Harlan Ivester's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics: The Gathering Reviews: 55
7.1Avg. Review Rating

7.0
Amazing Spider-Man (2015) #796

Feb 21, 2018

All in all, this was a perfectly decent issue. It stumbles somewhat in its rush to move the plot along in preparation for the arrival of the Red Goblin, but does a fine job in entertaining us in the meantime. The art is solid but never all that eye catching. If you’re interested in Go Down Swinging but have been uneasy about Slott’s run in general, I would say that you’re fine on holding off on this until the next issue. You’ll get along just fine and won’t miss anything too important. Except maybe PETER AND MJ.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Amazing Spider-Man (2015) #797

Mar 7, 2018

Overall, I do think this is a better issue than the last several have been. Norman Osborn's presence is just very entertaining in way that makes you want to turn your head away but keep your eyes on him, and the art team goes the extra mile in making you want to punch him in the face. If the concept of the Red Goblin has piqued your interest at all, I would say give this a shot.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Amazing Spider-Man (2015) #798

Apr 4, 2018

Nitpicks aside, this issue does a pretty good job formally introducing the Red Goblin. Now that the anticipation phase is over, the next one will hopefully have more of him being supreme psychotic evil in his new get up. The art team honor their end of the deal by making him as scary as he can be just by standing. #798 is thoroughly entertaining in both narrative and visuals, so if you’re even a little curious about Go Down Swinging, I’m going to recommend you pick this up. You never know. Red Goblin’s first appearance might be worth a lot someday, right?

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Amazing Spider-Man (2015) Annual #42

Feb 14, 2018

You’d think with a whopping total of 55 pages, I’d have more to say about this book. But like I said, it’s boring. It’s forgettable. If you read this, you’re not going to think about it ever again after putting it down. The conversations are trying to be smart and snarky, but fall flat. The pace is stretched out with unsatisfying pay off. If you’re thinking of picking up this book, just wait until it’s on Marvel Unlimited. Anything that happened in here, you’ll be able to understand elsewhere in one simple sentence. Don’t bother.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #2

Jul 25, 2018

Another A+. As someone who enjoyed what Dan Slott tried to do for Peter Parker, I couldn’t be happier with what Nick Spencer has brought to the table so far. It’s a great jumping on point while building on what came before. The artists of the book, while not my favorite, certainly make it their own and make each issue all the better for it. If you’re scared that the team had only caught lightning in a bottle before, worry not. This one has got to stay on your pull.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #4

Aug 22, 2018

If you’re like me and you’ve been ready for the whole split personality thing to wrap up, you’ll be disappointed if you really don’t like it that much, but I’d be willing to bet that most people will agree Spencer does enough with it to still make the story entertaining enough to justify picking this one up. The visuals can be a little wonky, but overall are pleasing to the eyes and match the tone of the issue well. Check it out if you don’t outright hate the gimmick.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) Annual #1

Sep 19, 2018

Oof. I really hope this was just a fluke, because I want to read a good Miles Morales book again. Even $3.99 would be too high a price of admission for a story that just feels so meaningless, with no convincing character interactions to make up for its narrative. It ain’t eye candy, either. It’s not god awful, but… No matter how much you like Spider-Man’s black suit, or the symbiote, or annuals or whatever, you likely won’t be happy with this book. Skip it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Amazing Spider-Man: Renew Your Vows (2016) #13

Dec 31, 2017

All things considered, I would say Renew Your Vows’ new team is off to a great start. This issue didn’t blow me out of the water like previous entries did, but solid banter and a consistent pace throughout joined by some really enjoyable art made this a book that greatly soothed my worries for the title’s future. As I said, I wasn’t sure what to make of the creative team before reading this. Part of me wanted Renew Your Vows to end with Ryan Stegman’s time writing the book rather than see it take a significant dip in quality. Fortunately, my standards for the book are still being exceeded. This is definitely an addition I can really recommend. Check it out, have a happy new year, and be safe out there!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Amazing Spider-Man: Renew Your Vows (2016) #14

Dec 31, 2017

Minor setbacks aside, this installment of the saga of the Spider-Family is a welcome one. There is much to be praised on the writing front: a pace that doesn’t let up, entertaining and memorable dialogue, and great character interactions. The art and ink may have been bogged down somewhat this time around, but it won’t be enough to hurt your general enjoyment of the book. Overall, this series is still exactly what it’s always aimed for, and that’s family fun that I’m going to recommend you check out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Amazing Spider-Man: Renew Your Vows (2016) #15

Jan 31, 2018

Well, it's not quite on par with Gerry Conway’s, but this team absolutely understands what this book needs in order to be good. As long as we keep getting things like those talks from Spider-Dad and Spider-Mom brought up by simple, never convoluted plots for our heroes saving the day, I’ll be happy to support this book. Jody, Nick, Ruth: keep it up. This is a production I can always recommend to fans of the original run.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Amazing Spider-Man: Renew Your Vows (2016) #17

Mar 21, 2018

Another solid entry in the saga of the Spider-Family. I'll always miss having Conway and Stegman behind the wheel, but I'm still happy to be getting any quality stories featuring these characters. The writing is really enjoyable, and Jody Houser clearly understands what it is that people love about Renew Your Vows and knows how to put it to use. The artists present the story in a way that matches the easy-going nature of the book well, and nail the communication that’s crucial to its success in feeling fluent and not stilted. Definitely check this out if you’ve enjoyed the series so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Amazing Spider-Man: Venom Inc.: Omega #1

Jan 17, 2018

I think it's safe to say that for me, this crossover was a dud. We didn't get answer for most of our questions, and the ones we did didn't feel well thought out. This one is all style and very little substance, which is fine, but I know will leave many fans of Eddie and Flash disappointed. If you've come this far, check out the last issue, but if you're thinking of looking at the whole story, I wouldn't bother. Go read Rick Remender's Venom instead.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Avengers (2018) #7

Sep 5, 2018

I hope the structure of the first arc of Jason Aaron’s Avengers was just suffering from some sort of editorial push. If the book keeps up like this, it will be exactly what we wanted from the start. Avengers#7 takes a giant step forward in pacing, dialogue, structure, and equally important, the art. It all meshes together so much better. If this run hasn’t been your thing so far, give it another shot.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Avengers (2018) #8

Sep 19, 2018

It’s a no from me, dawg. Not a hard one, but I just don’t think it’s worth the price of admission. Get it on sale if you’re that curious. Anyone seriously miffed by Aaron’s treatment of, say, Jennifer Walters will be happy to see that he’s at least not ignorant of the character’s usual being, but maybe he shouldn’t have waited until issue eight to say something. Some great visual performances help elevate the book, but visually it’s still not interesting enough to keep things healthy and above water. Especially if you’ve been wary of Aaron’s Avengers, hold off.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Edge of Spider-Geddon #1

Aug 15, 2018

Spider-Doom preludes have never been actual preludes. They’ve never been actually necessary to understand what’s happening when the main event kicks off. Whether or not I can recommend this book to you depends on how interested you already are in the main character or how the writing makes it entertaining regardless. Unfortunately, I can’t say that it does the latter well enough to justify adding it to your stack this week, but if you’re a fan of Hobie, I say go for it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Fantastic Four (2018) #2

Sep 12, 2018

All in all, Fantastic Four #2 is an enjoyable issue. I just can’t help but feel like we’re getting pulled around here, like Marvel definitely wants to shake us down for $3.99 (at least) as many times as possible to see the family back together at last. I think many people will be annoyed that that doesn’t really happen in this issue, but the issue still has enough to offer in family shenanigans and awe-inspiring scenery to be enjoyable. I’d say check it out, but adjust your expectations that last issue set.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Infinity Countdown #3

May 2, 2018

Infinity Countdown is a lot of fun and just what you’d hope for in a space book written by Gerry Duggan. He shows great diversity in his sense for voices, and clearly knows how to move a story along in a satisfying way. The colors can be a little lifeless, but that’s kind of the point in some cases, and they do expand to compliment the pencils to effectively demonstrate such an intense climax. Check it out if you loved the last Guardian’s run.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Infinity Countdown: Darkhawk #1

May 23, 2018

There’s a few things to consider when deciding whether or not this book is right for you. Are you a Darkhawk fan? There’s dozens of you! You should obviously pick this up. If you’re not necessarily a fan of him but are interested in Infinity Countdown, I would say maybe just wait until next issue. This one doesn’t really have too much that you won’t be able to quickly understand just by context in the next.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Invincible Iron Man (2016) #596

Feb 2, 2018

I’m holding on to my sentiment that the Search For Tony Stark will ultimately have no need to be an eight issue arc, but I also realize that I shouldn’t complain too much when I’m still enjoying what I read, to a degree. At some point (specifically the next issue), though, this needs to start moving. I can only tolerate such little progress at $3.99 a month for so long. If you’re already on board the Stark search party, you shouldn’t skip this issue. It’s got the everything that’s kept you from abandoning the book for this long. If not, you’ve probably already decided to wait until #701 when Dan Slott takes the wheel.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Invincible Iron Man (2016) #597

Feb 28, 2018

On the whole, this issue made some decent progress for the story, but only by pushing things out of the way as quickly as they were introduced. It’s nice to finally see Doom get more attention, and his parts were the high points for me. The book altogether feels a little dragged down by ideas that either weren’t fully thought out or were very obvious filler content. Treading water is never a good thing for a book to do. If you’ve been with it so far, check it out, if only for the Doom parts.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Invincible Iron Man (2016) #598

Mar 28, 2018

There’s a part of me that likes this issue because it has some actual reason to exist, and there’s another part that’s annoyed that the arc couldn’t have been like this from the start. The ideal scenario would be to maybe pick up part one and then skip all the way to this issue, part six. You can easily fill in the tiny blanks that you’ll have and not miss a thing. If you have been on board already, don’t stop now. This is what you’ve actually been waiting for. If you haven’t at all, stay far away.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Invincible Iron Man (2016) #600

May 23, 2018

If you’re interested in Iron Man, wait for the new number one, obviously. Do not buy this book. It’s a mess. It’s sloppy, it’s rushed. It barely makes any sense. It does not reward those of us who’ve been with Bendis’s Iron Man for a long time, but instead just fakes an emergency phone call, gets an Uber home, and leaves you with the bill after inviting you to dinner at the most expensive Italian restaurant around. Pass.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Marvel Rising: Ms. Marvel/Squirrel Girl #1

Aug 1, 2018

The plot kind of moves in circles, but the book represents these characters well enough to satisfy the fans. Not a must but you won't regret your purchase either? Yeah, get it on sale.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Marvel Two-In-One #2

Jan 24, 2018

With promises of much thinking in the next issue, I’m excited to see where this goes. We’ve all been missing the Fantastic Four since Marvel tried to make us forget they existed, so I’m happy to see them let off and embrace them instead in a way that still respects the series of events that led to Reed and Sue’s absence. Chip Zdarsky has shown me that he’s certainly capable of great things with only two issues, and I suspect it’s only going to get better from here on. Keep on reading this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Marvel Two-In-One #3

Feb 14, 2018

Marvel Two-in-One hasn’t blown me out of the water like Hickman’s Fantastic Four did, but baby steps are important, and all the pieces are in place. Each issue has had all the qualities of a great Fantastic Four story while remaining new and original. Zdarsky is clearly a fan who understands these characters well and is excited to be behind the wheel. Frankly, I’m excited about it, too. The first family is almost back, and I can’t wait to see how it goes down. If you’ve been missing your FF…then you’ve undoubtedly already been reading this. Keep it up. It’s worth it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
New Mutants: Dead Souls #1

Mar 14, 2018

Like I said, my knowledge when it comes to the New Mutants is just about nonexistent, so maybe I’m putting my foot in my mouth here, but I think newcomers and fans alike will have a good time jumping into Dead Souls. All around, the art lends itself really well to a solid script that makes for a good pace and threads that you want to follow, while also giving newcomers like myself a good idea of what this team is like. So veteran or not, I’ll say that this is worth checking out, especially for the sliver of diversity that it adds to the list of genres in your Marvel pull.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Peter Parker: The Spectacular Spider-Man #301

Mar 14, 2018

This arc is off to a good start with threads that are just weird and intriguing enough to keep me going, and as a long time fan of the wall-crawler, this is pretty fun to see first hand as well. If you've been off the radar like me, check this one out. Just be prepared to chug through some past/future tense mix ups.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Peter Parker: The Spectacular Spider-Man #302

Mar 28, 2018

I’m glad that I gave this book another chance. Chip Zdarsky knows what he’s doing with this story and has shown great diversity in his strength. Between this and Marvel Two-in-One, he’s quickly becoming one of my favorite current writers at Marvel. It helps that he has such a talented team of artists to realize the script. If you haven’t already checked out this series, go back and pick up the last issue and get caught up with this one, too. It feels good to enjoy a Spider-Man book like this again.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Peter Parker: The Spectacular Spider-Man #303

Apr 25, 2018

Amazing Fantasy has shaped up to be a fun couple issues, but I don’t think the arc has brought enough to the table to be truly memorable. Zdarksy does land solid dialogue throughout, but I wish there had been a little more of it. The artists exceed in highlighting danger and dread in a given situation, but the rest of it doesn’t exactly wow me. Pick the issue up if you’ve liked the story so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Peter Parker: The Spectacular Spider-Man #304

May 9, 2018

So far, I like the set up for this arc more than I did the last one. It’s got just enough twists and turns that aren’t just there for shock value and they’re satisfying pay offs for loose threads left over from Amazing Fantasy. I look forward to seeing what happens with this so strangely lucky but tortured Peter. Having Adam Kubert on art is definitely a plus, but I hope the visuals start to match the tone of the dialogue better. Definitely follow up on the series if you enjoyed Amazing Fantasy, because this is surely it’s second part and builds off of it well.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Spider-Gwen (2015) #28

Jan 31, 2018

By far, issue #28 of Radioactive Spider-Gwen is the best we’ve gotten in a while. That’s not to say it’s been bad, but this issue did some really great things for our most important characters, leaving me fully pleased and eagerly awaiting the next. Yeah, you could still invite your friends over to play the Spider-Gwen drinking game (take a shot everytime somebody says, “Heh.”), but these are some of the best character moments the series has ever given us accompanied by sublime visuals. Definitely check this one out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Spider-Gwen (2015) #29

Mar 1, 2018

In case you couldn't tell, I am extremely satisfied with Spider-Gwen right now. The entire team is just so on top of their game, firing on all cylinders. The best way I can describe it is that this issue feels like the scene in the Avengers when the Hulk gets angry, and then we get the circle shot. Not in tone, mind you, but in that everything clicks into place in order to deliver the most satisfying moments in the series thus far. No matter where you stand as a reader, I am absolutely, one hundred percent going to recommend that you pick this up.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Spider-Gwen (2015) #30

Mar 20, 2018

So Spider-Gwen #30 is a bit of a mixed bag for me. What progress that story makes is fine on its own, but when we've all been looking forward to the Kingpin showdown for so long, we're bound to feel a little sour when it's postponed. At least until we get more answers, I think most will agree that this arc should have waited until after, unless it does somehow come full circle and wraps into the Kingpin's schemes, in which case, uh".why? If you've been up to date on Spider-Gwen, this is still worth your time. Just be prepared to deal with some other things before you get what you want.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Spider-Gwen (2015) #34

Jul 18, 2018

This is definitely the kind of series that's going to warrant a reread in order to appreciate everything. If you haven't been with it so far, an omnibus will be worth the price. As Jason said, this book isn't perfect, but it's honest.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Spider-Man (2016) #236

Jan 3, 2018

At the end of the day, I’m pleased to feel like something actually happened when I read this book, even if the execution left a little to be desired. If you’re looking thinking of seeing what Miles is up to these days, I can recommend you give this a shot, but just barely. Brian Michael Bendis leaving the book is something that I think will be good for everyone involved, so I’m looking forward to seeing what happens with Miles afterwards.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Spider-Man (2016) #237

Feb 7, 2018

Sinister Six Reborn is a story that’s been giving me mixed feelings. It is so far a solid, entertaining story that feels fairly unoriginal and fundamentally unnecessary. If you’re someone that’s never read a book starring Miles, this would be a fine choice to start with, but you’d be much better off reading his beginnings anyway. If you’ve been keeping up, this does progress things in a suitable and sufficiently satisfying way. It’s worth reading but only if you’ve been dedicated to this volume all together.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Spider-Man (2016) #238

Mar 7, 2018

I think I’m going to take a break from this book. I simply can’t imagine anything being done in the remaining two issues that will make this boring and costly endeavor worth the trouble. Miles Morales is a character I genuinely like, but it is way past time for him to have a new writer. Until that issue rolls in, I’ll get my fix from Champions, which is also getting a new writer. I’m going to recommend that everyone skip on this book. It didn’t have enough redeeming qualities to make it enjoyable now, and the future doesn’t look good enough to invest in. Pass.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Spider-Man (2016) Annual #1

Aug 8, 2018

I don’t think anyone is going to remember this story once a few months have passed. When something as basic as your setting raises this many questions, you’ve got a problem. It’s not making it any easier to rewrite an already well-done origin for a character. I mean, Miles’s origin as a super hero was the only really good thing about him (please don’t shoot me). Why change it when you could actually be finally taking the character in a new direction? Probably because we have to wait for the movie to come off so we can ride off that sweet, sweet synergy. I wouldn’t bother with this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Mighty Thor (2015) #703

Jan 17, 2018

I couldn’t be more excited for the next issue of the Mighty Thor. The team behind this title has been consistently on top of their game this whole time, and I’m one hundred percent positive that it will go down as one of the character’s greatest runs. I honestly loved every single panel. Once again, this kind of quality is entirely deserving of your time and money. Go buy it, and wait anxiously for the next issue like me.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Mighty Thor (2015) #704

Feb 21, 2018

Marvel’s announcement of All-New All-Different Legacy Now 3000: The Revenge initially had me rolling my eyes, but Jason Aaron taking over Avengers was the saving grace for me, and this book is my proof that I have every reason to expect great things from it. I only recently discovered his Thor run, but Aaron has quickly become one of my favorite writers in the industry. Put him with A+ artists that always go the extra mile, and you’ve got a book that I am simply never going to shut up about. This is something that I will always, always recommend.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Mighty Thor (2015): At The Gates Of Valhalla #1

May 16, 2018

If you wanted to read about Jane Foster at the gates of Valhalla, I’d read Mighty Thor #706 instead. That’s not to say that I didn’t like this issue because it’s subtitle wasn’t literal enough for me. It’s because I feel that that issue had more weight to it. The art is enjoyable throughout, but I found myself wondering what exactly the point of this one shot was since it doesn’t say good bye to Jane or “hey again” to Odinson in any meaningful way. It’s a no from me, dawg.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Venom (2016) #160

Jan 10, 2018

As far as crossovers go, this is one of the more enjoyable ones I’ve read in a while, but I’m not going to say it’s a must read. The fast pace gives everyone a moment to shine through art that fits the characters well. It doesn’t look like these events will matter to Eddie Brock or Peter Parker once the omega issue has come and gone, but if you just can’t stand Flash Thompson being sidelined so unfairly, then you can give this a shot.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Venom (2016) #161

Feb 7, 2018

Venom #161 shows that Mike Costa is capable of stories more engaging than what he’s given us previously. Despite out right ignoring years of character development for Venom, I would say that his run on the character so far has been decent, but I believe he holds potential for more memorable stories like what we got today. Since this is a one-off I can recommend any fan of Venom, or Spider-Woman, to check this out, even if you haven’t been keeping up with the title to this point. It’s deeper than you’d expect and so visually pleasing.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Venom (2018) #1

May 9, 2018

Go buy Venom #1. I don't care if you like Venom or not. Doesn't matter if you've read his stories before. Doesn't matter if you don't read Marvel or you just don't read comics. This is a book that knows exactly what it wants to be and isn't going to hold back.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Venom (2018) #4

Jul 25, 2018

Since I haven’t written about it in a while, I feel comfortable saying this again: this is going to be the definitive Venom run. It’s got so much going for it everywhere you look, and it always leaves you wanting more in the best way. It’s objectively one of the most important books to the character in all his thirty years. I can’t wait to see where it goes from here. Go buy it. #GodIsComing

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Venom (2018) #5

Aug 22, 2018

Needless to say, Venom #5 is pretty important. If the cover didn’t already convince you, I hope you’ll take my advice when I say that this book is worth every penny and every second of your time. It’s clearly a big moment for the Venom mythos, and one that makes me so glad to see in the November solicits that Donny Cates is continuing his work in the Venom corner. His run is one of Marvel’s best books on the shelves – top three for sure (and one of the other two is another Cates book.) Great progression for a character that’s been in a rut for so long, brought to life by an art team that always seals the deal; Venom #5 has absolutely got to be in your stack this week.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Venom: First Host #1

Aug 29, 2018

If there’s anyone I can easily recommend First Host to, it’s fans of Mike Costa’s Venom (there’s dozens of you!) or maybe even Michelinie’s. It’s fair to suspect that Costa might have been cut short on his time with the character, so if you wanted him to see it through, this may be your last chance. Barely enough actually happens to warrant picking up this issue instead of waiting for the next, but the writing is entertaining enough to make up for it. Mark Bagley’s Venom is an automatic approval and I don’t think many will argue with me there. All around a pretty solid start that I don’t think you’ll regret checking out.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Venom: First Host #2

Sep 5, 2018

Venom: First Host #2 isn’t exactly worth the price of admission. Yes, some important steps are made, but they can be summed up so quickly since the story is going exactly as you would have guessed so far anyway. If you buy this one, I don’t think you’ll regret it, but at the same time, I not going to go out of my way to recommend it to anyone unless they really, really enjoyed the first issue. But maybe Venom crying will make this issue a hot collector’s item.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Venomized #1

Apr 4, 2018

As you may have guessed, your enjoyment of this depends pretty heavily on how you feel about Venom. It's fun nonsense action that sets up its premise in a solid way. Clean, bright art makes it consistently fun to flip through. Check it out if you like Venom and didn't hate the Poisons. This could be the book to win you over.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Venomized #2

Apr 11, 2018

So begins the countdown for the next issue. Seven days isn't so bad, but I don't think it really makes up for the slow pace when it's only a five part story. By the time I finish issue three, we'll already be done with sixty percent of the event. It had better see some plans going in to motion and our heroes up to speed so that the book can finally feel like it's going somewhere.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Venomized #3

Apr 18, 2018

Venomized is very steadily declining. We’re already almost done with what is – need I remind you? —the third Venom event featuring the Poisons in seven months. You’d think since he pitched so many ideas in rapid succession, Bunn would have a clear idea for what it is he wants to do with them. But this appears to be the end, and I hope it truly is. The book looks good for the most part, but it’s not enough to save it from bland villains, bad pacing, uninspired dialogue, and questionable decisions at almost every turn. As the great Jeremy Jahns would say, you’re not going to remember it in T-minus one day.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Venomized #4

Apr 25, 2018

This issue of Venomized pretty muched sealed the deal for me in a few ways. I was on okay terms with the story so far, but I thought that two issues might be enough space for Bunn to pull out the big guns to wrap things up in a way that might leave me wanting more when I wanted none of it in the first place. Sadly, #4 was a step backwards in both writing and art, and there’s no way that this could possibly be salvaged in just one issue. And now that I think about it, nothing really important happens here. You could skip from #3 to #5 and you could immediately fill in the blanks. So if you have been reading Venomized, save yourself some time and dough and just skip to #5 next week. If you’ve steered clear of the event entirely so far, congratulations. You’re smarter than me.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Venomized #5

May 2, 2018

If I can speak now more about the Poison stories as a whole rather than this issue itself, I am without hesitation going to recommend that you skip all of them. If you’ve been on it so far, I can’t imagine why you’d listen to me telling you to bail now. If you’re waiting for the trades, save yourself some time and money. The Poisons stories generally fail consistently. Bland villains, no real threat, no genuine message, bad pacing – this is one that I definitely won’t be going back to.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
X-Men: Blue (2017) Annual #1

Jan 24, 2018

All in all, my problems with this book all stem from symbiotes. The abundance of them, acting out of character, or just not looking so good. The X-Men themselves are supposed to be the focus of at least this issue, and seeing things from their perspective is a good way to keep my attention until it switches back to Eddie. This is a fine set up for the crossover, so if you’re not sick of them yet or you’re an X-Men fan and have paid them no mind, there’s no harm in looking into this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
X-Men: Gold (2017) #19

Jan 3, 2018

The visuals are without a doubt the saving grace of issue 19 of X-Men Gold, but they can only do so much for such bland writing. They try to have memorable moments, whether they're of romance or mutants kicking ass, but I feel that no one will find any of them to be successful in staying in their minds after putting the book down and searching for something that will give them what they're really looking for. This isn't a bad issue, just an aggressively mediocre one. If you're looking for your X-Men fix, I would check out one of the other twenty books being released.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

September

August

More