Michael Farris Jr.'s Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Geek'd Out Reviews: 41
8.1Avg. Review Rating

10
Acts of Evil: Moon Knight Annual #1

Sep 11, 2019

Moon Knight Annual #1 is a wild ride through time that is not only fun but also presents us with a moral what-would-you-do-in-this-situation quandary that makes this the perfect one-shot issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Big Girls #1

Aug 12, 2020

Big Girls blends a dash of Attack on Titan with stories likeMan-Eaters and Eve of Extinction while being wholly its own original concept. Fans of kaiju brawls and morally complicated stories alike can look up to Big Girls and know they're in good hands … probably.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Black Stars Above #1

Nov 13, 2019

Black Stars Above is grounded in themes that provoke empathy and familiarity while also managing to scare the bejesus out of you. It's only one issue in, but it already has so much that you can skin from multiple readings.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Bowie: Stardust, Rayguns & Moonage Daydreams #1

Jan 10, 2020

Bowie: Stardust, Rayguns & Moonage Daydreams is a triumph for Bowie fans and music history lovers everywhere. People who grew up watching Bowie take on the world will wax nostalgic and learn new bits of trivia, and people who latched onto Bowie after the prime of his career will learn all of the amazing ways he crossed paths with movers and shakers of the '70s and '80s and ultimately influenced generations of musicians to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.8
Buffy the Vampire Slayer (2019): Faith #1

Feb 24, 2021

Buffy the Vampire Slayer: Faithsets up some intriguing intersections for the comic Buffyverse down the road, but a bumpy narrative might make this one a bit difficult to have wide appeal.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.1
Compass #1

Jun 16, 2021

Compass #1 is a fast-paced introduction to a globe-trotting, Islamic-inspired adventure story that is sure to thrill fans of Indiana Jones, Tomb Raider, and Uncharted with its novel approach to a narrative involving a hero in search of an ancient artifact. While it's a little scant on narrative depth, there's enough direction and historical inspiration that it's sure to immediately win some loyal fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.9
Count Crowley: Reluctant Midnight Monster Hunter #1

Oct 23, 2019

Count Crowley: Reluctant Midnight Monster Hunter might have a few bumps along the way, but the retro monster tale straight out of your VCR is a fantastic and original love-letter to classic horror that freaks and ghouls alike will enjoy.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
DCeased #1

May 1, 2019

Overall, its pretty enjoyable to watch this zombie takeover of the DC Universe. DCeased bites right into your fears and promises to be a fun seriesfor the living and the dead.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Echolands #1

Aug 25, 2021

I'll say it again: I was not prepared for Echolands, and I hope you aren't either. This book refuses to be defined in an easy-to-label way, yet, despite the risks, it has an engaging story at its heart that could flit about in any direction that our heroine takes. This ambitious book has all the makings of being an industry-defining moment in time, and we're lucky to finally be here for this decades-long project.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.6
Eve (2021) #1

May 5, 2021

Eve is an unapologetic warning about a possible future but is presented as a story full of hope and heart. While there are certainly some hitches to this first issue, our hero and her button-eyed companion make this a hero's journey worth checking out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Excellence #1

May 8, 2019

All in all, this is a book that is well-deserving of the title Excellence. In this first issue, we are introduced to the complicated familial relationship that is sure to blow up around the powder-keg that is Thomass well-thought out world building. It may be a world where people can use magic, but the obstacles they face are all-too real.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Frankenstein Undone #1

Jan 29, 2020

Frankenstein Undone is a worthy successor to the classic book full of complicated philosophical questions, heartbreak, and great art that carry the story. It's a must-have for Hellboy fans and newcomers alike.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Geiger #1

Apr 7, 2021

All in all, this first issue of Geiger is an efficient introduction to a post-apocalyptic landscape that doesn't get lost in the wasteland of other comics that run in a similar vein. The world-building sets us up for many intriguing conflicts that could turn into an explosively fun ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Ghost-Spider (2019) #1

Aug 21, 2019

Ghost-Spider #1 sets up a lot of external and internal conflict for Gwen Stacy which might not be what she's looking for, but it's exactly what we as the readers are here for. It's a fun read for all ages, especially those of you returning to school or college.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Harleen (2019) #1

Sep 25, 2019

All in all, this book is built on a familiar foundation and made Harley Quinn's backstory a lot stronger. While it easily could have been washed away into mediocrity by simply giving us more details about her backstory, eji wisely helps us get into her head and focuses on the nature and nurture side of Harleen to where we can see how she descends into her psychotic identity as Harley Quinn. It's a fascinating character study which I eagerly anticipate to continue, but don't get too close — you just might end up losing your sanity with her.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hawkeye: Freefall #1

Jan 1, 2020

Hawkeye: Freefall #1 is a worthy return to Clint Barton as Hawkeye. It's got a quiverfull of humor to spare with a dash of identity crisis undertones, a beautiful mess of a situation, and art that will delight and surprise fans. It's worth multiple reads from one issue alone, which, for fans of recent Hawkeye comics, means it hits the bullseye.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.2
Heart Attack #1

Nov 20, 2019

Heart Attack has a lot of the right elements for an engaging sci-fi story about love and overcoming oppression, but unfortunately, the ingredients leave a bland taste. It ends up feeling like a variation on X-Men that fails to capture one of the greatest strengths of the X-Men: likeable characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
I Breathed a Body #1

Jan 20, 2021

I Breathed a Body delivers a modern-day parable that is relevant to our social media-saturated culture that injects all-too-believable horror into headlines of today. Also, once you've read this through once, do yourself a favor and read the first four pages again.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Karmen #1

Mar 10, 2021

Karmen evokes the perfect mixture of child-like playfulness and bittersweet darkness la Guillermo del Toro and Image's Ice Cream Man. Fantastical artwork and complicated leads make this worth being a part of your universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
King of Nowhere #1

Mar 4, 2020

For a story that includes fish-men and bartenders with upside-down heads (or is it our heads that are upside-down?), this book is overwhelmingly human. The existential struggle is masterfully paired with the all-too-common questions of why we get caught in a vicious cycle of harming ourselves and our loved ones. Through it all, there is a slight glimmer of hope peeking through — possible redemption for Denis's inner demons and escape from Nowhere itself.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Locke & Key/Sandman: Hell & Gone #1

Apr 14, 2021

Locke & Key/Sandman: Hell and Gone #1 is every bit the amazing crossover event that you'd expect from two of comics' finest universes. Hill and Rodriguez have set up a story that perfectly blends the worlds of many beloved characters. It's the stuff that dreams are made of.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Lucky Devil #1

Aug 4, 2021

Lucky Devil #1 certainly hits with a lot of the same punches we've grown to love from Fight Club, but the best is yet to come. With his newly-acquired powers–and enemies–Stanley's journey in Lucky Devil promises to be a hell of a ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.6
M.O.M.: Mother of Madness #1

Jul 21, 2021

The Mother of Dragons has traded in her fire-breathing lizards for Madness but, unfortunately, fails to take flight. While there were brief glimpses of meaningful storytelling, M.O.M.: Mother of Madness #1 leaves the madness behind in favor of blandness.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mazebook #1

Sep 8, 2021

Mazebook #1 is a poignant exploration of the listless feelings of loss that, at the same time, sets us up for a harrowing journey in future issues. Lemire masterfully lures you into the corridors of emotional agony before stunning you with a twist that reminds you why you invested–and will continue to invest–in this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Nocterra #1

Mar 3, 2021

Nocterra goes up against a bevy of comics vying to satisfy our dystopian survival story itch. An intriguing Death Stranding-meets-The Mist-plunged-in-darkness premise, aided by empathetic characters on an epic quest, makes this comic a bright spot on the pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ordinary Gods #1

Jul 7, 2021

Ordinary Gods #1 is an excellently-paced debut issue that blends ideas from The Wicked + The Divine and The Bourne Identity into a wholly unique adventure that is sure to be an instant fan-favorite. Our introduction to the world and the characters is near divinely-inspired, and I eagerly anticipate the following issues to see how this universe will expand and how our godlike prisoners decide the fate of humanity.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.2
Parasomnia #1

Jun 30, 2021

Parasomnia #1 feels like a good dream–only a dream that wasn't good enough that you can remember clearly. Perhaps introducing this as a “zero” instead of a “one” might have helped the hazy story this issue introduced, but I have faith the creative team can turn it around for the second issue. The pitfall there, of course, is that many readers might have already woken up and moved on with their day.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.4
Protector #1

Jan 29, 2020

Protector sets its ambitions high with its detailed world-building and equally detailed art, but ultimately, it sacrifices character development and a compelling narrative along the way.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Punk Mambo #1

Apr 24, 2019

Punk Mambo promises to be a thrilling supernatural ride through Voodoo culture with a hard-living Londoner to guide us. Fans of series like Punk's Not Dead, Hellblazer, and Sandman will find a story that stands up on its own studded leather boots.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Rangers Of The Divide #1

May 19, 2021

Overall,Rangers of the Divide provides a fun, engaging universe that should appeal to fans of stories like Avatar and Attack on Titan. There may be a few bumps on our dragon-fueled ride, but the tension introduced in this first issue makes this worth checking out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Resonant #1

Jul 17, 2019

You may have a good idea for a story, but, if your characters aren't immediately accessible, it's a hard-sell to keep reading forthcoming issues of a comic. Resonant #1 builds on a firm foundation with strong characters attached to a haunting premise about what would happen if humanity finally lost all control. I'm absolutely sold on this series after one issue and can't wait to keep reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Shadow Service #1

Aug 19, 2020

Shadow Service is a witch's brew that blends a little Jessica Jones, a dash of Charmed, a pinch of Ratatouille, and leaves us with a cauldron full of a dark, weird, and wild story that is sure to have readers awaiting to see what the creative team conjures up for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Something is Killing the Children #1

Sep 4, 2019

Something is Killing the Children #1 has all the right elements of a perfect horror story. You'd be hard-pressed to find any fault with the characters, the premise, the narrative flow, and the artwork. It's got all the right ingredients to make you scared enough to want more.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Sonata #1

Jun 12, 2019

All in all, it wasn't a bad book, but with the amount of positives, it felt like the story and the characters deserved a lot more than they were given. I'm hoping issue #2 provides a clearer divide of what makes this story unique as opposed to a story that has been rehashed a thousand times … but maybe with less beautiful skin.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.9
Star Wars: Tie Fighter #1

Apr 17, 2019

Star Wars: TIE Fighter promises to be an engaging mini-series that makes us face the fact that maybe those TIE pilots aren't so different from us. This first issue presents a lot of high-stakes drama that I can't wait to see unfold in the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Stillwater (2020) #1

Sep 16, 2020

Stillwater #1 is a gripping, mysterious start to what should be a fantastic series for horror fans. If that isn't enough to convince you to buy it, here's another thought: I don't know what you want. If you are looking for ransom, I can tell you I don't have money, but what I do have are a very particular set of skills. Skills that make me a nightmare for people like you. If you buy Stillwater now that'll be the end of it. (Buy the book; you'll get the joke when you do.)

View Issue       View Full Review
8.1
Strange Skies Over East Berlin #1

Oct 2, 2019

Strange Skies Over East Berlin is a well-crafted, genre-blending story ripped right out of the history books and given a haunting sci-fi twist. It has all the makings of historical revisionism done right — I just hope I don't have to scale over an oppressive wall to get to the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
The White Trees #1

Aug 14, 2019

White Trees is a very fantastical, and it presents a mature, new high-fantasy realm for us to dive into. While certain graphic scenes might turn some readers off, the themes of family and belonging are universally engaging.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Tommy Gun Wizards #1

Aug 28, 2019

This debut issue reminded me a lot of Abbott with historical fiction mixed with dark magic and fantastic art. Abbott ended way too soon, so I'm hopingTommy Gun Wizards goes on a lot longer than the former did. Ward, Kivel, and co. are on to something here that is as close to wizardry as it can get.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.4
Vinyl #1

Jun 23, 2021

Overall, I feel that Vinyl is trying too hard. There's a certain point where storytellers are trying to wrap a tale in so much mystery that the ultimate product is frustrating and befuddling, akin to a thrifted vinyl record that skips and fuzzes and defeats the purpose of the music.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Wellington #1

Dec 18, 2019

Wellington gave us a somewhat intriguing story with a promising start, but I found myself wanting more action by the end of the book. Hopefully, the next issue has less Wellington walking around and talking to himself and more character-driven monster hunts. I know this team is capable; I just didn't see it here in the debut issue.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More