Deathstroke #42

Writer: Christopher Priest, Adam Glass Artist: Carlo Pagulayan, Jason Paz Publisher: DC Comics Release Date: April 3, 2019 Cover Price: $3.99 Critic Reviews: 14 User Reviews: 13
7.7Critic Rating
7.4User Rating

+ Pull List

"The Terminus Agenda" part two! Captured by the newest group of Teen Titans, Deathstroke finds himself powerless and restrained inside Damian's secret prison. But when a crisis erupts, only Deathstroke stands between the Teen Titans and total disaster-can Robin swallow his pride to protect his team?

  • 9.0
    Geek Dad - Ray Goldfield Apr 3, 2019

    "The Terminus Agenda" is one of the oddest crossover events DC has done in a while because it seems the two sides of the crossover are each written by the title's main creator with little input from the other half besides comparing notes. That means the Teen Titans issues are predictably mediocre to bad " and the Deathstroke issues take the framework of the story and hit it out of the park with Priest's unique handle on the lead characters. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Comic Book Corps - Tom Zimm Apr 3, 2019

    This story is my pick of the week because of Christopher Priest's expert storytelling. He injects pertinent backstory while also advancing the plot making this story compelling and feeling important. I highly recommend this book for fans of both Deathstroke and The Teen Titans. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    AiPT! - Chris Showalter Apr 3, 2019

    Deathstroke #42 is a great second entry into "The Terminus Agenda." Priest's script provides some payoff from the prologue while also stoking interest for future issues. Read Full Review

  • 8.6
    Comic Watch - Cody White Apr 7, 2019

    There is a distinct feeling building in this arc that either "The Terminus Agenda" will fade into the background of the rich history between Deathstroke and the Teen Titans or it will exceed all expectations and change the trajectory of both titles for years to come. Read Full Review

  • 8.5
    GWW - Nick Friar Apr 3, 2019

    Last thing that shouldn't be lost in this: Black Mask is still an idiot. Did anyone else think for one second Deathstroke would help the other prisoners escape? Suicidal or not, that was never happening. Read Full Review

  • 8.5
    Lyles Movie Files - Jeffrey Lyles Apr 3, 2019

    Slade reveals his latest scheme as the issue winds down and its the kind of twist that could mark another cant miss arc similar to Defiance. Deathstroke has quietly been one of the more consistent books in DC. It seems like its nearing a huge jump-on point for new readers, but theres no reason to miss an issue at this stage either. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    The Batman Universe - Ian Miller Apr 4, 2019

    Priest and Pagulayan join the Teen Titans crossover with a standout issue full of intelligence and hilarity. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Infinite Earths - J.D. Jr. Apr 3, 2019

    Effortlessly adds to the flow of Adam Glass' excellent Teen Titans run, while injecting some of Christopher Priest's signature style! Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    DC Comics News - Steven Brown Apr 5, 2019

    Overall Deathstroke #42 is a good read, especially if you enjoy the relationship between Deathstroke and Robin. Slade likes taunting the young hero it seems, and Slade knows that Damian walks a thin line between hero and villain. Deathstroke mentions in this issue that he knows Damian's true inner conflict–the respect of his father Batman or his grandfather Ra's Al Ghul. It's an inner conflict that Damian has struggled with for a long time and although he's the leader of the Teen Titans and saves lives in this issue as well, it seems to be a conflict from within that won't resolve itself anytime soon. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Forces Of Geek - Lenny Schwartz Apr 3, 2019

    Still, there's fun to be had. Priest peppers the script with plenty of cool dialogue and the art by Pagulayan is always a treat. Put that all together and you get a decent book that is just a tad overstuffed for my tastes, but still plenty enjoyable as well. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    You Don't Read Comics - Christopher Landers Apr 4, 2019

    Overall, the transition between parts one and two of the Terminus Agenda could have gone much smoother, but Priest still manages to provide a story worth reading. If youre a fan of the recent interactions between Deathstroke and Robin, or youve just been dying to see this iteration of the Teen Titans go up against Slade, this book is worth picking up. Hopefully, Glass and Priest will find a way to better collaborate moving forward, but even if they dont, the story is still entertaining enough. Read Full Review

  • 6.5
    Weird Science - Eric Shea Apr 3, 2019

    While you'll get Deathstroke playing some head games on our Teen Titan heroes, the execution of this issue left a lot to be desired in how it told the story.  I love the art here, it's just I have no idea what we're getting from this cross-over yet and what the point is, but hopefully the next two issues come together and wow me because I get excited whenever I hear Deathstroke is going up against the Teen Titans. Read Full Review

  • 6.0
    Dark Knight News - Bryant Lucas Apr 4, 2019

    “The Terminus Agenda” started strong but stumbled in its second issue. Pagulayn's beautiful pencils are burdened with a script heave story that feels forced. The dynamic between the Titans and Slade is interesting, but little is unpacked in this blip of an issue. Hopefully, Deathstroke #42 will become more important as the crossover continues, but as for now, this issue comes across as aimless. Verdict: read this one only if you are already invested. Read Full Review

  • 4.0
    ComicBook.com - Adam Barnhardt Apr 3, 2019

    Practically a Deathstroke comic in name only, this issue sees the Teen Titans storyline carry over, for better or for worse. Slade continues finding himself imprisoned, and at this point in the run, it's plenty tiresome. Read Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

June

May

More