Tim Chuma's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Impulse Gamer Reviews: 72
7.4Avg. Review Rating

8
2020 iWolverine #2

Aug 31, 2020

I would recommend this one if you are a fan of the Wolverine character and want to see something a bit different in terms of story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
2020 Rescue #1

Mar 7, 2020

I would recommend this if you are a fan of Iron Man or liked Pepper Potts in the movies.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Alien: The Original Screenplay #2

Aug 18, 2020

If you are already following this story I would pick this up, but maybe best to wait until it is published in an anthology as you want to read the whole thing together or else it seems like a teaser.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Amazing Mary Jane (2019) #2

Dec 2, 2019

I would recommend this one if you are a fan of Mary Jane and Mysterio and want to see how the ending they set up in it works out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Anniversary 100-Page Super Spectacular: Catwoman 80th Anniversary #1

Jun 8, 2020

I will be recommending this one to people I know are already fans of the character and I would even recommend it if you are not a big fan of comics as you don't have to read all the stories previously to get what it is going on as it is a stand-alone volume.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Avengers of the Wastelands #2

Mar 2, 2020

Some great art here and it is not too dark and has some interesting character designs. The Mad Max aesthetic of the raiders works well and everyone seems to be using patched together technology.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Bang! #3

Aug 18, 2020

This also be another story that would benefit having all of it collected in the one volume so you can follow the story better. I would still recommend this one if you are a fan of the work of this writer and artist.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman (2016) #89

Apr 26, 2020

I would say this was half way between the Warren Ellis Batman and the 1960s TV show in terms of style as the villains still wear colourful costumes but it is also dark and gritty which is more the style these days. I did enjoy the art style in this and the characters are drawn well.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Bettie Page: Unbound #7

Dec 11, 2019

It is hard to tell where this story came from or is going as you are dropped into the middle of it. From what I read here I would probably not be bothered picking up any of the other issues. Unless you are a super Bettie Page fan I would probably not recommend it and then you would have plenty of other stuff she is in.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Bill and Ted Are Doomed #1

Aug 24, 2020

I would recommend this if you are a fan of the original movies or even if you only know Keanu Reeves from the Matrix and John Wick movies and want to see him in something different.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Billionaire Island #1

Mar 2, 2020

An interesting enough concept for a story and although not an essential buy, it is at least enough to warrant picking up if you are into something different.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Chasin' The Bird: Charlie Parker in California OGN

Jul 21, 2020

Maybe a bit more niche than most graphic novels that are on the market but Batman does make an appearance at one point to explain and important point about how important the artist was for the genre.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Colonel Weird: Cosmagog #1

Oct 16, 2020

I would recommend this one if you would like something different and some original characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Count Crowley: Reluctant Midnight Monster Hunter #3

Dec 11, 2019

I would recommend this one if you are into the horror genre and like women lead characters. I know the final girls trope is well known by this stage, but this story seems to combine a mystery and crime investigation elements into the story. Well worth checking out and I would be interested in following this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Cyberpunk 2077: Trauma Team #1

Aug 24, 2020

I would recommend this if you are a fan of the cyberpunk setting and want to see something different.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Dial H For Hero (2019) #11

Jan 29, 2020

I am not really sure who this story is for in terms of audience and so can't really recommend this one unless you are already following the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
2
DIE!DIE!DIE! #9

Mar 25, 2020

Whatever they were trying to do here, I am not feeling it and such cannot recommend this at all.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Dr. Strange (2019) #5

Jul 16, 2020

Of course you will get the most out of this one if you are already following the story but it seemed easy enough to pick up as I went along and does seem to be leading to bigger things.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Edgar Allan Poe's Snifter of Terror: Snifter of Blood #1

Oct 19, 2020

f you are a fan of his work and want to see a different spin on the original stories I would have a look at this one but remember it is not all his work.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Frankie Comics (2020) OGN

Jul 1, 2020

I would recommend this if you love cats or even want a nice story with a cute main character that is not about selling you extra comics or merchandise.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Ghost-Spider (2019) #5

Dec 25, 2019

I would recommend this story to people who like strong female lead characters and would like an engaging story.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Gwenpool Strikes Back #4

Nov 27, 2019

Not really an essential purchase, but if you are a fan of the character and want to see her doing something different I would recommend. Other people would wonder what is going on and it is certainly not the best point in the series to start reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Harrow County: Death's Choir #2

Jan 8, 2020

There is a lot of potential to this story and hopefully it goes on to have a wider readership.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Immortal Hulk #36

Aug 17, 2020

I would recommend this one if you are a fan of the Hulk or want something a bit different than the usual comics with the weirder art style and more out there story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Joker/Harley: Criminal Sanity #4

May 11, 2020

I would recommend this story if you like the character of Harley Quinn and want a more serious take on her origin story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Joker: Killer Smile #1

Oct 31, 2019

I would recommend this if you wanted to see a different take on the Joker other than more famous stories such as the Killing Joke or more of a character study.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Journey To Star Wars: The Rise Of Skywalker - Allegiance #3

Oct 24, 2019

If you are just interested in the movies then what happens in the story probably wont interest you, but if you want some more Star Wars to tide you over then I would recommend it.

View Issue       View Full Review
2
Killing Red Sonja #2

Jun 23, 2020

I can't really recommend this one at all even if you like this story as it just seems to be a bridging story and not really worth getting for just this episode. Maybe if it was part of anthology you would be able to see where it lies in the larger story.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Kiss: Zombies #3

Jan 20, 2020

Perfectly serviceable artwork and characters and you can still jump into it 3 stories in without finding too much of the back story.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Marvel Zombies: Resurrection (2020) #2

Sep 30, 2020

If you are a fan of the Marvel zombies series then by all means get this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Marvels Snapshot (2020): X-Men #1

Sep 16, 2020

I would recommend this one if you are a fan of the superhero genre and want something that goes a bit deeper into the back story of one of the main characters from the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Mr. Beaver #1

Apr 4, 2020

I would recommend this story if you like crime stories with lots of action but would like something a bit different from the normal superhero stories with humans.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
My Video Game Ate My Homework OGN

Apr 7, 2020

Great artwork and interesting character designs also makes this a joy to read and I am sure I have seen this artist's work before in other projects as it does seem familiar somehow.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Nancy Drew & The Hardy Boys: The Death of Nancy Drew #1

Jun 8, 2020

Nancy Drew the character is celebrating her 90th birthday and has had many different authors under the same pen name. I am sure they wanted to do something big for her anniversary but surely something else would have been better?

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Norse Mythology #2

Oct 19, 2020

Worth a look if you want to see more of the background of the Norse Gods as featured in the Marvel Universe but don't expect it to be the same as those stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Paul is Dead (2020) OGN

Mar 15, 2020

There is plenty of Beatles stuff out there if you just want something with them in it. For everyone else I recommend having a look at it before you buy it to see if it is for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Punisher: Soviet #2

Dec 16, 2019

A great looking series that should develop into something interesting from what I have read in this instalment.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Rogue Planet #1

Mar 7, 2020

There is an impending sense of dread throughout the story and what you think is going to be just an Aliens rehash turns out to be something different.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Ruins Of Ravencroft: Dracula #1

Jan 26, 2020

I would recommend this to people who are fans of the characters in the Avengers series and also like monsters in stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Second Coming #6

Jan 16, 2020

The flashback sequences are confusing and I am not sure where they fit within the context of the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Sex Criminals #28

Mar 25, 2020

If you were determined to read something different I would recommend reading this. Might be best to wait for the trade paperback to come out so you can read all of the story at once though.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Skulldigger and Skeleton Boy #1

Dec 11, 2019

I would recommend this one if you are into superheroes and crime fiction and want something a bit more hardcore.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Spider-Ham (2019) #1

Jan 4, 2020

Not sure if they will have other stories with the other SCA-VENGERs but it would be fun to see what they all get up to.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Spider-Man & Venom: Double Trouble #2

Dec 4, 2019

I would recommend this release if you are a fan of either character and would like to see them in something a bit different.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Spider-Woman (2020) #3

Aug 21, 2020

Worth a look if you are really into Spiderman but don't really expect that much difference from a normal story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Spy Island #1

Mar 25, 2020

I would recommend this one if you are a fan of spy stories and also the unexplained. One worth watching as it should develop into a great series.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Star Wars (2014): Empire Ascendant #1

Dec 25, 2019

Not really an essential purchase, but good enough if you like the Star Wars characters and want to see some more of the characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Wars (2020) #7

Oct 11, 2020

I would recommend this if you are a fan of Star Wars and want more background on the extended universe with a great new character.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Wars: Bounty Hunters #1

Mar 11, 2020

This is one story you may need to get access to a galaxy map to work out where the planets are as they jump around a lot even in this story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Wars: Bounty Hunters #2

Mar 31, 2020

I would recommend this one if you are a fan of action and want stories where things happen and do not have to read through dozens of issues to get the story. This is a short and sweet series but still manages to pack a lot of things in and I would be interested in seeing where it goes from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Wars: Bounty Hunters #4

Aug 21, 2020

I would definitely recommend this if you are a fan of Star Wars and action and you can dip in and out of this one without having to follow the story too closely.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Wars: Darth Vader (2020) #2

Mar 11, 2020

Although there was not as much action in this instalment, there was a lot more grounding of the story and it helped you understand the character. Unlike the movies there is a chance for more nuance and shades of grey in the characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Wars: Darth Vader (2020) #4

Aug 17, 2020

An excellent story and series and well worth getting if you have the chance. I will definitely try to pick up the collection of this series when it finally comes out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Wars: Darth Vader (2020) #5

Sep 16, 2020

Well worth looking up if you are a fan of Star Wars or just want a good story. Maybe wait for the collection of the stories by this stage in the storyline as it would be harder to pick up what is going on by this point.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Wars: Doctor Aphra (2020) #3

Aug 31, 2020

Looking forward to the next one of these and that is what you want from these stories. Dr Aphra is a great new character and I would like to see more of her with Darth Vader and read the story where she gets thrown out of the airlock.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Wars: Doctor Aphra (2020) #4

Sep 30, 2020

A great addition to the series and I look forward to the next instalment.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Wars: Jedi Fallen Order - Dark Temple #5

Dec 4, 2019

I would recommend this release if you were already a fan of the series or the video game and wanted more of the same characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Wars: Target Vader #5

Nov 16, 2019

I would recommend getting this if you want a self-contained story as part of a shorter story and dont want to commit to buying a lot of comics to follow the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Wars: Target Vader #6

Dec 16, 2019

If you were already reading this series I would recommend this instalment to see how it ends and if you have not read any of the series it is easy enough to grab this one and the others or wait until the trade paperback comes out to get them all at once.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Steeple #5

Jan 8, 2020

It is rare to see something so positive about organised religion in an alternative publication. In the end it is the reverend who is the voice of reason about people needing to make their own choices.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Strange Academy (2020) #1

Mar 7, 2020

Excellent character designs and a great story makes this one to seek out if you are a fan of stories with magic or the Marvel universe. I have not heard of any of these characters as they seem to be new for this story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Strange Academy (2020) #2

Jul 16, 2020

While we don't get introduced to anyone new, we still know the stakes as the students know that the magic classes are dangerous as using magic is fraught with difficulty in the real world and the teachers try to make it as realistic as possible.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Supergirl (2016) Annual #2

Nov 28, 2019

I would recommend this one if you are a fan of the Supergirl story. Not too sure about having to buy comics from two different series to follow it up. Pick one and stick to it I reckon.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Terminal Punks #1

Aug 17, 2020

Once this gets a few more entries in the story it might be worth following or in a trade paperback but as it stands I would wait.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Rise Of Ultraman (2020) #1

Sep 10, 2020

I would recommend this one if you are into Ultraman and kaiju or want something different from the usual superhero stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl (2015) #50

Nov 16, 2019

Some familiar characters make an appearance including a reference to Squirrel Girl making friends with Thanos and then getting him counselling. Again this is something you would get more out of if you were a fan of this series and character already.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Tommy Gun Wizards #4

Nov 20, 2019

Maybe pick up the collected edition once it is out to catch up with the rest of the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Tomorrow #2

Mar 25, 2020

I would recommend this one to people who like end of the world stories and want something a bit different as this has the supernatural elements with one of the characters being psychic.

View Issue       View Full Review
2
Vampirella (2019) #5

Jan 16, 2020

You wouldn't think a story about a hot half-naked vampire woman could be so boring, but there you are.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Web of Black Widow #5

Jan 4, 2020

If you want to read more about Black Widow before the movie comes out later in the year I would recommend picking this up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Wolverine (2020) #2

Mar 25, 2020

An interesting enough story and character design in this one and it does have the potential to develop into a good series. Well worth picking up if you are a fan of Wolverine and like the retro aesthetic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Wonder Woman: Warbringer #1

Dec 25, 2019

I would recommend this story if you enjoyed the movie of Wonder Woman or liked the character and want something a bit different where she goes off on her own.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More