soycornholio's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: The Comicbook Dispatch Reviews: 36
8.5Avg. Review Rating

8
Alien (2021) #1

Mar 22, 2021

This is a claustrophobic book. Everything is tightly written and drawn with no breathing room. I love it. That is one of the feelings that I experienced while watching the original Alien movie. Nowhere to go and nowhere to hide. Hopefully, Marvel keeps the Alien series in a separate universe from the rest of their heroes. There's sooo much potential for the series that I cannot help but recommend this book to all mature readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Alien (2021) #2

Apr 21, 2021

If you're interested in this comic or any of the others mentioned, simply click on the title/link to snag a copy through Amazon.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Batman: The Adventures Continue: Season Two #1

Jun 2, 2021

Any Batman fan would enjoy this. It is a continuation of one of the best cartoons of all time (with the added extra of the Court of Owls). With Batman being such an amazing IP, I would love to see The Adventures Continue as a new season of Batman the Animated Series. Taking the old and adding in something new works for this creative team. Excellent job DC excellent job.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Batman: The Adventures Continue: Season Two #2

Jul 7, 2021

These last two issues were amazing. We are served classic characters, new storylines, and the nostalgic era of Batman: The Animated Series on a silver platter. I would 100% recommend picking up not only this issue but the preceding issue as well. You will not be disappointed!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Challenge of the Super Sons (2020) #2

May 12, 2021

This is a great story. One thing that I did not necessarily like, was the reverse storytelling. The second chapter in this issue takes place somewhere in issue number 1. That portion confused me, but it smoothed out. Seeing the sons of some of the worlds finest heroes battle villains is hilarious. To me, I read this as those particular villains are so corny that young kids can destroy them. On the other hand, you can view it as the pair being so great together, that they can destroy top-tier villains. Either way, I would recommend reading this series. Damian and Jon are pure comic relief, yet, they have the potential to become true heroes within the DC Universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Challenge of the Super Sons (2020) #3

Jun 9, 2021

Final Thoughts:In Challenge of the Super Sons #3 Tomasi provides a few epic moments. Besides our heroes being swallowed by a magical creature, I enjoyed seeing the duo utilize their respective skillsets. Jonathan is his fathers son through and through (he refused to kill birds with an ancient poison) while Damian embodies the brutal part of Batman. For the first time, I would not recommend picking up this issue and that is ONLY because you will need to have had read the preceding issues to understand what is taking place. Issue #3 is not a good starting place. Now, if you have been keeping up with Challenge of the Super Sons, then yes. Go ahead and pick up this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Challenge of the Super Sons (2020) #4

Jul 13, 2021

Savage Fate:Every time, I read Challenge of the Super Sons by Peter J. Tomasi, I know that I will be reading an entertaining story. Challenge of the Super Sons #4 did not fail to deliver the entertainment value of the characters. The way these two go at it, could put their fathers to shame. Whereas I have a love/hate issue with these dynamics, this issue kind of skipped a beat by utilizing the same formula for the narrative thus far. With that being said, lets dive into what made this comic an alright issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.9
Crime Syndicate (2021) #2

Apr 8, 2021

Honestly, you could either read this issue OR skip it for now. Certain stories (such as this one) make a lot of sense when you do a binge-read session. Either way, I am hooked and am patiently waiting for issue 3! Lastly, this almost serves as an answer to that James Gunn and Kenneth Huang movie Bright Burn. If you have NOT seen it, go ahead and venture to your local Blockbuster and rent it today Just kidding, stream it somewhere! It has been out since 2019. Happy reading! 

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Deadpool (2019): Nerdy 30 #1

Mar 11, 2021

Overall, if you're a Deadpool fan, check this comic out. If you are new to the character, you may be slightly confused as Deadpool does not read like a traditional comic. He is all over the place. However, in the end, it is worth it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Fantastic Four: Life Story #1

May 18, 2021

Final Thoughts:I know the basics of the FF. The core basics. Issue #1 of Russells The Fantastic Four: Life Story has begun to help me understand the charm of the FF. They are Marvels First Family for a reason. Heck, they are arguably, the beginning of the cosmic side of Marvel. From what I have read so far, they have some amazing family dynamics. Russells writing along with the one-two punch of both Izaakse and Woodard is enough to snag any skeptical reader. Overall, I would recommend this issue to anyone who wants to understand the basis of the FF OR who loves the characters in general. You will not be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Future State (2021): Dark Detective #3

Feb 10, 2021

These two stories are the latest in an amazing set up for the DC Universe. My main question is how. How did we get here? What is the full story that leads us down this path? Maybe this is taking place in one of the numerous multiverses, but either way, I am ready for the ride. I would 100% recommend you pick up this issue, sit back, and enjoy it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Marauders #20

May 5, 2021

This issue promises that there is much more to come from Storm. I highly recommend picking up Marauders #20. This is a Storm centric issue. It is"it is a heartwarming comedy that reminds us why Storm was once worshipped as a goddess.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Marauders #21

Jun 2, 2021

Something is missing in this issue. Something big happens, BUT what is it? What I am guessing, is that it will be revealed in one of the other Hellfire Gala Books. Marauders #21sets the stage for what is sure to be a new feather in X-History. Everything from the White Queen, the outfits, the hustle and bustle in the kitchen, etc., is perfect! Overall, I would recommend picking up this issue. Something big is going to take place in the Marvel Universe and it starts here!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Marauders #22

Jul 21, 2021

I need more issues like Marauders #22 by Gerry Duggan. After a lukewarm #21, the creative team rebounded nicely and provided us with deep X-Cuts and an entire world of new possibilities. Check this issue out. If you are a fan of the Hellfire Club, Emma Frost, Gerry Duggan, OR the Marauders. This issue does not disappoint.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
New Mutants (2019) #19

Jun 17, 2021

New Mutants #19 by Vita Ayala shows the calm in the middle of the Reign of X. We do not often see a reunion of our favorite teams too often (i.e., the O5, X-Factor, Gen X, etc.). With the support of the art team, Vita did an amazing job orchestrating a true New Mutants reunion without trying to create something new. If you can, I would recommend picking up this issue. Hopefully, reading #19 will lead you to wonder what they were all like when they were a team. If so, check out the New Mutants Omni. You will not be disappointed either way!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Robin (2021) #1

Apr 29, 2021

Final Thoughts:My biggest complaint about this story is that it was too dang short! I wanted more. DC has spoiled us during these last few months with the mammoth undertaking of the Infinite Universe. In some cases, we were treated to 3 full stories in one issue. On one hand, I am happy that they have returned to the one story status quo. On the other hand, for a comic like this, I would love to see some type of back story. Damian Wayne needs to belong to DCs Black Label. We need full-on cursing, blood, and guts with any story he is a part of. I would 1000% recommend picking up this comic. You will not be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Robin (2021) #2

May 26, 2021

I would recommend you pick up this issue. Robin #2 by Williamson may not be as strong as the first issue, but it is still amazing. I am amped to see what happens in the rest of the series. Right now, Williamson is still setting the stage for the blood bath that is sure to follow. It would be interesting to DC put out a yearly (or bi yearly) Lazarus Pit mini series. Seeing some of our favorite brawlers and other heroes without powers duke it out, is a nice change of pace. Oh, and DC, let Jason Todd and Damian have their own Black Label series. That would be brilliant.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Robin (2021) #3

Jun 23, 2021

Robin #3 by Joshua Williamson is my favorite issue of the series thus far. My ONLY complaint is that I read it within 10 minutes! We need more pages! I would have had loved to see Willamson write this series, under the DC Black Label. The entire premise of DCs Fight Club to Damian Wayne being the main character would be brilliant under that line. If you are on the edge about diving into Robin, it is not too late to do so. With amazing artwork, great character dialogue, and amazing world-building, this just may be the start of some of the best character development of Gothams Lil sweet potato pie!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Silk (2021) #1

Mar 29, 2021

This was a fun read. It reminded me of sunny Saturdays in 2006 (the before time right) when the main thing I had to worry about was a 6th grade English essay. This comic felt familiar and safe.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Teen Titans (2016) #1

May 2, 2021

Final Thoughts:This was the beginning of an amazing run on the Teen Titans. Very rarely, do we have writers who can breathe life into a mediocre series. Johns was able to accomplish this and then some. Johns set the standard with the Titans and merged the old with the new. The best way to read this comic would be via DC Infinite. If you are lucky to come across number one (or you have the money to buy the omi or trade) pick it up. Johns is a phenomenal writer, and this arc proves it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Batman & Scooby-Doo Mysteries #1

Apr 15, 2021

I love Cohens writing on this issue. He simply copied and pasted the lingo that would have had been heard on one of those classic tv episodes. Now do not get me wrong, this was the chefs kiss with this issue. When I am reading a comic with two of my FAVORITE pop-cultural icons, I do not necessarily want the artists interpretation of what they should sound like (especially since he is pulling material from the past). Between Cohen and Brizuela, I could hear the laugh track and the sound effects of Scooby-Doo. I felt like I was reading one of the episodessans special guest star Don Knotts or Phyllis Diller!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
The Batman & Scooby-Doo Mysteries #2

May 12, 2021

How can you not like Scooby-Doo and Batman? Thus far, this series is the perfect amalgam of the two pop culture icons.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Batman & Scooby-Doo Mysteries #3

Jun 9, 2021

Thus far, we have witnessed various members of Batmans Rogue Gallery interact with Mystery Inc. Batman has so many layers that you can take a former lawyer and make him want to kidnap a German Shepard because it has a double coat. It works and lends itself well to the overall narrative. With a self-contained storyline coupled with various character team-ups, this was a solid issue. Granted, I am not a fan of Two-Face per se, so I would say you could skip this issue. But I am a major fan of Scooby-Doo, so go ahead and give The Batman and Scooby-Doo Mysteries #3 a shot!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
The Batman & Scooby-Doo Mysteries #4

Jul 13, 2021

Final Thoughts:Yes. Just yes. I would 100% recommend reading the Batman and Scooby-Doo Mysteries #4 by Sholly Fisch. The writing is this issue is top-notch and we are finally introduced to Nightwing and Batgirl. The style of the Bat-Family seems to be that of the Bruce Timm Universe and that is another pro for this story. If you have yet to check it out, do so at your earliest convenience! You will not be disappointed!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Truth & Justice (2021) #4

Jun 17, 2021

Truth and Justice #4 is an epic story arc for Jason Todd. It is riddled with revenge, envy, anger, sadness, and hope. Overall, if you are on the hunt to read an emotional and raw story, this is the issue for you. Jason Todd is one of the most real heroes we have out there, and this issue solidifies it. I would 100% recommend picking it up. You will not be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Uncanny X-Men (1963) #186

May 23, 2021

Arguably, since the initial Phoenix stories, death and rebirth work hand in hand within the X-Universe. When one dies, they are also reborn. This theme is in full swing with the current Krakoa era of the X-Men where death is more so a game for several of the mutants. In Uncanny X-Men #186, we see the death of Storm BUT witness the rebirth of Ororo. Much like Wonder Woman, if you take away her powers, she is still a warrior. Ororo is still a warrior. This issue served as a great way to understand Ororo not only as a woman but as a mutant. If you can come across this issue pick it up. It is a prime example of why Ororo Munroe is one of the best comic book characters of all time.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Uncanny X-Men (1963) #244

Apr 9, 2021

Over the years, there have been numerous ups and downs in the X-Universe. Right now, between the upcoming Hellfire Gala and the mutants inevitable return to the big screen (and one day the small screen) we are definitely in an up period. Certain characters in the X-Universe speaks to certain eras. For example, Dazzler is an epic 70s/80s pop princess and Jubliee is a total 90s mall rat. Lately, we have not seen much of these characters. Yes, Jubilee is now a vampire mother, and Dazzler performed at a Krakoa party, but they are in no way as dominant as they were in the late 80s early 90s.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Uncanny X-Men (1963) #245

Apr 16, 2021

So, was this a forgettable issue or a memorable entry in the Uncanny line? Well, if you were like me and never really cared to read about the X-Mens Australian years, you would not really care. However, once you read this issue, you will remember it. This was a light-hearted issue that was chocked full of various pop culture references. In fact, it was so full of references, that I had to read a list of everyone who made a cameo! With Leifeld on pencils proving epic eyebrows for Wolverine, this is a charming comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Uncanny X-Men (1963) #297

May 23, 2021

I love when the X-Men are allowed to be people. Uncanny X-Men #297 delivers this and more. This issue ties together the past, the present, and the future in a way that resets the team. The big bad had been defeated, and now they can rest. This issue served as the perfect palate cleanser. I would recommend this issue ONLY if youre in the mood for 90s X-Men nostalgia OR you have just finished reading the X-Cutioners Song arc. Again, it serves as a palate cleanser to the guns and muscle of the 90s X-Men OR even as a reminder of where our mutants have come from.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Wonder Girl (2021) #2

Jul 6, 2021

When you carry a title such as Wonder Girl, there is a certain level of excellence that you inherit. Joness Wonder Girl #2 delivered on the action and left just enough questions, to make you want to read the next issue. If you are a fan of the Amazonian side of DC, I would recommend you pick this issue up. If you are meh on Wonder Woman and her mythos, you are not missing anything too spectacularJust yet. All and all, this series is just getting started and it can go either way!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Worlds' Finest #176

Apr 12, 2021

Final Thoughts:How can you go wrong with classic Silver Age comics? Batman still wears blue and grey, and Superman still uses his stretchy cape. Reading this issue was like taking a hot shower after a cold and rainy day. Stories like these normally wrap up in one issue (a stark contrast from our modern-day story arcs that causes you to constantly read in between the lines). You can truly relax with these issues. It is familiar, light-hearted, and nothing but positive vibes. If you can get your hands on this issue via DC Universe Infinite, do it. It will not be a waste of your time!

View Issue       View Full Review
7
X-Factor (2020) #10

Jun 30, 2021

Honestly, I feel as if the writers lost their steam in X-Factor #10And its understandable. This was their last issue. This issue served more as an ending and a beginning for the X-Universe. Normally, I would say you can skip this issue BUT solely for the ending alone, I would pick up this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
X-Men Unlimited #7

Apr 3, 2021

X-Men Unlimited #7 is a forgotten gem of yesteryear. Fans of these 3 heroes, will find various things that will make them happy. Even though this is a Storm centric issue, Gambit and Jean still have multiple strong moments. Sometimes it is good to take a step back and read those stories that truly outlines our favorite characters. If you have some free time, take a trip to your LCS and pay the $2 to pick up this comic and revisit a beautiful hero team-up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
X-Men: Legends (2021) #3

Apr 27, 2021

You should have picked up this issue by now. It is sooo darn good. I love what Marvel is doing with the X-Men. Paying homage to writing legends and allowing them to close certain plotlines while pushing the mythos forward is genius. I would love for Marvel to continue doing this. The X-Men have been consistently inconsistent for so long, that this could be a long-term series. Bringing the Simonson's back into the X-Fold was a brilliant move. I 100% recommend this issue and this entire series. We are revisiting the stories that make Marvel's Merry Mutant"marvelous!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
X-Men: Legends (2021) #4

Jun 23, 2021

X-Men Legends #4 by Louise and Walter Simonson is a masterclass in capturing a specific era and feel of a comic. We were able to take revisit the original X-Factor team and look at a few missing pieces of their puzzle. This comic serves as a reminder of how far not only comics have come, but the X-Men as well. If you have read X-men Legends #3, I would recommend picking up this issue. If you have not read issue #3, I would recommend you do so before reading this issue. Lastly, for any fans of the OG X-Factor or the O5 X-Men, this is a great nostalgic read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
X-Men: Legends (2021) #5

Jul 19, 2021

As I stated earlier, I have not read too many issues from Peter David's X-Factor run. After reading X-Men Legends #5, I can say that I potentially need to buy the omnibus when it comes out (late this year or early next year). The senate hearing model coupled with the blatant disdain towards mutants serves as a perfect reminder of how mutants are still viewed (even today). If you are either a fan of Peter David OR if you have never dived into his X-Factor run, now is this time to do so with X-Men Legends #5. You will not be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

July

June

More