Shadow of the Batgirl #1
Prev Series Next

Shadow of the Batgirl #1

Writer: Sarah Kuhn Artist: Nicole Goux Publisher: DC Comics Release Date: January 29, 2020 Cover Price: $16.99 Critic Reviews: 9 User Reviews: 1
9.2Critic Rating
2.5User Rating

+ Pull List

Cassandra Cain, teenage assassin, isn't exactly Batgirl material...not yet, at least. But with Batgirl missing from Gotham City, can Cassandra defy her destiny and take on a heroic mantle of her very own? She'll have to go through an identity crisis of epic proportions to find out.
After a soul-shattering moment that sends Cass reeling, she'll attempt to answer this question the only way she knows how: learning everything she possibly can about her favorite hero-Batgirl. But Batgirl hasn't been seen in Gotham for years, and when Cass's father threatens the world she has grown to love, she'll have to step out of the shadows and overcome he more

  • 10
    Newsarama - C.K. Stewart Feb 10, 2020

    This book is perfection from top to bottom. Kuhn has an incredible grasp on what makes not just Cassandra who she is, but Barbara as well, and delivers a powerfully emotional take on the idea of Batgirl that resonates through every moment of the book, whether Cassandra is in her (wonderfully designed and delightfully illustrated) own version of the costume or not. With luck, DC gives the Shadow of the Batgirl team more opportunities to build on the wonderful universe they’ve created here in the future. Read Full Review

  • 10
    Word Of The Nerd - Edward Wendt Feb 12, 2020

    It might not be clear where this fits into the present continuity. Readers of comics who find that this is an important element might be disappointed with this story. For fans of great superhero stories though, there is practically nothing wrong with Shadow of the Batgirl. Kuhn presents Cassandra Cain as far more sympathetic than ever, without contradicting her lethal nature. The creative team showed their love for the character here in a way that few other creators do. Read Full Review

  • 10
    But Why Tho? - Lizzy Garcia Feb 4, 2020

    Shadow of the Batgirlis the best YA graphic novel DC Comics has ever published, it also, so far, one of the best comics of 2020. I don't think I can recommend this book highly enough. This is an excellent read for fans young and old. Fans of Cassandra Cain, Batgirl, or Batman should pick up this graphic novel. Read Full Review

  • 10
    Dark Knight News - Steve J Ray Feb 6, 2020

    So, pay your late fees villain, clean up your trash, and be with your sequel… you may never know if Batgirl is watching. Read Full Review

  • 10
    Geek Dad - Ray Goldfield Feb 5, 2020

    It's one of the best graphic novels I've read in a long time, and the best story Cassandra Cain fans have received in over a decade. Dare I hope the sequel will introduce Stephanie Brown? Read Full Review

  • 9.6
    Forces Of Geek - Lenny Schwartz Feb 7, 2020

    I look forward to seeing more work from both of these creators as well as seeing both of their stars rise in the comic book field. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Comics: The Gathering - Jess Roth Feb 5, 2020

    Despite Shadow of the Batgirl's short length, it fires on all cylinders to pack quite the memorable punch. Here's to hoping we'll see a sequel. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    The Batman Universe - D.M. Grant Feb 4, 2020

    Editors Note: DC Comics provided TBU with a review copy of this title. You can purchase your own copy by heading over to Amazon. Read Full Review

  • 6.0
    DC Comics News - Tony Farina Feb 9, 2020

    Cassandra is a great character and it is nice to see her in this book, and not as Orphan in the “Rebirth” world, this book is just uneven. I am glad it exists and I would recommend it for tweens who won't freak out over a bit of real world language and violence. Read Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

February

January

More