Batman: Urban Legends #5

Writer: Marguerite Bennett, Meghan Fitzmartin, Matthew Rosenberg, Chip Zdarsky Artist: Eddy Barrows, Ryan Benjamin, Sweeney Boo, Beln Ortega, Marcus To Publisher: DC Comics Release Date: July 14, 2021 Cover Price: $7.99 Critic Reviews: 14 User Reviews: 65
8.1Critic Rating
8.4User Rating

+ Pull List

Red Hood: Meet Cheer, the villain behind the insidious Cheerdrops altering the citizens of Gotham. When confronted with a man responsible for taking the lives of so many, including Tyler, the kid Jason Todd swore to protect, will Red Hood be able to stop himself from taking vengeance for a whole city?
Grifter: Through four chapters of blood, bullets, and Batman, the true reason for Cole Cash emerging in Gotham City reveals itself at last…but it’s not what you think!
Tim Drake: Tim is determined to find his friend Bernard, who was taken by a Chaos Monster before his very eyes. But this case is different from any Tim has tak more

  • 9.8
    Comic Watch - Cody White Jul 13, 2021

    Obviously this story will speak more to Wildstorm fans but because of the craftsmanship applied to every element of the story (including the fantastic letters and SFX from Temofonte and vibrant colors from Fabela), even the most uninitiated can enjoy this story as an expertly crafted story that leaves the reader salivating for more, more, more! Read Full Review

  • 9.6
    Forces Of Geek - Lenny Schwartz Jul 14, 2021

    It is a good issue overall, and all the stories worked in some capacity. Read Full Review

  • 9.1
    Comic Watch - Ariel B. Jul 13, 2021

    The tumultuous relationship between Batman and Red Hood has been tested, broken, and repaired many times since they first met lo those many years ago... but it has rarely been examined with as much love and attention as it has been here. We have one issue left, and Im honestly dreading having to let this story go. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    But Why Tho? - Collier "CJ" Jennings Jul 13, 2021

    Batman: Urban Legends #5 introduces long-lost characters from the Wildstorm Universe into the fray, and continues to shine the spotlight on the Dark Knight's various allies. With "The Long Con" wrapping up and "Cheer" reaching its conclusion next issue, I hope that the series continues to find new ways to explore Gotham's Guardians. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Dark Knight News - Steve J Ray Jul 27, 2021

    Batman: Urban Legends #5 is a winner. I've been saying for years that DC make the very best anthology books, and I'm sure that regular readers of this series will agree. This title is terrific, and this could be the best issue to date. Fans of Batman, Red Hood, the Batgirls, Tim Drake and 90s comics need to pick this book up. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    AIPT - Madeleine Chan Jul 13, 2021

    Batman: Urban Legends #5 should make you excited to be a Bat fan. With a rich focus on character, wonderfully expressive art, and many surprises for the future of the Bat-landscape, it can't disappoint. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    GWW - Nick Friar Jul 12, 2021

    The setup for two finales we're set to get in Batman: Urban Legends #6 have been great. Specifically, the Red Hood story has me on the edge of my seat with the problem Batman is facing. I'm also very excited to learn more about the mysterious woman from Bennett's Batgirls story elsewhere in the future. Read Full Review

  • 8.5
    Geek Dad - Ray Goldfield Jul 13, 2021

    Overall, another strong installment although only the first two stories are really A-tier. Read Full Review

  • 8.4
    The Super Powered Fancast - Deron Generally Jul 13, 2021

    Rosenberg brings this story to a satisfying conclusion. It's well done and fun both in its dialogue and reveals. It's definitely one that is worth reading because saying more about it would spoil it for the reader. Read Full Review

  • 7.5
    Comic Book Revolution - Kevin Lainez Jul 16, 2021

    Batman: Urban Legends #5 is a blast to read. It is great to pick up a comic book that offers the opportunity for the entire Batman Family to take the center stage in their own story. This issue does a particularly highlights what makes Red Hood, Spoiler, Orphan, Tim Drake's Robin, and Grifter such great character. Each of the stories told around these character keep you engaged as a reader and makes you want to read more adventures dedicated to each of them. Read Full Review

  • 7.5
    Lyles Movie Files - Jeffrey Lyles Jul 13, 2021

    Zdarsky and company sell this issue mostly on their own, but Grifter fans will likely be very glad they stuck with the anthology series as well. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    ComicBook.com - Matthew Aguilar Jul 14, 2021

    All in all there's a lot to like here, even if everything doesn't click with you in the same way. Read Full Review

  • 5.5
    Batman-News - Jay Yaws Jul 13, 2021

    Urban Legends continues its holding pattern as a pretty average Batman book. Despite some bright spots, it's getting harder and harder to analyze this series, because even the best stories feel like they're stretched too thin. I wish I could even say that it's worth it to pick this up as a fan of the individual characters, but with incredibly mixed results and quality that varies wildly, it's a steep investment at $8 an issue. Read Full Review

  • 5.0
    The Batman Universe - Daniel Goldberg Jul 14, 2021

    Urban Legends steams ahead, though this issue feels a bit uneven. The "Cheer" story remains the stalwart and promises to close with the force of its opening. The Grifter story never really belonged, and/or if it did ought never should have lasted for five issues. Tim and Stephanie's relationship deserved more time and care than it is apparently receiving, and that remains a major disappointment. Read Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

July

June

More