Dark Ages #1 View Preview
Prev Series Next

Dark Ages #1

Writer: Tom Taylor Artist: Iban Coello Publisher: Marvel Comics Release Date: September 1, 2021 Cover Price: $4.99 Critic Reviews: 17 User Reviews: 69
8.3Critic Rating
8.3User Rating

+ Pull List

This is what the Watcher has been watching for!
•  A danger older than the Earth threatens everything. For once, the heroes who have saved the planet so many times are almost powerless in the face of it.
•  X-Men and Avengers assemble. Spider-People and Fantastic Four come together. Heroes for Hire fight alongside Champions.  
•  None of it will be enough.
•  The lights are about to go out.
•  The world outside our window...is about to end.
•  An all-new saga of the Marvel Universe as you've never seen it before from Tom Taylor and Iban Coello!

Rated T+

  • 10
    But Why Tho? - Collier "CJ" Jennings Aug 30, 2021

    Dark Ages #1 launches a new version of the Marvel Universe which subverts the usual dystopia tropes and features top-notch work from its creative team. Fans of Taylor and Coello's previous works will definitely want to add this to their pull list, while fans of books such as The Hunger Games and The Maze Runner will find a comic that hews to their tastes. Read Full Review

  • 10
    Comic Crusaders - Johnny "The Machine" Hughes Aug 31, 2021

    This event has me intrigued to say the least. Without the pressures of what comes next, readers can enjoy the the journey not focus so much on the destination. Read Full Review

  • 10
    Kabooooom - Matt Morrison Sep 1, 2021

    Based on this first chapter, Dark Ages seems poised to become Marvel Comics' next Age of Apocalypse. Given the talent involved, however, I suspect it will be far better. MCU Fans who have yet to give the source material a try after watching What If"? would do well to check out this series. So would everyone else. Read Full Review

  • 9.2
    Comic Watch - Bethany W Pope Aug 30, 2021

    This story is a rollicking adventure, packed with high stakes and heart. Read Full Review

  • 9.1
    The Super Powered Fancast - Timala Elliott Sep 2, 2021

    This visually appealing issue perfectly encapsulates the tone of the story. The drawings and bold color palate are breathtaking. And the focus on character expression and form is engrossing. The best part of this edition are the series of action scenes. The attention to detail is impressive. And the illustration is done in such a way to elicit a strong emotional response. I was fully transported with every turn of the page. Read Full Review

  • 8.5
    Graphic Policy - Brett Sep 1, 2021

    Dark Ages #1 is a solid start. Taylor is delivering yet another spin on classic characters in a new world and setting. The debut sets the bar as what we can expect and the answer is everything. No one is safe and we're being delivered a solid spin and direction it seems like. If you like Taylor past similar work, this is a start that's well worth checking out. Read Full Review

  • 8.5
    AIPT - Ronnie Gorham Aug 30, 2021

    Dark Ages #1 looks to re-shape the landscape of the Marvel Universe in a way that will change the dynamic of its characters forever. Read Full Review

  • 8.5
    The Comicbook Dispatch - soycornholio Aug 30, 2021

    Dark Ages #1 by Tom Taylor is a solid opening to what is sure to become a classic in Marvel reading. I have not read a Tom Taylor book since X-Men: Red, but he is honestly a solid writer. The overall pacing of this issue was excellent. There was zero tap dancing and explaining who the characters are etc. If you are a fan of ANY of the Marvel characters, pick up this issue. I was politely surprised with the story in general and you will not be disappointed! Read Full Review

  • 8.5
    Comic Book Revolution - Kevin Lainez Sep 4, 2021

    Dark Ages #1 is a fantastic example of how you kick off a big event. Tom Taylor and Iban Coello do not waste any time setting up the big conflict and the ramifications of the decisions made by certain heroes. It all works to create a universe that fans will be fully invested in finding out what will happen next. This is a must have comic book for all Marvel fans. Read Full Review

  • 8.5
    Black Nerd Problems - Chris Aiken Sep 5, 2021

    What I like about this first issue is that it's entertaining. There is some solid action and art that draws readers in despite not getting to the meat and potatoes of its initial premise. Of course, the first issue isn't perfect. We don't get as much character work as I would have liked, but it feels like the book will slow down the pace going forward and explore how our heroes have changed after the events of the first issue. I'd call Dark Ages #1 a win and with a great tease at the end, I'm excited to see what's next. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Nerdly - Phil Wheat Sep 7, 2021

    As Simon Cowell would say ‘I liked it, but I didn't love it' Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Nerdly - Dean Fuller Sep 7, 2021

    As Simon Cowell would say ‘I liked it, but I didn't love it' Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Multiversity Comics - Christopher Egan Sep 3, 2021

    An exciting page turner crossover event that puts a new spin on quite a few ideas and plot devices Marvel fans have seen over the years. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Impulse Gamer - Tim Chuma Sep 5, 2021

    This does have a lot of different characters from the Marvel universe in it and I would recommend at least having a look at it if you want a different sort of story than usual and not just them fighting the same bad guys as they regularly do. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    Comics Bookcase - Zack Quaintance Sep 1, 2021

    Dark Ages #1 is pretty faithful to other entries in the recent boom of stories that ask what if your favorite superheroes but messed up? Its a little short on the charm needed to make it work exceedingly well, but this first issue had A LOT of setup to do, so I get it. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    Comics: The Gathering - Charles Martin Sep 1, 2021

    Dark Ages #1 is a strongly-illustrated tale about how the Marvel universe -- or at least one version of it -- ends in apocalyptic chaos. It does an impressive job of establishing a new status quo and lays the groundwork for interesting stories to come. But its matter-of-fact, past-tense tone robs this apocalypse of its full measure of drama. This series may well progress into greatness as it continues, but even if it does, this initial chapter is destined to go down as an awfully dry prologue. Read Full Review

  • 4.0
    ComicBook.com - Chase Magnett Sep 1, 2021

    It introduces a new threat and a core cast of characters to trace this new status quo, but barely considers the question of why readers should concern themselves with all of it beyond the recognizable faces stuffed inside. Read Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

September

August

More