Ricardo Denis's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Graphic Policy Reviews: 8
9.6Avg. Review Rating

9.5
Basketful of Heads #7

May 26, 2020

The final moments do a great job of bringing everything full circle and the twists and turns in this final issue do bring new things to the table in terms of who also deserves the axe but doesn't always get it. It's worthy of discussion and it invites a controversial opinion or two. I guess that's the thing about stories with axes. No matter the cut, they always leave a bloody mess behind.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Join the Future #1

Feb 14, 2020

Join the Future is a comic in no rush to reveal all its cards. In its first issue, we get a compelling situation with several moving parts that are sure to result in some very interesting looks at what the future will be and whether its in our best interest to join it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Killadelphia #4

Feb 28, 2020

Killadelphia #4 speeds things up quite a bitperhaps a bit too quicklybut the quality of the storytelling hasnt dipped not one bit. There are traces of Richard Mathesons I Am Legend here, and even a bit of Candyman in terms of ambiance. Im eager to see what else gets thrown in the ring, because we got a vampire revolution firing up and it looks like its about to get real bloody.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Loud! #1

Feb 21, 2020

LOUD is a statement on visual storytelling, both in terms of erotica and on sound in comics. Few wordless comics manage to tell their stories with such intensity. It genuinely feels like Llovet created her own imaginary soundtrack for the book. Theres nothing quite like it out there. It quite literally demands to be seen and heard.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Marvel's Voices #1

Feb 19, 2020

Marvel Voices #1 is the type of book Marvel needs to invest more on. It shows just how important it is to bring in other perspectives into this superhero universe and just how different it can all turn out to be. It speaks to the power of voices hungry for diversity in storytelling. And that, in itself, is a beautiful thing.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Outer Darkness/Chew #1

Mar 8, 2020

Theres a lot to like about Outer Darkness/Chew #1, especially for fans of the two series. In fact, Id say thats precisely the audience its seeking. New readers will probably struggle a bit to make everything click, but there're still enough things going on in the story that anyone could latch onto and follow. Theres just a lot of fun to be had here, and the promise of more Cibopaths in space is always a good thing.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Outer Darkness/Chew #2

May 27, 2020

Purchase: comiXology – Amazon – Kindle – TFAW – Zeus Comics

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Stealth #1

Mar 15, 2020

Stealth #1 presents aworld of conversation starters regarding mental illness, hero worship, andstraight up comic book storytelling. Its a story about checking in with ourheroes to know when theyve reached their limit and when to flip the roles totake care of them. Its about a kind of responsibility we need to own up tomore than we actually do.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

More