Jason Flatt's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: But Why Tho? Reviews: 74
8.3Avg. Review Rating

10
.Self #1

Nov 2, 2021

.Self #1 is an exciting start to a series I fully expect to twist and turn through some unexpected, fun places. It easily makes a familiar concept feel modern, new, and thought-provoking.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Abbott: 1973 #1

Jan 20, 2021

Abbott: 1973 #1 is rather confusing, but its art is superb and some of the secondary plot points and character moments have me more intrigued for the future of the series than anything.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
All Nighter #1

Jan 1, 1970

The All-Nighter #1is a captivating start to a new and unique series. I cannot wait to explore the lore and emotion within.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Assassin's Creed Valhalla: Song of Glory #3

Dec 17, 2020

Song of Glory #3is alright on its own, but it fails to be a satisfying conclusion to this mini-series. I'm left with more questions than answers, mostly because of Sigurd's side quest. If a later publication (or my finally completingAssassin's Creed: Valhalla)resolves that, I may be more satisfied. But, as it stands on its own, this issue and this series are by no means essential reading for fans of the most recent Assassin's Creed game.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Assassin's Creed: Blade of Shao Jun #1

Feb 15, 2021

Assassin's Creed: Blad of Shao Jun Volume 1is simultaneously a good adaptation of an under-appreciated video game and a good manga in its own right. The story expands upon the game in engaging ways and helps impart the main character's stakes more clearly, even if she is not as well-expressed as I could hope for. This is only the beginning of Shao's story though and there is a lot of evidence already that over time, it will only continue to be more fulfilling to read.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ballad for Spohie OGN

Nov 2, 2021

Ballad for Sophieis an incredible journey from start to finish as you watch a man recount his life, on his own terms, for the first time.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Black Hammer: Reborn #1

Jun 24, 2021

Black Hammer: Reborn #1 is a perfect introduction to the franchise for a new reader as it captures all of the emotional momentum necessary to both bring you into its characters and world and send you off into a new series and adventure.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Chasing the Dragon #3

May 9, 2021

Chasing the Dragon#3is an intriguing story with a world and characters that have me captivated, albeit with a script that does not always do the story complete justice.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Dark Blood #1

Jul 21, 2021

Dark Blood #1was a disappointing start to a series with good potential. While the opening did little in the way of character or plot development, and its ending was a confusing fizzle, I get the sense that things may pick up as the series moves past its opening.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Darling (2021) #1

Jul 1, 2021

There is an incredible charm toDarling #1with its exceptional aesthetic and slow-burning plot. I may not know where this story will lead yet, but I do know I'm in for a doozy. Regardless, I'll more than look forward to seeing what path the series takes me down while supporting help for people struggling with drug and alcohol abuse.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Dr. Love Wave and the Experiments #1

Jan 31, 2021

I quite enjoyed Dr. Love Wave and the Experiments #1and would look forward to reading future issues. The world and premise are captivating. While I'm not quite sure about the main characters, there are a number of seeds planted throughout the issue that hint at interesting dynamics and developments.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Dr. Love Wave and the Experiments #2

Apr 24, 2021

Dr. Love Wave and the Experiments #2 is not a momentous follow-up necessarily, but it is a good setup for what will surely develop into a rather wacky series. Its ending is a great cliffhanger, and the slower pace of the issue is compensated for with great character-building opportunity and art.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Drawn to Key West #1

Feb 4, 2021

Drawn to Key West #1 is a gorgeous, unique type of comic that blends the author's personal journey with the history, lives, and community of Mallory Square in Key West. The approach to storytelling is utterly unique and absolutely captivating, and I cannot wait to learn more about the performers of Mallory Square through their words and Chiechi's eyes and illustrations.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Eighty Days #1

Sep 1, 2021

Eighty Days is

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Eternals (2021): Forever #1

Jan 1, 1970

I don't know why this comic is called Eternals Forever other than to sell itself as a starting place for new readers to the Eternals lore. Don't fall into the trap though, it's not worth it. Eternals Forever #1is a boring comic to read and to look at and while it likely sets up some future plot its role as a refresher on the lore of the Eternals is just far too long and interestingly presented.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Eve (2021) #1

May 5, 2021

I am very hooked onEve #1. It feels like both a stark vision of a possible near-future and a deep character piece in the making. I'm more than looking forward to the series and already hoping it lasts longer than it's initial 5-issue run.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
FAB: Pandora #1

May 16, 2021

FAB Volume 1is a solid take on a classic genre. Its premise, mystery, and intrigue are captivating, albeit the story is a bit difficult to follow at times, and some of the characters fall a bit flat. Overall though, the major twists and challenges to my expectations in the end of the book made this a worthwhile read and have me interested to see what may come in a future volume.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Forever Home #1

Feb 17, 2021

Along with the several pages of great classroom lesson ideas and Common Core curricula, Forever Home is a familiar and relatable story with a number of twists on the formula that make it a valuable read for any kid feeling like they don't belong anywhere.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Girl Haven OGN

Jan 17, 2021

Girl Haven is a remarkable story about identity and expression that's greatest fault is simply that it is only a graphic novel and not a full-fledged monthly series. Its world, characters, and themes are excellent and though there are a few shortcomings in some of the aspects of character and art, they are easily forgivable in the face of the touching and challenging journey Ash goes on throughout this story.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Godzilla: Rivals: Vs. Hedorah #1

Jun 30, 2021

For a total Godzilla newby, I absolutely adored Godzilla Rivals: Vs. Hedora #1.It was unexpectedly emotionally poignant as well as rich with great kaiju action. I'll greatly anticipate the next addition as Godzilla takes on Mothra.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Goliath Girls #1

Jun 1, 2021

For its rich character relationships, creative use of kaiju as members of the found family, and excellent subtle story-building through flashbacks and expectation setting,Goliath Girls Volume 1is a great comic volume, and I hope to see the continuation of this story and these characters' journies.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Good Luck (2021) #1

Jun 23, 2021

Good Luck #1is an interesting introduction to a potentially very cool idea. It's just lacking in definition, both narratively and visually, especially when it comes to its characters. But the concept itself leaves ample room for growth all around and I look forward to seeing where it goes.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Guerilla Green: An Urban Gardening Survival Guide #1

Apr 28, 2021

Ultimately, as a type of memoir,Guerilla Greenis good. I appreciate how Dambl tells her truth and inspires you to get invested in bettering your community and saving the planet. But as a tool for either educating youth or recruiting folks into the fight to change our cities and save our planet, I just can't get behind it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hazards of Love OGN

Apr 3, 2021

The Hazards of Love Volume 1: Bright World is an utterly intriguing story and world with a few small blunders, but generally, an impressive ability to surprise and intrigue chapter after chapter. Im very hopeful the second volume received a full-color print edition as well and cannot wait to continue reading this wonderful, weird story.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.6
Jim Henson's Labyrinth: The Masquerade #1

Dec 23, 2020

Were each ofLabyrinth: Masquerade #1's flaws isolated or the only ones, I would feel more possitively about this comic. The concept is excellent and much of the art and coloring is wonderful. But with poor dialogue timed in the wrong places, some tonal shortcomings, and an totally detractive B-plot, it is hard for me to recommend this comic. Big fans of the movie may find it interesting and satisfying in some regards, but overall, it unfortunately dissapoints.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Jim Henson's The Storyteller: Tricksters #1

Mar 17, 2021

Jim Henson's The Storyteller: Tricksters #1is a lovely retelling of a classic myth set within an endearing frame story. I have no attachment to the originalThe Storyteller,but I do feel endeared by him in this comic. It has me excited to read the rest of the anthology and to recommend this first edition.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Jim Henson's The Storyteller: Tricksters #2

Apr 25, 2021

The Storyteller: Tricksters #2is another strong entry in this anthology series about the worlds' trickster gods. It is a tad hard to follow, but its message is as wholesome as it gets.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Jim Henson's The Storyteller: Tricksters #3

May 20, 2021

Jim Henson's The Storyteller: Tricksters #3 has a masterful visual style and design. I was completely enchanted by the lively borders and backgrounds, as well as the use of such light and whimsical colors. It enhances the story completely, delivering a storybook of a comic completely befitting the anthology.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Jo and Rus OGN

Feb 10, 2021

Jo and Rusis a nice graphic novel for young readers about conquering fears, opening up, and having good friends who are older and younger than you. While a few moments did not land and I wish there were more examples of female friendship, the book is definitely a good read for young kids who feel like it's hard to make friends.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Lumberjanes: End of Summer #1

Dec 2, 2020

Lumberjanes: End of Summer #1is a bittersweet ending to a spectacular series. It delivers a wonderful story of Lumberjanes saving their camp and forest from a mysterious evil. It's the most gorgeous and emotional the series has ever been and while not every question I've asked myself since the beginning was answered, that feels okay. But don't spoil yourself on it. Go back to the beginning and enjoy friendship to the max with Mal, Ripley, Molly, April, and Jo.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mamo #1

Jul 9, 2021

Mamo #1is the start of what will surely be an impeccable series. With captivating characters and plot set to gorgeous and detailed art, this series will surely not be one to miss.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Marvel Action: Captain Marvel (2021) #1

Mar 3, 2021

I have enjoyed the Marvel Action stories from IDW, and Marvel Action: Captain Marvel #1 is no exception. The style is enjoyable, and the generational gap between Carol and Gwen is clear enough to result in a hearty lesson in the end.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Marvel Action: Captain Marvel (2021) #2

Apr 7, 2021

Marvel Action: Captain Marvel #2 may have come to an obvious conclusion, but it was an enjoyable journey as well as a lesson well-learned. I would enjoy continuing to see these iterations of the characters and look forward to what lessons Captain Marvel may learn in the next story.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Marvel Action: Captain Marvel (2021) #3

May 6, 2021

It's not that Marvel Action: Captain Marvel #3is bad, per se. I feel that the next issue will make this one feel more whole. But it's disappointing that the whole story couldn't have just been produced in a single issue or graphic novel so that this issue doesn't have to feel repetitive and like it goes nowhere. It's not because this is middle-grade either; the previous arc started strong and fizzled similarly because of the two-act structure it was bent into. Alas, don't skip the comic, but wait until issue four is out to read them together.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Marvel Action: Origins #1

Feb 3, 2021

Marvel Action: Origins #1is a great introduction to two famous Marvel characters for new readers as well as a nice, albeit truncated, retelling for longtime fans to enjoy. The stories, especially Thanos's, may miss a couple of beats, but the art is particularly excellent and really plants these decades-old stories firmly in modernity.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Marvel's Voices: Pride #1

Jun 23, 2021

Regardless of how you identify, what you're questioning, or whether you feel safe and comfortable in who you are yet,Marvel Voices: Pride #1is a beautiful ode to the history, present, and future of queer identities in and behind Marvel comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Onion Skin OGN

Jan 1, 1970

Onion Skinis a meaningful piece of art that you can tell its creator put a lot of his own heart into. Its nonlinear storytelling and simple art style make it feel lived-in and heighten the emotional value.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
ParaNorthern: And the Chaos Bunny A-hop-calypse

Aug 27, 2021

ParaNorthernis a wonderful graphic novel for all ages about the power of not only friendship, but of loving yourself and your people as well. Everything about it is totally endearing and I would love to see more adventures with these characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Rangers Of The Divide #1

May 16, 2021

The world and overall story ofRangers of the Dividehave me totally hooked. The salty Commander Knight and brave cadet Elsie may be the only characters I have gotten to know so far, but the visual style, designs, and clear enormous potential have me quite excited for what is to come in this new series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Rangers Of The Divide #2

Jun 13, 2021

Rangers of the Divide #2 is a fantastic issue illustratively, but I'm still looking for more from the plot and characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Save Yourself #1

Jun 16, 2021

Save Yourself #1may not be completely clear about what it's about yet, but it's certainly clear about what kind of comic it will be, and I'm very much here for it. This highly chaotic first issue has me hooked on the characters as well as what seems to lie beneath the surface.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Scoop: Buried Leads #2

Feb 19, 2021

Scoop: Buried Leads has some confusing elements, but its core lessons are well-taught and it leaves ample room for interest in both the previous and future additions to the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Secrets of Camp Whatever OGN

Mar 14, 2021

Secrets of Camp Whateveris an enjoyable graphic novel for fans of camp and cryptids. Not all of its characters are completely fulfilled, but what it does offer is fun and engaging all the way through.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Seven Secrets #7

Jan 1, 1970

Seven Secrets #7 is an intriguing step into the next arc of its story. It goes in a dramatically different, and slower, direction, but one Im certainly here for. I did miss the high-octane energy of the first arc, but I suspect it will return once some of the dust settles from the wild first arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Seven Secrets #8

May 14, 2021

Seven Secrets #8doesn't move the series very far forward in terms of plot or characters, but its strong action finish makes the exposition in the first three-fifths of the book worth the information dump. Seeing all of the remaining members of the Order together has me excited to hopefully see not only more of them in action but to learn more about them as characters in the next several issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Specter Inspectors #1

Feb 3, 2021

Specter Inspectors #1is a great start to a new series that I hope can fill aLumberjanesshaped hole in my heart. Its characters already have me loving them, its premise is goofy, spooky, and serious at once, and I'm left riveted by what may come next. I'm starting my campaign to extendSpecter Inspectorsinto a full ongoing series now, because this first issue was great and I absolutely cannot wait for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Specter Inspectors #2

Jan 1, 1970

Specter Inspectors #2is a tad confusing to jump back into, but the direction it continues to move the great story and characters in is well-appreciated. I look forward to the next issue and continue to hope the series can perhaps carry on beyond its currently limited run.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Specter Inspectors #3

Apr 23, 2021

I continue to adore this series, but it is definitely at a crossroads where the issue's cliffhanger ending will make or break the series. It's moving into the climax of its arc, and I remain hopeful that it not only ends on a strong foot but may even see itself extended beyond a limited series. The characters and setting are too rich to only get to see for a single story arc. The next issue will clearly be a determinant though over whether the characters and setting can thrive in their climax.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Specter Inspectors #4

Jun 2, 2021

I'm not ready forSpecter Inspectorsto be over. The relationships between the characters and Cape Grace's mysteries all have me enraptured, and I can't see how all of this will be wrapped up to satisfaction in just one more issue. Issue #4 may not be plot-heavy, though it does set up the final issue. Rather, it excels as it deepens Astrid and Noa's relationship and each as individuals.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Star Wars Adventures (2020) #3

Feb 5, 2021

Star Wars Adventures #3offers two short stories: one of some heroes who don't get enough action, and one of a villain who is constantly in the same predicament. The stories are both quite enjoyable and very pithy, with especially excellent art in the first story.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Star Wars Adventures (2020) #4

Mar 26, 2021

Star Wars Adventures #3 isn't a bad issue, but it didn't live up to my hopes following the previous issue. It's worth finishing the "Life Day" story though, and "Credits" is an interesting look at two characters I never thought I'd be interested in seeing again.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Wars Adventures (2020) Annual: 2021

Nov 25, 2021

Star Wars Adventures Annual 2021 has a rocky opening, but the remaining three-quarters deliver an enjoyable middle-grade story with good morals.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Star Wars Adventures: Smuggler's Run #1

Dec 23, 2020

Star Wars Adventures: Smuggler's Run is nothing special. This type of Han Solo story feels like it has been told repeatedly in recent years, and while this is an adaptation of a 2015 novel, it's not this aspect that causes the story to feel trite.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Wars Adventures: Smuggler's Run #2

Jan 27, 2021

Star Wars Adventures: Smugglers Run #2is by far a more enjoyable conclusion to its story than the first issue. The ceaseless action is quite enjoyable, and the contrasting color moments make the book more visually appealing. The story is thin, and so are many of the characters, but the action and a cool lore bit certainly redeem this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Star Wars Adventures: The Weapon of a Jedi #1

May 26, 2021

Star Wars Adventures: The Weapon of a Jedi #1is a great adaptation of a junior novel many fans may never have read, especially thanks to its brilliant colors.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Wars: Bounty Hunters #11

Jan 1, 1970

Star Wars: Bounty Hunters #11 did not thrill me in the plot department, but I appreciate its take on Bossk and enjoyed how its action was drawn and colored. Having not especially kept up with the series before, it also has me excited for the "War of the Bounty Hunters" crossover event to begin next.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Star Wars: Bounty Hunters #12

May 19, 2021

Bounty Hunters #12 is not a good start to this crossover arc. Little happens and what does feels pretty inconsequential. I'm not ready to count it out completely yet, but it will need to improve both its plot's reason for being and its characterization of basically every character in the book. Hopefully it can become a more interesting contribution to the crossover.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Wars: Bounty Hunters #13

Jun 9, 2021

I'm still not entirely sold on this series as it continues to partake in the War of the Bounty Hunters. However, if the emotional notes between Valance and Chewbacca, as well as the comedy Dengar, added continue, I can see it growing on me. Until then, Bounty Hunters #13 is not as strong as I hoped it would be as the second issue in this story arc, but it is certainly a step up from the previous issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Star Wars: Doctor Aphra (2020) #10

May 26, 2021

Doctor Aphra #10 is a benign start to the series' War of the Bounty Hunters arc. Its conclusion leaves me willing to believe that some good following issues may ensue. But as a beginning, the story is too attached to its previous arc and does little, seemingly, to prepare for the coming story until the final panels. Nevertheless, there is still a good High Republic reference and nice banter between Starros and Aphra.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker OGN

Mar 4, 2021

While it has a few redeeming qualities,The Rise of Skywalker Graphic Novel Adaptationis a rather poor showing. It moves too quickly to be funny, impactful, or make much sense of the plot, and the characters are lifeless and hard to look at. While the backgrounds are beautiful, it's not enough to make this adaptation particularly worth the while.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Star Wars: War of the Bounty Hunters: IG-88 #1

Jan 1, 1970

IG-88 #1 is alright as a stand-alone comic, poor as a tie-in, and not all that special as a tribute to a bounty hunter people have adored for decades.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Wars: War of the Bounty Hunters: Boushh #1

Sep 15, 2021

Boushh #1is a mostly good background story on a little-known Star Wars character. I only wish the extended issue spent more time on him than on another series' antagonist. It felt too much like a promo forDoctor Aphraand not enough like a Boushh one-shot with how the story was balanced.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Stargirl Spring Break Special #1

May 25, 2021

Stargirl: Spring Break #1is nothing like what the title would suggest. While the art style matches a teen drama, the plot is a high-intensity action thriller filled with time shenanigans and severe emotional stakes. It's a good story though with amazing coloring, especially throughout the lengthy final action sequence.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The All-Nighter #1

Oct 27, 2021

The All-Nighter #1is a captivating start to a new and unique series. I cannot wait to explore the lore and emotion within.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Down River People #1

May 31, 2021

The Down River People is tragic, but its confusing conclusion and difficulty distinguishing characters from one another hold it back from excellence. The emotional components are very strong, though; those parts of the book will have you feeling a lot. Ultimately, its message not to let tragedy and grief chain you down forever is very well delivered.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Many Deaths of Laila Starr #1

Apr 21, 2021

The Many Deaths of Laila Starr #1 is a solid start to a new series. The way that the South Asian/Indian setting is incorporated into the story is very entertaining and appealing. The characters and world they have built are definitely captivating, though. I just hope the story finds ways to be surprising given the title and the first issues ending set up.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Many Deaths of Laila Starr #2

May 19, 2021

The Many Deaths of Laila Starr #2is an incredible comic in every regard. Its exploration of death and immortality is so beautiful and unexpected; I have never experienced a story like it. The writing is superb, the art is divine, and the comic is surely only just getting started. I cannot wait to see what Lailas many more lives deaths bring.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Many Deaths of Laila Starr #3

Jun 17, 2021

The Many Deaths of Laila Starr#3 exceeded my expectation for the next issue after what I called the best issue I had ever read. It was just as emotional, creative, and beautiful, even as it took on one of the most difficult topics under the sun. Without repeating itself or missing a beat, this issue continues to prove that the series is, in fact, perfect and that its first two issues were not merely exceptional.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Many Deaths of Laila Starr #5

Sep 1, 2021

The Many Deaths of Laila Starr#5is a perfect ending to an immaculate series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Sprite and the Gardener OGN

May 11, 2021

Sprite and the Gardeneris a lovely graphic novel with beautiful art and a beautiful set of morals. It will leave you feeling fulfilled and yearning to grow a garden with some friends.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Unfinished Corner #1

Oct 27, 2021

The Unfinished Corner was certainly not the Jewish middle-grade story I was expecting, but it certainly found its own unique way to struggle with some of Judaism's most intimate questions while remaining distinct and portraying Jewish experiences beyond Ashkenormativity.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.6
To Drink and to Eat #2

Jan 8, 2021

To Drink and to Eat Volume 2: More Meals and Mischief From a French Kitchengets a bit lost in translation, but its warm colors and excellent blending of comic strips with creative recipes is something I would absolutely love to see more of. The recipes are all diverse and very well-illustrated, despite a few glaring holes here and there.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Whistle: A New Gotham City Hero OGN

Sep 7, 2021

Whistleis not only a great graphic novel; it's also a great Jewish representation. Between the Jewishness of the character and her community and how she weaponizes a sometimes trite, sometimes actually traumatizing stereotype, it's the best represented I think I've felt in a comic ever. Moreover, it has a great artistic style and creatively weaves old and new characters into its own unique Gotham City story. While not canon, I really hope Whistle/Willow will get to appear in future DC stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Yummy: A History of Desserts #1

Nov 30, 2021

Yummy: A History of Dessertsis a smartly crafted, adorably illustrated, wonderfully rich introduction to eight globally beloved deserts. It pays enormous respect to the people and cultures central to each story (or whose cultures were appropriated along the way) and never misses a chance to teach the reader something new, no matter their age.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

December

November

More