Michael Farris Jr.'s Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Rogues Portal Reviews: 13
8.8Avg. Review Rating

10
Acts of Evil: Moon Knight Annual #1

Sep 11, 2019

Moon Knight Annual #1 is a wild ride through time that is not only fun but also presents us with a moral what-would-you-do-in-this-situation quandary that makes this the perfect one-shot issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
DCeased #1

May 1, 2019

Overall, its pretty enjoyable to watch this zombie takeover of the DC Universe. DCeased bites right into your fears and promises to be a fun seriesfor the living and the dead.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Excellence #1

May 8, 2019

All in all, this is a book that is well-deserving of the title Excellence. In this first issue, we are introduced to the complicated familial relationship that is sure to blow up around the powder-keg that is Thomass well-thought out world building. It may be a world where people can use magic, but the obstacles they face are all-too real.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Ghost-Spider (2019) #1

Aug 21, 2019

Ghost-Spider #1 sets up a lot of external and internal conflict for Gwen Stacy which might not be what she's looking for, but it's exactly what we as the readers are here for. It's a fun read for all ages, especially those of you returning to school or college.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Harleen (2019) #1

Sep 25, 2019

All in all, this book is built on a familiar foundation and made Harley Quinn's backstory a lot stronger. While it easily could have been washed away into mediocrity by simply giving us more details about her backstory, eji wisely helps us get into her head and focuses on the nature and nurture side of Harleen to where we can see how she descends into her psychotic identity as Harley Quinn. It's a fascinating character study which I eagerly anticipate to continue, but don't get too close — you just might end up losing your sanity with her.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Punk Mambo #1

Apr 24, 2019

Punk Mambo promises to be a thrilling supernatural ride through Voodoo culture with a hard-living Londoner to guide us. Fans of series like Punk's Not Dead, Hellblazer, and Sandman will find a story that stands up on its own studded leather boots.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Resonant #1

Jul 17, 2019

You may have a good idea for a story, but, if your characters aren't immediately accessible, it's a hard-sell to keep reading forthcoming issues of a comic. Resonant #1 builds on a firm foundation with strong characters attached to a haunting premise about what would happen if humanity finally lost all control. I'm absolutely sold on this series after one issue and can't wait to keep reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Something is Killing the Children #1

Sep 4, 2019

Something is Killing the Children #1 has all the right elements of a perfect horror story. You'd be hard-pressed to find any fault with the characters, the premise, the narrative flow, and the artwork. It's got all the right ingredients to make you scared enough to want more.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Sonata #1

Jun 12, 2019

All in all, it wasn't a bad book, but with the amount of positives, it felt like the story and the characters deserved a lot more than they were given. I'm hoping issue #2 provides a clearer divide of what makes this story unique as opposed to a story that has been rehashed a thousand times … but maybe with less beautiful skin.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.9
Star Wars: Tie Fighter #1

Apr 17, 2019

Star Wars: TIE Fighter promises to be an engaging mini-series that makes us face the fact that maybe those TIE pilots aren't so different from us. This first issue presents a lot of high-stakes drama that I can't wait to see unfold in the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.1
Strange Skies Over East Berlin #1

Oct 2, 2019

Strange Skies Over East Berlin is a well-crafted, genre-blending story ripped right out of the history books and given a haunting sci-fi twist. It has all the makings of historical revisionism done right — I just hope I don't have to scale over an oppressive wall to get to the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
The White Trees #1

Aug 14, 2019

White Trees is a very fantastical, and it presents a mature, new high-fantasy realm for us to dive into. While certain graphic scenes might turn some readers off, the themes of family and belonging are universally engaging.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Tommy Gun Wizards #1

Aug 28, 2019

This debut issue reminded me a lot of Abbott with historical fiction mixed with dark magic and fantastic art. Abbott ended way too soon, so I'm hopingTommy Gun Wizards goes on a lot longer than the former did. Ward, Kivel, and co. are on to something here that is as close to wizardry as it can get.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More