Christopher Rondeau's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Major Spoilers Reviews: 363
7.9Avg. Review Rating

5
2020 iWolverine #1

Jul 16, 2020

I was really looking forward to this comic but I think I am going to forget about it by the next issue. This isn't the fault of the book, it simply was not my cup of tea. If you want the full Iron Man 2020 arc this might be worth a pick up but I think this is a pass.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
40 Seconds #1

Sep 1, 2020

A distress call comes from a far away and a group of brave space explorers have to travel through alien gates to find out what is going on!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Adventure Finders: The Edge of Empire #3

Oct 20, 2019

I love that we are seeing characterization from the supporting cast and fleshing out their personalities. In this second volume, the story has focused on Clari and the ongoing fight and I appreciated that these characters were not forgotten.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.3
Adventure Finders: The Edge of Empire #5

Feb 23, 2020

While the writing wasn't up to the standard I was expecting, the issue's art continues to be better than average and is worth the pick up for that alone.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Adventureman #1

Jun 17, 2020

You can purchase this issue via comiXology

View Issue       View Full Review
6
All-America Comix #1

Jul 7, 2020

I was drawn to this idea of a younger superhero with modern resources and trials. However, I don't think America came out much better than a caricature. I want to see this character fleshed out and perhaps in issue 2 we will see that. The art and writing was decent but it didn't really go beyond a simple idea.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Amazing Fantasy (2021) #1

Jul 29, 2021

Amazing Fantasy #1 gives us an engaging storyline by taking classic heroes out of their comfort zone. Great work here by Kaare Andrews.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Amazing Spider-Man (2018): The Sins of Norman Osborn #1

Sep 21, 2020

Spider-Man races off to save Norman Osborn from Sin-Eater but will he be able to overcome his hatred for the man?

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Ant (2021) #1

Oct 22, 2021

Ant #1 presented a good well written story but didn't get me invested into the plot.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Aria: Heavenly Creatures #1

Feb 22, 2021

Aria: Heavenly Creatures features a great cast of characters and an engaging premise that is worth a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Belle (2020): Thunder of Gods #1

Mar 28, 2021

This is a good one-shot, but it doesn't change my life or give me a lot to think about. It is just a simple adventure that probably sets up the next arc. I'm intrigued but I'm not quite excited.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Bermuda #1

Jul 23, 2021

Bermuda #1 grips us into solid worldbuilding by keeping up a fast pace that doesn't overwhelm the reader.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Bermuda #2

Aug 20, 2021

Bermuda #2 has solid art and a decent narrative but lacks the emotional depth I want as an adult reader. For a middle schooler, this is a great title.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Black Cat (2019) Annual #1

Nov 20, 2019

As a heist story, this book is fairly interesting and has a layer of complexity that I enjoyed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Black Cat (2020) #1

Jan 1, 1970

Black Cat #1 sets up a caper in the King in Black crossover event. With such an enticing hook, the series is sure to be a blast.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Black Cat (2020) #2

Jan 22, 2021

Black Cat takes the essence of a good heist story and adds several engaging curve balls.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Black Cat (2020) #3

Feb 25, 2021

Black Cat has to make the choice between power or doing the right thing. The creative team did an excellent job portraying that struggle.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Black Cat (2020) Annual #1

Jul 2, 2021

Black Cat Annual #1 had a lot of great ideas but simply did not have the space to flesh out those complicated plot points.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Black Cotton #1

Feb 18, 2021

This comic makes you think. It isn't designed to be an easy read or fun and enjoyable. Instead, we are taken into a different perspective of recent events that we may not have thought of. This makes it a great read because it reflects modern events.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Black Cotton #2

May 13, 2021

Black Cotton gives intelligent social commentary to current events involving racism and the relationship of blacks and whites as a whole.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Black Cotton #3

Jun 13, 2021

Black Cotton puts emphasis about systematic racism in this issue and does a stellar job about the word choice of every character.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Black Cotton #4

Aug 13, 2021

Black Cotton #4 has us questioning the consequences of our actions and how people in power have the ability to ignore those consequences.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Black Cotton #5

Sep 15, 2021

Black Cotton #5 continues to shine a light on racial and social issues that are prevalent in today's reality.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Black Knight: Curse of the Ebony Blade #1

Mar 17, 2021

This comic brings us into the psyche of the Black Knight and his struggle with managing the bloodlust of the Ebony Blade.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Black Knight: Curse of the Ebony Blade #2

Apr 25, 2021

This issue failed to explore Dane Whitman's psyche that was set up so perfectly in the first issue. However the ideas of the series are still there and still strong.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Black Knight: Curse of the Ebony Blade #4

Jul 7, 2021

The Curse of the Ebony Blade has been an interesting series that explores the psyche of Dane Whitman, Jacks, and Mordred. What we have learned in this issue will certainly give us a thrilling conclusion at the end of the miniseries.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Black Knight: Curse of the Ebony Blade #5

Jul 29, 2021

Black Knight: Curse of the Ebony Blade #5 has been a thrilling miniseries that has the best possible conclusion for the plot and the characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Black Panther: Legends (2021) #1

Oct 13, 2021

Black Panther Legends #1 is a great entry point for someone who is looking for a place to start reading comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Black Science #42

Aug 28, 2019

We always see the trope that one decision can change the course of your life and Remender does a masterful job putting out that theme in comic book form.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Black Science #43

Sep 27, 2019

There is quite a lot to unpack in this story but the creative team has created such an intelligent story. Black Science has been a nice ride throughout its six years and am sad to see it end. 4.5 out of 5 stars for me.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Black Widow: Widow's Sting (2020) #1

Nov 3, 2020

Black Widow is back in this new series! Come see Natasha Romanoff go against the Maggia crime family!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Blade Runner: Origins #1

Mar 16, 2021

Blade Runner Origins takes us right back into the dystopian setting and brings us untold stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Bleed Them Dry #1

Jun 26, 2020

This is a good first issue of a new series. It introduces the characters well and brings you into the plot and setting very quickly. This issue has convinced me to check out issue two but I am not committed to the series as a whole. Hopefully this secret that was advertised in the solicitation will become more prevalent.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Broken Souls Ballad #1

May 9, 2021

Broken Souls Ballad explores the darker trauma of teenagers who have been turned into monsters.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Buffy the Vampire Slayer (2019): Every Generation #1

Jun 6, 2020

You can purchase this issue via comiXology.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Buffy the Vampire Slayer: Willow (2020) #1

Jul 10, 2020

I really enjoyed the book. I'm not really familiar with the comic book universe but I remember Alyson Hannigan's portrayal of the character well and enjoyed the coming-of-age story. I enjoy the subtlety in the art, the writing, and the intellectual approach to the story. I'm kind of on board to read the entire first arc and will be returning to the series for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Buffy the Vampire Slayer: Willow (2020) #2

Aug 12, 2020

Willow was drawn to the city of Abhainn and it is filled with mystery. What secrets could this small town in the middle of nowhere holds?

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Buffy the Vampire Slayer: Willow (2020) #3

Sep 11, 2020

Willow realizes that Abhainn is filled with witches and is determined to figure out the reason why they are here

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Buffy the Vampire Slayer: Willow (2020) #4

Oct 20, 2020

Willow has been a great series. The art has been very well drawn, the colors are vibrant, and I love the writer's patience in his reveals. Heck, it took us four issues for the antagonist to be revealed!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Buffy the Vampire Slayer: Willow (2020) #5

Nov 17, 2020

Willow and Aelara face off in a battle of wits and magic!

View Issue       View Full Review
7
By The Horns #1

Mar 2, 2021

By the Horns tells a classic story of revenge and places it in a unique and engaging setting. Lots of good ideas coming from this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
By The Horns #2

Jun 8, 2021

By the Horns has an engaging setting that the protagonist exists in. I'd pick this one up just to see how cool a unicorn hunter actually is!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
By The Horns #3

Jul 6, 2021

The introduction of Evelyn provides a great foil for Elodie and I am excited to see where they take both of these characters next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
By The Horns #4

Aug 15, 2021

By the Horns #4 provides an action-packed novel that still emphasized character growth within the narrative arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
By The Horns #6

Oct 8, 2021

By the Horns #6 executes a wordless comic with great skill and finesse.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Cable (2020) #1

Mar 12, 2020

Cable is fearless and I think every brave leader needs a little bit of fear to make him cautious. I hope to see him fail so he can overcome the obstacle and learn the important lesson.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Cable (2020) #5

Oct 22, 2020

Man, I feel like the theme of family is one that I am not going to get over. Cable has been kind of a crazy title where he is dating all the Cuckoo's twins and overall being a daredevil, aggressive protagonist. He is more cautious with his family and that is fairly nice to see. This duality has incredible depth that makes me want to return to the title to explore more.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Cable (2020) #6

Nov 23, 2020

The event is quickly coming to an end and I don't know what the result is going to be. Perhaps it was a cop out to have Krakoa get so many points this issue but regardless the tension is returning. The helplessness of the Contest has ended and now it is coming down to the wire.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Canto #5

Oct 1, 2019

This little guy gives us hope to the heartless! Immediately as a reader I want to root for him despite being a fictional character.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Canto #6

Nov 26, 2019

The point of the story is not the final goal but the journey to get there. It doesn't matter if Canto succeeded at the Emerald Tower or not. Simply the act of trying his best pushed his movement forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Canto II: The Hollow Men #5

Feb 6, 2021

Canto makes the difficult decision of sacrifice and we fall in love with him even more.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Catalyst Prime: Seven Days #1

Oct 2, 2019

Noble was written so well that in one short book, I wanted to root for him and ultimately felt terrible when he sacrificed himself. The art was so well drawn that I can feel the sadness in everyone's eyes.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Catalyst Prime: Seven Days #3

Dec 15, 2019

This issue was able to explore thought processes of the characters rather than erratic emotions they had during the moment of disaster.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Catalyst Prime: Seven Days #7

Jun 25, 2020

The story was good, I enjoyed the art and the aesthetic of each and every hero. I just wanted a little longer epilogue. The series as a whole is a good jumping on point to see this rather young superhero universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Clear (2021) #1

Oct 12, 2021

Clear #1 has a great premise but lacks a balance between the art and the writing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Conan the Barbarian (2019): King-Size Conan #1

Dec 29, 2020

Conan is shown in different stages of his life through different creative teams. While not all the styles were too my liking, the story is well told and well assembled.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Contagion #2

Oct 13, 2019

It was a comfortable read that tells a good story and showed great characterization of each hero presented.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Contagion #5

Nov 3, 2019

I thought the artwork quality fell a little behind from previous issues, many story elements weren't resolved, and the conclusion felt lackin

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Critical Role: Tales of Exandria: The Bright Queen #1

Oct 24, 2021

The Tales of Exandria: The Bright Queen #1 is a fantasy comic that caters itself to fans familiar with the title.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Critical Role: Vox Machina: Origins III #1

Feb 11, 2021

The story has a strong narrative arc and good ideas. Unfortunately, the depth of the web show doesn't translate well to the comic book page. Without the voice actors using inflections to deliver these lines, the story feels a little flat.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Critical Role: Vox Machina: Origins III #2

May 2, 2021

Critical Role has proven to have great stories with depth. Unfortunately, this issue only showed us the action of a tabletop game.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Critical Role: Vox Machina: Origins II #6

Jun 2, 2020

The art was exquisite in this arc. I liked the use of colors. In one scene, Grog and some of his companions are riding through the woods and we get a huge splash of green. When he has to fight Drath's influence, the colors tint to red.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Cyberpunk 2077: You Have My Word #1

May 4, 2021

Cyberpunk 2077 is dark, gritty, and a strong story. With a solid foundation, this miniseries is certain to be a good one.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Cyberpunk 2077: Trauma Team #1

Sep 12, 2020

Cyberpunk 2077 comes to comic book form! Explore the world of Night City through the eyes of Nadia; a member of the Trauma Team.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Cyberpunk 2077: You Have My Word #2

Aug 8, 2021

Cyberpunk 2077: You Have My Word #2 explores how far a parent is willing to go to avenge their child.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Cyberpunk 2077: Trauma Team #2

Oct 13, 2020

Nadia is trying to save a client but the client killed Nadia's previous trauma team!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Cyberpunk 2077: Trauma Team #3

Nov 10, 2020

Nadia is here to save the day! However the person she is here to save is the killer of her previous Trauma Team.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Cyberpunk 2077: Trauma Team #4

Jan 1, 1970

Nadia's decision at the end of the story sets up what the world of Cyberpunk is all about. It is gritty and it is unfair.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Dancing With The Dragon #1

Sep 12, 2021

Dancing with the Dragon #1 gives us an engaging new protagonist who is desperate enough to go into a life of crime.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Dark Ages (2021) #2

Oct 6, 2021

Dark Ages #2 sets up a great new world that is a joy to explore.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Deadpool (2019) #1

Nov 27, 2019

The biggest issue with this story is that Deadpool doesn't seem very witty. There were some quirky moments involving Gwenpool and a scene involving ice cream but the dialogue simply wasn't engaging.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Demon Days (2021): X-Men #1

Mar 4, 2021

Demon Days takes a new idea and an unique artistly and applies it to Marvel characters. Most of the ideas worked, some of them didn't, but I think this is set to be a solid series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Demon Days (2021): Mariko #1

Jun 22, 2021

Peach Momoko has created a beautiful world for us to explore. With a great world setting, it sometimes feel that the characters are secondary to everything else.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Demon Days (2021): Cursed Web #1

Sep 1, 2021

Demon Days: Cursed Web #1 has some really great ideas that get a little lost in translation.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Die #6

Aug 14, 2019

The strength of the story, the tension between strong characters, and a captivating art style compels me to add this to my reading list.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Die #8

Oct 3, 2019

I was happy to finally see Matt get some spotlight. Seeing him talk about his family, approach other characters, and really see his struggle with his abilities was something I have been anticipating for a while and it was delivered well.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Die #9

Nov 10, 2019

Die has continually impressed me. It is a book that tells a good story, has flawed characters, and most importantly gives me something to think about.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Die #11

Jun 24, 2020

You can purchase this issue via comiXology

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Die #12

Jul 24, 2020

Angria is on the verge of war and our heroes just want to return home. Will our heroes be able to sort out their differences and leave Die?

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Die #13

Sep 2, 2020

Our heroes need to prevent a war in Die while still trying to figure out how to get home. To do so, they meet up with H.G. Wells!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Die #15

Nov 18, 2020

Matt is in rage and grief. In his anger, he targets his two party members who made him miss the death of his dad.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Die #18

Jul 15, 2021

Die #18 is ramping up for a thrilling conclusion but still manages to add complexity and character development for its protagonists.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Die #19

Aug 26, 2021

Die #19 tells a story with a difficult theme with a skillful and respectful hand.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Die #20

Oct 1, 2021

Die #20 offers us a thrilling conclusion to an amazing series that pushes the boundaries of the artform.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Doctor Who: The Thirteenth Doctor #1

Dec 30, 2019

I think the theme of Doctor Who has often been identity. Many of the companions learn more about themselves as they experience new things with the Doctor.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.7
Dragonsblood #4

Aug 7, 2019

What I wanted was a story of comradery between Queen Freya and Siggy to overcome both the villain and Sigurd's inner demon. What I received was a story about how two god-like government figures who were using people like Sigurd as pawns in their war games.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Dryad #2

Jun 13, 2020

I really like the idea of this book and I think this title is very promising. However, I just wanted more family interconnectivity that this book did not have. Now that the technology is finally introduced, hopefully to see the family have more dialogue. I want to see tension between the kids and the parents while dealing with this odd "demon" threat. I think the foundation is there and I am enthused to find out how it is executed in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Dryad #4

Aug 12, 2020

I really enjoy this story and the themes. Since I became a parent, stories with strong parental figures seem few and far between. Most comic books seem to have broken families as a cornerstone of every protagonist. Visually the story is stunning and the writing is solid in this issue and I want to know more. I want to know the secrets of the parents and I can't wait for issue 5.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Dryad #5

Sep 23, 2020

The Glass Family are trying to save Val's life by meeting with an old friend.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Dryad #6

Nov 8, 2020

The Glass Family must figure out how they are going to navigate through the brutal Silver Bay!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Dryad #7

Dec 3, 2020

The story as a whole is very strong but their was a dip of momentum in this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Dryad #8

Jan 10, 2021

Dryad's strongest asset is one of family. Unfortunately, the family unit has gone their separate ways this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Dryad #9

Mar 26, 2021

The introduction of Yale's extended family puts a lot of insight on the family values of our main casts. Great technique and skill from the creating team as they portray the larger theme of the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Ducktales: Faires and Scares #1

Dec 31, 2019

Considering that the target demographic isn't for 26 year old me but more likely for my two year old daughter, the story is quite well written. The narrative arc has a rise and fall of tension and wraps up nicely for someone with a kid's attention span.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Dungeons & Dragons: A Darkened Wish #3

Oct 8, 2019

If you are a fan of the lore of Forgotten Realms and D&D, this is a must pick up. And if you are not familiar with the world, I think this is a good story regardless and worth your attention.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Dungeons & Dragons: At the Spine of the World #1

Nov 15, 2020

The story is meant as a tie-in to the latest D&D adventure that was recently published. Usually, these tie-ins to large adventures don't interest me at all and they tend to just be a publicity grab. However, the comics that Wizards of the Coast have published recently stand really well on their own. While I think the writing team struggled introducing the entire cast in one issue, the story has the foundation for a great adventure.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Dungeons & Dragons: At the Spine of the World #2

Jan 1, 1970

A solid D&D adventure set in the frigid north. Filled with action, comradery, and betrayal, this series is certain to be exciting

View Issue       View Full Review
3.5
Dungeons & Dragons: At the Spine of the World #3

Jan 9, 2021

At the Spine of the World is a story that a classic D&D adventure. With unique party dynamics and a quest to save the world, hopefully the dice will roll in their favor.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Dungeons & Dragons: At the Spine of the World #4

Mar 23, 2021

This comic brings us to the conclusion we expect with skill and grace.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Dungeons & Dragons: Infernal Tides #1

Dec 13, 2019

I love the ideas but it does feel like they are just pushing their new module Descent into Avernus rather than creating a good story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Empyre: Aftermath: Avengers #1

Sep 17, 2020

I have enjoyed the Empyre event and this was a sweet ending to the story. I have been rooting for Hulking and Wiccan since I knew about their relationship and glad to see it finally come to marriage. While this issue was mostly resolution and didn't have much to talk about, I think this is a good read regardless if you having been following the Empyre Event.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Empyre: Savage Avengers #1

Aug 7, 2020

Conan the Barbarian is thrown into the Empyre event! How will he handle himself against the plant-like Cotati!

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Empyre: Captain America #1

Jul 30, 2020

Captain America recruits new Howling Commandos and prepares for a fight against the Cotati! Our red, white, and blue hero is certain to lead his men into a riveting fight in these Marvel Crossover event!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Eve (2021) #1

May 7, 2021

This book serves to warn the reader about climate issues through the eyes of a young protagonist who doesn't quite understand what is going on.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Eve (2021) #2

Jun 10, 2021

The theme of global warming is presented in a way that is engaging and relevant to modern day life.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Eve (2021) #4

Aug 12, 2021

Eve #4 provides an excellent amount of character depth to Eve but doesn't ramp up the conflict for its resolution next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Eve (2021) #5

Sep 10, 2021

Eve #5 provides a great ending to the series but falls a little short as a single issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Excalibur (2019) #13

Oct 27, 2020

I really enjoy the direction of the books in the last few issues. While Wolverine and Storm felt like heroes who rejected their family; this one felt like an acceptance of one. Hopefully these characters will be adequate foils to each other as the event continues.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Excalibur (2019) #14

Nov 13, 2020

The contest isn't as riveting as the previous issues foreshadowed. I am hoping that the next few issues are going to have more depth than simply a "I pass this challenge and you pass that one." I think the ideas are there but they aren't paying off quite yet within the story as a whole.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Excalibur (2019) #15

Nov 27, 2020

I knew that Annihilation had an army behind them and they telegraphed that they were going to use it. Why else would they spend so much time explaining the horde of Arakko demons? I find myself disappointed that we did not get an all out brawl between the two teams within the tournament. But maybe that is more on me then the quality of this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Excellence #7

Jun 16, 2020

I think this is a great series that really makes you love that primary character. I really want him to succeed and I want to learn more about the world that is built here.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Extraordinary (2021) #1

Jun 27, 2021

ExtraOrdinary #1 presents us with Charlotte's antagonist in a believable, if not misguided, way.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.7
Extreme Carnage (2021): Scream #1

Jul 14, 2021

Extreme Carnage: Scream #1 had the opportunity to make meaningful decisions but instead relied on a WOW factor.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Extreme Carnage (2021): Phage #1

Jul 25, 2021

Extreme Carnage: Phage #1 picked up the narrative pace and it feel behind last issue. We are slowly beginning to understand how to overcome Carnage and whatever his grand design may be.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Extreme Carnage (2021): Lasher #1

Aug 5, 2021

The Extreme Carnage event has had a lot of good moments but suffer from a lot of characters that don't always feel necessary at the moment they are introduced.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Extreme Carnage (2021): Alpha #1

Jul 9, 2021

Extreme Carnage Alpha #1 introduces familiar characters but adds an unexpected and complex theme to the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Firefly: Brand New 'Verse #1

Mar 30, 2021

Firefly takes a new cast of characters and rehashes old themes.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Folklords #2

Dec 20, 2019

There is a lot of subtlety here that you will only get by paying close attention. The flashback with archer's family is one such moment. While Archer's interpretation is that his parents grew old and they loved him; but it is far from the truth.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Frontiersman #1

Sep 24, 2021

Frontiersman #1 sets up a great premise to what could be a very, very long comic run.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Future Fight Firsts: Crescent & Io #1

Nov 13, 2019

I really like what they are doing with Agents of Atlas but I think this is the character I am least supportive of. The art was good and it is needed to get a complete story. My suggestion is to pick this up if you are trying to get the full Agents of Atlas experience but pass if you aren't following the main title.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.7
Future Fight Firsts: White Fox #1

Oct 12, 2019

We haven't seen many Asian superheroes and saw this as a chance to really do something new. Unfortunately, this story was cookie cutter and gave us a story we have all seen before.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Future Fight Firsts: Luna Snow #1

Oct 27, 2019

Luna doesn't seem to have those struggles at all and her main setback seems to be a healthy amount of doubt. What ended up bothering me is that Luna Snow seems too perfect

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Ghost Rider (2019) #1

Oct 3, 2019

It is an interesting idea and the theme here is that Johnny Blaze is trying to keep his power and will go to full lengths to assert his authority. In other words; power corrupts.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Giant-Size X-Men (2020): Fantomex #1

Aug 6, 2020

Fantomex is a well-thought out book that treats its readers as intelligent beings as opposed to giving the answer on a silver platter.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Giant-Size X-Men (2020): Magneto #1

Jul 22, 2020

You can purchase this issue via comiXology

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Giant-Size X-Men (2020): Storm #1

Sep 16, 2020

Storm goes to the World to try and rid herself of her virus! With Storm, Monet, Cypher, and Fantomex be able to find a cure?

View Issue       View Full Review
5.3
God of War (2018): Fallen God #1

Mar 11, 2021

The book had the opportunity to take a beloved video game character and do cool and new things, but choose to Kratos staggering alone without direction or plot.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Good Luck (2021) #1

Jun 25, 2021

Good Luck #1 sets up an interesting and complex world with a diverse cast of characters, which is the right recipe to be a great miniseries!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Hailstone #1

May 12, 2021

I really liked the dynamic the creative team has set for the book. There is a man vs man, man vs government, man vs nature, and a man vs self element to it. And usually, I would be overwhelmed with the bleakness of such a story but in this case, I'm intrigued to see what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Hellions (2020) #2

Jul 27, 2020

This isn't the strongest series to come up with the X-Men revamp but the themes are rather engaging. I love the darker tone that is coming out of this and X-Force and I enjoy most of the characters that are being featured in this series. At the very least, I will be picking up the next issue to see if they can continue the momentum. My fear is that the middle issues are going to be much of the same thing and not bring anything new to the table.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Hellions (2020) #5

Oct 20, 2020

I like the X-Men crossover event as a whole but this one felt very out of place. It did not feature a mutant looking for a sword but rather a way to circumvent the rules that have been set out. Tactically, this makes perfect sense for the story but it felt out of place in the narrative arc. It is like one set of writers is going right while this one took a sharp left.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Hellions (2020) #6

Nov 22, 2020

This issue felt like exposition to the Hellions title rather than a middle issue in a giant event. And that kind of frustrated me but perhaps there is going to be a tie in that I am unaware of.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Hellions (2020) #7

Dec 3, 2020

I admit that I don't normally follow the Hellions title. Their role was so engaging in X of Swords that I decided to give the series a second chance. Unfortunately, they did not live up to my expectations. There are a lot of good ideas here but there seems to be a lot of characters and a lot of ideas that spiral out of control. So we only get mere glimpses of what the characters are going through rather than giving the space they need to grow.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Hellions (2020) #8

Jan 12, 2021

The issue raises up the age-old question of what is humane and what is not.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Helm Greycastle #1

Apr 30, 2021

Helm Greycastle presents us with a brand new world influenced by Mexica/Aztec world culture! Great new work with a good cast of characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Helm Greycastle #2

May 27, 2021

The story wasn't seamless to me. I found myself confused from page to page trying to keep track what was going on.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Helm Greycastle #3

Jul 16, 2021

Helm Greycastle #3 continues to explore Mexica/Aztec fantasy in an exciting new way but the issue didn't give me the character depth that I wanted.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Helm Greycastle #4

Sep 9, 2021

Helm Greycastle #4 provides an exciting conclusion to this story arc. While, there were some pacing issues, overall this is a high recommendation from me.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Heroes Reborn (2021) #1

May 5, 2021

Heroes Reborn gives us a chance to see what the world without the Avengers is like. The creative team provides engaging worldbuilding and solid ideas to show off this new reality.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Heroes Reborn (2021) #2

May 12, 2021

Heroes Reborn provides a unique perspective on the Marvel World by taking out the Avengers. This issue shows us a bit about Hyperion and his misguided point of view.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Heroes Reborn (2021) #3

May 20, 2021

This issue looks into the hectic life of Blur. Like Blur, the story was all over the place and didn't land the way it should have.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Heroes Reborn (2021) #4

May 28, 2021

Conceptually, this story does a lot of things correct. Enough things to get an emotional reaction out of me about Doctor Spectrum and Rocket.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Heroes Reborn (2021) #5

Jun 3, 2021

The most interesting part of this story was how much I hated Nighthawk and his whole approach to being a "hero".

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Heroes Reborn (2021) #6

Jun 10, 2021

Princess Zarda and Thor work well as foils that allows both characters to be dynamic and unique.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Heroes Reborn (2021) #7

Jun 20, 2021

Heroes Reborn #7 shows us that the Squadron Supreme of America are relatable people right before they go against the true heroes of the universe; the Avengers!

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Heroes Reborn (2021): American Knights #1

Jun 4, 2021

Seeing Luck Cage and Matt Murdock in these roles in a clever play on ideas that I wish was explored a little more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Heroes Reborn (2021): Hyperion & The Imperial Guard #1

May 13, 2021

This issue gives us a borderline satirical work into why Hyperion is the way he is. A fun comic that shines a light on the main Heroes Reborn title.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Heroes Reborn (2021): Peter Parker, The Amazing Shutterbug #1

May 14, 2021

Peter Parker manages to be a hero of sorts in the end, even without ever being Spider-Man.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Heroes Reborn (2021): Weapon X & Final Flight #1

Jun 22, 2021

Weapon X & Final Flight gave a great reimagining of Wolverine in the Heroes Reborn World. This sort of creative thinking is riveting on the page.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Heroes Reborn (2021): Magneto & The Mutant Force #1

May 27, 2021

In this alternate timeline, we get to see Magneto take on the role of protector rather then aggressor. This change of role leads to an engaging new twist on the classic hero team.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Hidden Society #1

Mar 4, 2020

This book is difficult to talk about because without the plot hook, I have no idea what the theme or message is. And I want to know so bad because the cast of characters seems to be fairly dynamic and unique.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Home (2021) #1

Apr 18, 2021

This is an extremely beautifully written book, and it doesn't shy from issues that are close to home. It is going to make you feel uncomfortable at times and some art is meant to challenge you. I'm reminded of the social commentary that comics consistently do.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Home (2021) #2

May 20, 2021

Home portrays the struggles of immigrants trying to seek Asylum in the United States and challenges us to see the real issues in the world.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Horizon: Zero Dawn: Liberation #1

Aug 1, 2021

Horizon Zero Dawn: Liberation #1 provides a lot of good backstory but fails to hook the reader into the main plot.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Impossible Jones #1

Sep 28, 2021

Impossible Jones #1 is a solid new series that introduces us to a nuanced protagonist.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Inferno (2021) #1

Oct 2, 2021

Inferno #1 has some great ideas that needed a little bit of reorganization to have that engaging start.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Iron Fist: Heart of the Dragon #1

Jan 21, 2021

Heart of the Dragon is a good comic book but fails to add any depth to the character or setting.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Jim Henson's The Dark Crystal: Age of Resistance #1

Sep 28, 2019

The characterization of both our protagonists are spectacular. I can see their dynamic personalities and what I can expect from them right from the first issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Jim Henson's The Dark Crystal: Age of Resistance #2

Nov 5, 2019

The book had such a good first issue that I found myself disappointed with the quality of this one. This series is 12 issues long and I hope that they aren't trying to stretch a 6 issue story into 12 issues. Most mini series have a tendency to be fast paced and have too much information and it is interesting to see this book have the opposite problem. I want this series to do well because I enjoyed the Netflix prequel but I am losing faith after this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Jim Henson's The Dark Crystal: Age of Resistance #4

Dec 24, 2019

I really like the world that the series has created. It is fairly unique and explores an old concept in a new way.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Jim Henson's The Dark Crystal: Age of Resistance #8

Jun 10, 2020

Sometimes writing in an established world with established characters is very difficult. On top of that, Hup gets his development in the Netflix series. This arc is simply Act One but we don't get an Act Two where Hup is the main character until the show. However, if you look past that to some of the other characters; you will find deep character development and a rich lore.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.3
Jim Henson's The Dark Crystal: Age of Resistance #10

Aug 22, 2020

All-Maudra Mayrin and Kam'lu are stuck in a raft after being attacked by a scary sea monster! They must rush back to land to help smooth over diplomatic relations and prevent a civil war.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Jim Henson's The Dark Crystal: Age of Resistance #11

Sep 20, 2020

All-Maudra Mayrin and Kam'lu must escape the Mondo Leviadin and reunite the Gelflign people!

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Jim Henson's The Dark Crystal: Age of Resistance #12

Oct 26, 2020

I am sad that the Netflix series was cancelled because there is so much depth to the world that will not be explored. This comic set the seeds for what could have been a great season 2 but unfortunately this may be the last Dark Crystal content we get for a while.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Jim Henson's The Storyteller: Tricksters #1

Mar 17, 2021

This comic book gives a glimpse into Akan folklore and a new culture worth of stories!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Jim Henson's The Storyteller: Tricksters #2

Apr 27, 2021

This book does a great job capturing a new story featuring a culture that many people are not familiar with.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Jim Henson's The Storyteller: Tricksters #3

May 26, 2021

The Storyteller allows us to explore folklore that many would be unfamiliar of. This is a well told story by the creative team but it didn't have the lessons that you normally associate with a myth.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
John Constantine: Hellblazer #1

Nov 27, 2019

I applaud the fact that the team kept the story high tension throughout the whole issue. All I needed was creepy incidental music to really set the mood.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Join the Future #3

Jul 8, 2020

The book is well drawn and I appreciate the attention to detail. I enjoyed the shading on the clothes and I feel like you can see every single fold and wrinkle. This attention to details adds a huge amount of depth to the story and complements the powerful dialogue. I applaud the creative team on this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Join the Future #4

Aug 18, 2020

Clem is trying to deal with her emotions after the death of her family. She has the option to sell out to the mega city but we all know she isn't going too.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Juggernaut (2020) #1

Sep 24, 2020

Juggernaut is back in Manhattan working Demolitions for Damage Control!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Juggernaut (2020) #2

Oct 27, 2020

Juggernaut sets his eyes on the destructive Hulk to earn his redemption!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Juggernaut (2020) #3

Nov 24, 2020

Juggernaut is facing another enemy. Will he be able to survive the Manhattan Justice System?

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Juggernaut (2020) #4

Jan 1, 1970

Juggernaut is proving to be a very empathetic character despite the brutality of his actions.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Juggernaut (2020) #5

Jan 7, 2021

For me, there is no such thing as a perfect comic book. However, this story was engaging and caught me off guard. I cannot wait to see what they do with the character.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
King In Black #1

Dec 8, 2020

Eddie as a hero is a dynamic character that I never expected would work. This book proves how wrong I am.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.7
King In Black: Iron Man/Doom #1

Jan 5, 2021

The theme of an evil Santa did not mesh well with Tony Stark trying to overcome his grief over the death of Eddie Brock.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
King In Black: Wiccan and Hulkling #1

Mar 7, 2021

This title gives us a glimpse on how Wiccan and Hulkling's love is blossoming after their wedding.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.3
King In Black: Planet Of The Symbiotes #1

Jan 17, 2021

The stories adds a good glimpse into the world but does not add much plot to the event itself.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
King Thor #2

Oct 27, 2019

The book is not a new concept and doesn't tell a new story. I think Thor fans will enjoy this book but for a new reader; I would point them somewhere else.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Lifeformed #1

Aug 29, 2021

Lifeformed #1 hooks you right into the action and presents a solid plotline that makes you beg for more!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Little Guardians #1

Sep 12, 2021

Little Guardians #1 is a good book with a solid main character but explores ideas that I don't know are suited for all-ages.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Loot #1

Jan 31, 2021

Loot is a book about a young treasure hunter that might be too headstrong for her own good.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Lords Of Empyre: Swordsman #1

Aug 19, 2020

The relationship between the Swordsman and Quoi is explored in this one-shot! Come see why these characters have decided to wage war on all animal life!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Lords Of Empyre: Celestial Messiah #1

Aug 10, 2020

Sequoia is an interesting villain because the Celestial Messiah seems almost secondary to the Cotati people as a whole. Now in this issue, we get to the root of the character and his motivations.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Lucky Devil #1

Aug 6, 2021

Lucky Devil #1 has us wondering if Stanley is the protagonist or antagonist of this story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Lucky Devil #2

Sep 5, 2021

Cullen Bunn does a great job hooking us into Lucky Devil #2 and the development of the protagonist Stanley.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Lucky Devil #3

Oct 7, 2021

Lucky Devil #3 does a great job bringing the characters to the front of the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Lunar Ladies #1

Jul 23, 2021

The Lunar Ladies #1 presents a new miniseries about a society under the surface of the moon. It is well written and has a solid narrative structure.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Maestro (2020) #1

Aug 21, 2020

Come check out the journey of Bruce Banner who turned into the tyrant of Maestro from the superhero Hulk!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Maestro (2020) #2

Sep 29, 2020

Every time I see a strong man comic, I just assume it is going to be action packed with lots of flashy explosions. This comic is not that but rather a deep reflection about humankind killing themselves and what that means. It is intelligently written and an amazing interpretation of Hulk in a dystopian future.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Maestro (2020) #3

Oct 29, 2020

Hulk heads to the town of Dystopia in the far future! However, who he finds isn't the person he was expecting.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Maestro (2020) #4

Dec 1, 2020

I generally don't like fights between two strong people. Watching superheroes punch each other isn't the most interesting action in comics. However, I like Hulk's story progression and how he slowly becomes more of a schemer. While I don't believe the way they justified the change was needed; the story was still strong.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Maestro (2020) #5

Dec 29, 2020

Maestro shows us the descent from hero to villainy and what powerful man can do if they choose to abuse their power.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Maestro: War & Pax #1

Jan 24, 2021

Maestro's second arc had a strong start but couldn't keep up the pace in the second half of the issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Maestro: War & Pax #2

Feb 28, 2021

Maestro challenges us to figure out who to root for: Tyrant Hulk or Doctor Doom.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Maestro: War & Pax #3

Mar 24, 2021

Maestro presented a predictable situation and caught me completely off guard. The story kept me on the edge of my seat the whole time.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Maestro: War & Pax #4

Apr 16, 2021

Maestro: War and Pax shows Bruce Banner's continually transformation to become a tyrant as more and more of his friends betray him.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Maestro: War & Pax #5

Jun 2, 2021

The final issue of the arc didn't tell us anything new about the title character, which left me wanting more.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Mapmaker (2021) #1

Feb 12, 2021

A fun all-ages book that shows us that the people in charge aren't always the morally correct one.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Marauders #1

Oct 28, 2019

Often in the stories I have read, I have associated Shadowcat as a minor character and a romantic interest to Colossus. Now I see her as the protagonist leader she was meant to be.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Marauders #11

Aug 17, 2020

Kate Pryde has perished and is unable to be revived. It seems like Krakoa has lost one of their greatest mutants and one of the best people.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Marauders #12

Sep 11, 2020

Kate Pryde is back from the dead and plotting her revenge against the Black King!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Marauders #13

Oct 12, 2020

Storm heads to Wakanda to acquire the sword needed to fight against Arrako!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.7
Marauders #14

Nov 6, 2020

This comic really shines a light on how weak some of these new protagonists are as characters. The enemy team is largely unknown and they don't have the same amount of depth as the X-Men do. Hopefully during the next few issues, we can elaborate on some of the characters a little bit. If I can't connect to most of these antagonists then what is the point. Otherwise, it is just fight scene after fight scene.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.3
Marauders #15

Nov 11, 2020

I think this may be the first issue in the event that I didn't really enjoy. I don't believe that the focus was in the right place. The creative team instead tried to feature every single character in this rather large cast of characters. This is what happens when you have nineteen sword-bearers and one host within this entire event.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Marked (2019) #3

Dec 28, 2019

Liza is an incredible antagonist and the change in her characterization is well written and believable. The series didn't sell me until we saw Liza becoming darker and darker as a character.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Marvel 2099 (2019): Punisher #1

Nov 29, 2019

The story was not seamless, but it gave everything it needed to in a good way. The art compliments the tone of the writing and had great detailed backgrounds that added to the story. Great work here from the creative team.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Marvel 2099 (2019): Conan #1

Nov 29, 2019

The script was well designed and it jumped from present day storyline to flashback to create depth in the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Marvel 2099 (2019): Alpha #1

Nov 24, 2019

I don't know if this series is going to be any good yet but I am optimistic. We are seeing a foundation with a wide range of characters and themes for the creative team to explore. I am excited to see what they do and I hope and crave for a good story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Marvel Action: Captain Marvel #5

May 31, 2020

I love the quirkiness between both of the protagonists in the story. The creative team took the time to really develop some of these characters and ideas. It really shows a care for the work that they are doing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Marvel Action: Captain Marvel (2021) #1

Mar 5, 2021

This issue shows the generational gap between Captain Marvel and Ghost-Spider in a relatable way to young readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Marvel Action: Captain Marvel (2021) #2

Apr 9, 2021

Captain Marvel #2 shows us an importance of having a balanced life.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Marvel Action: Origins #1

Feb 3, 2021

Marvel Action Origins tells a familiar story to a young modern audience will great skill and finesse.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Marvel Action: Origins #3

Sep 5, 2021

Marvel Action: Origins #3 is a great comic to gift to a comic book fan to share with their children.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Marvel's Spider-Man: The Black Cat Strikes #1

Jan 20, 2020

There is a lot of sexual tension between him and cat and a bit of guilt in his current relationship with Mary Jane Watson. Through the dialogue, we explore Spider-Man's psyche and it is such a great thing for the reader to grab on to.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Marvel's Voices: Identity #1

Aug 25, 2021

Marvel's Voices: Identity #1 gives us a glimpse at the Asian experience in the Marvel Universe and gives us a new perspective.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Marvel's Voices: Legacy #1

Feb 26, 2021

Anthologies gives us a chance to see some of our favorite heroes away from their main titles. For some people, this may be a skip because anthologies don't have the depth you may want from the comics. But this one is done very well, it shows them being heroes and how they act in their everyday lives.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Maw (2021) #1

Sep 19, 2021

Maw #1 does a great job giving you reasons to root for an unlikeable protagonist.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Mega Man: Fully Charged (2020) #1

Aug 31, 2020

Megaman comes back to comic book form to tell an exciting new story! Will he be able to prevent the second Hard Age?

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Midnight Western Theatre #1

Mar 22, 2021

Supernatural creatures meets the wild west! Good premise and an engaging start.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Midnight Western Theatre #2

Jul 6, 2021

Midnight Western Theatre #3 has excellent ideas but seems to have a hard time focusing on what is important.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Midnight Western Theatre #3

Aug 16, 2021

Midnight Western Theatre #3 gives us a new perspective that gives us more questions then answers.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Miles Morales: Spider-Man (2018) Annual #1

Aug 20, 2021

Miles Morales: Spider-Man Annual #1 is a fun issue that shines a light on a relatively new hero named Amulet.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Monster Planet #1

Oct 30, 2019

I think this book is going to suffer from trying to do too much in a mini-series. The cast of characters were too big and there is a lot of information missing in lore development that I doubt the writers will have time to approach.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Monstress: Talk-Stories #1

Dec 2, 2020

This comic shines a line on Kippa and tells a heart-breaking story of a defining moment.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Monstress: Talk-Stories #2

Dec 31, 2020

Monstress Talk Stories is a masterfully crafted interim series that shows strong characters managing their trauma.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Monstress #31

Jan 27, 2021

Monstress has a complex set of characters that have to make difficult decisions. It is fascinating seeing them try to make the right one.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Monstress #32

Feb 25, 2021

After the drama of last issue, Monstress #32 shows the aftermath and the emotions of all parties involved.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Morbius (2019): Bond of Blood #1

Feb 11, 2021

Morbius is a dynamic character that deserves dynamic plots. This particular issue isn't it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Morbius: The Living Vampire (2013) #1

Nov 17, 2019

However despite the great idea, I think the writing is overshadowed by the art in the comic scenes. The artwork is much stronger than the story being told and often you are distracted from the dialogue because of how dynamic the art is.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Murder Hobo: Chaotic Neutral #1

Apr 20, 2021

Murder Hobo is a book that doesn't take itself seriously and is filled with crude humor. Good at what it does but not what I want.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Mystere: Voodoo Dawn #Review

Apr 27, 2021

Mystere has a good setting and mythos that has the potential for great stories. This book serves as a reintroduction to the title character and the world.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.7
Mystere #5

Jan 12, 2020

Unfortunately, the big end fight just didn't have the weight of the story or felt meaningful.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Myths & Legends Quarterly: Dragon Clan #4

Jun 6, 2021

This comic introduces a new hero and villain group and provides a well rounded story of why they are who they are.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
New Mutants (2019) #13

Oct 21, 2020

I enjoy these slower moments quite a bit. While I don't think the art or the coloring was as vibrant as previous issues in the arc, the writing was quite phenomenal. This is an issue you can probably skip in the scheme of the event but I have found this to be the most enjoyable so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Ninja Scouts #1

Oct 17, 2021

The Ninja Scouts #1 is a great book for a middle school or younger reader but doesn't have much to latch onto for an adult.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
No One Left To Fight #1

Oct 14, 2021

No One Left to Die II #1 has some great ideas and phenomenal art but is not new reader friendly despite being a #1 issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Norse Mythology #3

Jan 1, 1970

Neil Gaiman writing retains the spirit of the old myths and retells it for modern audiences.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Nottingham #1

Mar 9, 2021

This book brings us an exciting new title that gives us a unique interpretation of Robin Hood and his Merry Men.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Old Guard: Force Multiplied #1

Dec 22, 2019

The theme has so much potential to tell a great story but I hope it is not ignored in favor of action scenes. I like a good action book but I want those scenes to help develop a narrative and develop a theme. This is a good book and has a lot of potential but it did lack a certain finesse.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Orcs (2021) #2

Mar 18, 2021

Orcs is a great book that is designed for young readers. If you enjoy tongue and cheek humor then pick this book up!

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Overwatch: Tracer - London Calling #1

Dec 4, 2020

Tracer is forced in the middle of the Omnic underground. The factions that have arisen in this story catch my attention the most and I am curious to see how Tracer navigates through it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.7
Phoenix Song: Echo #1

Oct 25, 2021

Phoenix Song: Echo #1 does a tremendous job introducing Maya to us but lacks support from any of the other characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Planet-Size X-Men (2021) #1

Jun 19, 2021

Planet-Size X-Men provides an exciting next step for the mutant nation of Krakoa that I did not expect. Such a cool display of power from our beloved heroes seems like they are getting another shining moment in the Marvel Universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Primordial #1

Sep 19, 2021

Primordial #1 had some great ideas but lacked an engaging main character to hook us into the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Ragnarok: The Breaking of Helheim #2

Sep 24, 2019

Ragnark seems like a great series that is deeply rooted in Norse myths and I love modern reimaginings of the old stories. It is well written, well drawn, and overall a solid issue in the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Rai (2019) #1

Nov 24, 2019

There was something interesting about watching a robot kid talking to a human bartender while the cyborg Rai is fighting the Anarcho-Baron Clan.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Rat Queens (2017) #17

Aug 2, 2019

There is a lesson here about how people should treat one another that is crucial to understanding both Gary and Maddie as characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Reaver #8

Jun 4, 2020

Reaper struggls with having a huge cast of characters and needing to establish them. The ideas in the series are great but it needs time to develop each protagonist. It looks like they are taking the time now to work on each character.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Reaver #10

Aug 5, 2020

I really enjoy this grimdark fantasy. There is something amazing about the depth of the characters that we didn't get to explore in the first arc. Essen Breaker is having so much doubt about his actions that creates engaging character development. I want to root for this guy even though he was a bad man who did a lot of bad things.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Reaver #11

Sep 9, 2020

Essen breaker and Rekala have found the true mastermind behind the missing children and must now figure out what they are going to do with him.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Robyn Hood (2014) #1

Jan 14, 2021

Robyn Hood is an engaging hero and vigilante. However, this issue focused more on the mystery of the Iron Maiden as opposed to the title character.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Robyn Hood (2014) Annual: 2020

Jan 3, 2021

The grief of Marian is relatable and riveting. Seeing her trying to balance coping and doing the right thing makes for good comic book writing.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Robyn Hood (2014) Annual #1

Sep 2, 2021

Robyn Hood Annual #1 does a great job bringing a cast of characters together to tell this story but there was so much packed into 70 pages that it felt rushed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Robyn Hood (2014): Night of the Hunter #1

Oct 4, 2021

Robyn Hood: Night of the Hunter is a great introduction to another good storyline from Zenescope Entertainment.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Robyn Hood (2014): Voodoo Dawn #1

May 18, 2021

Robyn Hood failed to become a hero in this story which made the comic feel underwhelming.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Robyn Hood (2014): Goldilocks #1

Jul 18, 2021

Robyn Hood: Goldilocks explores Robyn's relationship with her mother and how that affects her in the present day.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Robyn Hood: Justice #1

Jul 31, 2020

You can purchase this issue via comiXology

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Robyn Hood: Justice #2

Aug 12, 2020

I enjoy this title and I like the mystery that the creative team has created. Unfortunately, this issue didn't emphasize those aspects. While the action was good, it isn't what I want. I do believe that the next issue will bring back the suspense and detective work that I have enjoyed. 3 out of 5 stars for Robyn Hood: Justice #2

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Robyn Hood: Justice #6

Jan 1, 1970

Robyn Hood made a choice that justice and the safety of many people was more important then proving his innocence. A choice that leaves me perplexed about the concept of vigilante justice.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Robyn Hood: Vigilante #2

Dec 13, 2019

While I disagree with the direction they took our protagonist they told the story with expertise. The way they write the inner monologue with Robyn is done well.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.5
Rogue Planet #1

May 31, 2020

I like the look of the book and I enjoy the art style. However, the prologue and the crew didn't grip me as it should have. The art was riveting and I think that saves the book as a whole. I understand that it is difficult to get a story out when you have a page limit.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
S.W.O.R.D. (2020) #1

Dec 10, 2020

I appreciate writers who want to take the time and explain why their science/magic thing works. It just shouldn't have been done all in one issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
S.W.O.R.D. (2020) #2

Jan 13, 2021

Watching how Abigail treats her team sets a tone that is unlike anything else currently being published in the X-men titles.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Savage (2021) #1

Feb 20, 2021

Savage tells a story of a young kid trying to adjust to society. Sadly, I don't think the creative team went into the depth they could have.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Savage (2021) #2

Mar 18, 2021

This issue brings out the creative team skill to tell a good story and add depth to their characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Savage Avengers (2019) #16

Dec 18, 2020

The book is incredibly drawn and I think there's depth here. I just couldn't find it by reviewing this book out of context. I wanted more emotional impact here. Both from the characters and a reaction in myself. I wanted them to sweat a little more and panic but they just simply succeeded. Even Juggernaut seemed in control of himself, stating he didn't want to to kill the dragon.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Second Chances #1

Aug 22, 2021

Second Chances #1 presents dynamic art and writing that hooks you right into this complex plot.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Second Coming: Only Begotten Son #1

Jan 1, 1970

Sunstar is about to have a kid gifted to him by capital G God. His introspective of trying to figure out his own parents is impactful and grim despite the comedic tone.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Shades of Magic: The Rebel Army #2

Dec 26, 2019

I liked the theme of the Prince who is more a soldier then a leader and that fact makes him a better leader. Somehow being down to earth and talking to people seems to make him more understanding.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Shang-Chi (2020) #1

Oct 4, 2020

Shang-Chi's past is coming back to haunt his current peaceful life!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Silk (2021) #1

Mar 31, 2021

I was excited about this book because I think Silk represents the Asian-American heroes well. As a Chinese-American, some of the heroes I have seen fall into a lot of negative tropes. This character feels like a person rather than a trope and I appreciate that.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Space Bastards (2021) #1

Jan 15, 2021

Space Bastards takes a comedic violent concept and uses it to tell an engaging story that has the potential to be a long-lasting series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Spider-Man: Spider's Shadow #1

Apr 20, 2021

This What If miniseries shows us how brutal Spider-Man can be if he kept the Venom symbiote!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Spider-Man: Spider's Shadow #2

May 16, 2021

Spider-Man's descent into darkness is getting deeper and deeper. This issue shows us that he has made the commitment to be a killer.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Spider-Man: Spider's Shadow #3

Jun 11, 2021

This series explores what happens when Spider-Man goes too far. Is it the Venom symbiote or Peter Parker himself?

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Spider-Man: Spider's Shadow #4

Jul 21, 2021

Spider-Man: Spider's Shadow #4 is a solid issue that explores a redemption arc now that Peter Parker no longer has the symbiote suit.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Spider-Verse (2019) #1

Oct 5, 2019

It is beautifully drawn and colored and is well executed with what the writer intended to do. If you liked the movie or previous comics with this topic, then this is a must pick up.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Star Wars Adventures (2020) #1

Oct 14, 2020

I find it hilarious that I always pick up these #1 Star Wars comics in an attempt to get a deep and personal Star Wars story and instead get a kids book. The themes are simple and understandable for a young reader and that is what the book sets out to do. However, as an adult I don't think that it connects very well to me.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Wars Adventures: Smuggler's Run #1

Jan 1, 1970

Han Solo is at it again with another adventure! Find out what trouble he is getting himself into.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Wars Adventures: Smuggler's Run #2

Jan 28, 2021

Smuggler's Run is a delightful story that shows the strength and intelligence of Han Solo as a protagonist.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Star Wars: War of the Bounty Hunters: Alpha #1

May 7, 2021

Boba Fett proves to be a great point of view protagonist but I'm unsure about this event as a whole.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Strange Academy (2020) #7

Jan 29, 2021

Strange Academy shows a student trying to overcome the trauma of a bad decision that cost her the life of a friend.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.7
Strange Academy (2020) #8

Feb 4, 2021

Strange Academy takes some of the tragedy of earlier issues and allows us to see how these kids cope with it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Strange Academy (2020) #9

Mar 12, 2021

Strange Academy tackles a dark theme and contrasts it with light-hearted fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Strange Academy (2020) #10

May 6, 2021

I love this series. The cast of characters really play well off each other and the direction they are taking the title is engaging. I want to see what happens to these kids and I root and cry for them when they succeed or fail.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Strange Academy (2020) #12

Aug 29, 2021

Strange Academy #12 gives us the raw emotion of teenagers and how a little bit of support can help you overcome a lot of things.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Suicide Squad (2019) #1

Dec 18, 2019

Take this new character, Osita. She is a terrorist and even if I can agree with some of her ideas, I can't agree with her actions.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Sword Master (2019) #10

Sep 5, 2020

Sword Master heads to the Nu-Wa Tribe to try and understand the sword of Fu Xi!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Syphon #1

Jul 27, 2021

Syphon #1 gives us a rich story with an engaging protagonist that makes you hungry for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Syphon #2

Aug 27, 2021

Syphon #2 has a premise of a good story but lacks the execution to make you connect to the characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Syphon #3

Sep 27, 2021

Syphon #3 provided a beautiful and riveting conclusion to Sylas' battle with Antonio and his own psyche.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Tart: Toxic Origins #1

Jul 11, 2021

Tart: Toxic Origins #1 seems like a good book if you are familiar to the title but if you do not know who these characters are; it may not be worth picking up.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Tartarus #1

Feb 18, 2020

It was a nice touch to actual history and the creative team understands how different people approach this topic. I look forward to exploring the theme a bit more through the creative teams interpretation.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
The After Realm Quarterly #2

Jun 21, 2020

There are really good story ideas here that I think pay off in future issues. I'm not 100% on board with the art of the story. It is good but ultimately not my cup of tea. This issue has a huge accomplishment for Oona with the defeat of Loki but I think the best of the story is yet to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Citizen #1

Aug 8, 2020

Recently, I've been following the Empyre event and seeing a lot of complex themes that reflect society. It was nice to take a moment and just enjoy a comic that tells us a simple punch line. On top of that the digital release is cheap and I would suggest checking it out if you need a good laugh!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Courier #1

Jan 19, 2021

Courier talks about a woman wanting to have a normal line but being thrown back into a crowd of dangerous people.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Courier: Liberty & Death #2

Feb 18, 2021

I think this book did a solid job representing itself. On paper during a pandemic, this comic shouldn't work well but it succeeds spectacularly. Eve is a great protagonist and while we mostly get action in this scene, we do know she cares about people and has a stubborn will to survive.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Courier: Liberty & Death #3

Apr 8, 2021

The Courier: Liberty and Death #3 caught me off guard in a brilliant way. Great narrative arc and work from the creative team.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Good Asian #2

Jun 17, 2021

The Good Asian #2 has a respectable approach to a complex topic while also respecting the genre that it is in.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Good Asian #3

Jul 7, 2021

The Good Asian really shows the struggles of Chinese Americans in San Francisco. How Asians must act and react to the world around them is a great setting for a comic book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
The Good Asian #4

Aug 4, 2021

The Good Asian #4 talks about an important part of United States history in an insightful and entertaining way.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
The Good Asian #5

Oct 3, 2021

The Good Asian #5 provides us great context to why Edison made the decisions he made.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
The Impure (2021) #1

Apr 14, 2021

The Impure is a fast-paced exciting book that has a promising future.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Last Annihilation: Wiccan & Hulkling #1

Sep 3, 2021

The Last Annihilation: Wiccan and Hulkling #1 shows us why these two characters are a strong power couple in the face of adversity despite leading different teams against the Mindless Army.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Last Annihilation: Wakanda #1

Sep 17, 2021

M'Baku proves to be a good protagonist for The Last Annihilation: Wakanda #1 if you have the context of the previous storylines.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
The Last Witch #3

Mar 11, 2021

This issue felt like a complete chapter of a story. Saoirse is a compelling protagonist and the creative team is a master of the narrative arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Last Witch #4

Apr 14, 2021

The introduction of Hugh gives our protagonist a lot of solid character development and charm.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
The Last Witch #5

May 6, 2021

This miniseries sets up the future of the main characters but didn't resolve the final battle in a fulfilling way.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.3
The Legend of Shang-Chi #1

Feb 9, 2021

Shang-Chi is a decent action book, but it lacks the depth I want from my comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Mighty Valkyries (2021) #1

Apr 26, 2021

I enjoyed looking into this new Valkyrie and her journey to figuring out her name.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
The Shepard #1

Jan 26, 2021

Lawrence is a complicated character that deals with guilt and grief. These two things plus the emphasis on afterlife myths ensures a good story.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The United States of Captain America #2

Jul 30, 2021

The United States of Captain America #2 challenges me to want to do better and isn't that what Captain America is all about.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The United States of Captain America #5

Oct 21, 2021

The United States of Captain America #5 has been a great story and a thrilling ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
They Fell From The Sky #1

Feb 4, 2021

They Fell from the Sky tells a story of protagonist, Tommy, dealing with real and relatable problems even before the science-fiction elements are fully introduced.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Titans: Burning Rage #3

Oct 16, 2019

Sometimes writers forget about their supporting cast and forget to let them shine in the stories they are featured in. They become stock characters with no growth when they are set up to be three dimensional and Beast Boy is no exception. To see Beast Boy getting protagonist treatment was a refreshing change of pace.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Tommy Gun Wizards #2

Sep 26, 2019

The premise of magic, 1930s crime in Chicago, and a compelling protagonist is all I didn't know I ever wanted out of my urban fantasy.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Tony Stark: Iron Man #6

Sep 20, 2019

During the first read, I was on the figurative edge of my seat through the encounter with Ultron Pym. I love the idea of Ultron Pym trying to find love and the conversation about humanity and what it means to be human.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Triage #2

Oct 14, 2019

Once the story got to a point where Marco needed medical attention did I feel the issue really began to come to life. Tension became more prevalent, Evie's uncertainty begins to show, and Tabitha begins to shine.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Triage #3

Nov 19, 2019

This is a stressful situation that Phillip Sevy has set up and through these events we see our main characters act very human and make mistakes. What a critical moment where we increase the tension between characters to add another layer to the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Triage #5

Jan 27, 2020

In storytelling, I like to think of macro ideas like themes and plot that are supported by micro moments. This was a beautiful example of a micro moment that shows characterization of a character and supports the overarching theme. This is great attention to detail and shows Phillip Sevy's passion for the project.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Unbound (2019) #1

Oct 25, 2019

While I was disappointed with the initial read through of the story, that doesn't change the fact that it is actually a well crafted book.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Voyage to the Stars #1

Aug 25, 2020

Come check out the podcast turned comic book in this comedy space opera! Join unqualified Captain Tucker and his crew as they fight against the "Nothing"!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Voyage to the Stars #2

Oct 7, 2020

You know, for a comedy comic book I was pleasantly surprised about this story. I read it at the right time for the story to ring home. Perhaps this is the correct time for a story like this to come out. If it was at a different time, I don't think this story would have entertained me or have been effective.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Way of X (2021) #1

Apr 21, 2021

Way of X shows a new side to the Krakoa nation in a engaging and thought provoking way.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Way of X (2021) #2

May 19, 2021

Way of X continues to explore the societal development of Krakoa in an engaging and complex way.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Way of X (2021) #3

Jun 23, 2021

Way of X #3 presents us with the complex reality of Krakoa. Having Nightcrawler as our point of view character and observing society is engaging and exciting.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Way of X (2021) #4

Jul 14, 2021

Way of X #4 is a series that challenges the nation of Krakoa and shows that it is not as perfect as we are made to believe.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Way of X (2021) #5

Aug 19, 2021

Way of X #5 changes Nightcrawler from a doubter to a religious leader in an engaging and exciting way.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
We Have Demons #1

Oct 10, 2021

We Have Demons #1 gives us an interesting new story by Scott Snyder that hooks us right into the plot.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
We Only Find Them When They're Dead #1

Sep 6, 2020

The only scavenging left is the corpse of dead deities. and everyone wants a piece of that action!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Web Of Venom: Wraith #1

Sep 13, 2020

Wraith returns back to his home world to try and finally get rid of his symbiotic curse!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Wolverine (2020) #6

Oct 8, 2020

Wolverine is chosen to fight for Krakoa but first he must find a sword.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Wolverine (2020) #7

Nov 14, 2020

I was afraid that the challenges in the Contest of Swords was going to lose its subtlety. However, this issue brings us back to some of the interpersonal things going on within the X-men. This is because we get the option to focus on just a few characters rather than trying to give each character a moment. Because we can just focus on Wolverine, Storm, Magik, and their adversaries we get to see a lot more details that would otherwise be skipped.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
X Of Swords (2020): Creation #1

Oct 2, 2020

The next X-men crossover event is now out! Come check out what dark storm is on the horizon.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
X Of Swords (2020): Stasis #1

Oct 30, 2020

The Champions of Krakoa are preparing to enter the Contest of Swords.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
X Of Swords (2020): Destruction #1

Nov 29, 2020

In the end, I think the X of Swords event was a huge success. I'm happy to see that most of the plot lines were concluded and feels like a new chapter for the mutant nation of Krakoa. I'm curious about Mister Sinister and his role in the future and how some of our heroes will cope with the trauma of this event.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.7
X-Factor (2020) #1

Jul 31, 2020

X-Factor brings back an old X-men title and gives in a crime investigation flair! Check out Northstar, Polaris, Prodigy, Prestige, Daken, and Eyeboy solve mutants who have been killed.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
X-Factor (2020) #2

Aug 26, 2020

X-Factor Investigations is back in business! With a new team, they head into Mojoverse after receiving a mysterious package.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
X-Factor (2020) #4

Oct 1, 2020

X of Swords continues with the resolution of Apocalypse's mission and the start of the story arc as a whole.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
X-Force (2019) #1

Nov 13, 2019

What this book establishes is that a threat is real and we see the death of many mutants on the island.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
X-Force (2019) #4

Dec 23, 2019

I really like the premise of the brains and the brawns. It is a trope that is often used in narrative fiction but this comic executes it well.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
X-Force (2019) #13

Oct 9, 2020

Wolverine is in hell looking for Muramasa but his enemy in the X of Swords tournament is also here!

View Issue       View Full Review
6
X-Force (2019) #14

Nov 19, 2020

The Contest of Swords is underway and the Champions of Krakoa prepare to fight to the death!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
X-Men (2019) #1

Oct 18, 2019

Even though I was put off by the art style that contradicts the tone of the writing; the story was still great and worth a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
X-Men (2019) #13

Oct 28, 2020

Apocalypse must recover from his wounds to fight in the Contest of Swords!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
X-Men (2019) #14

Nov 5, 2020

This is a great issue. The art is well drawn and coloring is vivid. But I have to applaud the writing here. They made a character that isn't really lovable a great protagonist to this event. A person who can shoulder the emotional weight of the mutant nation and balance that against his apparent love for his family. There is also the subtle hint of isolation and the negative effect it can have on the psyche; something that is prevalent within the current pandemic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
X-Men (2019) #15

Nov 25, 2020

I think I am at the point where I am ready for the conclusion. I'm most curious to see what Saturnyne's role in all this is and if that will be clarified. Is she a hero or a villain? Or maybe somewhere in between? I wonder how she is going to fall in this theme of love and family that has been crucial to this event.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
X-Men (2019) #16

Jan 5, 2021

X-Men #16 feels like a middle issue when it should have been a solid hook for the next arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.7
X-Men (2021) #2

Aug 4, 2021

The X-Men perform some amazing feats of power but are handling their problems quickly and without any real struggle.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
X-Men: Legends (2021) #1

Feb 17, 2021

X-Men Legends takes us back in time and explores a great story featuring a theme of family.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
X-Men: Legends (2021) #2

Apr 7, 2021

The Summer's family tree gets much more complicated when Scott and Alex Summers finds another long-lost sibling!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
X-Men: Legends (2021) #3

Apr 29, 2021

This issue brings us to the great X-Factor run of the 1980s and leaves me with fond nostalgic memories.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
X-Men: Legends (2021) #4

Jun 30, 2021

X-Men Legends #4 gives us a lovely reminder of the great 1980s X-Factor run and provides some context for the Judgement War storyline.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
X-Men: Legends (2021) #5

Jul 22, 2021

X-Men Legends #5 returns us to the Peter David run of X-Factor. The story is well written and the art is in that great 80s style.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
X-Men: Legends (2021) #6

Aug 11, 2021

X-Men Legends #6 uses the framework of a court case to provide us with interesting depth and complexity to the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
X-Men: Legends (2021) #7

Sep 23, 2021

X-Men Legends #7 does a good job returning us to the Larry Hama Wolverine run but doesn't translate well to a modern audience.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
X-Men: The Trial of Magneto (2021) #1

Aug 22, 2021

X-Men: The Trial of Magneto #1 explores many types of grief as we explore the consequence of the Scarlet Witch's death.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
X-Men: The Trial of Magneto (2021) #2

Sep 17, 2021

The Trial of Magneto #2 continues with the characters trying to process the death of Wanda and it almost leads to more violence and bloodshed.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Year of the Villain: Harley Quinn #1

Dec 12, 2019

In this issue, we see her strength and intelligence in solving this simple crime by incorporating a very important idea. Pay attention to the small stuff.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Year of the Villain: Lex Luthor #1

Sep 19, 2019

Unless you are trying to read the complete the Villain of the Year crossover event, I think this is a pass.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Year of the Villain: Black Adam #1

Oct 23, 2019

Black Adam is often viewed as the anti-hero and even a straight up villain at times. However, he is the more relatable character in this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More