Hulk: Grand Design: Monster #1

Writer: Jim Rugg Artist: Jim Rugg Publisher: Marvel Comics Release Date: March 30, 2022 Cover Price: $5.99 Critic Reviews: 5 User Reviews: 7
8.6Critic Rating
8.3User Rating

+ Pull List

The acclaimed Grand Design franchise continues! Writer/artist Jim Rugg follows in the tradition of Ed Piskor and Tom Scioli by unfurling the full saga of THE INCREDIBLE HULK, from the very beginning to the present! Witness the biggest moments in the Hulk's history through the eyes of a single visionary storyteller!

RATED T

  • 10
    Impulse Gamer - Tim Chuma Apr 4, 2022

    This should be even better when they eventually release the trade paperback and it really is the entire Hulk saga with all the different stories as there was enough to look at here that I could hardly even work out how the Hulk ended up in some of these places such as fighting Evil Space Clowns with Rocket Raccoon. Read Full Review

  • 9.4
    Comic Watch - Jeff Brister Mar 30, 2022

    Distilling sixty years of Hulk stories into forty pages, Jim Rugg opts for a less-literal, more abstract approach than his Grand Design predecessors. Rugg's art overflows with subtle flourishes and big swings, which covers up its slightly underwritten script. Read Full Review

  • 8.5
    The Comicbook Dispatch - Dispatchdcu Mar 28, 2022

    Readers, HULK: GRAND DESIGN: MONSTER #1 is more like a project than a comic, which may sound like I'm upset or disappointed. However, it's quite the opposite. This isn't your normal comic. And to any reader looking for a new tale, you most certainly won't find it here. Yet, what you will find is an artistic gem reminiscent of a style and time well missed by this reviewer. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Monkeys Fighting Robots - Hank Essman Mar 28, 2022

    Hulk: Grand Design crams two decades into 40 pages, acting as a scrapbook of the character's highlights. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    ComicBook.com - Chase Magnett Mar 30, 2022

    Hulk: Grand Design lacks a guiding thesis to connect the always-interesting designs, styles, and compositions on the page. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Daredevil Apr 17, 2022

    On one hand, this was an exceptionally done issue, especially on the art side of things (which is mainly why I give this a high rating). On the other hand, if Jim Rugg's love for the Hulk is genuine and accurate as to what is contained in these pages, then man... the early years of Hulk sounds kind of boring. If history has a say in things, the next issue is surely going to be even better (PAD era).

  • 7.5
    Amazing Psycamorean Apr 2, 2022

    While this is an achievement in graphic design, I feel like, with all of these Grand Design series, that the actual story/writing content isn't very engaging.

    + LikeComments (4)
  • 5.5
    pizzamain May 6, 2022

    don't care about shrek's dad that much

  • 9.5
    ds Apr 1, 2022

  • 9.0
    Jason The Dude May 12, 2022

  • 9.0
    Pantheon36 Apr 30, 2022

  • 8.5
    deen Mar 31, 2022

Reviews for the Week of...

May

April

More