Jason Jeffords Jr.'s Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics Bulletin Reviews: 19
7.2Avg. Review Rating

10
Batman: Universe #2

Aug 15, 2019

If you aren't reading Batman Universe then you ABSOLUTELY NEED TOO.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Berserker Unbound #1

Aug 7, 2019

Hopefully in further issues Lemire and team explore new idea and twists, while presenting the type of stories he is famous for writing.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Berserker Unbound #2

Sep 4, 2019

Lemire's writing kicks it up a gear with the second installment of Berserker Unbound, but it never reaches the height of his previous work, or distances itself much from other fish out of water stories that have been told; while Deodato Jr's. and Martin's color still feel excellent as they carry the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Coffin Bound #1

Aug 7, 2019

Coffin Bound #1 is a great first issue that gives enough to keep you wanting to come back for more, but fails in one small aspect that its promising, action. Advertising it as, Cars! Guns! Entropy! and action packed we only see one quick shoot out, and then the EarthEater using its power. Other then these two moments we aren't treated too much of ultra violence that seemed to be abound. But with its amazing world building, characters, ideas and art that lack of violence isn't all that bad.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Coffin Bound #2

Sep 9, 2019

Even though it doesn't have a stripper peeling their skin off, Coffin Bound #2 has a character that has cut off there limbs, while wanting to cut off more. Yep, this moment had me laughing but also thinking, what the fuck else can happen?

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Coffin Bound #3

Oct 8, 2019

Being the penultimate issue, Coffin Bound #3 had a lot riding on it. Luckily it hits every story beat on the head, while looking equally beautiful. Coffin Bound's world and characters may not be for everyone, but it very well should.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Death Orb #1

Sep 17, 2018

I wouldn't consider myself a fan of Post Apocalypse/Wasteland stories but this mini-series might just change that opinion, in just 32 pages we learned a lot of the world Rider inhibits and about his personal mission. All the info we acquired gives a feeling of a large unique world waiting to be explored thoroughly. Ending on a big cliffhanger this is one journey I am looking forward to.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Detective Comics (2016) #1002

Apr 25, 2019

Detective Comics #1002 is a much better issue than previous ones, with a whole being greater than the sum of its parts. Plus, theres a killer cliffhanger ending. I look forward to finding out who Arkham Knight really is (and seeing if I figured it out).

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Dial H For Hero (2019) #1

Mar 28, 2019

Fun read, but nothing new, and doesnt give the urge to read more.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Exorsisters #1

Oct 18, 2018

I loved the interactions with the sisters, and the story was fun for an introductory issue, but I feel that if there aren't anymore twists after this first issue then the story may run on to long like Supernatural has (sorry).

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Fairlady #1

Apr 9, 2019

Going into Fairlady, I had a sense of owe and wonder, with it being a case per issue bringing up "isms" we face in real life. Everything about it seemed cool, a mix of Fantasy and Noir genre, a bad ass female lead, a feline anthropomorphic partner, and a complete story in each issue. I can say yes it had all of these but they all seem to fall flat and not grip one into this new Fantasy world. I'm hoping the the next issue improves on these negatives in this issue and shows us a great new Fantasy.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Leviathan #2

Sep 10, 2018

This issue explained enough, but opened the door to more questions. Also, the ratcheted up gore and increase in dead dinosaurs should make genre fans want to keep reading it.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Red Sonja & Vampirella Meet Betty & Veronica #1

May 8, 2019

If you want to see your favorite duo from Dynamite and Archie meet up and hang out at school then you'll want to sink your fangs in. If you are in for the mystery then maybe hope for the next time.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Robots Vs. Princesses #1

Aug 6, 2018

Classic princess story this is not. It takes a leap with some new twists injected with some old but never really takes of like a dragon Zara is searching for. Looking back at it I could just be to old for this read -who would want to admit that- but I dont see it that way. For the beginning of a epic fantasy tale it did little to draw me into this world of robots and princesses. Which the premise alone sounds like a fun ride, but feeling more of a drag then a majestic dragon lets hope the next issue picks up the pace.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Roku (2019) #1

Nov 11, 2019

Out of all the number ones Valiant has released this year, Roku #1 is the least interesting. The plot never feels engaging, barely giving enough info to catch the reader's attention. It doesnt help that Roku feels so one-dimensional, and that she could be replaced with any other military character.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Sabrina the Teenage Witch (2019) #2

May 6, 2019

If you are looking for a high school story that just so happens to have a witch, supernatural creatures, and vibrant art that makes a POP then Sabrina #2 is for you! If not, then I have no idea whats wrong with you.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Something is Killing the Children #1

Sep 3, 2019

Something Is Killing The Children #1 is a great first issue for a comic and a gruesomely awesome introduction to a new horror series. After reading this issue it's easy to see why it's got so many printings and upped to an ongoing, with Tynion's hints of a larger world.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Sparrowhawk #1

Oct 10, 2018

I enjoyed the moments in Faerie and really liked Artemisia as a character, but this issue felt slow in the beginning, only racking up the speed in the last few pages, I'm hoping the remaining four issues feel like the final pages. The parts on earth feel slow, but with Unseelie Queen acting as Artemisia this could add some fun, and drama to these scenes making me more excited for the next few issues. Plus the monster designs are so superb I can't wait for more to be introduced.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
X-Men (2019) #1

Oct 17, 2019

f you're going to read any X-Men story, make sure it's this one. Because, the good times won't last, especially for mutants/The X-Men.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

December

November

More