Chris Aiken's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Black Nerd Problems Reviews: 43
8.3Avg. Review Rating

8.5
Champions #17

Mar 1, 2018

Champions remains the go-to book if you want a fun series featuring Marvel's legacy characters. However, a lot of the focus lately has been on Viv. Let's hope, moving forward, that they give some of the other characters a chance to shine, especially the newcomers, whom readers might not be familiar with.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Champions #18

Mar 30, 2018

Overall, I'm just glad that we are moving on from this story arc. Wrapping up lingering plot points and expanding the team at the same time makes the new folks look like foot soldiers without much to do. While this arc is enjoyable in some aspects, what we really want to see is more interactions with the newbies and learn more about these characters. Thankfully, it looks like that is where the book is leading towards.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Champions #19

Apr 11, 2018

This issue is the start of a promising new adventure. We have a new team behind the wheel but the same feel. The smaller, more focused roster works in their favor and I certainly hope Marvel realizes what a great book they have on their hands. Now, can I get a Champions cartoon series? Please?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Champions #20

May 24, 2018

I'm digging the return to form for Champions, the new line up and creative team. I have some thoughts about the end of this issue but overall I like what I'm reading and ready for whatever Zub andIzaakse throw our way.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Champions #21

Jun 21, 2018

The one problem that I have with this issue is the same problem that I have with a lot of books. The arc is really short, and feels like it ends abruptly. Things get resolved in the end, but I feel like another issue or two would have serviced it better. It would have fleshed out some of the stuff individual characters were dealing with when the arc first started, and added more weight to the conflict with Alpha Flight. However, it's not enough to sour how well Zub writes the Champions or prevent you from enjoying the best superhero team in Marvel.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Champions #22

Jul 13, 2018

As always, Champions continues to be a fun ride with a great cast of young heroes just trying to do the right thing and make a difference. As they jump into the next mission, I can't wait to see how it turns out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Come Into Me #1

Mar 21, 2018

Come Into Me is exactly the type of dark storytelling I'm into and the plot is incredibly well done. It's a must read and I highly recommend this to any fans of dark sci-fi like the Twilight Zone and Black Mirror. I look forward to seeing exactly how far this book goes.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Come Into Me #2

May 3, 2018

By the end of the book, we are left off on another tantalizing ending. I'm still waiting for the point where this totally unethical and out of control technology makes it to the public. All I know is that it will be sci-fi horror at it's best.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Dissonance #1

Jan 24, 2018

I feel like I came crashing into this book head first, stuck in the middle of an ongoing story rather than the beginning. The seeds are sown for some potentially interesting plot elements but altogether it's not as captivating as I hoped it would be.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Dissonance #2

Mar 21, 2018

I'm still holding out hope that Dissonance will start expanding more on its world. Without it, it's a slow burn so far and frustrating to only get the surface level understanding of what the stakes exactly are. I want to see more and Nugroho needs to start giving us a reason to care about Folke and the manipulations of this group.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Dissonance #3

May 9, 2018

What's funny is that all of the colliding storylines solve some of the issues I had before. The glimpse we get of the Fantasmen's first meeting with humans and the Conscience Agreement in the first issue no longer seems like something Nugroho skims over. Suddenly, I'm intrigued by this world's past and Folke's investigation into his parents' deaths, as well as how Rosia will deal with the issue's shocking ending. She definitely has a choice to make and the antagonistic relationship between her and Folke has reached an interesting point, that can only make for a better story.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Green Arrow (2016) #41

Jun 6, 2018

It's hard for me to get behind a hero like Green Arrow being trapped in prison with powered people and all it takes is a bunch of trick arrows to dispatch them. There's no sense of desperation, or feeling that he might not make it out of this. Like I said, by the numbers. Thankfully, Matt Clark's gets to play with the different powered villains, trick arrows and a certain situation in a vent that's pretty funny. His art is this issues saving grace from total mediocrity. Hopefully, next issue's conclusion to this story offers more surprises than the beginning did.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Arrow (2016) #42

Jul 4, 2018

Once again, this arc just doesn't do it for me. I feel like it should have been something more, and it's a shame that it's wasn't given the time to do that. Next issue, we move onto the new creative team. I hope they fully take advantage of the type of stories they choose to tell.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Immortal Hulk #1

Jun 7, 2018

Not only is the Hulk unkillable, but for the first time in a long time he comes with a major personality change, one that is unlike any other Hulk we've seen before. Ewing has made the Hulk monstrous in the way the people of the Marvel universe generally tend to see him. It's a great shift from the more recent attempts to make the Hulk a hero.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Immortal Hulk #2

Jul 5, 2018

Ewing is doing something pretty crazy with the Hulk. It feels new and like a homage at the same time. He has very much turned the Hulk into a horror movie monster that would fit in with the likes of Dracula and the Creature from the Black Lagoon. I like it and surprised it hasn't been done more often. In my last review, I questioned not knowing where the book was going but now I wouldn't mind seeing every issue be a brand new tale of the Hulk as a spirit of vengeance.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
New Challengers (2018) #1

May 16, 2018

I really like New Challengers. While we don't get to know more about the other members of the team or get to see more of their first mission, I'll chalk that up to the fact that you can only fit so much in the first issue. Synder and Gillespie do a great job of selling the premise and teasing what's to come. They have also given Andy Kubert a lot to work with. I like his art, especially what he does with the settings. I'm ready to see how he draws the crazy set pieces and the dangers the team will encounter.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
New Challengers (2018) #2

Jun 20, 2018

I'm not as hyped about the second issue of New Challengers as I was about the first. However, there were a few key parts of the story from Synder and Gillespie that have me intrigued. Between Moses backstory and the shocking ending, the two writers brought up a lot of questions in the second issue that have easily turned this book from a great adventure to a mystery that needs to be solved that will most likely keep you coming for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Persephone OGN #1

May 22, 2018

By the end, you reach a satisfying conclusion but still feel like more can be told from this story. There is a perfect balance of adventure, levity, and character development that makes you want to continue on Persephone's journey. Here's to hoping that Locatelli-Kournwsky still has more stories to tell in this wonderful world.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Rise of the Black Panther (2018) #1

Jan 4, 2018

Rise of the Black Panther is the perfect origin for newcomers and a great start to retelling the legacy of Wakanda. If Narcisse and Coates continue with the same quality of work they put in this first issue, this book might be the go-to read anyone who wants an introduction to the Black Panther.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Rise of the Black Panther (2018) #2

Feb 8, 2018

I'm ready for more. I can't wait to see what the next chapter holds as Wakanda opens up to the rest of the Marvel Universe. This book is an exciting read and if it continues at this pace, the whole collection will be a must buy for sure.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Rise of the Black Panther (2018) #3

Mar 8, 2018

This is minor gripe but the dialogue and science could have been minimized a bit during the fight. I do like where the book ends though. The cliffhanger presents an interesting confrontation for T'challa and if the last issue's encounter with Namor is any indication, we're in for something good.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Rise of the Black Panther (2018) #4

Apr 5, 2018

Back in Wakanda, dissension continues to grow and the seeds are sown for future conflict. With the arrival of Erik Killmonger, he will most definitely play a role in testing T'Challa's rule. Enjoyable doesn't even begin to describe Rise of the Black Panther. Every one of Marvel's iconic heroes should have a book like this for new and old fans alike. It will truly be sad to see this end.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Rise of the Black Panther (2018) #5

May 3, 2018

As always the art is on point. Both Pina and Salazar keep the action, characters and setting looking great. I also hold a special place in my heart for the designs of all the characters clothes, especially the Black Panther suit and Storm's outfit. As we reach the end of Rise of the Black Panther (I know, I'm going to miss it too), it's clear who will be the last enemy that T'challa will have to face. I do wonder at what point in T'challa first year we will end up. Here's to hoping it ends just as strong as the rest of the book.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Rise of the Black Panther (2018) #6

Jun 8, 2018

I'll say what I said at the beginning of this series. Rise of the Black Panther is the perfect origin for newcomers and a great start to retelling the legacy of Wakanda. It's definitely a must-read for anyone looking to jump into the world of Black Panther. Every hero should have a book like this that so gracefully retells their origins and greatest adventures. Respect to Narcisse, Coates, Renaud, and Pina for treating Black Panther with such care.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Sideways #1

Feb 14, 2018

However, none of this distracts too much from the story. Sideways is a fun read. I don't think there are too many teenage superheroes in the DC Universe who aren't already a part of a team or a sidekick. So, this is an interesting addition to DC's roster of heroes. And with the promise of how crazy things to come might get, Sideways seems like it's worth sticking with.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Sideways #3

Apr 11, 2018

Sideways has a pretty bright future in the DC Universe. He's fun, different, and is going up against some interesting foes. I'm looking forward to finding out what he steps into next.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Sideways #4

May 9, 2018

Sideways still has potential. There is always a tease of a larger narrative working its way into the story. I just need that narrative to do what superhero stories do best – give us a superhero that aspires to be great and learns something along the way. Derek as he is, seems like a self-centered kid using his powers for the wrong reason. Thankfully, I think the story is pushing Derek toward more and more situations that are way over his head.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Sideways #5

Jun 13, 2018

That aside, we have a pretty strong issue. Sure, the villain of the week is nothing to cry home about, but he serves his purpose narratively. Sideways is easily becoming a great addition to the DC Universe. With hints of a greater destiny at hand and a shocking ending, it looks like we've got some good stuff coming.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Sideways #6

Jul 11, 2018

I still feel like Sideways is a fun new character to have in the DC universe. He's different from a lot of the other caped heroes and big shots in the way that he's just a kid doing the hero thing on his own. That's why I'm a bit disappointed in where the issue ends. For a hero that is different, his story deserves moments that are less disappointing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Skyward #1

Mar 28, 2018

In the end, I do love a good concept and Skyward delivers a great world to explore. My biggest issue is that we don't really get a major conflict right away. The book does hint a something major developing towards the end but, once again, the first issue is pretty short. We won't get to see how our characters react to this until the next issue. However, since I'm hooked it's not much of a problem.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Skyward (2018) #2

May 22, 2018

One thing I will note is that while Willa's adventurous spirit and overeagerness to escape her life are fun, we are already starting to see how much trouble it's getting her into. It will be interesting to see what she stumble into further down the line and hope we keep getting more amazing issues of Skyward down the line.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Skyward (2018) #3

Jun 13, 2018

What I love about Skyward is that every issue leaves you wanting more. I'm interested in seeing how Willa's character reacts to her life (forgive me for this) being turned upside down. By the end of the issue, the stakes are raised to a point that her trouble doesn't just affect her. I have a feeling will give us that and so much more as he continues to open up this wild and wonderful world.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Skyward (2018) #4

Jul 18, 2018

Henderson keeps the ball rolling with Willa's crazy journey in this exciting world that he has created. Also, the best of Garbett's artwork is saved for the end of this issue and continues to prove why he was born to draw this book. Next time in the world of Skyward isn't soon enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Spider-Man (2016) #238

Mar 9, 2018

I like this issue despite the fact that I didn't get my fight with Miles and the Six. Hopefully, we will get that showdown soon. Also, I don't know where the setup with Miles' parents is going, I just hope it's something good. Moving them away from the situation just seems like it robs the reader the opportunity to see them interact with Aaron, which is something we desperately need. They are just as much invested in this as Miles is.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Spider-Man (2016) #239

Apr 4, 2018

What we have here is a really solid issue. It's going to be interesting to see the resolution between Miles and Uncle Aaron as this current arc meets its end. At first – for me at least – it was a bit surreal to see Uncle Aaron come back from the dead but Bendis has made the most of it. The dynamic between Miles and Aaron is strong and makes for some great drama.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Spider-Man (2016) #240

May 4, 2018

Bendis' run on Miles Morales tale ends on a whimper. Plot lines are completely dropped without any forethought and we are all left with possibly the last Miles Morales solo story for a long time. It's more than a disappointment and my boy deserves better.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Stellar #1

May 2, 2018

The first issue of Stellar works. While not wholy original in its premise, it knows its genre well. Combined that with an interesting and mysterious character, and you have a solid first issue that gives you enough to make you want to stick around for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Last Siege #1

May 29, 2018

I'm optimistic after the first issue. Solid art by Justin Greenwood nails the vibe – muttonchops, pecking ravens and all. He also does some kickass action scenes, which is always a plus in my book. I just hope that Walker isn't afraid to take this book as far as it needs to go to deliver that shocks and awes that we deserve. I need that drama, that shady backstabbing and them twist and turns at every corner. Now, all I need to know is when is our mystery hero gonna let that samurai sword bang?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Last Siege #2

Jul 4, 2018

The end of the issue is a game-changer and if you thought Lord Fiest's story was over, think again. I'm liking The Last Siege so far, and want to see where this goes. Hopefully, we get some good deception, more scheming, and surprises along the way.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Venom (2018) #1

May 10, 2018

That sucks that this is what holds the book back for me because there is a lot to enjoy. I like the art by Ryan Stegman, who plays a lot with Venom in the darkness and making him look monstrous. There is also the idea of Venom facing off against something more terrifying them himself and Eddie struggle to keep it under control. However, nothing has yet to convince me that Eddie or Venom works as a heroic character. It just seems a bit crazy that Eddie is trying to be a hero when he carries an uncontrollable monster on his back, which leads him to do more harm than good. We'll see how the book develops but for now it's off to an average start.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Venom (2018) #2

Jun 15, 2018

It's funny too because Venom feels less like the character is trying to be a hero and more like he is just trying his best to survive and not to kill any and everything in his path. I like this version of Eddie, who is just trying to survive. Confronting the giant creature that attacked him last issue seems to be the solution of all his problems. However, with the symbiote out of control and other obstacles in his way, it looks like Venom is going to have a hard time.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Venom (2018) #3

Jun 29, 2018

Combine Miles' and Venom's showdown with Eddie confronting the dragon, add in some great art by Ryan Stegman, and this is another solid issue in a series I had reservations about. I especially like the dark feel Stegman's art brings to the book, and how he draws the dragon's monstrous form as it wrecks havoc on the city. It's a giant monster-movie type feel that I can jam to. While I have my gripes about the end of the issue and the new revelation we get, I'm looking forward to what's next.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
X-23 (2018) #1

Jul 13, 2018

In the end, it's just business as usual. X-23 #1 is a solid issue. I wish the were more behind the start of a new series but continuing the same kind of storytelling we got in All-New Wolverine isn't bad either. Also, without spoiling too much, the villains for this first arc are an excellent choice. They play well thematically to Laura's story and I can't wait to see more as they come head to head with Laura and Gabby.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

July

June

More