Black Cat Annual #1 View Preview
Prev Series Next

Black Cat Annual #1

Writer: Jed MacKay Artist: Joey Vazquez, Natacha Bustos, Juan Gedeon Publisher: Marvel Comics Release Date: November 13, 2019 Cover Price: $4.99 Critic Reviews: 10 User Reviews: 16
8.5Critic Rating
8.3User Rating

+ Pull List

• You are cordially invited to the wedding of Black Cat and Spider-Man!
•  In lieu of gifts, please turn off all your security systems, laser grids and counterweight giant stone traps.
•  All this AND a bonus story?!
Rated T

  • 10
    Comic Crusaders - Johnny "The Machine" Hughes Nov 15, 2019

    The Black Cat series is showing how strong a character Felicia is, in both attitude, competence and lifestyle. Her regular book is a fun read from the get go. I am at a loss as to how Marvel can produce such an enjoyable book and yet fail so miserably with Black Widow. To be honest, that's Marvel's conundrum to solve. For me, Black Cat is one of the books that I look forward to most every month. Read Full Review

  • 10
    You Don't Read Comics - Russ Bickerstaff Nov 13, 2019

    The story in Black Cats first annual serves as the prequel carefully orchestrated serial that MacKay and Dowling are working on in the monthly series. Marvels work with Felicia Hardy has been smooth and reliably enjoyable for the first half of her first year with her own title. Its been a great launch for Felicia. The Annual feels like a celebration of the success of the series thus far. Complete with a satisfying guest appearance by the character who ushered her into the Marvel Universe back in 1979. After years of supporting appearances, Felicia is finally ready to move comfortably into her own title. The poise and polish of this annual make that perfectly clear.  Read Full Review

  • 9.2
    The Super Powered Fancast - Deron Generally Nov 13, 2019

    All of the artist bring some great visuals throughout the issue and each sequence has some great expressive moments from the characters as well as awesome action beats. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Newsarama - David Pepose Nov 18, 2019

    When you start with a Maggia wedding ceremony that involves death robots and ritual murder, the tone is elevated enough that we're not necessarily hung up on real-world rules and stakes. But there's an infectious enthusiasm to both the storytelling and the artwork in Black Cat Annual #1 that makes this a supremely well-done annual that will easily steal your heart. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Monkeys Fighting Robots - Brandon Mudd Nov 14, 2019

    An old-school good-time comic book that fits Stan Lee's belief that every comic book is someone's first. A great book to use an entry point into the Spider-Man universe and the Marvel Universe in general. Read Full Review

  • 8.5
    Comic Book Revolution - Kevin Lainez Nov 15, 2019

    From beginning to end, Black Cat Annual #1 is just pure fun. Jed MacKay delivered a comic book that's a showcase to the magical chemistry Black Cat and Spider-Man share. If your a fan of Black Cat, Spider-Man or both this is a comic I recommend checking out. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    ComicBook.com - Charlie Ridgely Nov 13, 2019

    This Black Cat run continues to surprise. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Major Spoilers - Christopher Rondeau Nov 20, 2019

    As a heist story, this book is fairly interesting and has a layer of complexity that I enjoyed. Read Full Review

  • 7.6
    Weird Science Marvel Comics - Dispatchdcu Nov 13, 2019

    FINAL THOUGHTSBlack Cat Annual #1 is a treat for fans of Black Cat and Spider-Man alike. It handles the pitfalls many annuals face of multiple artists well, with Joey Vazquezs spectacular art leading the way. Jed MacKay weaves an interesting three-pronged heist tale, even though some of the dialogue and action were a little extended. Theres a neat tie-in to the main Black Cat series at the end also, so if youre enjoying that, definitely give this a shot. Read Full Review

  • 6.0
    Comics: The Gathering - Harlan Ivester Nov 13, 2019

    Black Cat Annual #1 is a lot of fun. It’s not non-stop, but if you’re like me and secretly favor Feleter over PJ, you’ll definitely enjoy this enough to be happy with the price. The pencils and inks range from good to great, and the colors are mostly solid. If this wedding piqued your interest, you won’t regret checking it out. Read Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More