Parasomnia #1

Writer: Cullen Bunn Artist: Andrea Mutti Publisher: Dark Horse Comics Release Date: June 30, 2021 Cover Price: $3.99 Critic Reviews: 10 User Reviews: 4
7.1Critic Rating
6.6User Rating

+ Pull List

From Cullen Bunn (Harrow County) and Andrea Mutti (Prometheus, Starship Down), comes a new dark fantasy tale of two worlds split between dreams and reality.

After his son disappears, a broken-down man braves a nightmarish dreamscape in order to find him-and battle the ruthless cult that seeks to rule the land of dreams as the barrier between realities starts to collapse.

o For fans of The Sixth Gun, Harrow County, and Locke & Key.

  • 9.0
    Graphic Policy - christopher scott author Jun 30, 2021

    Parasomnia #1 is an intriguing beginning that may leave many confused but also sets up a hell of a mystery and world. There's such beauty and dread in the art and it all comes together to deliver a start that has me wanting to see where it all goes from here. Read Full Review

  • 8.4
    Monkeys Fighting Robots - Justin Munday Jun 28, 2021

    Parasomnia #1 is a gorgeous and compelling opening chapter that that leaves much to the imagination, begging its readers to continue to the next issue. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    ComicBook.com - Adam Barnhardt Jun 30, 2021

    Though Parasomnia doesn't go fully there in this debut issue, there are unsettling tones throughout, largely due in part to Andrea Mutti's lineart. That, combined with a watercolor palette dominated by greys, this debut sets the tone of what to come. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    The Fandom Post - Chris Beveridge Jun 30, 2021

    I have no idea what the intent is here. It's a clear piece in that we're focusing on people looking for others and that can lead to some interesting places. I expect a crossover between worlds at some point and something within that which will help to clarify things and the intent of the journey. With the first issue, it's all about establishing some of the basics while still holding some of the cards close to the chest. Bunn drops enough hints to make you want to know more while Mutti delivers some really gorgeous pages with the designs and layouts. I'm definitely intrigued, knowing what both creators are capable of. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    BGCP - Michael Lennox Jul 2, 2021

    Bunn offers lots of clues but no answers in this issue, drawing you into this issue. I'll be interested to see how the two realities collide over the next few issues. It's a slow burn with more questions than answers which world is real and which will take over? Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    But Why Tho? - Collier "CJ" Jennings Jun 30, 2021

    Parasomnia #1 is a visually stunning dark fantasy, wearing its pulp fiction influences on its sleeve and setting up an intriguing mystery. Fans of the Solomon Kane stories or Bunn's previous work will definitely want to check this book out. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    Major Spoilers - Jonathan Cadotte Jul 3, 2021

    Parasomnia #1 is an evocative and interesting opening to the miniseries. It doesn't beat the reader over the head with its cleverness, and has a distinctive look. Some odd dialog bits and color usage, bring it down though. Read Full Review

  • 5.8
    Multiversity Comics - Ryan Fitzmartin Jul 5, 2021

    "Parasomnia" #1 is a bold effort, but ultimately comes up short on story and character. Read Full Review

  • 5.0
    AIPT - Colin Moon Jun 29, 2021

    With nothing but pure aesthetic propping it up, Parasomnia expects more of the reader's patience than it supplies actual mystery. Read Full Review

  • 4.2
    Geek'd Out - Michael Farris Jr. Jun 30, 2021

    Parasomnia #1 feels like a good dream–only a dream that wasn't good enough that you can remember clearly. Perhaps introducing this as a “zero” instead of a “one” might have helped the hazy story this issue introduced, but I have faith the creative team can turn it around for the second issue. The pitfall there, of course, is that many readers might have already woken up and moved on with their day. Read Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

July

June

More