Strange Academy #1 View Preview
Prev Series Next

Strange Academy #1

Writer: Skottie Young Artist: Humberto Ramos Publisher: Marvel Comics Release Date: March 4, 2020 Cover Price: $4.99 Critic Reviews: 16 User Reviews: 18
8.3Critic Rating
8.7User Rating

+ Pull List

A SORCERER SCHOOL FOR THE MARVEL UNIVERSE!
The Marvel Universe has mysteriously changed in such an alarming way that Doctor Strange has done what he's avoided for decades; he's opened a school for young sorcerers. Young people from around the world with aptitude in magic have been brought together in New Orleans to study the Mystic Arts under Strange, Brother Voodoo, the Ancient One, the Scarlet Witch, Magik, Hellstrom and ALL your favorite Marvel magicians. But with all the new magical threats, is it too late?!
Rated T

  • 9.6
    The Super Powered Fancast - Deron Generally Mar 4, 2020

    Humberto Ramos is the perfect artist to bring this story to life. Ramos' style makes the young characters stand out with unique designs that are eye-catching. From the backgrounds to the details in the characters, Ramos is bringing something fun to the art in this issue. Read Full Review

  • 9.5
    AIPT - David Brooke Mar 3, 2020

    Strange Academy is a blast worthy of the attention of kids and adults alike. There's a character for everyone with equally unique powers, set in a magical school rife for exploration at a time at Marvel Comics when magic could take these characters anywhere. It's an adventure I'll be looking forward to just as much as these kids. This is a new kind of X-Men for a newer generation. Read Full Review

  • 9.3
    Rogues Portal - Aaron Roberts Mar 4, 2020

    On its surface, Strange Academy #1 runs dangerously close to entering knock-off status. It encroaches on it but never crosses the line as Young and Ramos successfully veer it into its own territory and away from just hitting the same beats as other young magical adventure stories. This is the kind of comicbook thats sure to be a hit with some and completely disregarded by others. Overall, though, Strange Academy is a logical and very enjoyable addition to the magical mythos of the Marvel universe and an important expansion of Doctor Voodoo and Doctor Strange's world. Read Full Review

  • 9.3
    Major Spoilers - Jonathan Cadotte Mar 5, 2020

    Strange Academy #1 achieves something that not a lot of first issues can do: It manages to be appealing to both longtime readers and to people new to comics. A diverse cast of characters, a familiar setup, and bright, vivid art mixes here to create a book that has a little something for everyone. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Black Nerd Problems - Chris Aiken Mar 6, 2020

    This series really does have the perfect pairing. Skottie Young's script is imaginative and so enjoyable. Paired with Humberto Ramos' cartoon-style artwork and you definitely have a book that's off to the right start. Ramos' past work on books like New X-Men, Runaways, and Champions are shining examples of how well he draws books with younger heroes at the forefront. His exaggerated style lends itself well to the seemingly impossible things the characters will do and see as the series progresses. Strange Academy definitely executes its opening issue well and with all the inexperienced magical students roaming around, there is bound to be delightfully messy catastrophe ahead. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Comic Watch - Gabriel De Jesus Mar 3, 2020

    Strange Academy #1 (Young, Ramos, & Delgado) creates a perfect entry point to the Marvel Universe for young, new readers. Fun characters and beautiful art make this an enjoyable read for anyone to pick up. Read Full Review

  • 8.5
    Beyond The Panel - Jideobi Odunze Mar 4, 2020

    Welcome to the Strange Academy! Hope you survive the experience! If you are looking for magic with a sense of wonder, then look no further than Strange Academy #1! This was the book you always wanted from the magic corner of the Marvel Universe. Even in this book the lure of discovery does not end when there is still much to learn about the way that magic works in this world. Especially after some of the more significant changes magic has gone through in recent times. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Impulse Gamer - Tim Chuma Mar 7, 2020

    Excellent character designs and a great story makes this one to seek out if you are a fan of stories with magic or the Marvel universe. I have not heard of any of these characters as they seem to be new for this story. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Monkeys Fighting Robots - Jason Jeffords Jr Mar 4, 2020

    STRANGE ACADEMY #1 is a fun first day for its students and readers alike. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Henchman-4-Hire - Sean Ian Mills Mar 21, 2020

    An enjoyable first issue lays out all of the pieces for the upcoming series, but it lacks any major hook or twist to make it more interesting. We'll just have to hope for the best going forward, and the creative team shows they are capable of pulling that off. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    ComicBook.com - Adam Barnhardt Mar 4, 2020

    Young and Ramos team up for a delightful new comic that has a little bit of something for everyone and this title has every potential to become an incredibly popular book in the vein of Avengers Academy or Young Avengers. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Comic Book Revolution - Kevin Lainez Mar 10, 2020

    Skottie Young and Humberto Ramos showcase the vast potential the Marvel Universe's magic corner has with Strange Academy #1. The cast of characters in Strange Academy are a fun mix of new and familiar faces from different corners of the Marvel Universe. If you are a fan of the X-Men, Harry Potter or My Hero Academia I highly recommend picking up Strange Academy #1. Read Full Review

  • 7.5
    Word Of The Nerd - Brent Jackson Mar 4, 2020

    I had some high expectations going into Strange Academy #1, it met some of those but also fell flat in some areas. It felt a little too jammed packed and didn't make as a solid of a character connection as I wanted (I shouldn't need this). But then again I like just about every character and want to know more about them. There is some great interactions and intriguing plot points. It just all gets caught up in trying to explain this new academy, what is going on, where they are at and so on. Read Full Review

  • 7.5
    Weird Science Marvel Comics - Dispatchdcu Mar 3, 2020

    I believe I know where Young is aiming but I think he's trying to live in two genres which may drag this comic down fast. He needs to plant himself in a more young audience outlook and stick with that tone or go with the more youthful adult perspective. But between trying to find out where this book fits and the overload of cute character interactions as well as introductions, I found myself swimming against the current of this issue. Read Full Review

  • 7.4
    Multiversity Comics - Luke Cornelius Mar 9, 2020

    "Strange Academy" #1 has a strong creative team that deliver an entertaining start, with plenty of potential. Read Full Review

  • 6.0
    Newsarama - Justin Partridge Mar 3, 2020

    Strange Academy #1 is fun enough and looks great, but it could stand to have a few more components to cast a stronger spell on new readers. Had Skottie Young given his characters a more clear narrative function or maybe spaced out the “first day” of school a bit more, this debut could have stood out all the better. That said, Strange Academy #1 has plenty of flash. Though I’m not sure it will be enough to distract from the lack of substance and breakneck pacing. Read Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

April

1st

March

More