoing existential crisis. Instead, it is a lighthearted adventure that reminds me of an episode of Justice League: Unlimited. Batman's sass and humor are on full display in this series. And while it may have originally debuted in a comic made exclusively for Walmart, Batman: Universe #3is anything but discount. I am excited for what thrills lie ahead in the upcoming issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman: Universe #4

Oct 9, 2019

My only gripe with the issue is in the last few pages there is tonally shift that makes it very different from the rest of the series. As much as I loved the final page, it is much darker and alludes to much more depressing themes than anything else previously explored in the series. That being said, it is still an excellent issue and the book that marks the end of the arc. However, the story will pick back up with a new series next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Batman: Universe #5

Nov 6, 2019

Much like the ending panels of Batman: Universe #4, Batman: Universe #5feels like an entirely different series than the remainder of the issues. This is something I mention in my previous review and while this is not necessarily bad, it does make the series feel disjointed. The series continues next month with Batman: The Edgeand, considering the climatic conclusion, there is no telling where the series will go next. If nothing else, Batman: Universehas at least proven to be unpredictable.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman: Universe #6

Dec 4, 2019

As a series, Batman: Universehas been a delightful and more light-hearted Batman book. It has elements that every great Batman story should and is reminiscent of the Justice League: Unlimited cartoon. While this final issue doesn't have a lot of the humor found in the previous ones, the series as a whole had a lot of "laugh out loud" moments. Overall, Batman: Universe #6is a solid conclusion to a great series that could easily serve as a solid entry point for newer fans to the DC Universe while also providing a more relaxed, less brooding story for returning ones.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Bettie Page: Unbound #2

Jul 12, 2019

Overall, Bettie Page: Unbound #2 continues to be a fun adventure for the titular character. Her dive into other worlds from the Dynamite Comics lineup is ridiculous fun. This comic has never taken itself too seriously and leans into its overly campy nature, something I seriously appreciate. If you enjoy any of Dynamite Comics' leading ladies or just need a lighter read in your pull, I highly recommend this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Bettie Page: Unbound #3

Aug 23, 2019

Overall, Bettie Page: Unbound #3is a wild good time and continues the excellent adventure the first two issues started while throwing in a few twists as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Black Canary: Ignite #1

Oct 29, 2019

Black Canary: Igniteis a great addition to DC's line of YA graphic novels and is the strongest of the bunch. Cabot gives Dinah an origin story that fits the imprint and the character well. This is a must-read for fans of Black Canaryand has enough easter eggs hidden in its panels for any Birds of Prey fans as well. The book is also a great pick for anyone who has enjoyed Cabot's work in the past.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Bloodshot (2019) #1

Nov 11, 2019

Overall, Bloodshot #1is a fantastic place to start if you have never read the character. While older fans might grow weary of the rehashed origin story recap, they will still want to pick up the issue for the action alone. Additionally, issues two is also out now with issue three set to hit stands November 20, 2019.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Bury the Lede #1

Oct 7, 2019

However, as compelling as Bury the Ledeis, my one complaint is the stakes never feel high enough. Madison never seems to be in grave danger even when she is talking to sources or people who could potentially want to hurt her if certain information gets out. The biggest danger to Madison is often her own choices, especially in regards to her relationships. That being said, this is still a great read for any true crime fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Charlie's Angels vs. The Bionic Woman #1

Jul 7, 2019

Overall, Charlie's Angels vs The Bionic Woman #1had a lot of potential but is, unfortunately, just boring. The mission the four girls are on isn't really exciting and not much about any of their personalities are engaging for a reader. However, if you are a big fan of either of the original TV series, this book might be worth picking up if only to get a nostalgic kick out of seeing the original angels, Jill Munroe, Sabrina Duncan, and Kelly Garrett.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
DC's Crimes of Passion #1

Feb 5, 2020

DC's Crimes of Passion #1i s a well thought out anthology. Fans of DC Comics looking for more tidbits into their favorite characters' love lives should definitely pick it up. Additionally, the inclusion of lesser-known characters makes this issue that much more unique.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Dead Legends #1

Sep 12, 2019

My only qualm with is the Dead Legends #1 pacing. The issue feels a tad out of order with the major reveal of the widow's motivations left until the end. However, the reveal is emotional and despite the concept of the comic not being particularly unique, it is well done and interesting.Overall, Dead Legends #1 is a solid start to a new series. If you are looking for a new thrilling action-adventure or assassin story akin to martial arts movies of the past then be sure to add this series to your pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Diana: Princess of the Amazons #1

Jan 7, 2020

Diana, Princess of the Amazons is another example of an excellent graphic novel for children from DC Comics. Any Wonder Woman fans should absolutely pick up this delightful graphic novel. Additionally, anyone looking for a lighter read akin to DC Super Hero Girlsor other YA and children's titles from the DC brand should also add this to their library at home.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Ghosted in L.A. #1

Jul 11, 2019

Ghosted in L.A. #1 is thebones of an amazing book that skirts the line with the supernatural, similar to Snotgirl, is right around the corner. This book is a good twist on a slice-of-life comics, so despite the lower score, I will be picking up the next issue and I recommend everyone give this issue and the following a chance, even if it is for the art and coloring alone.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Ghosted in L.A. #2

Aug 13, 2019

Overall, Ghosted in L.A. #2 features a lot of elements any good YA drama should including romance with a few supernatural twists. And like I predicted in my previous review, this second issue shows the series has found its footing. As Daphne continues to grow closer to the ghosts in the house, her life gets more complicated. I look forward to upcoming issues in the series. If you are a fan of teen dramas or YA romance, like Riverdale, this is definitely a comic for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Ghosted in L.A. #3

Sep 16, 2019

Overall, Ghosted in L.A. #3is a disappointing issue that carries the narrative in a direction I was not expecting but also do not want. Ronnie's poor behavior undermine what could otherwise be a beautiful and emotional story. However, I do enjoy seeing more background on the ghosts but I worry that it is becoming shoehorned in to serve the greater narrative.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Going to the Chapel #1

Sep 3, 2019

Outside of the pacing issues I had while Jesse was on the page,Going to the Chapel #1 is a colorful and exciting take on the rom-com genre. This first issue is a great introduction to the series and characters, especially Emily. The series is a combination of Bonnie and Clyde and Runaway Bride.Considering everything else currently on comic shelves, this series is a new and refreshing romance series pumped with just enough action to keep it engaging for just about anyone. Overall, I look forward to the next issue. Any rom-com fans should absolutely pick up this bonkers series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Going to the Chapel #2

Oct 26, 2019

Overall, Going To The Chapel #2is a fun read and a must-grab for fans of heist and action movies. I look forward to the remainder of this Bonnie and Clyde inspired romantic-comedy series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Going to the Chapel #3

Nov 8, 2019

Overall, Going To The Chapel #3is not a bad issue. It is funny and features fantastic art, but the change in Emily's character is disappointing. Fans of the series so far should still pick it up and I am hopeful for where the series featuring the runway bride goes from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Gryffen: Galaxy's Most Wanted #6

Aug 10, 2019

Overall, Gryffen: Galaxy's Most Wanted #6 is a sci-fi adventure that somehow mixes the elements of Star Wars with the humor of Archer. It is over the top and features a charismatic and hilarious character who despite their flaws, is incredibly loveable.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Gryffen: Galaxy's Most Wanted #9

Dec 14, 2019

Overall, Gryffen: Galaxy's Most Wanted #9is an excellent issue that propels the series in a brand new direction. There are not a lot of comics out right now as unique as this series and for fans of Sci-Fi or similar books, like Saga, it is hard to imagine why you aren't adding this to your must-reads. Additionally, anyone looking for good non-binary representation, which while is getting better is still hard to come by on comic shelves, should look no further than the titular character of Gryffen themselves.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Gryffen: Galaxy's Most Wanted #10

Feb 11, 2020

Gryffen: Galaxy's Most Wanted is a special series that captures the chaotic energy of space operas while also focusing on unique characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Gryffen: Galaxy's Most Wanted #11

Feb 29, 2020

Overall, Gryffen: Galaxys Most Wanted #11is another excellent issue that continues the wild ongoing narrative of the science-fiction series. While the issue itself is mostly action, the humor woven in keeps it interesting. Additionally, the conclusion at the end proves to be another bombshell that will change everything going forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Harleen (2019) #1

Sep 25, 2019

Overall, Harleen #1is spectacular. It is a retelling fitting for the character that borrows enough for the original to keep it familiar but adds darker themes and tones that elevate it. Harleen #1is the best Harley Quinn story I have ever read. It manages to create something fresh from a story riddled with characters that have oversaturated DC Comics. The oversized issue, which retails at $7.99, is well worth the price.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Harleen (2019) #2

Oct 30, 2019

Overall, Harleen #2 is a strong second issue. The issues with pacing are not nearly enough of a hiccup to deter from rereading the series over and over again before the next issue hits stands.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Harleen (2019) #3

Dec 18, 2019

Harleen #3finally tips the scales and moves the series forward. Harleen's descent into madness was always guaranteed, but this issue has taken her gentle stumble into a cliff dive. My only concern with the series is its glorification of Harley and Joker's relationship. However, I can't deny that the series is fascinating and this issue is excellent.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Harley Quinn: Breaking Glass #1

Sep 3, 2019

Overall, Harley Quinn: Breaking Glassis an interesting take on the character that combines jarring visuals and a bizarre narrative with real-world problems, primarily gentrification. However, the second half of the book could pack a bigger punch. Needless to say though, this should be a must-read for all Harley Quinn fans and fans of YA novels such as Cirque du Freak.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Joker/Harley: Criminal Sanity #1

Oct 9, 2019

My main qualm with the issue is that it ended abruptly. The issue also takes its time fleshing out the world so the pacing feels a tad slow. But overall, this is a fantastic start to the series. Fans of true crime and Harley Quinn absolutely need to pick up Joker/Harley: Criminal Sanity #1. And while there are currently two Harley related DC Black Label series running, I am happy to report they are both very different and very good.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Joker/Harley: Criminal Sanity #2

Jan 1, 2020

So far, the series is wildly different from anything else currently taking place in Gotham City. Even though it features classic Batman character, Joker/Harley: Criminal Sanity is a hyper-realistic series that fans of criminal investigation series and true crime will still enjoy.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Joker/Harley: Criminal Sanity #3

Feb 5, 2020

That being said, Joker/Harley: Criminal Sanity #3isn't bad and fans of detective mysteries and true crime will enjoy it. If you take away expectations about this being a Harley Quinn story, the series is an entertaining dive into the mind of mass murder and the woman trying to stop him. If you are looking for a Harley story that is more truthful to the character I recommend the Harleen miniseries.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Joker: Killer Smile #1

Oct 30, 2019

Overall, Joker: Killer Smile #1is a haunting and disturbing look into the ways the Joker can corrupt a single mind. The issue is a solid start to the ongoing series and I look forward to the remainder of this psychological and disturbing thriller.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Joker: Killer Smile #2

Dec 18, 2019

Joker: Killer Smile #2has near-perfect pacing with the final act of the comic pulling readers along through a series of twists and turns. Lemire is able to craft a psychological horror with a well-known character that feels fresh because of the introduction of Dr. Ben Arnell. By focusing on Arnell and making Joker a supporting character, Joker: Killer Smileis able to explore the devastating effect Joker's evil genius has, even when he is behind bars.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Joker: Killer Smile #3

Feb 19, 2020

Joker: Killer Smile #3 continues to explore the broken psyche of Dr. Ben Arnell while also offering a thrilling conclusion to the series, that is, until it returns in May with the Batman: The Smile Killer one-shot. Overall, Lemire has crafted a haunting Joker story that has kept me engaged from the first issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Lois Lane (2019) #1

Jul 3, 2019

So far, this series is an amazing addition to the plethora of Superman and Superfamily books on the shelves. It's darker tone will appeal to more mature readers. Even if you aren't a huge Superman fan, I recommend this book to fans of shows and stories like The West Wing, House of Cards, and The Newsroom.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Lois Lane (2019) #2

Aug 7, 2019

Overall, Lois Lane #2 is not without flaws but the overarching storyline and Lois' work as an investigative reporter make it a must-read.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Mezo #1

Sep 21, 2019

Outside of the narrative, the art is as well done as the designs. While inspired by real-life, they have a whimsical quality to them. The coloring on the book is also a stand-out with bright hues jumping off the page. Additionally, the characters' darker skin tones are prominent. An unfortunate trend in comics is the inability to properly color characters with darker skin tones, leading to a character of color who effectively has been whitewashed. Luckily,Mezo #1doesn't make that blunder even if it still has problematic elements.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Mooncakes #1

Oct 13, 2019

My only real issue with Mooncakes is the pacing. The graphic novel is fairly hefty and moves slow. The bulk of it focuses on building out Nova and Tam's relationship, which is great, but at times it drags on. That being said, the story is delightful and would be enjoyed by fans of Studio Ghibli or the video game Life is Strange which is more adult but explores similar themes.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Over The Ropes #1

Oct 14, 2019

I will be honest, I do not watch wrestling often but Becky Lynch empowers the hell out of me so I was open to reading this comic. However, Jason is just not a likable main character. However, Cosentino's art is lovely and Segala's colors are brilliant. If you are a big wrestling fan you will more than likely enjoy this comic just because of the history it explores, but if you are like me and a more casual fan maybe pick up BOOM! Studios' WWE series instead.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Persona 5 #2

Mar 29, 2020

Overall, Persona 5 Vol. 2is the perfect way to fall back in love with the story of the original game without committing yourself to another 100 hours playthrough. Additionally, this is an excellent opportunity for anyone who can't or doesn't want to pick up the game to enjoy the thrilling and emotional story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Robin 80th Anniversary 100-Page Super Spectacular (2020) #1

Mar 18, 2020

The long history of the character is beautifully told through the various stories within the anthology. That being said, I would have liked to see more focus on interactions between the Robins and seen stories focusing on Carrie Kelley and Duke Thomas.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Shadow of the Batgirl #1

Feb 4, 2020

Shadow of the Batgirlis the best YA graphic novel DC Comics has ever published, it also, so far, one of the best comics of 2020. I don't think I can recommend this book highly enough. This is an excellent read for fans young and old. Fans of Cassandra Cain, Batgirl, or Batman should pick up this graphic novel.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Strange Adventures (2020) #1

Mar 4, 2020

Strange Adventures #1is an excellent start to the series and deals with a lot of heavy themes right off the bat. The book itself excels at creating a disorienting discomfort. I can't put my finger on what is making me so unsure about the ongoing events but whatever it is, I commend it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Superman Smashes The Klan #1

Oct 16, 2019

That being said, Superman Smashes the Klan Part Oneis an excellent Superman story and a reminder of why I adore the character so much. Superman is as American as apple pie because he represents what makes America so great: immigrants. Yang does a great job adapting this classic radio story. This issue is also incredibly poignant considering the political climate of the United States of America. I look forward to upcoming issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Superman Smashes The Klan #2

Dec 18, 2019

This is a fantastic series and one of the most important ones currently on shelves

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Superman Smashes The Klan #3

Feb 19, 2020

At the end of the day, considering the state of the United States, Superman Smashes the Klan Part Three is a must-read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Superman's Pal Jimmy Olsen (2019) #7

Jan 15, 2020

Superman's Pal Jimmy Olsen #7 is laugh out loud funny and doesn't take itself seriously. Any fans of DC Comics should be reading this series. The series acts as a satirical look at comics and their history while also being a love letter to them.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Superman's Pal Jimmy Olsen (2019) #8

Feb 19, 2020

Superman's Pal Jimmy Olsen #8 is a fun ride, even if it is a bit wordy. This remains a must-read for fans of DC Comics and there is no telling where the series is headed in the few issues that remain.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Superman's Pal Jimmy Olsen (2019) #9

Mar 18, 2020

Overall, this issue disappointed me. I still adore this series but I hope future issues become more cohesive.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Superman's Pal Jimmy Olsen (2019) #10

May 19, 2020

I want to reread this issue when the full trade comes out. I have no doubt it will be significantly more enjoyable when read immediately following the previous issues. If you are a fan of the series and have been reading it, my recommendation is to go back and re-read issues one through nine first. If that understandably feels like it might be too much of a chore, then hang out and wait for the trade.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Tales From The Dark Multiverse: Batman: Knightfall #1

Oct 16, 2019

Snyder and Higgins craft a haunting story that is devoid of hope. Additionally, Guimares' dark color palette fits this grim and dystopian Gotham. Meanwhile, Fernandez's art excels, particularly in its close-ups. A lot of the emotional depth of the characters is seen in their eyes. It isn't hard to see just how lost Jean-Paul Valley is when his expression also mirrors that. Overall, Tales From The DC Dark Multiverse: Knightfall #1is a must-read for Batman fans, particularly fans of the original Batman: Knightfall. Fans will be happy to know that Dark Knights: Metalis not required reading before picking up this issue. The Dark Multiverse one-shots continue with The Death of Superman.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Teen Titans: Raven #1

Jul 2, 2019

Overall, of the YA graphic novels, I have read for both DC Ink and DC Zoom, Teen Titans: Ravenis the best one yet. The story is engaging and endearing. Raven's struggle of being a regular teenager is relatable and would remind anyone of their favorite teen drama from back in the day. That plus the sprinkling of supernatural elements makes this book a fun enough ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Test #1

Jul 3, 2019

Overall, Test #1is a unique book but is a somewhat disjointed start to an already confusing narrative. However, my hope is the next issue clears up and begins to connect a lot of the threads already laid out for readers. Fans of sci-fi will enjoy this book and it is worth picking up for the art alone.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Batman Who Laughs (2018) #6

Jun 12, 2019

Overall, The Batman Who Laughs #6is a high-octane adventure that isn't afraid to be downright creepy. The horror elements are perfectly implemented and I cannot speak highly enough of Cipriano's lettering in this issue. Snyder has crafted a genuine masterpiece with this story and knowing there is only one issue left is bittersweet. Needless to say, I highly recommend The Batman Who Laughs for every Batman fan as well as anyone itching for a horror story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Batman Who Laughs (2018) #7

Jul 31, 2019

Overall, The Batman Who Laughs #7 has the elements that make any great Batman story; high stakes, a compelling villain, and a Bruce Wayne on the brink of insanity. Bruce's descent into madness is haunting and as the book concludes, readers are left questioning their own psyche, their own worth, and their own demons. As one of the final Batman stories from Snyder, it is bittersweet to see this epic mini-series end.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Empty Man (2018) #8

Jun 13, 2019

Overall, The Empty Man #8 is a satisfying close to a spectacular horror series that has weaved various haunting themes throughout its narrative. The ending of this issue leaves room for this creative team to return to the series in the future. I have consistently loved this series and gone on record as saying it is my favorite book currently on shelves. This issue only furthers that belief for me. If you are a fan of horror comics, particularly of the infection subgenre, I highly recommend this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
The Infected: The Commissioner #1

Dec 18, 2019

To say The Infected: The Commissioner #1is a disappointment is an understatement. Infected or not, I am tired of DC characters, and subsequently, DC Comics writers, using ableist tropes and continuing the narrative that disabled people are broken and helpless. My recommendation to DC Comics is to hire some sensitivity readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Man Who Came Down the Attic Stairs #1

Sep 17, 2019

The illustrations, particularly of the character's faces, have a haunting beauty. Throughout the story, something seems off, but not noticeable enough to point out. This bizarre quality within the artwork compliments the twist at the end of The Man Who Came Down the Attic Stairsby showcasing Emma's mental instability through small visual ques.The Man Who Came Down the Attic Stairsis a haunting but beautiful graphic novel that stands apart from a lot of books currently on shelves. The unsettling artwork mixed with its eerie, uncomfortable but ultimately relatable storyline makes it stand apart. The discussion of postpartum depression is not something I have ever seen in comics. Considering there are more than 3 million cases a year in the United Staes of postpartum depression, it is a condition that needs to be talked about more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Necromancer's Map #1

Aug 26, 2019

Overall, The Necromancer's Map #1is not the easiest comic to jump into but it is well worth the ride. Fans of high fantasy should absolutely add this to their pull list. And while the genre of fantasy is usually not my cup of tea, I will be waiting on edge for the next issue nonetheless.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Oracle Code #1

Mar 10, 2020

The Oracle Codeis everything I wanted and hoped it would be. It does Oracle justice and ground Barbara in a way that feels relatable and real. This is a must-read for fans of Barbara Gordon but more importantly, this is a must-read for disabled fans. I truly believe this book is for us and because of that, I will always treasure it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Plot #1

Sep 26, 2019

Overall, The Plot #1is an excellent horror comic that, while lacking in traditional scares, uses its unsettling color palate and emotional opening to establish the start of a thrilling mystery. Adult fans of mystery and supernatural series. such as Nancy Drew or Supernatural, should absolutely pick up this book. It is also the perfect read for the upcoming Halloween season. I look forward to upcoming issues and continuing to follow this book as the plot thickens " pun intended.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Unearth #1

Jul 10, 2019

Overall, Unearth #1is an incredible start to this new series. The pacing feels perfect as it is just enough of a tease to keep the reader on edge for the next issue. This nightmare is clearly a labor of love for this creative team as each panel feels as if it was meticulously planned and thought out. The incredible but disturbing art coupled with the overarching themes within the book weave together into a horrifying issue. Unearth #1is an unsettling and uncomfortable nightmare that I would highly recommend to any horror fans.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

June

3rd

May

April

More