Lenny Schwartz's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Forces Of Geek Reviews: 222
8.4Avg. Review Rating

5.0
2021: Lost Children #1

Jul 11, 2018

The art is the best part. It's expressive and it's clean. I love the design work too except for the kids, who look too darn creepy for me. All in all, it's a book that doesn't make much in the way of choices story wise. But the art will make you stick with it. It may even make you skip reading the words, especially if bored.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
About Betty's Boob #1

Jul 9, 2018

This is one of the better releases of the year. You can read through this very quickly, especially for a book that is close to 200 pages. Yet, the themes and the story may change the reader forever.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Action Comics (2016) #1000

Apr 18, 2018

Yet, these stories make him feel as fresh as he did when he first debuted in 1938.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Action Comics (2016) #1001

Jul 25, 2018

And Gleason makes it all seem fresh. He has just come off a great run on a Superman title. Yet, this seems like its brand new to him. It just is great. I can't believe how excited I am for this book. I need more as soon as possible. This is a good time for sure.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Action Comics (2016) #1002

Aug 23, 2018

The ending also has a bit of a surprise and I love how it's all set up. I can't wait for the next issue as always. Great stuff.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Action Comics (2016) #1003

Sep 26, 2018

This all leads into a cliffhanger of an ending that just makes you wonder what's going to happen next! Bendis and Paquette need to work together again and soon. This is an amazing issue and it's truly well done. More please.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Action Comics (2016) #1004

Oct 25, 2018

At the end, you realize that Bendis wrote a very character based issue. And I love that. It was a nice break and it was good to catch up on Lois and Clark's relationship. He made a choice. And, working with Sook, it was a very smart one indeed.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Action Comics (2016) #1005

Nov 29, 2018

ArtIst Ryan Sook is making some of the best art of his career here. It'd be great to see him on a long Superman run. His style is fluid and is perfect for this book. This is another great issue in a highly enjoyable run.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Adventures of the Super Sons #1

Aug 1, 2018

The art by Barberi is tops. He is at the top of his game here in this book. The action scenes are awesome and everything just pops off the page. I loved the previous series. It's looks like this one may indeed follow suit.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Adventures of the Super Sons #2

Sep 5, 2018

The art is very good as Barberi comes into his own with this title. It's well done and well crafted. His art is great and makes the whole book flow and is exciting. Overall, it's a very nice second issue in a 12 issue limited series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Adventures of the Super Sons #3

Oct 3, 2018

Tomasi and Barberi make for a good team. The art and story work well and it makes for a book that doesn't take itself too seriously. And that's a good thing. It's just a pure, one hundred percent good time.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Adventures of the Super Sons #4

Nov 8, 2018

Barberi gamely draws whatever Tomasi puts forth. He does an amazing job and he's what this title needs. This is an excellent issue in a nicely done series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Adventures of the Super Sons #5

Dec 7, 2018

Tomasi is a great, solid writer. He keeps the story going and this is one of his better issues. The art by Barberi works well with the words and keeps things visually exciting. This is an enjoyable book from cover to cover.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
American Carnage #1

Nov 21, 2018

It eventually ends in a terrifying cliffhanger. The last line of the book is "Welcome to Real America." Its pretty shocking where we end up at the end of the issue. It's even more shocking that it reads true, with not a false note anywhere.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Aquaman (2016) #36

May 16, 2018

Still, this has been a whole lot better than it's been. If the payoff is great, then this issue will have been worth it. Let's hope it turns out that way.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Aquaman (2016) #37

Jun 21, 2018

Federici has been a welcome addition on the art front as well. His art is clean and services the story with flair and style. This is a good issue in a decent series. I can't wait to see how Abnett wraps this whole crazy mess up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Aquaman (2016) #38

Jul 25, 2018

The art by Federici is wonderful. He gives Aquaman a strong visual identity and paces the book nicely. He is just what this series needs. This book has been on the upswing this last year and this is another issue that fits perfectly in that trend.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Aquaman (2016) #40

Sep 19, 2018

The ending is a little too pat for my tastes but it isn't bad. It just feels a bit flat after all of that build up. There was a lot of drama that didn't really have a big payoff.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Aquaman (2016) #41

Oct 17, 2018

The art compliments the story well. I think this storyline is going to be bigger than anyone thinks it's going to be. And that's damn exciting indeed.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Archie Meets Batman '66 #1

Jul 13, 2018

Still, there's a lot to like. The story up to that point was fun and breezy. The art by Dan Parent(with inks by the legendary J. Bone) is good as well. It just left me unsatisfied. I don't mind wanting more after a first issue. This first chapter however just wasn't enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Astro City (2013) #52

Jun 28, 2018

We are now leaving Astro City. Please drive carefully and thank you Kurt and Brent for letting us visit.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Bane: Conquest #11

May 30, 2018

While it won't be a classic, there enough to like throughout.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batgirl (2016) #25

Aug 15, 2018

Overall, this is a mixed bag with more dull stories than interesting ones. It feels like a missed opportunity sadly. Oh well.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Batgirl (2016) #27

Sep 26, 2018

It's left as a cliffhanger but I hardly care to read the next issue. The art is dull and lifeless. Maybe it's time already to get a new creative team? It's really that tedious of an experience to read this.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Batgirl (2016) #28

Oct 25, 2018

Pelletier does his best with the script but there's not much he can do. Hopefully this picks up. Otherwise, I can foresee this getting canceled.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Batgirl (2016) #29

Nov 29, 2018

This could be a better book. The characters are all there in place to make it great. It's just not at the moment. This issue is another disappointment overall.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batgirl (2016) Annual #2

Aug 29, 2018

To do so, she has to write from the heart and come up with better stories. This could have been great. Instead it's just standard. I want better than that.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Batman (2016) #47

May 16, 2018

King has taken a three part story that seemed like a throwaway and instead made it count and count big. I'll never forget this storyline. The dialogue in the last scene also chilled me to the bone. It will do the same for you. This is a top notch comic book. Recommended.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman (2016) #48

Jun 6, 2018

All in all, this is a decent enough issue that one can read very quickly. It's nicely done and but moves so rapidly that there's not much in the way of consequences.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Batman (2016) #49

Jun 21, 2018

This is a perfect issue and I will read this again and discover new things in it. It lives up to the hype and then some.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Batman (2016) #50

Jul 4, 2018

I did feel a little cheated at the end but maybe that's a good thing. It ended different than I thought it would for sure. Maybe King has a bigger plan in mind than we might have been expecting this whole time. Let's see where it goes. Recommended.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Batman (2016) #52

Aug 1, 2018

The way King and Weeks go back and forth in time to show Batman fighting Freeze mixed with the jury's deliberations is amazing. This is a fantastic issue that pushes and challenges the reader and rewards them for their effort. Well done, yet again.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Batman (2016) #53

Aug 15, 2018

The art backs up the power of the story. Lee Weeks has done his best work here, bar none. I can't believe that King's already amazing run is getting better. This issue and storyline shows the power of what comic books are capable of.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Batman (2016) #54

Sep 5, 2018

It's a funny, emotional ride that King and Wagner give us. The story is fantastic. The art is some of Wagner's best. The ending is a little abrupt but I'll forgive it. This is another beautiful issue in King's run. I know it was controversial but I hope this team, much like Bruce and Dick in this issue, work together again for some time to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Batman (2016) #55

Sep 19, 2018

It's as good as the first time when the Beast appeared in the 80's. And that's some high praise indeed.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Batman (2016) #56

Oct 3, 2018

This is another solid issue by King and the art by Daniel is the best he has done in his career, hands down. The scenes are fluid and the figure drawings are all excellent. He's come a long way and he's doing amazing.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Batman (2016) #57

Oct 17, 2018

Tony Daniel's art is amazing. He's at the top of his game too. The fight scene he draws is fluid and wonderful. He's constantly improving. This is another strong issue in a highly successful run. Thumbs up all around to this creative team.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Batman (2016) #58

Nov 8, 2018

King is just killing it on this title. It just keeps getting better. He deserves all of the accolades he is getting. The art by Janin is tops too. This could be a definitive Penguin story arc for the character. Let's see what happens!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Batman (2016) #59

Nov 21, 2018

This issue is a major chapter in terms of King's overall story. It's excellent. I can't wait to see where he takes us next. It's sure to be incredible.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Batman (2016) #60

Dec 7, 2018

The art by Janin and Fornes is very good. I like Fornes. He has a David Mazzucchelli style to his art. I'm already dying for the next issue. This is the normal pace for me now reading this comic and it's a great thing.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Batman (2016) Annual #3

Dec 14, 2018

I'm all for annuals if they give us value with a good story and art. This book gives us just that. It may end up being a classic if enough people read it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman (2016): Secret Files #1

Nov 2, 2018

Overall, this is a mixed bag, with a tad more good than bad. They should have cut out the second and third stories and expanded on the others. But this is a enjoyable read overall.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Batman Beyond (2016) #20

May 25, 2018

All in all, this is a decent first part of the newest storyline. I'm excited to see where it goes.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Batman Beyond (2016) #21

Jun 28, 2018

The ending is a cliffhanger that whets your appetite for more. It's quite a book that's been consistently great. I can't wait to see what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Batman Beyond (2016) #22

Jul 25, 2018

The story is fast paced and wonderful. The art again by Conrad is pretty damn sweet. I loved the way this is moving along. I hope DC keeps this creative team in place for a while longer. They're great!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Batman Beyond (2016) #23

Aug 23, 2018

Jurgens is doing a great job. The art by Will Conrad is the best this book has had. Check out the opening sequences of Terry brawling with the people of Gotham and trying to escape. It's awesome. This comic has been great. I'm excited to see how this team finishes this story off.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Batman Beyond (2016) #25

Oct 25, 2018

This is a great anniversary issue and a great package overall! Very enjoyable!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Batman Beyond (2016) #26

Nov 29, 2018

The story is fast paced and doesn't let up. Jurgens really turns up the speed and it's truly exhausting and exhilarating. The art matches the story perfectly. This is a great storyline that is only getting better every time you turn the page!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman: Kings of Fear #1

Aug 23, 2018

The script by Peterson is especially good. I'll be reading it to see where it goes. The ending was just nuts enough to make me smile.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman: Kings of Fear #2

Sep 26, 2018

The story is very basic but enjoyable and it works well with the art. This isn't going to blow people's mins but it will give them a lot of entertainment. It'll be interesting to see if this can continue the good time in future issues, but for now? I'll just enjoy it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Batman: Kings of Fear #3

Oct 25, 2018

Now that Jones is moving away a little from being a clone of Bernie Wrightson, his art is much more enjoyable to look at. This whole series has been a joy and I can't wait to read it all together. This is one of the more underrated series to come out for Batman in recent years.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Batman: Kings of Fear #4

Nov 29, 2018

This book has proven itself to me. I was pretty well done with Kelley Jones on Batman as I thought I had my fill. I was wrong. He just needed to be inspired again. And this series certainly has inspiration in spades.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Batman: Prelude to the Wedding: Batgirl vs. The Riddler #1

Jun 13, 2018

The art is decent enough. I feel like Jung would produce nicer artwork with a better script. Seeley is writing all of these one shots. I hope he has better stories up his sleeve than this for future issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman: Prelude to the Wedding: Red Hood vs. Anarky #1

Jun 21, 2018

The ending leads into the next issue which is Harley Quinn and the Joker. Maybe Seeley will do better there. The art is decent enough on this and is probably the best thus far on these prelude issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Batman: Prelude to the Wedding: Nightwing vs. Hush #1

Jun 6, 2018

This is still decent enough entertainment. The character moments are what makes it work best. I hope the rest of these side stories are as good as this one is.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman: Prelude to the Wedding: Robin vs. Ra's Al Ghul #1

May 30, 2018

Overall, this isn't bad, just rather slight. Maybe the other upcoming issues will have more depth.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batwoman (2017) #18

Aug 15, 2018

Bennett wraps this all up wonderfully. The art works beautifully with it as well. The last image of the book is one of hope. I know Kate Kane will be back (she's getting her own tv series!) but this issue has a beautiful ending. It's a perfect coda for this 18 issue series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Blackwood #1

Jun 1, 2018

Evan Dorkin is quite a writer. Veronica Fish is a hell of an artist. Together here, they make magic. This is only four issues so it could go anywhere. That's exciting. And that makes for a must read comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Breathless #1

Jun 1, 2018

The story is very good and the art by Rodriguez is pretty damn solid. I'm not sold on the creature designs (it looks a little too much like Giger leftovers for my tastes). That minor complaint aside, this is a solid series that I will be reading until the end!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Catwoman (2018) #1

Jul 4, 2018

The writing is tight and taut. The artwork is super fluid and is kinetic. The colors by Laura Allred are especially good and a real treat. I loved the setup in this issue. It's a good time and we need a good Catwoman series. This one seems fit to fill the bill.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Catwoman (2018) #2

Aug 8, 2018

Still, this is an excellent book. I am excited to see where Jones takes us and what she has in store for us next. It's well done and I'm invested in this story completely.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Catwoman (2018) #3

Sep 12, 2018

My only gripe with it is, where is it all going? I'm assuming Jones has a plan, I just have no inkling yet of what it is. That could be a great thing if it pays off. If it doesn't, well, the whole thing can fall flat. Let's see what happens. I'm along for the ride either way.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Catwoman (2018) #4

Oct 11, 2018

The whole thing leads again to a cliffhanger of sorts. I'm not sure again where this is all leading. It kind of feels like it's not leading anywhere. Maybe the next issue will answer some of the mysteries of the point of the four issues thus far and why Catwoman is being toyed with by the Creels. Or at least, I hope so.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Catwoman (2018) #5

Nov 19, 2018

This is a nice first story arc by Jones. This issue is at it's best when Jones amps up the action. Now all that remains is seeing if she can bring it home next issue. All signs point to "yes."

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Cave Carson Has An Interstellar Eye #3

May 16, 2018

It's sad the Young Animal line is going away. It's been a great run. All we can do now is enjoy the last few issues of these wonderful titles.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Cave Carson Has An Interstellar Eye #4

Jun 21, 2018

The art is simple but great from Oeming. It has the style and energy of a Jack Kirby comic. But it's it's own unique thing. And it's a book that will be missed greatly once The Young Animal line packs up house in the next couple of months.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Cave Carson Has An Interstellar Eye #5

Jul 18, 2018

In just one issue, this title will be going away. That's really sad to me. I have loved this book from the very beginning. I hope this character continues in some form from this creative team. This has been memorable for sure.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Cave Carson Has An Interstellar Eye #6

Aug 15, 2018

Rivera writes a smart, emotional tale. A lot of tears are shed and a lot of the characters and their various storylines get wrapped up. Through it all, it's smart and funny and very human.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Cover (2018) #1

Sep 5, 2018

These are two creators at the top of their game and it's good to see them working together. This is pretty great.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Cover (2018) #2

Oct 17, 2018

The art by Mack is simply brilliant. He utilizes his multimedia art style brilliantly. The result are stunning. This is an amazing new path for both creators. And I personally cannot get enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Cover (2018) #3

Nov 21, 2018

It's quite an achievement the two have created here in this comic. This is one of my favorite books of the year.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Crude #1

Jun 4, 2018

Again, the art on this is the highlight for me. Brown has been great for years. I hope this turns around. Orlando can do better than this and I hope the story picks up and feels more focused. Right now, it's just not fully formed.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Damage #5

May 16, 2018

The creators here don't seem to have much passion for this beyond it being an assignment. That's a shame. I feel like this book could be interesting if somebody just cared. Sadly, that does not seem to be the case at all.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
DC Beach Blanket Bad Guys Summer Special #1

Jul 25, 2018

Still, there's a whole ton to like here. It's more than worth the price of admission. I hope DC keeps going with this idea and keeps the quality high. This was mostly a lot of fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
DC/Hanna-Barbera: Deathstroke/Yogi Bear #1

Nov 2, 2018

This book though is all about the first story. And that story is a good read indeed.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
DC/Looney Tunes: Catwoman/Tweety and Sylvester #1

Aug 29, 2018

The second story has Catwoman going into the Looney Tunes universe. It's rather slight but does have a few laughs.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
DC/Looney Tunes: The Joker/Daffy Duck #1

Aug 29, 2018

Daffy goes undercover for the police and it ends badly. That's pretty much it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Deathbed #5

Jun 21, 2018

This team really has a good book on their hands. I can't wait to see how it ends.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Deathbed #6

Jul 18, 2018

I'm sorry this book is ending. These six issues are memorable, however. I'll be buying the trade when it comes out. Thumbs up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Deathstroke (2016) #32

Jun 6, 2018

The art is very well handled for this title as well. This storyline seems like it will have lasting scars for both Batman and Deathstroke. I can't wait to read the next chapter of this twisty, and compelling story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Deathstroke (2016) #33

Jul 4, 2018

It's also great to see Ed Benes drawing this title and in the DC Universe again. He has a look to his art that is perfectly suited for the craziness and action of this book. This is another great chapter in the mini Batman versus Deathstroke saga!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Deathstroke (2016) #34

Aug 1, 2018

There's one more issue of this madness. I can't wait to see how it wraps up. It's very fun and well done.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Deathstroke (2016) #35

Sep 5, 2018

The question of "Is Damian Slade Wilson's son?" is answered by the end. Since it was the catalyst for this six parter, the answer had to be satisfactory. Suffice to say, it definitely is. It's done in a simple, yet effective way. This is some great stuff here. Priest doesn't play it safe, and it's great. The art by Pagulayan was perfect here too, and he was firing on all cylinders. I can't wait to read it again.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Deathstroke (2016) #36

Oct 3, 2018

The art is wonderful here. The two artists work well to make Priest's script come to life. This seems to be another fine storyline on this awesome book. I can't wait to see what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Deathstroke (2016) #37

Nov 8, 2018

I love this title. What a great job Priest is doing. And I'm a huge fan of Pasarin's art on this book. We are left with a big cliffhanger at the end. And I cannot wait for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Deathstroke (2016) #38

Dec 7, 2018

Priest does an amazing job with this issue yet again. He keeps the reader going with great stories, fantastic dialogue, and sheer adrenaline. This is another fine story and a great collaboration with Pasarin. This is a rare book that is only getting better with each passing issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Delta 13 #1

Jul 11, 2018

The art by Jones is done in the sketchy style that another collaborator of Niles uses so well(that would be Ben Templesmith). It adds to that generic, knockoff feeling. Sadly, the issue doesn't get much better than that. Hopefully the rest of the series picks up and makes for itself a more original identity.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Detective Comics (2016) #983

Jun 28, 2018

We don't meet the villain until the end it his last line and the last splash page is chilling. The art by Mendonca is a breath of fresh air as well and I hope this new direction of sorts sticks. It's a wonderful and vibrant read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Detective Comics (2016) #984

Jul 11, 2018

nnHill has turned this book around. It was getting silly before he came on. Now, the book feels like it has a direction. I'm excited about the possibilities that may be ahead of us.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Detective Comics (2016) #985

Jul 25, 2018

The art is very good too, here. Someone (I won't say who) is executed at the very end on television and it's a nice way to end on a cliffhanger.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Detective Comics (2016) #986

Aug 8, 2018

This is a book that is only getting better and better. I would like to beg DC to keep Bryan Hill on as the writer. He's brought back my enthusiasm and excitement for a title that I felt was just coasting. This is some great stuff, kids.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Detective Comics (2016) #987

Aug 23, 2018

The ending of this storyline has a nice ending for Black Lightning. It leaves the door open for future stories. I hope so. Hill really has a handle on these characters and he strutted his stuff on this story. Mendonca did nice work too. Hopefully, they both get reunited soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Detective Comics (2016) #988

Sep 12, 2018

I'm going to praise Stephen Segovia one more time. His work here is exemplary. I hope he stays on this title or on a Batman related title for some time to come. His work is just excellent. This is a good, solid issue from the creative team.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Detective Comics (2016) #989

Sep 26, 2018

Stephen Segovia is the perfect artist for this title. His work here is just spectacular and he is the perfect Batman artist. The story isn't groundbreaking but it's incredibly solid. I'm enjoying it though and it ranks high for good entertainment value.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Detective Comics (2016) #990

Oct 11, 2018

The art is some of the best of Segovia's career. The guy is a marvel. I can't say enough about it. This has turned out to be a solid tale in the continuing story of the Caped Crusader!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Detective Comics (2016) #991

Oct 25, 2018

The art by Di Giandomenico is good too but he deserved to draw at least one full out action sequence. Still, this issue is a decent enough chapter. It just needed a bit more action.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Detective Comics (2016) #992

Nov 19, 2018

It's a good ending to this cool chapter of this story. Robinson makes every scene count and he works best in stories that are grounded in reality. That's what makes this wonderful. He does great too working with the art. This is an awesome storyline. I'm enjoying it very much.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Detective Comics (2016) #993

Nov 29, 2018

So they had me until the last six pages. And then I stopped caring. The rest of the issue is great however.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Detective Comics (2016) #994

Dec 14, 2018

Tomasi and Mahnke hit all the right notes. And it's just their first issue! Where can it go from here? I don't know but I can't wait to find out.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Doom Patrol (2016) #12

Nov 2, 2018

Maybe there will be future issues of this series that will give us something more substantial. The first 11 issues are great. This one just feels empty and forgets what the audience has responded to. Hopefully it picks up. This comic book series has been a a great and reliable title. This issue is not.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Ether: Copper Golems #1

Jun 4, 2018

The only problem with this book is that it moves too fast. You can read it very quickly. But that's okay. It hooks you like a drug and leaves you wanting more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #53

Aug 23, 2018

The art by Duce isn't my favorite but I like it enough. I loved when Howard Porter was on this title. This feels like the younger brother of his style. It's decent but it makes me want Porter back as it's a little too similar. Still, this is decent stuff and a fine issue overall.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #54

Sep 12, 2018

It started off awful but quickly got better. And sometimes, that's all that matters.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Flash (2016) #55

Sep 26, 2018

It's a great story and Williamson and Kolins are a fine team. The writing and art work well together. This is an intriguing start to the new storyline. I'm enjoying it thoroughly.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #56

Oct 12, 2018

The writing is fun and it's all enjoyable. I am, however, ready for this "Sage Force" story to be over. It's run it's course and it's time to move on. Williamson does a capable job writing this issue and it's decent for sure. But I can't wait until the next storyline starts and we are running off to a new destination on this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Flash (2016) #57

Oct 25, 2018

The story is all over the place but there's more good than bad so I'm in for the long haul. I am glad this particular storyline had ended.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Flash (2016) #59

Nov 29, 2018

I love the art by Sandoval. He has such a great design sense and may be the best artist this title has seen in quite awhile. This is a fine book. It's also another great chapter in the overall story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Flash (2016) #60

Dec 14, 2018

The only thing that doesn't really work for me is Powerhouse's costume design, which looks like a Green Lantern gone to hell. It's a small complaint but I think more time could have been used to develop it. That minor complaint aside, this is a good issue in a solid book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Arrow (2016) #44

Sep 5, 2018

The story is very good and the art is spectacular. This is a nice turn of events on this title and in the Benson's career. Hopefully they can keep up the incredible momentum.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Green Arrow (2016) #45

Oct 3, 2018

Of course this is just the opening salvo of the Heroes in Crisis storyline and related crossovers. It can only get better. For now though, this is an incredible issue of Green Arrow.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Green Lanterns Annual #1

May 30, 2018

Diggle does his best to string it all together but it falls a bit flat. The art again is decent but the story doesn't allow for much excitement. The ending is a bit of a dull bummer. I hoped it would turn around the entire time but it never did.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #50

Sep 19, 2018

Hell if I know. I already checked out a long time before that.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hawkman (2018) #1

Jun 13, 2018

Though I hate the voiceover Venditti has written, maybe it's the way to go. And maybe he's just better off if he keeps things as simple as possible for now.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Hawkman (2018) #2

Jul 11, 2018

Venditti plays it a little too safe overall writing this book. I wish he had more guts and just went crazy with the ideas. Still, it's an easily read book that passed the time enjoyably enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Hellblazer (2016) #22

May 25, 2018

I have very strong feelings on how a Hellblazer comic should work. That's just my genetic make up and others may like this book as it is now. I just don't see how they could.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Hex Wives #1

Nov 2, 2018

The art by Andolfo is quite good. The book is full of life and the storyline and storytelling are both very spirited. This may be a sleeper hit for the new Vertigo line. Worth a look.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hex Wives #2

Nov 29, 2018

The art is great as well. Andolfo does some top notch work here and brings the script home. It's wonderfully drawn and there is so much quiet emotion that is brought to the page. It's really great. This book could be a sleeper.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Hey Kids! Comics! #1

Aug 13, 2018

And that's exactly what I think we have gotten from him here.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hit-Girl (2018) #5

Jul 30, 2018

This is the first chapter of their short run. It's excellent and a good read overall.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
House of Whispers (2018) #1

Sep 12, 2018

Hopefully it picks up. Right now it just didn't involve me.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Injustice Vs. Masters of the Universe #1

Jul 18, 2018

I have pretty much written off Tim Seeley at this point. This book is fun yet incredibly goofy. The best part again is Williams on the art duties. His work makes me smile right along with the story making me cringe.I took it in good fun. If you look at it like that, you may enjoy it a bit. I'll read the rest of the series of course. But my brain will be shut off for the remainder of my time here for sure.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Lost City Explorers #1

Jun 4, 2018

The ending gets the plot completely set up. So who knows? This could really pick up. But as far for right now, this story of finding Atlantis feels like it's sinking.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Mae (2018) #1

Jul 30, 2018

Ha is as good a writer as he is an artist and blends the two crafts seamlessly. The art is beautiful to look at and it's definitely his best work. The character and creature design is strong as are the panel layouts. This book is quite excellent. There really is something for everyone here.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Man of Steel (2018) #1

May 30, 2018

It's exciting. There are so many questions raised in the first issue. This six issue series starts off great and is fueled with great inspired writing. My only question is if Bendis can make the big picture satisfactory. The adventure started off great here. Let's see where it takes us. For now, it's a high level book that will be at the top of my reading pile.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Man of Steel (2018) #2

Jun 6, 2018

Bendis keeps all of these balls in the air and keeps things compelling. The reader is never lost, no matter how complicated it may seem. He's making some good comics right here. I'm glad it's weekly. I don't know if I could stand the wait otherwise.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Man of Steel (2018) #3

Jun 13, 2018

Still, that's just because I want more. It's so well done that it goes too fast. But that is the sign of a creator at the top of their game.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Man of Steel (2018) #4

Jun 21, 2018

And then? After that? The regular series starts! And man, I can't wait for that.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Man of Steel (2018) #5

Jun 28, 2018

The ending is just awesome. It's a splash page for the end but man, what a splash page. It perfectly sets up the last issue. Can Bendis pull off a classic? Right now, all signs point to yes.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Man of Steel (2018) #6

Jul 4, 2018

Good for Brian Michael Bendis. He not only silenced the critics but he has created an amazing direction for a character that deserves the best.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Mera: Queen of Atlantis #4

May 25, 2018

I just wish it had more behind it story-wise because right now it's pretty empty.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Mister Miracle #9

Jun 13, 2018

The issue ends with a great set up for the rest of the series. Gerads did a great job again here too. The expressions are amazing and the panel layouts are strong. There's nothing like this on the stands. And that's a great thing.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Mister Miracle #10

Aug 1, 2018

The art by Gerads is great. He rightfully got the Eisner Award this year. This is an amazing series. I guarantee that it'll be viewed as a classic in the years to come. It's that good.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Mister Miracle #11

Sep 19, 2018

And Gerads is just excellent. His art is perfect for this. We are one issue away and he's just killed on the entire series thus far. If it ends as good as it's been, this could be one of the all time great comic book series. I think that it's going to actually happen.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Mister Miracle #12

Nov 19, 2018

King and Gerads have done something amazing. They have created a series that is amazing to read and that will hold up if you re-read it again, looking for new things you might have missed the first time around.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Mother Panic: Gotham A.D. #3

May 25, 2018

This is an excellent book that will be going away. I hope it gets revived on some form or another.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Mother Panic: Gotham A.D. #4

Jun 28, 2018

The art is just what this title needed all along: A strong visual identity that is consistent. It's a shame we are getting it right at the end. But at least we are getting it. And it's awesome indeed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Mother Panic: Gotham A.D. #6

Aug 23, 2018

The art by Ibrahim Moustafa really was excellent for these last six issues. Moustafa and Houser really took it to another level. It's been a strange, wacky ride in the world of Young Animal.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Mouse Guard: The Black Axe Black & White Limited Edition #1

Jun 1, 2018

Petersen really is the Tolkien of comic books (sorry Jeff Smith, I love you too). The world he creates is one that is the closest to Tolkien that you can imagine. I also like that there is enough for young readers to pick this up and enjoy. And they should. The themes and the emotions are up there with the best that fantasy storytelling has to offer.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Nancy Drew (2018) #1

Jul 9, 2018

This book is well done and has some genuine emotion. That's because Thompson writes some great characters and situations. The art is decent enough as well. It's a good first issue that intrigues me. I've never read a Nancy Drew story. I'm just glad my first experience was one as good as this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Nightwing (2016) #45

Jun 6, 2018

The art for this book by Mooneyham is pretty good as well. He is accompanied by the legendary Klaus Janson on inks in the first 15 pages. It's wonderful. He and Percy make a great team. They've even kickstarted my interest in the book completely.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Nightwing (2016) #46

Jul 4, 2018

The writing is strong. The artwork is very good. Like I said, it's a nice new direction on this book from where we have been. I have been enjoying it thoroughly and can't wait to read the next issue! It's a great feeling.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Nightwing (2016) #47

Aug 1, 2018

Whoever put this creative team together deserves a raise. They are working at a high level and this book is only getting better. I look forward to seeing what happens next. It's a great feeling.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Nightwing (2016) #48

Sep 5, 2018

I wasn't sure I would like the art by Amancay Nahuelpan in the beginning. Man, did it grow on me. By the end I was completely digging it. This is a great issue and another fine story by Percy. I can't wait for the next issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Nightwing (2016) #49

Sep 19, 2018

This is another great Nightwing book in Percy's run on the title thus far.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Nightwing (2016) #50

Oct 3, 2018

The art by Chris Mooneyham and Travis Moore is wonderful. This is a worthy anniversary issue for this title. I loved the last few issues and the direction they took with it. This issue is simply excellent as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Nightwing (2016) #51

Oct 17, 2018

The art is a little inconsistent on this as well. Hopefully it turns around in the upcoming issues. It's not bad but it's uneven. And it could be better.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Nightwing (2016) #52

Nov 8, 2018

If they had stronger writing this could be an “A+” book. Right now it is just a solid “C”, unfortunately. Hopefully it picks up.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Nightwing (2016) #53

Nov 21, 2018

The art is the best part. Moore and Zircher do a solid job overall. This book does feel oft kilter these past few issues however. Hopefully somebody comes on and picks a better direction. It does feel like this book is lost at sea at the moment.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Nightwing (2016) #54

Dec 7, 2018

But this is a bit better of a comic than it has been. They can certainly bring it home and clear up the flaws a bit in upcoming issues. It can be a great book. Hopefully it becomes that again. The potential is certainly there.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Nightwing (2016) Annual #1

Aug 29, 2018

It's a very compelling issue. I am happy with the new direction this book has taken. Percy is doing something new and interesting. The art by Schmidt is great as well. It's like animation it's so sleek. This is a perfect annual for Nightwing. You can't ask for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Pearl #1

Aug 15, 2018

This feels fresh and new. I love it. Hopefully, this is the start of something great. I will say, that it certainly feels like it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Pearl #2

Sep 19, 2018

I'm in love with what is happening here. It's a fine book with a great team that are both really stretching their skills to fine effect.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Pearl #3

Oct 17, 2018

And that's just it. Bendis and Gaydos have made a realistic crime comic that rings true. It's excellent. The only question is, where will they take us next? I have no idea but I know it will be exhilarating.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Pearl #4

Nov 21, 2018

The art by Gaydos is perfect. He's got this character down and the culture of the San Francisco scene. He and Bendis are making a classic book. It's also a book that's unlike anything that either have ever worked on before.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Raven: Daughter of Darkness #4

May 30, 2018

Overall, it's a good book. I look forward to reading the rest.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #23

Jun 13, 2018

This is my favorite issue of the series. It ends on a somber note and it's just perfect. After two years on this title, Lobdell has written his best issue yet. Recommended.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #24

Jul 11, 2018

Dexter Soy remains one of my favorite artists in comics. His work is so underrated, it's criminal. He perfectly illustrates Lobdell's story. They are only getting better as a creative team. And this book is only getting better. This is one of the more exciting books on stands each month. Well done.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #25

Aug 8, 2018

This is some great stuff. Kudos go to Lobdell and Soy for keeping things so interesting these past 25 issues. It's been great. It looks to get even better. And that's what comic books are all about.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #26

Sep 12, 2018

This is a solid new direction for this series. I'm liking it a lot, even though it was always good. Now it's time to see what else Lobdell has up his sleeve. I'm looking forward to it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #27

Oct 11, 2018

It's an emotional scene that Lobdell handles beautifully. Everything feels honest and real. It hit me right in the heart strings and I admired how well this was handled. Bruce then leaves and the power of the scene resonates as he does.Lobdell then sets up the next story and it's interesting as well. I'm excited to see where he takes us next. The art by Woods is especially nice and excellent. This is another solid issue in an amazing run.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #28

Nov 19, 2018

The issue ends on a cliffhanger. Lobdell doesn't continue the Wingman storyline but I'm assuming he will next issue. The art by Woods is fitting and fun. This is a great book. It's a nice, off the cuff gem by a strong creative team!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #29

Dec 7, 2018

The writing is fast and fun. None of it would work as well without the dynamic art of Pete Woods. He keeps the storytelling clean and clear and it's just plain awesome. He's a great addition to an already good book. This is another damn fine issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) Annual #2

Aug 29, 2018

Having Clayton Henry draw this issue is a real treat. The art is expressive and wonderful and he draws a hell of an action scene. I liked this very much. Lobdell has been doing great. Let's hope there is more coming!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Scarlet (2018) #1

Aug 29, 2018

Maleev is just at the top of his game. The art is great. The whole series has a new and inspired feel to it that I am just loving. I can't wait to read the next issue and I hope they keep it going with a modicum of frequency. We've waited a long time for this issue, but at least it was good.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Scarlet (2018) #2

Sep 26, 2018

This is a gutsy book. Bendis doesn't hold back. The art is very good too and well composed. Everyone should be reading this. It's a book that's being crafted at the highest level of quality.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Scarlet (2018) #3

Oct 25, 2018

What's going to happen? Who knows! And that is the best part. You have no idea. And that is a great place for a reader to be.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Scarlet (2018) #4

Nov 29, 2018

The issue is a slow burn because it's going to erupt in the next issue. The ending here is so damn interesting that I can't wait to see where it goes. This is another fine issue in a great comic book series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Shade, the Changing Woman #4

Jun 6, 2018

I don't know where this comic is going. I don't know how it will end. I don't know if I'll even be able to explain it to someone when it's wrapped up. But I do know I'll be thoroughly enthralled when it happens.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Shade, the Changing Woman #5

Jul 4, 2018

This is the second to last issue of this book. I'm sorry to see it go away. I hope this creative team shows up on another book or graphic novel soon. This has been one of the best reads of the past two years.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Shade, the Changing Woman #6

Aug 1, 2018

The last page is something special. A change does happen. And it's deeply moving yet remains fun and full of possibilities. The art by Zarcone pulls the whole thing together. I just loved this series. I will read this whole thing again. It's really a beautiful series. I will remember it for sure.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Shanghai Red #1

Jul 9, 2018

The art by Hixson is very strong and tells the story perfectly. He reminds me of a young David Mazzucchelli. This is an interesting debut for what could be a great series. I'm definitely intrigued to see what happens next!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Sherlock Holmes: The Vanishing Man #1

May 14, 2018

Sherlock Holmes is a kind of comfort food for many people. If you want that comfort, then this is perfect. Sometimes, that's all you need.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #42

May 25, 2018

All in all, it's a pretty decent issue. Not as good as it can be, but it's certainly better than where we have been.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Suicide Squad (2016) #43

Jun 13, 2018

The artwork flows from that two artists on this issue. Everyone is nuts but at least it's readable and clean. I look forward to this title now. I never know what to expect issue to issue. But I always know that it will be completely bananas.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #44

Jul 11, 2018

I have to say I have been loving the art on this title lately. Williams may be going crazy on that story but the art by Joe Bennett is good and creative. It grounds the story a bit which is a great thing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Suicide Squad (2016) #45

Aug 8, 2018

It's a lot of fun. The art by Luis is pretty good as well. He's developing into a hell of a talent. It has a lot of funny moments, a ton of crazy adventure, and cool hero shots. What more could you ask for?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #46

Sep 12, 2018

Things are getting even worse on the surface world. Mera has had it and tells the representatives for the world that if Atlantis falls, so shall the surface world! She even has the tides ready to do a big tidal wave. Things aren't looking good!The story is typically bananas. The art is pretty spiffy. All in all it's entertaining and you don't have to turn your brain on for it. And sometimes, that's a good thing.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #47

Oct 12, 2018

The story is as by the numbers as they get. The art isn't half bad but it's very basic. It mostly just feels like a fill in issue. The writing is strained and forced for a lot of it. But whatever. It's silly and predictable and does offer some fun moments. It just could be a ton better but what can you do.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #48

Nov 19, 2018

Williams writes a great first chapter that is is solid. His work is always at its best when he's not going crazy writing a shared storyline. The art is decent as well. I'm interested to see how this resolves itself. This is pretty good thus far.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #49

Dec 14, 2018

The story is crazy. The art isn't as good as what I would hope but it works. I really have nothing more to say except it's enjoyable and you need to turn your brain off as always to read this. I enjoyed it for the silly goofy time that it is.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Suicide Squad (2016) Annual #1

Aug 23, 2018

At the end, it all feels kind of pointless. I hope DC can get this book together once Williams leaves. Right now I'm not so sure.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Suicide Squad: Black Files #1

Nov 8, 2018

Sadly, the story is generic. The characters feel pretty generic as well. Follow that up with some dull art by Eaton and it's barely worth mentioning. I enjoyed the main feature so much that I forgot there was even a second story twenty minutes after putting it down from reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Suicide Squad: Black Files #2

Dec 7, 2018

The second story features the Suicide Squad Black going on a mission. It's boring and the art is incredibly uninspiring. Scot Eaton gives us some of his dullest art ever and the story by Nitz is just flat. Luckily the first story shines brightly and makes the second seem like you don't have to pay much attention.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Super Sons #16

May 25, 2018

This has been a nice little run for Superboy and the Damian Wayne Robin. They seemed an unlikely pairing to star in a title. Yet, good writing and fine characterizations prevailed. I'll be reading the new series come August.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Supergirl (2016) #21

Aug 10, 2018

This is a great start to a new story. It's great rather than good and I'm excited to see what lies ahead. Let's see what happens.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Supergirl (2016) #22

Sep 12, 2018

The writing is quite solid. The art by Maguire is great as usual. It's a good issue overall and I just enjoyed it. I hope it continues along these lines.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Supergirl (2016) #23

Oct 12, 2018

The art by Kevin Maguire is quite excellent. He is an odd fit for this book and that's what makes it work. The expressions and body language for the characters are all excellent here. Hopefully, he and Andreyko have a have a long run on this title. It's been an excellent ride these past few issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Supergirl (2016) #24

Nov 19, 2018

It's all leading to the big 25th issue next month. I'm as excited as can be for it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Supergirl (2016) #25

Dec 14, 2018

All in all, however this is a decent book and the first two stories shine brightest.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Superman (2018) #1

Jul 11, 2018

Overall, I think this is another feather in the cap of Brian Michael Bendis. He's giving us a fresh take on a classic comic book character.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Superman (2018) #2

Aug 8, 2018

I'm loving what Bendis has brought to the table. The last shot of Superman wondering if he will ever see his family again is just perfect. I'm 100 percent on board with this direction. It's thrilling.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Superman (2018) #3

Sep 12, 2018

The writing is fast and funny. Bendis is killing it here again and is firing on all cylinders. The art by Reis is tops. This is a great comic that has another fantastic chapter here. Keep it up, guys.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Superman (2018) #4

Oct 11, 2018

The writing is wonderful as usual. Again, I love when Ivan Reis draws this character. This is another fantastic issue in the Bendis era on Superman. I'm glad he's here doing what he does. It's been a golden time indeed.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Superman (2018) #5

Nov 19, 2018

The art by Reis is good as usual and he really know how to draw impactful scenes and make them work well. This is some great stuff. I'm happy in the direction it all seems to be going.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Superman (2018) #6

Dec 14, 2018

The ending has quite a surprise that leads into the next issue. I don't want to spoil it but it's a very thought out moment and boy does it work. Bendis has a plan in place and it's wonderful. Let's see where it goes from here. I just know that it'll be someplace great.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Urban Legends #1

Jun 1, 2018

This book is a curiosity that's enjoyable if you're a Turtles fan. It's also enjoyable if you're a bit deranged (I don't judge). And then when you're done, go read the delightful books IDW are currently putting out. This comic will never be canon, but it's worth checking out, if only to see a crazy version from the past.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
The Batman Who Laughs (2018) #1

Dec 14, 2018

So then, there are a few more twists and turns. By the end of the issue, there is so much happening that it's almost overwhelming. But it all makes sense and it's visceral and wonderful. This is a VERY different take on the Batman mythos. But it's a very well thought out one and is completely excellent from cover to cover. It's an early Christmas treat indeed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
The Dreaming (2018) #1

Sep 5, 2018

Spurrier's story keeps you interested however. He does a great job keeping the feel from Gaiman's book alive. The art is very good as well. I'm interested to see what they do with it. Let's see where it goes.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Dreaming (2018) #2

Oct 3, 2018

The art by Bilquis Evely is the highlight of the book. Every character is wonderfully rendered and he has a beautiful way of handling the storytelling. It makes you wish Evely was around when Gaiman was writing the books. It would have maybe been special. This however, is just not.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
The Dreaming (2018) #3

Nov 8, 2018

Spurrier is being smart about the writing. He knows he can never do what Gaiman did so he's setting up own story and running away with it. It's really good. Combine that with the art and we have a very interesting book. It may even make its own mark if the quality keeps up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
The Dreaming (2018) #4

Dec 7, 2018

The story is great. It's vibrant and it's made it's mark on me. Kudos to Spurrier on this. And kudos to Evely on art. She's doing a top notch job. This is getting good. Let's see where it goes.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
The Last Siege #1

Jun 1, 2018

The art is very good and very dirty which I love. Greenwood has a raw and emotional style which is quite cool and perfectly suited for this book. His panel layouts especially move the story along well. I'm interested to see there this goes. This is a nice first issue, indeed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
The Prisoner (2018) #1

Apr 27, 2018

The art is decent. Lorimar experiments with a few scenes and it works pretty well. It's pretty. I'm intrigued to see where it's going but I'm hedging my bets as I've been let down some many times before with this franchise.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
The Silencer #5

May 25, 2018

All in all, this isn't bad. It's tough to create a new character you care about but Abnett makes it look easy. There's a lot of good writing here and artwork. I'll continue to read this title and see it where it goes as it's intrigued me enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Terrifics Annual #1

Nov 2, 2018

This is a quality annual for a book that is very good. The stories are strong and the art on each of them is decent. And you can't ask for more than that.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Weatherman #1

May 14, 2018

And the art of course is wonderful. Fox is a veteran and his art is perfect for this. I just wish I had the rest of it right away (five issues are already reportedly done). If the rest of the series is this good, however, I won't mind waiting.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
United States vs. Murder Inc. #2

Oct 3, 2018

Bendis and Oeming are at the top of their game. This series might even be better than the original. Time will tell but it looks likely indeed.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
United States vs. Murder Inc. #3

Nov 8, 2018

The writing is tops on this title. And Oeming is a great collaborator with Bendis. His pictures here are great and expressive. This is a book that isn't talked about very much but it's damn good. The story and art are just awesome.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
United States vs. Murder Inc. #4

Dec 7, 2018

This book is just another interesting work from Bendis with a strong artist. He is trying new concepts out and just working his magic in a collaborative way. This is a book with two top notch creators at the top of their game.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Wild Storm #13

May 16, 2018

A well written and well drawn story? Sign me up. The only sad part of this book is that it's 24 issues in this series. But man, am I going to savor each one.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Wild Storm #14

Jun 21, 2018

This is a book full of ideas. I can't wait to read each issue when they come out because of that.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Wild Storm #15

Jul 18, 2018

Things are heating up in this book. Start from issue one and read up to this current issue. You won't be able to put it down. I certainly have not be able to.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Wild Storm #16

Aug 15, 2018

This issue is awesome both in writing in art. Kudos to the creative team for telling one hell of an original story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Wild Storm #17

Sep 19, 2018

Warren Ellis and Jon Davis-Hunt are both doing the best work of their respective careers here. I'm totally in love with this series. I can't wait until it's over so I can read it all at once.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Wild Storm #18

Nov 2, 2018

This is one of the best consistently great creative teams out there. This book has kept me enthralled from the very beginning. It's tops.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wild Storm: Michael Cray #8

Jun 13, 2018

The last image is a splash page and Cray's last line hits home. It's a great ending and a wonderful set up for next issue. I'm loving this. Hill and Harris are killing it on this title and it's a great read month in and month out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Wild Storm: Michael Cray #9

Jul 11, 2018

That last page is also an amazingly well drawn splash page. Harris nails the page perfectly as well as the entire art duties of the book. I'm at the edge of my seat. The next issue can't come fast enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Wild Storm: Michael Cray #10

Aug 8, 2018

The art by N. Steven Harris is wonderful. He paces his scenes together perfectly. Together with Hill, they have taken this forgotten character and breathed new life into him. I'm sorry that this title is going but I'm going to enjoy the hell out of the last two issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Wild Storm: Michael Cray #11

Sep 12, 2018

The story is strong and the art by Harris is just great. This has been a solid book overall from issue to issue. I can't wait to see how the creative team wraps this up. It's very compelling.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Wild Storm: Michael Cray #12

Oct 12, 2018

The last few story beats are horrifying. Hill makes it clear that this is not a happy ending. It is an ending that is haunting and memorable. As far as I'm concerned, this is the definitive book about Cray and the one that others should look at. He's a viable character and this team made him something worth talking about.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #51

Jul 25, 2018

The book didn't draw me in. The dramatic scenes tried too hard and the little action we get is forced and really meant nothing. It felt like it dragged on forever for me. When it ended, I finally breathed out a sigh of relief.They tried here and that's be commended. It just didn't work. I disliked the art too, as it felt stiff and lifeless. Not everything works and I appreciate them putting themselves out there. I just wish it was better.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Zinnober #1

May 21, 2018

I'm looking forward to picking up this series and seeing how it develops. For right now, it's got an excellent beginning and It could turn out to be a sleeper.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

December

November

More