Tim Chuma's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Impulse Gamer Reviews: 206
7.4Avg. Review Rating

8
2020 iWolverine #2

Aug 31, 2020

I would recommend this one if you are a fan of the Wolverine character and want to see something a bit different in terms of story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
2020 Rescue #1

Mar 7, 2020

I would recommend this if you are a fan of Iron Man or liked Pepper Potts in the movies.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
80th Anniversary 100-Page Super Spectacular: Catwoman #1

Jun 8, 2020

I will be recommending this one to people I know are already fans of the character and I would even recommend it if you are not a big fan of comics as you don't have to read all the stories previously to get what it is going on as it is a stand-alone volume.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Alien (2021) #7

Sep 27, 2021

I would recommend this to people who are interested in the Alien franchise and want to see something other than the standard space marines investigating an industrial complex.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Alien: The Original Screenplay #2

Aug 18, 2020

If you are already following this story I would pick this up, but maybe best to wait until it is published in an anthology as you want to read the whole thing together or else it seems like a teaser.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Amazing Fantasy (2021) #1

Aug 3, 2021

I would recommend this one if you are a fan of any of the Avengers and want to see them in a new setting with more of a fantasy bent than you would normally.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Amazing Mary Jane (2019) #2

Dec 2, 2019

I would recommend this one if you are a fan of Mary Jane and Mysterio and want to see how the ending they set up in it works out.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #50

Oct 25, 2020

I would recommend this one if you are already a fan of Spiderman and have been following this storyline already. Spiderman has many reboots and mirror universes throughout its run so much so that there are at least five Spiderman comics going at the moment.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Anthrax: Among The Living OGN

Jun 14, 2021

Well worth a look even if you have only heard of Anthrax and are not a big fan. Great stories and interesting artwork just stop reading before the Rob Zombie section.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Avengers of the Wastelands #2

Mar 2, 2020

Some great art here and it is not too dark and has some interesting character designs. The Mad Max aesthetic of the raiders works well and everyone seems to be using patched together technology.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Avengers: Mech Strike (2021) #1

Feb 7, 2021

Not sure if this Avengers Transformers or Voltron? A fun new direction at least and worth a look. Should result in some fun merchandise.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Avengers: Mech Strike (2021) #4

Jul 6, 2021

I will have to see how I go with this one, but if they go down it was all a dream or cosmic justice path it will be pretty annoying.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Avengers: Tech-On #1

Aug 15, 2021

If you are a fan of the Avengers and have time and money to spend on this then go right ahead, everyone else maybe wait for something else to come along.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Bang! #3

Aug 18, 2020

This also be another story that would benefit having all of it collected in the one volume so you can follow the story better. I would still recommend this one if you are a fan of the work of this writer and artist.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman (2016) #89

Apr 26, 2020

I would say this was half way between the Warren Ellis Batman and the 1960s TV show in terms of style as the villains still wear colourful costumes but it is also dark and gritty which is more the style these days. I did enjoy the art style in this and the characters are drawn well.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman and Robin and Howard (2021) #1

Oct 18, 2021

While this is aimed at a younger readership I would recommend fans of Batman and Robin have a look at it to see if you would like it as it something you dont usually get to see from stories with superheroes just living normal lives.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Beasts of Burden: Occupied Territory #1

Apr 8, 2021

Mando or bust? Amazon has it!Writers: Evan Dorkin, Sarah Dyer

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Beasts of Burden: Occupied Territory #4

Jul 6, 2021

There is a lot more magic and mystical elements in this series so it would suit fans of fantasy stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Bettie Page: Unbound #7

Dec 11, 2019

It is hard to tell where this story came from or is going as you are dropped into the middle of it. From what I read here I would probably not be bothered picking up any of the other issues. Unless you are a super Bettie Page fan I would probably not recommend it and then you would have plenty of other stuff she is in.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Bill and Ted Are Doomed #1

Aug 24, 2020

I would recommend this if you are a fan of the original movies or even if you only know Keanu Reeves from the Matrix and John Wick movies and want to see him in something different.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Billionaire Island #1

Mar 2, 2020

An interesting enough concept for a story and although not an essential buy, it is at least enough to warrant picking up if you are into something different.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Black Panther: Legends (2021) #1

Oct 18, 2021

It is an interesting story even if you do not include this aspect so if you are a fan of the Black Panther or just want to know more about this character I would recommend it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Captain Marvel (2019) #23

Nov 9, 2020

Not quite what is promised on the cover but a good jumping off point for this series if you are coming to it a first time.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Celestia (2021) OGN

Jul 18, 2021

I would recommend this one if you want to read an original story from this author and have enjoyed their work in the past. For fans of more serious science fiction stories it is also worth a look.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Chartwell Manor OGN

May 14, 2021

Robert Crumb called this story a masterpiece and I am not going to argue with that. Something can still be great but also be very challenging and make you think. It can also be something you read once and not again. Calling this worthy seems condescending to the artist and their experiences, I would just say it is something you need to experience for yourself and then you can sit and think about it afterwards for a long time.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Chasin' The Bird: Charlie Parker in California OGN

Jul 21, 2020

Maybe a bit more niche than most graphic novels that are on the market but Batman does make an appearance at one point to explain and important point about how important the artist was for the genre.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Colonel Weird: Cosmagog #1

Oct 16, 2020

I would recommend this one if you would like something different and some original characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Count Crowley: Reluctant Midnight Monster Hunter #3

Dec 11, 2019

I would recommend this one if you are into the horror genre and like women lead characters. I know the final girls trope is well known by this stage, but this story seems to combine a mystery and crime investigation elements into the story. Well worth checking out and I would be interested in following this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Cyberpunk 2077: Trauma Team #1

Aug 24, 2020

I would recommend this if you are a fan of the cyberpunk setting and want to see something different.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Cyberpunk 2077: You Have My Word #1

Apr 8, 2021

I would say this one is middle of the road depending on which way the story goes. Have a look before you commit to reading the rest of the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Cypress Hill: Tres Equis OGN

Sep 13, 2021

Well worth looking up for fans of the band or even if you only know them for their bigger songs and want to know more about the band.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Dark Ages (2021) #1

Sep 5, 2021

This does have a lot of different characters from the Marvel universe in it and I would recommend at least having a look at it if you want a different sort of story than usual and not just them fighting the same bad guys as they regularly do.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Darling (2021) #1

Jul 6, 2021

I would recommend this one to people who like crime and thriller stories with different characters than you would normally get in one of these sorts of stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Dead Legends: II #1

Aug 15, 2021

I would recommend this one to fans of martial arts and action movies and for people who like a lot of action in their stories in general and not just in the form of superheroes.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Dead Weight: Murder At Camp Bloom OGN

Sep 19, 2021

I would recommend this one not only to its target audience but also to people who would like an interesting story set in the crime and thriller genre but not has hard boiled or grim as a lot of these stories can get.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Deadpool (2019) #9

Dec 23, 2020

Worth it for fans of Deadpool, everyone else maybe have a look first.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Deadpool: Black, White & Blood #3

Oct 10, 2021

Well worth it even if you only know about Deadpool from the movies or have only heard of him in passing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Death of Doctor Strange #1

Oct 4, 2021

While this is only the establishing entry of this storyline, it does look like it is going to grow into something bigger and would be worth sticking around to see how it goes.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Defenders (2021) #3

Oct 10, 2021

Not really sure who I would recommend this one to? Maybe have a look and see if you might enjoy it first before you jump in.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Demon Days (2021): Cursed Web #1

Sep 5, 2021

Fans of anime and manga might want to check it out also if they want something in that style.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Dial H For Hero (2019) #11

Jan 29, 2020

I am not really sure who this story is for in terms of audience and so can't really recommend this one unless you are already following the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
2
DIE!DIE!DIE! #9

Mar 25, 2020

Whatever they were trying to do here, I am not feeling it and such cannot recommend this at all.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Disney Manga: Stitch and the Samurai #1

Apr 11, 2021

A fun story and well worth your time if you have any interest in this character.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Dr. Strange (2019) #5

Jul 16, 2020

Of course you will get the most out of this one if you are already following the story but it seemed easy enough to pick up as I went along and does seem to be leading to bigger things.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Edgar Allan Poe's Snifter of Terror: Snifter of Blood #1

Oct 19, 2020

f you are a fan of his work and want to see a different spin on the original stories I would have a look at this one but remember it is not all his work.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Eternals (2021) #1

Jan 7, 2021

I would recommend this to the more hard core fans of Marvel or someone who wants a different type of story than the normal superheroes. They are specifically not costumed fighters and this looks like it is going to go in a different direction.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Eternals: Celestia #1

Oct 10, 2021

I would recommend this one if you are a fan of the Eternals and hopefully more of the Avengers make an appearance in future entries.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Extreme Carnage (2021): Agony #1

Sep 19, 2021

If you are a fan of Venom and Carnage and know what is going on in that wider story I would recommend this one, everyone else maybe sit this one out unless you are prepared to go back and find out what is going on.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Far Cry: Rite of Passage #1

May 14, 2021

If you are a fan of the games and Vaas Montenegro from Far Cry 3 then I would recommend this series, everyone else maybe take a look first before you jump in.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Flash Facts #1

Feb 1, 2021

A fun introduction to science for tweens who would otherwise not be interested in it and worth a look for anyone else.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Frankie Comics (2020) OGN

Jul 1, 2020

I would recommend this if you love cats or even want a nice story with a cute main character that is not about selling you extra comics or merchandise.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Game of Thrones: Clash of Kings: Vol. 2 #10

Jan 12, 2021

If you are already following this story dive right in. Everyone else maybe wait for a collected edition.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Gamma Flight #1

Jun 27, 2021

I would recommend this if you are already a fan of the Hulk and related stories and want to follow some new characters. Also it is only a short run series so it would be easier to collect all of them.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Geiger #1

Mar 22, 2021

Not sure which way they are going to go with the main character as he is a survivor above anything else and the real bad guy in this only seems that way as he is trying to live up to an ideal.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Ghost Rider: Return of Vengeance #1

Jan 2, 2021

While some may complain that this story is the work of a teenage boy's fantasy that is exactly what this series is about. If you are a fan of generic black metal and skulls you will enjoy this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Ghost-Spider (2019) #5

Dec 25, 2019

I would recommend this story to people who like strong female lead characters and would like an engaging story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Groo Meets Tarzan #1

Jul 18, 2021

I would recommend this one if you are a fan of both comics and this artist as it seems like a fun crossover and they are popular at the moment.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Guardians of the Galaxy (2020) Annual #1

Aug 8, 2021

2 player fun? Amazon deliversCover Artist: Natacha Bustos, Mike Mckone

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Gwenpool Strikes Back #4

Nov 27, 2019

Not really an essential purchase, but if you are a fan of the character and want to see her doing something different I would recommend. Other people would wonder what is going on and it is certainly not the best point in the series to start reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Harrow County: Death's Choir #2

Jan 8, 2020

There is a lot of potential to this story and hopefully it goes on to have a wider readership.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Heroes Reborn (2021): Night-Gwen #1

Jun 14, 2021

Worth a look if you are a fan of the Gwen Stacy character and want to see her in a story of her own.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Heroes Reborn (2021): Peter Parker, The Amazing Shutterbug #1

May 14, 2021

Maybe this one is more for big fans of Spider Man who want to see something different with this character that has not really been done before. Everyone else maybe pass over this one if you want to see more action.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Immortal Hulk #36

Aug 17, 2020

I would recommend this one if you are a fan of the Hulk or want something a bit different than the usual comics with the weirder art style and more out there story.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Invader Zim: Quarterly: Holiday Special #1

Nov 30, 2020

If you are already a fan of Invader Zim then I would consider this. Maybe not the best if you do not really know this character though.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Iron Fist: Heart of the Dragon #5

May 11, 2021

I would recommend this to people who have already been following the story and want to see what happens.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Jenny Zero #2

May 29, 2021

I originally wanted to have a look at this as I thought it would be different and it did remind me of the Big Girls comic from Image but with a different spin on it. It does look like it is going to go off in a different direction with the secret police and conspiracy angle.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Jim Lives: The Mystery of the Lead Singer of The Doors and the 27 Club OGN

Jun 14, 2021

Worth a look if you are into these sorts of stories and like graphic novels with good looking art.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Joker/Harley: Criminal Sanity #4

May 11, 2020

I would recommend this story if you like the character of Harley Quinn and want a more serious take on her origin story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Joker: Killer Smile #1

Oct 31, 2019

I would recommend this if you wanted to see a different take on the Joker other than more famous stories such as the Killing Joke or more of a character study.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Journey To Star Wars: The Rise Of Skywalker - Allegiance #3

Oct 24, 2019

If you are just interested in the movies then what happens in the story probably wont interest you, but if you want some more Star Wars to tide you over then I would recommend it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Juggernaut (2020) #3

Nov 20, 2020

Juggernaut finally gets his time to shine. Worth a look if you are a fan of this character from other stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
2
Killing Red Sonja #2

Jun 23, 2020

I can't really recommend this one at all even if you like this story as it just seems to be a bridging story and not really worth getting for just this episode. Maybe if it was part of anthology you would be able to see where it lies in the larger story.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
King In Black: Gwenom vs. Carnage #1

Jan 15, 2021

If you are on board for these characters already I would consider it, everyone else is going to wonder what the hell is going on. Not so good for the first part of a story.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Kiss: Zombies #3

Jan 20, 2020

Perfectly serviceable artwork and characters and you can still jump into it 3 stories in without finding too much of the back story.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Lugosi: The Rise And Fall Of Hollywoods Dracula OGN

Oct 4, 2021

Horror is quite different these days in terms of how it is presented, if you would like more of an idea of how it was put together back in the days when it was first presented and one of the original stars then I would recommend this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
M.O.D.O.K.: Head Games #4

May 2, 2021

I would recommend this one if you wanted a different type of Marvel character and an interesting story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Made in Korea #1

Apr 27, 2021

It does seem like an interesting enough story and worth a look if you are into this type of series. I would have a look at it first before you jump into the series though.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Madi: Once Upon A Time in the Future OGN

Dec 23, 2020

One more for the fans of Duncan Jones and people who want to see more stories set in the Moon and Mute universe. Does not really know what it wants to be.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Marvel Zombies: Resurrection (2020) #2

Sep 30, 2020

If you are a fan of the Marvel zombies series then by all means get this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Marvel's Voices: Identity #1

Aug 30, 2021

An excellent introduction to the work of these creatives and fun stories in general even if you don't know much about a lot of these characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Marvels Snapshot (2020): X-Men #1

Sep 16, 2020

I would recommend this one if you are a fan of the superhero genre and want something that goes a bit deeper into the back story of one of the main characters from the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Miles Morales: Spider-Man (2018) #27

Jun 20, 2021

This one would be recommended if you are a fan of this character and want to see more of his story. It is pretty far into the series so maybe if you have been following this one already you would get more into it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Monster Fun Halloween Spooktacular #1

Sep 27, 2021

Too good just for the kids to read. If you remember any of these characters or enjoy the art style then I would recommend having a look.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Moon Knight (2021) #1

Jul 26, 2021

I would recommend this one if you want to get into a new series without having to know a lot of the backstory as this is the first one.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Mr. Beaver #1

Apr 4, 2020

I would recommend this story if you like crime stories with lots of action but would like something a bit different from the normal superhero stories with humans.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
My Video Game Ate My Homework OGN

Apr 7, 2020

Great artwork and interesting character designs also makes this a joy to read and I am sure I have seen this artist's work before in other projects as it does seem familiar somehow.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Nancy Drew & The Hardy Boys: The Death of Nancy Drew #1

Jun 8, 2020

Nancy Drew the character is celebrating her 90th birthday and has had many different authors under the same pen name. I am sure they wanted to do something big for her anniversary but surely something else would have been better?

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Norse Mythology: II #1

Jun 7, 2021

I would recommend this one if you are a fan of Neil Gaiman and the artist involved. Not really related to Thor, Odin and Loki in Marvel except for the names.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Norse Mythology #2

Oct 19, 2020

Worth a look if you want to see more of the background of the Norse Gods as featured in the Marvel Universe but don't expect it to be the same as those stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
One Line (2021) OGN

Jul 11, 2021

I would recommend this one to people who want something different from the usual superhero fare and substantial but not too hard to get through like a lot of the real life stories can be.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Orcs (2021) #6

Jul 18, 2021

Celebrate The Book of Boba at AmazonCover Art: Christine Larsen, Sweeney Boo, Qistina Khalidah

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Paul is Dead (2020) OGN

Mar 15, 2020

There is plenty of Beatles stuff out there if you just want something with them in it. For everyone else I recommend having a look at it before you buy it to see if it is for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Post Americana #4

Mar 28, 2021

Not really sure who to recommend this one to, there are plenty of comics that have the over the top violence and a more comprehensible story already.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Puerto Rico Strong OGN

Sep 19, 2021

A great anthology of stories of a place I have heard about but do not really know that much about. Well worth checking out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Punisher: Soviet #2

Dec 16, 2019

A great looking series that should develop into something interesting from what I have read in this instalment.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Reptil (2021) #4

Sep 27, 2021

I would recommend this one if you are a fan of dinosaurs and action or like stories with younger characters. It is set in the extended Marvel universe and Spider-Girl does get a mention at one point but I am not sure who is going to make an appearance in the story going forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Rogue Planet #1

Mar 7, 2020

There is an impending sense of dread throughout the story and what you think is going to be just an Aliens rehash turns out to be something different.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Ruins Of Ravencroft: Dracula #1

Jan 26, 2020

I would recommend this to people who are fans of the characters in the Avengers series and also like monsters in stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
S.W.O.R.D. (2020) #3

Feb 12, 2021

Unless you know all these characters already maybe look for another story.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Second Coming #6

Jan 16, 2020

The flashback sequences are confusing and I am not sure where they fit within the context of the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Sex Criminals #28

Mar 25, 2020

If you were determined to read something different I would recommend reading this. Might be best to wait for the trade paperback to come out so you can read all of the story at once though.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Shang-Chi (2020) #3

Nov 30, 2020

One for fans of kung fu and Chinese hopping vampire movies which were a lot bigger back in the 1980s.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Shang-Chi (2021) #1

May 25, 2021

Well worth a look if you are a fan of the character already and this will be part of the new Marvel story going forward so it will be interesting to see how it goes across into the other Avengers stories going forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Shang-Chi (2021) #3

Aug 4, 2021

This is one to read if you are a fan of the character or are looking forward to the moving coming out later this year and want some more background.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Shang-Chi (2021) #4

Sep 13, 2021

If you have been enjoying this series or are a new fan from the movie I would check this one out everyone else maybe wait and see if this one is released in a collection with all the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Sinister War (2021) #4

Sep 5, 2021

I would recommend this one if you are a fan of Spiderman and it seems more old-school in its approach so might suit more casual fans of the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Skulldigger and Skeleton Boy #1

Dec 11, 2019

I would recommend this one if you are into superheroes and crime fiction and want something a bit more hardcore.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Space Bastards (2021) #1

Jan 12, 2021

The postal service goes intergalactic and ballistic. Well worth a look if you want something original and violent.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Spider-Ham (2019) #1

Jan 4, 2020

Not sure if they will have other stories with the other SCA-VENGERs but it would be fun to see what they all get up to.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Spider-Man & Venom: Double Trouble #2

Dec 4, 2019

I would recommend this release if you are a fan of either character and would like to see them in something a bit different.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Spider-Man: Spider's Shadow #1

Apr 17, 2021

While this is only a short series, it is probably more suited to bigger Spider-Man fans than the more casual ones from the movies. Seems like there are some more deep cuts here and they wanted to try something different. If you want to see Spider-Man in a different light then I would recommend this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Spider-Woman (2020) #3

Aug 21, 2020

Worth a look if you are really into Spiderman but don't really expect that much difference from a normal story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Spy Island #1

Mar 25, 2020

I would recommend this one if you are a fan of spy stories and also the unexplained. One worth watching as it should develop into a great series.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Star Wars (2014): Empire Ascendant #1

Dec 25, 2019

Not really an essential purchase, but good enough if you like the Star Wars characters and want to see some more of the characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Wars (2020) #7

Oct 11, 2020

I would recommend this if you are a fan of Star Wars and want more background on the extended universe with a great new character.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Wars (2020) #8

Nov 9, 2020

I would recommend this to even the more casual Star Wars fan as you can still drop into this without having to know too much of the back story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Wars (2020) #10

Jan 7, 2021

If you have already been following this series I would recommend this but if you are just a casual fan maybe wait for a few more issues to see how the story goes.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Wars (2020) #13

May 14, 2021

I am still waiting to see what they are going to do with Dr Aphra and Darth Vader in this series, but surely they cant all be going to the same places? Considering where Dr Aphra was in her story it will take her a while to get there and Darth Vader is outside the galaxy at the moment so that is out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Wars (2020) #14

Jun 20, 2021

If you are already following this series you would be on board and it does add to the story already going on the War of the Bounty Hunters plot. You dont really need to read any of the other side stories to get what is going on with this one so it is recommended.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Wars (2020) #15

Aug 4, 2021

I would recommend this one to more casual fans of the series as you dont really need to have read previous entries in the story or what is going on in the wider storyline across multiple comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Star Wars (2020) #16

Aug 23, 2021

Considering everything that happens over in the War of the Bounty Hunters story you should be reading that one instead and maybe have a look in the next issue to see if they actually add more to the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Star Wars (2020) #17

Oct 4, 2021

By no means a necessary purchase but if you are a fan of Star Wars and like the old school type of story and detail on some characters you know from the films I would recommend it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Wars: Bounty Hunters #1

Mar 11, 2020

This is one story you may need to get access to a galaxy map to work out where the planets are as they jump around a lot even in this story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Wars: Bounty Hunters #2

Mar 31, 2020

I would recommend this one if you are a fan of action and want stories where things happen and do not have to read through dozens of issues to get the story. This is a short and sweet series but still manages to pack a lot of things in and I would be interested in seeing where it goes from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Wars: Bounty Hunters #4

Aug 21, 2020

I would definitely recommend this if you are a fan of Star Wars and action and you can dip in and out of this one without having to follow the story too closely.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Star Wars: Bounty Hunters #6

Oct 29, 2020

A bit slower one, which is a relief for the amount of action in this series but maybe not the best one to start on for anyone else.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Star Wars: Bounty Hunters #7

Nov 22, 2020

A bit slower than the other entries in this series but more of a story. Worth it if you are still following the main story.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Star Wars: Bounty Hunters #8

Dec 24, 2020

The story of Valance picks up pace in this one, worth a look if you have been following the series so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Star Wars: Bounty Hunters #10

Mar 22, 2021

If you are already on board with this story and character I would recommend it, otherwise maybe skip this one and wait for more stuff about Baby Yoda to come out as that is surely what they are going to be doing next given the success of the TV show.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Wars: Bounty Hunters #11

Apr 17, 2021

This would be a good one to have a look at even if you have not been following the series as it is its own story and you dont really need to know what happened before.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Star Wars: Bounty Hunters #12

May 25, 2021

Well worth a look if you are following this story, everyone else wait until the War of the Bounty Hunters starts proper or just get the main comic with Boba Fett in it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Wars: Bounty Hunters #13

Jun 14, 2021

Need a PS5 remote? Check out AmazonCover Artist: Giuseppe Camuncoli

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Wars: Bounty Hunters #14

Jul 11, 2021

2 player fun? Amazon deliversCover Artist: Giuseppe Camuncoli

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Star Wars: Bounty Hunters #15

Aug 8, 2021

As before if you are on board with this storyline I would keep reading, but it is not really the must read that it was earlier on.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Star Wars: Bounty Hunters #16

Sep 27, 2021

By all means keep reading this if you are into these characters and the story but I wouldnt be starting to read it from this point.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Wars: Darth Vader (2020) #2

Mar 11, 2020

Although there was not as much action in this instalment, there was a lot more grounding of the story and it helped you understand the character. Unlike the movies there is a chance for more nuance and shades of grey in the characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Wars: Darth Vader (2020) #4

Aug 17, 2020

An excellent story and series and well worth getting if you have the chance. I will definitely try to pick up the collection of this series when it finally comes out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Wars: Darth Vader (2020) #5

Sep 16, 2020

Well worth looking up if you are a fan of Star Wars or just want a good story. Maybe wait for the collection of the stories by this stage in the storyline as it would be harder to pick up what is going on by this point.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Wars: Darth Vader (2020) #7

Nov 12, 2020

If you are already reading this series then go straight ahead, everyone else maybe get some context or wait until the collection comes out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Wars: Darth Vader (2020) #8

Dec 23, 2020

Some deep Sith lore in this one for the fans but if you are interested in following Darth Vader's storyline to the end this is well worth a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Star Wars: Darth Vader (2020) #9

Jan 15, 2021

This could have ended easily a few issues ago but if you are still on board at this sage why not go all the way through?

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Wars: Darth Vader (2020) #10

Feb 12, 2021

If you are already on board with this series then I would recommend this one. For anyone else maybe go back and read the earlier stories in the series as it is getting a bit late to get into it now.

View Issue       View Full Review
2
Star Wars: Darth Vader (2020) #11

May 2, 2021

Maybe skip this one if you are still following the series and wait until they start up with the hunt for Han Solo storyline.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Star Wars: Darth Vader (2020) #12

May 27, 2021

While not a must-read, this is still good back story for the characters and a good lead up to the events of the War of the Bounty Hunters.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Wars: Darth Vader (2020) #13

Jun 27, 2021

I would recommend this is if you are already following this story and it is also one of the rare ones you could probably read out of context without getting lost due to all the action.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Star Wars: Darth Vader (2020) #14

Jul 26, 2021

I would recommend this one if you are still following the series at this point, but there are more exciting things going on in the War of the Bounty Hunters story these days.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Wars: Darth Vader (2020) #15

Aug 30, 2021

Ochi of Bestoon does get his chance to shine here with Darth Vader only turning up when most of the enemies had already been cut down or they thought they had been. The problem with a lot of these characters they feature are not in the main movies so you know they are going to meet their end sooner or later when Darth Vader no longer has a use for them.

View Issue       View Full Review
2
Star Wars: Darth Vader (2020) #16

Sep 19, 2021

No matter what people do in this story the Emperor is going to claim he knew that was going to happen and he influenced events to make it that way. Why do anything at all then?

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Wars: Doctor Aphra (2020) #3

Aug 31, 2020

Looking forward to the next one of these and that is what you want from these stories. Dr Aphra is a great new character and I would like to see more of her with Darth Vader and read the story where she gets thrown out of the airlock.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Wars: Doctor Aphra (2020) #4

Sep 30, 2020

A great addition to the series and I look forward to the next instalment.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Wars: Doctor Aphra (2020) #6

Nov 30, 2020

A nice comeback from the previous installment of this series but some of the plot devices are starting to get a bit thin.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Wars: Doctor Aphra (2020) #8

Mar 28, 2021

Still a fun story and worth it if you have been enjoying the series and character so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Star Wars: Doctor Aphra (2020) #9

Apr 24, 2021

I would recommend this one if you are a fan of this character or want a story about a character who is not one of the main ones from the rest of the Star Wars story. There is a big event soon that will draw all the story threads into the main Star Wars story again that involves Han Solo, but I will see how it goes.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Star Wars: Doctor Aphra (2020) #10

May 27, 2021

I would recommend this if you are a fan of this series, but everyone else maybe wait until the main story starts proper before you dive in.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Wars: Doctor Aphra (2020) #11

Jul 6, 2021

I would recommend this one if you want to see more of Durge as he has not been around for a while and is sure to make a comeback sooner or later.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Wars: Doctor Aphra (2020) #12

Jul 18, 2021

You dont really need to get this one if you are only following the main War of the Bounty Hunters story, but it does help fill in some of the back story that you dont get with just the main comic or the main Star Wars series.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Star Wars: Doctor Aphra (2020) #13

Aug 30, 2021

At this point I would be recommending War of the Bounty Hunters rather than trying to follow all of the different storylines just to save confusing yourself. If you are already on-board with Dr Aphra then keep going with it just to see what happens with the threat of Darth Vader.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Wars: Doctor Aphra (2020) #14

Sep 13, 2021

I can get why they do the crossover events and it would have gained more interest in the series but it is good that now seems to be over since Dr Aphra can get back to her own adventures. As usual this is more for fans of the character rather than Star Wars in general.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Wars: Doctor Aphra (2020) #15

Oct 18, 2021

I would recommend this one if you are still following this character and it also it has some interesting developments in it for the ongoing story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Wars: Jedi Fallen Order - Dark Temple #5

Dec 4, 2019

I would recommend this release if you were already a fan of the series or the video game and wanted more of the same characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Wars: Target Vader #5

Nov 16, 2019

I would recommend getting this if you want a self-contained story as part of a shorter story and dont want to commit to buying a lot of comics to follow the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Wars: Target Vader #6

Dec 16, 2019

If you were already reading this series I would recommend this instalment to see how it ends and if you have not read any of the series it is easy enough to grab this one and the others or wait until the trade paperback comes out to get them all at once.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Star Wars: The High Republic (2021) #1

Jan 7, 2021

While maybe not for the casual fan who is more into the films and Mandolorian, this would be great for people who are more into the Star Wars lore and want something original and that goes in a new direction.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Star Wars: The High Republic (2021) #4

Apr 8, 2021

Would probably only recommend this if you are already on board with the story as I didnt really know what was going on or care what was going to happen with the characters at all.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Wars: War of the Bounty Hunters #1

Jun 4, 2021

With the popularity of the Mandalorian and the upcoming Book of Boba Fett this is an easy recommend for even casual fans of Star Wars.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Wars: War of the Bounty Hunters: Alpha #1

May 11, 2021

I would recommend this one to people who even only have a passing interest in Star Wars and only saw the Mandalorian and enjoyed it and wanted to go into more of the universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Wars: War of the Bounty Hunters #2

Jul 18, 2021

I would recommend this one even if you are just a casual Star Wars fan as it has a lot that makes it stand out and even some mentions of minor characters like Bossk that you usually dont see.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Wars: War of the Bounty Hunters #3

Aug 23, 2021

Not sure what else Bounty Hunters, Dr Aphra or Darth Vader would be able to add to this as everyone is pretty much in the same room or pretty close to it at this stage. If you were only going to get one War of the Bounty Hunters storyline comic this month you would get this one for sure.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Wars: War of the Bounty Hunters #4

Sep 13, 2021

I would recommend this one if you have been following the story up to his point and would consider getting the trade paperback for the War of the Bounty Hunters when it comes out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Wars: War of the Bounty Hunters #5

Oct 18, 2021

I would still consider getting this particular one as a trade paperback myself as it has such a lot of action in it and hopefully it comes up in things such as the Book of Boba Fett and other film projects in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Wars: War of the Bounty Hunters: Boushh #1

Sep 19, 2021

While these one off stories are not really compulsory to buy to understand the main War of the Bounty Hunters storyline, they are still good background for characters and their motivations within the wider galaxy. Disney throwing the expanded universe content into the bin is still a sore point for a lot of people but at least they are developing new expanded universe to replace it and the newer stuff will be able to featured going forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Wars: War of the Bounty Hunters: 4-Lom & Zuckuss #1

Aug 8, 2021

Lots of great character designs in this one and interesting action scenes, well worth having a look at if you are already reading all the other entries in this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Steeple #5

Jan 8, 2020

It is rare to see something so positive about organised religion in an alternative publication. In the end it is the reverend who is the voice of reason about people needing to make their own choices.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Stillwater (2020) #7

May 20, 2021

Coming into a series this late you really have no change of working out what is going on unless you want to go back to the start or wait for the trade paperback so you can read it all at once. Maybe wait for a while so you can get the entire story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Strange Academy (2020) #1

Mar 7, 2020

Excellent character designs and a great story makes this one to seek out if you are a fan of stories with magic or the Marvel universe. I have not heard of any of these characters as they seem to be new for this story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Strange Academy (2020) #2

Jul 16, 2020

While we don't get introduced to anyone new, we still know the stakes as the students know that the magic classes are dangerous as using magic is fraught with difficulty in the real world and the teachers try to make it as realistic as possible.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Strange Academy (2020) #5

Nov 12, 2020

Fairly easy to pick up even if you have not been following the story but not an essential purchase.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Strange Academy (2020) #8

Feb 7, 2021

More of the continuing adventures of the students of Strange Academy. By this point you would either be invested in these characters or have moved on.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Stranger Things and Dungeons & Dragons #4

Feb 12, 2021

If you are already a fan of both of these things then consider this story. Everyone else have a look first.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Stray Dogs (2021) #1

Jan 20, 2021

Despite the cute characters this is not a book for kids and maybe not the faint of heart who just want totally happy stories with dogs.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Stray Dogs (2021) #4

May 19, 2021

Need a PS5 remote? Check out AmazonCover Artists: Trish Forstner, Tony Fleecs

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Stray Dogs (2021) #5

Jun 20, 2021

Looking forward to the trade paperback edition of this and I would buy a physical copy of this for my collection, something that I rarely do as shipping times to Australia are so long and I have no idea when it actually comes out here.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Supergirl (2016) Annual #2

Nov 28, 2019

I would recommend this one if you are a fan of the Supergirl story. Not too sure about having to buy comics from two different series to follow it up. Pick one and stick to it I reckon.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Terminal Punks #1

Aug 17, 2020

Once this gets a few more entries in the story it might be worth following or in a trade paperback but as it stands I would wait.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Good Asian #1

Apr 27, 2021

An interesting start to the series and I would recommend it if you like mystery stories and noir themes.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
The Marvels (2021) #5

Oct 4, 2021

Cant really see what they are going for here? Maybe if you are into some of the characters and want to see them doing a different storyline.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Rise Of Ultraman (2020) #1

Sep 10, 2020

I would recommend this one if you are into Ultraman and kaiju or want something different from the usual superhero stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl (2015) #50

Nov 16, 2019

Some familiar characters make an appearance including a reference to Squirrel Girl making friends with Thanos and then getting him counselling. Again this is something you would get more out of if you were a fan of this series and character already.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
The Worst Dudes #1

May 29, 2021

This is definitely a story that you should have a look at first before you dive into it, it will not be for everyone even if you are usually a fan of out there stuff.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Time Before Time #2

Jun 14, 2021

Maybe this one would be better to get when the full story is available, but if you are still interested have a look through it first before you commit.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Tommy Gun Wizards #4

Nov 20, 2019

Maybe pick up the collected edition once it is out to catch up with the rest of the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Tomorrow #2

Mar 25, 2020

I would recommend this one to people who like end of the world stories and want something a bit different as this has the supernatural elements with one of the characters being psychic.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
True War Stories (2020) #1

Dec 14, 2020

Well worth a read not only for the family and friends of veterans but also anyone who wants to read different stories than you usually hear from serving members.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Underground (2021) OGN

Sep 5, 2021

Well worth your time and a good palette cleanser from fantasy and superheroes if you want to read something else for a while.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Vain (2020) #3

Nov 30, 2020

Not sure if the world really needs more "secret vampire cabal" stories. Could not really get into this at all.

View Issue       View Full Review
2
Vampirella (2019) #5

Jan 16, 2020

You wouldn't think a story about a hot half-naked vampire woman could be so boring, but there you are.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Venom (2018) #29

Oct 25, 2020

This one has a lot of backstory, but unless you have been following this storyline already you will not know what for.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Vinyl #1

Jun 20, 2021

If you are into serial killers and crime stories you may get more out of this but maybe wait until there are more issues so things make sense.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Warhammer 40,000: Marneus Calgar (2020) #3

Dec 11, 2020

If you are a die-hard Warhammer 40k fan and have to get everything mentioning it maybe. Everyone else...eh.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Web of Black Widow #5

Jan 4, 2020

If you want to read more about Black Widow before the movie comes out later in the year I would recommend picking this up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Werewolf By Night (2020) #2

Nov 30, 2020

The werewolf tale has been well told by now but this story has enough new about it to make it interesting including the First Nations angle on the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Winter Guard (2021) #2

Oct 4, 2021

I would recommend this one if you are interested in a new story about the Winter Guard or heard about them in the recent movie.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Wolverine (2020) #2

Mar 25, 2020

An interesting enough story and character design in this one and it does have the potential to develop into a good series. Well worth picking up if you are a fan of Wolverine and like the retro aesthetic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Wonder Woman: Warbringer OGN

Dec 25, 2019

I would recommend this story if you enjoyed the movie of Wonder Woman or liked the character and want something a bit different where she goes off on her own.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
X-Corp (2021) #4

Aug 23, 2021

If you have been following this series already then I would recommend it, everyone else maybe wait for an extended edition or go back to the first issue and read from there.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Young Hellboy: The Hidden Land #2

Mar 28, 2021

Mando or bust? Amazon has it!Writer: Mike Mignola, Thomas Sniegoski

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More