Tom Zimm's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Book Corps Reviews: 112
8.7Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Action Comics (2016) #984

Jul 26, 2017

In this issue, the team of Superheroes learns the strength of a unified team and gains resiliency from an unexpected helper.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Action Comics (2016) #985

Aug 9, 2017

This story is about optimism, perseverance, and heroism as Superman must overcome a longtime foe even while he faces a new threat.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Action Comics (2016) #986

Aug 23, 2017

Superman courageously defeats his foes while Lex Luther has an encounter with Oz that reveals his intentions for all humanity!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Action Comics (2016) #987

Sep 13, 2017

The book ends leaving the reader with great anticipation for the story to unfold. Oz comes out of the flames confronting Superman that he should have known better, These people dont deserve you. Oz transports them to the Fortress of Solitude so that they can talk. Superman charges Oz with being responsible for the chaos and evil. Oz states that he simply presented the people with options and they chose evil and mayhem. (SPOILER ALERT!) Oz reveals himself as Supermans Father. Oz tells him briefly about his escape and then reinforces his belief that he sent Kal-El to the wrong place. The book ends with Oz saying, I am Jor-El The story is emotionally satisfying, its rooted in real-life dilemmas while still feeling like a Superman story. The art is beautiful and the cliffhanger at the end was awesome!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Action Comics (2016) #989

Oct 11, 2017

The story arc will need to advance or branch out to keep reader's interest.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Action Comics (2016) #991

Nov 8, 2017

What was the purpose of Superman's encounter with Jor-El? A filler story or a set up to Doomsday Clock? Is something big coming? Was Jor-El telling the truth? What remains clear is Superman's resolve to defend earth against whatever threat might be looming and this is the best thing possible for its inhabitants.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Action Comics (2016) #992

Nov 22, 2017

Who can we trust? What can we trust? These questions are compelling and do much to increase my interest as a reader.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Action Comics (2016) #993

Dec 13, 2017

I have no idea where this story is going, which increases the intrigue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Action Comics (2016) #994

Dec 27, 2017

The most compelling part of this story is the parallel created between Superman and Lois as both search for their fathers.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Action Comics (2016) #995

Jan 10, 2018

At times the action felt frenetic and chaotic, but Booster Gold is what made this issue interesting.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Action Comics (2016) #996

Jan 24, 2018

The pairing of Booster Gold and Superman really works. Their competing goals highlights the differences in the two. Booster protects time; Superman is ready to fight injustice at every turn.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Action Comics (2016) #997

Feb 13, 2018

The story moves quickly, is action-packed and ends with a cliffhanger. The battle between Superman and Zod's family is entertaining and perilous. By the end Superman and Booster are in real danger.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Action Comics (2016) #998

Feb 28, 2018

It feels like this character is treading water until May when Bendis takes over.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Action Comics (2016) #999

Mar 14, 2018

The story does a nice job connecting all of the story arcs in the most recent Superman and Action books which involved Jor-El, the conflict with Zod on New Krypton, and General Lane's return. In addition, the story provides closure for these story arcs that were not always very engaging as a reader.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Action Comics (2016) #1000

Apr 18, 2018

Action Comics 1000 is a historic event, such a big event that it can't be told by just one person. This issue is a collection of some of DC's latest and greatest in writing as well as some of the classics. Each story is their own one-shot and contained continuity. It's full of fun easter eggs, amazing art, and emotion filled stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Action Comics (2016): Special #1

May 2, 2018

Action #1000 was a celebration of Superman, his history, his character, and what he represents as a iconic superhero. This special issue is also a celebration of Lex Luthor.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Adventures of the Super Sons #1

Aug 1, 2018

The writer pays attention to the need to help new readers catch up to the Super-Sons ongoing narrative which leads to a slow start. However, the issue picks up steam when The Gang confronts the Super-Sons. I'm excited about where this story is headed and recommend this book to DC fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Adventures of the Super Sons #2

Sep 5, 2018

The book ends on a cliffhanger, which is caused, in part, by Damian's attempts to fix their situation. Tomasi plays off some long-standing Superman lore in the final dilemma, and the outcome of the secret ally is still uncertain. What makes this book so good is the way Tomasi set up intrigue and expectation for the future of this story. I recommend this book to adults and children and for fans of the Super-Sons due to the art and the cliffhanger at the end of the issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Adventures of the Super Sons #3

Oct 3, 2018

SuperBoy is split in two, a Red and a Blue version. Robin must convince them to work together so that they can defeat a group of alien kids who idolize earth's greatest villains.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
All-Star Batman #13

Aug 30, 2017

This story is about Alfred's past mentorship with Briar and how it impacts his current connection with Batman.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
All-Star Batman #14

Oct 4, 2017

The story transitions back to the present; Alfred and Batman embrace. Alfred asks, Have I been a good father? He wonders whether he has made a life for Bruce where he can be the hero, be adventurous, learn tough lessons, and always have a home to come back to. The questions resonate for the reader given the context of self-sacrifice and loyalty demonstrated by Alfred. From a fathers perspective, Have I done enough is a question most loving fathers ask themselves when thinking about their children.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: The Murder Machine #1

Sep 28, 2017

A final twist at the end brings an amazing conclusion to an exciting book. Cyborg is stepped on by a large creature. Its unclear who exactly this is at first. However, as the story quickly progresses, we see the members of the Dark Multiverse, which were revealed in Metal 2, appear! Connections are not made between The Joker and these characters; however, their appearance resembles The Joker in the mouth area. The story is amazing as it weaves from one dimension to another pulling the Father-Son theme throughout. The art is gorgeous. I am excited to learn where this story goes after this amazing installment!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Blackwood #4

Aug 29, 2018

This is a fast-paced story, with plenty of twists and turns that is both engaging and thought-provoking for the reader. The art is gorgeous and supports the story throughout. I highly recommend this issue, and the entire 4-part mini, to readers who enjoys relationship stories within the context of magic, mysticism, and haunted buildings.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
DC/Hanna-Barbera: Super Sons/Dynomutt Special #1

May 30, 2018

The art is strong and supports the pace of the story throughout. The story is strong because it provokes thought. The moral of the story is intriguing: mankind will do anything for his best friend.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Faith and the Future Force #1

Aug 1, 2017

This issue is about a collaboration of heroes who fight a sinister robot who is stealing time. To win they must learn from their past and work together as a team.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Flash (2016) #26

Jul 12, 2017

Flash faces an old enemy who threatens his relationship with Iris, his role as a father, and his future as the Flash

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Flash (2016) #27

Jul 26, 2017

The Flash and Thawne are locked in a fight to the death, spanning across both time and space with Flash intent on killing the Reverse Flash

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #28

Aug 9, 2017

This issue is about Barry facing the consequences of prioritizing The Flash over his family and his career.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Flash (2016) #30

Sep 13, 2017

The art is gorgeous and the story is emotionally meaningful. The story expresses themes of loss, grief, and recovery throughout. Kristens recovery from the loss of her family, her sharing her story with Barry seemed to empower him and give meaning to the story. Similarly, Ramseys story of overcoming a significant health diagnosis to let Flash know that hes aware of the Flashs most recent damaging effects on Central City is equally impactful. The book ends with a cliffhanger as Flash faces off against Bloodwork in Central City. I am excited to see how Flash overcomes his guilt and learns how to use his new power set to defeat Bloodwork!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #31

Sep 27, 2017

Im not sure how I feel about The Flash continuing the connection he has to the negative speed force. However, this story sets up some interesting storylines moving forward. I like that Wally is set to mentor Barry and that they repaired their relationship. It will be interesting to see how Kid Flash helps The Flash with his connection to the negative speed force. It might take Barry a while to restore his relationship with Iris. And, his CCPD partner, Kristen, could remain upset with Barry, which would make for an interesting work environment. I can hardly wait for the next story arc to see some of these storylines develop.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #32

Oct 11, 2017

The story advances the narratives which began in the previous arc, Negative, with one big exception. Barry makes progress learning how to use his new powers when he's connected to the negative speed force.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Flash (2016) #33

Oct 25, 2017

The panels are beautifully drawn and colored, and the story has a weightiness. Porter draws an amazing Flash, with lightning bolts aptly applied. The expanse of the world, including the depiction of the portal, is gorgeous.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Flash (2016) #34

Nov 8, 2017

What excites me is that the story has removed the Negative Speed Force from The Flash. How did she do this? Not sure. However, the relief gained by Meenas separating The Flash from his connection to the Negative Speed Force far out ways the skepticism surrounding how she tricked Barry so easily. While this is far-fetched, I dont care. Thank you for returning The Flash to his original power set! It interests me to see The Flash moving forward with a connection to only the Speed Force and how he breaks free from Meenas control!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Flash (2016) #35

Nov 22, 2017

Meena's telling The Flash's that he has unresolved mommy issues is spot on.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Flash (2016) #36

Dec 12, 2017

As Flash stories go, this one is by the numbers, which isn't a bad thing if you love the character.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Flash (2016) #37

Dec 27, 2017

Despite the repetitive nature of this issue, I really enjoyed the story. Captain Cold is perhaps my favorite Rogue's Gallery adversary of The Flash.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Flash (2016) #39

Jan 24, 2018

This was the most enjoyable Flash book since Rebirth started.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Flash (2016) #40

Feb 14, 2018

This is an entertaining, fast-paced and meaningful story. We are left with several cliffhangers. Has Barry lost his powers for good? Is Wall West set up as the new Flash?

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Flash (2016) #41

Feb 28, 2018

The art in this issue is gorgeous; the lightning bolts, and fast-motion speedster art never gets old for me.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Flash (2016) #42

Mar 14, 2018

The art in this issue was different from what the typical artists, Howard Porter or Carmine Di Giandomenico, would produce. However, I really enjoyed it because it was gritty and blunt and fit the emotional themes of the book.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Flash (2016) #43

Mar 28, 2018

This issue begins with Gorilla Grodd accuses Barry of having self-seeking motives for being The Flash. His team of speedsters confronts Barry for his selfishness. However, the team of speedsters unite as family to oppose Grodd's control of the Speed Force and Central City

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Flash (2016) #44

Apr 11, 2018

In this issue, The Flash and his team of speedsters fight Gorilla Grodd to save Central City from the Negative Speed Force. Meanwhile, a new enemy from the 25th century is waiting in the wings to confront the already stressed speedsters.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #45

Apr 25, 2018

In this issue, The Flash acknowledges his flaws but is willing to accept the support of his speedster family to overcome them. Iris West and Barry Allen have a heart to heart talk while Avery returns to the New Justice League

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #46

May 9, 2018

Overall I would recommend picking up this book. It provides a nice introduction to the coming Flash Wars and sets up the tension between the characters. Overall rating = 8/10

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Flash (2016) #47

May 23, 2018

Conflicts and misunderstandings increase to a boiling point. The issue starts in the future with Barry and Wally in an angry confrontation? I am very interested in how this story gets to that point.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Flash (2016) #48

Jun 13, 2018

I highly recommend this book to anyone who loves The Flash character and to those who want to know more about Rebirth, which this issue starts to address.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Flash (2016) #49

Jun 27, 2018

Howard Porter's art remains gorgeous. He does such a great job drawing the lightning and The Speed Force, which greatly enhances the enjoyability of the book for me. The tension in the story is created through Wally's willingness to do anything to save his family. Fans of The Flash know that this is a failed, albeit honorable, motive. The curveball comes with the introduction of the new powers.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Flash (2016) #50

Jul 11, 2018

The story moves at a dizzying pace, with emotions flying high with multiple characters and a lot of time-travel in between.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Flash (2016) #51

Jul 25, 2018

This is a good issue with nice historical data included with nice art, however, it felt like a summary issue, and it didn't advance the characters significantly. The most entertainment value for me is the exploration of Wally West and where he stands coming to grips with the loss of time travel. Barry's guilt for hurting his family is ground well-traveled; however, this felt different because we see it through the eyes of Iris. The future of Kid Flash and his decision to focus his energies on the Teen Titans is an interesting way to advance that character and gives him room to breathe. I highly recommend this story because it is a nice history lesson to new readers and to fans of The Flash.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Flash (2016) #52

Aug 8, 2018

I'm excited to see Iris entrenched and back in Barry's world. The book feels like it has more depth with her involved because of the history she has with Barry and her lost and returning memories of the pre-Flashpoint world. The biggest questions created by this issue are: How much will Central City change by the new forces and how much more will Barry and Iris remember about their past?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Flash (2016) #53

Aug 22, 2018

This book has kept the Rebirth itch scratched as it seems to be moving toward an explanation of the time lost narrative that was introduced by Rebirth two years ago.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Flash (2016) #54

Sep 12, 2018

Williamson continues to shine as he skillfully weaves emotional depth into each character and creates organic relationship dilemmas that feel earned. I highly recommend this book for fans of The Flash, however, the story has some work to do before it piques my interest in the newly introduced forces, which were first revealed in The Justice League story arc. Williamson will no doubt find a creative way to not only introduce The Sage Force in the next issue but how will it impact The Flash!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Flash (2016) #55

Sep 26, 2018

The art in this issue does not make up for the number of incomplete story lines and overall cluttered feeling that this book provided. While I normally love the emotional and relational themes that Williamson includes - not even Iris' central involvement in this story could make up for the poor storytelling. Having said this, I'd recommend this book because it's the first appearance of The Sage Force, which stands to be a central part of this story arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Flash (2016) #56

Oct 10, 2018

This is an entertaining story with many twists and turns. Emotionally, this was less convoluted with fewer references made to Barry's longstanding regrets.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) Annual #1

Jan 31, 2018

This book represents the first material attempts to confront several important issues since the start of Rebirth.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Infidel #5

Jul 18, 2018

This is an entertaining and thought-provoking book with beautiful art. I recommend this book to readers who enjoy horror and mysticism mixed with some powerful lessons about how humans treat each other. The creativity of the writer shines in their ability to hit subjects head on while representing the issues with complexity and sensitivity. This is a book about the transformative power of relationships and loyalty.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Isola #2

May 9, 2018

This issue continues the story of Captain Rook and Queen Olwyn as they search for Isola and avoid danger along the way.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Isola #3

Jun 6, 2018

This is a beautiful book. The depictions of fantasy creatures and use of shading and shadows builds on the mystery and overall feel of the story. I'm very intrigued by the presence of part animal part human creatures throughout.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Man of Steel (2018) #1

May 30, 2018

Superman's appearance as an unstoppable force appears to have the venire which writer's like Bendis love to tarnish - or I read Action #1000 and see where this is going. Either way, this is a nice start for Bendis and I am very intrigued where this is going.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Man of Steel (2018) #2

Jun 6, 2018

I highly recommend this book to fans of Superman. Bendis is developing a layered an complex story that will most likely end with a huge payoff.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Man of Steel (2018) #3

Jun 13, 2018

Bendis excels with these iconic characters as much for the large-scale threat in Rogol, as he does with the intimate exchanges between characters. I highly recommend picking up this book and the two issues that preceded it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Man of Steel (2018) #4

Jun 20, 2018

Bendis does a marvelous job pulling together multiple themes from his previous issues to make this story feel connected.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Man of Steel (2018) #5

Jun 27, 2018

This is another amazing issue. The battle between Superman and Rogol Zaar is epic. Bendis does the legwork to demonstrate Rogol's power prior to this sequence, which makes the results believable. In addition, Adam Hughes' art highlights this explosive story. He uses shadows, outlines, and shading to support the emotional tone of the book, which feels to be at a panic-level for the Kryptonites. Bendis does an amazing job of pulling Jor-El back into the Superman narrative and making the character feel useful.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Man of Steel (2018) #6

Jul 4, 2018

As soon as I heard that Bendis would write a Superman book, I knew that someone would die, go missing or change drastically. I never imagined that my view of Superman would change because I would be made aware of his weakness. It's how Bendis tells the story that kept me engaged: I believe what I've learned about the hero. Superman's lifestyle, fighting bad guys and ignoring his family has consequences. In addition, Superman's departure from Krypton at a young age means that he didn't learn about his home planet or his family's traditions. It makes sense that Jor-El would be the one to teach Jonathan. I highly recommend this book to fans of Superman and DC.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nancy Drew #1

Jun 6, 2018

The story starting with Nancy's rope breaking is very well-written, the dialogue captures the different personalities of the characters beautifully while pushing the story along. I highly recommend this book. Please pick it up. It is simply impossible to recapture the quality of Kelly Thompson's character writing in a written review.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nancy Drew (2018) #1

Jun 6, 2018

The story starting with Nancy's rope breaking is very well-written, the dialogue captures the different personalities of the characters beautifully while pushing the story along. I highly recommend this book. Please pick it up. It is simply impossible to recapture the quality of Kelly Thompson's character writing in a written review.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Nancy Drew (2018) #2

Jul 11, 2018

The second installment of this book continues to shine due to the interesting and unique nature of Nancy Drew as a character. In addition, her supporting cast all are given important roles and minor story arcs of their own. The dialogue is sharp and interesting while the main point of the story is solidly grounded in the Nancy Drew lore developed in the books near a century ago. I highly recommend this book to readers looking for socially relevant character work minus superhero shenanigans.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Nancy Drew (2018) #3

Aug 8, 2018

The pace of the story is perfect, paying close attention to the relationships within the team, bolstering Nancy's story, while moving the murder mystery aspect along.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Pearl #1

Aug 15, 2018

Like another famous writer/artist team, Brubaker and Phillips, Bendis and Gaydos return to familiarity in all the right ways. The noir is expected but not predictable. The intrigue is built through brilliant thematic plot development at the individual character level. If you like street-level crime dramas, you will love this book!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Pearl #2

Sep 19, 2018

The high water mark in this story comes when Pearl's friend Kimmy hears about her obligation to Mr. Mike. Each character is constrained by both compassion and coercion which makes the story interesting. I strongly advise picking up this book for the criminal and familial themes and the interesting story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Pearl #3

Oct 17, 2018

This is a gritty crime noir with a dash of romance. The art is psychedelic and cryptic which reinforces the mystery surrounding the exposition. The premise is not unique but the mystery surrounding Pearl and her tattoo is interesting. I highly recommend this book for readers who enjoy seedy crime dramas.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Royal City #12

Jul 4, 2018

This book is for readers who are sick of superheroes or bored with science fiction or other kinds of fiction that rely heavily on fantasy. This book is real, tough things happen, with honest reactions. Lemire writes and does the art, which is minimalist, with a watercolor feel, and almost bare-bones color. The art supports the story, a minimal amount of action, with unspoken messages, and deep undercurrents throughout. I highly recommend this book to readers who like reality-based comics that don't shy away from the display of real emotions and dilemmas.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Royal City #14

Aug 22, 2018

I recommend this book to readers who enjoy real life fiction and who need something deeper in their comic book experience.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Rumble (2017) #8

Oct 17, 2018

This story is a dissection of the human psyche with a boyish almost cartoonish zeal. While at face value the topics are fanciful, the underlying message is anything but shallow. Rathraq, in his attempt to regain his physical form and gain security, is faced with challenges from arch enemies and a returning spouse. I highly recommend this book for readers who love great art and enjoy fantasy tales that peer into the human soul.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Super Sons #6

Jul 19, 2017

In this issue of Super Sons, our heroes learn about friendship, teamwork, doing good, and the complicated choices that present themselves when super heroes set on stopping crime.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Super Sons #7

Aug 16, 2017

This issue is about a group of young heroes becoming a team and an elderly Magician learning a timeless lesson about impure motives.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Super Sons #8

Sep 20, 2017

The story ends with Damian and Jon discussing the evidence that theyve collected and what it means. Damian concludes that they should stay near the village and that Kraklow is the key. Jon surmises that Kraklow hid the ancient clay on earth when they fought him. This is an entertaining story, with lots of action, which keeps the reader's interest to the end. The emotional stakes are high as the relationship between the young heroes remains snappy and interesting to the final page. How will these young heroes defeat a host of enemies that include a planet and an ancient wizard? This review is heavy on summary and needs more analysis, dont you think?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Super Sons #9

Oct 18, 2017

The zeal and heroism demonstrated by Superboy and Robin are contagious and energizes this story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Super Sons #11

Dec 20, 2017

This story is a must read for DC fans. It connects with story lines that are currently in development in Detective Comics and Superman. In addition, the story advances the ongoing relationship dynamics between Damian and Jonathan, and, Damian and the Teen Titans.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Super Sons #12

Jan 17, 2018

The art is gorgeous throughout. Specifically, the way they capture Damian and Jonathan is attuned to the emotions they are feeling in the moment.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Super Sons #13

Feb 21, 2018

As far as character development, the dialogue between Damian and Jonathan continues the continuity set in previous issues. Damian is planning and leading; Jonathan is working hard to fit in. What this issue adds, and what is most entertaining, is Damian's connection to the League of Assassins.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Super Sons #14

Mar 21, 2018

I highly recommend this book to readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Super Sons #15

Apr 18, 2018

In this action-packed story, Robin and Superboy fight Kid Amazo who plans to utilize the power of the Justice League to achieve his goals.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Super Sons Annual #1

Nov 29, 2017

The art in this book was amazing. For example, Detective Chimp was drawn with detail especially in the face area and the colors were vivid. It would be nice to see him pop up again in the main story arc. However, outside of Detective Chimp, the other Super-Pets did not make a spectacular showing in this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Superman (2016) #27

Jul 19, 2017

In this issue, the Kent family takes a vacation from superhero work while identifying the true heroes and the values that motivated them. While the book surfaces many important issues facing our treatment of war veterans and those who've made sacrifices it misses the mark in other ways.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Superman (2016) #28

Aug 2, 2017

This story shows how Superman and his family put their feelings of compassion and empathy to work to help provide closure for a grieving family.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2016) #29

Aug 16, 2017

In this issue, Superman investigates the disappearance of dozens of children and discovers two villains.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2016) #30

Sep 6, 2017

The conflict in the story involves Parallax, Superman, and Sinestro. However, Superman correctly identifies fear as the greatest enemy for everyone. Superman uses his courage and willingness to show compassion, even towards his enemies, as a springboard to speak out against letting fear rule. The story comes full circle as Superman watches his son, Jon, sleeping safely in his bed. Ultimately, the story felt detached from whats been happening in this book since Rebirth which limited its impactfulness. The art was beautiful and the story involved, historically, three very interesting characters. The overall message, to make choices daily to overcome our fears, is an important one in our day and time.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superman (2016) #31

Sep 20, 2017

We're intrigued to know more about Deathstroke when he demonstrates having knowledge of Cestus, who vanishes into thin air after the fight, by stating that he'll be back with stronger men next time.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superman (2016) #32

Oct 4, 2017

The story was compelling throughout because it taught us how our beliefs play a huge role in how we act.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superman (2016) #33

Oct 18, 2017

Given the recent Action Comics and previous Superman story arc, it's nice to see an old-fashioned superhero story that is not bathed in current events.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superman (2016) #34

Nov 1, 2017

The story ends with Jonathan surrounded by a group of dog-wielding armored men who threaten to capture and eat him. Jonathan easily smashes his way through the group; however, the story ends with the group of men chasing him toward the edge of a cliff. As he flies off the cliff, the villains yell, Theres nowhere to run on Apokolips. Perhaps a play on words as Jonathan was flying off the cliff? The interesting part of this exchange is that Jonathan cannot fly. Has Jonathan demonstrated a different power set on Apokolips then he did on earth? Or, is he demonstrating a permanent sign of maturity gaining the power to fly at a very opportune moment? I can hardly wait to see how this story advances Superman as Imperius, Jonathan and his new powers, and Lois as the newest member of the Female Furies.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2016) #35

Nov 15, 2017

The courage of Super Boy maintains me throughout this story. Will this be a coming of age moment for Super Boy?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Superman (2016) #36

Dec 6, 2017

The apocalyptic nature of the story with the future of a planet at stake felt weighty enough and important enough for a character as powerful as Superman.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superman (2016) #37

Dec 20, 2017

This is a must-read issue as it connects to storylines that are developing in Detective Comics currently. It reads as impactful and not just a throwaway, like some tie-in issues can.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superman (2016) #39

Jan 17, 2018

This all-ages book is beautifully drawn and the colors brighten this already inspiring story.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Superman (2016) #40

Feb 7, 2018

Ultimately, I would not recommend picking up this book. The exposition is clunky and paint-by-numbers. There is very little about the story that engages the reader. The characters do not advance, and, even the new characters are given motivations that are boring and played out. This issues feels like a filler.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2016) #42

Mar 7, 2018

Going into this book, I anticipated that this would be a filler issue and that it wouldn't be very interesting. However, the Bizarro-connection drew me in, as well as Kathy and Jonathan's friendship

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2016) #43

Mar 21, 2018

I would highly recommend this book as a nice deviation to the typical superhero stories being told.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2016) #45

Apr 18, 2018

In this issue, the Kent family says goodbye to Hamilton county after selling their home. Superman gives some life lessons to his son while remember the lessons his own father gave to him.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2016): Special #1

May 16, 2018

The art was more cartoony in a jagged way, which fit the story. I highly recommend this issue for the messages it provides and the example it gives of Superman's value system.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2018) #1

Jul 11, 2018

This issue has incredible depth but doesn't get bogged down by emotional themes. The writer keeps this balance by infusing light-hearted dialogue and fluffy action sequences to lighten the tensions. However, the importance of the underlying themes are not lost and stick with you as a reader. The opening epilogue is almost boastful in its description of Superman, I feel, intentionally. The cracks in the Man of Steel are widening; I'm not sure that Superman is aware of them yet. I highly recommend this book to those who love Superman and the DC.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superman (2018) #2

Aug 8, 2018

This story is straightforward in some ways, complex and deep in others. The earth is in the Phantom Zone and Superman has to get it out and defeat Rogol Zaar, pretty simple. However, intrigue is created by the unknown, who did it? How will Superman save the earth, because I assume that he will? More importantly, why does Rogol need an army to defeat Superman? The cliffhanger would imply that he will get one. I highly recommend this book to fans of Superman who want a superhero story that is not paint-by-numbers.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Superman (2018) #3

Sep 12, 2018

This story continues to grow in complexity as Bendis adds layers to the Rogol Zaar character and pulls in characters from Superman's rich history. One can only hope with great anticipation that Bendis will be able to stick the landing when this conflict blossoms to full impact as this story arc inches toward its conclusion.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Superman (2018) #4

Oct 10, 2018

This is an immensely entertaining and heartfelt issue. Bendis tells a story that is uncluttered, values-driven, and action-packed. The final panel sets up compelling questions: Did the team successfully pull the earth from The Phantom Zone and will Superman defeat Rogol Zaar? I highly recommend that fans get on board with this story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Bridge #1

Jul 19, 2018

I highly recommend this book for its portrayal of history and its memorializing of the Roebling family's sacrifice. The artistic portrayal of the family brings life to the values of the family, and it reminds us of the level of commitment that was required to build this country. In a way, The Bridge makes it acceptable to have altruistic beliefs that technological improvements have the capacity to change lives and are an important part of this country's advancement in the protection of humanity.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Silencer #3

Mar 28, 2018

Previously in The Silencer, it was established that Honor Guest was a deadly assassin, trained by the League of Assassins. Having escaped this world, she is living a quiet family life, with a husband and child, in suburban America. Talia Al Gul interrupts Honor's peaceful retirement and forces her back to the playing field to help her.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Silencer #4

Apr 25, 2018

In this issue, The Silencer relieves her past as she exits Leviathan. Talia promises her release upon the completion of one last mission. Can The Silencer ever be free from her life as an assassin and have her normal life back?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Silencer #5

May 23, 2018

Another strong issue. The dialogue between Deathstroke and Silencer is the highlight along with the double-crossing dynamic with Talia.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Silencer #6

Jun 27, 2018

I love this issue and this character because the dilemmas feel earned and interesting. The Silencer's inner monologue describes her biggest fear, that her son is safe. This drives her actions, and, it makes sense for parents. The art is beautiful: it captures the characters' facial expressions and true emotions. The action is intentional and there are no wasted steps in this dramatic issue. I highly recommend that fans of DC pick up this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Silencer #9

Sep 26, 2018

The story of The Silencer has been one of mystery, intrigue, and fighting criminals and their organization. The street-level aspect of the story has been what's driven the plot narrative. This issue takes a hard left-turn involving monsters, magic, and switching bodies. Let's hope that The Silencer can get her own body back and get this story, which has been wonderful to-date, back on course.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Titans (2016) #22

Apr 11, 2018

In this issue, Donna Troy's loyalty toward Roy Harper is tested while the Justice League is pushed to the brink by The Brain!

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More