Christopher Rondeau's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Major Spoilers Reviews: 30
7.4Avg. Review Rating

9.0
Black Science #42

Aug 28, 2019

We always see the trope that one decision can change the course of your life and Remender does a masterful job putting out that theme in comic book form.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Black Science #43

Sep 27, 2019

There is quite a lot to unpack in this story but the creative team has created such an intelligent story. Black Science has been a nice ride throughout its six years and am sad to see it end. 4.5 out of 5 stars for me.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Canto #5

Oct 1, 2019

This little guy gives us hope to the heartless! Immediately as a reader I want to root for him despite being a fictional character.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Catalyst Prime: Seven Days #1

Oct 2, 2019

Noble was written so well that in one short book, I wanted to root for him and ultimately felt terrible when he sacrificed himself. The art was so well drawn that I can feel the sadness in everyone's eyes.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Contagion #2

Oct 13, 2019

It was a comfortable read that tells a good story and showed great characterization of each hero presented.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Contagion #5

Nov 3, 2019

I thought the artwork quality fell a little behind from previous issues, many story elements weren't resolved, and the conclusion felt lackin

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Die #6

Aug 14, 2019

The strength of the story, the tension between strong characters, and a captivating art style compels me to add this to my reading list.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Die #8

Oct 3, 2019

I was happy to finally see Matt get some spotlight. Seeing him talk about his family, approach other characters, and really see his struggle with his abilities was something I have been anticipating for a while and it was delivered well.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Die #9

Nov 10, 2019

Die has continually impressed me. It is a book that tells a good story, has flawed characters, and most importantly gives me something to think about.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.7
Dragonsblood #4

Aug 7, 2019

What I wanted was a story of comradery between Queen Freya and Siggy to overcome both the villain and Sigurd's inner demon. What I received was a story about how two god-like government figures who were using people like Sigurd as pawns in their war games.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Dungeons & Dragons: A Darkened Wish #3

Oct 8, 2019

If you are a fan of the lore of Forgotten Realms and D&D, this is a must pick up. And if you are not familiar with the world, I think this is a good story regardless and worth your attention.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.7
Future Fight Firsts: White Fox #1

Oct 12, 2019

We haven't seen many Asian superheroes and saw this as a chance to really do something new. Unfortunately, this story was cookie cutter and gave us a story we have all seen before.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Future Fight Firsts: Luna Snow #1

Oct 27, 2019

Luna doesn't seem to have those struggles at all and her main setback seems to be a healthy amount of doubt. What ended up bothering me is that Luna Snow seems too perfect

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Ghost Rider (2019) #1

Oct 3, 2019

It is an interesting idea and the theme here is that Johnny Blaze is trying to keep his power and will go to full lengths to assert his authority. In other words; power corrupts.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Jim Henson's The Dark Crystal: Age of Resistance #1

Sep 28, 2019

The characterization of both our protagonists are spectacular. I can see their dynamic personalities and what I can expect from them right from the first issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Jim Henson's The Dark Crystal: Age of Resistance #2

Nov 5, 2019

The book had such a good first issue that I found myself disappointed with the quality of this one. This series is 12 issues long and I hope that they aren't trying to stretch a 6 issue story into 12 issues. Most mini series have a tendency to be fast paced and have too much information and it is interesting to see this book have the opposite problem. I want this series to do well because I enjoyed the Netflix prequel but I am losing faith after this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
King Thor #2

Oct 27, 2019

The book is not a new concept and doesn't tell a new story. I think Thor fans will enjoy this book but for a new reader; I would point them somewhere else.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Marauders #1

Oct 28, 2019

Often in the stories I have read, I have associated Shadowcat as a minor character and a romantic interest to Colossus. Now I see her as the protagonist leader she was meant to be.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Monster Planet #1

Oct 30, 2019

I think this book is going to suffer from trying to do too much in a mini-series. The cast of characters were too big and there is a lot of information missing in lore development that I doubt the writers will have time to approach.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Ragnarok: The Breaking of Helheim #2

Sep 24, 2019

Ragnark seems like a great series that is deeply rooted in Norse myths and I love modern reimaginings of the old stories. It is well written, well drawn, and overall a solid issue in the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Rat Queens (2017) #17

Aug 2, 2019

There is a lesson here about how people should treat one another that is crucial to understanding both Gary and Maddie as characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Spider-Verse (2019) #1

Oct 5, 2019

It is beautifully drawn and colored and is well executed with what the writer intended to do. If you liked the movie or previous comics with this topic, then this is a must pick up.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Titans: Burning Rage #3

Oct 16, 2019

Sometimes writers forget about their supporting cast and forget to let them shine in the stories they are featured in. They become stock characters with no growth when they are set up to be three dimensional and Beast Boy is no exception. To see Beast Boy getting protagonist treatment was a refreshing change of pace.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Tommy Gun Wizards #2

Sep 26, 2019

The premise of magic, 1930s crime in Chicago, and a compelling protagonist is all I didn't know I ever wanted out of my urban fantasy.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Tony Stark: Iron Man #6

Sep 20, 2019

During the first read, I was on the figurative edge of my seat through the encounter with Ultron Pym. I love the idea of Ultron Pym trying to find love and the conversation about humanity and what it means to be human.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Triage #2

Oct 14, 2019

Once the story got to a point where Marco needed medical attention did I feel the issue really began to come to life. Tension became more prevalent, Evie's uncertainty begins to show, and Tabitha begins to shine.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Unbound (2019) #1

Oct 25, 2019

While I was disappointed with the initial read through of the story, that doesn't change the fact that it is actually a well crafted book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-Men (2019) #1

Oct 18, 2019

Even though I was put off by the art style that contradicts the tone of the writing; the story was still great and worth a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Year of the Villain: Lex Luthor #1

Sep 19, 2019

Unless you are trying to read the complete the Villain of the Year crossover event, I think this is a pass.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Year of the Villain: Black Adam #1

Oct 23, 2019

Black Adam is often viewed as the anti-hero and even a straight up villain at times. However, he is the more relatable character in this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

November

October

More