Michael Lennox's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: BGCP Reviews: 186
8.5Avg. Review Rating

10
6 Sidekicks of Trigger Keaton #1

Jun 9, 2021

After the nuts Knives Out I have a kind of itch for all things murder mystery and can't wait for the next issue, my wife always says I spoil crime shows by spotting the murderer early blurting it out.. in fact, I think ……….did it. Great five-star first issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
6 Sidekicks of Trigger Keaton #2

Jul 13, 2021

Keaton is really terrible, taking weeks out of his diary to shit in a box and save them up for when he dies is probably the most amoral thing in the world. Whichever sidekick killed him deserves a medal.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
6 Sidekicks of Trigger Keaton #3

Aug 13, 2021

As we grow the fellowship of Sidekicks we get to see each flawed character is in their own way just as bad as Trigger. The only saving grace so far is the kick-ass fighting style of Allison, I think she should be the leader next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
6 Sidekicks of Trigger Keaton #4

Sep 14, 2021

Forrest Gump once said, “stupid is as stupid does” and we're seeing lots of stupid deeds being done by stupid people in this issue. Starks and Schweizer have created the collective noun for Sidekicks as a “Trigger of Sidekicks” and I'll take on six stuntmen if you disagree.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
6 Sidekicks of Trigger Keaton #5

Oct 13, 2021

As a penultimate issue, this issue is a refreshing mix of manic action and low-brow humour as the idiotic sidekicks take a beating from the dumber than dogshit stuntmen but as Lazlo Wells says as least it wasn't the writer's guild, they can be near macabre. Roll on to the finale when we find out who killed Trigger.. my monies are on the titular character himself.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Arkham City: The Order of the World #1

Oct 7, 2021

Anyone who says they have never struggled with their mental health is either a liar or dead. Any book which examine how media have painted those with issues shows genuine progress. These is no right answer, but asking the question is sometimes enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Ashes, Ashes #1

Jul 21, 2021

Based on the 1943 novel Ravange by Rene Barjavel, this might have looked dated or out of its time, but the story of a society without technology is as pertinent today as it was 60 years ago. Has man become so reliant that if it all stopped most of us would die? Barjavel's and Morvan seek to answer that question while wrapping an excellent comic around it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Barbarella (2021) #1

Jul 16, 2021

The style is the book is light and inspiring with violence the almost last resort for Barbarella and Taln. It's early days for the issue and it nicely skips over the more bawdy sexual side, replacing it with a wider message of love.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Basilisk #1

May 31, 2021

I can see why Basilisk #1 is the biggest pre-sale and it delivers on all cylinders. If this review doesn't have you jumping up and kicking down the door of your local comic shop for an issue I'm not sure what will. A 100% perfect issue that sets the action with minimal dialogue and stunning artwork.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Basilisk #2

Jul 6, 2021

Bunn and Scharf's shock tactics are working here. As the Chimera flex their powers in the diner we see their apparent disregard for life and their god-like devotion from the cult. Issue #3 will probably dive back towards their origin a bit more as well as showing what the outcome in Kingsly was. Do not east before reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Basilisk #3

Aug 5, 2021

Ok, I've got to grips with the powers of each member of the group, I now want to see them take on Hannah and Regan. Bunn is old hat at slowly ratcheting up the tension and this fits his style and technique well. I am now fed up with diner massacres and expect the plot to move towards a conflict between the players' next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Basilisk #4

Sep 2, 2021

After three issues rising the tension we finally get the showdown we've been looking for and Bunn and Scharf do not disappoint. Sense related powers looked unbeatable until Hannah nullified them and the stakes are rising for the next issue where they set their sites on a bigger town in retaliation.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Batman '89 (2021) #1

Aug 10, 2021

You should never rub another man's rhubarb and Burton will be spinning in his grave (he's not dead, he just sleeps in a coffin) at the thought of what this has done to his legacy. Do yourself a favour and watch the original movie and bypass this mutant halfbreed.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Batman (2016): Fear State: Alpha #1

Sep 3, 2021

As a setup issue, this issue probably needed its own setup issue to give respect to the myriad of plots, characters and McGuffins that the event will bring into play. This issue will fill casual readers with horror at the complexity in which a relatively simple, "bad guy takes over the town" story occurs.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman: Reptilian #1

Jun 23, 2021

Ennis sets the dark tones for this adults-only book early on with the confrontation with the boxer and the book ramps the tension as each panel and page unfolds, balanced with Sharp's amazing artwork.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Batman: Reptilian #2

Aug 2, 2021

This is a bloodbath with wall to wall guts. When the Joker is more caring than Batman, asking his henchmen to call him every hour to make sure they are still alive we've crossed into the shark-jumping territory. But Sharp's artwork is a triumph and I for one will be picking up the next few issues to find out who's behind this (Joker probably)

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman: Reptilian #3

Sep 7, 2021

Well, I'm too invested now in the series to blackout and it's been fun watching the antagonist tearing up the various villains and henchmen. This sociopathic Batman, Ennis has created, is far more terrifying than the pantomime “Batman Who Laughs” and takes no prisoners.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Batman: Reptilian #4

Sep 28, 2021

Do not take any drugs (legal or otherwise) before reading this comic. The effect on an induced brain could be permanent due to the extremely weird and bonkers storyline. After three dark and twisted issues, the humour is deep, dark and disturbed… just the way I like it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Beta Ray Bill (2021) #1

May 28, 2021

It's hard to be the Betamax to VHS and here we see the Beta Ray not able to match Thor. BRB was always a kind of one trick pony (ahem) but here he's the most prominent and human character. I give Johnson a solid 4 stars for a Dennis Waterman style write the theme tune, sing the theme tune!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Beta Ray Bill (2021) #2

May 28, 2021

All hail the fellowship of the sword, or gun (if you are Skurge) this is nuttier than a squirrels testicles. If 2021 is getting you down pick up this series and you'll get your groove back. This tops issue #1 so 5 stars all around.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Beta Ray Bill (2021) #3

Jun 8, 2021

Another ping-pong issue (ahem) with guns, girls and guts spilling action. Apart from the robo-boobs n butt, this is the highlight of my week. The creative team take a bow three nose bleed issues in a row. Another, almost, flawless issue

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Beta Ray Bill (2021) #4

Jul 1, 2021

I'm not backing out now, but this felt a bit like a filler to the main fight next issue. We need more madness from Bill, Skurge and a less supportive chat from Scuttlebutt. The last three pages though set the whole scene up and I can wait for the conclusion in 30 days.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Beta Ray Bill (2021) #5

Jul 29, 2021

This has been a breath of fresh air in the world of stuffy Marvel comics, normally crammed with multiple plot points and devices. A simple quest plot with a limited entourage has helped the title keep the reader's interest. The balance of humanity and humour was pitch-perfect leaving me feeling satisfied and not complaining about lost plots or nonsensical characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Black Beacon #1

Aug 10, 2021

Lindsay holds a mirror up to the current refugee crisis showing that even in a world as large as the Utopia it's first come, first serve. Perhaps the wider point is that we are all refugees in a way drifting through space looking for our own Utopia. Piriz's artwork though is a joy with hundreds of tint details catching your eye as you re-read a panel or page. Bar is the old cop character worn down by life while Niro is a young energetic explorer looking for mysteries and carrying hope it's a classic but great pairing

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Black Manta (2021) #1

Sep 10, 2021

I am not sure how some of the sloppy writing and poor artwork got through the supposed rigorous editing that DC is known for (ahem) but this looks like it was scripted and drawn very hastily. It's an OK read but I would have expected more for one of Aquaman's main villains.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Buffy the Vampire Slayer (2019): Tea Time #1

Jun 29, 2021

It's all a bit too easy and changes the tone of the writing based on each character doesn't work, especially giving Xander two stories drags the issue down. Buy this if you're a Buffy fan and need everything to keep your collection or you like the variant covers otherwise save $8 and buy two or three better comics from Boom!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Bunny Mask #1

Jun 11, 2021

We've seen versions of this story before so to keep it fresh and shocking is amazing from the team that first page sets my nerves off, my toes curl and a little bile rises in my throat. The sting in the last page flips the last seven or eight pages on their head and makes you demand the next issue. Solid 100% first issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Bunny Mask #2

Jul 16, 2021

After the outright horror of issue #1, Tobin and Mutti are slowing down to build characters and plot, while still slowly tightening the tension and horror. The Snitch's manifestations are growing stronger and Tyler is out of his depth now. Two perfect issues in a row.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Bunny Mask #3

Aug 13, 2021

Three issues in and we are still building tension and horror. The rollercoaster hasn't even reached the top yet and I have a feeling we are about to descend into screams in the next issue. The team of Tobin and Mutti have found a rich vein of new and unique material that leaves you feeling unsettled after reading it as all the best horror should.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Bunny Mask #4

Sep 22, 2021

In the finale of this issue, I leave with a headache and a need for whiskey. Was it all a dream? Who or what is Bee? Do you pay child support on a Demigod? Are humans the figments of older gods dreams and nightmares?

View Issue       View Full Review
2
Captain America (2018) Annual #1

Jun 21, 2021

I wish someone would snap their fingers and get rid of the infinity stones and the storylines. I'm writing this article squatted on the desk like Widow and I'll pop a wheelie while shouting the word loudly as I post it. 1 star

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Carnage: Black, White & Blood #1

Mar 25, 2021

The problem with one dimensional villains like Carnage is their outdated view of mental health, a human who only focusses on violence needs other characters or background to act as a counter or mirror to the impact of the character. Venom has managed to shrug off this trope but his sociopathic first born is still stuck in the 20th century.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Catwoman (2018) #30

Apr 21, 2021

Thanks to DC Comics who gave BGCP a free copy to allow us to Review Catwoman #30!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Catwoman (2018) #31

May 21, 2021

Ramand the creative team deliver another strong story for this developing title. We are left with plot hooks of future foes, unseen dangers, and a rematch in the works to bring back the majority of subscribers. I wonder if we'll have Swamp Thing and Catwoman match up to save the soul of the Poinsonless Ivy? This is a solid four stars from me.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Catwoman (2018) #32

Jun 17, 2021

For an issue about Catwoman, this actually works well, but I think we can only do it from time to time. The next issue should therefore be the grand battle we've been circling for the past few issues. V and Cagle are a formidle creative team. I've marked it down slightly as it's a very hard issue for casual readers to pick up and understand.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Catwoman (2018) #33

Jul 21, 2021

Catwoman readers are not used to seeing her lose, and losing so easily will upset the usual fanbois, who enjoy flat three-act plots. This is an opera and it ain't over till the Cat Lady sings!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Chicken Devil #1

Oct 8, 2021

It's a tour de force here with the team obviously enjoying every second of the creative process. Some teams sweat blood to get a new series but I have a feeling this was born over a bucket of wings and some hot sauce.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Children of the Atom (2021) #1

Mar 16, 2021

This first issue was good, beautifully written and if you are comfortable with the X-titles in the past few years since Moira McTaggart's House and Powers of X books this is for you! I did struggle in the middle and felt Vida could have either removed or tightened the school gym scene, but it didn't stop me from reading. The last four pages have made me add this to my subscription list!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Cold Dead War #1

Apr 29, 2021

I'd love to know if you managed to get a copy and agree with my review of Cold Dead War #1!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Cold Dead War #2

May 25, 2021

This is also a bonkers, mad-arse comic that should be stapled to Zack Snyder's head before he makes another zombie movie. For the big kid in you that loves Creepshow and Ash v Army of Dead open a beer and enjoy this. It's just a shame that it's so hard to get a UK distributor to sell these issues. In the US these are under $4 with taxes you're over 25 now. A thrill ride of an issue with four stars for writing and five for artwork, but what do you make of our review of Cold Dead War #2?

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Cold Dead War #3

Jun 18, 2021

Did I mention that this issue is chock full of zombies killing Nazis? Do you want more? Well, tough this issue does exactly what it says on the tin. What a surreal but hilarious take on the Cold War. This is Perfection.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Cold Dead War #4

Sep 8, 2021

For those that said Heavy Metal couldn't turn a short movie from the 1970s into a cohesive comic, I can say you've underestimated the zeitgeist for WWII zombies killing Nazis in ever-increasingly violent ways.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Crime Syndicate (2021) #2

Apr 9, 2021

Do not start with issue 2, get down to your local comic shop and get the few remaining copies of issue 1 to get not only the start of the invasion but the untold origin of Ultraman! If you liked BGCP's Review of Crime Syndicate #2 and tell us in the comments below!

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Crime Syndicate (2021) #3

May 6, 2021

For fans of Invincible or The Boys, this universe has no heroes but struggles to show the darkness within the characters. It's a bit by the numbers and as above a pantomime for us to boo and hiss. I'm glad it's a limited run as it could turn into another Batman who Laughs or King In Black style story. When evil wins, who cares anymore? The world needs heroes and obstacles to overcome and achieve, hopefully, DC doesn't jump the shark with this.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Crime Syndicate (2021) #4

Jun 3, 2021

Thank god we only have two issues left, this is starting to lose steam and fall into classic DC territory of flogging a dead horse (normally wearing a Batman costume.) I feel I have to stick it out to the end but it's lost its zany edge in meetings and internal dialogues.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Dark Blood #1

Jul 22, 2021

The story is fast-paced and uses well-known issues and imagery to set the scene allowing a fast plot and character development. the racism is both confusing and out of nowhere. This accurate portrayal helps underline what will be an interesting book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Darkhawk: Heart of the Hawk #1

Apr 16, 2021

This is a quick 12-minute read but worth it as it hints at things to come for both Marvel and Darkhawk. For fans of the hero, it's a must-buy, but and for others, it's a good sedge way into a character that fans love but many mainstream fans may not have heard of. If all else fails many will buy it for the stunning Lee cover that collectors will snap up and seal into CGC plastic for eternity!

View Issue       View Full Review
7
DC Horror Presents The Conjuring: The Lover #1

Jun 2, 2021

Licenced titles can become niche but this will please comic fans and movie franchise fans alike. The main story is a slow burn gradually increasing tension, while the quick second tale leaves a smile as you close the book. 3/5 stars for both stories and artwork, but what do you think?

View Issue       View Full Review
6
DC Horror Presents: Soul Plumber #1

Oct 6, 2021

It's not going to win a Pulitzer Prize for literature, but for a goofy script taking well-loved jokes and tropes and giving them a different angle kind of works well. The writers set the bar low and keep well below its own threshold. If you are looking for a laugh it might not be the worst example out there.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Death of Doctor Strange #1

Sep 24, 2021

Skottie Young's cover (see the top of review) makes a great deadpan joke about nobody dies forever in comics and the Koschei legend and a few surprises (not at all surprises) show that we're a long way from a new Sorcerer Supreme. Roll on to the next event!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Die!namite: Lives! #1

Jun 9, 2021

For die hard fans of the Dynamite characters this is a great follow up to last years crossover event. IT's a bit confusing for new readers but they can with the Ash side of the story while they get up to speed. Solid issue writing is three stars and artwork is five.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Doctor Who: Missy #1

Apr 19, 2021

Whovians will love this issue and it's a great way to showcase Missy as the main character for this 50th celebration of The Doctor's favourite enemy! For new fans, this is a great standalone series and you don't need to read hundreds of back issues to get up to speed with the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Doctor Who: Missy #2

May 13, 2021

This was a delight to read, I greedily read it in ten minutes and then slowly re-read to get the fine nuances that I missed the first time. It's turning into quite a 50th celebration for the evil Timelord (and Lady) and I can't wait for the Doctors to finally confront Missy and the Master next issue. Houser and Intranata deserve every one of the five stars for writing and artwork, but what are you still doing here? Stop reading this and get down to a comic shop to buy this!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Dune: Blood of the Sardaukar #1

Jul 28, 2021

This is a unique take on Dune, used changed perspective allowing key plot twists to be seen from another point of view from Herbert's original classic. Adding much-needed details to some of the actions of the Emperor, who fears that the Landraad will follow Leto builds texture without diluting the key story. Add this one to your shopping list if you can't wait for the Spice in October.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Dune: House Atreides #6

Apr 28, 2021

This will make a stunning Hard Cover collection when it is complete. I score my review of Dune House Atreides 6 a perfect 100%!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Dune: House Atreides #7

May 25, 2021

This is not an issue to pick up casually as you'll struggle to follow the complex interwoven plot, ask your comic shop for the back issues and enjoy this before the Dune film in September 2021. A solid 5 stars for writing and 4 for the creative team's artwork. I am a Dune geek so I am a little biased.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Dune: House Atreides #8

Jun 29, 2021

Wow…just wow! Finally, after the past few issues set up, we're finally at the point where the prequels and the original novel converge. And what a result! Anderson and Herbert's use of Idaho to start the issue is perfect, showing his rightful place in the series, finally. The creative art team are firing on all cylinders as we get closer and closer to the events that set up this year's hottest movie Dune.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Dune: House Atreides #9

Sep 9, 2021

The fast-paced action jumping from planet to planet is seamless in this issue and the reader doesn't feel overwhelmed or confused by the twisting and long plots as they slowly converge. I do not recommend picking up individual issues casually as you'll end up with a nose bleed but for those that have every issue, this is starting to build into an exciting crescendo that sets the pieces nicely for the original book. If you have missed an issue you'll need to wait for the collected editions.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Dune: House Atreides #10

Sep 20, 2021

After the last issue which saw Leto banish his mother and Shaddam poison his father this issue ramps up the pressure to deafening levels with more plots and twists than a whole series of Game of Thrones. Herbert and Anderson use the creative work of Parmanik to bring the Highliner into full focus.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Echolands #1

Oct 11, 2021

Flipping the edge of a comic to the portrait is a brave but dangerous model. Williams and Blackman cutting edge skills and use of an array of mediums, styles and images create a visual ballet for the comic reader.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Elvira Meets Vincent Price #1

Aug 9, 2021

There are a couple of things to love about this series and I don't mean Elvira's assets. The comedic timing coupled with Samu's amazing facial expressions brings the comic to life. You can hear Price and Peterson's voices coming out loud and clear in every panel and with a tonne of variant, exclusive and photo covers there's something for every fan.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Elvira Meets Vincent Price #2

Aug 31, 2021

This is as camp as a Friday the 13th Movie (ahem) but the star of the comic is and always will be Elvira. Her face is a passport to a million emotions and I for one can't wait for the Avallone Cut

View Issue       View Full Review
10
ENIAC #1

May 27, 2021

I'd love to know what you thought of my review of ENIAC #1 by Bad Idea

View Issue       View Full Review
9
ENIAC #2

Jun 11, 2021

Second issues can be tricky you want to keep up the action while pushing the plot and new characters forward. The team here have done a great job. The Bad Idea model is still being evaluated as a concept for publishers but whatever happens, this will stand on its own. Five-star writing and almost perfect art and colours.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
ENIAC #3

Jun 14, 2021

This issue is a game of cat and mouse between ENIAC and humanity. The programme is always 3 steps ahead no matter what humans can do, each time ENIAC seems to only react to threats from humans so what happened 72 hours ago? I can't wait for the final issue. A perfect score again.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
ENIAC #4

Aug 12, 2021

This has been a solid title for Bad Idea and no matter what happens to the company and its slew of titles this will stand out in 2021 as an innovative and influential mini-series. It takes a novel idea about the rise of AI, coupled with Cold War paranoia and has a few bonkers hand grenades along the way to delight readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
ET-ER #1

Oct 15, 2021

Move over Men in Black, here are the Doctors in White. A great concept, but when the biggest head scratch is why any aliens would go to America to be overcharged for healthcare which stopped my suspension of belief more than the actual concept of a universal hospital. America's healthcare is the joke of the world, and each story should finish with a ludicrous bill for needless charges.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Extraordinary (2021) #0

May 5, 2021

This extraordinarily (ahem) short preview issue (10 pages) sets up the story well with the new death accident and the first impact of getting EO powers dawning on Charlotte. It's well worth a punt at 65p on the Forbidden Planet site that is the exclusive UK distributor! The cover art alone is worth the price without Schwab's amazing script

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Fantastic Four: Life Story #1

May 24, 2021

This is a bit of a mess, a boring mess. The decade skipping is supposed to be fun, here it just seems forced. I hated this whole thing! I'd give it a miss unless you are an FF fanatic.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Frontiersman #1

Sep 29, 2021

Perhaps the revolution will not be televised but, instead will be in the many growing independent or talent owned comics and creators who still wish to use comics as a mirror to society while still writing an entertaining and fresh plot. I am not too old for this shit, it's exactly what we need to scare the big two.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Geiger #2

May 13, 2021

Thanks' to Image comics for the free preview to allow BGCP to review! What do you think of Geiger #2 and our review will you be adding it to your subs?

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Geiger #3

Jun 8, 2021

Johns is an old hand at turning out great comics and while other stories are floundering on their third issue this stepped up a gear in pace, action and emotions. Another solid issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Geiger #4

Jul 8, 2021

It's a very quick read issue, but sometimes issues that you don't have to overanalyse are the best mid-series are the best. This issue jumps the plot nicely to set up a clash with various factions and characters over the next few issues. There have been challenges of this being derivative but I think rather it's taken an old trope in a new direction.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Geiger #5

Aug 4, 2021

This issue is used as a slow burn plot device to get all the chess pieces in the right places for the finale in four weeks, but that is not a criticism. Many issues leave hanging plots but Johns and the team have created a simple but very effective universe here. The small touches like finally allowing Tariq to find a new book are perfect, but a small evil bit of me wants him to lose the book next issue to add a bit of schadenfreude for the readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Geiger #6

Sep 1, 2021

Many will criticise Geiger for being a simply told story, but it must have been hard to resist the temptation to keep adding in McGuffin's and dead-end plot points as many new books do. Johns's seasoned hands along with the rest of the Mad Ghost team have opened the door of a new Geigerverse.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Godkiller: Tomorrow's Ashes #1

Jul 9, 2021

The original team behind Godkiller are back with the much-delayed fan-favourite. I would suggest buying the graphic novel or film before you dive into this bawdy, sexy dystopian tale. It's is very NSFW so do not download it onto your office PC but get down to your local shop and get a copy of one of the hot variants.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Godzilla: Monsters & Protectors #1

Apr 19, 2021

I really liked this climate-based story with Godzilla acting as the planets immune system and humanity as the virus. For kids keen to see more environmental stories in comics this is a good read.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Godzilla: Monsters & Protectors #2

May 18, 2021

I give it a middling 2.5 for writing but a slightly stronger 3.5 for artwork. But make up your own mind with an exclusive sneak peek at the issue from our good friends at IDW below! I hope you enjoyed this review of Godzilla: Monsters and Protectors #2.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Good Luck (2021) #1

Jun 25, 2021

This is weird, weirder than old weird Willy the weird man. Turning luck, that unquantifiable difference between two same people, into a element or essence is interesting. The bigger question, if everyone else has good luck, why does Arties have to save he world with his time. Solid but a little heavy first issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Green Lantern (2021) #2

May 6, 2021

The sooner they dump Teen Lantern in crappy Saturday Morning cartoon solving mysteries with her pet ferret and Tom Selleck the better. It's better than issue one.. but you could argue that Attack of the Clones is better than the Phantom Menace and forget that beside Empire they are a long way short. So for my review of Green Lantern #2, I give the story 2 stars and the artwork 4 stars! Do you agree?

View Issue       View Full Review
3
Green Lantern (2021) #3

Jun 4, 2021

When you rely on kooky gimmicks (Teen Lantern), great artwork and covers but have a complicated Phantom Menace style half baked story you are on shaky ground. I think that this storyline is officially boring. one star only for the story and 2 for artwork (because of that cover.)

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Harbinger (2021) #1

Sep 13, 2021

Harbinger #1 is a hundred mile an hour explosive first issue that hardly stops to take a breath. With hints of Akira and X-Men, it's different enough to generate interest from fans looking for a new angle on the Super-powered genre. Make sure you get your retailer to add issue one to your pull list in October,

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Harley Quinn: The Animated Series: The Eat. Bang! Kill. Tour (2021) #1

Aug 6, 2021

This is the comic, of the cartoon, of the comic" of the cartoon and you will never please all the fans with this title. But, there's not too much happening except that for Harley and Ivy fans this is the exact type of issue they have been crying out for showing what went on after the chaotic marriage ceremony.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Harley Quinn: The Animated Series: The Eat. Bang! Kill. Tour (2021) #2

Sep 15, 2021

Harley is the Venom of the DC universe. Every writer wants to take a shot at her and every artist wants either to create a cover or draw a title for her. What that could tend to do is dilute an otherwise interesting character that has multiple versions of her floating around. For fans of the cartoon, this will delight but it does get a little annoying in print form for some reason.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
He Who Fights With Monsters #1

Sep 23, 2021

I greedily finished this comic in ten minutes and had to pace myself to re-read slowly for this review. It will be interesting to see how Nietzsche's quote embeds within the story as the Jewish community fight back against the Germans, how will they protect their humanity?

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ice Cream Man #24

May 12, 2021

Drug addiction and abuse is a growing problem! We all know or are someone struggling with alcohol, soft or hard abuse. If this comic helps to raise awareness and save one life it's done more than many to highlight and chat about it using a safe medium. I think this issue deserves a clean sweep of 5 stars out of 5!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Immortal Hulk #50

Oct 15, 2021

This will always be a decisive title and what better way to complete than to try and close all the plot points from previous issues while adding to the Banner mythos at the same time. Is it the ending we all had in our head, no, but that's why we're not writing comics and Ewing does. Immortal Hulk will be debated for a long time, and as long as people are speaking about it then that's the point.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Immortal Hulk: Time of Monsters #1

May 20, 2021

I'd need to be an idiot or blind not to score this a perfect five stars for both stories and the breath-taking artwork within.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Imogen of the Wyrding Way #1

Jun 24, 2021

Golden and Mignola's cautionary tale here sits well as a single shot issue, you do not need any prior knowledge of Baltimore or the Outerverse. The tale is clear, simply written but all the better for it. The rest of the creative team enhances the issue with clear artwork, brooding colours, and on-point lettering.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Interceptor #1

Jun 7, 2021

It's a bonkers, irreverent story that puts its tongue firmly in its cheek and bites down to draw some blood. Cates obviously had some fun writing this and it's well worth a read with the amazing artwork by Burnett. I say bring on more. Four stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Interceptor #1

Jun 15, 2021

It's a bonkers, irreverent story that puts its tongue firmly in its cheek and bites down to draw some blood. Cates obviously had some fun writing this and it's well worth a read with the amazing artwork by Burnett. I say bring on more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Interceptor #2

Jun 9, 2021

A solid second issue with some madcap action and dialogue which flips the hero and sidekick on their head. This short mini-series is shaping up well. 4 four stars again.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Interceptor #2

Jun 9, 2021

A solid second issue with some madcap action and dialogue which flips the hero and sidekick on their head. This short mini-series is shaping up well. 4 four stars again.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Jim Henson's The Storyteller: Tricksters #2

Apr 22, 2021

With each issue a complete standalonee it easy for readers to hop on and off as needed but if the standard of the past two issues continues then you should get them all. These are good as an educational tool for younger readers expanding their current fairy stories beyond the worlds of Disney and Grimm.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Jim Henson's The Storyteller: Tricksters #3

May 21, 2021

This was a fun story that made me want to know more about the adventures of Reynard, I wonder if Amal would be interested in this? The mirror of using the Storyteller in the market to mirror the con artist Fox was not lost and hopefully, parents can warn kids about outlandish sellers. Treat someone you know kids with this issue and you can thank me later. For the age group it's targeted at this is a perfect five star read.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Justice League Infinity (2021) #1

Jul 7, 2021

If you are a fan of Justice League Unlimited this is the series for you, it's bright, full of humour and is packed with loads of heroes and villains from the show. Its twist is an interesting take and it'll be interesting to see where it goes next issue

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Justice League: Last Ride #1

May 12, 2021

This is nothing new from DC, another year another Crisis..and I do not expect any surprises. It's a playbook from the Big Book of DC Plotlines! and I'm bored, bored and very bored of all of it now.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
M.O.M.: Mother of Madness #1

Jul 13, 2021

I'm not giving up on M.O.M yet but there need to be less Gwenpool style lampooning for the readers and more character and plot development. There only is three issues and based on issue 1 it needs much thicker books to get to where it needs to go.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
M.O.M.: Mother of Madness #2

Aug 31, 2021

This issue is the mother of all messes, there are two many of everything from flashbacks, narrations, fourth-wall-breaking to friends who have unlimited resources and talent to solve all of her problems. There is a story here but it needed to be stretched over maybe 10 issues and heavily controlled by someone with strong talent and the ability to shape a story cohesively. This could have empowered many women (and men) through its strong message of chaos and growth but it's so hard to read that unfortunately many will discard both the message because of the execution of it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Magic (2021) #2

May 11, 2021

My first overall thought is that I am way too old to be learning a whole universe of characters, places, skills and effects! But millions of fans can't be wrong, perhaps I should some room in my muddled head for this series! It looks like print one may be about to sell out so keep an eye out for variant covers!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Man-Eaters: The Cursed #1

Jun 23, 2021

Cain's wry and slightly nuts script is hilarious, as a Scot who only knows about camps from Horror Films, it's great to see another side of these strangely American ideals. Maude shines through the issue full of misfits and insane adults making this a great addition to the series. Solid start to this short series.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Masters of the Universe: Revelation #1

Jul 8, 2021

From watching documentaries on them, MOTU fans can be quite unforgiving, so it will be interesting to see how the response to the comic and series on Netflix. Smith's passion for the show and the original Filmation and Mattel figures is an interesting combination.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Maw (2021) #1

Sep 21, 2021

Creating a protagonist like Marion is an interesting choice. She is negative and dismissive of the support and assistance her sister gives her. It would have been easy for Doyle to create a likeable character to help the audience embrace the character. By making Marion slightly annoying she is challenging your thoughts about victims and how society sees women who do not conform to societal norms.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Mazebook #1

Sep 10, 2021

We have all experienced some form of grief so great we exclude ourselves, from a failed relationship where we hide indoors for days to the death of a pet or family member this allegorical tale might help some struggling with grief to recognise themselves within it and find a way out of their own maze.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Mighty Morphin (2020) #6

Apr 15, 2021

I would not start the issue of have not caught up as we are in the middle of multiple plot points at this stage. If all the previous are sold out buy the digital versions to give yourself a chance to get up to speed!

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Mighty Morphin (2020) #7

May 10, 2021

These comics went a little too serious with Shattered Grid a few years ago and it's nice to see a silly story making it's way back onto the franchise!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Monolith (2021) OGN

Jul 2, 2021

I can see why so many people loved this idea when the writers pitched it to various studios and it's so disappointing to her it languished for years waiting to be greenlit. Thankfully Magnetic Press and Kickstarter have now brought this to life and i need to get the next issue as soon as possible.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Monolith (2021) #2

Jul 20, 2021

I cannot wait for the full 192-page book to come out in August, every page uses minimal narration allowing the reader to experience the stunning artwork or LRNZ with limited speech or narration. The small cast intensifies the clumsy actions of Sandra and with the sun rising in the next issue she will become desperate to help David and survive the desert.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Monolith (2021) #3

Jul 28, 2021

Two perfect issues over two weeks mean I'm hoping that for that Hardback launch next week we get the final stunning issue. This issue helps the reader finally find empathy for Sandra the typical bad mother always making bad decisions, with her finally taking responsibility and resolving to help David. If I were you I'd be pushing my retailer to get a copy of both the issues and the Hardback.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Monolith (2021) #4

Aug 12, 2021

For any writers out there looking for the best in the business, your work is done and you should form a queue in front of LRNZ. This comic has come out of nowhere and blown me away, so don't wait till it's a motion picture get it now to gloat over your friends.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Moon Knight (2021) #1

Jul 22, 2021

This issue has three levels, the usual caped antics fighting random baddies, the therapeutic sessions with Dr Sterman and finally the undercurrent of greater evil emerging to oppose the Moon Knight. It's good to see mental health no longer a joke in comics and supporting Marc's recovery via his therapy may help some readers who suffer from mental conditions that impair or limit their life. Bravo for tacking this area while still keeping the silliness the comic is known for.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Not All Robots #1

Sep 1, 2021

Whether we men like it or not we have privilege via our gender and our status afforded through it. To say not all robots are hurting or killing their families takes away the horror that any robots are. The dry, pathos rich story isn't too preachy about its subtle message.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Not All Robots #2

Sep 14, 2021

Russell's toxic masculinity parable continues to highlight the issues in societies when those in charge will not resolve problems and feed of the conflict that division created whether is wealth, gender, race or any other difference the point is to blame each other not the leaders. The ludicrous robots are straight out of a 1980's 2000AD story but that makes it all the better.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Ordinary Gods #1

Jun 23, 2021

Taking Scientology and mixing with Highlander doesn't work on paper and it doesn't work in this issue. It's taking too many genres and trying to squeeze them together. I really like Higgin's other title Radiant Black but I'm not sure I'll be back for more from these very Ordinary Gods.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Out (2021) #1

Oct 7, 2021

This could be a by the numbers mix of WWII and Vampires but the script and artwork compel you from page one. For the investment of five issues, I think will be a quiet burner for 2021 that suddenly everyone wants to get hold of. AWA must already be negotiating with Netflix to turn this into a movie or series as it has wide appeal.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Parasomnia #1

Jul 2, 2021

Bunn offers lots of clues but no answers in this issue, drawing you into this issue. I'll be interested to see how the two realities collide over the next few issues. It's a slow burn with more questions than answers which world is real and which will take over?

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Possessive #1

Jul 29, 2021

It's a bizarre book with Todd haveing almost, scratch that, no redeemable characteristics. He's obsessive, egotistocal and delusional and so needy that even the spirit can't be bothered to kill him. It's dark, weird and hilarious. This now makes the ghost the main protagonist which is an interesting switch.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Possessive #2

Sep 16, 2021

I think the only time I've seen sex with a ghost before this is one of the Waylon brother's Scary Movie films and this leaves just as much of a bad taste as those. It's slightly offensive, weird and just stupid enough to have you laughing along with every page. I do hope Todd used protection for the act if there is a chance of STDs or ghost pregnancy!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Primordial #1

Sep 16, 2021

As a first issue, it starts with a couple of pages of shocking, psychedelic images before settling into a standard cold war thriller. The final ten pages pick up the table and toss it out of the room taking you on a bonkers trip through space and time.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Radiant Black #1

Jun 16, 2021

What a great start to a fresh series. we've seen down on their luck heroes, like Peter Parker before, but Costa and Higgins creates a very relatable and unique take on the reluctant hero. With edgy humour and schadenfreude at the character, it's a hit. 100% first issue

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Radiant Black #2

Jun 17, 2021

Most issues slow down in issue 2 cause readership problems as writers cram in backstory or plot threads, keeping it crisp, clear and simple adds more here than some five or ten-issue series have so far. Oh, and the answer always is more raisins.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Radiant Black #3

Jun 17, 2021

It's incredible how they use an issue where nothing really happens but you feel fulfilled at the end of the issue. This will frustrate some of the action junkies that comics attract but this works well, slowly drawing the story arc forward with real-life stupid situations and banal conversations all of which make up a large chunk of all of our lives.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Radiant Black #4

Jun 30, 2021

It's a brave creative team that changes the whole direction of their series after only four issues. I will say Higgins is now on my naughty list, that ending was not at all what I was expecting and part of me thinks they're doing the old comic book death bait and switch.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Radiant Black #5

Jun 30, 2021

Finding a new arc to the superhero genre in 2021 is hard, but Higgins has really tapped into something here. Focussing more on the underdog Nathan's tale allowed readers to bond quickly creating a strong link similar to the black hole armour he wears. To then almost kill and wipe the board clean with one issue to go in the first arc is gutsy and he's pulled it off.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Radiant Black #6

Jul 21, 2021

Trying to humanise a villain that almost killed the main character is tricky. Too far and you can alienate your audience as you encourage them to root for them. There are still questions over why Satori acted so violent against Nathan and future issues might fill in the blacks but anyway let's sit back and wait for the big showdown in Issue 7.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Radiant Black #7

Aug 28, 2021

Jumping back to a story after a break in the issues is dangerous, particularly in new titles like Radiant Black but the team is energised by new writing and artistic talents leading to the amazing news that this issue has sold out completely at the Distributor level leading to a fresh cover by Mateus Santolouco.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Radiant Black #8

Sep 22, 2021

001's backstory and character development are at the core of this issue and the few pages in Russia do seem jarring and slow compared to the rest of the issue. Thankfully it's not long before we are back in action for a shocking finale to the battle with 001. The final page and four panels set's up the next part of the story and hints at more villains and heroes joining the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Red Sonja: Black, White, Red #1

Jul 9, 2021

This is how you take a beloved hero and boil their essence down into short, engaging stories back up with stunning minimal artwork. Each quirky story needs no previous knowledge or commitment and allows new readers to sink their teeth into a character many write off as the girly Conan. The first story alone is hilarious and makes you relax while setting the tone

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Red Sonja: Black, White, Red #2

Sep 7, 2021

Another month, and another great issue with no tales used as page stuffers. This black, white and red format seems to allow the essential Red Sonja to shine through and become the full focus of the issue. Dynamite as usual has used an amazing cosplayer for the photo cosplay cover as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Red Sonja: Black, White, Red #3

Sep 28, 2021

Image and the teams they are assembling for these issues all seem to have a real passion for Sonja and are using the limited pages and scripts to great effect. Almost no image or word can be wasted in a short story and even in the slowest story Small Tales, it's still strong enough to keep going with this limited series. For both seasoned Sonja fans and new readers, these are a great starting point to her world and stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Rick and Morty: Rick's New Hat #1

May 10, 2021

I hope you enjoyed this review of Rick and Morty: Rick's New Hat #1, and thanks to Oni Press for advance review.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Roofstompers #1

Jul 5, 2021

Telling a complete and detailed story in just 20 pages is astonishing and Paknadel and MacEwan flex their muscles to show other writers and artists how to do it properly. It has more twists and turns than an out of control rollercoaster and I now want to know more about the world they created.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Save Yourself #1

Jun 14, 2021

I greedily read through this issue in about ten minutes and then had to immediately slow read again to digest all the amazing details, like the onomatopes I missed the first time. It's bright, fun and puts a smile on your face. I think this one deserves full marks.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Shadowman (2021) #3

Jun 24, 2021

Issue #3 plots can be tricky, you've captured your audience in the first few issues, do you keep up the momentum or develop the story and characters? Bunn and the team have carefully balanced this mix with an amazing third issue revealing secrets while ramping up the horror vibe. The Pallbearer character had hints of the WWE Undertaker which I'm sure were deliberate.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Shadowman (2021) #4

Jul 27, 2021

Bunn wraps up this first story arc with a drug-fueled trip (ahem) into a higher state of Loa consciousness. We learn the consequences of all our negative actions and the world of Shadowman will never be the same again.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Spider-Man: Spider's Shadow #1

May 17, 2021

I loved the What If? issues in the 1980s and 1990s.. from the ridiculous to the weird and the depressing they help kids (including big ones like me!) explore alternative outcomes to major plots and events in the Marvel Universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Spider-Man: Spider's Shadow #2

May 18, 2021

The whole creative team are firing on all cylinders in this issue as there's more blood and guts on display than an episode of Dexter! If you've not added this short four-issue series to your online or print subscription you better hurry as issues of both #1 and #2 are selling out fast. Don't be the only one not talking about this! I give it another blood-curdling five out of five, particularly for the onomatopoeia used by Joe Caramagna as the violence happens just out of shot.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Spider-Man: Spider's Shadow #3

Jun 10, 2021

Personally, I don't think I wanted this Peter redeemed after what he's done in the past few issues and a final showdown with heroes versus Shadow Spider would have been better that the symbiote fest were are probably getting. Middle of the road writing but stellar artwork and colouring.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Spider-Man: Spider's Shadow #4

Jul 16, 2021

With the symbiote's great powers comes Spiderman's great responsibility to take back control and win the trust of others as well as himself. Bring your hankies for the finale as I have a feeling we'll need them.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Spider-Man: Spider's Shadow #5

Sep 6, 2021

Overall, this has been an interesting “What If” mini-series, as I've said above I would have preferred an all-out evil dark Spider-Man but the usual power and responsibility elements of character bring it down back to reality. The epilogue sets up an interesting sequel.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Spirits Of Vengeance: Spirit Rider (2021) #1

Aug 9, 2021

I'm torn on this issue between the amazing artwork and the heavy narration crammed into a single issue. It's a very heavy plot to digest and many light readers will be scared off by the stodgy middle-section. The final six or seven pages are perfect and make up for the dense trip through Blaze's memories. It will be interesting to see what they do with the character over the next few issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Star Trek: The Mirror War #0

Sep 20, 2021

Set your faces to stun with this camp, hilarious and overdue return to the Mirror TNG Universe. Buff Picard steals the show with a bang on Terry Crews impersonation. The issue setups the upcoming Mirror War and develops the characters from the last mini-series. In the words of JLP himself"Engage!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Star Trek: The Mirror War #1

Oct 14, 2021

Resistance is futile, if this is not one of your guilty pleasures you're missing out on the current Trek-a-thon with this, Discovery Lower Decks, Prodigy, Picard and Strange New Worlds all giving Trekkers the well-rounded universe they have been demanding for over 50 years.

View Issue       View Full Review
2
Star Wars Adventures: The Weapon of a Jedi #1

May 26, 2021

I do wish we would let the original films and characters rest in peace, if we keep trying to mine the timeline between movies or events we'll end up with Star Wars: Toilet Breaks or Star Wars: Shhh They're all asleep. There's nothing here that would draw a new fan to the series and as a die-hard fan, I hated it. One Star for writing and one star for artwork. Let the Skywalkers rest and use the universe on new characters, please.

View Issue       View Full Review
2
Star Wars: War of the Bounty Hunters #1

Jun 10, 2021

Telling a story nobody really wants to tie together summer titles is an old Marvel trick. With fans not loving the Solo movie, trying to jam it into the Fett revival coming out of the Mandalorian, feels forced and boring. One star for the story and one for art. Also, the synopsis has way too many exclamation points!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Stargirl Spring Break Special #1

May 28, 2021

This feels like a return to form for writer Johns and his early DC work but still hints at the epic long-form writer he is today with the cliffhanger and reset of character stories back to fresher times. As he diversifies his comic output, it's good to see he still remembers how it began. I don't normally give such high scores to DC characters but this is a clean 100%.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Static (2021): Season One #1

Jun 16, 2021

Let's take a moment to remember the passing of JPL as we read this amazing first issue. It taps into the BLF zeitgeist showing the frustration many feel with a broken system. Vita's writing grounds this energetic issue which looks to actually explode in issue 2. 100% perfect for this relaunch.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Static (2021): Season One #2

Jul 28, 2021

A second issue can be hard and there is a bit of a drop in energy here while Ayala tries to cram a few extra plot points into the story, some stick and some don't. But with a stunning first few pages and a great cliffhanger final page it will keep most of the fanbase coming back for next months issue

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Static (2021): Season One #3

Sep 6, 2021

It might mainly be a character and plot development issue but 99% doesn't switch off readers due to the scripting by Ayala and the artwork Chriscross puts in. The next few issues look like they are about to explode so it's worth keeping this title in your subscription. Other DC titles, like Fear State, should look to Static to see how to slowly set up without turning off the audience.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Stranger Things: Tomb of Ybwen #1

Oct 1, 2021

I think without watching the seasons on Netflix this could be a hard issue to pick up for a casual reader but for fans of the show, it's a perfect filling between the seasons, helping grow the excitement without complicating the story or adding confusing new characters or locations. For an added touch get a hold of the Goonies homage cover which I think will go up in price/demand over the years.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Stray Dogs (2021) #1

Jul 26, 2021

BGCP are a little late to the party with the early 2021 release, but there is a satisfaction binging a whole mini-series and from the amazing reviews and feedback I'll have all five reviewed and live within the week. It's a strange phenomenon that appeals to dog lovers who enjoy a good murder mystery.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Stray Dogs (2021) #2

Aug 2, 2021

Rusty is the out and out star of the series, the brave hero willing to take the punishment as well as lead the group. This unique take on the serial killer genre is a breath of fresh air. The creative team of Forstner and Fleecs obviously enjoyed every panel they wrote and drew and it shows with the comfortable style on display through this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Stray Dogs (2021) #3

Aug 3, 2021

I can only hope that no other dogs were harmed in the making of this storyline, but I have a feeling that this title will end up on Does the Dog Die website for a few incidents. I'm away to pick up the fourth issue and get it digested and reviewed ASAP. If you've missed this at your local shop put an order in for the TPB in a few weeks.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Stray Dogs (2021) #4

Aug 10, 2021

The creative team of Forstner and Fleecs finally flip the tale on its head with shocking implications for the final issue. Animal cruelty is for some reason more frowned on than human cruelty by some and this issue shows that either is not acceptable. I'm off to buy issue 5 to find out quickly who makes it out alive.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Stray Dogs (2021) #5

Aug 10, 2021

As we know from the movie All Dogs Go To Heaven and let's hope that one day Forstner shows Earl, Victor and the other canine victims playing in their final reward. It's a very satisfying conclusion and if you don't put the comic down at the end and pat your own dog immediately perhaps you are as much of a monster as Master?

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Supergirl: Woman of Tomorrow #1

Jun 21, 2021

King tells you on page two the outcome of the eight issues so you can probably stop reading now. To be honest I'm still a bit mad at him for the atrocious Heroes in Crisis. Great artwork in a rambling book. two stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Swamp Thing (2021) #3

May 5, 2021

These stunning individual issues are masterpieces on their own, but the flowing storyline of a reluctant Levi dealing with what happened in India coupled with his relationship with his family and Jennifer slowly draws us forward to a new era in Swamp Thing. With only 7 issues to go how can these two keep up the momentum? This is another 100% flawless read!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Swamp Thing (2021) #4

Jun 1, 2021

The last four issues in The Swamp Thing have been a masterclass in scripting, colouring and artwork. Narration is short allowing the images to weave the intricate story. By other writers, they would have tried to squeeze what Ram has done in four issues into one complex confusing story. The issue was going great up until the last panel with the wider introduction of DC's big movie this year, it doesn't feel on point for the current story but let's see what happens.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Swamp Thing (2021) #5

Jul 7, 2021

Many argue that that politics should be kept out of comics, while the rest think that comics are a mirror for political commentary. Ram tapdances along this dangerous line skillfully adding enough myth and magic while giving a clever dig at UK society and it's current right wing tendancies. This is a delight and back to the strength of the first few issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Swamp Thing (2021) #6

Aug 4, 2021

Ram V uses memory to revitalise, showing that we are more when we connect to our strongest memories. He manages to minimise the disruption the PR push for SS does in the issue but next issue I'll be glad when we cast these aside for more character development from Levi. The two Mikes mix horror with amazingly detailed artwork and colouring. Let's get this next crossover issue finished and get back to the three remaining issues to close off this amazing story arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Swamp Thing (2021) #7

Sep 10, 2021

With three issues to go the creative team have finally shown us Levi's origin and what triggered the link with the green, I already know that I won't be satisfied with this and will want more issues and tales from V, Perkins and Spicer.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Swamp Thing (2021) #8

Oct 7, 2021

V has been using this ten-issue series to examine tradition, family and pain and again it doesn't pull any punches as it takes the place of Ram's therapy bill. The two Mikes again use every trick in the comic artist's book to cram every panel and page with additional content adding to the already vast script.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Syphon #1

Jul 22, 2021

Most comics use empaths as background characters for the “big guns” to use when needed, but here we see the real power that emotions and unburdening people can accomplish. It will be interesting to see how the other two issues in this mini-series keep this momentum

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Taarna (2020) #1

Jun 10, 2021

Like a phoenix, Taarna rises again with Phillips steady hand to guide her through her seedy origin to new heights of pride. This issue is a mini-opera in three short acts, that a more mature reader will enjoy. Four stars for writing and five for artwork.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Many Deaths of Laila Starr #1

Apr 19, 2021

This will be a hot title, if you haven't already added it to your subscription you'll be paying through the nose on reseller sites for the first print of it. If you are lucky to be getting it this week you'll be glad you added a few weeks ago. If you're even luckier to get the variant covers you might want to read it wearing gloves before you send it off to be graded!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Many Deaths of Laila Starr #2

May 20, 2021

There must have been some dust in the room when I read this, as for some weird reason my eyes were wet at the end of the book. This is a love letter to life and death, and for all those impacted by the tragic events of COVID its cathartic view shows hope. I would use exclamation points but the big editor at BGCP has banned me from using them. Another clean sweep for the writer and artist with full marks all the way.. can they keep it up next month?

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Many Deaths of Laila Starr #3

Jun 15, 2021

Another great issue, as above my only issue is the preoccupation to still make smoking look somehow cool. It 2021 and I'm bored seeing movies, music and comics telling how cool I could look if I smoked. If I park my objections to smoking, this sad tale adds nicely to the gentle tapestry that Ram and Filipe are weaving. It's the kind of issue you read three times to ensure you don't miss anything. Oh and stop smoking, those things will kill you.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Many Deaths of Laila Starr #4

Jul 20, 2021

Leila Starr should be a mandatory read for anybody who has suffered at the hands of death, it's cruel but needed nature is hard to understand but as Darius says “The memories are immortal, they refine themselves to perfection over time.” You can see why reviewers and readers have been all been giving amazing scores over on Comicbook Roundup. It has a Metascore of 9.8 from critics and 9.2 from readers. Don't wait till it's over to get in on the action.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Many Deaths of Laila Starr #5

Aug 31, 2021

In a year where we all have lost someone close through the shocking events of COVID, a book about death and how we cope with it helps soothe our cracked souls. I will carry the scars of this book to show how each of those we loved left a mark on our lives. This book deserves every one of the 100% ratings that we have given it over the past five months.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
The Me You Love in the Dark #1

Aug 4, 2021

The issue is a very quick read with a strong but simple plot. The story of an artist suffering from a block and moving to a large house for inspiration is not new but young paints his indelible stamp on it with a sad, poignant and thoughtful tale of dealing with our own demons.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Me You Love in the Dark #2

Sep 13, 2021

In a book with only two characters, every panel and word needs to counts as the reader is fully reliant on them to engage in the story. This poignant but somehow sad tale is setting itself up as a slow burner that reviewers and readers are delighted with

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Me You Love in the Dark #3

Oct 11, 2021

I'm really getting into this book but it only has two issues left to deliver the expected sad ending that it is setting up. Ro is such a likeable but tortured soul that anchors the strange story in a way relatable to many lonely people.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Nice House on the Lake #1

Jun 1, 2021

I think Tynion will lose some readers who expected blood and guts on page one, panel one. This is an operatic comic slowly bringing pieces together, if you want a bubble-gum pop style horror this is not for you. Thankfully most who buy DC Black are the latter characters. How do I think the world will end? Hopefully after the final issue of The Nice House On The Lake. A slow tension issue that earns a 100% score.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Nice House on the Lake #2

Jul 7, 2021

Tynions' ability to create real characters that we somehow know from limited text brings this alive and the subtle use of mediums like cameras, scripts and artwork layer the book. The artist and colouring team of Bellaire and Bueno bring every panel alive with a feeling of dread and awe.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Nice House on the Lake #3

Aug 4, 2021

Tynion's use of a rotating protagonist in each issue is a useful plot device allowing each character to shine without allowing one to push others into the dak. The powerhouse of Bueno and Bellaire again effortlessly paint a stunning world with paradise at the centre surrounding Dante's Inferno. If you have not wanted to pick up the issues yet, this is the time to get all three from your local store.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Nice House on the Lake #4

Sep 8, 2021

The final few pages of the issue will leave you gasping in horror out loud and ramps the tension up to 11. David has forced the group to answer all of the questions each of them have been avoiding but what will be the result of this. The master of horror Tynion needs professional help for penning this disturbing tale, but by using the title as therapy hopefully, we all can pick the scabs of our own mental scars?

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Nice House on the Lake #5

Oct 5, 2021

The complicated story has just a few too many protagonists and gaps between each issue and I'm hoping we're going to break the groups into splinters to help character bonding and plot development. The story is amazing and artwork perfect but with monthly gaps, I'm starting to wonder if I should hold off till I have a few at a time to fully enjoy the experience.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Silver Coin #2

Jun 22, 2021

As a father of kids who were bullied, as well as the victim growing up myself, I do love a good revenge story as in life bullies almost never face their comeuppance. This is a great short, stand alone issue of this anthology and well worth a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Silver Coin #3

Jun 29, 2021

This issue gives more questions than provide answers to previous issues. Adding to the mythology of the coin, we get a nice 1980s style horror with touches of Evil Dead, Hammer Horror and Stephen King's Cat's Eye not providing an easy ending. I have a feeling that we're not going to get answers over the two final issues but sometimes the journey is as important as the destination.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Silver Coin #4

Jul 13, 2021

This feels like a very short issue, that mirrors the themes of the last issue with three thieves being chased towards the coin and one female character “surviving” after being linked with the coin. With the final issue, we are jumping back centuries to the New England witch trials.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Silver Coin #5

Aug 13, 2021

Overall this was a satisfying issue as well as wrapping up the five-issue anthology. It seems that the coin is still hungry and we have a whole host of new talent contributing to the next few issues. The simple yet effective story by Walsh puts a spin on the cursed coin with its birth as not some larger plot but a simple act of anger against a friend who betrayed.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Witcher: Witch's Lament #1

May 27, 2021

The character voice and main plot thread here works well and the chilling imagery sets the mini-series up to a high standard I hope it keeps. The ending pages felt a little rushed and jarring but I hope that the next issue fixes that. For fans of The Witcher awaiting the next series from Netflix grab this issue before it sells out. Four-star for writing and five for artwork.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Witcher: Witch's Lament #2

Jul 1, 2021

This is a very adult and difficult issue to read for those used to the sword-slashing hero from the game, but it fits well with the currents within the original books. With only two books to go, the creative team better progress the plot now that Geralt and Giltine are free of the cult's lament.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Witcher: Witch's Lament #3

Jul 30, 2021

These are dark themes dealt with skillfully by the full creative team. The foreshadowing in the first few pages, with the fox, sets most readers stomachs on edge and it just gets more gruesome from there. As with the books and games, men are the real monsters in the Witcher's world.. but I have a feeling that the Lamia has not finished with the village of Neisse.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Witcher: Witch's Lament #4

Sep 2, 2021

This moral tale of guilt, vengeance and anger fits well in the universe of the Witcher with a sting in the tail coming back to force Geralt into action. Geralt's guilt is never really solved and he wears it as another scar.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
We Only Find Them When They're Dead #6

Jul 5, 2021

Compared to the first five issues, this is a much slower dialogue-heavy issue and call me a cynic but the holes in the story that we could ignore in previous issues now come to the forefront. The justle between Malik and Richter gave tension and allowed the lesser cast to hide in plain view. With this jump forward in time, we're disconnected from the original arc and it feels like a painful wound.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More