Gabriel De Jesus's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Watch Reviews: 30
8.4Avg. Review Rating

10
Alienated #1

Feb 17, 2020

Alienated #1 provides complex characters and emotional art to create a wonderfully put together story that is impressive on all levels. It is something that already has me hooked and eager for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Alienated #2

Mar 31, 2020

While not as jaw-dropping as the opening issue, Alienated #2 (Spurrier, Wildgoose, May) continues to weave an intriguing story framed in beautiful art that further piques interest for future issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Alienated #3

Jul 10, 2020

Alienated #3 (Spurrier, Wildgoose, & May) packed a solid punch worthy of making me flip back to the first page as soon as I was finished.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Alienated #4

Jul 13, 2020

Alienated #4 (Spurrier, Wildgoose, & May) is a raw, intentional exploration of a hurt boy lashing out in a way he finally has the power to do. It is a story equal parts provocative and necessary in its reflection of reality.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Amazing Mary Jane (2019) #1

Oct 27, 2019

The Amazing Mary Jane #1 (Williams, Gomez, Lopez) is a fun opening look on an overdue story. Williams does a great job crafting dialogue that showcases different sides of MJ: confidence, compassion, humor, with the artwork providing solid support. The first issues show that with this creative team Mary Jane has the star power to headline her own comic; and leaves me interested in seeing more.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Amazing Mary Jane (2019) #2

Dec 8, 2019

Despite my new interest in Mysterio, Im left scratching my head. Williams does a good job showing MJ as a strong, capable woman (as she should be) who has no problem facing challenges thrown her way (which she shouldnt). She is thrown into the plot of someone elses drama instead of a story about her own development or struggle. The Amazing Mary Jane #2 (Williams, Lopez, Gomez) is an enjoyable story with well-done art, but as Mary Janes first miniseries, it feels like it could be Mysterios first mini instead.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Amazing Mary Jane (2019) #3

Dec 29, 2019

The Amazing Mary Jane #3 (Williams, Gomez, Werneck, and Lopez) is an overall good comic. No one aspect has blown me away. However, I also cant find much reason to complain. It does, however, continue to keep my interest and curiosity as to what is to be coming next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Amazing Mary Jane (2019) #4

Jan 13, 2020

Amazing Mary Jane #4 (Williams, Gomez, & Lopez) hits the sweet spot. Drawing on Williamss ability to craft strong dialogue with an emotional weight between characters, this issue shows character depth without dragging away from the tension building for the conclusion in the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Amazing Mary Jane (2019) #5

Mar 6, 2020

The Amazing Mary Jane #5 finds its biggest strength in its difference from general Marvel fare. But when it turns towards action, the charm starts to fade.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Amazing Mary Jane (2019) #6

Aug 2, 2020

Amazing Mary Jane #6 (Williams, Gomez, Carlos, Martello, & Lopez) moves forward to a new story while seeming to only take the best of the arc before to make an enjoyable and engaging story.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Excalibur (2019) #7

Feb 13, 2020

Excalibur #7 (Howard, Santos, Junior, & Arciniega) continues to be a fun, character-driven story. While a critical eye can find areas of fault, I think it is easy to enjoy and the good far outweighs the rest.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.9
FCBD 2020: X-Men #1

Jul 17, 2020

FCBD 2020 X-Men #1 provides teases to Marvel's plans for later in the year and is worth picking up to build anticipation with stunning art as long as there is no expectation for a story that would stand on its own.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Gwenpool Strikes Back #2

Sep 18, 2019

All in all, GSB continues to be an odd title. Its pop culture references (more in the first issue than this one) and humor constantly leaves me feeling that Im neither young or hip enough to be the target audience (do people still use hip?) Fourth wall breaking comics are not usually my cup of tea and something I feel can very easily be overdone.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Gwenpool Strikes Back #4

Dec 14, 2019

Ive struggled with finding the fun in Gwenpool Strikes Back. Now I am the first to admit that I may just not be cool or aware of trends to get past issues, but this issue finally delivered. I found the jokes to be funny, the references to be well explained, and the characterization to fit. While not perfect, I find Gwenpool Strikes Back #4 (Williams, Hastings, Baldeon, Aburtov) to be a coherent and enjoyable read. The plot as a whole I still find to meander. If the concept of the series is Gwens wacky hijinks, then it is hitting the mark. But with one issue to go, Im losing hope for something more.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Gwenpool Strikes Back #5

Dec 25, 2019

And if there was any doubt as to Gwens status as an official Krakoan, you only have to look as far as her very own, Hickman inspired data page.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Incoming #1

Jan 1, 2020

Incoming! #1 is the perfect starting point for anyone not up to date with the Marvel line. A sampling of art and writing provides a preview for readers to determine what storylines they wish to follow in 2020.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Magnificent Ms. Marvel #12

Feb 14, 2020

The Magnificient Mrs. Marvel #12 (Ahmed, Jung, & Vlasco, Herring) is a wild ride from start to finish. The emotional art and high stakes tension tie together to pull in the reader and keep them hanging on till the final page.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Magnificent Ms. Marvel #13

Mar 4, 2020

The Magnificent Ms. Marvel #13 (Ahmed, Vasquez, Vlasco & Herring) gives us an intriguing new character in Amulet. However, due to its placement between a big arc and an even bigger cross-title event, it doesnt seem to do much else.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Marvel's Voices #1

Feb 18, 2020

Seeing yourself reflected in the culture in which you participate and consume is extremely empowering, and it is something that is taken for granted by the privileged. John Jennings Lift Every Voice

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Outlawed (2020) #1

Mar 17, 2020

Outlawed #1 (Ewing, Jacinto, & Grundetjern) starts off with a bang. This one-shot is supposed to change the Marvel status quo for the teens of the Marvel heroes, and it takes no prisoners while doing so.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Strange Academy (2020) #1

Mar 3, 2020

Strange Academy #1 (Young, Ramos, & Delgado) creates a perfect entry point to the Marvel Universe for young, new readers. Fun characters and beautiful art make this an enjoyable read for anyone to pick up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Strange Academy (2020) #2

Jul 11, 2020

Strange Academy #2 (Young, Ramos, & Delgado) loses some momentum gained from the first issue but holds on to the potential for greatness. This second issue leaves hope that without further interference outside of the creators' control, the title can pick up steam and continue to move forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Valkyrie: Jane Foster #3

Sep 24, 2019

Aside from the reveal of Bullseyes boss and the revelation of Mr. Horse, this issues only means of pushing the plot forward is to reiterate that Jane is still new to figuring out what it means to be Valkyrie. However, with the stunning art and colors by CAFU, Perez, Tormey, Poggi, Irving, and Aburtov combining with the closing, at least for now, of Heimdalls story, it makes for a good standalone issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Valkyrie: Jane Foster #4

Oct 31, 2019

Ewing, Aaron, CAFU, and Aburtov craft another engaging beautiful installment with Jane Foster: Valkyrie #4. Every piece seems to fit just right with a sense of intent, making the delay and means of acknowledging a characters orientation even more prominent.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Valkyrie: Jane Foster #5

Dec 5, 2019

Jane Foster: Valkyrie #5 (Ewing, Aaron, CAFU, Aburtov) is filled with stunning visuals that make a satisfying conclusion to the first arc of Janes turn as Valkyrie. Jane Foster is finding her own role as Valkyrie, not relying on the heroes that have come before. Her innovation and realization that the Grim Reaper is a hero in his own head allow for interesting ramifications, as does the pain he was able to cause the All-Weapon. Not to mention my personal fondness (obsession?) with Lisa getting gratification in her charging into battle on the repoed steed of Black Knight and a flashback acknowledging her ex America Chavez.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Valkyrie: Jane Foster #6

Dec 28, 2019

Jane Foster: Valkyrie #6 (Ewing, Aaron, Perez, Aburtov) is a nice start to the second arc of Valkyries story that shows us things arent slowing down. This series has quickly made its way into one of my must-reads each month.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Valkyrie: Jane Foster #7

Jan 19, 2020

Jane Foster: Valkyrie #7 (Ewing, Aaron, Perez, Aburtov) is another enjoyable issue, but leaves me wanting more in a less than good way. However, the potential ramifications for Jane and the Marvel world as a whole make it a story worth reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Valkyrie: Jane Foster #8

Mar 7, 2020

Valkyrie Jane Foster #8 delivers an adrenaline filled launch to the next arc in Valkyries tale. While I would likely buy textless art books if they were done by CAFU and Aburtov, the writing team brings their A game as well. My only complaint is there was not nearly enough Horse and Spidey antics in this issue. Im keeping my fingers crossed for a spin-off.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Valkyrie: Jane Foster #9

Apr 4, 2020

Valkyrie: Jane Foster #9 (Aaron, Grnbekk, Rosanas, & Aburtov) moves the plot forward and paves the way for some interesting potential, but seems to lack some of the magic of past issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
X-Factor (2020) #1

Jul 28, 2020

X-Factor #1 (Williams, Baldeon, & Silva) reads like a television pilot. The format of the plot functions the same. We have our hero introduced, the problem he must face, and then the assembly of the team. Each character gets their moment to showcase what skills they bring to the table. Then we end the issue with hints of what is to come. Like a TV pilot, there is boundless potential with some rough edges left behind, providing a perfect mirror to the internal chaos of this incarnation of X-Factor.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

August

5th

July

More