Eve #1

Writer: Victor LaValle Artist: Jo Migyeong Publisher: Boom! Studios Release Date: May 5, 2021 Cover Price: $3.99 Critic Reviews: 11 User Reviews: 5
8.6Critic Rating
8.3User Rating

* For fans of Undiscovered Country and Little Bird comes a new adventure series from award-winning author Victor LaValle (Victor LaValle's Destroyer) and rising-star artist Jo Mi-Gyeong (Jim Henson's The Dark Crystal) about a dangerous journey across a future dystopian America to save the world.
* When the ice caps melted, most of humanity was lost to the hidden disease that was released.
* Now, a mysterious girl named Eve has awoken in secret and must deal with a world that's nothing like the virtual reality she was raised in.
* In order to save her real father, Eve must embark on a deadly quest across the country, but she has n more

  • 9.8
    The Super Powered Fancast - Timala Elliott May 5, 2021

    Youthful, detailed drawings are highlighted by a color palate with backgrounds of greens. The emphasis on facial expressions and gestures help to create a deep emotional connection with the characters. As a whole, this is a beautiful issue that fully transported me into the story. Read Full Review

  • 9.4
    The Brazen Bull - Dave Robbins May 5, 2021

    Eve is more than just a typical "save the planet" story. It is more about a little girl's courage and a love that endures even in simulation. Armed with the fake bear and a dinghy, her adventure starts. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Graphic Policy - Ricardo Denis May 5, 2021

    With a final page thats sure to get readers excited about whats coming next, Eve #1 is the start of what looks to be an entirely different kind of environmental storytelling. Its characters are instantly likable and the setting carries enough visual flair to distinguish it from some of the other stories on the market. Eve is the type of comic you open a subscription box for. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Multiversity Comics - Joe Skonce May 6, 2021

    "Eve" #1 is the best kind of first issue, building a mystery through subtle and evocative art but making you care about the character first and foremost. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    But Why Tho? - Jason Flatt May 5, 2021

    I am very hooked onEve #1. It feels like both a stark vision of a possible near-future and a deep character piece in the making. I'm more than looking forward to the series and already hoping it lasts longer than it's initial 5-issue run. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    AIPT - Ronnie Gorham May 5, 2021

    EVE #1 delivers a brilliant setup for a voyage of courage, love, fear, and bravery into the unknown. Read Full Review

  • 8.7
    Black Nerd Problems - Mikkel Snyder May 5, 2021

    I liked the first issue of Eve, and I appreciate the general Afrofuturist vibes and the charm of the main character. I think there are a couple more anchoring details that I would have appreciated to fully vest me into the story, but given that this is a 5-issue mini-series, I'm willing to stick around and see the contextualization that the second issue will provide. Eve has a lovable protagonist in a prescient piece of work, and it's going to be an interesting venture for sure. Read Full Review

  • 8.6
    Monkeys Fighting Robots - Cat Wyatt May 5, 2021

    Eve #1 is an evocative and powerful beginning to Eve's story. It's so easy to picture her struggles and the world around her. The story and artwork resonate, bringing the story home in ways that cannot be ignored. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Major Spoilers - Christopher Rondeau May 7, 2021

    This book serves to warn the reader about climate issues through the eyes of a young protagonist who doesn't quite understand what is going on. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    ComicBook.com - Jenna Anderson May 5, 2021

    As the tail-end of the issue proclaims, Eve is going to be a story about the new generation saving the world from its climate crisis, and the way that message is packaged is off to a pretty awesome start. Read Full Review

  • 6.6
    Geek'd Out - Michael Farris Jr. May 5, 2021

    Eve is an unapologetic warning about a possible future but is presented as a story full of hope and heart. While there are certainly some hitches to this first issue, our hero and her button-eyed companion make this a hero's journey worth checking out. Read Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

December

November

More