Christopher Rondeau's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Major Spoilers Reviews: 87
7.6Avg. Review Rating

5
2020 iWolverine #1

Jul 16, 2020

I was really looking forward to this comic but I think I am going to forget about it by the next issue. This isn't the fault of the book, it simply was not my cup of tea. If you want the full Iron Man 2020 arc this might be worth a pick up but I think this is a pass.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Adventure Finders: The Edge of Empire #3

Oct 20, 2019

I love that we are seeing characterization from the supporting cast and fleshing out their personalities. In this second volume, the story has focused on Clari and the ongoing fight and I appreciated that these characters were not forgotten.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.3
Adventure Finders: The Edge of Empire #5

Feb 23, 2020

While the writing wasn't up to the standard I was expecting, the issue's art continues to be better than average and is worth the pick up for that alone.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Adventureman #1

Jun 17, 2020

You can purchase this issue via comiXology

View Issue       View Full Review
6
All-America Comix #1

Jul 7, 2020

I was drawn to this idea of a younger superhero with modern resources and trials. However, I don't think America came out much better than a caricature. I want to see this character fleshed out and perhaps in issue 2 we will see that. The art and writing was decent but it didn't really go beyond a simple idea.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Black Cat (2019) Annual #1

Nov 20, 2019

As a heist story, this book is fairly interesting and has a layer of complexity that I enjoyed.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Black Science #42

Aug 28, 2019

We always see the trope that one decision can change the course of your life and Remender does a masterful job putting out that theme in comic book form.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Black Science #43

Sep 27, 2019

There is quite a lot to unpack in this story but the creative team has created such an intelligent story. Black Science has been a nice ride throughout its six years and am sad to see it end. 4.5 out of 5 stars for me.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Bleed Them Dry #1

Jun 26, 2020

This is a good first issue of a new series. It introduces the characters well and brings you into the plot and setting very quickly. This issue has convinced me to check out issue two but I am not committed to the series as a whole. Hopefully this secret that was advertised in the solicitation will become more prevalent.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Buffy the Vampire Slayer (2019): Every Generation #1

Jun 6, 2020

You can purchase this issue via comiXology.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Buffy the Vampire Slayer: Willow (2020) #1

Jul 10, 2020

I really enjoyed the book. I'm not really familiar with the comic book universe but I remember Alyson Hannigan's portrayal of the character well and enjoyed the coming-of-age story. I enjoy the subtlety in the art, the writing, and the intellectual approach to the story. I'm kind of on board to read the entire first arc and will be returning to the series for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Cable (2020) #1

Mar 12, 2020

Cable is fearless and I think every brave leader needs a little bit of fear to make him cautious. I hope to see him fail so he can overcome the obstacle and learn the important lesson.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Canto #5

Oct 1, 2019

This little guy gives us hope to the heartless! Immediately as a reader I want to root for him despite being a fictional character.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Canto #6

Nov 26, 2019

The point of the story is not the final goal but the journey to get there. It doesn't matter if Canto succeeded at the Emerald Tower or not. Simply the act of trying his best pushed his movement forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Catalyst Prime: Seven Days #1

Oct 2, 2019

Noble was written so well that in one short book, I wanted to root for him and ultimately felt terrible when he sacrificed himself. The art was so well drawn that I can feel the sadness in everyone's eyes.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Catalyst Prime: Seven Days #3

Dec 15, 2019

This issue was able to explore thought processes of the characters rather than erratic emotions they had during the moment of disaster.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Catalyst Prime: Seven Days #7

Jun 25, 2020

The story was good, I enjoyed the art and the aesthetic of each and every hero. I just wanted a little longer epilogue. The series as a whole is a good jumping on point to see this rather young superhero universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Contagion #2

Oct 13, 2019

It was a comfortable read that tells a good story and showed great characterization of each hero presented.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Contagion #5

Nov 3, 2019

I thought the artwork quality fell a little behind from previous issues, many story elements weren't resolved, and the conclusion felt lackin

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Critical Role: Vox Machina: Origins II #6

Jun 2, 2020

The art was exquisite in this arc. I liked the use of colors. In one scene, Grog and some of his companions are riding through the woods and we get a huge splash of green. When he has to fight Drath's influence, the colors tint to red.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Deadpool (2019) #1

Nov 27, 2019

The biggest issue with this story is that Deadpool doesn't seem very witty. There were some quirky moments involving Gwenpool and a scene involving ice cream but the dialogue simply wasn't engaging.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Die #6

Aug 14, 2019

The strength of the story, the tension between strong characters, and a captivating art style compels me to add this to my reading list.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Die #8

Oct 3, 2019

I was happy to finally see Matt get some spotlight. Seeing him talk about his family, approach other characters, and really see his struggle with his abilities was something I have been anticipating for a while and it was delivered well.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Die #9

Nov 10, 2019

Die has continually impressed me. It is a book that tells a good story, has flawed characters, and most importantly gives me something to think about.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Die #11

Jun 24, 2020

You can purchase this issue via comiXology

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Die #12

Jul 24, 2020

Angria is on the verge of war and our heroes just want to return home. Will our heroes be able to sort out their differences and leave Die?

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Doctor Who: The Thirteenth Doctor #1

Dec 30, 2019

I think the theme of Doctor Who has often been identity. Many of the companions learn more about themselves as they experience new things with the Doctor.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.7
Dragonsblood #4

Aug 7, 2019

What I wanted was a story of comradery between Queen Freya and Siggy to overcome both the villain and Sigurd's inner demon. What I received was a story about how two god-like government figures who were using people like Sigurd as pawns in their war games.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Dryad #2

Jun 13, 2020

I really like the idea of this book and I think this title is very promising. However, I just wanted more family interconnectivity that this book did not have. Now that the technology is finally introduced, hopefully to see the family have more dialogue. I want to see tension between the kids and the parents while dealing with this odd "demon" threat. I think the foundation is there and I am enthused to find out how it is executed in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Ducktales: Faires and Scares #1

Dec 31, 2019

Considering that the target demographic isn't for 26 year old me but more likely for my two year old daughter, the story is quite well written. The narrative arc has a rise and fall of tension and wraps up nicely for someone with a kid's attention span.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Dungeons & Dragons: A Darkened Wish #3

Oct 8, 2019

If you are a fan of the lore of Forgotten Realms and D&D, this is a must pick up. And if you are not familiar with the world, I think this is a good story regardless and worth your attention.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Dungeons & Dragons: Infernal Tides #1

Dec 13, 2019

I love the ideas but it does feel like they are just pushing their new module Descent into Avernus rather than creating a good story.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Empyre: Captain America #1

Jul 30, 2020

Captain America recruits new Howling Commandos and prepares for a fight against the Cotati! Our red, white, and blue hero is certain to lead his men into a riveting fight in these Marvel Crossover event!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Excellence #7

Jun 16, 2020

I think this is a great series that really makes you love that primary character. I really want him to succeed and I want to learn more about the world that is built here.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Folklords #2

Dec 20, 2019

There is a lot of subtlety here that you will only get by paying close attention. The flashback with archer's family is one such moment. While Archer's interpretation is that his parents grew old and they loved him; but it is far from the truth.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Future Fight Firsts: Crescent & Io #1

Nov 13, 2019

I really like what they are doing with Agents of Atlas but I think this is the character I am least supportive of. The art was good and it is needed to get a complete story. My suggestion is to pick this up if you are trying to get the full Agents of Atlas experience but pass if you aren't following the main title.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.7
Future Fight Firsts: White Fox #1

Oct 12, 2019

We haven't seen many Asian superheroes and saw this as a chance to really do something new. Unfortunately, this story was cookie cutter and gave us a story we have all seen before.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Future Fight Firsts: Luna Snow #1

Oct 27, 2019

Luna doesn't seem to have those struggles at all and her main setback seems to be a healthy amount of doubt. What ended up bothering me is that Luna Snow seems too perfect

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Ghost Rider (2019) #1

Oct 3, 2019

It is an interesting idea and the theme here is that Johnny Blaze is trying to keep his power and will go to full lengths to assert his authority. In other words; power corrupts.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Giant-Size X-Men (2020): Magneto #1

Jul 22, 2020

You can purchase this issue via comiXology

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Hellions (2020) #2

Jul 27, 2020

This isn't the strongest series to come up with the X-Men revamp but the themes are rather engaging. I love the darker tone that is coming out of this and X-Force and I enjoy most of the characters that are being featured in this series. At the very least, I will be picking up the next issue to see if they can continue the momentum. My fear is that the middle issues are going to be much of the same thing and not bring anything new to the table.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Hidden Society #1

Mar 4, 2020

This book is difficult to talk about because without the plot hook, I have no idea what the theme or message is. And I want to know so bad because the cast of characters seems to be fairly dynamic and unique.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Jim Henson's The Dark Crystal: Age of Resistance #1

Sep 28, 2019

The characterization of both our protagonists are spectacular. I can see their dynamic personalities and what I can expect from them right from the first issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Jim Henson's The Dark Crystal: Age of Resistance #2

Nov 5, 2019

The book had such a good first issue that I found myself disappointed with the quality of this one. This series is 12 issues long and I hope that they aren't trying to stretch a 6 issue story into 12 issues. Most mini series have a tendency to be fast paced and have too much information and it is interesting to see this book have the opposite problem. I want this series to do well because I enjoyed the Netflix prequel but I am losing faith after this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Jim Henson's The Dark Crystal: Age of Resistance #4

Dec 24, 2019

I really like the world that the series has created. It is fairly unique and explores an old concept in a new way.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Jim Henson's The Dark Crystal: Age of Resistance #8

Jun 10, 2020

Sometimes writing in an established world with established characters is very difficult. On top of that, Hup gets his development in the Netflix series. This arc is simply Act One but we don't get an Act Two where Hup is the main character until the show. However, if you look past that to some of the other characters; you will find deep character development and a rich lore.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
John Constantine: Hellblazer #1

Nov 27, 2019

I applaud the fact that the team kept the story high tension throughout the whole issue. All I needed was creepy incidental music to really set the mood.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Join the Future #3

Jul 8, 2020

The book is well drawn and I appreciate the attention to detail. I enjoyed the shading on the clothes and I feel like you can see every single fold and wrinkle. This attention to details adds a huge amount of depth to the story and complements the powerful dialogue. I applaud the creative team on this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
King Thor #2

Oct 27, 2019

The book is not a new concept and doesn't tell a new story. I think Thor fans will enjoy this book but for a new reader; I would point them somewhere else.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Marauders #1

Oct 28, 2019

Often in the stories I have read, I have associated Shadowcat as a minor character and a romantic interest to Colossus. Now I see her as the protagonist leader she was meant to be.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Marked (2019) #3

Dec 28, 2019

Liza is an incredible antagonist and the change in her characterization is well written and believable. The series didn't sell me until we saw Liza becoming darker and darker as a character.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Marvel 2099 (2019): Punisher #1

Nov 29, 2019

The story was not seamless, but it gave everything it needed to in a good way. The art compliments the tone of the writing and had great detailed backgrounds that added to the story. Great work here from the creative team.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Marvel 2099 (2019): Conan #1

Nov 29, 2019

The script was well designed and it jumped from present day storyline to flashback to create depth in the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Marvel 2099 (2019): Alpha #1

Nov 24, 2019

I don't know if this series is going to be any good yet but I am optimistic. We are seeing a foundation with a wide range of characters and themes for the creative team to explore. I am excited to see what they do and I hope and crave for a good story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Marvel Action: Captain Marvel #5

May 31, 2020

I love the quirkiness between both of the protagonists in the story. The creative team took the time to really develop some of these characters and ideas. It really shows a care for the work that they are doing.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Marvel's Spider-Man: The Black Cat Strikes #1

Jan 20, 2020

There is a lot of sexual tension between him and cat and a bit of guilt in his current relationship with Mary Jane Watson. Through the dialogue, we explore Spider-Man's psyche and it is such a great thing for the reader to grab on to.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Monster Planet #1

Oct 30, 2019

I think this book is going to suffer from trying to do too much in a mini-series. The cast of characters were too big and there is a lot of information missing in lore development that I doubt the writers will have time to approach.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Morbius: The Living Vampire #1

Nov 17, 2019

However despite the great idea, I think the writing is overshadowed by the art in the comic scenes. The artwork is much stronger than the story being told and often you are distracted from the dialogue because of how dynamic the art is.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.7
Mystere #5

Jan 12, 2020

Unfortunately, the big end fight just didn't have the weight of the story or felt meaningful.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Old Guard: Force Multiplied #1

Dec 22, 2019

The theme has so much potential to tell a great story but I hope it is not ignored in favor of action scenes. I like a good action book but I want those scenes to help develop a narrative and develop a theme. This is a good book and has a lot of potential but it did lack a certain finesse.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Ragnarok: The Breaking of Helheim #2

Sep 24, 2019

Ragnark seems like a great series that is deeply rooted in Norse myths and I love modern reimaginings of the old stories. It is well written, well drawn, and overall a solid issue in the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Rai (2019) #1

Nov 24, 2019

There was something interesting about watching a robot kid talking to a human bartender while the cyborg Rai is fighting the Anarcho-Baron Clan.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Rat Queens (2017) #17

Aug 2, 2019

There is a lesson here about how people should treat one another that is crucial to understanding both Gary and Maddie as characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Reaver #8

Jun 4, 2020

Reaper struggls with having a huge cast of characters and needing to establish them. The ideas in the series are great but it needs time to develop each protagonist. It looks like they are taking the time now to work on each character.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Reaver #10

Aug 5, 2020

I really enjoy this grimdark fantasy. There is something amazing about the depth of the characters that we didn't get to explore in the first arc. Essen Breaker is having so much doubt about his actions that creates engaging character development. I want to root for this guy even though he was a bad man who did a lot of bad things.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Robyn Hood: Justice #1

Jul 31, 2020

You can purchase this issue via comiXology

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Robyn Hood: Vigilante #2

Dec 13, 2019

While I disagree with the direction they took our protagonist they told the story with expertise. The way they write the inner monologue with Robyn is done well.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.5
Rogue Planet #1

May 31, 2020

I like the look of the book and I enjoy the art style. However, the prologue and the crew didn't grip me as it should have. The art was riveting and I think that saves the book as a whole. I understand that it is difficult to get a story out when you have a page limit.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Shades of Magic: The Rebel Army #2

Dec 26, 2019

I liked the theme of the Prince who is more a soldier then a leader and that fact makes him a better leader. Somehow being down to earth and talking to people seems to make him more understanding.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Spider-Verse (2019) #1

Oct 5, 2019

It is beautifully drawn and colored and is well executed with what the writer intended to do. If you liked the movie or previous comics with this topic, then this is a must pick up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Suicide Squad (2019) #1

Dec 18, 2019

Take this new character, Osita. She is a terrorist and even if I can agree with some of her ideas, I can't agree with her actions.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Tartarus #1

Feb 18, 2020

It was a nice touch to actual history and the creative team understands how different people approach this topic. I look forward to exploring the theme a bit more through the creative teams interpretation.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
The After Realm Quarterly #2

Jun 21, 2020

There are really good story ideas here that I think pay off in future issues. I'm not 100% on board with the art of the story. It is good but ultimately not my cup of tea. This issue has a huge accomplishment for Oona with the defeat of Loki but I think the best of the story is yet to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Titans: Burning Rage #3

Oct 16, 2019

Sometimes writers forget about their supporting cast and forget to let them shine in the stories they are featured in. They become stock characters with no growth when they are set up to be three dimensional and Beast Boy is no exception. To see Beast Boy getting protagonist treatment was a refreshing change of pace.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Tommy Gun Wizards #2

Sep 26, 2019

The premise of magic, 1930s crime in Chicago, and a compelling protagonist is all I didn't know I ever wanted out of my urban fantasy.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Tony Stark: Iron Man #6

Sep 20, 2019

During the first read, I was on the figurative edge of my seat through the encounter with Ultron Pym. I love the idea of Ultron Pym trying to find love and the conversation about humanity and what it means to be human.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Triage #2

Oct 14, 2019

Once the story got to a point where Marco needed medical attention did I feel the issue really began to come to life. Tension became more prevalent, Evie's uncertainty begins to show, and Tabitha begins to shine.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Triage #3

Nov 19, 2019

This is a stressful situation that Phillip Sevy has set up and through these events we see our main characters act very human and make mistakes. What a critical moment where we increase the tension between characters to add another layer to the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Triage #5

Jan 27, 2020

In storytelling, I like to think of macro ideas like themes and plot that are supported by micro moments. This was a beautiful example of a micro moment that shows characterization of a character and supports the overarching theme. This is great attention to detail and shows Phillip Sevy's passion for the project.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Unbound (2019) #1

Oct 25, 2019

While I was disappointed with the initial read through of the story, that doesn't change the fact that it is actually a well crafted book.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.7
X-Factor (2020) #1

Jul 31, 2020

X-Factor brings back an old X-men title and gives in a crime investigation flair! Check out Northstar, Polaris, Prodigy, Prestige, Daken, and Eyeboy solve mutants who have been killed.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
X-Force (2019) #1

Nov 13, 2019

What this book establishes is that a threat is real and we see the death of many mutants on the island.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
X-Force (2019) #4

Dec 23, 2019

I really like the premise of the brains and the brawns. It is a trope that is often used in narrative fiction but this comic executes it well.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
X-Men (2019) #1

Oct 18, 2019

Even though I was put off by the art style that contradicts the tone of the writing; the story was still great and worth a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Year of the Villain: Harley Quinn #1

Dec 12, 2019

In this issue, we see her strength and intelligence in solving this simple crime by incorporating a very important idea. Pay attention to the small stuff.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Year of the Villain: Lex Luthor #1

Sep 19, 2019

Unless you are trying to read the complete the Villain of the Year crossover event, I think this is a pass.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Year of the Villain: Black Adam #1

Oct 23, 2019

Black Adam is often viewed as the anti-hero and even a straight up villain at times. However, he is the more relatable character in this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

August

July

More