Flash #68

Writer: Joshua Williamson Artist: Christian Duce Publisher: DC Comics Release Date: April 10, 2019 Cover Price: $3.99 Critic Reviews: 17 User Reviews: 13
8.3Critic Rating
7.2User Rating

+ Pull List

The Flash has arrived back in his home of Central City to discover something...off. The people are all acting strangely, including his friends and colleagues-but before Barry can figure out why, the entire Central City PD attacks! At last the great trick is revealed: the Trickster now rules supreme! With Iron Heights as his fun-house base of operations, Trickster plunges the entire city into madness-and the Flash is powerless to save them!

  • 10
    Infinite Earths - J.D. Jr. Apr 10, 2019

    Filled with plenty of humor and heart, this is the Scarlet Speedster at his very best! Read Full Review

  • 10
    Kabooooom - Matt Morrison Apr 10, 2019

    The issue stumbles only in that it isn't a great place to start reading the series. It could be managed, but it would be like walking into a movie that is halfway over. Apart from that lack of instant accessibility, this is as fine an issue of The Flash as one could hope for. Read Full Review

  • 9.5
    Lyles Movie Files - Jeffrey Lyles Apr 10, 2019

    Not every arc needs to be an event or some big emotional wringer. The Flash still keeps the Rebirth mentality of making comics fun and inviting while encouraging readers to not miss an issue. Read Full Review

  • 9.5
    Comic Book Corps - Tom Zimm Apr 10, 2019

    This story is building in tension as The Trickster intensifies his hold on Central City. Barry has been put on his knees by his latest rogue-villain and he lacks the support of his friends Iris and Kid Flash to rescue him. How will he outsmart The Trickster and find a way to release Central City from his grasp? I can hardly wait to find out. I highly recommend this book for fans of The Flash and DC comics. Read Full Review

  • 9.4
    Comicsverse - Aaron Berkowitz Apr 10, 2019

    THE FLASH #68 doesn't quite reach the highs of the prior issue. However, that doesn't mean you should sleep on it. Joshua Williamson's characterization of James Jesse is incredibly fun. Plus, Scott Kolins' art is top notch. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Forces Of Geek - Lenny Schwartz Apr 10, 2019

    I was never a huge fan of Scott Kolins until now. He makes a great collaborator for Williamson though. The two creators bring the best out of it other and it shows. This a great book that is seemingly getting better with each issue. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    You Don't Read Comics - Christopher Landers Apr 10, 2019

    Even though a lot is happening in this issue to push the story forward, and the Trickster comes off looking pretty cool, some of the execution is a little clunky and forced. Williamson has suffered from pacing issues before, but more often than not, he ends up sticking the landing in the finale. Cross your fingers that this is one of those times. Either way, James Jesse is getting the polishing up that he was in desperate need of. And, if thats not enough for you, the horrific cliffhanger of this issue is worth the price of the book alone... Read Full Review

  • 8.5
    Weird Science - Dan Mayhoff Apr 10, 2019

    What a great read this issue was. From beginning to end, the book is interesting and doesn't seem to repeat itself like the previous issue did. The art and story are fantastic and everything in this issue is done to make this book better. I can finally give The Flash a great rating once again and that makes me very happy. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    ComicBook.com - Russ Burlingame Apr 10, 2019

    A solid story and great characterization for Trickster is enhanced by great artwork and visual storytelling from Scott Kolins. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    AiPT! - David Brooke Apr 10, 2019

    A good issue that begins to reveal what the heck is going on in Central City. That last page is going to stick with you. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    DC Comics News - Derek McNeil Apr 11, 2019

    After an ending like that, there's no way I'd miss catching the rest of the story. The Flash has survived through numerous extreme physical transformations throughout DC history, but I don't think he's ever had his legs cut off before. I can't wait how Barry gets himself out of this situation. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Comic Book Legion - Kevin Vilim Apr 10, 2019

    A classic Flash Vs. Trickster issue that is satisfying from start to finish. Williamson and Kolins are the perfect team for the scarlet speedster. Read Full Review

  • 7.5
    Geek Dad - Ray Goldfield Apr 10, 2019

    As this surprisingly dark Trickster arc unfolds, it seems clear to me what the current issue with Josh Williamson's Flash run is " while he's doing as long a run as Tom King on Batman, he doesn't have nearly the control over the franchise that King does. Read Full Review

  • 7.3
    Comic Watch - Matt Meyer Apr 18, 2019

    Josh Williamson'sFlash run has been markedly inconsistent, but this issue - and the story it's a part of - has been very solid, if not wholly groundbreaking. New readers might be a little lost as to what all these new Forces are, but Williamson is a decent enough writer that nothing is too vague. A good time can be had by all! Read Full Review

  • 7.2
    Monkeys Fighting Robots - Jose "Jody" Cardona Apr 10, 2019

    The Trickster has stepped into the spotlight and brings an intense yet fun story to the Flash series. Read Full Review

  • 6.5
    GWW - Deron Generally Apr 9, 2019

    Scott Kolins has some really good art in this issue especially the Iron Heights splash page. Read Full Review

  • 5.0
    Major Spoilers - Matthew Peterson Apr 15, 2019

    There are some interesting moments to be had here, and Kolins' art delivers most of the time, but the final page makes me not want to read any more Flash any time soon. Read Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

June

May

More