Collier "CJ" Jennings's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: But Why Tho? Reviews: 22
8.9Avg. Review Rating

6
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #59

Feb 10, 2021

Amazing Spider-Man #59 feels more like a set-up for future storylines, though it does have some surprisingly emotional beats. Issue #60, which debuts after Valentine's Day, looks to be exploring Spidey's love life, and I'm definitely interested in it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #60

Feb 24, 2021

Amazing Spider-Man #60essentially acts as a one-act play, letting Peter Parker bare his soul while laying down the next step in Nick Spencer's master plan. The next issue offers a new costume for Spider-Man and a new job, and I hope that both continue to steer Peter back to where he was when writer J. Michael Straczynski was writing Amazing Spider-Man.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Black Hammer: Visions #1

Feb 8, 2021

Black Hammer: Visions #1 presents a moving and darkly hilarious tale that fans of the Black Hammer universe will enjoy, courtesy of Patton Oswalt, Dean Kotz, and Jason Wordie. Other creators are slated to present tales for Visions in the future, including Chip Zdarsky (Daredevil) and Kelly Thompson (Black Widow) among them. I'm looking forward to those tales, and to see what the other creators do with the world ofBlack Hammer.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Crossover (2020) #4

Feb 25, 2021

Crossover #4 features its heroes pulling off a daring heist, as well as several surprising connections to another of its creative team's endeavors, including the use of the Paybacks. Given the ending of this issue, as well as its "post-credits" scene, the series is about to kick into another gear. And I can't wait to see what happens on the journey to the Crossover site, as well as the potential appearance of other comic characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Eternals (2021) #2

Feb 10, 2021

Eternals #2 sets up a cosmic murder mystery for its titular gods and resurrects one of the greatest villains in the history of the Marvel Universe. I highly recommend this series to fans old and new, especially if they want to know more about the Eternals.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Future State (2021): Superman: House of El #1

Feb 23, 2021

Future State: Superman-House of El #1 has a strong premise and solid artwork, but a story that fails to offer an entry point for new readers. Most of the previous Future State titles have managed to build off of or tie into other titles, and it's a shame that this one didn't because there were some genuinely great ideas in this story. I am still looking forward to Johnson's next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Future State (2021): Aquaman #2

Feb 23, 2021

Future State: Aquaman #2 beautifully explores how trauma and legacy can often go hand in hand, as well as the relationships in the Aquaman family. I would love to see more of Andy and Jackson's adventures, as the concepts and story could fuel an ongoing series for years. Thomas and Sampere have given theFuture State universe one of its most well-crafted stories; if you have been enjoyingFuture State so far or you're an Aquaman fan, I definitely recommend picking up this story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Future State (2021): Green Lantern #2

Feb 9, 2021

Future State: Green Lantern #2explores the Green Lanterns in DC's Future State universe, putting the spotlight on each Lantern and what they mean to certain fans. With Thorne and Soy set to boardGreen Lantern in March, I hope they continue to push the Green Lantern Corps into a bold new frontier.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Future State (2021): Superman: Worlds of War #2

Feb 16, 2021

Future State: Superman: Worlds of War #2continues to explore why Superman matters and the influence his imprisonment on Warworld has on other heroes. With several stories being set up, includingFuture State: Superman-House of El andMister Miracle: The Source of Freedom, this book acts as the perfect launching pad for the upcoming Infinite Frontier initiative in March.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Future State (2021): The Next Batman #4

Feb 16, 2021

Future State: The Next Batman #4 is both a solid ending for the main story and a perfect set up for future stories in this universe. Even if the backup stories were hit and miss, I plan to read Second Son and hope that Ridley has many more stories to tell with this Dark Knight.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Home Sick Pilots #3

Feb 14, 2021

Home Sick Pilots #3 explores how people handle grief in different ways while continuing to flesh out its universe with new story developments. Given how the issue ends, Ami may be reunited with one of her friendsand said reunion could turn extremely deadly.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Iron Fist: Heart of the Dragon #2

Feb 17, 2021

Iron Fist: Heart of the Dragon #2 is fairly light on plot to the point of being nigh-inconsequential, yet its art is a wonder to behold. Hopefully, the next issue is more substantial in terms of plot and action.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
King In Black #4

Feb 17, 2021

King in Black #4 features a jaw-dropping twist in Marvel history and begins to turn the tide for our heroes, setting the stage for a world-shaking finale. Cates and Stegman are aiming to end their Venom saga on a high note, and as someone who's been there from day one, I can't wait to see how it all pays off.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
King In Black: Black Panther #1

Feb 10, 2021

King in Black: Black Panther#1 perfectly blends the Afrofuturism of its title hero with the cosmic horror of the title event series, creating an engaging and often emotional story. Fans of King in Black or theBlack Panther film, as well as Black Panther fans in general, will want to pick it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Marvel's Voices: Legacy #1

Feb 24, 2021

Marvel Voices: Legacy #1is a love letter to Black heroes, as well as Black comic book readers. If you have a favorite Black hero, chances are they're represented in this one-shot. It is a must-read, not only for Black History Month but for all comic fans. Hopefully we continue to see more one-shots like this in Marvel's future for other characters and creators of marginalized identities.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mighty Morphin (2020) #4

Feb 15, 2021

Mighty Morphin #4 fundamentally changes the game for the Power Rangers and starts to peel back the curtain on some of the series' mysteries. With the Green Ranger revealed and Lord Zedd having them on the ropes, the Rangers are in for a fight like never before.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Scout's Honor #2

Feb 12, 2021

Scout's Honor #2 continues to explore the layers and secrets of its post-apocalyptic world, ending with an emotional knife in the heart. I'm loving the direction this book is taking and the next issue looks to explore the "trial by combat" that often pops up in post-apocalyptic fiction. I recommend this book to anybody who either loves post-apocalyptic fiction or has gotten burnt out on it as this is a genuinely fresh take.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Suicide Squad (2021) #1

Mar 2, 2021

Suicide Squad #1 more than lives up to its name, featuring an eclectic cast of characters on a dangerous new mission. With James Gunn's The Suicide Squad on the horizon, Task Force X has made the perfect time to have a comeback.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: The Last Ronin #2

Feb 18, 2021

TMNT: The Last Ronin #2 begins to peel back the layers of the tragedy surrounding the story and paints a dark future for its titular heroes in the process. Rarely have I felt an emotional gut-punch with these "dark future" stories, but The Last Roninis the exception to the rule because it centers around the dissolution of a family. I can't wait to see more of this story, as it truly is shaping up to be a special entry in TMNT history.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Wolverine (2020) #10

Feb 24, 2021

Wolverine #10 serves as the conclusion to an action-packed spy storyline, reuniting the clawed mutant with one of his longtime allies. Next issue will see Wolverine battle vampires and the machinations of Omega Red and I can't wait to see how Percy shifts from the spy genre to the horror genre (and how artist Scot Eaton handles the clawed Canadian).

View Issue       View Full Review
7
X-Men: Legends (2021) #1

Feb 15, 2021

X-Men: Legends #1 is a flashback to a simpler time, and although the art is lacking the story is a solid attempt at untangling one of the few knots in the X-Men's canon. Longtime X-Men fans, particularly those who grew up in the '90s, will hopefully enjoy it, and the issue ends on a shocking cliffhanger that makes me want to pick up the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Young Hellboy: The Hidden Land #1

Feb 15, 2021

Young Hellboy: The Hidden Land #1 feels like a delightful throwback to globe-trotting adventure films, mixed with the supernatural elements that have come to define the Hellboy mythos. It's also easily accessible to new readers and a deeper exploration of Hellboy's life for longtime fans.

View Issue      

Reviews for the Week of...

March

3rd

February

More