Michael Lennox's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: BGCP Reviews: 57
8.1Avg. Review Rating

10
6 Sidekicks of Trigger Keaton #1

Jun 9, 2021

After the nuts Knives Out I have a kind of itch for all things murder mystery and can't wait for the next issue, my wife always says I spoil crime shows by spotting the murderer early blurting it out.. in fact, I think ……….did it. Great five-star first issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Basilisk #1

May 31, 2021

I can see why Basilisk #1 is the biggest pre-sale and it delivers on all cylinders. If this review doesn't have you jumping up and kicking down the door of your local comic shop for an issue I'm not sure what will. A 100% perfect issue that sets the action with minimal dialogue and stunning artwork.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Beta Ray Bill (2021) #1

May 28, 2021

It's hard to be the Betamax to VHS and here we see the Beta Ray not able to match Thor. BRB was always a kind of one trick pony (ahem) but here he's the most prominent and human character. I give Johnson a solid 4 stars for a Dennis Waterman style write the theme tune, sing the theme tune!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Beta Ray Bill (2021) #2

May 28, 2021

All hail the fellowship of the sword, or gun (if you are Skurge) this is nuttier than a squirrels testicles. If 2021 is getting you down pick up this series and you'll get your groove back. This tops issue #1 so 5 stars all around.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Beta Ray Bill (2021) #3

Jun 8, 2021

Another ping-pong issue (ahem) with guns, girls and guts spilling action. Apart from the robo-boobs n butt, this is the highlight of my week. The creative team take a bow three nose bleed issues in a row. Another, almost, flawless issue

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Bunny Mask #1

Jun 11, 2021

We've seen versions of this story before so to keep it fresh and shocking is amazing from the team that first page sets my nerves off, my toes curl and a little bile rises in my throat. The sting in the last page flips the last seven or eight pages on their head and makes you demand the next issue. Solid 100% first issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Carnage: Black, White & Blood #1

Mar 25, 2021

The problem with one dimensional villains like Carnage is their outdated view of mental health, a human who only focusses on violence needs other characters or background to act as a counter or mirror to the impact of the character. Venom has managed to shrug off this trope but his sociopathic first born is still stuck in the 20th century.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Catwoman (2018) #30

Apr 21, 2021

Thanks to DC Comics who gave BGCP a free copy to allow us to Review Catwoman #30!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Catwoman (2018) #31

May 21, 2021

Ramand the creative team deliver another strong story for this developing title. We are left with plot hooks of future foes, unseen dangers, and a rematch in the works to bring back the majority of subscribers. I wonder if we'll have Swamp Thing and Catwoman match up to save the soul of the Poinsonless Ivy? This is a solid four stars from me.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Children of the Atom (2021) #1

Mar 16, 2021

This first issue was good, beautifully written and if you are comfortable with the X-titles in the past few years since Moira McTaggart's House and Powers of X books this is for you! I did struggle in the middle and felt Vida could have either removed or tightened the school gym scene, but it didn't stop me from reading. The last four pages have made me add this to my subscription list!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Cold Dead War #1

Apr 29, 2021

I'd love to know if you managed to get a copy and agree with my review of Cold Dead War #1!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Cold Dead War #2

May 25, 2021

This is also a bonkers, mad-arse comic that should be stapled to Zack Snyder's head before he makes another zombie movie. For the big kid in you that loves Creepshow and Ash v Army of Dead open a beer and enjoy this. It's just a shame that it's so hard to get a UK distributor to sell these issues. In the US these are under $4 with taxes you're over 25 now. A thrill ride of an issue with four stars for writing and five for artwork, but what do you make of our review of Cold Dead War #2?

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Crime Syndicate (2021) #2

Apr 9, 2021

Do not start with issue 2, get down to your local comic shop and get the few remaining copies of issue 1 to get not only the start of the invasion but the untold origin of Ultraman! If you liked BGCP's Review of Crime Syndicate #2 and tell us in the comments below!

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Crime Syndicate (2021) #3

May 6, 2021

For fans of Invincible or The Boys, this universe has no heroes but struggles to show the darkness within the characters. It's a bit by the numbers and as above a pantomime for us to boo and hiss. I'm glad it's a limited run as it could turn into another Batman who Laughs or King In Black style story. When evil wins, who cares anymore? The world needs heroes and obstacles to overcome and achieve, hopefully, DC doesn't jump the shark with this.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Crime Syndicate (2021) #4

Jun 3, 2021

Thank god we only have two issues left, this is starting to lose steam and fall into classic DC territory of flogging a dead horse (normally wearing a Batman costume.) I feel I have to stick it out to the end but it's lost its zany edge in meetings and internal dialogues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Darkhawk: Heart of the Hawk #1

Apr 16, 2021

This is a quick 12-minute read but worth it as it hints at things to come for both Marvel and Darkhawk. For fans of the hero, it's a must-buy, but and for others, it's a good sedge way into a character that fans love but many mainstream fans may not have heard of. If all else fails many will buy it for the stunning Lee cover that collectors will snap up and seal into CGC plastic for eternity!

View Issue       View Full Review
7
DC Horror Presents The Conjuring: The Lover #1

Jun 2, 2021

Licenced titles can become niche but this will please comic fans and movie franchise fans alike. The main story is a slow burn gradually increasing tension, while the quick second tale leaves a smile as you close the book. 3/5 stars for both stories and artwork, but what do you think?

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Die!namite: Lives! #1

Jun 9, 2021

For die hard fans of the Dynamite characters this is a great follow up to last years crossover event. IT's a bit confusing for new readers but they can with the Ash side of the story while they get up to speed. Solid issue writing is three stars and artwork is five.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Doctor Who: Missy #1

Apr 19, 2021

Whovians will love this issue and it's a great way to showcase Missy as the main character for this 50th celebration of The Doctor's favourite enemy! For new fans, this is a great standalone series and you don't need to read hundreds of back issues to get up to speed with the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Doctor Who: Missy #2

May 13, 2021

This was a delight to read, I greedily read it in ten minutes and then slowly re-read to get the fine nuances that I missed the first time. It's turning into quite a 50th celebration for the evil Timelord (and Lady) and I can't wait for the Doctors to finally confront Missy and the Master next issue. Houser and Intranata deserve every one of the five stars for writing and artwork, but what are you still doing here? Stop reading this and get down to a comic shop to buy this!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Dune: House Atreides #6

Apr 28, 2021

This will make a stunning Hard Cover collection when it is complete. I score my review of Dune House Atreides 6 a perfect 100%!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Dune: House Atreides #7

May 25, 2021

This is not an issue to pick up casually as you'll struggle to follow the complex interwoven plot, ask your comic shop for the back issues and enjoy this before the Dune film in September 2021. A solid 5 stars for writing and 4 for the creative team's artwork. I am a Dune geek so I am a little biased.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
ENIAC #1

May 27, 2021

I'd love to know what you thought of my review of ENIAC #1 by Bad Idea

View Issue       View Full Review
9
ENIAC #2

Jun 11, 2021

Second issues can be tricky you want to keep up the action while pushing the plot and new characters forward. The team here have done a great job. The Bad Idea model is still being evaluated as a concept for publishers but whatever happens, this will stand on its own. Five-star writing and almost perfect art and colours.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Extraordinary (2021) #0

May 5, 2021

This extraordinarily (ahem) short preview issue (10 pages) sets up the story well with the new death accident and the first impact of getting EO powers dawning on Charlotte. It's well worth a punt at 65p on the Forbidden Planet site that is the exclusive UK distributor! The cover art alone is worth the price without Schwab's amazing script

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Fantastic Four: Life Story #1

May 24, 2021

This is a bit of a mess, a boring mess. The decade skipping is supposed to be fun, here it just seems forced. I hated this whole thing! I'd give it a miss unless you are an FF fanatic.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Geiger #2

May 13, 2021

Thanks' to Image comics for the free preview to allow BGCP to review! What do you think of Geiger #2 and our review will you be adding it to your subs?

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Geiger #3

Jun 8, 2021

Johns is an old hand at turning out great comics and while other stories are floundering on their third issue this stepped up a gear in pace, action and emotions. Another solid issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Godzilla: Monsters & Protectors #1

Apr 19, 2021

I really liked this climate-based story with Godzilla acting as the planets immune system and humanity as the virus. For kids keen to see more environmental stories in comics this is a good read.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Godzilla: Monsters & Protectors #2

May 18, 2021

I give it a middling 2.5 for writing but a slightly stronger 3.5 for artwork. But make up your own mind with an exclusive sneak peek at the issue from our good friends at IDW below! I hope you enjoyed this review of Godzilla: Monsters and Protectors #2.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Green Lantern (2021) #2

May 6, 2021

The sooner they dump Teen Lantern in crappy Saturday Morning cartoon solving mysteries with her pet ferret and Tom Selleck the better. It's better than issue one.. but you could argue that Attack of the Clones is better than the Phantom Menace and forget that beside Empire they are a long way short. So for my review of Green Lantern #2, I give the story 2 stars and the artwork 4 stars! Do you agree?

View Issue       View Full Review
3
Green Lantern (2021) #3

Jun 4, 2021

When you rely on kooky gimmicks (Teen Lantern), great artwork and covers but have a complicated Phantom Menace style half baked story you are on shaky ground. I think that this storyline is officially boring. one star only for the story and 2 for artwork (because of that cover.)

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ice Cream Man #24

May 12, 2021

Drug addiction and abuse is a growing problem! We all know or are someone struggling with alcohol, soft or hard abuse. If this comic helps to raise awareness and save one life it's done more than many to highlight and chat about it using a safe medium. I think this issue deserves a clean sweep of 5 stars out of 5!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Immortal Hulk: Time of Monsters #1

May 20, 2021

I'd need to be an idiot or blind not to score this a perfect five stars for both stories and the breath-taking artwork within.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Interceptor #1

Jun 7, 2021

It's a bonkers, irreverent story that puts its tongue firmly in its cheek and bites down to draw some blood. Cates obviously had some fun writing this and it's well worth a read with the amazing artwork by Burnett. I say bring on more. Four stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Interceptor #2

Jun 9, 2021

A solid second issue with some madcap action and dialogue which flips the hero and sidekick on their head. This short mini-series is shaping up well. 4 four stars again.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Jim Henson's The Storyteller: Tricksters #2

Apr 22, 2021

With each issue a complete standalonee it easy for readers to hop on and off as needed but if the standard of the past two issues continues then you should get them all. These are good as an educational tool for younger readers expanding their current fairy stories beyond the worlds of Disney and Grimm.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Jim Henson's The Storyteller: Tricksters #3

May 21, 2021

This was a fun story that made me want to know more about the adventures of Reynard, I wonder if Amal would be interested in this? The mirror of using the Storyteller in the market to mirror the con artist Fox was not lost and hopefully, parents can warn kids about outlandish sellers. Treat someone you know kids with this issue and you can thank me later. For the age group it's targeted at this is a perfect five star read.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Justice League: Last Ride #1

May 12, 2021

This is nothing new from DC, another year another Crisis..and I do not expect any surprises. It's a playbook from the Big Book of DC Plotlines! and I'm bored, bored and very bored of all of it now.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Magic (2021) #2

May 11, 2021

My first overall thought is that I am way too old to be learning a whole universe of characters, places, skills and effects! But millions of fans can't be wrong, perhaps I should some room in my muddled head for this series! It looks like print one may be about to sell out so keep an eye out for variant covers!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Mighty Morphin (2020) #6

Apr 15, 2021

I would not start the issue of have not caught up as we are in the middle of multiple plot points at this stage. If all the previous are sold out buy the digital versions to give yourself a chance to get up to speed!

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Mighty Morphin (2020) #7

May 10, 2021

These comics went a little too serious with Shattered Grid a few years ago and it's nice to see a silly story making it's way back onto the franchise!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Rick and Morty: Rick's New Hat #1

May 10, 2021

I hope you enjoyed this review of Rick and Morty: Rick's New Hat #1, and thanks to Oni Press for advance review.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Rick and Morty: Rick's New Hat #1

May 10, 2021

I hope you enjoyed this review of Rick and Morty: Rick's New Hat #1, and thanks to Oni Press for advance review.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Spider-Man: Spider's Shadow #1

May 17, 2021

I loved the What If? issues in the 1980s and 1990s.. from the ridiculous to the weird and the depressing they help kids (including big ones like me!) explore alternative outcomes to major plots and events in the Marvel Universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Spider-Man: Spider's Shadow #2

May 18, 2021

The whole creative team are firing on all cylinders in this issue as there's more blood and guts on display than an episode of Dexter! If you've not added this short four-issue series to your online or print subscription you better hurry as issues of both #1 and #2 are selling out fast. Don't be the only one not talking about this! I give it another blood-curdling five out of five, particularly for the onomatopoeia used by Joe Caramagna as the violence happens just out of shot.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Spider-Man: Spider's Shadow #3

Jun 10, 2021

Personally, I don't think I wanted this Peter redeemed after what he's done in the past few issues and a final showdown with heroes versus Shadow Spider would have been better that the symbiote fest were are probably getting. Middle of the road writing but stellar artwork and colouring.

View Issue       View Full Review
2
Star Wars Adventures: The Weapon of a Jedi #1

May 26, 2021

I do wish we would let the original films and characters rest in peace, if we keep trying to mine the timeline between movies or events we'll end up with Star Wars: Toilet Breaks or Star Wars: Shhh They're all asleep. There's nothing here that would draw a new fan to the series and as a die-hard fan, I hated it. One Star for writing and one star for artwork. Let the Skywalkers rest and use the universe on new characters, please.

View Issue       View Full Review
2
Star Wars: War of the Bounty Hunters #1

Jun 10, 2021

Telling a story nobody really wants to tie together summer titles is an old Marvel trick. With fans not loving the Solo movie, trying to jam it into the Fett revival coming out of the Mandalorian, feels forced and boring. One star for the story and one for art. Also, the synopsis has way too many exclamation points!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Stargirl Spring Break Special #1

May 28, 2021

This feels like a return to form for writer Johns and his early DC work but still hints at the epic long-form writer he is today with the cliffhanger and reset of character stories back to fresher times. As he diversifies his comic output, it's good to see he still remembers how it began. I don't normally give such high scores to DC characters but this is a clean 100%.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Swamp Thing (2021) #3

May 5, 2021

These stunning individual issues are masterpieces on their own, but the flowing storyline of a reluctant Levi dealing with what happened in India coupled with his relationship with his family and Jennifer slowly draws us forward to a new era in Swamp Thing. With only 7 issues to go how can these two keep up the momentum? This is another 100% flawless read!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Swamp Thing (2021) #4

Jun 1, 2021

The last four issues in The Swamp Thing have been a masterclass in scripting, colouring and artwork. Narration is short allowing the images to weave the intricate story. By other writers, they would have tried to squeeze what Ram has done in four issues into one complex confusing story. The issue was going great up until the last panel with the wider introduction of DC's big movie this year, it doesn't feel on point for the current story but let's see what happens.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Taarna (2020) #1

Jun 10, 2021

Like a phoenix, Taarna rises again with Phillips steady hand to guide her through her seedy origin to new heights of pride. This issue is a mini-opera in three short acts, that a more mature reader will enjoy. Four stars for writing and five for artwork.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Many Deaths of Laila Starr #1

Apr 19, 2021

This will be a hot title, if you haven't already added it to your subscription you'll be paying through the nose on reseller sites for the first print of it. If you are lucky to be getting it this week you'll be glad you added a few weeks ago. If you're even luckier to get the variant covers you might want to read it wearing gloves before you send it off to be graded!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Many Deaths of Laila Starr #2

May 20, 2021

There must have been some dust in the room when I read this, as for some weird reason my eyes were wet at the end of the book. This is a love letter to life and death, and for all those impacted by the tragic events of COVID its cathartic view shows hope. I would use exclamation points but the big editor at BGCP has banned me from using them. Another clean sweep for the writer and artist with full marks all the way.. can they keep it up next month?

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Nice House on the Lake #1

Jun 1, 2021

I think Tynion will lose some readers who expected blood and guts on page one, panel one. This is an operatic comic slowly bringing pieces together, if you want a bubble-gum pop style horror this is not for you. Thankfully most who buy DC Black are the latter characters. How do I think the world will end? Hopefully after the final issue of The Nice House On The Lake. A slow tension issue that earns a 100% score.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Witcher: Witch's Lament #1

May 27, 2021

The character voice and main plot thread here works well and the chilling imagery sets the mini-series up to a high standard I hope it keeps. The ending pages felt a little rushed and jarring but I hope that the next issue fixes that. For fans of The Witcher awaiting the next series from Netflix grab this issue before it sells out. Four-star for writing and five for artwork.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

June

May

More