Cody White's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Watch Reviews: 71
8.6Avg. Review Rating

8.2
Batman (2016) #1

Sep 30, 2018

Not a perfect book, but an excellent start to a series and an imprint that each contains an infinite amount of potential moving forward. Even if you have to get a censored copy, I highly recommend picking this book up.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Captain America (2017) #701

May 9, 2018

Unless this arc takes a shocking turn somewhere along the way, I doubt it will go down as something fans will be talking about years, or even months from now, but not all comics need to be groundbreaking. I have hopes that, as Promised Land develops, it will get better, but if it stays the course, it will still be a fun, although throwaway, story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Captain America (2017) #702

May 23, 2018

In the last issue (Captain America #701), the focus of the narrative was unclear, leading to what appeared to be a highlight forum for some high-profile artists to get to do Captain America sequences set in a story with no real consequences. With part 2, however, the story gains some much-needed traction and becomes reminiscent of some of Waids more prestigious work. I am very much looking forward to seeing what comes next.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Captain America (2017) #703

Jun 14, 2018

I may have set myself up for failure here, given that I spent a large part of the week writing a Kingdom Come review, which you should check out if you havent!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Captain America (2017) #704

Jun 26, 2018

The arc was okay. It was fine. Not great, not awful. Mostly forgettable, sadly, but not every arc can knock you on your butt and change the way you look at the world. That said, next up: Ta-Nehisi Coates!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Captain America (2018) #1

Jul 7, 2018

I wish I could keep this review open for editing for weeks. I have now read the issue four times through, and each time, I come away with new questions. The establishment of the current national discourse between the US and Russia could be a doctoral dissertation in and of itself. As it stands, though, I will leave it here and revisit next month as the picture comes clearer into frame.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Captain America (2018) #2

Aug 9, 2018

A masterful first two issues that reminds readers from all walks of life what power can be held in the magic of comics narrative.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Captain America (2018) #3

Sep 8, 2018

Another excellent entry in what is sure to be a historic run for the Sentinel of Liberty.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Captain America (2018) #4

Oct 20, 2018

If you are among the throngs of fans that are turned off by hamfisted political commentary, I would urge you to readCaptain America with an open mind. If you want to see a liberal boogeyman here, I'm certain you can convince yourself of its presence, but the multi-layer narrative actually may be the most bi-partisan (or perhaps anti-partisan) text to be found in comics today.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Captain America (2018) #5

Nov 19, 2018

Captain Americacontinues to astound, month in and month out. A highly anticipated book that has lived up to the hype.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Captain America (2018) Annual #1

Sep 30, 2018

This issue wont change your life, but its definitely worth a read. A pleasant surprise from a writer I only know by reputation and an art team I couldnt quite wrap my head around working together well. A solid book all around.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Cover (2018) #1

Sep 9, 2018

Cover is a masterful book with which I found no flaws. Jump on board now and witness history in the making.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Cover (2018) #2

Oct 25, 2018

Coveris a modern masterpiece, entangling both a sharp global social commentary with an intriguing look inside the comics industry. There are moments that are simultaneously self-aggrandizing and self-depreciating, striking a beautiful balance that is punctuated by exceptional artwork.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.9
Cover (2018) #3

Nov 22, 2018

Coverremains one of the more remarkable books I've read this year. An instant classic built from a blend of spiritualism and realism, the absurd and the commonplace.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Cursed Comics Cavalcade #1

Oct 31, 2018

As with most anthologies, there were some real winners and also some misfires in this one. The highs were incredibly high, however, while the lowlights were all still fine if forgettable stories. With a fairly steep price tag, we wouldn't recommend this volume toeverybodybut I would recommend it to most. It was interesting how many of the stories ended on a high note, with no real sense of lasting dread, but all in all, we enjoyed this volume quite a bit.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Dead Man Logan #1

Nov 28, 2018

A book many have been looking forward to and simultaneously dreading,Dead Man Logan#1 delivers on all counts as we begin our long goodbye to Old Man Logan.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Deathstroke (2016) #30

Apr 9, 2018

Priest continues his tour de force with Deathstroke and promises much more to come. Deathstroke continues to be an underrated series, and I fear greatly for its cancellation in the near future, but for now, I will live in the moment and enjoy the ride while it lasts.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Deathstroke (2016) #31

May 8, 2018

The running joke in this issue about Bruces overly-complicated explanations for how he figured things out as a cover for actually very simple processes was comedic gold that deserves to be applied to a regular Batman book. If Priest is so inclined, Id welcome him on any Bat-Family book he wanted to write. That is, in no way, a knock on King or Tynion IV, both of whom I think are doing a marvelous job, but Im ready to see Priest move in and shake things up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Deathstroke (2016) #32

Jun 14, 2018

Carlo Pagulayan & Roberto Viacaras artwork on this series continues to be stunning. I wanted to make sure I didnt leave that out, even though I didnt have any particular revelations associated with it this month.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Deathstroke (2016) #33

Jul 8, 2018

The recall of Operation Gibraltar as the source of the name for the bioweapon featured in this tale felt a little too off-hand yet deliberate at the same time. Perhaps it is a clue to the mystery? It would seem like anything involving Vietnam could be pointing towards Rose making an appearance soon, as she is the only one of Slades children who has not had some impact on the story thus far.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Deathstroke (2016) #34

Aug 6, 2018

The art team continues to be absolutely stunning in their execution.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Deathstroke (2016) #35

Sep 8, 2018

As we bid farewell to Deathstroke vs. Batman, a beautiful and often surprising arc, we find ourselves preparing to return to present-day Deathstroke, which finds Slade Arkham bound.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Deathstroke (2016) #36

Oct 7, 2018

An interesting and exciting start to a new story arc,Deathstroke#36 is a book worth picking up. If you haven't been readingPriest'sDeathstrokealready (shame on you!), this issue marks a pretty solid starting point for new readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Deathstroke (2016) #37

Nov 16, 2018

Not a statement I often use, but this arc may actually read better in trade format. It is interesting and engaging, but difficult to follow up to this point.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Doomsday Clock #7

Oct 3, 2018

We have finally reached the point in which this series begins to make sense in terms of merging the two sets of characters into a shared universe, for however brief a time that may end up being.Doomsday Clock#7 strives for greatness and delivers on all counts.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Doomsday Clock #8

Dec 5, 2018

A series that changes the landscape of comics narrative, Doomsday Clock is a once in a generation series that lives up to the hype.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Flash (2016) #45

Apr 28, 2018

The Road to Flash War begins with issue #46, so if youre late to the party, pick up this issue and The Flash Annual #1 and youll be in good shape. This issue marks an excellent jumping on point for new readers. And if there is one thing Ive learned in 30 or so years of reading comics, Flash Fact: you should always be reading Flash, because no major event in the DCU doesnt pass through these pages in some capacity.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Flash (2016) #46

May 13, 2018

I have truly enjoyed the past several issues of The Flash, and as a longtime fan, I am worried about what comes next for Barry and Wally, but I can't wait to see what Williamson and company have in store for us. This title has really hit its stride, banking on an emotional core and a nostalgic draw that Williamson executes extremely well. And how about that GORGEOUS variant cover from Mattina? Be still my beating heart!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Flash (2016) #47

May 29, 2018

If Ive said it once, Ive said it once, Ive said it a million timeseverybody should be reading The Flash. Doomsday Clock may be getting all of the hype, but the role of this series and the outstanding work being done by Williamson and the gang cannot be overstated.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Flash (2016) #48

Jun 16, 2018

The combination of Williamson and Porter is a force of nature.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Flash (2016) #49

Jun 28, 2018

If ever I could bring myself to levy a complaint against this arc, it would be that there was no reference at all to the fate of Iris and Wallace, and with the impending Flash mnage a Trois, there is a high likelihood that there wont be room in the next issue to address it either.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Flash (2016) #50

Jul 19, 2018

All in all, a much-hyped event that lived up to the hype, "Flash War" will go on to shape the DCU for the next few years.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Flash (2016) #51

Jul 27, 2018

This run of Flash has been remarkable, and not only for the outrageous action moments, but the truly well-crafted and heartfelt issues that have set this series apart from many others. It is clear that the love for these characters that we feel as fans are matched only by the love felt for them by the creative team. To be capable of setting aside the two major reveals at the end of #50 and turn the attention of the readers inward is the mark of a truly great team.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Flash (2016) #52

Aug 15, 2018

I have a feeling that, as this arc develops, the focus and magnitude will grow, but for now, its a fun arc that doesnt feel quite as powerful as weve grown accustomed to lately. Weve clearly been spoiled.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Flash (2016) #53

Aug 26, 2018

There are big things happening in Central City, but with so many mysteries arising, I am somewhat concerned with the future of the series. Where is Bart and when will we see him again? Who is the prisoner of Iron Heights in the 25th century, and are the rest of the Renegades alive? Who is Cold, really? What secrets does Iris still hide not only from Barry but from us as well? The coming months seem like a crucial time in the Flash mythos.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.9
Flash (2016) #54

Sep 19, 2018

The idea of all the forces possibly being rooted in movement is intriguing and something to track moving forward, but the biggest question at hand currently is: Who is Commander Cold?

View Issue       View Full Review
5.2
Flash (2016) #55

Oct 7, 2018

I am a long-time believer thatThe Flash is a must-read title if you are following any of the DCU titles, but at this moment in time, the series is clearly in a rut and struggling to find its way out.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.4
Flash (2016) #56

Oct 20, 2018

This issue marks the fourth in a row that I just have not found much to enjoy. Hopefully, after this short arc, we will see a return to the quality levels this team and this book are capable of.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.4
Flash (2016) #57

Nov 5, 2018

Another month and another issue ofFlash.Hopefully, with these short Force arcs behind us and Force Quest ahead, we'll see Williamson and company return to form.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Flash (2016) #58

Nov 19, 2018

Barry Allen may be "out of step" butThe Flashis back on its feet after a rough couple of months. "Force Quest" has all the potential to put this series right back among the elite DC books.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Flash (2016) #59

Dec 1, 2018

"Force Quest" continues to be a very interesting arc with gorgeously smooth art. Flash is on his way back to the top of the DCU!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Green Arrow (2016) #40

May 10, 2018

I felt like the story was enjoyable but wish there had been a clearer resolution for the children of Vakhar. Nothing could have been written in a clearer balance/counter-balance to give the issues a bit more poignancy, rather than ending in a world of black and white. Takaras highly stylized art threw me off-balance at first, but I have come to really appreciate it on this arc and look forward to seeing what comes next.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Green Arrow (2016) #41

Jun 16, 2018

A nice offering from a creative team I was unfamiliar with. Worth picking up as you wait for #43, but if you choose to pass it over, you wont be worse for wear for missing it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Green Arrow (2016) #42

Jul 9, 2018

What began as a filler arc turned into something special. With a few minor tweaks to pacing and framing, this arc could have been Eisner material. As it stands, it was very good and definitely worth a read!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Arrow (2016) #43

Aug 2, 2018

It was a slower start than I expected, but thats not a bad thing. I can see seeds being laid that show the potential for this story to grow and develop over time in a way that has almost been lost in modern comics, which is something I can absolutely appreciate. I do have a feeling that this run may read at its best as a binge-read, but time will tell. Tune in next month!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Green Arrow (2016) #44

Sep 14, 2018

Im hedging my bets with this months rating, erring low with the understanding that eventually, this could become an arc that I cherish. I want to have the utmost faith in writers that I have come to greatly respect, but editorial oversight can and has muted potential in the past, so I will remain reserved and see where the arc goes from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Green Arrow (2016) #45

Oct 8, 2018

In an era of comics where death holds very little power over our favorite costumed heroes, Julie and Shawna Benson craft a tale of finality that leaves the reader with enough closure to feel like this time, he may not return to us.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Green Arrow (2016) #46

Nov 20, 2018

As we barrel towards the conclusion of the Julie and Shawna Benson's tenure onGreen Arrow, we see a story teetering on the line between greatness and forgettable.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Green Arrow (2016) Annual #2

Jun 17, 2018

If I thought No Justice lived up to the hype, this would undoubtedly be a 10/10 issue for me. As it stands, it was an issue that elevated a writing team and an artist that I previously respected into a circle where I will be in on any project they hang their hats on. If Carmen wants to chronicle a series that illustrates the life of a New York City trash can, Ill be on time for that. If the Bensons want to write a 200-page opus to paint drying on a wall? Sign me up.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hawkman (2018) #1

Jun 16, 2018

Hawkman hit the ground running. I came into this issue with no expectations, but now that the bar has been raised, it will be exciting and interesting to see what Venditti and Hitch do for an encore.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hawkman (2018) #2

Jul 21, 2018

Hands down my favorite solo series launch since the first wave of Rebirth titles, Hawkman is busy crafting what appears to be a tale of epic proportions. Epic in the classical sense.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hawkman (2018) #3

Aug 12, 2018

Im sure some of you out there are reading these reviews, 10/10 over and over again, and calling me a Fanboy. Ill take it. Ill even embrace it. The entire Hawkman team is in sync in a way that seems rare in modern comics, and Hawkman continues to be one of the quietly best books in the mainstream market today.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Hawkman (2018) #4

Sep 20, 2018

The return of Hawkman and Atom, a mainstay of yet another bygone era of comics, should certainly get fans excited for what is to come, as Awakenings comes to a close. What could the next arc bring?

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hawkman (2018) #5

Oct 13, 2018

If you're in the group of comics readers that isn't buying this series (and based on the sales figures of about 27k sold for #4, that's a lot of you), run-- don't walk-- to your LCS and putHawkmanon your pull list. You'd be hard pressed to find a more thoughtful, fun, and beautiful comic on the shelves right now. What a great time to be alive!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Hawkman (2018) #6

Nov 18, 2018

Hawkmancontinues to expand on the rich mythology of the character, taking Carter to all-new heights.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.2
Heroes In Crisis #1

Oct 2, 2018

Given the long and storied history the word Crisis carries in the DCU, I had much higher expectations from this issue. It is difficult to judge a 5-part series from the first issue, but as it stands, the path established for this series doesn't look promising.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.8
Heroes In Crisis #2

Nov 4, 2018

Amidst moments of brilliance, King fails to craft a cohesive and sensible enough narrative to sustain a Crisis-Level event. For many readers, the brilliance of Mann's artwork may not be enough to pull this series up by its bootstraps and elevate it to the level of the hype.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Heroes In Crisis #3

Nov 28, 2018

Heroes in Crisis#3 is probably the best installment to date but the series still feels lacking the gravitas of a major event and thus continues to confound readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Ice Man (2018) #1

Sep 18, 2018

Iceman is a fun, mutant romp that promises buddy cop action and a clear direction, although lacks the punch of the previous series and its exploration of Bobbys inner workings, growth, and exploration.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Marvel Knights: 20th #1

Nov 8, 2018

In a crowded market during a crowded release week, it's very possible for this issue to slip under your radar. Don't let that happen. It's time to dig out those old Marvel Knights comics and celebrate!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Marvel Knights: 20th #2

Nov 22, 2018

A well-crafted story that reads like a love letter to the storied history of Marvel Knights.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Old Man Logan (2016) #50

Nov 1, 2018

There was a time where I let my pile ofOld Man Loganissues grow until it was an intimidating project to tackle. That was my mistake, but now that I have caught up, I'm happy to be able to share with you a wonderful close to this chapter in the saga of Old Man Logan.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Shazam! (2018) #1

Dec 6, 2018

Johns, Eaglesham and company capture "lightning in a bottle" with the first issue ofSHAZAM!--a must read book for old fans and new ones alike!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Stranger Things #1

Aug 29, 2018

With nearly a month before its release, Stranger Things should be on the pull list of any fan of the show, as well as fans of the genre in general. If you like strong narrative and clean, beautiful imagery, Stranger Things is just the series for you!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Stranger Things #2

Nov 3, 2018

Stranger Thingsis a must-read for fans of the show as it works to answer questions burning in the hearts of the most dedicated. If you aren't a fan of the show, there is a chance this comic will fall flat for you, despite how well it is crafted, simply based on the way it speaks directly to fans without offering repetitive narrative from the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.6
Stranger Things #3

Dec 9, 2018

Stranger Thingsis a pleasant but dominantly unnecessary series that is a must read for a die-hard fans of the show but passable by the casual observer.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
X-Men (2013) #1

Aug 26, 2018

Apologies to Tom Taylor if I came off as overly critical today. He has set the bar extremely high with absolutely stellar storytelling thus far, so it is his own fault, really!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-Men: Red (2018) #4

May 31, 2018

My waning struggles with the artistic style aside, this particular issue makes impressive strides in its move to globalize the X-Men in a way that has been seemingly absent for a few years, between the retreat into Limbo and the subsequent move to Central Park. The introduction of sentites is an interesting spin on a time-tested trope, but moving forward, the real test will be in the execution and handling of said trope (how is it different from similar devices?).

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-Men: Red (2018) #5

Jun 7, 2018

This issue marks Mahmud Asrars last issue with the series, yielding way for the absolutely electric Carmen Carnero. Watch for the sharpest book in the X-Universe to leap into the stratosphere next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
X-Men: Red (2018) #6

Jul 20, 2018

A nearly perfect issue of an already powerful series. If it isnt already immensely clear, I am extremely happy to have Carmen Carnero on board!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
X-Men: Red (2018) Annual #1

Jun 1, 2018

I will echo what I'm already starting to see across the internet as I write this on release day: X-Men: Red Annual #1 is my front-runner for the single comic of the year thus far. I intentionally tried to not spoil too many of the more touching moments experienced here, because one should not rob others of that beauty if it can be helped.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

December

November

More