Cody White's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Watch Reviews: 168
8.3Avg. Review Rating

9.6
Age Of X-Man: Apocalypse & The X-Tracts #1

Mar 14, 2019

Apocalypse and the X-tracts is a series off to a fast start and fires on all cylinders. The best book of Age of X-Man thus far.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Age Of X-Man: Apocalypse & The X-Tracts #2

Apr 15, 2019

Apocalypse and the X-Tracts #2takes the purity felt in the first and issue and subverts it here for the reader making this one of the most compelling of the five mini-series thus far.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Age Of X-Man: Apocalypse & The X-Tracts #3

May 16, 2019

Apocalypse and the X-Tracts #3 is a beautifully rendered book that is operating both at base and high levels of conceptual interpretation.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.9
Age Of X-Man: Prisoner X #1

Mar 8, 2019

Age of X-Man: Prisoner X #1 starts, not with a bang, but a whisper. The prison of the mind appears the most clear and present danger.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Age Of X-Man: Prisoner X #2

Apr 9, 2019

Lucas Bishop continues to push against the walls of the false reality he finds himself in, inAge of X-Man: Prisoner X #2.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Age Of X-Man: Prisoner X #3

May 6, 2019

Prisoner X continues to be perhaps the most crucial series in the "Age of X-Man" event as it uncovers the dirty underbelly of what it takes to make a Utopia function.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Age Of X-Man: Prisoner X #4

Jun 11, 2019

Age of X-Man: Prisoner X nears its conclusion as Bishop manages to raise an army of political prisoners and fight back!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Archie (2015) #703

Apr 3, 2019

It is 2019 and I am here to say that Archie Comics' flagship title,Archie, is worth your time and your money. A well-crafted narrative with perfectly suited art that doesn't stoop or pander in its efforts to deliver a relevant Archie story in the modern era of comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.9
Archie (2015) #704

May 11, 2019

A fun book for new and long-time fans of the Riverdale kids alike.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Avengers (2018) #1

Feb 16, 2019

Avengers: No Road Home #1is a fascinating start to what could be the surprise hit of the year.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Batman (2016) #1

Sep 30, 2018

Not a perfect book, but an excellent start to a series and an imprint that each contains an infinite amount of potential moving forward. Even if you have to get a censored copy, I highly recommend picking this book up.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Captain America (2017) #701

May 9, 2018

Unless this arc takes a shocking turn somewhere along the way, I doubt it will go down as something fans will be talking about years, or even months from now, but not all comics need to be groundbreaking. I have hopes that, as Promised Land develops, it will get better, but if it stays the course, it will still be a fun, although throwaway, story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Captain America (2017) #702

May 23, 2018

In the last issue (Captain America #701), the focus of the narrative was unclear, leading to what appeared to be a highlight forum for some high-profile artists to get to do Captain America sequences set in a story with no real consequences. With part 2, however, the story gains some much-needed traction and becomes reminiscent of some of Waids more prestigious work. I am very much looking forward to seeing what comes next.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Captain America (2017) #703

Jun 14, 2018

I may have set myself up for failure here, given that I spent a large part of the week writing a Kingdom Come review, which you should check out if you havent!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Captain America (2017) #704

Jun 26, 2018

The arc was okay. It was fine. Not great, not awful. Mostly forgettable, sadly, but not every arc can knock you on your butt and change the way you look at the world. That said, next up: Ta-Nehisi Coates!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Captain America (2018) #1

Jul 7, 2018

I wish I could keep this review open for editing for weeks. I have now read the issue four times through, and each time, I come away with new questions. The establishment of the current national discourse between the US and Russia could be a doctoral dissertation in and of itself. As it stands, though, I will leave it here and revisit next month as the picture comes clearer into frame.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Captain America (2018) #2

Aug 9, 2018

A masterful first two issues that reminds readers from all walks of life what power can be held in the magic of comics narrative.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Captain America (2018) #3

Sep 8, 2018

Another excellent entry in what is sure to be a historic run for the Sentinel of Liberty.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Captain America (2018) #4

Oct 20, 2018

If you are among the throngs of fans that are turned off by hamfisted political commentary, I would urge you to readCaptain America with an open mind. If you want to see a liberal boogeyman here, I'm certain you can convince yourself of its presence, but the multi-layer narrative actually may be the most bi-partisan (or perhaps anti-partisan) text to be found in comics today.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Captain America (2018) #5

Nov 19, 2018

Captain Americacontinues to astound, month in and month out. A highly anticipated book that has lived up to the hype.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Captain America (2018) #6

Dec 29, 2018

Stunning art and intelligent writing combine to make "Winter in America" one of the most power and relevant arcs of 2018. The conclusion to the first arc of Coates/Yu era delivers on all fronts.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Captain America (2018) #7

Feb 4, 2019

A dense thought-piece that will enrage some and invigorate many for all the wrong reasons. Coates continues to explore the very DNA of the United States and where our iconography and propaganda stand in the 21st century.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Captain America (2018) #8

Feb 28, 2019

Captain America #8carries forward the story of the one true death of Captain America in marvelous fashion.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Captain America (2018) #9

Apr 8, 2019

"Captain of Nothing" continues to fill readers with a sense of dread as the slow, effective death of Captain America continues before our eyes inCaptain America #9.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Captain America (2018) #10

May 9, 2019

Another excellent chapter ofCaptain Americafrom Coates and Kubert, but what else is new? This series continues to exceed all expectations.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Captain America (2018) Annual #1

Sep 30, 2018

This issue wont change your life, but its definitely worth a read. A pleasant surprise from a writer I only know by reputation and an art team I couldnt quite wrap my head around working together well. A solid book all around.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Captain Marvel (2019): Braver & Mightier #1

Mar 3, 2019

A fun one-off story and an excellent way to create familiarity with the character ahead of the film release,Captain Marvel: Braver & Mightieris a pleasant surprise for new and old fans alike.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Cosmic Ghost Rider Destroys Marvel History #1

Mar 15, 2019

Cosmic Ghost Rider Destroys Marvel History #1was a shockingly well-constructed and heartwarming tale set amid absolute absurdity. A must-read for long-time Frank Castle fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Cosmic Ghost Rider Destroys Marvel History #2

Apr 7, 2019

Cosmic Ghost Rider Destroys Marvel History #2continues to surprise me by blending the lowest forms of comedy with a heartfelt tale of redemption and atonement.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.8
Cosmic Ghost Rider Destroys Marvel History #3

May 5, 2019

Cosmic Ghost Rider Destroys Marvel History #3continues to deliver more of the same. If you enjoyed the first two issues, you'll likely still be on board with this one. If you merely tolerated the first two, then you're probably nearing your breaking point by now.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.6
Cosmic Ghost Rider Destroys Marvel History #4

Jun 22, 2019

Cosmic Ghost Rider #4takes us back in time to WWII, where Frank Castle apparently had an important role to play.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Cover (2018) #1

Sep 9, 2018

Cover is a masterful book with which I found no flaws. Jump on board now and witness history in the making.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Cover (2018) #2

Oct 25, 2018

Coveris a modern masterpiece, entangling both a sharp global social commentary with an intriguing look inside the comics industry. There are moments that are simultaneously self-aggrandizing and self-depreciating, striking a beautiful balance that is punctuated by exceptional artwork.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.9
Cover (2018) #3

Nov 22, 2018

Coverremains one of the more remarkable books I've read this year. An instant classic built from a blend of spiritualism and realism, the absurd and the commonplace.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Cover (2018) #4

Jan 4, 2019

Cover, in terms of the over-arching narrative, continues to be a slow burn. While one could argue that little of interest happens in this issue in terms of pushing the story towards a natural conclusion, the beauty of Cover is not found in the plot, but rather in the delivery.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Cover (2018) #5

Feb 1, 2019

Cover continues to be a formal masterpiece that shows the strength of the medium as it could be in the right hands.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Cover (2018) #6

Mar 21, 2019

Cover #6 is the ending to bravest comics narrative in a generation.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Cursed Comics Cavalcade #1

Oct 31, 2018

As with most anthologies, there were some real winners and also some misfires in this one. The highs were incredibly high, however, while the lowlights were all still fine if forgettable stories. With a fairly steep price tag, we wouldn't recommend this volume toeverybodybut I would recommend it to most. It was interesting how many of the stories ended on a high note, with no real sense of lasting dread, but all in all, we enjoyed this volume quite a bit.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Dead Man Logan #1

Nov 28, 2018

A book many have been looking forward to and simultaneously dreading,Dead Man Logan#1 delivers on all counts as we begin our long goodbye to Old Man Logan.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Dead Man Logan #2

Dec 22, 2018

Dead Man Logan#2 delivers on the promise laid out by #1 as a series worthy of saying farewell to a character that has become a favorite for many fans over the past several years. Brisson and Henderson have incredible synergy.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Dead Man Logan #3

Feb 2, 2019

Dead Man Loganvs The Avengers, in a crossover that Captain America and Jubilee assure us "nobody wants" but still was executed wonderfully!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Dead Man Logan #4

Feb 19, 2019

Dead Man Loganis the best written X-Book on the stands at the moment and that's saying something in an era of X-Resurgence.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Dead Man Logan #5

Mar 25, 2019

Dead Man Logan continues to be a shockingly well-constructed farewell to a character beloved by many and hated by equal numbers.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Dead Man Logan #6

Apr 14, 2019

'Dead Man Logan #6' is a key turning point in the series that fans will not want to miss. Joyous and heart-rending at the same time.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Dead Man Logan #7

May 7, 2019

Return to the Wastelands with Dead Man Logan #7 for a wonderfully crafted tale of dark humor and snacktimes.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Dead Man Logan #8

Jun 14, 2019

Old Man Logan #8sees Logan exposed to a world of new threats that have sprung up in the Wastelands during his seven year absence.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Deathstroke (2016) #30

Apr 9, 2018

Priest continues his tour de force with Deathstroke and promises much more to come. Deathstroke continues to be an underrated series, and I fear greatly for its cancellation in the near future, but for now, I will live in the moment and enjoy the ride while it lasts.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Deathstroke (2016) #31

May 8, 2018

The running joke in this issue about Bruces overly-complicated explanations for how he figured things out as a cover for actually very simple processes was comedic gold that deserves to be applied to a regular Batman book. If Priest is so inclined, Id welcome him on any Bat-Family book he wanted to write. That is, in no way, a knock on King or Tynion IV, both of whom I think are doing a marvelous job, but Im ready to see Priest move in and shake things up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Deathstroke (2016) #32

Jun 14, 2018

Carlo Pagulayan & Roberto Viacaras artwork on this series continues to be stunning. I wanted to make sure I didnt leave that out, even though I didnt have any particular revelations associated with it this month.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Deathstroke (2016) #33

Jul 8, 2018

The recall of Operation Gibraltar as the source of the name for the bioweapon featured in this tale felt a little too off-hand yet deliberate at the same time. Perhaps it is a clue to the mystery? It would seem like anything involving Vietnam could be pointing towards Rose making an appearance soon, as she is the only one of Slades children who has not had some impact on the story thus far.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Deathstroke (2016) #34

Aug 6, 2018

The art team continues to be absolutely stunning in their execution.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Deathstroke (2016) #35

Sep 8, 2018

As we bid farewell to Deathstroke vs. Batman, a beautiful and often surprising arc, we find ourselves preparing to return to present-day Deathstroke, which finds Slade Arkham bound.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Deathstroke (2016) #36

Oct 7, 2018

An interesting and exciting start to a new story arc,Deathstroke#36 is a book worth picking up. If you haven't been readingPriest'sDeathstrokealready (shame on you!), this issue marks a pretty solid starting point for new readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Deathstroke (2016) #37

Nov 16, 2018

Not a statement I often use, but this arc may actually read better in trade format. It is interesting and engaging, but difficult to follow up to this point.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Deathstroke (2016) #38

Dec 23, 2018

Deathstroke: Arkham Asylumstarted at a slow burn but accelerates into a full-blown blaze with this third installment.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Deathstroke (2016) #39

Jan 23, 2019

Only one issue to go in order to determine the level of complexity and the overall execution ofDeathstroke: Arkham.As it stands in this issue, the final verdict could go either way but I'll continue to put my faith in Priest as one of the industry's top talents.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Deathstroke (2016) #40

Feb 22, 2019

Deathstroke #40ends the 'Arkham' arc leading into next month's crossover withTeen Titansbut leaves readers with more questions than answers. At leastthisreader.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Deathstroke (2016) #41

Mar 21, 2019

Deathstroke #41- "Presumed Innocent" is the prologue to "The Terminus Agenda", a six-part crossover event withTeen Titans penned by Priest. It would appear that years of careful planning and execution have all come to this arc! Don't miss out!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Deathstroke (2016) #42

Apr 7, 2019

There is a distinct feeling building in this arc that either "The Terminus Agenda" will fade into the background of the rich history between Deathstroke and the Teen Titans or it will exceed all expectations and change the trajectory of both titles for years to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Deathstroke (2016) #43

May 5, 2019

The conclusion to "The Terminus Agenda" in Deathstroke #43promises a major change in status quo for bothTeen TitansandDeathstroke.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Deathstroke (2016) #44

Jun 14, 2019

Deathstroke #44is a fitting end to the life of Slade Wilson while also contemplating the future. The Terminator is dead; long live the Terminator.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Dial H For Hero (2019) #1

Apr 1, 2019

Dial H for Hero #1starts strong and finishes stronger. The best of the Wonder Comics line to date,Dial His both whimsical and slight terrifying at the same time.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Dial H For Hero (2019) #2

May 4, 2019

Dial H for Hero#2 continues on the momentum of the first issue with fun storytelling and exceptional artwork throughout.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Dial H For Hero (2019) #3

Jun 13, 2019

Dial H for Hero #3 continues to deliver interesting experiments with art and form while also developing the characters, particularly Summer, into something more than just a throw-away name in a wikipedia article.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Doomsday Clock #7

Oct 3, 2018

We have finally reached the point in which this series begins to make sense in terms of merging the two sets of characters into a shared universe, for however brief a time that may end up being.Doomsday Clock#7 strives for greatness and delivers on all counts.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Doomsday Clock #8

Dec 5, 2018

A series that changes the landscape of comics narrative, Doomsday Clock is a once in a generation series that lives up to the hype.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Doomsday Clock #9

Mar 11, 2019

Doomsday Clockticks closer to midnight as the heroes of Earth come face to face with Doctor Manhattan.Doomsday Clockis an epic superhero story for the ages.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Doomsday Clock #10

Jun 10, 2019

Doomsday Clock #10re-evaluates everything we thought we knew about the DC Universe. A must read issue from Geoff Johns and Gary Frank.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Fight Club 3 #1

Jan 31, 2019

Palahniuk, Stewart, McCaig, Piekos, and Mack are back withFight Club 3,a daring comic narrative you need to see to believe.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Flash (2016) #45

Apr 28, 2018

The Road to Flash War begins with issue #46, so if youre late to the party, pick up this issue and The Flash Annual #1 and youll be in good shape. This issue marks an excellent jumping on point for new readers. And if there is one thing Ive learned in 30 or so years of reading comics, Flash Fact: you should always be reading Flash, because no major event in the DCU doesnt pass through these pages in some capacity.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Flash (2016) #46

May 13, 2018

I have truly enjoyed the past several issues of The Flash, and as a longtime fan, I am worried about what comes next for Barry and Wally, but I can't wait to see what Williamson and company have in store for us. This title has really hit its stride, banking on an emotional core and a nostalgic draw that Williamson executes extremely well. And how about that GORGEOUS variant cover from Mattina? Be still my beating heart!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Flash (2016) #47

May 29, 2018

If Ive said it once, Ive said it once, Ive said it a million timeseverybody should be reading The Flash. Doomsday Clock may be getting all of the hype, but the role of this series and the outstanding work being done by Williamson and the gang cannot be overstated.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Flash (2016) #48

Jun 16, 2018

The combination of Williamson and Porter is a force of nature.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Flash (2016) #49

Jun 28, 2018

If ever I could bring myself to levy a complaint against this arc, it would be that there was no reference at all to the fate of Iris and Wallace, and with the impending Flash mnage a Trois, there is a high likelihood that there wont be room in the next issue to address it either.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Flash (2016) #50

Jul 19, 2018

All in all, a much-hyped event that lived up to the hype, "Flash War" will go on to shape the DCU for the next few years.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Flash (2016) #51

Jul 27, 2018

This run of Flash has been remarkable, and not only for the outrageous action moments, but the truly well-crafted and heartfelt issues that have set this series apart from many others. It is clear that the love for these characters that we feel as fans are matched only by the love felt for them by the creative team. To be capable of setting aside the two major reveals at the end of #50 and turn the attention of the readers inward is the mark of a truly great team.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Flash (2016) #52

Aug 15, 2018

I have a feeling that, as this arc develops, the focus and magnitude will grow, but for now, its a fun arc that doesnt feel quite as powerful as weve grown accustomed to lately. Weve clearly been spoiled.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Flash (2016) #53

Aug 26, 2018

There are big things happening in Central City, but with so many mysteries arising, I am somewhat concerned with the future of the series. Where is Bart and when will we see him again? Who is the prisoner of Iron Heights in the 25th century, and are the rest of the Renegades alive? Who is Cold, really? What secrets does Iris still hide not only from Barry but from us as well? The coming months seem like a crucial time in the Flash mythos.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.9
Flash (2016) #54

Sep 19, 2018

The idea of all the forces possibly being rooted in movement is intriguing and something to track moving forward, but the biggest question at hand currently is: Who is Commander Cold?

View Issue       View Full Review
5.2
Flash (2016) #55

Oct 7, 2018

I am a long-time believer thatThe Flash is a must-read title if you are following any of the DCU titles, but at this moment in time, the series is clearly in a rut and struggling to find its way out.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.4
Flash (2016) #56

Oct 20, 2018

This issue marks the fourth in a row that I just have not found much to enjoy. Hopefully, after this short arc, we will see a return to the quality levels this team and this book are capable of.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.4
Flash (2016) #57

Nov 5, 2018

Another month and another issue ofFlash.Hopefully, with these short Force arcs behind us and Force Quest ahead, we'll see Williamson and company return to form.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Flash (2016) #58

Nov 19, 2018

Barry Allen may be "out of step" butThe Flashis back on its feet after a rough couple of months. "Force Quest" has all the potential to put this series right back among the elite DC books.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Flash (2016) #59

Dec 1, 2018

"Force Quest" continues to be a very interesting arc with gorgeously smooth art. Flash is on his way back to the top of the DCU!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Flash (2016) #60

Dec 17, 2018

The Flash #60continues the saga of "Force Quest", raising a few potentially interesting wrinkles into the purpose of the Forces, but not really resolving much of anything.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.9
Flash (2016) #61

Jan 14, 2019

The continued ebb and flow of Williamson's run onThe Flashmakes for an incredibly inconsistent title that I just can't seem to stop reading. I want to know where it goes but the journey is arduous at times.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.6
Flash (2016) #62

Jan 28, 2019

Christian Duce also continues to bring a fresh, clean look to the Scarlet Speedster, however, in the lone real bright spot this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.2
Flash (2016) #63

Feb 7, 2019

'Force Quest' ends as Flash prepares to take a timeout from the Forces in order to team up with Batman for the next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.4
Flash (2016) #64

Feb 15, 2019

A Heroes in Crisis tie-in crossover, Flash #64 picks right up where Batman #64 left off, both in narrative and in execution.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Flash (2016) #65

Mar 2, 2019

"The Price" concludes with little more than a whisper inThe Flash #65.You'll now be returned to your regular scheduled programming.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.7
Flash (2016) #66

Mar 14, 2019

The Flashcontinues to plod along under Williamson's direction. What started out as a run full of promise and excitement has fallen to the depths of a truly forgettable experience, which is, I would say, better than being remembered for being terrible.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.8
Flash (2016) #67

Mar 31, 2019

The Flash #67 continues the trend of taking a top-tier character with a ton of interesting story threads to explore and instead pushing all of the good into a corner and giving us filler instead.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.2
Flash (2016) Annual #2

Feb 11, 2019

Billed as a "must read" for Flash fans,Flash Annual #2plays on questions unanswered while failing to deliver any real substance.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Friendly Neighborhood Spider-Man (2019) #1

Jan 14, 2019

I'm not sure where the over-arching narrative is headed but the charming and endearing writing of Peter by Taylor has me on-board for my first Spider-Man title in over a decade.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Friendly Neighborhood Spider-Man (2019) #2

Jan 29, 2019

Friendly Neighborhood Spider-Manis a must-read title for Spider-Fans and non-fans alike!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Friendly Neighborhood Spider-Man (2019) #3

Feb 23, 2019

Shut up and take my money!Friendly NeighborhoodSpider-Manis one of the best books on the stands today.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Friendly Neighborhood Spider-Man (2019) #4

Mar 22, 2019

Friendly Neighborhood Spider-Manmay not be the Spidey book we deserve but it is certainly the one we need!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Friendly Neighborhood Spider-Man (2019) #5

Apr 11, 2019

Friendly Neighborhood Spider-Man #5 is a must-buy comic regardless of your feeling on the character.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Friendly Neighborhood Spider-Man (2019) #6

May 8, 2019

A wonderfully heartfelt and heartbreaking issue,Friendly Neighborhood Spider-Man #6delivers an unforgettable tale that shatters the barrier between reality and comics fantasy.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Friendly Neighborhood Spider-Man (2019) #7

Jun 16, 2019

Friendly Neighborhood Spider-Man #7continues to deliver on all counts by giving readers a Spider-Man story that matters.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Green Arrow (2016) #40

May 10, 2018

I felt like the story was enjoyable but wish there had been a clearer resolution for the children of Vakhar. Nothing could have been written in a clearer balance/counter-balance to give the issues a bit more poignancy, rather than ending in a world of black and white. Takaras highly stylized art threw me off-balance at first, but I have come to really appreciate it on this arc and look forward to seeing what comes next.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Green Arrow (2016) #41

Jun 16, 2018

A nice offering from a creative team I was unfamiliar with. Worth picking up as you wait for #43, but if you choose to pass it over, you wont be worse for wear for missing it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Green Arrow (2016) #42

Jul 9, 2018

What began as a filler arc turned into something special. With a few minor tweaks to pacing and framing, this arc could have been Eisner material. As it stands, it was very good and definitely worth a read!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Arrow (2016) #43

Aug 2, 2018

It was a slower start than I expected, but thats not a bad thing. I can see seeds being laid that show the potential for this story to grow and develop over time in a way that has almost been lost in modern comics, which is something I can absolutely appreciate. I do have a feeling that this run may read at its best as a binge-read, but time will tell. Tune in next month!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Green Arrow (2016) #44

Sep 14, 2018

Im hedging my bets with this months rating, erring low with the understanding that eventually, this could become an arc that I cherish. I want to have the utmost faith in writers that I have come to greatly respect, but editorial oversight can and has muted potential in the past, so I will remain reserved and see where the arc goes from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Green Arrow (2016) #45

Oct 8, 2018

In an era of comics where death holds very little power over our favorite costumed heroes, Julie and Shawna Benson craft a tale of finality that leaves the reader with enough closure to feel like this time, he may not return to us.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Green Arrow (2016) #46

Nov 20, 2018

As we barrel towards the conclusion of the Julie and Shawna Benson's tenure onGreen Arrow, we see a story teetering on the line between greatness and forgettable.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Green Arrow (2016) #47

Dec 20, 2018

The end of a short-lived era, this issue marks the end of the Benson Sisters' tenure onGreen Arrow and leaves behind a world of possibilities for the Emerald Archer.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Green Arrow (2016) Annual #2

Jun 17, 2018

If I thought No Justice lived up to the hype, this would undoubtedly be a 10/10 issue for me. As it stands, it was an issue that elevated a writing team and an artist that I previously respected into a circle where I will be in on any project they hang their hats on. If Carmen wants to chronicle a series that illustrates the life of a New York City trash can, Ill be on time for that. If the Bensons want to write a 200-page opus to paint drying on a wall? Sign me up.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hawkman (2018) #1

Jun 16, 2018

Hawkman hit the ground running. I came into this issue with no expectations, but now that the bar has been raised, it will be exciting and interesting to see what Venditti and Hitch do for an encore.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hawkman (2018) #2

Jul 21, 2018

Hands down my favorite solo series launch since the first wave of Rebirth titles, Hawkman is busy crafting what appears to be a tale of epic proportions. Epic in the classical sense.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hawkman (2018) #3

Aug 12, 2018

Im sure some of you out there are reading these reviews, 10/10 over and over again, and calling me a Fanboy. Ill take it. Ill even embrace it. The entire Hawkman team is in sync in a way that seems rare in modern comics, and Hawkman continues to be one of the quietly best books in the mainstream market today.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Hawkman (2018) #4

Sep 20, 2018

The return of Hawkman and Atom, a mainstay of yet another bygone era of comics, should certainly get fans excited for what is to come, as Awakenings comes to a close. What could the next arc bring?

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hawkman (2018) #5

Oct 13, 2018

If you're in the group of comics readers that isn't buying this series (and based on the sales figures of about 27k sold for #4, that's a lot of you), run-- don't walk-- to your LCS and putHawkmanon your pull list. You'd be hard pressed to find a more thoughtful, fun, and beautiful comic on the shelves right now. What a great time to be alive!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Hawkman (2018) #6

Nov 18, 2018

Hawkmancontinues to expand on the rich mythology of the character, taking Carter to all-new heights.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Hawkman (2018) #7

Dec 17, 2018

An all-new era starts here asHawkman#7 reveals an updated origin for our winged hero. A perfect jumping on point for new readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Hawkman (2018) #8

Jan 30, 2019

Hawkman continues to be among the best ongoing titles at DC today.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.9
Hawkman (2018) #9

Feb 18, 2019

Hawkmancontinues to be the hottest, most well-constructed book coming from DC Comics right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Hawkman (2018) #10

Mar 20, 2019

Hawkman #10feels like the culmination of all the mythos building Venditti and Hitch have so valiantly done. A truly exceptional issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hawkman (2018) #11

May 2, 2019

Hawkman #11suffers the same fate as so many issues in the latter half of a trade paperback-sized arc, as the narrative stalls a bit with this one. Old Hawkfans will still have fun revisiting a number of new and old incarnations of Hawkman but the story does not move forward in this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hawkman (2018) #12

May 10, 2019

The "Cataclysm" arc ofHawkmanends with #12 and brings with it major changes to the status quo. Run, don't walk, and pick up your copy of Hawkman #12today!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Hawkman (2018) #13

Jun 17, 2019

Join Will Conrad and Robert Venditti for the start of an all-new era inHawkman #13.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.2
Heroes In Crisis #1

Oct 2, 2018

Given the long and storied history the word Crisis carries in the DCU, I had much higher expectations from this issue. It is difficult to judge a 5-part series from the first issue, but as it stands, the path established for this series doesn't look promising.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.8
Heroes In Crisis #2

Nov 4, 2018

Amidst moments of brilliance, King fails to craft a cohesive and sensible enough narrative to sustain a Crisis-Level event. For many readers, the brilliance of Mann's artwork may not be enough to pull this series up by its bootstraps and elevate it to the level of the hype.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Heroes In Crisis #3

Nov 28, 2018

Heroes in Crisis#3 is probably the best installment to date but the series still feels lacking the gravitas of a major event and thus continues to confound readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Heroes In Crisis #4

Jan 11, 2019

It is worth noting that Mann's artwork, the high point of the series and perhaps a high water mark for comics in 2018, seemed rushed in several sequences, particularly the much-debated Batgirl session and the above Donna Troy session. Coupled with the fact that Lee Weeks subbed in for nearly a full issue recently already, it does raise questions as to how well Mann is able to keep up with this title.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.2
Heroes In Crisis #5

Jan 30, 2019

Those of you waiting for the trade will eventually hit this point in the book and have an "ah-ha" moment. For the rest of us, its an "about damn time" moment.

View Issue       View Full Review
1.0
Heroes In Crisis #6

Feb 27, 2019

I have rated this book as low as I have in order to ensure it stays an outlier on the various sites that compile reviews. In reality, my aggregate score would be somewhere around a 5/10 but I acknowledge that the most looked at reviews tend to be the lowest and the highest and I want this review to be looked at because of the issues addressed here.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Ice Man (2018) #1

Sep 18, 2018

Iceman is a fun, mutant romp that promises buddy cop action and a clear direction, although lacks the punch of the previous series and its exploration of Bobbys inner workings, growth, and exploration.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Justice League: Odyssey #7

Apr 5, 2019

Justice League Odysseyis certainly an interesting series thus far, although plot seems to have stalled heavily in this latest issue despite valiant efforts to tie everything together from the creative team.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League: Odyssey #8

Apr 20, 2019

Justice League Odysseyis the most skipable Justice League series in decades. Bland characters, bland story. But the art is really nice.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.8
Justice League: Odyssey #9

May 12, 2019

Perhaps I'm over analyzing the speech in a desperate search for meaning in an otherwise dull read, but it would seem Abnett is using the Ghost Sector as a metaphor for comics fandom. With fandom becoming more and more an “Us vs. Them” environment, there seems to be a veiled call to unite within the sanctuary of comics here. Or maybe it is just my imagination running wild.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Justice League: Odyssey #10

Jun 18, 2019

Justice League Odyssey #10is yet another lackluster showing in which very little happens, but what does happen is discussed at length with no conclusions drawn.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Marvel Knights: 20th #1

Nov 8, 2018

In a crowded market during a crowded release week, it's very possible for this issue to slip under your radar. Don't let that happen. It's time to dig out those old Marvel Knights comics and celebrate!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Marvel Knights: 20th #2

Nov 22, 2018

A well-crafted story that reads like a love letter to the storied history of Marvel Knights.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Marvel Knights: 20th #3

Dec 16, 2018

Cates' love letter to Marvel Knights continues and long-time fans of the work done by the imprint over the last 20 years will not be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Marvel Knights: 20th #4

Jan 5, 2019

Marvel Knights 20thcontinues to be a beautiful examination of a by-gone era for Marvel Comics. Hope springs eternal as Cates gathers some of the hottest industry talent to revisit this era of story-driven, character-centric narratives.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.3
Marvel Knights: 20th #5

Jan 15, 2019

With the conclusion nigh, nothing is as it seems in Marvel Knights 20th #5.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Marvel Knights: 20th #6

Feb 12, 2019

A beautiful conclusion to a wonderful mini-series. Marvel Knights 20 this the series you didn't remember you wanted.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Meet The Skrulls #1

Mar 13, 2019

Meet the Skrullsis an entertaining, if slow-paced, start to what could be a sleeper (no pun intended) hit mini-series that takes full advantage of the Skrulls' new-found visibility in today's market.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Meet The Skrulls #2

Mar 29, 2019

Meet the Skrulls#2continues to deliver a poignant and complex narrative of displaced peoples and the struggles they face.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Meet The Skrulls #3

May 3, 2019

This powerful and relatable narrative continues as we watch the effects of trauma play out amongst the Warner Family inMeet the Skrulls #3.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Meet The Skrulls #4

May 8, 2019

The surprisingly insightful and well crafted mini-seriesMeet the Skrullsnears its conclusion with this episode of family drama and spy intrigue that is a must read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.1
Meet The Skrulls #5

Jun 21, 2019

The finale ofMeet the Skrullsis here with shocking revelations, answers, and farewells.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Merry X-Men Holiday Special #1

Dec 25, 2018

A fun anthology that is a must-read for all X-Fans. The talent collected here is exceptional!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Mysteries of Love in Space #1

Feb 14, 2019

An interesting collection of "love stories" from across the universe,Mysteries of Love in Space #1is not the best holiday collection DC has released in recent memory, but it has its highs.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Old Man Logan (2016) #50

Nov 1, 2018

There was a time where I let my pile ofOld Man Loganissues grow until it was an intimidating project to tackle. That was my mistake, but now that I have caught up, I'm happy to be able to share with you a wonderful close to this chapter in the saga of Old Man Logan.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Planet of the Nerds #2

Jun 19, 2019

AHOY is pouring a lot of love into their books and it shows, from the strong storytelling and art to the addition of prose short stories and poetry.Planet of the Nerdsis a fascinating study of what comics in the 21st centurycanbe and is definitely worthy of your pull list!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Shazam! (2018) #1

Dec 6, 2018

Johns, Eaglesham and company capture "lightning in a bottle" with the first issue ofSHAZAM!--a must read book for old fans and new ones alike!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Shazam! (2018) #2

Jan 28, 2019

Shazam continues to impress as Johns builds upon the mythos of the Marvel Family.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Shazam! (2018) #3

Mar 1, 2019

SHAZAM continues to strike all the right chords and hit all the right notes in this third installment.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Shazam! (2018) #4

Mar 30, 2019

SHAZAMis a series obviously crafted with a lot of love and care from the creative team and with the fourth installment is clearly firing on all cylinders. Long live the Marvel Family!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Shazam! (2018) #5

May 15, 2019

SHAZAM #5stalls a bit narratively speaking but manages to do an excellent job of organizing a cacophony of artistic voices.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Shazam! (2018) #6

Jun 12, 2019

SHAZAM #6continues what appears to be a transitory time in the narrative, setting up what is to come slowly, at Geoff Johns' pace.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Six Days: The Incredible Story of D-Days Lost Chapter #1

May 4, 2019

Six Daysbrings a harrowing tale of the horrors of war and the power of the human spirit in this wonderfully constructed original graphic novel from Vertigo.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Stone Star #1

Mar 28, 2019

Stone Star #1is both strikingly familiar and stunningly fresh, making Jim Zub and Max Dunbar's surprise release a pleasant surprise on this Wednesday morning.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Stone Star #2

May 18, 2019

ReviewZub and Dunbar'sStone Starcontinues to be an exciting entry into the field of sci-fi/fantasy with its second chapter. The dynamic artwork and superb world-building makeStone Staran incredibly fun read for anybody looking for a new series in the genre. As yet, there isn't a great depth to the narrative but it is quite enjoyable as a form of escapism with undertones of the exploitation of indigenous people bubbling to the surface slowly.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Stranger Things #1

Aug 29, 2018

With nearly a month before its release, Stranger Things should be on the pull list of any fan of the show, as well as fans of the genre in general. If you like strong narrative and clean, beautiful imagery, Stranger Things is just the series for you!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Stranger Things #2

Nov 3, 2018

Stranger Thingsis a must-read for fans of the show as it works to answer questions burning in the hearts of the most dedicated. If you aren't a fan of the show, there is a chance this comic will fall flat for you, despite how well it is crafted, simply based on the way it speaks directly to fans without offering repetitive narrative from the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.6
Stranger Things #3

Dec 9, 2018

Stranger Thingsis a pleasant but dominantly unnecessary series that is a must read for a die-hard fans of the show but passable by the casual observer.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Stranger Things #4

Jan 26, 2019

Stranger Thingsconcludes as expected, as there was little room for new exploration within the narrative framework, but the execution of the pre-set story was done well making this series a must-read for allStranger Thingsfanatics.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Stranger Things: Six #1

Jun 11, 2019

Stranger Things: Six #1enters into a whole new level of the Stranger Things phenomenon with this prequel focusing on the lab subjects prior to the famous Eleven.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Superman (2018) #12

Jun 15, 2019

"Unity" continues as the entire House of El stands against the Phantom Zone escapees inSuperman #12.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
X-Men (2013) #1

Aug 26, 2018

Apologies to Tom Taylor if I came off as overly critical today. He has set the bar extremely high with absolutely stellar storytelling thus far, so it is his own fault, really!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-Men: Red (2018) #4

May 31, 2018

My waning struggles with the artistic style aside, this particular issue makes impressive strides in its move to globalize the X-Men in a way that has been seemingly absent for a few years, between the retreat into Limbo and the subsequent move to Central Park. The introduction of sentites is an interesting spin on a time-tested trope, but moving forward, the real test will be in the execution and handling of said trope (how is it different from similar devices?).

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-Men: Red (2018) #5

Jun 7, 2018

This issue marks Mahmud Asrars last issue with the series, yielding way for the absolutely electric Carmen Carnero. Watch for the sharpest book in the X-Universe to leap into the stratosphere next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
X-Men: Red (2018) #6

Jul 20, 2018

A nearly perfect issue of an already powerful series. If it isnt already immensely clear, I am extremely happy to have Carmen Carnero on board!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
X-Men: Red (2018) Annual #1

Jun 1, 2018

I will echo what I'm already starting to see across the internet as I write this on release day: X-Men: Red Annual #1 is my front-runner for the single comic of the year thus far. I intentionally tried to not spoil too many of the more touching moments experienced here, because one should not rob others of that beauty if it can be helped.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

June

May

More