Derek McNeil's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: DC Comics News Reviews: 249
8.3Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Action Comics (2016) #985

Aug 10, 2017

All in all a fun issue. I hope we get to see more of these team-ups of Superman and Lex Luthor. It adds a fascinating level of complexity to the relationship between Superman and his one time arch-foe.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Adventures of the Super Sons #1

Aug 1, 2018

The import thing is that the Super Sons are back, and this series is every bit as good as their previous title. Fans of that series will not want to miss this one. Tomasi is putting the fun back into funny books.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Adventures of the Super Sons #2

Sep 5, 2018

Reading Super Sons each month is a true pleasure. This title has a playfulness that reminds me of Peter David's Young Justice (I miss that title). How can you not love a book that makes Superman Red, Superman Blue into a family tradition? I can't wait to see how this plays out in next month's issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
All-Star Batman #1

Aug 10, 2016

Definitely a strong start to a new series. There's a lot packed in this issue, but it all fits together to tell a compelling story. I can't wait to see where Batman and Two-Face's journey takes us.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
All-Star Batman #2

Sep 14, 2016

The main story is action-packed and has me eagerly awaiting the next installment. The backup story is also starting to pick up steam and hopefully will keep pace with the main feature as it continues.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
All-Star Batman #3

Oct 12, 2016

The main story is another exciting and action-packed chapter in Bruce's quest to get Harvey cured, and has me eagerly waiting for next month's installment. The backup story is getting interesting too, but still isn't as engaging as the main feature.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
All-Star Batman #5

Dec 28, 2016

It was a hell of a ride, and an interesting examination of the relationship between Batman and Two-Face. It also was interesting to see a Batman road trip story rather than the typical tale set wholly in Gotham.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
All-Star Batman #6

Jan 11, 2017

The title continues to hold my interest. Although it seems that Batman has thwarted Freeze's scheme, I am sure that there is more to the story yet. And I am eager to see how Duke will escape death from the explosion he and Batman have triggered.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
All-Star Batman #7

Feb 8, 2017

Despite a weak chapter in the backup storyline, the main story was strong and deepened the mystery of this strike force that is attacking Batman's villains.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
All-Star Batman #8

Mar 15, 2017

The main story was great as always, and the backup storyline is back on track. Both stories have ramped up the tension as they head into their finales. We readers are in for a treat.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
All-Star Batman #9

Apr 19, 2017

The main story is a fitting conclusion to the "Ends of the Earth" story arc, bringing the story to an enjoyable and satisfying conclusion. However, I am ambivalent about the backup story. I don't quite understand what's going on with Duke Thomas, however I am hopeful that things will clear up as his story continues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
All-Star Batman #11

Jun 21, 2017

This issue provides a unique look at Alfred's past contrasted against Batman's present. This is shaping up to be a great Batman story. The backup story seems a bit less exciting, but still is a solid story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
All-Star Batman #12

Jul 26, 2017

I am loving the main story and its unique focus on the relationship between Bruce and Alfred. The backup story still has potential, but I feel it made a major misstep in its portrayal of Batman's abilities as a crime fighter.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
All-Star Batman #13

Aug 30, 2017

Even though the backup story is a bit of a letdown, the main story more than makes up for it. This has been an exciting series that has told some unique Batman stories and I am sorry that it will be coming to an end after the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
All-Star Batman #14

Oct 5, 2017

This series has given us a fresh look at some important figures in the Batman mythos, Two-Face and Alfred Pennyworth. In fact, this new redefinition of Alfred provides much more depth to the character without changing or contradicting anything we already knew about him. And it reaffirms a vitally important, but mostly overlooked fact that Alfred is Bruce's father as much as Thomas Wayne was. And that by itself is enough to mark this as a truly great Batman story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Astro City (2013) #40

Oct 19, 2016

After more than twenty years, Busiek is still bringing us great stories of real human drama set in a surreal world. This issue is a great example of what sets Astro City apart from the other superhero books.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Astro City (2013) #50

Jan 31, 2018

This issue tries something rare for Astro City by giving us a sequel to an earlier story, which allows for a deeper exploration of how people cope with the fallout from living lives upset by extraordinary events. The subsequent chapters promise to give us a poignant story of loss and healing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman (2016) Annual #1

Nov 30, 2016

Some readers may find Batman being used in feel-good Christmas tales to be somewhat sappy, but I find it a refreshing break from the bleakness that Batman is typically faced with. Maybe the stories are a little weaker story wise than the typical Batman fare, but it's nice to see that even the Batman gets a break from the doom and gloom once in a while.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman Beyond (2015) #16

Sep 7, 2016

The issue certainly fulfilled its function of wrapping up the story and setting the stage for the relaunch under the Rebirth banner.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #1

Oct 28, 2016

A solid issue, carrying on the strong start of the Rebirth special. It will be interesting to see how Terrys attempt at bringing the Jokerz down from the inside progresses.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #2

Nov 23, 2016

It's a fun story, with no drop in momentum from the Rebirth special. I look forward to seeing more of Terry's portrayal of Trey Malone.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #3

Dec 28, 2016

The story is still going strong, and the revelation that Bruce is still alive is an unexpected bombshell. The title was doing okay without him, but his return would make it even better.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #4

Jan 25, 2017

As is typical with the Rebirth titles, we get a strong mix of the classic and the new in this issue. Terry has returned as Batman, but he has to contend with more people knowing his secret identity. Even the costume is a mix of old and new. So far, this seems to be a winning recipe for DC.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #5

Feb 22, 2017

Batman Beyond is looking alot like the classic version again now that both Terry and Bruce are back, and the return of the Joker certainly promises exciting stories to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #7

Apr 26, 2017

Even though Batman Beyond doesn't seem overtly connected to the Rebirth storyline, it seems to be exemplifying the Rebirth ethos. It is so far proving to be one of DC's better titles.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #8

May 24, 2017

This is another shocker in a sequence of surprising returns. Jurgens certainly knows how to throw a curve at his readers. I'm eager to see what else he's got up his sleeve.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #9

Jun 29, 2017

Another good issue in this great series. Definitely give it a read if you haven't already.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #10

Jul 26, 2017

The title feels like a true continuation of the cartoon. I have to say that bringing Bruce back has revitalized the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #11

Aug 23, 2017

Although I watched the Batman Beyond cartoon, it was never really a favourite of mine, as it seemed too disconnected from the rest of the DC Universe. This title seems to me to be better grounded in the rest of DC's mythology, even if it is set a few decades in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #12

Sep 27, 2017

Despite the absence of the title character, we still get a great story focusing on the female characters, especially Batgirl, a great addition to the future Bat-Family.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #13

Oct 25, 2017

Bernard Chang did a stellar job on this issue, giving us an exciting story with a unique structure and skillful art. If this issue is any indication, DC should consider giving him further opportunities to write.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #14

Nov 25, 2017

Batman Beyond does a great job of incorporating elements of the original Batman Beyond cartoon with elements from the current-day DCU into exciting adventures of Batman. Oddly enough, the one DC book set in the future in some ways seems the most in tune with DC's history.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #15

Dec 29, 2017

Batman Beyond is a fun title that nostalgically recalls the Batman Beyond cartoon, but also builds on the foundation of the show, carrying the story forward. It's almost like getting extra seasons past the cancellation of the show.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #16

Jan 25, 2018

Batman beyond has done a stellar job of both returning the book to a state approximating the original cartoon, while also adding to the mythos. The best thing about this series is that it feels like a continuation of the Batman Beyond cartoon, rather than an alternative take on it. The cartoon didn't really end, it lives on in comic book form.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #17

Mar 1, 2018

This title is a real pleasure for fans of the original Kids' WB cartoon. It's almost as if the series had been brought back from cancellation for a fourth season.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #18

Mar 30, 2018

I've really been enjoying the Rebirth version of the title but I have long felt that the one thing missing from the Batman Beyond mythos was a Robin, and Matt was the obvious choice. I hope that this sticks, and that Matt is allowed to continue his career as the Robin of the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #19

Apr 25, 2018

The one thing that Batman Beyond has been lacking is for Terry to have his own Bat-Family. The addition of a Robin is the logical first step towards rectifying this. This issue could be as important to Batman Beyond as the introduction of the original Dick Grayson Robin was in the Golden Age Batman comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #20

May 23, 2018

It was great to see Rebirth bringing Batman Beyond back to a status quo that closely resembled the original cartoon incarnation, but it's even more exciting to see the mythos evolving and expanding. And what better addition could there be than a new Robin?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #21

Jun 27, 2018

Batman Beyond is definitely a must for fans of the original cartoon, but it's also a fascinating exploration of what might happen after Bruce hands over the identity to an eventual successor. It's great to see DC continuing the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #22

Jul 25, 2018

When Batman Beyond originally appeared as a cartoon, I wasn't terribly enthused with the idea. Someone other than Bruce Wayne as Batman? So, I was only an occasional viewer. But the reading the comics, especially since the return of Terry has brought me around to being a Batman Beyond fan. It may or may not show the ‘true' future of the Batman family, but it makes for a damn exciting premise for a different look at the Batman mythos. And this issue clearly exemplifies that.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #23

Aug 22, 2018

Honestly, this title has been a revelation to me. The idea of someone other than Bruce Wayne as Batman shouldn't work, but Jurgens deftly manages to make Terry's story nearly as compelling as his predecessor's, giving us some damn fun stories along the way.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman Beyond: Rebirth #1

Sep 28, 2016

This is a solid setup for the upcoming new series. It recaps Terry's origin and sets up the new status quo. DC has once again succeeded in returning classic elements to the current continuity of the character.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batwoman: Rebirth #1

Feb 15, 2017

A solid start for the return of Batwoman's solo title. It reaffirms that Batwoman is still the same character that fans are familiar with from her previous two series, but also shows that she will be taken in new directions rather than just retreading old ground.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Blue Beetle (2016) #1

Sep 28, 2016

DC seems to be having success after success with the Rebirth titles and Blue Beetle is no exception. Just as with the other books, we get the best of the classic and the New 52, as embodied by the team of Ted and Jaime.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Blue Beetle (2016) #2

Oct 28, 2016

This is another fun issue in DCs Rebirth line. DCs Rebirth philosophy is working well with Blue Beetle, mixing together the best of the Ted Kord and Jaime Reyes eras of Blue Beetle history.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Blue Beetle (2016) #3

Nov 23, 2016

This issue raises a lot of questions, but gives few answers. This in itself is not a bad thing, as it's raising suspense, which plays against the promise of next issue's revelations. I eagerly look forward to seeing what that issue will tell us about Jaime and Ted.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Blue Beetle (2016) #4

Dec 28, 2016

This issue was a fun look at the DC's Blue Beetle history, but it still leaves a lot unsaid. I hope this is merely an appetizer and that DC is planning on giving us the full story soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Blue Beetle (2016) #5

Jan 25, 2017

At first, I didn't think this would be one of my favourite series, but I should have realized that with Giffen involved, that it would be something special. Lesson learned.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Blue Beetle (2016) #6

Feb 22, 2017

The action is hitting high gear now, and I eagerly await to see next issues confrontation with Doctor Fate. This title holds some of Rebirth's most tantalizing secrets, and it's a pleasure to scour each issue for more hints.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Blue Beetle (2016) #7

Mar 22, 2017

High powered guest stars, Rebirth hints, and tons of action " there's not much more you could wish for.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Blue Beetle (2016) #8

Apr 26, 2017

This title just keeps getting better and better. I was never terribly excited about Jaime's adventures in the pre-Flashpoint and New 52 runs of Blue Beetle, but the Rebirth run is one of my favourite titles.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Blue Beetle (2016) #9

May 24, 2017

Jaime Reyes as the Blue Beetle has generally been well received, but this title has added an element the title lacked: a sense of legacy. Plus, many readers bemoaned the loss of Ted Kord. This title truly gives us the best of both worlds by giving us both Jaime and Ted, and they work together better as a team than they do as solo heroes.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Blue Beetle (2016) #10

Jun 29, 2017

I'll admit that I found the previous Blue Beetle titles a bit boring, but this title is anything but. Giffen and DeMatteis have made Blue Beetle an interesting and exciting character again. As such, it definitely fulfills the Rebirth mandate to make reading DC's comics fun again.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Blue Beetle (2016) #11

Jul 27, 2017

I hope the rumours of Blue Beetle's cancellation aren't true, as I feel this title is just starting to hit its stride. Here's a suggestion for the DC: take a cue from Green Lanterns and change the title to Blue Beetles with both Ted and Jaime as a duo.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Blue Beetle (2016) #12

Aug 23, 2017

A fun story with humour, some nice character interaction, plus a Batman appearance. Giffen and DeMatteis weave all these elements into an amazing story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Blue Beetle (2016) #13

Sep 28, 2017

It has been a fun ride with Giffen, DeMatteis, and Kolins, but they are now handing the title over to a new creative team. I hope they can live up to the standard set by their predecessors.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Blue Beetle (2016) #14

Oct 25, 2017

This issue serves as a promising start for the new writer, but it remains to be seen if he can maintain the level of quality established by the outgoing writers. Hopefully he will rise to the challenge and make his own mark on the title, so I will remain cautiously optimistic about its future.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Blue Beetle (2016) #15

Nov 25, 2017

Blue Beetle has been a fun book to read, but the current storyline seems a bit underwhelming due to the absence of Ted from the book. Unfortunately, with the end of the series looming, Ted's return in a couple of months will come too late to put this book back on track again.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Blue Beetle (2016) #16

Dec 29, 2017

Despite these drawbacks, it still is a decent read. I wish Sebela had been allotted a longer run to show what he could do with the characters. This storyline is good, but the spectre of the title's impending end gives it a bit of a sombre feel that diminishes the fun " and Blue Beetle is a title that should be fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Blue Beetle (2016) #17

Jan 25, 2018

The imminent end of the title casts a pall over the issue, which otherwise would be an exciting chapter of the series. Hopefully Ted and Jaime will return to the DCU soon and not linger in limbo for long.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Blue Beetle (2016) #18

Mar 1, 2018

Even if the title was cut short, it was a fun run. It's somewhat disappointing that it never quite realized the claim from the early issues that "Together they are the Blue Beetle." Hopefully, neither Ted nor Jaime will linger long in comic book limbo before they are brought back in another title.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Blue Beetle: Rebirth #1

Aug 24, 2016

This issue gives us a fun and exciting first look at Jaime and Ted's adventures. If Giffen and Kolins can maintain the quality shown here, then Blue Beetle will be another success for DC's Rebirth initiative.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
DC Nation (2018) #0

May 2, 2018

With a list of writers like King, Bendis, Snyder, Tynion, and Williamson all in a single issue (not to mention some great art) – and only for 25 cents. It's the bargain of the year. Don't miss this early peek at DC's summer events.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
DC Universe Holiday Special: 2017 #1

Dec 6, 2017

On the whole, the stories are good, and the book does deliver a healthy dose of holiday cheer to get readers in the mood for the festive season. It also gives readers a unique chance to see a wide selection of characters from several different creative teams in a single title.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
DC/Hanna-Barbera: Black Lightning/Hong Kong PHOOEY Special #1

May 30, 2018

Like the other DC/Hanna Barbera crossovers, this book is a fun read, with a large dose of nostalgia, especially for children of the 70s. It also provides a humorous and thought-provoking look at a serious issue that has dominated the news in recent months. This special is definitely well worth reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
DC/Hanna-Barbera: Super Sons/Dynomutt Special #1

May 30, 2018

As a fan of Tomasi's Super Sons title and as someone who actually watched the Dynomutt cartoons on Saturday mornings in the 70s, how could I not love this title? Oddly enough, I am equally as nostalgic for a series that ended last week as I am for a cartoon I enjoyed as a young kid. These DC/Hanna Barbera crossovers are all quite enjoyable, and Super Sons/Dynomutt is no exception.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Doctor Fate #16

Sep 21, 2016

This was a great issue that cements Khalid's place in the DC Universe as Doctor Fate. If it had been the final issue, it would have served as a fine send off.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Doctor Fate #17

Oct 28, 2016

This is an engaging story, and leaves me waiting to see how its resolved next issue. Also, I will be eagerly waiting to see how Khalids status quo will be left as he moves towards the Rebirth era.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Doctor Fate #18

Nov 16, 2016

This is a solid finale to the current adventures of Khalid Nassour as Doctor Fate, but it leaves us with a lot of questions that hopefully will be answered soon elsewhere in the DC Universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Doomsday Clock #5

Jun 2, 2018

Delays or not, the story is captivating and pure fan service for those who miss the pre-Flashpoint DCU. A lot is yet to be revealed about how the DC Universe will look at the end of the series, but the story of how it gets there is proving to be an amazing one.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Flash (2016) #2

Jul 13, 2016

Overall a solid issue that sets up the challenges that Barry will be facing in the months ahead.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #3

Jul 27, 2016

Not only is this a solid story in itself, we are starting to see the Flash returning to the core characteristics that make him great: honesty, decency, optimism, and the pure joy he has in helping people both as a superhero and as a police scientist.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #4

Aug 10, 2016

The Rebirth ethos is evident inthis issue, even if the events are tangential to the Rebirth storyline " not just in Barry's costume, but a generally more upbeat tone. Barry is at his core one of DC's more upbeat and optimistic characters, and his return to that status is refreshing.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Flash (2016) #5

Aug 24, 2016

This issue continues the good work that has been done in this title so far. The Flash is definitely one of the standout titles in DC's Rebirth line.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #6

Sep 14, 2016

This was a great issue. The revelation of Godspeed's identity is surprising, but fits the way the character has been portrayed since his introduction. I love that we get a few more hints about DC Rebirth. Keep them coming, DC!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #7

Sep 28, 2016

This series continues to impress, and admirably sets up the upcoming finale of this first arc. Godspeed has brought Barry to a pretty low point, but already Barry is recovering and ready to enter the final round against Godspeed.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Flash (2016) #8

Oct 12, 2016

I was blown away by this issue. We gota satisfying conclusion to the Godspeed saga, the debut of the new Kid Flash, some nostalgic touches, and a reminder that more exploration in the Rebirth mystery is coming soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Flash (2016) #9

Oct 28, 2016

An amazing issue that has delivered a lot of items that Ive been waiting for: the meeting of the former and current Kid Flashes, more Rebirth hints, and the promised return of the Golden Age Flash. I could hardly ask for anything more from a single regular issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #11

Nov 23, 2016

It's clear with this issue thatTheFlash is central to the Rebirth storyline. Not only do we get some hints at the possible return of the Justice Society, but the idea of Barry as a beacon of hope and optimism is reflective of his classic role in the DC Universe. Reaffirming this idea, brings the character back to his core, which is the stated mission of the Rebirth storyline.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #12

Dec 14, 2016

Once again, we see that DC is reclaiming a lot of the hope and optimism that is at the core of Barry Allen. Barry has had to go through a lot of tragedy, but at the core he's a bright and hopeful character. This reflects the central theme of Rebirth which is seeking to do the same for the DCU in general.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #13

Dec 28, 2016

This issue is a very sweet Christmas storythat allows us a bit of a breather from the heavy action of the first few months of the series. Also, it allows some of the basic optimism of the title character to shine through. And we get to see these two characters move closer to their destiny to be together.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #14

Jan 11, 2017

A veryenjoyable issue. Once again, this title follows the Rebirth ethos of reminding us of DC's past, while moving the story forward in a new direction.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #15

Jan 25, 2017

The return of the Rogues does a lot to make the book feel like the classic comics. Joshua Williamson has done a great job of bringing the Flash back to his classic roots, and pitting him against the Rogues takes this even further.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #16

Feb 8, 2017

Seeing Barry in action against the Rogues hearkens back to the classic days of the silver and bronze age stories. Williamson's take on the Flash gives me the same thrill I had when I would read The Flash as a kid in the 70s.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #17

Feb 26, 2017

Once again, we see DC's Rebirth ethos of bringing back the classic while moving forward playout. This issue makes it clear that the Rogues, who are staple Flash villains, have returned as a major thorn in the Flash's side, but that they are now branching out into the deeper and darker world of organized crime. This should make for some interesting challenges for the Flash to overcome

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #18

Mar 8, 2017

The inclusion of Captain Boomerang hearkens back to the classic silver age stories where Barry battled him. But Boomerang's status as a member of the Suicide Squad is being built upon, instead of being retconned away. This is keeping in line with the DC Rebirth ethos of recapturing the classic feel, but keeping the story moving forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #19

Mar 22, 2017

A great issue with an important turning point in the relationship between the Flash and his protg. Add to this a classic Flash villain and the setup for the upcoming Flash/Batman crossover, and you have the recipe for a truly memorable Flash story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #20

Apr 12, 2017

This issue showcased Barry and Iris' relationship, and gave us a chance to see Iris shine as an investigative reporter. Although Barry may be headed for some dark days soon, he remains one of the brightest characters in the DC Universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Flash (2016) #21

Apr 26, 2017

DC is trying hard to reconnect with longtime fans that may have been disenchanted with DC over the New 52 reboot. While there was much I liked about the New 52, I much preferred the pre-Flashpoint DCU. But between "The Button" and "Superman Reborn," this has been an amazing month for DC Fans. For the first time in years, reading comics seem as fun and exciting as it did when I was a kid.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Flash (2016) #22

May 17, 2017

My mind was blown by this issue. After I read it, I just had to sit and absorb it for about an hour before I could even start reviewing it. If this is indicative of where the Rebirth and Doomsday Clock storylines are headed, then I am reassured that the DCU is in good hands.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #23

May 31, 2017

The Flash continues to be one of my favourite titles, especially with the increased drama as Barry balances keeping Iris safe by hiding his secret life against his desire to be open and honest with her. Also, I will be eager to see how Wally fares in his first solo encounter against the Reverse-Flash, who is one of Barry's deadliest villains.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #24

Jun 14, 2017

It's becoming clearer that both The Flash and Zoom figure prominently in the Rebirth mystery. Will Zoom's memories of the pre-Flashpoint universe be key in restoring some of that history? The Flash continues to be a cornerstone of the Rebirth saga.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #25

Jun 29, 2017

The Flash remains one of my favourite Rebirth titles. It also is one of the core titles to watch for hints at the overarching Rebirth story. I eagerly await each new issue so I can dive right into Barry's adventures as the Flash.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #26

Jul 12, 2017

The Flash is really starting to feel like the Flash comics I read as a kid in the 70s. This really reminds me of the fun and excitement that comics used to have. The DC Rebirth ethos is really paying off for longtime fans of Barry Allen's Flash.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Flash (2016) #27

Jul 26, 2017

Barry's life is really in turmoil right now, but it makes for great reading. The Flash is easily one of the best books of the Rebirth line right now, and is always the book I read first on any week a new issue comes out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #28

Aug 9, 2017

Although Barry has it tough right now, the added drama makes for great reading. The Flash is one of the titles I tear into first as soon as I get ahold of it because I have to find out the latest development in Barry's chaotic life.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #29

Aug 23, 2017

Things just keep getting worse for Barry, but it makes for great reading. I eagerly await each issue and have to read it immediately to find out what's happening to Barry.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #30

Sep 14, 2017

As much as I hate to see the crap Barry is having to put up with, I can't deny that it makes for compelling reading, and this issue is no exception.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Flash (2016) #31

Sep 28, 2017

The Flash is the heart of the DCU, and over the past few issues, that heart has been hurting. It's great to see that he is finally taking steps to get his life in order. Rebirth is about hope and optimism, which can't properly succeed if the DCU's heart loses touch with that optimism.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #32

Oct 11, 2017

It is apparent that there is a battle going on between positivity and negativity going on in Barry's soul, which reflects the war between those forces that seems to be happening in the wider DCU. The Rebirth saga seems to be building to something big, and I'm betting that Barry will be in the thick of it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Flash (2016) #33

Oct 26, 2017

Guest appearances from most of DC's biggest stars, hints about Barry's future, a possible hint about Bart Allen, a seemingly unbeatable threat, and most important of all, Barry and Iris have made up. What else could a Flash fan ask for? Once again Barry shows himself to be the heart of the DCU. When Barry asks, "How can you see Superman fly and not be inspired?", I was thinking, "How can you see the Flash run and not be inspired?"

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #34

Nov 11, 2017

This issue raises several questions, but it suitably sets up the action for next issue's battle against Barry's newly minted foe, Negative Flash. It promises to be an epic battle that shouldn't be missed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #35

Nov 25, 2017

Barry is still working on getting his life back in order, but he still has a lot of trouble ahead. But Barry's optimistic view of life is shining through, demonstrating his place as the heart of the DC Universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #36

Dec 13, 2017

A great issue of a great series. Williamson and Porter have managed to recapture the same magic I remember from reading the adventures of the Flash when I was a kid.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #37

Dec 29, 2017

The Flash was one of the cornerstones of DC's Rebirth era, and seems to be one of their strongest titles as the DCU moves beyond Rebirth. Hopefully we will see Barry back with Iris to fully restore the title to its classic greatness.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Flash (2016) #38

Jan 10, 2018

It's unlikely that Barry's life will be smooth sailing from here on, but Barry has finally taken the first concrete steps towards becoming once again the shining exemplar of hope and optimism in the DCU. It's issues like this that make The Flash one of the best titles of DC's lineup.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #39

Jan 25, 2018

Barry may finally be getting his life back on track, but that doesn't mean that life will be easy for him. It appears that Barry is in for the fight of his life against Grodd and his allies in the upcoming battle. The Flash continues to be a standout title in DC's lineup.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Flash (2016) #41

Mar 1, 2018

Although I am still not completely sold that Barry's self-worth comes entirely from his powers, it still is an amazingly good story " especially since we get to see Wally taking such a prominent role in the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #42

Mar 15, 2018

This is a thrilling storyline and I can't wait to see how it continues to develop. Next issue should be harrowing as Barry will have to face four of his Speed Force protgs, who are now mind-controlled by Grodd.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Flash (2016) #43

Mar 30, 2018

After an extended time of seeing Barry struggling with negativity, we finally get a glimpse of Barry's optimism shining through again. Although it is a fascinating direction to see Barry struggling with a crisis of faith, it's great to see this finally resolved.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Flash (2016) #44

Apr 12, 2018

Finally, after months of battling with negativity, Barry seems to be getting back to his normal optimistic self. But if the hints about the Flash War are true, it may be Wally that's about to have a crisis of faith. That promises a powerful story, as it hearkens back to how he grew into the role of the Flash in his own title.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Flash (2016) #45

Apr 25, 2018

Williamson and Duce should be lauded for their fine work on this long-awaited story. I was originally concerned when I first heard about the Flash War, but this prelude makes me confident that we are in for one hell of a story.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Flash (2016) #46

May 9, 2018

DC has a summer chock full of major events: the Batman/Catwoman wedding, Man Of Steel, and Justice League: No Justice. But it seems that the main event will really take place in the pages of The Flash. Despite the hype for the other events, be sure to not to forget about the “Flash War.”

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Flash (2016) #47

May 23, 2018

With all the various DC events taking place, “The Flash War” is proving to be one of the most exciting so far. It appears that much of what was teased in the DC Universe: Rebirth special is finally going to coming to fruition. This is the event to watch this summer!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Flash (2016) #48

Jun 13, 2018

This is a huge summer for DC with weddings and relaunches, but in my opinion the real excitement is happening in the pages of The Flash as Wally and Barry fight that could save Wally's family or destroy the Speed Force and unravel time itself. “Flash War” is a story you don't want to miss.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Flash (2016) #49

Jun 27, 2018

Despite this being an eventful summer for DC, the Flash War stands out as one of the most compelling storylines. I eagerly await the concluding chapter in two weeks.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Flash (2016) #50

Jul 12, 2018

The Flash War has lived up to the hype. Williamson has delivered an amazing story, answered a long-standing debate, and returned a long-missed member of the Flash family. I will be eagerly awaiting the next issue to see the fallout from this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Flash (2016) #51

Jul 25, 2018

This issue is an amazing and touching bookend to The Flash War saga. There is a healthy dose of reverence to the history of both Flashes, as well as a look towards both their futures. I am looking forward to seeing where Heroes In Crisis takes Wally. Hopefully he will eventually get his own ongoing series. And Barry's own series is in good hands under the care of Joshua Williamson.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Flash (2016) #52

Aug 9, 2018

The Flash War storyline was amazing, but things aren't slowing down any for the Flash now that it's over with. This issue hints that Barry still has plenty enough trouble ahead to keep him busy and to keep us readers entertained. Reading the Flash hasn't been this much fun since Mark Waid was writing Wally's adventures in the nineties.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #53

Aug 22, 2018

Williamson has given us another top-notch story, and Duce's art beautifully captures the highly kinetic adventures of DC's premier speedster. The Flash always goes on the very top of the pile whenever I get a new stack of comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #54

Sep 12, 2018

It's hard for me to pick a favourite title out of DC's lineup considering all the great stuff they're putting out. But I would definitely place The Flash in my top two or three. Williamson has re-established Barry Allen as a linchpin of the DC Universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Flash (2016) Annual #1

Jan 31, 2018

This story reminds me of how much I miss Wally's comic and the supporting cast that was written out of the DC canon with the New 52 reboot. It gives me hope that many of those characters are going to be coming back soon. I am also reminded of how much I miss seeing Barry and Wally working together. I hope this storyline isn't leading to one or the other giving up the Flash identity, but rather to affirm that there is room in the DCU for two Flashes (or three once Jay Garrick returns).

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Flash: Rebirth (2016) #1

Jun 8, 2016

Overall, a solid issue. DC's Rebirth event continues to please. The commitment to returning the best of the old is manifest in respect beinggiven to Wally. DC has realized that both Wally and Barry can be the Flash without any detriment to either.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Gotham Academy Annual #1

Aug 31, 2016

This was a fun mystery with a complex storyline that came to a surprising, yet satisfying resolution. Gotham Academy continues to be an enjoyable title and an interesting diversion from DC's typical superhero stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Lanterns #1

Jun 15, 2016

Overall, this is a good first issue. If the writer and artists can maintain the quality shown in this initial outing, then Green Lanterns will be an enjoyable series to follow.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Lanterns: Rebirth #1

Jun 4, 2016

Overall, this was a solid set-up issue for a new series. I look forward to seeing if the quality holds up as the series progresses.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2016) #20

May 3, 2017

A fun and head issue. If time paradoxes give you a headache, you might want to skip it, but if you love wibbly-wobbly-timey-wimey stuff, then be sure to pick this issue up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2016) #21

May 18, 2017

This is a fun and thoughtful story and serves as a nice companion piece to "The Button." This iteration of the League is shaping up to be the best since Morrison's "Big Seven."

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2016) #22

Jun 7, 2017

Although the League treated the threat with all due seriousness, this issue exemplifies the element of fun that has been making a comeback in the Rebirth line. This was an important piece of the pre-Flashpoint DC Universe's greatness, and it is a joy to see it being reclaimed in Rebirth.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2016) #23

Jun 22, 2017

Like last issue, there seems to be a positivity to the team that has been missing for while. Justice League by rights should be one of DC's best titles, and the last few issues indicate to me that it is quickly working its way back to that status.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2016) #24

Jul 5, 2017

With a powerful new member, the League are set to take on future threats. Justice League has been gaining steam and if this trend continues, it could return to being one of DC's top series.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League (2016) #25

Jul 19, 2017

I found this issue to be a mixed bag. The most interesting part was the conversation between Batman and Molly, and the possible Rebirth hints being dropped. But other than a shining moment for Simon, the fight against Shirak was rather forgettable.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League (2016) #26

Aug 3, 2017

There's definitely the makings of a great Justice League Story in this issue. Hopefully, the subsequent chapters of this storyline will realize that potential, but we shall have to wait and see.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League (2016) #27

Aug 17, 2017

Despite the problems I have with this issue, it still is an interesting premise that promises for an exciting conclusion once the League and their future children face off against Sovereign.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League (2016) #28

Sep 7, 2017

It seems to me that the best way to appreciate this storyline, and perhaps Hitch's entire run on this title is to take it as separate from the rest of the DCU. It doesn't do very well in lining up with the rest of the DCU, but it makes a decent story when taken on its own.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League (2016) #29

Sep 21, 2017

Despite some flaws in the story, this is still an exciting and thought-provoking adventure. I look forward to how the storyline plays out in the upcoming issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League (2016) #30

Oct 5, 2017

There is the makings of a great Justice League story in here, but it just seems off somehow. Some story elements are confusing, while others seem contradictory with what else is going on in the DCU. Also, it seems hard to care too much about children of the League that we barely know and that come from a future that could never happen.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League (2016) #31

Oct 19, 2017

This storyline had all the right ingredients for an epic Justice League story that would have been fitting for Hitch's final bow as the Justice League writer, but instead it fell flat. Let's hope that the new creative team fares better.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2016) #32

Nov 2, 2017

An exciting action-packed adventure that pits each Leaguer against their ultimate foe: a villain with their own powers, but the cunning and skill of the goddamn Batman.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League (2016) #33

Nov 15, 2017

This and the previous issue of Justice League have proven to be an exciting interlude during the changeover of creative teams. I can hardly wait to see what the new creators have in store for us in the upcoming issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2016) #34

Dec 7, 2017

If the new creative team can keep up the level of quality shown in this initial chapter, then we should be in for a very enjoyable run. I look forward to seeing what the post-Rebirth era holds for the Justice League.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2016) #35

Dec 20, 2017

Priest and Woods are off to a great start on this title with an engaging and thought-provoking storyline. If they can maintain this level of quality, Justice League will once again be one of DC's best titles.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League (2016) #36

Jan 5, 2018

Within only a three issues so far, Priest has breathed new life into Justice League. The League continues to fight the usual threats, but looming legal threats and a crisis of faith give the story a new dimension. And the threat posed by the ersatz Batman promises a thrilling conflict as the "Justice Lost" storyline continues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2016) #37

Jan 17, 2018

Despite this apparent continuity error, this storyline is proving to be a refreshing change for Justice League. The title was starting to feel a bit tired and repetitive, but Priest has managed to reinvigorate the title.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2016) #38

Feb 9, 2018

This is a very strong character-driven issue with only a minimal amount of action needed. The interactions between the characters as they cope with the question of Batman's leadership of the team is so engrossing that you will hardly notice that current villain doesn't even put in an appearance this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2016) #39

Feb 22, 2018

Despite storytelling method being a bit confusing at times, this storyline gives us a fresh take on the League, adding a layer of realism in how the members of the team work with each other and how the team deals with public opinion and governmental interference.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2016) #40

Mar 8, 2018

The threads that Priest has laid down seem to be starting to come together. It's hard to see where exactly the story is leading, but the League is facing a threat that is striking at the League's fundamental reasons for existing rather than the usual physical threats the League is used to. This is a fresh take on the League that is quite captivating.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2016) #41

Mar 23, 2018

Priest has managed to put the League into a situation quite unlike any they've faced before, with political pressures, internal pressures, and a villain who uses their secrets to his own advantage. So far, this is an intriguing new direction for the League and I look forward to see where it leads.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2016) #42

Apr 4, 2018

This story may be a bit confusing at times, but it is certainly exciting and offers a fresh perspective on the Justice League that is somewhat different from their other adventures. I look forward to seeing where this story leads.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2016) #43

Apr 18, 2018

This final issue adequately serves to cap off the series, but it does leave me a bit regretful that Priest didn't have a bit longer to fully realize the potential of this storyline. However, I this is somewhat ameliorated knowing that Scott Snyder will soon be helming a new Justice League series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League (2018) #1

Jun 6, 2018

Snyder gets off to a great start with this issue, pointing the League in an exciting new direction for the future, but also showing plenty of respect for the League's past. If Snyder maintains the level of quality evident in this debut issue, then DC's foremost team is in good hands.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League (2018) #2

Jun 20, 2018

In the wake of Metal and No Justice, Justice League appears to be the core book of what DC is calling the “New Justice” family, which will also contain Justice League Odyssey, Justice League Dark, and Titans. For better or worse, this puts this title at the forefront of the DCU. And based on the first two issues, I think we're in for a hell of a ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2018) #3

Jul 4, 2018

Justice League seems to be one of the hot points where the mysteries raised by Rebirth are playing out. Snyder is also giving us a kick-ass story at the same time. Snyder has brought the League's main title back to being the centerpiece of the DC lineup.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League (2018) #4

Jul 18, 2018

Snyder has ramped the stakes up to an unprecedented level. It's like the League was having to deal with two or three Crisis-level events simultaneously. Doing so is something of a risk, but it's definitely paying off.Snyder has returnedJustice League back to its rightful place as a cornerstone title of the DC lineup.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2018) #5

Aug 1, 2018

Lex is at the very threshold of conquering the universe and the Legion of Doom has control of various cosmic powers that drastically overpower the League. Things have rarely looked this dark for DC's premier team. This version of the Justice League works on a scale that's even more epic than Grant Morrison's “Big 7” League, making this one of the most exciting books in DC's lineup.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League (2018) #6

Aug 15, 2018

While this may not be a great selection for a new or younger reader, it still is a great story for fans that enjoy sinking their teeth into a deeper story, especially if they like adventures on a huge, cosmic scale. This title has definitely brought DC's premier team back to the forefront of DC's lineup.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2018) #7

Sep 5, 2018

With Metal and No Justice, Snyder has created a number of threads through the entire DCU, and it seems that the threads are converging in Justice League. By telling a story on such a large-scale, Snyder takes a large risk of the whole story falling flat, but so far his risk is paying off.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2018) #8

Sep 20, 2018

This title is absolutely living up to its potential. This is the most exciting the League's adventures have been since Morrison's JLA.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Midnighter And Apollo #1

Oct 5, 2016

A great return for the team of Midnighter and Apollo, one of comics' greatest couples. The book is full of action, romance, suspense, nostalgic winks at DC's past, and even a bit of philosophical musing about the necessity of killing. Who could ask for more?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Midnighter And Apollo #2

Nov 2, 2016

This story is fun, and very, very violent, but it's also shaping up to a classic love story, where the protagonist literally goes through Hell to be reunited with his lover. I can hardly wait until next issue to see Midnighter cutting a swath through the Underworld.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Midnighter And Apollo #3

Dec 7, 2016

The story continues to be fun, but maintainsthe classic theme of a man traversing Hell to save his lover. It also ends on a strong cliffhanger which leaves us eagerly wondering how Midnighter will prevail over the Mawzir with the Ace of Winchesters destroyed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Midnighter And Apollo #4

Jan 4, 2017

The story follows the classic theme of a lover fighting his way through Hell, against impossible odds to save his lover. How could Midnighter be any more badass than that?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Midnighter And Apollo #5

Feb 1, 2017

This issue, in which Midnighter apparently defeats Neron only to find out it was for naught, is the perfect setup for Apollo and Midnighter's final showdown with the Prince of Lies. I will be eagerly awaiting the next issue to see that epic confrontation.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Midnighter And Apollo #6

Mar 1, 2017

This series had it all: badass action, nods to DC history, and a timeless love story. It doesn't get much better than this.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Mister Miracle #1

Aug 9, 2017

Do not miss out on this series. It's one of DC's most fascinating characters written and drawn by one of DC's hottest creator teams. If the quality is maintained from this issue, it should easily be one of DC's biggest hits of the year.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Mister Miracle #2

Sep 14, 2017

Mister Miracle's defining trait is that he can escape any trap. I am positive that this is the story of his greatest escape ever, even though we have yet to see the nature of the trap. This series has the makings of a truly epic Fourth World story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Mister Miracle #3

Oct 11, 2017

This book is a treat to read carefully, looking for hints or clues about what's really going on. Mister Miracle is faced with the most dangerous trap of his career, and I can hardly wait to see how he escapes.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Mister Miracle #4

Nov 9, 2017

Reading this series messes with the mind, but in a fun way. We are kept wondering what is wrong with reality. I can't help but feel compelled to keep reading the series until Scott solves the mystery and escapes the trap.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Mister Miracle #5

Dec 13, 2017

While DC's Rebirth era has given us many great books, Mister Miracle is one of the best, despite not being labelled as a Rebirth title. It has breathed new life into Jack Kirby's Fourth World without losing touch with the spirit of Kirby's original stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mister Miracle #6

Jan 10, 2018

Mister Miracle is one of the most engaging, and thought-provoking comics I have encountered. Plus, the fact that it is well-rooted in Jack Kirby's Fourth World mythology make it even better. This was one of the best comics of 2017 and probably will be for 2018 as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mister Miracle #7

Mar 15, 2018

This series continues to be a delight and continues moving in unexpected directions. While I'm not sure I agree with Entertainment Weekly that it's the best comic on the stands, it is certainly near the top and is definitely a unique reading experience.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mister Miracle #8

Apr 18, 2018

King and Gerad's Mister Miracle is one of finest books in DC's lineup, and that's saying something given the high quality of titles DC has been producing since the Rebirth relaunch. Mister Miracle goes to the very top of my to-read pile whenever a new issue comes out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mister Miracle #9

Jun 13, 2018

DC has had an amazing string of successes in the two years since the Rebirth era began, and Mister Miracle is foremost among them. This title has me impatiently waiting for the next installment as the issue heads into the last few issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mister Miracle #10

Aug 1, 2018

This series has it all: humour, action, drama, suspense, pathos, and a reverential treatment of Kirby's creations. Plus it has a nice allegorical poke at Kirby's partner and nemesis, Stan Lee. With Mister Miracle, King is doing the King proud.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mister Miracle #11

Sep 19, 2018

This series has been one hell of a ride so far, and next issue will likely prove to be heart-wrenching, because if my interpretation is correct, Scott will need to face the fact that Jacob isn't real before he can truly escape the false life he's trapped in. I find myself both eagerly anticipating and dreading the final issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Nightwing (2016) #18

Apr 5, 2017

There is great chemistry between Dick and Damian, hearkening back to their time as Batman and Robin. It will be interesting to see how his relationship with Shawn will develop.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #12

Jul 12, 2017

This story shows a unique tender side to tough guy Jason Todd. I wouldn't want to see Jason become less of a badass, but it's good to see that that isn't all there is to the character. This Rebirth title shows that Rebirth isn't just about returning the DCU to its pre-Flashpoint state, but also about providing quality stories that build on elements introduced in the New 52 era.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Robin: Son of Batman #13

Jun 28, 2016

This issue is a fine conclusion to this chapter in the life of Damian. It ends on a poignant and optimistic note, promising that although the title may be ending, the adventure will always continue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Suicide Squad Most Wanted: El Diablo #1

Aug 3, 2016

Both stories were strong, but I found the Boomerang story a bit more compelling than the El Diablo story. However, both are interesting tales, and I look forward to seeing how they progress over the course of the mini-series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Super Sons #11

Dec 21, 2017

Despite this, this chapter keeps up the momentum started in the first chapter. This crossover so far is one of my favourite comic storylines of the year. Hopefully, the remaining chapters will maintain the same level of quality.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Super Sons #12

Jan 18, 2018

It doesn't seem that long ago that a comic starring the sons of Superman and Batman could even exist, except maybe as an Elseworlds story. But now it's one of the best titles in DC's lineup, telling the story of a new generation's World's Finest team.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Super Sons #13

Feb 21, 2018

Whether the title is coming to a close or not, this issue is fantastic. The friendship between Superboy and Robin continues to develop. Hopefully we won't have to wait long for their adventures to continue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Super Sons #14

Mar 23, 2018

Super Sons is one of the best titles to come out of Rebirth. Hopefully DC will be wise enough to keep this duo active, preferably under Tomasi's stewardship.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Super Sons #15

Apr 18, 2018

This series has been one of the gems of the Rebirth relaunch. Although the next issue promises to be a great conclusion to the series, I don't look forward to the series ending. I hope DC has plans to give the duo a new monthly series in the near future.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Super Sons #16

May 25, 2018

Super Sons has been a stellar title, both as a companion to Tomasi and Gleason's Superman, and in its own right. This book has definitely been one of the Rebirth era's biggest successes, and I eagerly look forward to “Vol. 2.”

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Super Sons Annual #1

Dec 1, 2017

This story was a delightful romp that hearkened back to one of the sillier points in DC history, but did so in a way that doesn't jar with today's more sophisticated style. Like so much of Rebirth, it brought back some of the magic of DC's past along but introduced some intriguing new concepts as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superman (2016) #1

Jun 15, 2016

This issue once again shows that DC means it when they promised to bring back the missing heart of the pre-Flashpoint DCU and merging it with the new. We get the old with the return of Clark to his place as Superman and we get the old in seeing Jonathan's early steps towards his destiny as a new Superboy. This title promises to be one of the standout successes of DC's lineup.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2016) #2

Jul 6, 2016

Once again, this is a very solid issue, and I am enjoying seeing Superman guiding his son as he takes his first steps towards beinga superhero. This issue is branded as part of DC Rebirth, and we continue to see DC fulfilling the commitment to returning the spirit of the pre-Flashpoint era while continuing to move forward in new directions. What could better exemplify this than the pre-Flashpoint Superman training his son as he moves toward becoming the new Superboy?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2016) #3

Jul 20, 2016

Despite my quibbles over Clark's temper issues, I still loved the story. Each issue brings us a little closer to Jon taking up the mantle of Superboy, which is proving a fascinating journey. I can hardly wait until Jon lets his rage loose on the Eradicator next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2016) #4

Aug 3, 2016

Still, it's a very good issue. Even though he hasn't officially taken the name yet, we finally see Jon in action as Superboy " a milestone in his continuing story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superman (2016) #5

Aug 17, 2016

Another great issue. This has become my favourite title of the Rebirth books.Tomasi and Gleason haveproven that Superman can be a fatherwithout diminishing the appeal of the character.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superman (2016) #6

Sep 7, 2016

Once again, Superman is my favourite title of the week. This issue in particular exemplifies DC's commitment to restore the heart of the classic DC Universe, yet to continue the story forward instead of reverting to the past. Superman's return to prominence as Earth's beloved protector hearkens back to his classic past, but the introduction of his son as a new Superboy takes the story in a new and exciting direction.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superman (2016) #7

Sep 21, 2016

Another great issue. Again, Superman is my favourite title of the month – and given the quality evident across the whole DC line right now, that makes it quite special.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2016) #8

Oct 5, 2016

Once again, this is my favourite book of the current crop. It perfectly reflects DC's Rebirth ethos by taking us for a walk down memory lane while adding to the mythos of Superman and the new Superboy – an amalgamation of the old and the new.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2016) #9

Oct 19, 2016

Tomasi and Gleason are doing a stellar job on this title, and I hope they keep on doing it for a long time to come. They have managed to sell me on the idea of Superman as a family man, and I hope that when all the dust settles from the Rebirth saga, that this Superman remains the official Superman of the DCU.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2016) #10

Nov 2, 2016

What more could you ask from an issue? The World's Finest team, Superboy, Robin, the return of characters from Robin, Son Of Batman – plus a ton of action and some bonding between DC's two heavy hitters.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superman (2016) #11

Nov 16, 2016

This title is easily my favourite title of the Rebirth relaunch. It has returned Superman to his pre-New 52 level of greatness, but has also shown us a whole new side to Superman – Superman the husband and father. DC has taken a big chance in carrying Superman's story forward in such a manner, but thanks to Tomasi and Gleason's adept storytelling, this direction has paid off in spades.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2016) #12

Dec 7, 2016

This title is the jewel in the crown of DC's Rebirth line. Tomasi and Gleason have made reading about Superman's adventures fun again and I hope they continue their run on this title for a long time to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2016) #13

Dec 21, 2016

This issue seems a bit of a downer, compared to earlier issues, but this isn't a bad thing. Life has its ups and downs. And seeing how a marriage can go off the rails could be an important lesson that helps Lois and Clark keep their own marriage going strong.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2016) #14

Jan 4, 2017

What can I say? I have always loved parallel Earth stories, and it's good that DC is once again bringing out this staple type of story. And where parallel Earths are involved, it almost certainly must tie into DC Rebirth.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2016) #15

Jan 19, 2017

As a fan of multiple Earth stories and as a fan of Superman, this storyline is pushing all the right buttons for me. I can't wait to see what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2016) #16

Feb 1, 2017

This was a great romp with tons of alternate Earth Supermen along for the ride, and a bit of foreshadowing about the Rebirth storyline. This was another astounding issue in what is one of DC's foremost series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2016) #17

Feb 15, 2017

Another great issue in Tomasi and Gleason's stellar run on this series. The Rebirth relaunch has given us some great titles, and this is the cream of the crop.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superman (2016) #18

Mar 1, 2017

This title has focused on Superman's family, and now it's his family that is threatened. His life has been taken, but more importantly, so has his son. The stakes are higher than they've ever been, with Jon's life on the line. This promises to be a defining story in Superman's life.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superman (2016) #19

Mar 16, 2017

The last chapter of Superman Reborn is yet to be played out, but this issue makes it apparentthat the writers have a clear idea of where things are headed. Given the indications evident in this story and in DC's solicitations of upcoming issues, that Superman is being restored to an approximation of his classic status, but keeping important new elements of his legend such as his son Jon, the new Superboy.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Superman (2016) #20

Apr 5, 2017

This is the happiest time I've had reading a comic since DC Rebirth gave us back Wally West. This titleis the heart of theDC line, andhas established Superman (the character) as the heart of the DC Universe. This issue reaffirms this, plus it's got Batman in it!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2016) #21

Apr 19, 2017

Despite my reservations about the Kents' encroaching departure from Hamilton County, I still have faith in the creative team to keep this book as one of the best in DC's line. Superman is always the first book I read on the weeks when there is a new issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2016) #22

May 3, 2017

This was an exciting and suspenseful issue that has me eagerly awaiting the story's resolution. I may be somewhat regretful that the Kents are headed for the city quite so soon, but I have faith that the title will remain just as enjoyable regardless of its setting.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2016) #23

May 17, 2017

This story is full of breakneck action as we hurtle towards the end of the Hamilton County era of the Kent family. I have no worries that they can overcome Black, but will they do so without lasting harm?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2016) #24

Jun 7, 2017

Another great issue in an amazing series. The Kents' time in Hamilton County has gone to Hell in a way that will try each of them to their very souls. It will be fascinating to see how they can recover from the scars this story will leave them.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superman (2016) #25

Jun 21, 2017

Sadly, it seems that the Kent's time in Hamilton County is drawing to a close, but I trust that their adventures in Metropolis will be every bit as good as Tomasi and Gleason have given us so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superman (2016) #26

Jul 5, 2017

Nevertheless, this is a heartwarming issue and proves what a gem this title is. The emphasis on Superman's family life has made Superman the heart of the Rebirth line.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2016) #27

Jul 19, 2017

Superman is one of the best examples of the success DC is enjoying with their Rebirth renaissance (if that's not a redundant phrase). New 52 Superman just seemed to be a character with a passing resemblance to the Superman I loved reading about as a kid, but now it feels like that Superman has returned to the pages of DC.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2016) #28

Aug 3, 2017

Although, my review sounds like I thought this issue was a bit of a clunker, you might be surprised to hear that I really liked it. With a title of this caliber, even the worst issues are still pretty good. While I hope the book returns to form after the Kent's conclude their vacation, it still is better than most other books being put out these days.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2016) #29

Aug 16, 2017

A suspenseful and exciting issue of a fine series. Even though Tomasi and Gleason have taken a break from the writing chores, Keith Champagne does a fine job of keeping up the high standard they have set for one of DC's best titles.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2016) #30

Sep 7, 2017

Even though this storyline wasn't produced by the regular creative team, it still came back to the theme that Tomasi and Gleason have established for this series: Superman as a family man. Bad things happening to Lois and Jon that he can't prevent or save them from are his greatest fears, as they are the center of his world.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2016) #31

Sep 21, 2017

Even though I am eager for Tomasi and Gleason's return to the title, Bonny and Kirkham are doing a great job of filling in for them. Superman is the foremost title in a stellar stable of books.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2016) #32

Oct 5, 2017

This may be a filler story, but it is still a solid effort and the title seems in good hands while Tomasi and Gleason take a short break from the series. Nevertheless, I will be happy to see their return next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2016) #33

Oct 19, 2017

This was a fun story, leading up to what promises to be an exciting anniversary issue. I can hardly wait to see what Tomasi and Gleason have for us in the 800th issue of Superman.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2016) #34

Nov 2, 2017

The story is set on a massive scale, where Superman and his family " along with Lex Luthor " may well be determining the future of Apokolips itself. Superman continues to be one of DC's finest titles.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2016) #35

Nov 15, 2017

Since Rebirth, there is a continuing theme of hope and despair in the DC line, and Superman is one of the books at that best reflects the hope at the heart of the DC Universe as shown in the basic goodness of the character and his relationship with his family and friends.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2016) #36

Dec 7, 2017

With Superman now the nominal ruler of Apokolips and his partnership with Lex dissolved, this issue marks a milestone for Superman as he enters the post-Rebirth era.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superman (2016) #37

Dec 21, 2017

The "Super Sons of Tomorrow" event has started with a bang and if the subsequent chapters keep up the momentum, then this will be one of the year's best comics events.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2016) #38

Jan 5, 2018

Despite these issues, it still is an amazing story that further cements Jon's place in the wider DCU. It also gives some hints at mysteries of the DC continuity that have yet to be explored, such as Hypertime. Plus, it was great to see Conner and Bart again.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Superman (2016) #39

Jan 18, 2018

Yes, it's a fill-in issue, but still enjoyable, especially as an homage to the eighties comics I remember from my youth. Superman remains one of DC's best titles.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2016) #40

Feb 9, 2018

It seems to me that this title is at its best when it has focused on Superman and his family adventuring together. Despite DC's reluctance to allow major changes to Superman's status quo, family life really seems to suit Superman. This title demonstrates perfectly how DC is moving into the future while staying true to their past.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2016) #41

Feb 21, 2018

Although the idea of a world facing the same fate as Krypton on the anniversary of Krypton's destruction strains credibility a bit, this story leads to a thoughtful and touching father-son bonding moment, that makes this a particularly enjoyable issue of this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Superman (2016) #42

Mar 7, 2018

This was a fun issue, and makes me look forward for the following issues in the arc, while making me sad that there are only a few issues left of Tomasi and Gleason's amazing run on the title.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Superman (2016) #43

Mar 23, 2018

This storyline reminds me of how much fun Tomasi and Gleason's run has been so far. It's been a great ride, and it's too bad that it's almost at an end. But it's not quite over yet, so let's just sit back and enjoy it while we still can.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Superman (2016) #44

Apr 4, 2018

This Bizarro storyline has been a lot of fun, as has the entirety of Tomasi and Gleason's Superman run. But it also makes me regret that their time on the title is approaching its end.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Superman (2016) #45

Apr 18, 2018

Sadly, we must say goodbye to Tomasi and Gleason's Superman. In my opinion this was the finest of the Rebirth titles and one of the greatest in Superman's entire history.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Superman (2016): Special #1

May 16, 2018

Overall, I was impressed and my final judgement of the issue is based primarily on the main story. Where issue #45 served as a fine finale for the series, this special made an excellent encore performance.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2018) #1

Jul 12, 2018

Bendis has the unenviable job of proving himself to a number of skeptical fans who would have been content to stick with the previous creative team. But I believe that this issue shows that he the potential is there for his tenure to be in the same league as other great writers over Superman's history.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2018) #2

Aug 9, 2018

With this second issue, Bendis' momentum is still going strong. It's still too early to make any judgements about Bendis' new direction for Superman overall, but he's off to a promising start.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2018) #3

Sep 12, 2018

Bendis' time on Superman is off to a great start. With the entire Earth in peril, there's plenty of high-stakes action. Throw in a bunch of guest-starring heroes, some nods to DC history, and a dash of humour, and you have the perfect recipe for a first-rate Superman tale.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Teen Titans Go! #19

Dec 21, 2016

This issue is a fun look at the Titans. I admit that I haven't been following this series until recently, but maybe that was a mistake. It's an interesting and amusing diversion from the regular serious interpretations of the Teen Titans.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Dreaming (2018) #1

Sep 5, 2018

This is a strong start for this title, and hopefully the level of quality established here will continue as it progresses. It is great to once again read new adventures set in the world of Neil Gaiman's Sandman

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Immortal Men #1

Apr 12, 2018

Despite only getting a brief introduction to most of the characters, the issue serves as an excellent teaser for the series, promising that we will learn more about these fascinating heroes as the title continues.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Lost Boys #1

Oct 12, 2016

A solid start to the miniseries. It introduces (or reintroduces) the main characters and sets up the motivations for the upcoming conflict between the hunters and vampires. However, I will be sure to watch the original movie before next month's installment.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Sandman Universe #1

Aug 9, 2018

But for those that don't mind DC octuple-dipping or those that can content themselves with a single cover, the book itself is great. All the favourite characters back with Neil Gaiman himself overseeing the line. Each title is bursting with potential and the each story is given a running start here. If you can't or don't want to get the entire line, this issue also serves as a great tool for you to decide which titles you want to get. But don't count on it being an easy decision, because they all look great.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Terrifics #1

Mar 1, 2018

I have been looking forward to this title ever since it was announced, and so far it's living up to my expectations. If Lemire and Reis can keep up the momentum, The Terrifics could be DC's next big hit.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Terrifics #2

Mar 30, 2018

We haven't seen much of this series yet, but so far it's a very enjoyable read. DC's Rebirth had the aim of making their comics fun to read, and the New Age Of Heroes is continuing to do so in the pages of The Terrifics.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Terrifics #3

Apr 25, 2018

The Terrifics is proving to be an intriguing title, and Lemire is adept at mining DC's wide body of lore and using it to create an engaging narrative. I hope that this title lasts, because I can't wait to see where the story will take us.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Terrifics #4

May 23, 2018

Lemire has created something really special in this title, with equal parts comedy, drama, and action. This is undoubtedly one of the best books DC is currently putting out. The Terrifics is terrific reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Terrifics #5

Jun 27, 2018

The Terrifics is quickly becoming my favourite title. I would be hard pressed to choose between it and The Flash, but it is definitely a treat to read each month. The New Age Of Heroes has given us some interesting new titles, but this is the foremost among them.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Terrifics #6

Jul 25, 2018

The Terrifics is one of my top two favourite books of DC's current lineup (the other is Joshua Williamson's The Flash). Whenever I get the new issue, I find myself compelled to immediately tear into it. Lemire has created something special in this title. The Terrifics is another in DC's long string of successes since the dawn of the Rebirth era.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Terrifics #7

Aug 22, 2018

Plastic Man has always been one of my favourite characters, and Jeff Lemire is quickly becoming one of my favourite writers, so it's no surprise that I love this book. It may seem strange for DC to mix together a group of disparate characters into a group that somewhat resembles a Marvel group, but Lemire brings it all together in one of the best titles in DC's lineup.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Titans (2016) #1

Jul 27, 2016

Despite these quibbles, it is overall a very good story. It furthers the Rebirth storylinea bit and further cements Wally's restored place in the DC Universe. Once again, DC is successfully restoring classic elements of the characters while carrying their story forward instead of backward.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Titans (2016) #3

Sep 28, 2016

Titans is shaping up to be one of the tent-pole titles of the Rebirth storyline. The Titans seem to be at the centre of events with their forgotten history holding tantalizing hints of the true DC Universe timeline.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

September

August

More