Timala Elliott's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: The Super Powered Fancast Reviews: 191
9.1Avg. Review Rating

9.8
America Chavez: Made in the USA #1

Mar 3, 2021

Carlos Gomez uses detailed drawings with expressive faces. This is highlighted by Jesus Aburtov's choice of brilliant, and rich colors. It's a visually appealing issue that emotionally draws you further into the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
America Chavez: Made in the USA #3

May 5, 2021

The detailed drawings of Carlos Gomez feature intense character expressions. And the action panels are interesting and exciting. Aburtov's color work changes to match the tone of the scene in a transportive manner. This is a beautiful issue that enhances your engagement in the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
America Chavez: Made in the USA #4

Jul 7, 2021

This issue features bold colors and a modern comic styling. The emphasis placed on character expression and form is very engaging. And the action scenes are exciting and interesting. I was captivated by the panels throughout the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
America Chavez: Made in the USA #5

Aug 11, 2021

The illustrations in this issue are in a modern, youthful styling. The bold color work shifts from bright to dark depending on the mood and time period of the scene. And the emphasis on character expression and form intensifies the reader's connection to the characters. I found this good looking edition to be very engaging.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Apex Legends: Overtime #1

Jun 2, 2021

Bold, brilliant color palates highlight Neil Edwards detailed drawings. An emphasis on character expression and form emotionally engage the reader. This is a beautiful and eye-catching issue that is sure to delight.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Apex Legends: Overtime #2

Jul 21, 2021

This is a good looking issue that is filled with bold colors and detailed drawings. The tone and spirit of the story is perfectly captured. And I was completely engaged throughout.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Aquaman: The Becoming (2021) #1

Sep 21, 2021

From the introductory pages, the action is non stop and well defined. There is a mysterious undertone that connects all the various scenarios that are encountered. And I am intrigued by how this enigma will unfold. I am already completely invested in this story and eagerly await the next chapter.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Batman (2016): Fear State: Alpha #1

Sep 2, 2021

This is a beautifully crafted issue that perfectly captures the tone of each scene.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Batman: Reptilian #1

Jun 22, 2021

Liam Sharp does a masterful job visually creating the world of Gotham City. Hyper-detailed drawings are highlighted by extraordinarily realistic color work. As a result, each panel feels like a stylized painting. This beautiful issue is a must have collectible.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Batman: Reptilian #2

Jul 27, 2021

Liam Sharp once again delivers his sinister, otherworldly vision of Gotham City in this masterfully crafted issue. Each panel is alluring and emotionally engaging. The tone is a perfect match for the tale. And the hyper-realism style used is fully transportive. In my opinion, Sharp's artwork make the books in this series instant collectables.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Batman: Reptilian #3

Aug 24, 2021

The artwork in this issue perfectly captures the tone of the story. Sharp's hyper-realistic drawings and intense color work are emotionally engaging. As the story plays out, the horror vibes get increasingly stronger, and the illustrations perfectly reflect that. In terms of visual appeal, this episode will leave you breathless.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Batman: Secret Files (2021): Huntress #1

Jul 27, 2021

Lapham uses a detailed a traditional style for his drawings. And the color work of Mulvhill changes from bold to muted depending on location. This is a good looking issue that really draws you into the story. The action is well done, and the attention to detail in character expression and form easily elicits an emotional response.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman: The Detective (2021) #1

Apr 13, 2021

Kubert uses detailed and exciting drawings to fill this issue. The color work of Anderson accentuates them beautifully, and the tone perfectly defines the world of Batman. Though I find the total work to be wonderfully done, there is a particular panel that I find glorious. This is an engaging issue that immerses you into the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Batman: The Detective (2021) #2

May 11, 2021

Detailed drawings and bold, dark, color filled palates encompass this issue. The action scenes are very well done and interesting. I found myself completely engaged in the world of the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Batman: The Detective (2021) #3

Jun 8, 2021

Detailed drawings are highlighted by color work that changes with the tone of the story. The emphasis on form and character expression is very engaging. This is a visually appealing and well crafted issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Batman: The Detective (2021) #4

Jul 13, 2021

This is a beautiful edition. The drawings are extremely detailed, and the color work is a perfect fit in both tone and style. This issue does an amazing job in balancing modern energy with a noir mood.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Batman: The Detective (2021) #5

Sep 21, 2021

This is an exciting issue filled with combat scenes. Although the color palate heavily features blue tones, the hues change with the mood and location of the scene.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Black Manta (2021) #1

Sep 7, 2021

Brown has created a compelling introductory chapter for a very promising new series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Blade Runner: 2029 #5

Jul 1, 2021

Guinaldo uses tight, detailed drawings against a changing color palate. The illustration perfectly matches the tone, and comprises of some exciting action scenes. This is a visually pleasing issue that is very transportive.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Blade Runner: 2029 #6

Aug 4, 2021

The illustrations in this chapter are in a traditional comic styling. The attention to detail and emphasis on character expression are visually appealing and create an emotional connection to the story. And the muted color work did a nice job of setting the tone for each scene. Overall, I found this issue to be very transportive and interesting.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Blade Runner: Origins #3

Apr 21, 2021

Fernando Dagnino creates detailed, expressive drawings that are highlighted by the color work of Marco Lesko. The result is a beautiful and engaging series of panels that completely immerses you in the story's universe. The issue is eye-catching and very well done in both tone and artistry.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Blade Runner: Origins #4

May 19, 2021

This issue is sublime. The extremely detailed drawings of Dagnino are wonderfully paired with the dark and muted coloring of Lesko. The action oriented panels are engaging and transportive. And the character expressions perfectly convey the intensity of the tale.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Blade Runner: Origins #5

Aug 19, 2021

The illustrations in this issue have a noir feel. The color scheme and attention to detail perfectly match the tone of the story. Overall, I found this edition to be visually appealing and transportive.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Blade Runner: Origins #6

Sep 15, 2021

Perkins and Brown have crafted another thoughtful and dynamic chapter in this brilliant series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Blue & Gold (2021) #1

Jul 20, 2021

Ryan Sook uses detailed drawings and an abundance of color to capture the tone of the story. The artwork in this issue is as vibrant as the main characters. And the action scenes are well done and exciting. I was completed engaged throughout the tale.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Blue & Gold (2021) #2

Sep 7, 2021

Sook has created a good looking issue filled with bold colors and fun action scenes. The focus on character expression is engaging and emotionally connective. I felt the illustrations perfectly matched the tone of the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
BRZRKR #1

Mar 3, 2021

Ron Garney does a masterful job creating detailed, tight drawings depicting both action and gore. Bill Crabtree layers these panels using red and blue tones that create a washed out newspaper effect that is reminiscent of old school comics. While light on words, this issue uses the art to convey the story line. And it absolutely works!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
BRZRKR #2

Apr 28, 2021

Garney uses beautifully detailed drawings in this issue. These are enhanced by the cool toned color palettes designed by Crabtree. The result is absolutely stunning. In several pages, wordless panels are used to tell the story. And it absolutely works. I can't say enough good things about the engaging intensity of the artwork created in this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
BRZRKR #3

Jun 16, 2021

This is an exciting and gory issue filled with detailed drawings and deep tones. The result is captivating. Each panel adds significant depth to the story. And several made me audibly gasp. The artwork in this edition is very well done and transportive.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
BRZRKR #4

Jul 28, 2021

Garney and Crabtree have crafted a gruesome, emotionally stimulating issue that visually brings this tale to life. The detailed artwork and muted colors are eye-catching. And the changing color palette ebbs and flows with the intensity of the story in a way that is extremely engaging.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Catwoman (2018) #29

Mar 16, 2021

The issue opens with a violent incident and a mysterious character. Later, Catwoman is approached by a past ally seeking her help. When she goes in search of a well known associate, she is met by something unexpected. Catwoman must then decide what will be her next move.The Story: There are lots of interesting things happening in this action packed issue. And I really like how Ram V is able to deliver a lot of content without the narrative feeling rushed or overwhelming. I want to know more about Catwomans interactions with each of the characters she encounters. Also, the episodes cliffhanger was very compelling, and I cant wait to find out more.Fernando Blanco uses a traditional comic book style to bring life to this story. This is enhanced by the color work of Jordie Bellaire. The action scenes are well done and engaging. I like the muted colors that were used for the night scenes. The varying use of greens was eye-catching and really drew me into the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Catwoman (2018) #30

Apr 20, 2021

Blanco's retro drawing style is complimented by the color work of Jordie Ballaire. The blue toned panels beautifully portray nighttime in Gotham City. It also makes it especially powerful when bold green is used to highlight scenes indicating a certain someone. The artwork in this issue is both lovely and transportive.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Catwoman (2018) #31

May 18, 2021

Blanco uses a traditional style that is filled with detail. This is complimented by a color palate that changes with the scenes and mood shifts of the story. Bellaire's employment of red and green tones for certain scenes is eye-catching. The artwork in this issue is very transportive.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Catwoman (2018) #32

Jun 15, 2021

Evan Cagle uses a traditional style that is heavy on character expression and form. These detailed drawings are enhanced by Bellaire's use of color palates that change with the tone and setting of the story. This is a well crafted issue that is both engaging and visually pleasing.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Catwoman (2018) #33

Jul 20, 2021

The artwork in this issue is magnificent. The action scenes are intense and engaging. And the overall tone of the story is perfectly captured. Blanco and Bellaire use traditional drawing and bold color work in a way that is both visually appealing and emotionally stimulating.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Catwoman (2018) #34

Aug 17, 2021

This issue uses a traditional illustration style enhanced by muted color work. And the tone of the story is perfectly captured. The action scenes are well done and interesting. I found the attention to detail and character emotionally engaging and interesting.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Catwoman (2018) #35

Sep 21, 2021

Catwoman's Fear State run formally begins with this entry into the saga. Once again, Ram V has crafted an intriguing chapter that speaks directly to societal issues in current society.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Catwoman (2018) Annual: 2021

Jun 29, 2021

This is a beautiful issue with art styles and coloration that change with the time period and perspective. The drawings are extremely detailed. And there is a focus on character expression and form that is very engaging. The action scenes are also very well done and interesting.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Checkmate (2021) #1

Jun 22, 2021

In this issue, Maleev uses a traditional art style that is paired with a changing palate of colors and tones cultivated by Stewart. Each scene is visually pleasing and engaging. I really enjoyed how the artwork completely captures the mood of each time period and setting.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Checkmate (2021) #2

Jul 27, 2021

This issue is eye-catching and entertaining. Maleev and Stewart do a phenomenal job of visually capturing the tone and spirit of the story. The action scenes are well done. And the illustration-only panels are extremely impactful.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Checkmate (2021) #3

Aug 24, 2021

Maleev and Stewart use a traditional comic book style that matches the tone of the story. The illustrations are transportive. And there is an emotional intensity that permeates the pages despite the heavy emphasis on content versus action.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Compass #1

Jun 16, 2021

Greenwood creates detailed drawing to illustrate this tale, while Miwa chooses cool tones that change with the setting and situation. Much of the story is told solely through the illustration. And it is perfectly done. This is a well crafted issue that perfectly captures the essence of this story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Compass #2

Jul 21, 2021

The illustrations in this issue are an integral part of the storytelling. The level of danger and horrors faced by the characters are beautifully conveyed through detailed drawings that often have no narration or speech. And the color work helps solidify the emotional engagement that is gained with the turn of each page.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Compass #3

Aug 18, 2021

Shahidah is forced to drink a potion given by the Druids. They then send her on a journey that involves participating in a mystical trial. Meanwhile, Ling faces the wrath of a powerful ruler who sends her somewhere mysterious. After a series of supernatural encounters, Shahidah and Ling are reunited. The two must then decide how to proceed .The Story: MacKenzie and Walker continue to serve intrigue and excitement in this unique adventure. I like how Shahidah and Ling are forced to team up. They have an interesting dynamic that I would like to see more of. The pair have found themselves in precarious situation, and I look forward to find out what happens next in their story.In this edition, traditional artwork is highlighted by a subdued color palette emphasized by variations of blue. The action scenes are interesting and exciting. And the attention to detail is very connective. The illustration in this issue does a good job interpreting the tone of the narrative.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Compass #4

Sep 15, 2021

The penultimate chapter in this series is both action packed and enlightening.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Crush & Lobo #1

Jun 1, 2021

Bonvillain uses bold, brilliant colors to highlight Nahuelpan's detailed drawings. The character expressions and forms are emotionally connective. This is a well crafted issue that is engaging and transportive.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Crush & Lobo #2

Jul 6, 2021

This issue is filled with detailed drawings and bold colors. This is a good looking issue that perfectly captures the tone of the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Crush & Lobo #3

Aug 3, 2021

In this issue, Nahuelpan uses traditional drawings that are heavy on character form and expression. The heavy use of blues and greens make the environment feel very alien. And it makes the orange inmate uniforms stand out in a dramatic manner relevant to the tale. I found the illustrations to be very engaging and fun to view.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Dark Ages (2021) #1

Sep 2, 2021

This visually appealing issue perfectly encapsulates the tone of the story. The drawings and bold color palate are breathtaking. And the focus on character expression and form is engrossing. The best part of this edition are the series of action scenes. The attention to detail is impressive. And the illustration is done in such a way to elicit a strong emotional response. I was fully transported with every turn of the page.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Deep Beyond #3

Apr 7, 2021

When a submarine is found, Jolene and two others search the vehicle and make a stunning discovery. Unfortunately, they are then attacked and must find a method of escape. Meanwhile, Eve makes plans to find Jolenes team as well as the anomaly.The Story: Andolfo and Goy have crafted and exciting tale filled with mystery and tragedy. This issue has really good character development. As well as action. The emotional component surrounding the many previous tragedies is nicely peppered into the overall tone of the narrative. I found myself completely invested in the welfare of the crew, especially Jolene. I cant wait to see what new adventures they face in the next episode.Andrea Broccardo uses detailed drawings highlighted by a colorful backdrop to convey the action and emotion of this issue. The underwater scenes are particularly well done. And the battle scenes are very engaging.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Deep Beyond #4

May 5, 2021

Detailed drawings are set amidst a color pallet of greens and oranges. The panels are intense and engaging. And the underwater scenes are beautifully done. This artwork in this issue really sets the tone for the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Deep Beyond #5

Jun 2, 2021

Broccardo uses detailed art work heavy on character features and expression. The color palate is muted and has a water color quality. And the tone of the episode is perfectly expressed. I found this issue to be engaging and emotionally connective.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Deep Beyond #6

Jul 7, 2021

The artwork in this issue is very well done. The drawings are detailed. And the color work gives the illustrations a water color effect. As a result, the panels have a dreamlike quality to them that perfectly fits the tone of the story. I found each page to be engaging and transportive.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Deep Beyond #7

Aug 11, 2021

This issue uses a modern art style. There is an emphasis on facial expression that is very emotionally connective. And the bright and airy color work is very transportive. The shift in tones from previous chapters is palpable. And it derives from the changing landscapes and mood of the characters. Kudos to Broccardo and Nosemzo for their ability to visually capture these new vibes.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Deep Beyond #8

Sep 15, 2021

Andolfo and Goy continue to create interesting twists and turns in this futuristic saga.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Echolands #1

Aug 25, 2021

The drawings in this issue are extremely detailed. And the majority of the panels are filled with interesting characters and details that attract the eye. The color palette is intense and perfectly matches the tone of the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Eve (2021) #1

May 5, 2021

Youthful, detailed drawings are highlighted by a color palate with backgrounds of greens. The emphasis on facial expressions and gestures help to create a deep emotional connection with the characters. As a whole, this is a beautiful issue that fully transported me into the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Eve (2021) #2

Jun 9, 2021

Jo Mi-Gyeong uses a youthful drawing style that is filled with detail and character expression. The color work of Brittany Peer relies heavily on muted tones and greens. The panels are extremely compelling. Especially those that either lack or have limited dialogue. I was fully engaged with every page and completely transported into the world of the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Eve (2021) #3

Jul 14, 2021

Mi-Gyeong uses a youthful and detailed illustration style. This is highlighted by a changing color palette designed by Brittany Peer. The artwork is very transportive and perfectly matches the different moods and tones of the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Eve (2021) #4

Aug 11, 2021

This visually appealing issue features a youthful design. The attention to detail and changing color schemes help keep the reader engaged and emotionally connected. I am impressed at how each page is able to remain fresh and interesting in such a content heavy episode. I found this issue to be extremely transportive.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Eve (2021) #5

Sep 8, 2021

Overall, I found this to be an eye-catching issue that completely captures the tone of this episode.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Future State (2021): Gotham #1

May 11, 2021

The use of black and white in both stories gives a nice cohesion to the issue. The A story uses a minimalist design, while the B story is filled with tight, detailed drawings. Both styles are fun to look at and capture the tone of their individual tales.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Future State (2021): Harley Quinn #2

Feb 2, 2021

Tamra Bonvillain delivers with her color panels. A dizzying array of colors set against a darkened palate perfectly encompasses the passion and depth of Harley Quinn's world. While more muted colors are perfect for the mind of Jonathan Crane.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Future State (2021): Green Lantern #2

Feb 9, 2021

Robert Venditti creates a pretty interesting storyline. Hal is met with some pretty alarming situations, and I'm curious to see how this will all play out in later series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Future State (2021): Catwoman #2

Feb 16, 2021

Ram V crafts a high-octane, action packed story, that delivers. I was impressed with the easy way the two narratives merged and the quickly splintered. Though this is the last issue of the series, I was left wanting to know how the events in this tale will affect the overall history of the Resistance.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Future State (2021): Kara Zor-El, Superwoman #2

Feb 9, 2021

Kimara wants the Starfall Jewel from Lynari as atonement for the murder of her family members. As Lynari is under Karas protection, Kimara finds herself in battle with Superwoman. As we learn the history of Lynaris people, a new side of Kara emerges. In order to prevent a catastrophe, Lynari must take control of her situation and face Kimara head on.The Story: Marguerite Bennett crafts a tale of the opposing emotions of despair and hope. Superwoman becoming the catalyst of a significant change is inspiring, yet sad. It gives the reader a sense of humanitys struggle to endure hardships while maintaining joy.Bright, colorful, pastel panels fill this issue. Its a dizzying array of pinks, purples, and light blue. There is definitely an airy, feminine whimsy that belies the seriousness of the subject. It makes for an interesting juxtaposition.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Future State (2021): The Next Batman #2

Jan 19, 2021

Color artwork detailed for a lively night time adventure fits in perfectly with the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Future State (2021): Immortal Wonder Woman #2

Feb 16, 2021

Cloonan and Conrad have carefully crafted a tale of unending hope amidst uncertainty. It is interesting to ponder what life is like for an immortal. And how ultimately losing everyone you love affects your psyche. I was profoundly sad for Diana, but also empowered by her strength of character.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Future State (2021): Gotham #2

Jun 8, 2021

The black and white motif of this issue is visually pleasing. The drawings are intense and detailed. And the mood of each story is matched by the artwork.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Future State (2021): The Next Batman #3

Feb 2, 2021

Arif Prianto uses rich colors to intensify Laura Braga's art. It gives a visually pleasing effect. This, along with Braga's use of character expression, emotionally pulls the reader into the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Future State (2021): Gotham #3

Jul 13, 2021

This issue uses a modern comic style and forgoes color. Adopting, instead, and black and white technique. The action sequences are really well done, and transportive.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Future State (2021): The Next Batman #4

Feb 16, 2021

John Ridley does a good job of showing Tim Kane's struggle to take on the mantle of Batman. The emotional turmoil he goes through is heartbreaking. It leads one to wonder: Is the cost of saving a life too great a price for losing your own?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Future State (2021): Gotham #4

Aug 10, 2021

This is a cute and fun short tale. I appreciate how the action is at the forefront. It reminds me of vintage newsprint comics. And I found the harsh lesson at the end to be poignant, though relatively predictable.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Future State (2021): Gotham #5

Sep 14, 2021

The black and white motif continues in this issue. The artists do a great job with conveying the tone of their particular stories. And the detailed artwork really immerses you in the story, especially in the secondary tale.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Godkiller: Tomorrow's Ashes #1

Jul 14, 2021

Muckcracker uses minimalist artwork with an emphasis on character expression and form. This is enhanced by a color palette of dark tones and reds that change with the setting. As a content warning, this comic is rated M/Mature and does contain nudity and disturbing illustrations. Overall, this is a good looking issue that perfectly compliments the tone of the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Green Lantern (2018): Season Two #11

Feb 9, 2021

On planet Athmoora, in Sector 2814, Fekk and Sister Samandra witness a deadly encounter and try to contact lantern Hal Jordan for help. Meanwhile, Hal is dealing with the effects of Ultrawar and the new role the Young Guardians must play. We are given the background of The Majistry including their power source and agenda. Then, Hal is given a new and disturbing mission that he is drawn into before he has time to prepare.The Story: Im really interested in where this plot is going. This issue blends elements of traditional fantasy and sci-fi. It also delves into the psyche of the Green Lantern Corps. I like it when the typical heroes of a story challenge my view of them. And focusing on Hals perspective accomplishes that.Liam Sharp uses a brilliant color palette to highlight tight, detailed drawings. There are several panels that left me breathless. I cannot say enough good things about the crafting of the artwork in this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Green Lantern (2018): Season Two #12

Mar 9, 2021

Hector has created chaos on Athmoora. The reader gets a bit of his backstory, including an explanation of his animosity toward Hal. Meanwhile, Hal must battle Hectors army and try rescue his friends. After a devastating loss, a new enemy appears. When they strike a deadly bargain with Hal for the salvation of Athmoora, he must find a way to deliver.The Story: There is a lot happening in this issue. Unfortunately, at several points, the plot gets muddled. While I enjoyed the overall tale, it felt rushed. As this is the grand finale of the series, I would have preferred a longer issue that fleshed out the narrative more.Liam Sharp provides a beautifully drawn issue with an intense color palette of reds and greens. The intricate use of detail is inspiring. Each panel draws the eye and elicits an emotional response. The artwork here is magnificent.8/10

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Harley Quinn (2021) #1

Mar 23, 2021

Riley Rossmo uses a youthful and detailed style of drawing for this issue. The panels are then set off by the bold and brilliant coloring of Ivan Plascencia. The combination invokes a wild and fantastical world that perfectly fits with the mindset of the protagonist.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Harley Quinn (2021) #2

Apr 27, 2021

Plascencia uses bold, brilliant color work to highlight the detailed drawings of Rossmo. It perfectly captures the wild and infectious spirit of Harley. The issue is fun, visually exciting and and very transportive.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Harley Quinn (2021) #3

May 25, 2021

Rossmo uses a creative and fun drawing style highlighted by the bold and brilliant color work of Plascencia. The tone changes based on the characters. And there is a marked difference between the dizzying world of Harley, and the muted affairs involving Strange. I really enjoyed the art in this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Harley Quinn (2021) #4

Jun 22, 2021

Rossmo and Plascencia use a combination of detailed drawings and stunning colors to create the world of Harley Quinn. I really like the way the color palate changes depending on perspective and setting. This is an eye-catching issue that is completely engaging.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Harley Quinn (2021) #5

Jul 27, 2021

The illustrations in this chapter combine detailed, lively drawings with a colorful palette that changes with the perspective and intensity of a scene. I found the action oriented panels to be very exciting and engaging. This is a fun issue that perfectly captures the tone of Harley Quinn's world.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Harley Quinn (2021) #6

Aug 24, 2021

The drawing style switches up in this issue as Laura Braga takes on the mantle of series artist. This is a good looking issue filled with action and excitement. The illustration here is extremely detailed, and the color palette is bold. The realistic facial expressions and character movements are very engaging and I felt completely transported throughout the tale.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Harley Quinn (2021) Annual: 2021

Sep 2, 2021

The illustration in this issue matches the playful vibe of the story. The colors are bold or bright and changes with the different locations of the story. So does the drawing style. However, the varying techniques serve to differentiate the nature of each major villain.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Home (2021) #3

Jun 16, 2021

Wieszczyk uses a youthful drawing style that is heavy on character expression and form. Valenza's color work is muted, and works perfectly with the story's setting. The panels are brilliantly done, especially those containing no dialogue or narration. The opening scenes were so transportive, I felt my own heart breaking. Well done to the artists. Well done.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Home (2021) #4

Jul 21, 2021

I am really impressed by the transportive artwork in this issue. Wieszczyk and Valenza use a youthful style with a changing color palette to convey tonal shifts in the story. The emphasis on character expression easily elicits an emotional response. And the intensity of the action oriented panels is completely engaging.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Home (2021) #5

Aug 18, 2021

Wieszczyk and Valenza use youthful artwork and a changing color palette to create this visually appealing issue. The action sequence is exciting and completely engaging. The attention to detail creates an emotional connection that doesn't stop until the final page is turned.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
I Am Batman (2021) #0

Aug 10, 2021

Foreman's focus on character expression is highlighted by the surrounding minimalist drawings. The cool color tones capture the mood of the story. And the action oriented sequences are intense and emotional. Overall, this is a good looking issue that is very engaging and transportive.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
I Am Batman (2021) #1

Sep 14, 2021

Ridley adds another entertaining and thought provoking chapter to the adventures of Jace Fox. I really appreciate how Ridley chooses to use Gotham City as a reflection of our current society.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Jim Henson's The Storyteller: Tricksters #1

Mar 17, 2021

After the discovery of an intruder, The Storyteller indulges his friend in a tale of adventure. We then learn the history of Anansi, the spider. When Anansi desires a magical object, he is given three tasks to prove his worth. He must then decide how best to complete his difficult assignments.The Story: Jonathan Rivera spins a captivating tale of adventure. Using the Storyteller to emphasize certain aspects of the story was brilliant. It creates an interesting way to point out a moral without pretense. Its very reminiscent of the Jim Henson stories I watched as a child. I found it very enjoyable and I am excited to read more issues in the series.Jade Zhang uses a complicated array of eye-catching, watercolor style designs in this issue. The color palates are lovely. And aide tremendously in differentiating the different character arcs. These panels create an engaging experience that really draws you into the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Jim Henson's The Storyteller: Tricksters #2

Apr 21, 2021

Kubo uses simplistic designs combined with brilliant colors in a myriad of tones. The varying hues are visually pleasing and transportive. I adore the care that is taken with the Black characters. The hair styles and clothing are beautifully done. This is an impressive and well crafted issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Jim Henson's The Storyteller: Tricksters #3

May 19, 2021

Isa Hanssen uses a youthful art style that is filled with lots of color. The palates change with the story in an engaging manner. This issue is fun to look at and really transports you in The Storytellers world.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Jim Henson's The Storyteller: Tricksters #4

Jun 16, 2021

After a thunderstorm, The Storyteller calms his old friend with a tale of adventure. In it, Thor asks Loki to help him find a missing heirloom. Loki then uses deceptive methods to aid in his search. He finds the missing object. But, when the new owner refuses to return it, Loki and Thor devise a dramatic recovery plan.The Story: I really like how this story forwards the discussion of what is gender normative. Thor is presented as burly and boorish with hyper masculine traits. However, when he pretends to be the Goddess Freyja, his potential suitor is immediately charmed. Then, those same traits are viewed as feminine and delightful. This is a fun story about transformations, and dressing to the nines, that is perfect for Pride month.The Art:Traditional drawings are complimented by bright colors that match the perfectly match the tone of the story. Character expression and form are highlighted. The action scenes are well done, and the panels are very engaging.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Joker/Harley: Criminal Sanity #8

Apr 6, 2021

The drawings by Badower and Suayan are very detailed and engaging. They really make you feel apart of the story. The choice to use color panels for the flashback sequences, and black and white for the present is fresh and interesting. Also, the hints of

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
King In Black: Namor #4

Feb 24, 2021

Benjamin Dewey and Jonas Scharf drawings are stunning. Both use extraordinary detail. Meanwhile, Triona Farrell uses rich, cool tones to capture the essence of an underwriter environment. The combination creates a series of beautiful panels that really draw you into the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
King In Black: Namor #5

Apr 15, 2021

Dewey and Scharf use detailed drawings that heavily center on character expression. The following color work by Farrell changes from intense, dark, red and blues in the present to various green and blue tones for the past. This is a beautiful issue with stunning underwater battle scenes that are really engaging and exciting.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Lady Baltimore: The Witch Queens #2

Apr 21, 2021

Connell's detailed drawings combined with Madsen's muted color work perfectly capture the tone of this issue. The panels are engaging and creepy. I felt completely immersed in the world of the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Lady Baltimore: The Witch Queens #3

May 26, 2021

Mignola and Golden offer another exciting chapter in this series. This is a content heavy work that provides new information while maintaining a sense of mystery. It is also interesting to watch this group struggle with both witches and Nazism, knowing the choices they make have an impact on both groups. I look forward to reading more of this series.This issue is engaging and appropriately creepy. Connells detailed artwork is enhanced by the rich color work of Madsen. And the tone is perfectly captured. Each page does an excellent job of enhancing the tale.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Lady Baltimore: The Witch Queens #4

Jun 23, 2021

Connell's detailed drawings are highlighted by a color palate heavy with green tones. Character expression and form help to create an emotional connection to this tale. I found the artwork in this issue to be very engaging and interesting.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Magic (2021) #3

Jun 9, 2021

The Assassin gives a brief overview of Ravnica in his narration. He then meets with several connected individuals. They gather for an unexpected purpose. Elsewhere, the Guildmasters travel through the Undercity in search of Duskenhall. After a series of deadly encounters, they make a surprising discovery.The Story: Jed MacKay creates an exciting story filled with action and intrigue. The developing plot is interesting and holds lots of promise. I liked seeing the interactions between the Guildmasters. It gave me more of an emotional connection with them. Im interested in their well beings and look forward to the next chapter.Ig Guaras drawings emphasize form and character expression. The bright color palate has a variety of tones throughout the story. Overall, this issue is very engaging and visually stimulating.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Marvel Action: Origins #1

Feb 5, 2021

The dark muted colors chosen for the narrative of Thanos gives the story a feeling of danger and disaster. However, there is a nice contrast between the colors used for Thanos and the bright colors associated with the Avengers. It gives a nice push/pull between hope and despair.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Masters of the Universe: Revelation #1

Jul 7, 2021

The artwork in this issue is very detailed and filled with brilliant colors. Stylistically, everything is modern and youthful. And the color palate changes to match the various tones and situations. The panels are visually appealing and I was fully transported into the world of the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Moon Knight (2021) #1

Jul 21, 2021

Capuccio and Rosenberg uses detailed drawings and brilliant colors to capture the world of Moon Knight. I appreciate how the illustrations are able to make the night based locations come alive. This beautiful issue does an excellent job with capturing the spirit and tone of the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Nightwing (2016) #79

Apr 20, 2021

Tom Taylor does a good job of blending humor, action, and introspection.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Nightwing (2016) #80

May 18, 2021

This issue is filled with brilliant colors that really set the tone of this tale. The color work is especially appealing during the action oriented panels. The detailed drawings are engaging and draw the reader further into the scenes.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nightwing (2016) #81

Jun 15, 2021

Detailed drawings are set off by a bold color palate. The action scenes are beautifully done and very engrossing. And the tone of the story is perfectly captured, with certain panels that are sure to draw an emotional response.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Nightwing (2016) #82

Jul 20, 2021

The art work changes from modern to traditional based on the story's time period. Here, detailed drawings place an emphasis on character expression and form. I found this issue to be visually pleasing and emotionally connective.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Nightwing (2016) #83

Aug 17, 2021

Redondo uses a detailed modern drawing style that focuses on character expression and form. This is highlighted by the bold color work of Lucas. The result is a visually appealing issue that is both exciting and emotionally engaging. The action panels are top notch, and the content heavy scenes are impactful. I found this to be a well crafted and transportive edition.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Nightwing (2016) #84

Sep 21, 2021

I really appreciate how Taylor focuses on Nightwing's relationship with his family and the areas he chooses to protect. Although the action is high octane and pleasing, I find the scenes that display Nightwing's personal interactions absolutely compelling.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Nubia: Real One OGN

Feb 23, 2021

The team does a great job showing diversity. Especially when it comes to hair. This is what made me the most excited. The different characters wear everything from afros to locks, to natural curls. I'm a Black woman with natural hair. It was exciting to see characters that looked like me and my friend group. And it will be empowering to the young people of color that pick up this novel. Representation matters, and these artists get everything just right.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Pennyworth (2021) #1

Aug 10, 2021

Gedeon uses traditional drawings that are highlighted by the muted color work of Rauch. The issue feels very retro and reminds me of comics from newsprint. This classic art style is perfect for the time periods represented. I feel the illustrations perfectly capture Alfred's mood changes with each recall. And I was completely engaged with each turn of the page.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Pennyworth (2021) #2

Sep 14, 2021

Although, this issue is light on action, it is very emotionally engaging and visually appealing.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Reptil (2021) #1

May 26, 2021

Betos back story is revealed. Then, he and his uncle move in with Aunt Gloria and her children. After a family argument, Beto and his cousins visit a shopping area for a meal and conversation. When he is confronted by a new foe, someone surprising comes to his aid. Beto then learns his enemy has an important secret.The Story: Terry Blas has crafted a well thought out, family-oriented narrative. I really like this story. And I appreciate the diversity. I cant say enough good things about Marvels recent commitment to representation. This series shows a lot of promise as it combines both action and content. I cant wait to see how this plot line develops.This issue uses detailed drawings and a youthful color palate to set the tone of the story. Character expressions are featured to create an emotional interaction with the characters. Although the action is limited, it is well done and engaging.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Reptil (2021) #2

Jun 23, 2021

Balam uses a youthful art style that is complimented by earth tone color work. Character expression and form are highlighted significantly. This is a good looking issue that matches the tone of the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Reptil (2021) #3

Jul 21, 2021

The illustrations in this issue are youthful and vibrant. And a focus on character expression and form help to foster a deeper connection with the story. This good looking and well designed edition is both fun and engaging.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Robin (2021) #1

Apr 27, 2021

Melinkov uses expressive, detailed drawings to convey this story. The color work is well done and perfectly fits with the tone of the issue. The action scenes are exciting and interesting. The expertly done panels are very engaging and serve to draw the reader further into the tale.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Robin (2021) #2

May 25, 2021

Guerrero's color work includes brilliant colors and stunning tones that change with the time of day and mood. This pairs nicely with Melnikov's detailed drawings. The artwork in this issue is transportive and emotionally connective.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Robin (2021) #3

Jun 22, 2021

Ravager brings Robin to a party. While he begins to make friends, he also learns how Batman is viewed outside of his social circle. Later, he meets with Connor Hawke and the two have an interesting conversation. Afterwards, they are interrupted by and unexpected group, and a deadly confrontation occurs. Then, someone surprising comes to Robins aid.The Story: Williamson adds another compelling chapter to this series. Although I am excited to find out what the League of Shadows has planned for its contestants, I am most interested in Damians evolution. Until this point, he has had a very narrow perspective on humanity, and his place in the world. Its nice to see Damian being challenged on everything he believes. Hopefully, this series will make him a more relatable and humble character. The artwork in this issue is eye-catching. The bold colors and detailed drawings perfectly capture the storys tone. I was completely engaged throughout the episode.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Robin (2021) #4

Jul 27, 2021

Corona uses detailed drawings that feature an emphasis on character expression. This is highlighted by color work featuring bold tones that change with the time of day and location. Overall, I found this visually appealing issue to be quite engaging and transportive.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Robin (2021) #5

Aug 24, 2021

The artwork in this issue is well done and appealing. I really liked the action scenes, especially the rooftop race. It was fun seeing all the Robins in action. In quieter moments, the detailed attention to character expression was emotionally captivating. I am very impressed by the quality of the illustrations in this chapter.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.8
Rorschach (2020) #7

Apr 13, 2021

Jorge Fornes uses a traditional comic book style that is very detailed and expressive. Muted colors including greens and red-orange really set the tone as the reader transitions from past to present. It is a technique that transports the reader and makes the issue feel like watching an old-school detective movie. I felt the images were very well done and engaging.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Silk (2021) #1

Mar 31, 2021

Silk stops a robbery and is rewarded for her efforts by a grateful store owner. Later, Cindy Moon heads to her first day of work as a reporter. After Derick invites her to join him on an investigation, she is able to publish her first story. Elsewhere, J. Jonah Jameson has a confrontation with an enemy and Silk intervenes. Finally, someone interesting visits Saya Ishii. And their conversation unlocks a mystery.The Story: The first issue of the Silk series is engaging and fun. Maurene Goo has created a nice set up issue that is very promising. I like seeing Cindy in her day-to-day life. I am also interested in how her character will progress in the future. Ian Herring uses cool tones to highlight the detailed artwork of Takeshi Miayzawa. I really like the use of blue color palettes to accompany the action sequences. It gives the scenes an extra layer of intensity. This issue is well done and engaging.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Silk (2021) #2

Apr 28, 2021

Bold and brilliant colors compliment the drawings of Takeshi Miazawa. The expressive characters bring emotional intensity to the story. And the action oriented panels are interesting and fun to look at. Overall, I found this to be a visually pleasing issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Silk (2021) #3

May 12, 2021

This is a good looking issue filled with bold colors and detailed drawing. The action scenes are well done and interesting. The artwork is engaging and really helps transport you into the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Silk (2021) #4

Jun 23, 2021

This is a good looking issue with color work that changes with the time period. The flash back scenes have a blue tone that gives them a dreamlike quality. And the present is filled with bold and vibrant colors that are quite engaging. I found the artwork in this edition to be very transportive.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Silk (2021) #5

Aug 4, 2021

Detailed drawings are highlighted by brilliant bold colors. The actions scenes are well done and interesting. And the tone perfectly matches the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Spider-Woman (2020) #10

Mar 17, 2021

The Story: Karla Pacheco delivers a high-octane conclusion to a multi-issue story arc. The majority of the issue encompasses by a fight. Yet, we are still treated to great character development. Including some strong, emotionally driven dialog and content. Each page was captivating. And even though the ending was very satisfying, I am excited to read about her next set of adventures.Pere Perez creates detailed drawings highlighted by the intense color work of Frank Darmata. This issue is visually stunning. The fight scenes are well done and intense. However, it is the use of facial expression that really delivers. The emotionality is amped up as the character features are contorted to depict sadness, horror, and rage. The experience was completely enthralling.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Spider-Woman (2020) #11

Apr 21, 2021

The color work in this issue is lovely. The contrast of red and blue representing heroes and villains was a nice touch. It made the well drawn action scenes even more intense and exciting. Especially when compared with the muted color panels depicting every day life. Perez and D'Armata have done an excellent job crafting the art in this compelling issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Spider-Woman (2020) #12

May 12, 2021

This issue is filled with vibrant colors and detailed artwork. The fight scenes are well done. And the contrast of red and blue in the fighters' wardrobes are visually appealing.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Spider-Woman (2020) #13

Jul 15, 2021

This visually stimulating issue is heavy on character form. Perez uses modern, detailed drawings to depict a myriad of fight and chase sequences. And D'Armata's bold, intricate color work creates a tone that perfectly suits the intense and fast paced environment presented in the story. I was completely transported by every page.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Spider-Woman (2020) #14

Aug 19, 2021

Perez and D'Armata create some amazing illustrations in this visually appealing issue. The actions scenes are engaging and fun. And the attention to detail in the drawings really make you feel apart of the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Spider-Woman (2020) #15

Sep 15, 2021

Once again, Pacheco does an amazing job blending humor with action and heartbreaking content.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
St. Mercy #1

Aug 25, 2021

Rojo uses a detailed and modern illustration style that heavily features character expression. The changing color palette flows perfectly with the location and tone switches within the story, thus continuously acclimating the reader to new surroundings. I felt the artwork in this visually appealing issue was emotionally engaging and transportive.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
St. Mercy #2

Sep 22, 2021

I really enjoyed this chapter. I am a big fan of Westerns and this episode really leans into that genre well. Here, Platten crafts an intense and brutal continuation of the present day events of the previous issue. The stakes felt very real and there were several moments where I held my breath, hypnotized by the events taking place.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Star Wars: War of the Bounty Hunters #1

Jun 2, 2021

Luke Ross creates highly detailed drawings that are complimented by water color inspired pastels in this visually stunning issue. This combination perfectly captures the tone of the story. Every panel is filled with a wealth of distinct patterns and images that drew my eye. Throughout each page, I felt completely immersed in the world of the characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Star Wars: War of the Bounty Hunters #2

Jul 15, 2021

This issue is filled with detailed drawings that come alive on the page. The palette is inspired by watercolors and creates the perfect tone for the story being told. Each page is interesting. And many of the panels have eye-catching backgrounds. Overall, I found the artwork to be engaging and transportive.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Star Wars: War of the Bounty Hunters #3

Aug 19, 2021

The art in this issue is very detailed. The emphasis on character expression and form are very connective. And the fight scenes are well done and interesting.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Wars: War of the Bounty Hunters: Jabba the Hutt #1

Jul 21, 2021

This issue combines detailed drawings with a color palette that changes depending on time frame and situation. The actions scenes are well done. And the focus on character expression and form helps to solidify the reader's engagement.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Suicide Squad (2021) #2

Apr 6, 2021

Eduardo Pansica creates extremely detailed drawings that makes excellent use of character expressions. Brilliant colors and dark tones highlight this work. The result is a beautiful issue that transports you deeper into the story and makes you feel the brutality and danger of the events.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Suicide Squad (2021) #3

May 4, 2021

Detailed drawings are highlighted by a cool toned palette. The character expressions and action sequences are well done. This is an exciting issue that really transported me further into the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Suicide Squad (2021) #4

Jun 1, 2021

Waller and Peacemaker disagree on the treatment of a team member. Later, Waller has a dangerous confrontation with Red X that leads to an unexpected situation. When the Suicide Squad tries to protect their headquarters, several are faced with major revelations. Finally, someone important escapes as Waller considers her next move.The Story:The action and content significantly ramp up in this chapter. And the addition of an element that is outside of Wallers control is very interesting. The idea that her many unethical practices may have a significant impact on her business appeals to me. And I am excited to find out where this story line will lead.The Art:Detailed drawings are highlighted by a bold color palate. Rich blues give off an intensity in certain panels that is extremely engaging. The action scenes are well done and exciting. This is a visually appealing issue that perfectly captures the tone of the narrative.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Suicide Squad (2021) #5

Jul 6, 2021

This edition features detailed drawings and brilliant colors in a modern comic style. I found the action scenes to be very engaging and interesting. This is a good looking and visually pleasing issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Suicide Squad (2021) #6

Aug 3, 2021

This good looking issue is filled with intense action sequences. The bold color work matches the story's energetic tone. And the detailed illustrations add an emotional depth to the character's actions. I found this chapter to be very engaging and transportive.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Suicide Squad (2021) #7

Sep 8, 2021

The attention to detail, including character expression and form, also gives this issue a strong emotional connectivity.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Suicide Squad (2021) Annual: 2021

Sep 8, 2021

The artwork in this issue features detailed drawings with special emphasis placed on facial features and character form. The color work is dark but bold and timely. With the different scenes changing in tone to suit the shifts in the story. Overall I found this episode to be very engaging and appealing.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Suicide Squad: Get Joker! #1

Aug 3, 2021

Azzarello uses a traditional comic book styling that is highlighted by the muted color work of Maleev. This well crafted issue does an amazing job of capturing the story's tone. As well as engaging the reader. The action scenes are intense and the content related panels are compelling. I found this chapter to be very transportive.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Suicide Squad: Get Joker! #2

Sep 7, 2021

Overall, I found this chapter to be entertaining. But I wonder how necessary it was to the story as a whole.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Superman and the Authority (2021) #1

Jul 20, 2021

Janin uses detailed drawings with an emphasis on character expression and form. This is highlighted by Bellaire's use of multiple color schemes that changes with the tone of the story. I really loved how the artwork reflected the different time periods. And the alternating palette's kept me fully engaged and emotionally involved in the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Superman and the Authority (2021) #2

Aug 17, 2021

A myriad of styles are used to illustrate this issue, varying with the particular individuals focused upon. These techniques find commonality in their attention to detail and focus on either character expression or form. I appreciate how each character's arc feels like a different story. The art expertly fits the mood of the different characters perfectly and helps foster an emotional connection with them.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Teen Titans Academy (2021) #3

May 25, 2021

Detailed drawings are highlighted by a colorful palate. And the character expression really adds to the intensity of the emotion. This is a good looking issue that really draws you into the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Teen Titans Academy (2021) #4

Jun 22, 2021

Chupacabra narrates the adventures of the Bat Pack. They interrogate several students and eventually find themselves in an unanticipated situation. When the investigation of a surprising student goes awry, an adult Titan warns them to stop their search. Later, they encounter someone unexpected.The Story: Sheridan creates a young and energetic narrative filled with excitement. This chapter focuses on the junior Teen Titans, and plays very well for an adolescent audience. The Bat Packs adventures are a fun introduction to detective work. And while it contains minimal danger, there is lots of action. In this edition, tight and detailed drawing are enhanced by brilliant color work of mainly blue tones. Lieber and Stewart do a good job with creating a youthful atmosphere, while using a very mature art style. This issue is very transportive.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Teen Titans Academy (2021) #5

Jul 27, 2021

Lieber uses a traditional drawing style that is complimented by a muted color palette. The detailed artwork and perfectly delivered tone make for a captivating issue that is exciting and interesting.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Teen Titans Academy (2021) #6

Sep 1, 2021

The art in this episode is amazing. Extremely detailed drawings and bold coloring significantly contribute to the emotional engagement of the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Teen Titans Academy (2021): 2021 Yearbook #1

Jun 29, 2021

A variety of illustration styles are used in this issue and vary based on story. The different techniques range from youthful to traditional and feature numerous takes on character expression and form.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
The Expanse #2

Jan 20, 2021

Alejandro Aragon uses simple illustrations that are set off by the watercolor effects of Francesco Segala. The resulting intensity plays brilliantly with a limited action storyline. It causes the reader to feel the internal conflict of the characters as they are learn more about their ultimate objectives.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Expanse #3

Feb 17, 2021

The plot development in this issue is fantastic. Even though this installment has no real action scenes, the stakes for the characters are still incredibly high. And the tension is palpable. It's an entertaining read with a cliff hanger that left me more than ready for the next piece in the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Expanse #4

Mar 17, 2021

The final chapter in this four issue run really delivers. Corinna Bechko once again finds a way to create drama and excitement with the bare minimum of action.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Good Asian #1

May 5, 2021

Tefenkgi uses traditional artwork to set the scene for this period thriller. This is enhanced by a color palette that constantly changes, depending on the tone of the scene. The result is quite magnificent. Its brilliant, nuanced, and greatly enhances the reader's immersion into the tale.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
The Good Asian #2

Jun 9, 2021

Tefenkgi uses a relatively minimalist drawing style. A muted palate in a myriad of hues change with tone, location, and character interaction. I like how even though this issue is filled with color, it never loses its cool, noir feel. This edition feels like a period piece. It is immediately transportive and engaging.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Good Asian #3

Jul 7, 2021

This issue continues the series precedent of delivering a classic noir tone. The muted color palate changes to fit the mood of the scene. And a bold red illuminates the panels containing the most volatile action. This artistic style is deeply emotionally engaging. And I felt completely immersed in the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Good Asian #4

Aug 4, 2021

A combination of minimalist drawings and a muted color palette set the stage for this tale. The noir theme continues. And is highlighted by an impressive set of action oriented panels that are emotionally jarring. As a warning, this issue is adult oriented and contains scenes that are graphic in nature. Overall, I found the illustration to be visually stimulating and tonally engaging.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Joker (2021) #2

Apr 13, 2021

Tight, extremely detailed drawings are highlighted by bold colors and undertones of green in March and Prianto's work. I like how the major villains look worn and have ravaged faces. They are scary in feature and character. Overall, the artwork is well done and makes for a visually pleasing issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
The Joker (2021) #3

May 11, 2021

The detailed art work and interesting color palates created by March and Prianto are engaging and compelling. While the panels designed by Prianto and Fajardo are colorful and exciting. The action scenes in the latter are particularly well done. I found both sets of of art to be transportive with tones that perfectly encapsulated their particular narratives.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
The Joker (2021) #4

Jun 8, 2021

The tone of each story is perfectly matched by their corresponding illustrations. In the Joker, the drawings are extremely detailed with a color palate that presents as eerie even with the groupings change from pastels to darker colors. Meanwhile, the bold colors and tightly drawn images in Punchline capture high octane action.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
The Joker (2021) #5

Jul 13, 2021

The illustration in this issue is very well done. Francavilla uses a traditional art style with a color palate that changes with the scene and tone of the story. While Boo uses a modern and youthful art style highlighted by bright and bold color work. Each style captures the essence of the particular story and works to elicit an emotional response from the reader.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
The Joker (2021) #6

Aug 10, 2021

In this issue, Tynion takes this series in a dramatic new direction. The stakes have increased dramatically as new villains enter into the pursuit of the clown prince of crime. Their backstory is heinous. And the intro to this tale felt very much like a horror film.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
The Joker (2021) #7

Sep 14, 2021

Tynion has crafted an engaging chapter filled with lots of content.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Many Deaths of Laila Starr #1

Apr 21, 2021

Andrade's traditional drawing style is combined with the colorful panels in a style reminiscent of watercolors. The mainly blue and purple tones are entrancing. And I felt completely in tune with the changing moods of the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Many Deaths of Laila Starr #2

May 19, 2021

This issue is filled with watercolor style panels in a variety of tones that flow with the changing moods of the story. The drawing is a mix of traditional and fantasy. And I especially like the way one character is crafted in a manner representative to a child's imagination. This edition is engaging and made me feel very connected to the tale.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
The Many Deaths of Laila Starr #3

Jun 16, 2021

Minimalist drawings are highlighted by a color palate of pastels heavily featuring purples and blues. The combination creates a surreal, dizzying effect that matches the mood of the story. This issue is completely engaging and transportive.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Many Deaths of Laila Starr #4

Jul 21, 2021

Overall, I found this to be a visually stimulation issue that is emotionally engaging and pleasing.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Many Deaths of Laila Starr #5

Sep 1, 2021

The detailed illustrations created by Andrade and Amaro feature a mix of colors. But, leans heavily on blue and purple tones. Although this edition features the same dreamlike quality previously uses in the series, it incorporates a realism that perfectly fits the ending narrative. I found this issue to be emotionally engaging and captivating.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
The Next Batman: Second Son #2

Mar 2, 2021

Elsewhere in Gotham, the citys police department makes preparations to increase the safety of its citizens.The Story: John Ridley does a good job in laying out the foundations of this series. He has set Tim up as an intriguing character, whose presence and angst reminds me of a young Bruce Wayne. It will be interesting to see how he fits into a Gotham in transition. However, its the family dynamics that have me hooked. I want to know more about Tims role within the group, and how that plays into his past and future plans.Detailed drawings are set off by cool toned colors. The character expressions shown through face and body images give the story an emotional depth. And the action sequence is engaging and well done.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Next Batman: Second Son #3

Mar 9, 2021

The Story: The Fox family is very intriguing. The animosity between Luke and Jace is palpable. It makes me impatient to know Jaces backstory. It also makes me excited for the moment when the two discover their similar connection to Batman. I eagerly await the next installment of this tale.Minimalist artwork is set of by blue and green color palettes. The changes in palettes clearly mark the story changes from Batman centered, to the happenings of the Fox family. The use of character expression adds depth to the characters emotions.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
The Next Batman: Second Son #4

Mar 16, 2021

The Story: Family dynamics are at the forefront of this issue. However, John Ridley adds in some interesting plot developments that are definitely exciting. I am anxious to know more about Jaces time outside the mask, as well as the happenings at the Gotham City Police Department.Blue and Green palates are used to frame the drawings of Travel Foreman. The color work shifts with time frame and scene intensity. The use of facial expression elicits an emotional response that puts you in the mindset of the characters highlighted.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
The Next Batman: Second Son #5

Apr 6, 2021

This issue continues with the series' style of minimalist artwork set with blue and green tones. The color work is appealing. And the facial and physical expressions exhibited by the characters really connect the reader to the intensity of the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Next Batman: Second Son #6

Mar 30, 2021

Muted dark colors create a back drop suited for the tone of the story. The action scenes were well done and deepened my emotional investment of the characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
The Next Batman: Second Son #7

Apr 14, 2021

Minimalist drawings highlighted by green and blue palettes are apropos for the issue. Although the action is limited, it is nicely done. The attention to character expression definitely made me feel more involved in the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
The Next Batman: Second Son #8

Apr 21, 2021

Foreman's heavy use of character expression, combined with the ink and color work of Rapmund and Lokus, work very well together. The entire issue is beautiful and engaging. However, the ending pages demand the most praise. The panels there are hauntingly beautiful and filled with emotion. I was spellbound by them.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
The Next Batman: Second Son #9

Apr 28, 2021

Expressive drawings show the emotion of the characters. While cool tones encapsulate the mood of the tale. This limited action issue is immersive in its context and allows you to fully engage with the mindset of the characters portrayed.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Next Batman: Second Son #10

May 5, 2021

The art in this issue is well done. The colors match the tone of the series. And the character expressions really make you connect to the story on an emotional level.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
The Next Batman: Second Son #11

May 11, 2021

This issue is steeped in action. Intense combat scenes created by Foreman ensure the reader is fully engaged. But in the quieter moments, the use of facial expression and demeanor is emotionally connect the audience. The art here is well done and serves to enhance the tale.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
The Next Batman: Second Son #12

May 18, 2021

Three members of the Fox family discuss Jaces recent injury and conflict arises. Later, Jace and Vol discuss a previous mission. Further research into their findings reveals something shocking. Meanwhile, Lucas Fox meets with someone that may change the future of Gotham City.The Story:The finale of this 12 part series ends in a manner that leaves you wanting more of the Fox family saga. There are some interesting twists that I would enjoy seeing fleshed out more. The mantle of Batman is an interesting one to be sure. And while I will definitely miss this weekly run, the conclusion felt more like: Until next time.The Art:Minimalist drawings and intense character expressions are combined with a cool toned palate in this issue. The combination is attractive and compliments the overall tone of the episode. The artwork is really engaging and drew me further into the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
The Orville #2

Jun 2, 2021

This is a colorful issue consisting of a deep and bold palate choice. The characters are done very well and look like their television counterparts. The detailed drawings are very engaging and the use of character expression and form are emotionally connective.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The United States of Captain America #1

Jun 30, 2021

This is a beautiful and colorful issue with a color palate based on blue tones. The drawings are in a modern comic book style and filled with detail. The action scenes are well done, and I was completely transported into the stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The United States of Captain America #2

Jul 28, 2021

This visually pleasing issue features rich colors and attention to detail. The illustrations perfectly fit the tone of the stories. And the emphasis on character expression and form really emotionally connected me to the characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Witcher: Witch's Lament #1

May 26, 2021

Geralt watches the fatal torture of a captive from his latest assignment. Afterwards he is haunted by a feeling of remorse. While traveling in search of a new job, Geralt rescues a stranger from a group of deadly enemies. He then escorts that person to their home. Once there, Geralt is commissioned by a nobleman to engage in a new mission.The Story:Bartosz Sztybor has created a fast paced narrative that is gritty, raw and very compelling. This episode does a good job of mixing content and action. Geralts newest storyline has me hooked. And I cant wait for the next installment.The Art:This issue is filled with detailed drawings that often portray graphic nudity and violence. The color palate changes with the mood and tone of the story, and has a water color quality to it. I found the variety of colors eye catching and interesting.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
The Witcher: Witch's Lament #2

Jun 30, 2021

The illustrations in this issue are well done and interesting. The dark color palate fits well with the tone of the story. I found this to be a transportive and eye catching issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
The Witcher: Witch's Lament #3

Jul 28, 2021

In this issue, traditional artwork is highlighted by a muted color palette. Del Rey and Bellaire do an amazing job striking the perfect tone for each scene. The eye-catching illustrations perfectly capture the mood changes during the story's progression. This attention to detail drew me further into the story and kept me completely engaged.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Time Before Time #2

Jun 16, 2021

Joe Palmer uses a traditional comic book style that is very appealing. And the color palate changes with the time period. This is a good looking issues that really compliments the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Time Before Time #3

Jul 21, 2021

Palmer uses detailed, traditional drawings that cater to character expression and form. This is complimented by the bold color work of O'Halloran. The result is a visually appealing issue with stylings reminiscent of newspaper comic strips.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

September

August

More