America Chavez: Made in the USA #5

Writer: Kalinda Vazquez Artist: Carlos E. Gomez Publisher: Marvel Comics Release Date: August 11, 2021 Cover Price: $3.99 Critic Reviews: 2 User Reviews: 8
7.7Critic Rating
7.4User Rating

+ Pull List

She fought for her past. She chose to discover the truth. And now, with a new mission before her, AMERICA CHAVEZ's life will never be the same.
Rated T+

  • 9.4
    The Super Powered Fancast - Timala Elliott Aug 11, 2021

    The illustrations in this issue are in a modern, youthful styling. The bold color work shifts from bright to dark depending on the mood and time period of the scene. And the emphasis on character expression and form intensifies the reader's connection to the characters. I found this good looking edition to be very engaging. Read Full Review

  • 6.0
    ComicBook.com - Matthew Aguilar Aug 11, 2021

    It wasn't the finale I initially hoped for, but it still gets America to a new place and brings some welcome new elements into her life that should only make her adventures even better, and I can't wait to see what's in store for her from here. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    Psycamorean Aug 16, 2021

    This wasn't the strongest ending, but I thought it was okay. I think this sets up a manageable status quo for a character that definitely needs it.

  • 8.5
    Nightmare of Solomon Aug 18, 2021

    Hello Amigos!

    I completely forgot I was supposed to review the whole series -- been really busy tho -- MUY OCUPADO -- so it just escaped my mind!

    I think this is a solid wrap-up to the mini, but setting things in place in order to be continued in the future.

    Also, not gonna lie, but I thought they were gonna do a fakeout on the retconned origin at the very last minute, just to show the antagonist was lying and completely unreliable just to mess up with America -- NO BUENO! -- but they decided to play it straight instead.

    Honestly, I'm happy the new origin grounds her instead of the whole utopian lesbian dimension ruled by wiccan -- but I know some people lost their shit to these changes.
    more

  • 8.0
    Fracadactyl Aug 11, 2021

    So now with some of the fantastical side of America Chavez cast away, she's got a new status quo. One that's going to be pretty tough with her power fluctuating but has potential for more stuff down the line.

  • 8.0
    Adsun22 Aug 11, 2021

  • 7.5
    tonpas1989 Aug 11, 2021

  • 7.5
    _maite14 Aug 17, 2021

  • 7.5
    Radar Aug 21, 2021

  • 5.0
    daspidaboy Aug 11, 2021

Reviews for the Week of...

September

August

More